Report Review
54 Reviews


sgrey
sgrey rated it
Sendai Yuusha wa Inkyou Shitai
February 22, 2018
Status: c60
To be honest, this novel is not bad, but the few problems that exist are pretty substantial. First, the author has a habit where he breaks the flow of the events. When you reach the most interesting part, the author just stops and switches to something else. And then he never goes back to the event you wanted to read about. Instead, you are in the future and just know the result of the event.

... more>>
Spoiler

For example, I wanted to read more about the reunion with Ossan in the academy city, but as soon as they met, author switched to a different scene. Or the stupid 5-chapter cliffhanger about the "trauma of the past" that Norn was guilty about turned out just to be chuunibyou. Many other instances where events are stopped halfway through and later we return to the end after everything was over.

[collapse]

Second, this stupid MC. He is a pervert with delusions. As a result of the story being focused on MC, you only see his overreactions and perverted impulses. It just reads as an ecci manga, to be honest. You can pretty much draw manga directly from the novel. The comedy is.... mediocre. I did laugh a few times, but more often than not, it's not funny. It is the type of a stupid humor we saw in ecchi comedy manga many times over when we were 11.

Lack of relationship depth. MC does establish some relationships, but first of all - all characters are flat. There is no personality for any of them. Second, we don't actually know enough about any of the characters to care about them. The only characters we care about are those that MC new from his previous time. Only because he talks more about them and establishes that he cares about them. However, many potentially interesting characters that can make the novel better are left behind. It is actually a contradiction that MC is such a pervert who want to do the girls, but deliberately avoids doing things with the girls at any cost. It's like he just enjoys watching underage girls in costumes and jerks off secretly, and that's all he really needs.

Lastly, the events are sooo drawn out and often are confusing. There is endless stream of inner thoughts to the point where what is happening falls to the background and often cannot be clearly traced because of inner thoughts.

Overall, the story is ok, but because it is written with these cheap tricks for comedy, the novel deteriorates substantially. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
The Reincarnated Vampire Wants an Afternoon Nap
February 15, 2018
Status: c136
I like this novel, it is quite entertaining. The MC was abused and locked up by his family in his previous life, and he does not understand emotions and social interactions. When he is reincarnated, he will start to discover how to live in a socium. She builds relationships and acquires new family. Gets to realize emotions and feelings.

She is very OP in terms of skill level, but she does not understand how to use the skills properly and thus she gets her ass whopped once or twice in the... more>> currently translated chapters. Which serves as a good lesson to her.

One terrible thing about this whole novel is the translation. It's just terrible, terrible English. I suspect they just use google translate and even after it's being edited quite often it is impossible to understand the meaning of the sentences. The translator is not a native English speaker and it seems that none of the editors are as well. I really have to mention this because it's just terrible. It could be the worst I have seen <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This novel is quite boring. There is stuff happening, but there is no tension, MC is just an idiot and the jokes are not funy at all. I haven't even smiled while reading this novel. It's not the worst out there, but it is still a pretty boring novel overall. MC is immature and all of the problems are never getting solved.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This story is a bit unexpected from reading the synopsis. It started pretty well and was interesting and refreshing. The MC seemed smarter and more mature than what we usually get in these type of novels. However the story degraded a bit in later chapters and there are few annoyances that prevent this novel from reaching it's full potential. I do like this story. It is not all-action and have a lot of slice-of-life stuff. I am giving it 4 stars, even though I think the story has become a... more>> lot worse, because it seems to be picking up again.

First, likes.

MC acquires space-time magic immediately and is able to teleport between his world and summoned world. He constantly jumps back and forth with the princess and it is interesting how the princess is getting integrated into society of the modern world. The switch between both worlds is what kept me reading this novel for some time. It is nice to see for a change how MC solves problems on both sides with the help knowledge and magic from both worlds.

Now, what is not that great in my opinion.

The author seem to have lost track of what he wants to do with the novel. First, it started as nice novel with half-decent comedy that focused on adventuring in another world. Later the focus from another world shifted slowly to the MCs world. The humor becomes more perverted-oriented and the novel seem to be shifting to Blade Dance-like style of comedy/romance. What I mean is the MC is constantly getting abused for no reason by his sister, who is the most annoying character that spoils half of the novel in my opinion. This brother complex routine where his sister vigorously prevents him from talking with other women, creates Blade Dance-style misunderstandings, and just constantly bashes him all the time is so annoying. What's worse is that he just quietly takes it. I would probably drop this novel just because of this, but these episodes do not appear that often (not multiple times through chapter, but once or twice every few chapters). If only the author changed the setting a bit, it would be so much better! The MC is 30 years old and is surrounded by young girls who are 15-19 years old. I get it why there is no romance tag and because the novel doesn't advertise itself as romance, this is not as annoying as it can be, but the romance development is a bit creepy at this point. Making MC 25 and having 19 year old girls would make this so much better and won't take anything from the novel.

