Report Review
61 Reviews


sgrey
sgrey rated it
In a Different World with a Smartphone
August 9, 2017
Status: c180
This novel is slow paced without overall much tension. It is kind of similar to Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku in this regard, but I like this one less. The MC is immature and as you keep reading, it really becomes more and more annoying. He also has kind of wimpy character with the girls. I don't like novel where MC is just getting abused or talked to one-sidedly by the girls. ... more>>
Spoiler

Marring the girls just because they told him to is also stupid. Especially the princess who forced herself on him, then gets jealous even though he said "no" originally.

[collapse]

Overall the novel gets boring after the first 100 chapters. The more you read, the more boring it gets. See spoilers for why

Spoiler

Making establishment of a new kingdom boring must be a special gift of the author.

The reasons are 1) MC is too OP. There is never a feeling of danger or any tension. His companions are also never in danger 2) All problems are solved in a boring way. He only uses 2-3 magics, somehow he just becomes expert in martial arts even though he never trains. 3) Whatever the situation is, there is always some kind of deus ex machina ready.

[collapse]

To me this novel suffers greatly from immature MC and poorly done slice of life stuff. There is actually not much emotional connection to most characters there because there is not much time spent developing them. The action part also most of the time is very small. I don't like it when one battle stretches many chapters, but in this novel I don't think there are any battle that lasts even half a chapter. Basically sever lack of overall tension is a big minus here. One of the reasons for this lack of tension is that MC is super OP. The way it is presented in the novel, this kind of OP is also boring. His character also deteriorates as the story progresses. He becomes less and less prominent and overshadowed by his harem. There is some nice overall story here and some potential. Since there are not that many chapters yet, this novel can either improve in the future or go down the drain. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
I honestly wanted to give this novel a higher rating, but it became too dull in later chapters. It is, however, definitely not a 1-star novel. If the translation is fixed a bit, it might even be a solid 4-star. Overall I like the story and the premise. I enjoy novels where people get exiled and then rise up. The chapters are quite long and filled with content to the brim. Lot's of events and overall nice progression is there.

However, the main problem with the novel is the lacking ability... more>> of the author. The novel just doesn't have a focus. It seems to me like the author wanted it to be Death March - like with an OP MC who has a major cheat and has it easy and travels around with an army of girls who worship him. But it was a failure. The novel is quite dull. Too many characters were introduced too quickly and because of that none of them have enough time to develop and focus. All old characters quickly fade into the background as new ones are introduced. Some characters who seem like they will be important because several chapters were dedicated to them and even a side story, but they are just dropped and barely ever mentioned. Like the second MC. She seemed to be super important with a major cheat skill that can be super helpful. At the moment she is but a forgotten character who is nothing but a bed warmer.

Another problem is MC... he is just as dull and bland as any other characters. He doesn't have any distinguishing characteristic and you don't really know what he will do eventually. Many of what he says and does are different. He seems to care for some people and a total jackass to everyone else. There are quite a few contradictions and logic flaws with him. Also, he is not at the point of being mentally deficient, he is quite stupid. He makes rash decisions that do not make sense and at time behave erratically. Oh, and yes, this is a harem, and all the girls are crazy for MC, but nothing ever happens. There are no romance related things at all. I am super disappointed that he does nothing at all with any of the older girls. At least make a second MC his waifu so she won't be a background forgotten character... Well, he might marry the queen of one country though... But honestly - if you expect anything remotely resembling romance, just don't read it, it's not here. In addition, it is difficult to know just how strong MC and his companions are. Because they can modify the status, they can get arbitrary strong or weak and the it's hard to just the skill levels because they are just skipped and not explained well.

The storytelling is quite bad too. The dialog is often clanky and disjoint. I blame most of it on bad translation, though. The translation despite having an editor is quite bad with missing determiners, improper tenses, missing pronouns or misused adjectives. Most of the time the meaning is translated properly though.

Is it a good read? I would say it's fine to kill time. I enjoy the humor more often than not in this novel and it is overall interesting. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This novel is mostly slice of life comedy with an isekai twist rather than anything else. The story is slow paced and there are periods of fun alternating with periods of boring chapters. I like the fact that it is not a standard isekai, but one which is located on Earth. Overal this is easy to read non-tension slow paced joy read.

