Report Review
101 Reviews


Gsichtselfmeter
This is a well thought out story and world about the suffering of a little girl that gets the chance to turn into a demon. Unfortunately the world is too simple, there is only black and white, absolute good and absolute evil. Furthermore the heroine lacks depth and walks around spewing stuff like "I was hurt when I was a child, now I take revenge by killing all humans. I am aware that they are sentient beings".

The world building is fun and makes it worth a read, but the heroine... more>> is seriously disappointing past chapter 30.

3* <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Green Skin
August 25, 2019
Status: c94
Can a Goblin be a wise chief? This one definitely is one. Humane yet monstrous, full of love yet twisted, Blood Dagger is the saviour this rotten world needs. It is fascinating to read about the struggle to survive, the humanity of monsters and the monstrosity of humans. 5*, the characters feel very much alive.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Pursuing Immortality
August 22, 2019
Status: c410
Imagine this: All the old magic, wizardry and cultivation powers are real, just temporarily asleep. And now they awaken and form the lands again. But we are in the modern times. How do the people react to the resurgence of immortals. What will the gouvernment do? How will they try and keep their power? This is exactly what this novel is about: The mix of modern times and old magic. The MC and his companion are lucky youngsters that find themselves at the lead of the times, grasping the stars... more>> whilst everyone runs behind. The novel is slow-paced and witty, describing the transformation of the MC and the world, where each come to terms with the new times. As the MC strives for immortality he slowly begins to stand above the common folk, experiencing time in years, shedding his human self.

Of course this goes not without flaws. What bothered me are that things that are foreshadowed or even very much in the focus of the novel
Spoiler

Essence making, the fat squirrel, the tree fruits, the peach essence

[collapse]
are just forgotten and get mentioned hundreds of chapters later. This can be explained by the transformation from human to immortal, but I think those things deserve a real end. Also the MC is described as detached, selfish and willful, and he really actually acts that way;, but sometimes he also acts as a chinese nationalist without any reason and this doesnt fit his description as "standing above the world and detached from human emotions". Furthermore the novel is full of mentions of ancient chinese people, places and sagas and it is very hard to follow them. (Obviously I am a western reader, and the novel was not written for the western market)

Despite the flaws I had a blast reading this and give it 5*. I especially liked the authors witty style, adding some sexual innuendos here and there. Very refreshing and fun to read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Everlasting Immortal Firmament
August 13, 2019
Status: c159
This is a very well written novel that kept me reading for a very long time, but unfortunately there are some flaws. The MC is smart, and it feels great to read how he outsmarts his opponents, but most of the time it is more the sheer s*upidity of key characters that let the MC trample over them. Doesnt matter how high their cultivation, how deep their background or how old their age (=experience) is, the MC is always smarter. Especially the level of cultivation doesnt really matter in the... more>> story, the MC always wins because of his weiqi game skills. As soon as the MC enters the stage everyone is weaker than him, doesnt matter if they could fly before, suddenly they fight on the ground. Also the MC is a good guy at heart, which is consistent with his identity as
Spoiler

a "slaughtering demon", because he never slaughtered humans, only demonized humans! How convenient.

[collapse]
Did I mention that the author has a weiqi fetish? The whole story is about weiqi, everything can be explained by weiqi. Weiqi this!: 4*. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Its a pretty good japanese novel, but being a japanese novel, it has its flaws. The world and setting are great, the MC does his stuff, but it really bothers me that he is depicted as black-hearted scum but at the same time doesnt care if people sell him out or try to harm his interests. This just feels very fake to read. Still 4* in comparison to other japanese novels.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Abyss Domination
June 28, 2019
Status: c100
This is a meticulously crafted and superbly written novel, but unfortunately it reads like a DnD manual at times. Also I am personally not a fan of "protect the little sister" type of novels, so will only give it 4*.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Marquis of Grand Xia
June 14, 2019
Status: c134
This story is hit AND miss. It has a mixture of very well thought out characters and important story characters that are clearly an afterthought.
Spoiler

The empress and the prince are impressive characters and their interactions with the MC are very funny and deep. The "love interest" is absolute bullshit. The MC meets some random girl and a few chapters later they almost marry. Another few chapters later the girl is absolutely unimportant again and doesnt come back anyome.

