Report Review
141 Reviews


ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
MMORPG: The Elementalist
March 7, 2019
Status: c200
The story development itself is the biggest problem I have with MMORPG: The Elementalist. To start with, there is no introduction at all. There isn't a chapter where we are introduced to the MC and learn more about his life and living situation. Instead, the first chapter starts off with action. His motive for playing this game is to earn money for this girl who has had like two lines in 200 chapters to supposedly pay her back to help her treat her leukemia with a surgery. I don't know... more>> what kind of surgery exists for leukemia, but I just want to let this slide because it's a minimally sci-fi series... That said, considering the nature of leukemia, surgery just doesn't make sense. Many cancers can benefit from surgery, but leukemia is not one of them. There is no explanation or details given about the surgery either. It feels like this excuse was just picked out of thin air...

Who is this chick, anyway?! Hardly any time has been spent on her, and she's supposed to be the whole reason this novel exists!

The plot is solely focused on the game and a few office moments spent chatting about the game. Outside of the game, the world is completely insignificant to the telling of this story. The plot itself is not intense at all--just action, gaming, and leveling. That's all there is to it. You know what this story is about in the first several chapters, and there are no surprises. If nothing else, it is at least very consistent.

Each character has a specified personality but hardly any depth is given to them, even to the MC. Character development occasionally occurs for side characters but is relatively minimal. The MC develops to becoming more of an arrogant jerk as he gets stronger, but he's returned to being more tolerable in recent chapters.

The setting is not well-established. The game is the whole focus, but even that is not described clearly in the beginning. The description of classes or how the game works is not given. I think it was over 100 chapters in before it was finally revealed that the characters use virtual reality helmets to play--by the way, there's still no description about these helmets or reason for how they're supposed to work. Prior to that, I was picturing them skillfully using their keyboards and mouses. Not even the number of character types or how they're chosen or anything is given! When the MC appears, his level is already in his mid-thirties. I think this novel would benefit immensely by just giving an introduction and clarifying the setting.

Someone who is an action/adventure junky like me may enjoy this novel. However, if you are looking for character depth, a dramatic plot line, or the threat of danger on the side, this is not the place to find it. The writing is very consistent, but the plot line is predictable. You will definitely know if this is a series you want to read before you reach the locked chapters because nothing really changes. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Night Ranger
February 23, 2019
Status: c464
The series is completed, and the translation quality is excellent.

I enjoyed the first half of this novel for the most part. The MC levels up quickly, the action is exciting, and the setting is interesting. The suspense is good, but it is kinda ridiculous that the MC always has plot to shield him whenever he's in a crisis. He's never under any real danger, and he never loses anything especially important. Everything will work out for him no matter what. He also levels up so incredibly quickly that he only... more>> spends a few months to grow from nothing to an OP Legend character, which is something others in this universe spend a lifetime to do and still fail.

The MC begins killing people soon after he transmigrates into this world and does so without any hesitation or character development. He's supposed to be a professional gamer in his previous life, yet he has no hesitation when it comes to first-hand murder. Was the game previously some intense virtual reality game or what? Was he originally from a sci-fi universe? Did he have a family, lover, home of his own? No idea. This questions are never answered. Although the MC has the most depth out of everyone in the series, he's a very flat character who undergoes no development halfway through the series. The only change might be that he thinks he's slightly more careful, but he's still incredibly reckless and doesn't actually change his behaviors at all. All the other characters are extremely flat.

The story development has no idea what it's doing and does not appear to have been planned at all. Reading it, it feels like the author came up with all the plots on the fly. Plot holes are numerous, and the MC keeps forgetting to use his OP skills. By the way, his class hardly has any weaknesses, and he's an assassin, ranger, tamer, shape-shifter, sorcerer, etc. All in one. Is there any need to have any other characters with him around?

In spite of all these weaknesses, the action was fun enough up until about midway when the plot derailed pretty hard. Although I enjoyed it in the beginning, the quality has dropped substantially by the point chapters become premium, and I'm dropping the series. I may have continued to dawdle along if the chapters were still free, but I don't think they're worth paying for. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
My Dad Is the Galaxy’s Prince Charming
February 22, 2019
Status: c114
This is a fun comedy series that is supposed to be sci-fi, but the technological advancement is inconsistent with little to no detail about how certain things happen or how the reader is supposed to visualize these things. There is some genre hopping going on with a mix of vampire, sci-fi, Xianxia, school, and mecha arcs, but none of them are particularly strong. The main genre is comedy, but the arc endings are often weak. The plot is not enough to keep me interested, so I just read it for... more>> the comedy. That said, although the comedy has its funny moments, the jokes get pretty redundant.