If I have to say what is bad about this novel, is that the chapters are pretty short and very little happens in them. The dense part of MC... more>> is annoying, but not the degree that it kills the novel. MC is actually pretty smart in general and the only part where gets stupid are the girls. Therefore the romance here is quite mediocre. The girls like him, he kinda likes them back, but somehow not romantically. Also, it is shown that he is actually attracted to at least one of them.

MC is super OP so there is no feeling of danger or tension. He got a skill that lets him accumulate experience by sleeping. I honestly don't care about this kind of stuff as long as I am getting entertained, and I did get entertained by this novel.

What I don't understand is how people who come to read an isekai novel about gods, magic and different world complain about novel not being realistic. I mean come on, this is pretty much the staple of the genre to get dense OP MC with a harem. However, unlike some other novels where MC is just retarded, this one actually have brains, he just consciously decides not to get romantically with girls.

The characters of this novel are somewhat flat, but in my opinion, we know just enough about them to get a grasp of their personality and who they are. In addition, the story gets more interesting after the first 100 chapters. There does not seem to be an established plot at the moment, but the novel is getting there. I mean why would you have to have the end goal of the novel established from the very start? I don't have a problem if the story slowly shows you the main goal a bit later, like discovering some sort of hidden plan or hidden baddy that you didn't know about. At the moment it looks like there is something hidden going on there, so I am still interested.

Overall I like the novel despite it having a lot of boring parts. It is not that great of a novel, but good enough to quickly read through and kill some time <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Otoko Nara Ikkokuichijou no Aruji o Mezasa Nakya, ne?
July 17, 2018
Status: c338
This novel should be named "Memoirs of the reincarnated condom merchant". I really liked how this novel started. We got a nice backstory for the MC and I was happy that we finally have the protagonist who is actually old, served in the army, got married, and worked for many years. An experienced and mature person, who legitimately can have skills and knowledge, and not some high schooler shut-in otaku who spends his time reading about ancient manufacturing methods of everything. The chapters were detailed and long, we got nice... more>> overview of what MC saw and his thoughts. However, It quickly turned into a huge disappointment. The MC turned out to be an immature retard who is maybe slightly better than the average teen MC we often see. After the first 10+ chapters, the long chapters get really old. The reason the chapters are long is because they are plagued with absurdly long explanations, reasonings, and other trivial stuff. The dialog becomes terrible because you often have 6 or more paragraphs of explanations between 2 lines of dialog. The novel turned out to be extremely boring and tedious to read. You always want to skip boring stuff and read something more interesting, but because of the structure of the novel, it is hard to do so.

The writing of this novel is not that good. I don't know if it was the translation or the original, but as the novel goes on, it makes less and less sense. The sentences become less coherent and the logic more flowed. The explanations start to repeat and cover the actual content. Some chapters can be skipped entirely without any problems. It is an extremely tedious slice of life novel. Every chapter you get details on how much they walked, what they ate, what was the seating arrangement, meaningless small talk, etc. This stuff gets so annoying as you keep reading. And volume 3 starts with some nonsense that is impossible to make sense of.

Romance in the novel does not exist. There is literally nothing. He and she meet, they say: oh, I like you, let's get married! - Sure, lets. Done! The whole romance. For more than 100 chapters MC does even think about romance, and then he meets his old female acquaintance and the whole romance is: from now on you are my woman! And they started the relationship. No one goes on dates, no gifts, no hugs, no anything that can be considered romantic. He even got her separate room and they only meet occasionally when either of them gets horny. They don't even talk that much to each other unless it's business related. And then they got married without any ceremony or announcements in secret. The same is true pretty much about everyone else. All you know is that everyone has a partner and that is the extent of the romance.

Adventure is also not there. After he leaves home, he just sits in one town and farms the dungeon. That would be alright if there was something happening, but for the majority of the novel, there is nothing going on. All you read about is day-to-day stuff. Something like: "Today I went to the capital city and came to the office. I said hello to this person and this person and that child is cute as always. I ate a stake at this restaurant afterward and sold some condoms to the brothel. Then I came back to the dungeon." This is the kind of stuff the whole novel consists of.

