Report Review
78 Reviews


Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
God of Crime
July 20, 2017
Status: c164
The first half of this novel is superb and definitly worth 5*, but the second half just feels rushed and clumsy, as if the author had to finish in 30 chapters. He stopped utilizing a lot of things he set up before and gives a deeply unsatisfying end so I can only give 1* star. In total its worth a read, but dont expect much after chapter 100.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
This is a well thought out story and world about the suffering of a little girl that gets the chance to turn into a demon. Unfortunately the world is too simple, there is only black and white, absolute good and absolute evil. Furthermore the heroine lacks depth and walks around spewing stuff like "I was hurt when I was a child, now I take revenge by killing all humans. I am aware that they are sentient beings".

The world building is fun and makes it worth a read, but the heroine... more>> is seriously disappointing past chapter 30.

3* <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Green Skin
August 25, 2019
Status: c94
Can a Goblin be a wise chief? This one definitely is one. Humane yet monstrous, full of love yet twisted, Blood Dagger is the saviour this rotten world needs. It is fascinating to read about the struggle to survive, the humanity of monsters and the monstrosity of humans. 5*, the characters feel very much alive.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
A Guest in a Ghost House
August 9, 2019
Status: c183
A very interesting novel, giving a good overview over Asian folklore and myths. The novel is episodic, with every episode containing a few dead people and a ghost mystery to solve.

The MC and his companions are quite bland, but they have their moments, and the episodic nature of the novel let you gloss over it.

Unfortunately the translation is very mediocre in the later parts, people that are a she get called a he, words are jumbled, and so on. Still it is above readable.

3.5*, but I find the idea cool,... more>> so 4*. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
My Nightclub Landlady
August 4, 2019
Status: c68
The base plot is pretty simple and clear, involving martial arts, mafia, corruption and always a bigger "fish" somewhere in the back. Is is written well and what I found very interesting is that the author correctly accommodates for the 21th century setting - you cant just randomly beat people on the streets, there will be people filming you.

Why only 3*? The sister the MC sets out to protect is clearly made out to be a "dirty" girl

... more>>
Spoiler

"Well, in our business, a woman’s figure is the most important thing. A woman in the business can be ugly, but they must be in good shape to get the most out of their customers when they’re getting it on."

Sister Flower said, "I’m not afraid of being teased for it, even though I have quit that side of the business for many years, I still maintain the habits of the past. "

[collapse]

but later on in the story she miracolously becomes pure again, which just threw me off from reading. Also the MC is trained his eyes well and can clearly identify the caliber of a sniper bullet in the air, another little tidbit that is very distracting and removes my sense of "reality". <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter
The Card Apprentice
July 13, 2019
Status: c515
Well written, a nice mix of getting stronger, fighting, scheming and reactions. What I really like is that the plot flows freely an doesnt really care about previously established encounters. For example the MC makes a promise to character A but then is forced to leave the town and will not be able to fulfill the promise. In other novels character A would come back and play an important role, but in this novel you never know if someone is important or not, resulting in a refreshing story.

All that bothers... more>> me is that at the beginning the dimensions of time and money are not really thought out well, but this gets better in the later parts. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Marquis of Grand Xia
June 14, 2019
Status: c134
This story is hit AND miss. It has a mixture of very well thought out characters and important story characters that are clearly an afterthought.
Spoiler

The empress and the prince are impressive characters and their interactions with the MC are very funny and deep. The "love interest" is absolute bullshit. The MC meets some random girl and a few chapters later they almost marry. Another few chapters later the girl is absolutely unimportant again and doesnt come back anyome.

[collapse]
Furthermore the story starts as a kind of ancient harem comedy and translates into ancient chinese war and empire building. What disappoints me the most is that the MC is an absolute hypocrite that changes between ruthlessly killing everyone and not caring about anyone and "all war is evil, lets all be friends".

Overall the author is able to write well, but heavily lacks in the story building aspect and loves to go off track.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Japanese Slice-of-life. I give it 3* because the setting would be interesting in a "real" novel.
Spoiler

A divine system that forces the user to act like the blessing. The hero has to be good, some people dont like their blessing or get bad blessings and are cast out,...