Character development is fairly weak, which I believe is mostly for the sake of gags. The "romance" is supposed to be between the MC and her dad. Although I can accept some novels with incest as a theme, the dad has a very flat, possessive personality and isn't even remotely interesting as a character. Since he doesn't have any substance, he's not likeable.

The MC looks nothing like the girl on the cover, so watch out for that confusion.

Although this is a cute and entertaining light-hearted comedy to read, it's not for everyone. One of its good points is that it was completed at less than 200 chapters. At this point, I'm uncertain if I'll continue it now that it's become premium. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Monster Pet Evolution
February 21, 2019
Status: c161
This is a monster-trainer series which led me to reminisce about Pokemon. People can form contracts with monsters and then train and evolve them. The nostalgia is strong, and the set-up is interesting.

However, the characters and their development is relatively weak. Although each monster has its own distinct personality, there are none that are particularly entertaining or get me invested. The MC is a stubborn loner who is supposed to be smart but does a lot of dumb things. His relationships with characters aside from his monsters rarely advances.

The plot... more>> itself is weak. There's very little suspense and no drama. It is extremely slow-moving, and the action is not exciting. After reading 161 chapters, all that has happened is that the MC has trained his familiars, gotten familiars, evolved familiars, and took some easy tests. Reading this series is trying my patience.

Aside from nostalgia and consistency, this series itself doesn't have any strong points. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Empress’ Livestream
February 3, 2019
Status: c59
This is a refreshing story about a bis*xual female transmigrator who becomes a cross-dressing girl in a setting similar to ancient China. She is cunning and intelligent with deductions similar to those of Sherlock Holmes. She is a funny and strict former general who loves to wantonly flirt with girls, which is very refreshing.

The drawbacks in this series is that the action scenes are sparse, and the pace is a bit slow. If you aren't interested in reading another book about historical China, this may grow old fast. If you... more>> are interested in it, however, this is a must-read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
This is a cute story for a cat-lover. The MC is calm and cool-headed while the ML is serious and possessive. The MC is intelligent, but he's not quirky or especially charismatic. The ML has at least one cat form in every world and is the standard obsessed-only-with-the-MC ML character common in many Chinese BL novels. Neither of them have especially interesting or engaging personalities, but they aren't especially lacking in anything either.

This series is heavy on the fluff. ULTRA-HEAVY FLUFF. It's too much fluff for me to really care... more>> for, and I'd prefer to have more plot, suspense, and action. There's so much fluff that it bogs down the series for me at times. That said, since cats are involved, it makes up for that a bit. Action scenes are limited, and there's a lot of clingy snuggling. There's nothing particularly unpredictable about the story line, and I wish the characters would struggle more. The first arc has been the most interesting by far.

I have to agree with the reviewers who say it is nothing like Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil. That series has more drama and action while this has far less drama and action. Instead, it's mostly fluff. If you're looking for dramatic, plot-focused action and developments, this is not the series to find it in. If you're looking for a cutie BL series with lots of cats, however, this might scratch your itch. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho
Omniscient Reader’s Viewpoint
December 19, 2018
Status: c18
I was quite disappointed by this series. The set-up is interesting, and I don't dislike the hypocritical main character. However, it's too dry. Perhaps I dropped it too far but, at this point in the story, the surprises aren't all that surprising--even to the MC. I like him, but he's apathetic to everything, too. The story is written with him carrying the reader's attention, but he's not written with enough charisma to pull that off unless everything around him is more exciting. There's death and murder like in many survival... more>> series, but there isn't any comedy and the drama is weak. Even the action doesn't feel as intense as it should. The storytelling isn't written in a way to get my heart pounding. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Rebirth of MC
October 22, 2018
Status: c179
This was an entertaining read. If you don't want to think to hard and just want to enjoy things as you go, this post-apocalyptic/sci-fi/special abilities/Xianxia hodgepodge story may be for you. I thought it was interesting as a supernatural/sci-fi mixture, but then all sorts of weird ideas plopped on in. The main characters have their own personalities, although their depths are somewhat limited. They are all funny together, albeit not hilarious.