Now the MC himself is the other half that spoils the novel. The problem is that the author can't write this MC properly. At one time MC is mature, understands everything, clever, etc. The next moment he becomes innocent, like a 10 year old child in regards to girls, completely clueless and just naive and doesn't seem to realize what is going on around him.

Spoiler

Like when the chick from another world masturbates at night and he thinks she is doing a secret training because he feels he heart rate go up.

[collapse]

It just dumb, unless MC grew up in a cave and never saw a woman before. You can't have MC who is at one point mature and clever and then becomes stupid like a child the next moment! MC and co keep using magic in our world and no one seem to have caught on yet. Seriously, the way it is described here is just dumb. Like he teleports in the middle of a town with cameras and people watching and no one sees it or records it, no one figured out who he is.

Tthe author keeps repeating the same thing over and over again. So far there were 2 wars with humans, which are identical: a horde of monsters/demons attack several human cities while some other main force goes to achieve different hidden objective. There are also 2 terrorist attacks which are similar to each other and one bus hijacking terrorist attack. Does author want for MC to rid the world of terrorism, or what?

And finally, the way MC is not proactive. He actually knows who the bad guy is, he knows he is planning something to harm his family and companions and he does nothing! He just waits for sh*t to happen and then appears in the spotlight of the world, instead of covertly do something to neutralize the bad guys somehow (setting police on their tail or something, or maybe just killing the terrorists outright. Why the hell not? They are horrible people and he kills demons and such, who are also intelligent and have a proper society.) <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Nidoume no Jinsei wo Isekai de
August 23, 2017
Status: c64
This novel is incredibly boring, but for some reason I don't hate it. There is very little action going on and most of the time the focus is on daily life. I can't really say that there are relationship development as the focus is mainly on MC himself. Also there are some nice moment with regards to relationships. Also, I don't feel comedy part of this novel. There are few funny places, but most of the time it doesn't even prompt a smile

One thing that is irritating, but for some... more>> reason is not super hateful probably because it is super slow, is that MC originally is portrayed as smart, but as he goes on, he becomes dumber and overlook some obvious things or makes stupid assumptions. He also shows naive and careless attitude as novel progresses. Also it is not the degree of hate, it is just mild irritation as it does not seem to actually influence the story that much.

Spoiler

1) When assassins attacked his home and the fairy killed them all, he thinks that they all left by themselves after she asked them politely because she said "they all left". Even though right before that she told him there are assassins and no one will miss them when they are gone and locked him in the room while she was killing them. For real? Mentality of 5 year old from 94 year old.

2) When he increases his mana to ridiculous amount, and people are telling him "wtf, your amount of mana is 10 times normal magician should have", he still thinks that he does not have that much mana. He also thinks that he is average in strength even though he is OP and that everyone around him should be the same. If he just looks at people around him, he can realize what kind of freak he is, and yet he does not.

3) His sword. Not only he trades a higher level artifact sword for the lower level artifact katana, he does not even freaking suspect anything. When his katana starts to perform above normal sword, he does not investigate it at all and just chills out still thinking it is a normal sword.

[collapse]

There is also a ton of inner thoughts of everyone. There are chapters upon chapters of nothing but inner thoughts. All of the action is very short.

Overall the story is super boring, but can be a light read if you skip boring parts. Because this story does not stir up hate, I give it 4 stars since it did not produce a feeling of wanting to just stop reading, nevertheless it is very boring overall. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Otoko Nara Ikkokuichijou no Aruji o Mezasa Nakya, ne?
July 17, 2018
Status: c338
This novel should be named "Memoirs of the reincarnated condom merchant". I really liked how this novel started. We got a nice backstory for the MC and I was happy that we finally have the protagonist who is actually old, served in the army, got married, and worked for many years. An experienced and mature person, who legitimately can have skills and knowledge, and not some high schooler shut-in otaku who spends his time reading about ancient manufacturing methods of everything. The chapters were detailed and long, we got nice... more>> overview of what MC saw and his thoughts. However, It quickly turned into a huge disappointment. The MC turned out to be an immature retard who is maybe slightly better than the average teen MC we often see. After the first 10+ chapters, the long chapters get really old. The reason the chapters are long is because they are plagued with absurdly long explanations, reasonings, and other trivial stuff. The dialog becomes terrible because you often have 6 or more paragraphs of explanations between 2 lines of dialog. The novel turned out to be extremely boring and tedious to read. You always want to skip boring stuff and read something more interesting, but because of the structure of the novel, it is hard to do so.