[collapse]
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
The Experimental Log of the Crazy Lich
April 5, 2019
Status: c139
The story is great and the humor is great, but the author has trouble mixing them to a digestible novel. Instead of progressing the story and laughing about the funny antics of Beifeng, the Gentleman club and the system, you get to laugh a few chapters and then get shoved some ridiculously deep world background in your throat. And the worst part, the background in itself is also very thorough and thought out. Just -as I said- the author doesnt mix them well. Furthermore the plot doesnt really develop until... more>> chapter ~100 where you finally get to know why the novel has its name. It is enjoyable, definitely a high grade novel and translation, but still could be improved. 4* <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Chongfei Manual
January 25, 2019
Status: c125
The story is very mature and describes the troubles of a little girl growing up to reach adulthood in ancient china. The ancient foods, customs and clothes are described well, and the TL even supplies pictures of said item to satisfy curiosity. But the novel is lacking on the execution path, it lacks strength and severity. The MC doesnt face any troubles, in the beginning there are some harsh developments, showcasing her cruel side, but after the first hurdle she only acts spoiled and doesn't do anything of any importance.... more>> It really lures one to sleep, its a dull drag describing minor annoyances. I want action, I want drama, I want heinous plots and betrayals! <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
One Man Army
January 15, 2019
Status: c43
It is a good novel, but the lack of logic on the authors side is disturbing me from really enjoying it - It doesnt feel as if the parts of the story are interconnected. Also the truly juicy parts are not fleshed out in detail (interaction with others, "streaming", being the first). Examples: ... more>>
Spoiler

The MC runs a regular bus-service through the giants cave but also has time to clear the ant-eater dungeon for 13h a day? I dont think that 4h sleep wont let his AR super-power degenerate, something he was very troubled with in the beginning. Also I dont think that people in "the best AR game ever" will just sell stuff they dont know the use of. At least I never do that in games I play. Also the super-duper price of 800 000 (?) USD for a merchant guild is not that much, it was insinuated that the whole world plays this game, especially rich sheiks with billions in their pocket, I doubt that they would bat an eye to not buy a merchant guild. Not to mention mega-conglomerates (that already are in the game with product placement).

[collapse]
All in all the author often explains things that dont really make sense for me and I find it troubling. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Very Pure and Ambiguous: The Prequel
January 6, 2019
Status: c62
The author is Janus, the two-faced. The first chapter starts melodramatic, a life gone in passing, without achieving true love. And BAM!, suddenly the sad, devastated MC becomes the ultimate Mr. Silkpants, starts arguing with Yama, beats up delinquents, forgets about his "true love" in 5 minutes and goes after every girl he comes across. And the worst part, the true love is perfectly fine with it. What morals? What true love? This is clearly corrupting public morals and ought to be banished from stores in the whole country!
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
This is surprisingly good. The author catches all the "manga developments", just that it is from the girls perspective. The story is full of funny misunderstandings and weird developments.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Way of the Devil
April 4, 2018
Status: c195
This novel basically is Fist of the North Star meets Detective Konan: You've got an ultra-violent MC and a world full of ghosts (and worse). What happens is a beautiful mix murder and martial-arts.

The only thing that bothered me was that the author has troubles closing his story threads. Many of the characters and happenings seem important and get described in great detail but then disappear very soon. But after reading some more and getting more familiar with the authors style of writing i've come to instead like this "feature":... more>> I cant foresee who will die and what is going to happen. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Eight Treasures Trousseau
February 16, 2018
Status: c108
Beautiful story, loaded with hidden meanings. Unfortunately I didnt catch them all, so the first half felt rather slow. Also the end felt rushed, but thats maybe only because I didnt understand the final scheme?
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
MMORPG: Rebirth of the Legendary Guardian
August 29, 2017
Status: c53
Another of those 50/50 storys. The game parts and dungeon parts are pretty exciting, the author did his research and probably also played his share of games. Besides that it gets as worse as you expect from chinese webnovels. The backstory is "poor" rich guy not marrying the girl because an even richer guy called dips on the girl aswell. Then there is the time skip and the MC vowing to make everything right by playing games. Also, did I mention boobs? No? Well, the author does. A lot. But... more>> the worst thing, for me, that makes me only rate this 3 stars (= read if bored, has some good parts) is the MCs dungeon party. Honestly, if I was in the MCs role, I would have kicked more than half of them already. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter
The Book Eating Magician
August 3, 2017
Status: c42
I dont know what to say. Its written/translated well, but I just cant get into it. The whole world is to clean, I miss the dark thoughts of Age of Adepts or Warlock of the Magus World. Also I feel the author kinda throws his premise of eating books out of the window really fast. I like that the author breaks some of the stereotypes, but thats not enough to keep me reading.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Your Highness, I Know My Wrongs
May 6, 2017
Status: c89
Its different than the usual stories. It starts as the regular love triange, but then explodes in lots of (for me) weird plotlines and completely throws the theme premise out of the window.

Im not saying that its bad (its actually written quite well), but I expected something different.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report