[collapse]
Furthermore the story starts as a kind of ancient harem comedy and translates into ancient chinese war and empire building. What disappoints me the most is that the MC is an absolute hypocrite that changes between ruthlessly killing everyone and not caring about anyone and "all war is evil, lets all be friends".

Overall the author is able to write well, but heavily lacks in the story building aspect and loves to go off track.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Doomsday Wonderland
June 1, 2019
Status: c452
This is a awesome novel about surviving in a game-like, but still realistic and dark apocalyptic world (s). The characters are authentic and the abilities cool, the world is unique and the plot is good. The only thing that is bothering me is the hero-complex of the MC, she acknowledges it herself, but it still bothers me because I would act differently.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
The Experimental Log of the Crazy Lich
April 5, 2019
Status: c139
The story is great and the humor is great, but the author has trouble mixing them to a digestible novel. Instead of progressing the story and laughing about the funny antics of Beifeng, the Gentleman club and the system, you get to laugh a few chapters and then get shoved some ridiculously deep world background in your throat. And the worst part, the background in itself is also very thorough and thought out. Just -as I said- the author doesnt mix them well. Furthermore the plot doesnt really develop until... more>> chapter ~100 where you finally get to know why the novel has its name. It is enjoyable, definitely a high grade novel and translation, but still could be improved. 4* <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
The Good for Nothing Seventh Young Lady
January 3, 2019
Status: c274
It is translated well, but the story is basically: MC tries something, everyone is "OMG, no way he can do that", MC succeeds, everyone "OMG, I cant believe he did that", repeat. Furthermore the author just adds stuff and doesnt utilize anything he previously introduced, and also fails to dramatize events properly -> ... more>>
Spoiler

For example the MC reveals that (s) he is the hidden warlock, the new top archer student, the clan leader of the phoenix clan and a girl, and everyone is just like "oh, cool, you got secrets".

[collapse]
Also the age/time sequences are completely unrealistic. Everything seems to happen in an interval of days, where it should be months. Read this if you are bored and dont need surprises. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Top Management
October 26, 2018
Status: c142
Really awesome story about the show-biz that includes the dark sides of society and a super-cool MC. Also it made me watch a kpop-performance on youtube :)
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Succubus’ Life in Another World
October 5, 2018
Status: c38
One of the best quality translation I ever read, too bad the author is rather weak at utilizing his plot setup. The first few chapters develop as you expect and suddenly you get the generic slice of life live happily and do lots of cooking.. It gets boring really fast, but the translation quality alone warrants the 4 stars, seeing as its a JP novel.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Assassin’s Chronicle
May 19, 2018
Status: c219
The basic structure of the novel is good, but the translation is very childish and just doesnt feel right. If someone were to retranslate this on the level of AWE or ISSH I believe it would warrant 5*, but in the form it is right now I just cant bring myself to continue.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Way of the Devil
April 4, 2018
Status: c195
This novel basically is Fist of the North Star meets Detective Konan: You've got an ultra-violent MC and a world full of ghosts (and worse). What happens is a beautiful mix murder and martial-arts.

The only thing that bothered me was that the author has troubles closing his story threads. Many of the characters and happenings seem important and get described in great detail but then disappear very soon. But after reading some more and getting more familiar with the authors style of writing i've come to instead like this "feature":... more>> I cant foresee who will die and what is going to happen. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Reincarnation Of The Strongest Sword God
March 19, 2018
Status: c229
A good standard VR novel with some unexpected surprises. Sure, the MC has a smooth ride, doesnt face any setbacks, is always lucky, always exclaims how shocked he is about his luck, has big breasted beautys getting interested in him, makes enemys every second encounter, has the enemy pull their big brothers and their guilds and their anonymous backers into the fight, gets his revenge mercilessy, makes unrealistc amounts of money in short time. But! The smooth ride is a good read, the no-setbacks parts are interesting, the MCs luck... more>> gets him the really good stuff, the beautys have a personality, the enemys get slaughered in fun ways and the making-money part is really enjoyable. Bonus: His party is not annoying and the quests are sadistic, but fun. Read this if you are in the mood for VR. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Cohen of the Rebellion
March 13, 2018
Status: v2c5
You cant call this a story, this is more like sentences written by a third grader following some brownish thread. There is just so much missing. I dont know if its the author or the translator, or maybe its both, but the only value this has is as a freak show exhibit in a modern art gallery. Thats also the reason I give this 2 stars, its so bad it becomes good again.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
God of Crime
July 20, 2017
Status: c164
The first half of this novel is superb and definitly worth 5*, but the second half just feels rushed and clumsy, as if the author had to finish in 30 chapters. He stopped utilizing a lot of things he set up before and gives a deeply unsatisfying end so I can only give 1* star. In total its worth a read, but dont expect much after chapter 100.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Black Tech Internet Cafe System
August 3, 2020
Status: c498
I am surprised how good it is. Based on the first few chapters I thought it was tr*sh.