Action scenes are largely skipped over and not always written in as exciting manner as they could have been. The... more>> drama is also weak. The sad, lonely scenes or permanent farewells are not written in a way to pull one's heartstrings.

There are no female characters except as plot devices and zombies... It was to the point where I seriously wondered if I missed the lines where all the women got killed off or something. What happened to all the chicks?! If you're looking for a female character that spends any length of time in the spotlight, this is not the series to read. If you want a strong female character who doesn't die right away, this is definitely not the series to read. If you want to read a series with any female characters who do anything other than act as plot devices, this is not the series to read. If you think heteros*xual couples exist, they sure don't in this story. Even lesbian couples do not exist.

There are a lot of plot holes in the story. I already mentioned it's a hodgepodge mash-up of various genres, but they don't quite fit together coherently or explain things well. Important plot lines were altogether forgotten or completely changed, leaving the story feeling rather disorganized.

Spoiler

Why was the evil half-brother blaming the MC for anything since the MC had never even come across him even in the year before the apocalypse happened? I was expecting it to be revealed that the MC was framed or that he had defeated him in a previous life or something, but no explanation has been given thus far.

A little bit is revealed about the village the MC stayed in, but then what happened? One dude joins the army, but what about everyone else? Why did the MC never return there?

There is one arc where the MC gets to meet up with one of his old friends and hide out in a school. He gains special abilities, but we don't know what they are. This group is mysteriously never mentioned again.

I believe it was Li Qing who had some heavy foreshadowing about getting revenge on the evil half-brother, but he had nothing to do with his demise in the end.

And what happened with the other countries, anyway? Being able to use the Internet suddenly happened again later on without explanation, so the MC should know, right? Did they get to experience the apocalypse, too? If they were fine, then why didn't they trod on into China to figure out what the hell was going on over there?

How did the MC produce a descendant when he died shortly after coming to the human world? He passed down an heirloom. He was with a man, and I don't see him cheating on anyone. Is there ever going to be an explanation for how this happened? Did he pick a random family and make them his so-called "descendants"? And why did other people, who also go largely unexplained, have some of these sacred items? The series of events in the plot line leading up to the big backstory do not add up.

[collapse]

Toward the end, there is a HUGE genre shift that kind of pops out of nowhere and left me in a disoriented befuddlement wondering if I were actually reading a different novel or a transmigration series instead. It dropped the original plot hard. I can definitely see why no additional chapters have been translated by the translator seven months later, even if she planned to keep going.

Although it was fun to read for the most part, the various plot holes and dangling plot thread left me befuddled. It feels like the author didn't plan things out with too much detail and took inspiration from a variety of sources and forgot where she was coming from. Like I said, reading this is a nice way to spend some time, but it's definitely not for anyone who wants a more well-written, coherent, or inspiring story. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Kaleidoscope of Death
October 20, 2018
Status: c19
Thus far, this is a wonderfully gory horror series perfect for the Halloween season. The personalities of the MC and ML lighten up the dark, suspenseful atmosphere with their refreshing personalities and sassy interactions.

The world-building for each door they go through is interesting, albeit a bit lacking. It's nothing particularly inspirational or note-worthy. The side-characters have yet to be fleshed out, which is another glaring weakness. Although the story is nice and the characters are funny, the writing doesn't evoke a sense of terror or loss for me in regards... more>> to the monstrosities faced and people killed. At this point, the writing isn't enough to move me, but I may change this review by the time the series ends. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
History’s Number 1 Founder
July 29, 2018
Status: c763
There is a distinct divide between the beginning of the story and the rest of it thus far. In the beginning, the MC is a faker who bluffs about being strong and cheats his way through everything with whatever mystical items he has. Although he is a liar and a scam artist, he becomes a "teacher." If interpreted as a standard story, he doesn't fit the moral requires to be a teacher. As a parody, it works, but it's just not very funny. Later on, he develops true strength and... more>> doesn't have to cheat and bluff his way through everything, but this part of the story has a very different feel from the beginning.

The character development isn't bad, but it isn't written in an exciting way. The battles and fights are nice, but they become so ridiculous over time that they're hard to get into and hard to visualize. The characters manifest architecture and use that to fight. If it only happened with one character, it might have more impact for comedical purposes because all of the other characters would be like "wtf bbq did that fxer get that building from???" but that doesn't happen. It's a lot of, "My magic item is stronger than yours!" Of course, the MC or his team wins every single time, which drains the tension tremendously. It would've been fine as a short story or even a short series, but it gets exhausting after hundreds and hundreds of chapters.