The writing of this novel is not that good. I don't know if it was the translation or the original, but as the novel goes on, it makes less and less sense. The sentences become less coherent and the logic more flowed. The explanations start to repeat and cover the actual content. Some chapters can be skipped entirely without any problems. It is an extremely tedious slice of life novel. Every chapter you get details on how much they walked, what they ate, what was the seating arrangement, meaningless small talk, etc. This stuff gets so annoying as you keep reading. And volume 3 starts with some nonsense that is impossible to make sense of.

Romance in the novel does not exist. There is literally nothing. He and she meet, they say: oh, I like you, let's get married! - Sure, lets. Done! The whole romance. For more than 100 chapters MC does even think about romance, and then he meets his old female acquaintance and the whole romance is: from now on you are my woman! And they started the relationship. No one goes on dates, no gifts, no hugs, no anything that can be considered romantic. He even got her separate room and they only meet occasionally when either of them gets horny. They don't even talk that much to each other unless it's business related. And then they got married without any ceremony or announcements in secret. The same is true pretty much about everyone else. All you know is that everyone has a partner and that is the extent of the romance.

Adventure is also not there. After he leaves home, he just sits in one town and farms the dungeon. That would be alright if there was something happening, but for the majority of the novel, there is nothing going on. All you read about is day-to-day stuff. Something like: "Today I went to the capital city and came to the office. I said hello to this person and this person and that child is cute as always. I ate a stake at this restaurant afterward and sold some condoms to the brothel. Then I came back to the dungeon." This is the kind of stuff the whole novel consists of.

Now about condoms. When you talk about this novel, you can't not talk about condoms. For the first time, MC starts a business that's not food (also he does start selling food later on), or metals, but rubber. Of course, he makes shoes and other stuff, but his main product is pretty much condoms. The novel is filled with gags about condoms, how great condoms are and how everyone buys condoms and there literally as much stuff about condoms as about adventure and everything else. Not sure why the author is obsessed with condoms so much, but what is sad is that condoms are probably what is the most interesting about this novel so far.

In regards to character development, there is none. I can't say that I know any character in the novel, including MC. He is very awkward and immature. During five years that he "adventured" and 14 years prior at his home, there was no character growth or change. Overall there is no emotions in this novel at all. There is just statement of facts. It is really difficult to get attached to any character. Secondary characters often have more personality than the main. This is also true for his family. Supposedly they all have a great relationship and love each other, but it's not really shown, especially with the siblings. When they meat each other they either talk business or fight. Other than few occasions you might actually think they hate each other. The story is actually interesting, but the writing is poor and because there is an overabundance of explanations, it is pretty boring to read. Honestly, For over 300 chapters there is so little that happens, you can probably count the number of interesting events on one hand. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Chuuko demo Koi ga Shitai!
July 10, 2018
Status: v3c2
I think the author of this novel was dropped on the head. Every character in this novel is damaged as a human being and even willing to go as far as becoming criminals just so someone will acknowledge or pay attention to them. Really WTF is with that school? Is it a school for criminals, but we are just not informed? So far every volume ends with the male lead being kidnapped and almost raped. So if this trend is going to continue, he will be attacked at least 10... more>> more times? And wtf with that relationship? Any normal person will run away from an idiot who says "I only want 2d girl".. Basically MC is an abnormally stupid wuss who got tricked by chicks few times during childhood and decided that girls are evil and he will only fap on porn for the rest of his life. And where the hell is a comedy? Why is it a staple tag for this kind of novel? There isn't a single joke or gag or any element of comedy. No dark or any kind of humor is present.

And finally the whole romance situation... Is he going to play tsundere for the rest of the novel? This is just damn agonizing. If the end goal is for him say "be my girlfriend", this story is going to be sh*t. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Isekai Shoukan wa Nidome Desu
July 2, 2018
Status: c47
OMFG, this novel. For the first few chapters MC just lets himself get bullied because it's too much of work to stand up for himself. So you sit there wondering wtf you are reading. Then he starts traveling, and slowly you understand the plot, and it becomes an even bigger wtf.

... more>>
Spoiler

MC is being stalked by a psychopathic summoned guy who is in love with him. That guy manipulates countries and tries to kill everyone who is close to MC out of jealousy.

