Report Review
119 Reviews


earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
By The River of Forgetfulness for Seven Lifetimes
March 29, 2019
Status: Completed
I've read all the author's other short stories as well. I think this was the best one in terms of details and pacing. There's just enough to give you a punch in the gut when the final twist/reveal happens, but not too much beyond what it is: a tragedy oneshot.

(The author's other stories were nice, but not very memorable because they were just too sparse and predictable.)
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Reborn as My Love Rival’s Wife
March 19, 2019
Status: Completed
The best genderbend story I've read (not that I've read many). I absolutely love the humor and the author's understated way of writing the slow build of romance. Translation is top quality.

This is not a revenge novel, not really even a rebirth novel (since the protagonist doesn't have a goal to change his life or resolve problems from his previous life). It's really a slice-of-life from the perspective of a poor guy who transmigrated into a girl's body and found himself saddled with a husband, who happens to be that guy, the 'perfect' wealthy young master who stole the hearts of his previous girlfriends. There is plenty of humorous drama and shenanigans however, from overbearing mother-in-laws to indecisive exes to drugs and drunk confessions.

The relationship progression is pretty realistic and... more>> peppered with absolute GOLD one-liners. I honestly rolled around laughing so much.

Spoiler

I adore the author's perspective of the world. The author has a really understated ability to write deep feelings without being cliched confessions or cheesy actions. The novel really made me feel deeply about the connection between the main characters; like they crossed gender boundaries, with the humor almost a mask for the true feelings underneath. It made the characters come alive.

[collapse]

Spoiler

One teeeensy gripe is the author frequently forgets whether the MC is suppose to be smart. The MC goes from being super self-confident that he graduated from the top 3 universities to not being able to do the math (or physics?) questions that his middle school kid is asking about (I'm sure it was for humor, but... *sigh*).

(I've never seen a CN with a female MC with high intelligence after they become "moms"... their kids are always 100% smarter than them but never as smart as the husband. *sigh*)

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The Path of the Cannon Fodder’s Counterattack
March 12, 2019
Status: Completed
The translator is amazing, very fluent translation. Even though the unedited chapters are not listed here, the translator has finished the novel + epilogue so go ahead and read it.

I have mixed feelings about this one. The MC starts as an eunuch in the palace and the ML is the super OP emperor who absolutely hates being lied to or tricked. On one hand, the MC's single-minded goal for revenge, cleverness, and ruthlessness were all major pluses in my book. On the other hand, the author is a bit hypocritical,... more>> with the MC not acting much better than any of the other people who lied to the emperor, but he's the only one who's given extra chances time and time again.
Spoiler

The lies pile on top of each other and drag on, and while I think the author used this point to show us how the emperor views the MC so differently from other people, it definitely got frustrating after awhile.

[collapse]

I typically don't like imperial harem stuff, but I enjoyed the palace politics in this one; they were neither overly dramatic nor boring. More of a slice-of-life with a dash of power struggle. It's really interesting to have the story told from a eunuch's POV since they're allowed to go everywhere instead of your typical concubine (stuck in courtyard waiting for emperor).

Spoiler

Though the later part, that's pretty much what happens...

[collapse]

The ending is pretty idealized and made me feel a bit better about the MC and ML's unequal power balance. In the world building, the author also created an interesting custom of having male concubine/male imperial consorts be common practice.

Spoiler

Though it was really hypocritical of the author to write that the emperor thought "men and women equal" and then have the world setting be that only male concubines were allowed to hold titles/participate in court. In traditional history, frequently, no matter how powerful a concubine/empress/empress dowager is, it's against the rules for them to participate or influence court politics (they can only influence harem politics). It can be said that even if there was a male concubine, it should still be against the rules to take an official position and influence the court. But with the author's twist in the setting, we have an obvious bias that men are better than women and the MC is given an official title/salary etc. Furthermore, when the emperor sees how useful the MC's future knowledge is during war, he thinks to himself that the MC didn't deserve to be locked up in the harem. So does that mean all those hundreds of women in history who were intelligent and capable "deserved" to be locked up in the harem? Coming from the same emperor who apparently thought "men and women were equal" this kind of clueless hypocrisy from the author got a bit annoying.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Mo Flower
March 3, 2019
Status: Completed
This historical romcom is like a cup of warm, mellow tea~