The story gets quite draggy as the complicated histories of numerous sects and characters are reiterated time and time again. Lately, I've come to skim through most of the chapters I come across and have begun to seriously consider dropping the series. The plot has become weak by this point, and it's not holding my interest. The comedy has a few good moments but not enough to keep my interest.

If it was intended to be a parody, I think it lost sight of its original goal. If it was meant to be a story, then the plot is too weak to keep it going. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
May 26, 2018
Status: c672
This is a funny, fast-paced, action-filled read full of face-slapping. Some scenes made me laugh out loud as I read through them. The pacing is fast enough to keep me hooked. However, Library of Heaven's Path has some glaring flaws.

First of all, the MC often takes the more difficult route of solving problems instead of going with the simpler, less troublesome solutions. Additionally, several cannon-fodder characters have the stereotypical Xianxia traits of overwhelming arrogance and greed coupled by underestimating their opponent; shockingly, they are even dumber than the MC. In... more>> moderation, this isn’t bad to see, but this pattern happens so often, it becomes quite redundant. It feels like all the canon fodder have the same personality. They are so immature, they take every little action personally.

It would be really nice if the side-characters were fleshed out more. Even the students don't have enough screen time to make them appear as truly significant characters for more than a brief arc here or there.

The MC has a lot of knowledge in his library—facts and figures. As long as the world limits itself to tests of memory and information that can be found in a book, he can basically do a Google search and find what he’s looking for. This series has yet to look into the difference separating memorization and understanding. It reminds me of a science teacher I read about who volunteered for a year in a village in Africa, and he was initially impressed by the fact all his students had memorized the text before the first day of class. When he asked the more about the details of why and how and what if, however, they were unable to answer. He had to teach them everything from the beginning after all. Not all answers can be found in a textbook, and all students must learn how to think for themselves. Oftentimes, there are also contradictory facts in books, depending on which source material was used. Statistics change from one paper’s research finding to another, and this variability can even appear within the same book as long as multiple resources are used. The MC doesn’t come across this conundrum at all and treats all the texts as infallible. Even popular textbooks sometimes have errors, but his library instantly points out which details are incorrect instead of making the MC think for himself

Memorization and understand are two completely different things, but everything the MC comes across leads to instant comprehension for him. His library doesn’t have any limiters, not even giving him headaches or making him feel tired until later in the series. A unstoppable MC can be entertaining for a short while, but one who faces difficulties and overcomes them is the one I want to cheer on.

The MC also almost always intentionally humiliates the person when he is correcting them. It is possible to give someone advice and guidance without doing so. He definitely comes off as a jerk, but he’s not the worse Xianxia MC I’ve seen.

As the series goes on, it improves and provides dilemmas that even the MC can't get out of right away. It isn't until recent chapters (currently at 672) that the MC actually faces anything truly life-threatening, and the writing improves. That said, I found this entertaining and am still reading it over 600 chapters later, so the comedy and fast pace make up for many of the flaws in this series. It could definitely be better, but it is still fun to read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Heroic Death System
April 21, 2018
Status: v1c42
I caught up with all of the translated but unedited chapters in one day. I started reading this series this morning on a whim, and read it non-stop until now. Snowy-sama has found another winner! This is one of those irresistible, can't-put-down series that keeps me intrigued by suspense and all the different scenarios. Although the main character and love interest are the two most fleshed-out characters, other side-characters have some meat, details, and personal motivations to go along with them as well. I love reading about the MC's tragic... more>> deaths, one after the other.

There is plenty of excitement and adventure outside of the romance. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
City of Endless Rain
January 23, 2018
Status: epilogue
This is an engaging horror story that I read in one sitting. It sent chills down my spine. It's nice and short, which makes it easy to get through it all quickly. The mystery, abuse, and supernatural horror were all interesting to follow. It was great to see the pitiful MC realize the reality around him. His willpower as he struggled to escape was nice to see.

Unfortunately, the ending was a little unclear on some details. It would be nice if the flashbacks and epilogue were clarified and elaborated on... more>> a little more. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Violant of the Silver
January 18, 2018
Status: c2 part3
The story has only just started, but I'm enjoying it so far. The vivid imagery really brings the magic to life. Violant's struggles with PTSD are not side-stepped and forgotten, so I'm looking forward to see how his character develops. The background information for Violant is well-done and summarizes his family situation and situation in the town appropriately.