[collapse]

The wording of the novel, at least in the beginning, is awkward, but that could be a bad translation. The story tries to create a sense of drama and danger, but it is kind of clear that everything should end well here. Most characters don't have enough time to develop a personality, so they are bland for the most part. All girls just fall for MC at the first sight and he is going around half-proposing to them. Overall MC also behaves as a mentally unstable person. He is like that guy who shows love be means of verbal abuse.

The story is actually not bad, but the novel needs more development. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
The Mage Will Master Magic Efficiently In His Second Life
December 26, 2017
Status: c108
The world for this novel is not explained well and MC is a dubmass. The author fluctuates between having dense idiotic MC and smarter MC. At one point he treats the girls like his grandkids, and the next minute he treats them as proper women. This kind of thing happens all the time. Also, the arc with Grain was one of the dumbest there is... You know there is a strong guy who wants to kill you, what do you do? Go where he is waiting for you of course!

The... more>> novel generally is boring and the characters are pretty flat. The fight sequences are boring, the dialog is boring.. I do like the concept of this novel, but the writing is just not up to par <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Seiun wo Kakeru
December 6, 2017
Status: c50
It's boring. There is no plot, no goal, only very detailed and slow everyday life. It's not funny, the romance is small and very little ecci. None of the characters are developed, no one have any qualities to remember them by. There are many characters in this novel, yet I can barely remember their names or what they do. The amnesia part is stupid since it plays no role in this novel at all and MC gets his memories back very quickly. You would think that this type novel would... more>> have strong character interactions, and development, yet I can't even think about a single personality trait of MCs wife, except she has large boobs. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This novel is just stupid, especially those chat sessions. The ridiculously detailed and dumb slice of life, nothing ever happening. Everything is stretched out so much, it takes him like three chapters to send an email to his sister the night after he promised to do so, and another two chapters for her to read it. To me this novel is not funny and is not interesting. Very boring novel with some cute moments with Alice. She is the only thing that is good about this otherwise ridiculously boring novel.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Main Character Hides His Strength
November 25, 2017
Status: c116
This novel is pretty dark, but can be interesting. However the setting is depressing and is difficult after a while. MC is a loner and just treats everyone as sh*t, arrogant and thinks he is always right. He doesn't want to get information available to him because he thinks it is unrelated to him, without even knowing what that information is. The pacing of the novel is actually good. Most things are not stretched out unnecessary, but the author sometimes screws up with that. The author also keeps things that... more>> can enhance the novel, world building and character development from the reader. For example he doesn't say clearly what happened, what kind of promise MC made, etc. Why keep it a secret? Also the fact that MC is too much of an asshole is a drawback sometimes. He could at least treat Bertelgia better. Overall not a bad novel, but the is a foreshadowing of a bad end for MC. The author can spin a good ending or a bad ending at this point. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This novel is just empty in all regards. I am not sure why this is called ecci, I guess because of implications, but there is no ecci stuff there. Character interactions and development is non-existent and all characters aver extremely shallow. There are no relationship building or emotions. There is no tension. MC is just a horny dumb teen, who gets a bunch of "s*x slaves", but does not touch them. Instead he uses tentacle magic he developed to service the gals. However there are barely anything written other than... more>> the fact that it happened.

The story did not make me rage quit and was not so stupid that I wanted to quit half way throug, but I did skip a lot if stupid interactions between characters. The authors tries to have funny moments and use them as a relationship device I guess, but he miserably fails at that. All parts that suppose to be funny either make you want to punch MC for his idiocy or they are just stupid situations by themselves. This btw is one of the biggest problems with the story: MC does not have ambition (well, he wants to come back, but does not actively do anything that can help him do so). Stuff just happens as MC happen to be nearby.

So, bottom line this novel is super easy read that has nothing going for it. Bad characters, bad progress, bad romance, bad relationships. If you are 10 year old, you might like this.

Spoiler

Also the part with his sister is so stupid... You can guess what happens just from the already translated chapters.

[collapse]

Also, Twilight Reverie summarized everything else nicely. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Tokyo Ravens
August 1, 2017
Status: v13c5
The story itself is ok and the setting is good too, but what ruins it for me is that almost every single character in this story is stupid. Honestly, the only reason the plot is progressing because of how stupid and stubborn everyone is. I also really hate this MC because he is super flat character and the most stupid of all. Really, this story can improve greatly by just making characters a little bit smarter.

I also hate how this story treats death. There are multiple deaths and resurrections. It's... more>> like it doesn't really matter what happens at all if you die once. Second time might be last, or not. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report