The MC is the embodiment of absolute laziness and the ML does his best to indulge him in it. A very lighthearted and fluffy story without the typical drama/revenge/face-slapping.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
You Know Too Much
February 28, 2019
Status: Completed
I didn't really get into this one. It was funny (ish) but kind of pointless. I guess the humor in the romance didn't come across that well to me.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Lord and Dragon
February 21, 2019
Status: Completed
A very very sweet and adorable story about a lordling and his dragon. This has a fairytale like theme (secret identities, evil magicians, arranged marriages galore!) and lots of adorable puns. Overall a very fluffy, lighthearted, romance read.

Spoiler

The hilarious econ pun at the end killed me.

[collapse]
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The Scum Shou’s Survival Guide
February 19, 2019
Status: Completed
Extra! Extra! Get your world-hopping soap operas here! Get your 3-D otome games here! ╰ (✧∇✧╰) #888ForPresident#

For quick transmigration, this setup is fun and unique (though very melodramatic & angsty) because the MC's task is to win back the people he once left, as they all felt extremely angry and betrayed by him. So every arc starts with a broken up relationship and the MC tasked to restore it.

This very clever MC has a deep understanding of human nature and is very competent; he doesn't lose out to the MLs... more>> at all. The banter between the MC and the system is also funny enough to break up some of the melodramatic situations. He frequently sounds like absolute scum, but you know he's going to reveal a tender inside eventually (hehe). The MC also does quite a bit of chasing for each ML, which is a nice role reversal from the many MC-being-chased-stories out there.

As a warning, there is quite a bit of physical abuse/retaliation in the story. However, it's not intended to be like taken as completely realistic, more like a bad route in an otome game. The MC is akin to acting as a character in the bad ending trying to restore the good ending. So if that's something that would still put you off, I would avoid!

Spoiler

Don't worry, there is NO physical abuse when the MC and ML finally get together "in real life." (Even when the ML felt betrayed etc.)

[collapse]

It was worth it for me to read it all the way to the end. This is one of the few [Quick Transmigration] where the ending actually made stuff much better (instead of worse/boring). The author made sure to tie up all the loose ends in a satisfying manner. In fact, the ending arc might have been the most enjoyable?!?! Do you know how rare that is?!?!?!

There is some repetition of the set-up, as other readers have mentioned. However...

Spoiler

The repetitious moments weren't that frequent for me. Each arc definitely has its unique point and though some points are similar (the MC must die when he leaves the worlds, so there are limitations on how he can wash clean his scum-ness), but every plot still retained some freshness (and made me shed tears anew). I really liked the mech world!

Also holy crap, definitely shipped some 888 at the end there... >__> #888ComeBackPlease# #888TheBestSystem# #888NeedsHisOwnLoveStory#

[collapse]

Overall, I definitely recommend if you like your 'dog-blood' plots with a dash of self-aware comedy. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Spice of Life
February 19, 2019
Status: Completed
A sweet sequel to the previous slice-of-life short story about a spoiled/bratty 2nd-generation boy and his husband (who seems to be well respected and much more capable). Nobody knows that they are together (and nobody expected it) so the story mostly focuses on confusing their friends/coworkers and the relationship reveal. Again, the story isn't long enough to really make an impact but it's very sweet and fluffy. If you like 'hidden/secret relationships' and relationship reveals, this fits right in.