Now about condoms. When you talk about this novel, you can't not talk about condoms. For the first time, MC starts a business that's not food (also he does start selling food later on), or metals, but rubber. Of course, he makes shoes and other stuff, but his main product is pretty much condoms. The novel is filled with gags about condoms, how great condoms are and how everyone buys condoms and there literally as much stuff about condoms as about adventure and everything else. Not sure why the author is obsessed with condoms so much, but what is sad is that condoms are probably what is the most interesting about this novel so far.

In regards to character development, there is none. I can't say that I know any character in the novel, including MC. He is very awkward and immature. During five years that he "adventured" and 14 years prior at his home, there was no character growth or change. Overall there is no emotions in this novel at all. There is just statement of facts. It is really difficult to get attached to any character. Secondary characters often have more personality than the main. This is also true for his family. Supposedly they all have a great relationship and love each other, but it's not really shown, especially with the siblings. When they meat each other they either talk business or fight. Other than few occasions you might actually think they hate each other. The story is actually interesting, but the writing is poor and because there is an overabundance of explanations, it is pretty boring to read. Honestly, For over 300 chapters there is so little that happens, you can probably count the number of interesting events on one hand. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Chuuko demo Koi ga Shitai!
July 10, 2018
Status: v3c2
I think the author of this novel was dropped on the head. Every character in this novel is damaged as a human being and even willing to go as far as becoming criminals just so someone will acknowledge or pay attention to them. Really WTF is with that school? Is it a school for criminals, but we are just not informed? So far every volume ends with the male lead being kidnapped and almost raped. So if this trend is going to continue, he will be attacked at least 10... more>> more times? And wtf with that relationship? Any normal person will run away from an idiot who says "I only want 2d girl".. Basically MC is an abnormally stupid wuss who got tricked by chicks few times during childhood and decided that girls are evil and he will only fap on porn for the rest of his life. And where the hell is a comedy? Why is it a staple tag for this kind of novel? There isn't a single joke or gag or any element of comedy. No dark or any kind of humor is present.

And finally the whole romance situation... Is he going to play tsundere for the rest of the novel? This is just damn agonizing. If the end goal is for him say "be my girlfriend", this story is going to be sh*t. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Isekai Shoukan wa Nidome Desu
July 2, 2018
Status: c47
OMFG, this novel. For the first few chapters MC just lets himself get bullied because it's too much of work to stand up for himself. So you sit there wondering wtf you are reading. Then he starts traveling, and slowly you understand the plot, and it becomes an even bigger wtf.

... more>>
Spoiler

MC is being stalked by a psychopathic summoned guy who is in love with him. That guy manipulates countries and tries to kill everyone who is close to MC out of jealousy.

[collapse]

The wording of the novel, at least in the beginning, is awkward, but that could be a bad translation. The story tries to create a sense of drama and danger, but it is kind of clear that everything should end well here. Most characters don't have enough time to develop a personality, so they are bland for the most part. All girls just fall for MC at the first sight and he is going around half-proposing to them. Overall MC also behaves as a mentally unstable person. He is like that guy who shows love be means of verbal abuse.

The story is actually not bad, but the novel needs more development. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Upgrade Specialist in Another World
March 27, 2018
Status: c529
Pretty decent novel. Firs, it is not classic "transported" novel. Instead of a person from our world transported, a computer game skill together with some memories are transported and implanted into a person from another world. I like that MC here is not a rapist or deranged killer like it is quite often in chinese novels. He is indeed immature and stupid for a good chunk of the novel, but I am giving it a pass since he seems like he is growing as a person. It much better in... more>> my opinion compared to the introduction of MC who does not change throughout the novel.

I also like that this novel does not have a strong focus on the process of cultivation. What I mean is, if you read most novels, you have chapters upon chapters describing how someone breaks through and cultivates. It may sound impressive and show that there is some danger, but it is quite boring to read how MC breaks through next level for 5 chapters. This novel has very little of this kind of thing. Most of the cultivation is just mentioned in a few sentences. MC also does not have a second power, he does not eat magical fruits that let him break through 5 realms at once. He also does not have some sort of ancient ghost that helps him and gives him fancy stuff at convenience. I only have big problem with one case in the soulbeast forest, that was forced.

This novel also so far doesn't put MC for the most part in ridiculous situations where plot armor has to activate. Unlike in other novels, where MC often meets someone he can't beat, he has to be rescued or some bs must happen for MC to survive, and pretty much without injury at that. In this novel, MC is not put in these situations, other than maybe twice, and the solutions to the situations are not as forced (like there is no some strong friend showing up out of nowhere because he happens to be there). MC fights and beats stronger enemies several times with his own power, and he actually suffers serious problems as a result. Alas, he does solve everything later, but this way I like it better, compared to "deus ex plot armor rescue".