I have really been looking forward to the updates for this novel. I feel a ton of hope and anticipation toward its progression.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Kill the Lights
December 17, 2017
Status: sidetrack 4
The set-up of having a hard-core mercenary accidentally possess the body of a flamboyantly gay druggie and public toilet weakling who is well-hated by the populace is really funny to read. Haley was used by his family members and pushed around quite a bit, but Mason is not putting up with any of that. I enjoyed reading how Mason turned the apparent underdog into an up-and-coming celebrity star.

If you aren't interested in BL, you can skip those scenes and still have a good time reading this series. The plot is... more>> fun and a touch dramatic. The characters keep cracking me up, especially those on the set. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Rebirth of Chen An
December 14, 2017
Status: c24
This story is pretty entertaining so far. The MC cracks me up--pride is his middle name, and he won't let anyone tell him any different. He is obstinate to the point he kills himself. When he sees his new body, he immediately gets to work losing weight and getting his teeth straightened, even though he gets made fun of for having his teeth straightened at that age. He is quite funny. His pride is his strength because it gives him the willpower to do what he wants and carry though.... more>> Unfortunately, it is also his weakness because he takes up challenges he shouldn't too easily.... Such as drinking more alcohol than he should. He found out the hard way that his body has zero alcohol tolerance.

So far, the characters are all pretty interesting. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Age of Adepts
October 1, 2017
Status: c159
This is an exciting action-filled adventure series full of intrigue, strategic battle, wicked villains, and creative imagery. The enthusiastic training is full of suspense with the characters' lives on the line. This is a fun, intelligent, and crafty read that spurns the imagination and isn't afraid to make characters ugly. During steps of their journeys, the characters evolve and change their appearances, which is refreshing to see.

The first twenty chapters are pretty slow, but things speed up drastically once the action starts. I strongly recommend sticking with it until the... more>> battles begin. The strength of this writer is clearly in the action scenes. Greem is relatively weak and knows it, so he uses his intelligence to save his hide.

The romance is awkward and seems more like friendship to me, but I didn't come here for that anyway. There are some inconsistencies in the plot rules and development, but the story is stimulating enough to make up for it. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Gob Tensei
September 23, 2017
Status: c35
This is a very dirty ecchi series in an adventure/fantasy/comedy setting. If you don't like dirty comedy, then this isn't for you. If you do, then it's worth trying. The MC cracks me up will all of his nonsensical wackiness as he sticks to his perverted, yet surprisingly pure, beliefs.

The awkward surprise? The harem isn't his...

Spoiler

Instead, the harem is actually a yuri harem belonging to the loli elf. She builds the harem behind his back.

[collapse]

This is a dirty, funny series that delights in irony.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Amaku Yasashii Sekai de Ikiru ni wa
September 23, 2017
Status: c40
This is a fun slice-of-life/comedy/action/fantasy. I laughed while watching the antics of all the boys as they get into mischief. Also the horse. Did I mention the horse? You cannot forget the horse. It's funny, lighthearted series. It would be nice if the MC weren't so powerful and could be more of an underdog. There's also not much of a central plot.

That said, if you're looking for something light and entertaining to read without much drama, this is a good series to bide the time with.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
NOTE: This is not a fluffy rom-com, this is a war story.

Eliza is reincarnated into the villain of an otome game and kicks off the story by murdering her entire family. She becomes the head of a family as a toddler and has to guard the border of the kingdom. She goes through difficult training with the soldiers and learns how to issue commands and manage her domain. She also learns how to deal with crafty political events.

... more>>
Spoiler

I absolutely love her relationship with Ratoka, her body double. The two have started to think alike without even realizing it. They are such cute twin-like possible siblings!

[collapse]

The otome game's heroine should be appearing soon (I'm currently at chapter 204), so it will be interesting to see what happens next.

Spoiler

It should be noted that Eliza, who already dresses and acts like a boy, really looks like a boy now that her hair is short. Will the heroine be tricked into a yuri ship?! I can't wait to find out.

[collapse]

Weaknesses for this series would be the occasional awkward pacing and slow development. That said, the chapters are pretty short, so it is a faster read than it looks. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report