Combined with the previous story, it's not a bad read.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt
Unexpected Marriage
February 19, 2019
Status: Completed
Difficult to rate this since it was so short. Don't get me wrong, lots of short stories can make a big impact. This isn't one of those. It seems more like a snapshot of the lives of two people. Humorous and cute but not long enough to for the reader to get attached or have a meaningful understanding of the characters.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
A Wave of Exes Came Looking for Me. What to Do?!
February 16, 2019
Status: Completed
A pretty good read with a great translator. This is something very humorous and fairly light/fluffy with a touch of drama to spice things up. The premise of a 'frequent transmigrator' forced to run into a series of his past relationships is a hilarious and fun idea. I liked that the MC was very strong and stubborn/opinionated and isn't your typical 'bullied'/'doormat' MC. The best parts are definitely when the poor 'normal' guy who was thrown into the mix of the godly ex-devil/emperor/cultivator/etc.

I didn't read any spoilers before starting this... more>> story, which I think made the tension between the potential ML's much better and the reveal near the end more interesting!

Spoiler

The final reveal story/romance is very touching and not as predictable as I thought. I do wish we got a bit more about each world the MC passed through or experienced them more in-depth. I think that would have made the sacrifices and feelings even more impactful, but in the end, this is a fairly short book compared to other Quick Transmigration stories.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
It’s Because You Said There Would Be Candy!!
February 13, 2019
Status: Completed
Most short stories are not long enough to make a deep impact, but this one was hilarious; a joy to read. Fantastic idea, execution, and translation. Dense but talented chef!MC forced to go out into the world to slay a demon king... in a very unconventional manner. Re-read worthy!
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
15P 7H 6SM
February 6, 2019
Status: Completed
Very sweet and good modern slice-of-life about the love between an actor and his assistant. The story is written in first person, a little like letters or diary entries, however, the pacing is very good and you're thrown quickly into the action, so the story moves very quickly with no unnecessary exposition or 'over-explaining.' Despite the shortness, it doesn't fail to convey a whole range of deep emotions and struggles in their romance/coming-out type story.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The General Wants to Hug and Sleep
February 6, 2019
Status: Completed
Cute and short light read. The main character, an excellent tea connoisseur and ordinary girl, sneaks into the insomniac General's household as a maid in order to keep her tea house business away from grubby family members.

Mostly fluffy and humorous, there is a bit of angst at the end (which was probably necessary, or else the story would have had even less impact), but it's a happy ending. Translation is ok if you're familiar with C-novels/Chinese or MTL.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
When He Comes, Close Your Eyes
January 1, 2019
Status: Completed
Incredibly good and refreshing story. Though there weren't any moments that made me super emotional or nervous, the book is very well-written and the translation excellent! There's a lot of anticipation due to the fact that this is a mystery/case-solving type story; if you enjoy procedural tv like Criminal Minds, I highly recommend this as it's an excellent read and gives off the same vibes. The romance has good pacing and adorable moments (no badly-written love rivals or manufactured melodrama). The ML is a genius-type character who is very blunt... more>> and socially awkward, which makes for a lot of fun scenes.

Spoiler

I would give it a 5/5 except that there weren't any moments that actually made me super emotional (not necessarily a bad thing!). The climax at the end lacked suspense for me because the ML is so OP, I knew he was going to solve the case and successfully execute the rescue.

[collapse]

Spoiler

After watching the drama, I heard there's a book 2 (seems to hint at Allen?). I'm eager to see what happens next.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Gentle Beast
December 13, 2018
Status: Completed
I was surprised to find this by the same author as Chongfei Manual. This one has almost none of the other one's flaws. The MC is surprisingly strong and independent; despite being human and physically much weaker than the beastmen, she is able to use her intelligence, knowledge (and help from the hidden space) to escape predators and aim to return to her own world. The story was paced well and progressed logically.

... more>>
Spoiler

I like that the MC separated from the ML eventually in order to figure out her own feelings clearly and not be another Stockholm syndrome type character. I dislike how abundantly OP the ML was. I think the author could have used the chance of the ML being in an unfamiliar place to inject some humor or give him some understandable flaws/foibles. Unfortunately, perfect!ML is perfect at everything and figures out how to drift a car just by watching people on TV.

[collapse]

Great translation; overall nice, not too long, survival romance story. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Hear My Heart: My World Falls into the River of Love
October 18, 2018
Status: Completed
Come here to get your low-melodrama, smart, capable, and well-dressed MC!