I do wish the romance part was a bit better. He and his future wife literally sacrificed their lives for each other, yet they did not officially hook up after that. The whole world makes rumors about them, yet they don't talk about their feelings with each other.

Overall I enjoy this novel very much. It is quite funny and if you get past some stupidity by MC, the novel is pretty decent. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
Before anything else, I gotta give the biggest spoiler for this novel:

... more>>
Spoiler

The plot armor of MC is over 9000! Nothing truly bad ever happens to him or his companions. The plot is set up in such a way that all major events happen at convenient times so MC can find a clever solution or a pull one out of his ass because the time was just right for him to create a new monster

[collapse]

Now with that out of the way. Amnesia tag for this novel is false. There is no amnesia.

I don't know if it is a poor translation or the writing, but the sentences often logically incohesive. Especially first few chapter I had really hard time understanding the logic of the demon lord powers. I kinda figured out all the kinks as the novel went along. The translation, by the way, is not the best. Every chapter sometimes has the same words translated differently. For example, darkness becomes black, human becomes person, and graveyard sometimes becomes cemetery. Also, it is not a big problem to figure out what is going on, but when every chapter the translation is different, you begin to wonder if they talk about the same thing regardless.

Overall this novel does not have a good setup for the world or for the logic. Almost nothing important is said to the reader about the rules of the world. For example, very important thing are attributes for the medals demon lords use. But we are never told what attributes there are and how many are there. So far the attributes were planet, alchemy, phase, time, water, person and others. So basically one can assume it is arbitrary and unlimited. So the author can pull anything out of his ass for the convenience of it. Also for some reason in later chapters, it appears there is a limit to how many monsters a month he can name. That for me came out of the blue because I don't remember anything like that written before.

Overall the novel is very cartoonish with all cliche characters. You got a sore loser that is weak, but wish to show his power and thus create underhanded schemes, you got tsundere, you got cowards who attack MC and then become his subordinates. The villans are always thrown cartoonish speeches such as "AHAHAAHA, you foolish demon lord have fallen into my trap! Behold my true power!!". This kind of things just makes me cringe. MC also throws speeches like that when he speaks to his subordinates often. It became a bit better after volume 4 though.

There is quite a lot of BS in this novel with clearly broken logic. Many parts are not properly explained and it is very obvious where the author is slacking. This novel is childish and cartoonish and it is clear that MC will always win. I also wish that MC was a bit more honest and decisive about his relationships.

One thing I want to point out. He creates monsters using magic. Few of the most powerful monsters call him dad, and he thinks of them like daughters. But! They are not his daughters! They are monsters! Also, there is no age for them! All monsters and MC himself is technically less than 1 year old! The reason I am talking about is that the novel is clearly going in the direction where MC will marry his monsters. So yea, I don't think it's weird. It's just the author make it awkward because from the start the monsters start calling him "dad". I guess I can see it as character growth?

Nonetheless, I did enjoy this novel. I think one of the reasons why is that it is not predictable to me. I mean I can kind of guess that MC will win, it just seems to be this kind of novel where MC always wins. But I can't guess exactly how. Also, many other events that happen in the novel, they were not obvious to me. So despite all of the bad, cringing stuff that happens here, I did enjoy it quite a bit. Another reason is that MC is quite direct. He doesn't cower after he realizes his feelings. He just goes after what he wants. So, lack of drama? I am really tired of the novel with pointless drama. Overall I think this is an ok read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Sendai Yuusha wa Inkyou Shitai
February 22, 2018
Status: c60
To be honest, this novel is not bad, but the few problems that exist are pretty substantial. First, the author has a habit where he breaks the flow of the events. When you reach the most interesting part, the author just stops and switches to something else. And then he never goes back to the event you wanted to read about. Instead, you are in the future and just know the result of the event.

... more>>
Spoiler

For example, I wanted to read more about the reunion with Ossan in the academy city, but as soon as they met, author switched to a different scene. Or the stupid 5-chapter cliffhanger about the "trauma of the past" that Norn was guilty about turned out just to be chuunibyou. Many other instances where events are stopped halfway through and later we return to the end after everything was over.