+ Very light entertainment

+ In-depth research of all kinds of games

+ Interesting characters

+ Good system

~ No explanation of cultivation

- Promotes smoking

- The usual racism/nationalism against westerners

This is a lighthearted read that doesn't involve thinking too deeply about stuff, but instead invokes nostalgia. I definitely want to play Diablo again.

Unfortunately, the novel lacks depth. I bulk-read it, and after the third big arc it really is a grind.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
The Human Emperor
July 27, 2020
Status: c472
This starts as a dope-ass 5* "getting another chance" novel, with the MC taking full advantage of his cheat-like memories. But the longer you read the more you start to notice discrepancies.

The mental age: ... more>>
Spoiler

Why does the MC act like a 15 yo when his mental age is 20+40+X? He should act like his grandfather, like the great general and hope of humanity he is! Even worse, in the later arcs he acts like a complete hot-head, rushing head-first and ruining his every political advantage.

[collapse]

The MC is a hypocrite:
Spoiler

He often talks about "warriors honor" and goes damning his opponents for doing underhanded stuff, and then does the same exact thing in the next arc because he has to "win at all costs".

[collapse]

Schemes:
Spoiler

What happened to all the schemes and tactical understanding? Where does the sudden focus on cultivation and "if you are strong, schemes do not matter" mentality come from. What is the use of that chess competition then?

[collapse]

Aspirations:
Spoiler

If I am the chosen one, tasked with saving the world, and aware of all the mistakes the emperor will make, then I sure as heck am not comfortable staying a general in my next life.

[collapse]

Family:
Spoiler

Where did his family go? He has a father and brothers (who are kind of a big deal) and they never appear. Why go around begging for forgiveness in the beginning if they are unimportant?

[collapse]

Girls/Women:
Spoiler

The girls are all valiant, strong, can cultivate (the same as men), can join the army (the same as men), but can't enter politics? Author, if you are breaking your historical setting, break it completely...

[collapse]

Faction:
Spoiler

Every arc introduces a new random minor character that has neither skill nor power and will disappear until called once more hundreds of chapters later, for a big "call all names" and pile on my enemies. Furthermore the MC plays in the "Champions Leage" with the emperor, King Song, his grandfather,... but then wastes time on minor matters and minor characters.

[collapse]

Wealth:
Spoiler

If I am saving every coin I can get to prevent the population from starving, I definitely won't go around gifting some random C-rank noble girl millions of Gold-Taels. The MC does.

[collapse]

I really want to like this novel, but it is too much of a mess. The MC is s*upid and hot-headed, even though he appears like a smart schemer in the beginning. I definitely did not expect that, nor did I want or need it to happen. Furthermore every arc introduces some new character for his faction, but they then all disappear and play no role anymore.

Really disappointing 2* - the fact that the novel does have glorious moments hurts all the more. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
The Strongest System
June 28, 2020
Status: c321
+1 OP System

+1 Shameless MC

+1 Sect building

... more>> +3 Has absolutely hilarious comedy scenes

-3 Has absolutely weird and unfunny comedy scenes

-3 The MC acts utterly s*upid at times, for example how he gets his first real personal disciple

It is what you expect. At times it manages to pull of absolutely comedic scenes (for example speaking gibberish with the construction workers). But on the other hand you also got absolutely weird stuff, with a heavy fixation on SM and BL. I found the latter very awkward, and not very funny at all.

I like the overall world and the whole sect business is good, but sometimes the author just derails everything and makes you go "wtf am I reading?" 3*. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report