This is a sweet, well-paced, well-translated, light-hearted modern romance about a highly successful manga artist and a successful upper management of a mall. It's a more mature romance as the characters are older in age and deal with troubles regarding work, competition, and management. It's pretty refreshing to have a female MC who can pull her own weight. She's hilarious, hardworking, and low-key. Both MC and ML have troubled pasts but eventually learn to rely on each other. ML is... more>> not too unique, but he has his own charms. Their relationship is pretty cute, and you definitely get the feeling that the ML respects the MC a lot.

I haven't read Chestnut's other novels, but I would definitely give them a try after this one!

Overall, a nice fluffy break if you're tired of reading angst/melodrama/misunderstandings/lots of low IQ characters. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
A Slight Smile is Very Charming
October 14, 2018
Status: Completed
Edit: Watched the drama, surprisingly (and pretty rare) followed the original novel pretty closely, with a few changes that made the plot more detailed and a bit more exciting. I think the events in the novel translated onto screen really well (perhaps even better than the writing) and in many ways, the acting made the friendships (the girls and guys' sides) much fuller. It was nice to experience their bonds of friendship, family, etc. Visually on the screen. I'm tempted to raise the rating of this novel after watching the... more>> drama!

Sweet story, humorous and cute and brought back a lot of feels for MMORPGs I played in the past. Overall, a pretty standard romance with MMO setting, very lighthearted, not much drama or angst so it's a nice fluffy 'break' story to read in-between heavier stuff. I really liked the MC, who's an emotionally mature, generous, and intelligent gal who doesn't bother with petty love rivals or backstabbing idiocy. Unfortunately, the ML was a bit too perfect and was literally a genius in everything. Completely worshiped by everyone. He's literally the top hacker, top musician/composer, top video director, top gamer, top athlete, top designer, most handsome looks, etc, etc. The ML would have been much more bearable if our MC wasn't also part of his fanclub and seriously put him on a pedestal the whole time (which made the relationship feel a bit unnatural/extra awkward). <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
September 26, 2018
Status: Completed
My first experience with "fast wear" type multiple-realms/reincarnations story. I am still hooked on this genre! I love the idea of seeing the same MC experience different scenarios. Each arc is like a mini-story. Just realized the name should be Quick Transmigrations: Face-Slapping Devil (or similar).

I love how clever/OP/shameless the MC is. To me, the MC is one of the best parts of the novel. He's totally confident, successful, and knows exactly what he wants and how to get it. It's refreshing to have a strong MC who is unafraid... more>> of using all his advantages to manipulate everything towards the desired outcomes.

The ML is pretty standard fare: tall, physically fit, wealthy, powerful, possessive/stalkerish. But the MC can totally stand his ground so the relationship is pretty cute!

I took off a star because the characters other than the MC and ML do get a little repetitive.
Spoiler

There is very little in terms of redeemable side-characters. Pretty much every 'protagonist' that the MC beats in every world were secretly evil. While the novel's premise revolves around revenge, it would have been nice to see the formula changed up a bit; or at least the main antagonists changed up a bit.

[collapse]

Even so, I still go back to reread my favorite arcs~ (Arc 9 absolutely amazing, Arcs 3, 5, 10, 11 are favs too.) <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Jiang Hu’s Road is Curved
September 26, 2018
Status: Completed
I was definitely not expecting the events in the book at all! The first half is absolutely hilarious. Yes, MC can get really annoying (despite the humor) in the beginning, but if you stick it out, you'll be able to see such a flawed/naive/spoiled princess grow into someone super cool and awesome. I absolutely love the character development and the unpredictable twist in the middle. I highly admire the author for writing it.

ML was a bit refreshing as well. He doesn't fall for her at first sight and wasn't affected... more>> by her looks at all (also MC's looks are just nice, not world-defying or gorgeous, to her depression haha) ; their relationship was more of something that slowly grew over time. Pretty cute!

I recommend this to people who want a break from the conventional web novel plots. The first half of the novel is pretty much a complete parody of stereotypes. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 4 5 6