[collapse]

Second, this stupid MC. He is a pervert with delusions. As a result of the story being focused on MC, you only see his overreactions and perverted impulses. It just reads as an ecci manga, to be honest. You can pretty much draw manga directly from the novel. The comedy is.... mediocre. I did laugh a few times, but more often than not, it's not funny. It is the type of a stupid humor we saw in ecchi comedy manga many times over when we were 11.

Lack of relationship depth. MC does establish some relationships, but first of all - all characters are flat. There is no personality for any of them. Second, we don't actually know enough about any of the characters to care about them. The only characters we care about are those that MC new from his previous time. Only because he talks more about them and establishes that he cares about them. However, many potentially interesting characters that can make the novel better are left behind. It is actually a contradiction that MC is such a pervert who want to do the girls, but deliberately avoids doing things with the girls at any cost. It's like he just enjoys watching underage girls in costumes and jerks off secretly, and that's all he really needs.

Lastly, the events are sooo drawn out and often are confusing. There is endless stream of inner thoughts to the point where what is happening falls to the background and often cannot be clearly traced because of inner thoughts.

Overall, the story is ok, but because it is written with these cheap tricks for comedy, the novel deteriorates substantially. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
The Reincarnated Vampire Wants an Afternoon Nap
February 15, 2018
Status: c136
I like this novel, it is quite entertaining. The MC was abused and locked up by his family in his previous life, and he does not understand emotions and social interactions. When he is reincarnated, he will start to discover how to live in a socium. She builds relationships and acquires new family. Gets to realize emotions and feelings.

She is very OP in terms of skill level, but she does not understand how to use the skills properly and thus she gets her ass whopped once or twice in the... more>> currently translated chapters. Which serves as a good lesson to her.

One terrible thing about this whole novel is the translation. It's just terrible, terrible English. I suspect they just use google translate and even after it's being edited quite often it is impossible to understand the meaning of the sentences. The translator is not a native English speaker and it seems that none of the editors are as well. I really have to mention this because it's just terrible. It could be the worst I have seen <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This novel is quite boring. There is stuff happening, but there is no tension, MC is just an idiot and the jokes are not funy at all. I haven't even smiled while reading this novel. It's not the worst out there, but it is still a pretty boring novel overall. MC is immature and all of the problems are never getting solved.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
The Mage Will Master Magic Efficiently In His Second Life
December 26, 2017
Status: c108
The world for this novel is not explained well and MC is a dubmass. The author fluctuates between having dense idiotic MC and smarter MC. At one point he treats the girls like his grandkids, and the next minute he treats them as proper women. This kind of thing happens all the time. Also, the arc with Grain was one of the dumbest there is... You know there is a strong guy who wants to kill you, what do you do? Go where he is waiting for you of course!

The... more>> novel generally is boring and the characters are pretty flat. The fight sequences are boring, the dialog is boring.. I do like the concept of this novel, but the writing is just not up to par <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This story is a bit unexpected from reading the synopsis. It started pretty well and was interesting and refreshing. The MC seemed smarter and more mature than what we usually get in these type of novels. However the story degraded a bit in later chapters and there are few annoyances that prevent this novel from reaching it's full potential. I do like this story. It is not all-action and have a lot of slice-of-life stuff. I am giving it 4 stars, even though I think the story has become a... more>> lot worse, because it seems to be picking up again.

First, likes.

MC acquires space-time magic immediately and is able to teleport between his world and summoned world. He constantly jumps back and forth with the princess and it is interesting how the princess is getting integrated into society of the modern world. The switch between both worlds is what kept me reading this novel for some time. It is nice to see for a change how MC solves problems on both sides with the help knowledge and magic from both worlds.

Now, what is not that great in my opinion.

The author seem to have lost track of what he wants to do with the novel. First, it started as nice novel with half-decent comedy that focused on adventuring in another world. Later the focus from another world shifted slowly to the MCs world. The humor becomes more perverted-oriented and the novel seem to be shifting to Blade Dance-like style of comedy/romance. What I mean is the MC is constantly getting abused for no reason by his sister, who is the most annoying character that spoils half of the novel in my opinion. This brother complex routine where his sister vigorously prevents him from talking with other women, creates Blade Dance-style misunderstandings, and just constantly bashes him all the time is so annoying. What's worse is that he just quietly takes it. I would probably drop this novel just because of this, but these episodes do not appear that often (not multiple times through chapter, but once or twice every few chapters). If only the author changed the setting a bit, it would be so much better! The MC is 30 years old and is surrounded by young girls who are 15-19 years old. I get it why there is no romance tag and because the novel doesn't advertise itself as romance, this is not as annoying as it can be, but the romance development is a bit creepy at this point. Making MC 25 and having 19 year old girls would make this so much better and won't take anything from the novel.

Now the MC himself is the other half that spoils the novel. The problem is that the author can't write this MC properly. At one time MC is mature, understands everything, clever, etc. The next moment he becomes innocent, like a 10 year old child in regards to girls, completely clueless and just naive and doesn't seem to realize what is going on around him.

Spoiler

Like when the chick from another world masturbates at night and he thinks she is doing a secret training because he feels he heart rate go up.

[collapse]

It just dumb, unless MC grew up in a cave and never saw a woman before. You can't have MC who is at one point mature and clever and then becomes stupid like a child the next moment! MC and co keep using magic in our world and no one seem to have caught on yet. Seriously, the way it is described here is just dumb. Like he teleports in the middle of a town with cameras and people watching and no one sees it or records it, no one figured out who he is.

Tthe author keeps repeating the same thing over and over again. So far there were 2 wars with humans, which are identical: a horde of monsters/demons attack several human cities while some other main force goes to achieve different hidden objective. There are also 2 terrorist attacks which are similar to each other and one bus hijacking terrorist attack. Does author want for MC to rid the world of terrorism, or what?

And finally, the way MC is not proactive. He actually knows who the bad guy is, he knows he is planning something to harm his family and companions and he does nothing! He just waits for sh*t to happen and then appears in the spotlight of the world, instead of covertly do something to neutralize the bad guys somehow (setting police on their tail or something, or maybe just killing the terrorists outright. Why the hell not? They are horrible people and he kills demons and such, who are also intelligent and have a proper society.) <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This novel is just empty in all regards. I am not sure why this is called ecci, I guess because of implications, but there is no ecci stuff there. Character interactions and development is non-existent and all characters aver extremely shallow. There are no relationship building or emotions. There is no tension. MC is just a horny dumb teen, who gets a bunch of "s*x slaves", but does not touch them. Instead he uses tentacle magic he developed to service the gals. However there are barely anything written other than... more>> the fact that it happened.

The story did not make me rage quit and was not so stupid that I wanted to quit half way throug, but I did skip a lot if stupid interactions between characters. The authors tries to have funny moments and use them as a relationship device I guess, but he miserably fails at that. All parts that suppose to be funny either make you want to punch MC for his idiocy or they are just stupid situations by themselves. This btw is one of the biggest problems with the story: MC does not have ambition (well, he wants to come back, but does not actively do anything that can help him do so). Stuff just happens as MC happen to be nearby.

So, bottom line this novel is super easy read that has nothing going for it. Bad characters, bad progress, bad romance, bad relationships. If you are 10 year old, you might like this.

Spoiler

Also the part with his sister is so stupid... You can guess what happens just from the already translated chapters.

[collapse]

Also, Twilight Reverie summarized everything else nicely. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Nidoume no Jinsei wo Isekai de
August 23, 2017
Status: c64
This novel is incredibly boring, but for some reason I don't hate it. There is very little action going on and most of the time the focus is on daily life. I can't really say that there are relationship development as the focus is mainly on MC himself. Also there are some nice moment with regards to relationships. Also, I don't feel comedy part of this novel. There are few funny places, but most of the time it doesn't even prompt a smile

One thing that is irritating, but for some... more>> reason is not super hateful probably because it is super slow, is that MC originally is portrayed as smart, but as he goes on, he becomes dumber and overlook some obvious things or makes stupid assumptions. He also shows naive and careless attitude as novel progresses. Also it is not the degree of hate, it is just mild irritation as it does not seem to actually influence the story that much.

Spoiler

1) When assassins attacked his home and the fairy killed them all, he thinks that they all left by themselves after she asked them politely because she said "they all left". Even though right before that she told him there are assassins and no one will miss them when they are gone and locked him in the room while she was killing them. For real? Mentality of 5 year old from 94 year old.

2) When he increases his mana to ridiculous amount, and people are telling him "wtf, your amount of mana is 10 times normal magician should have", he still thinks that he does not have that much mana. He also thinks that he is average in strength even though he is OP and that everyone around him should be the same. If he just looks at people around him, he can realize what kind of freak he is, and yet he does not.

3) His sword. Not only he trades a higher level artifact sword for the lower level artifact katana, he does not even freaking suspect anything. When his katana starts to perform above normal sword, he does not investigate it at all and just chills out still thinking it is a normal sword.

[collapse]

There is also a ton of inner thoughts of everyone. There are chapters upon chapters of nothing but inner thoughts. All of the action is very short.

Overall the story is super boring, but can be a light read if you skip boring parts. Because this story does not stir up hate, I give it 4 stars since it did not produce a feeling of wanting to just stop reading, nevertheless it is very boring overall. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Glutton Berserker ~The One That Exceeds The Concept Of Levels~
September 29, 2018
Status: v3 illustrations
The story is somewhat interesting, but the MC is beta and stupid. The worldbuilding is not really there and there is no character development. I would rate this novel higher if it was not for too much drama. MC is making stupid decisions things just happens because they must happen this way. Overall I don't really like where the story is going, but it might end up being good in the end. It's just many of the struggles in the story didn't have to be there or be that dramatic.

The... more>> story starts fine but gets more irritating as it progresses. No one ever tells MC anything until it's too late. One of the most common dialogs in the story:

- "someone says something seemingly important to MC, but stops half-way and does not finish the thought"
MC: What are saying (what did you mean)
- Nothing, forget about it.

At least once a chapter this would happen. Gets kinda annoying as you keep reading <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
It is a nice lighthearted read. There is not much plot and MC is a bit of a wuss, but it is fun to read. So far there haven't been any cringe moments worthy of mentioning for me and I enjoy the novel overall. The characters are actually surprisingly distinct and with the overall light tone of the novel it is pretty decent to pass the time.

There is also a possibility that he might actually get it on with the girls, but honestly, it is low in my opinion. But... more>> the girls actually like him, and there are signs that it might happen. The gacha itself is also not that OP. He does get something decent from it, but imo it's not broken to the point it makes everything else pointless. There are some useless items come out and some decent ones too. I also like that there are pretty decently set up rules overall. Stuff doesn't just randomly happen or MC doesn't just randomly gets sh*t that should've been impossible. For this type of story everything is surprisingly well set up overall.

Bear in mind that this is not a serious novel, so don't take it too seriously and enjoy. If you are looking for something serious, just don't read this one... <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Seiun wo Kakeru
December 6, 2017
Status: c50
It's boring. There is no plot, no goal, only very detailed and slow everyday life. It's not funny, the romance is small and very little ecci. None of the characters are developed, no one have any qualities to remember them by. There are many characters in this novel, yet I can barely remember their names or what they do. The amnesia part is stupid since it plays no role in this novel at all and MC gets his memories back very quickly. You would think that this type novel would... more>> have strong character interactions, and development, yet I can't even think about a single personality trait of MCs wife, except she has large boobs. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This novel is just stupid, especially those chat sessions. The ridiculously detailed and dumb slice of life, nothing ever happening. Everything is stretched out so much, it takes him like three chapters to send an email to his sister the night after he promised to do so, and another two chapters for her to read it. To me this novel is not funny and is not interesting. Very boring novel with some cute moments with Alice. She is the only thing that is good about this otherwise ridiculously boring novel.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Main Character Hides His Strength
November 25, 2017
Status: c116
This novel is pretty dark, but can be interesting. However the setting is depressing and is difficult after a while. MC is a loner and just treats everyone as sh*t, arrogant and thinks he is always right. He doesn't want to get information available to him because he thinks it is unrelated to him, without even knowing what that information is. The pacing of the novel is actually good. Most things are not stretched out unnecessary, but the author sometimes screws up with that. The author also keeps things that... more>> can enhance the novel, world building and character development from the reader. For example he doesn't say clearly what happened, what kind of promise MC made, etc. Why keep it a secret? Also the fact that MC is too much of an asshole is a drawback sometimes. He could at least treat Bertelgia better. Overall not a bad novel, but the is a foreshadowing of a bad end for MC. The author can spin a good ending or a bad ending at this point. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report