Report Review
59 Reviews


admira
admira rated it
Fremd Torturchen
July 25, 2017
Status: v2c1
This is definitely one of the most graphic and gory light novels I've read. It's to the point where I would have probably felt queasy if I wasn't so wrapped up in the momentum. I can draw some tentative parallels to A Clockwork Orange (western novel) in the way that it displays such unhesitating violence.

Overlord's review pretty much nails it as far as evaluating the story quality. I would give it 4.5 stars if I could, but I'll go with 5 for now.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
I wasn't aware this was being translated, so I read the raws to chapter 20 or so.

A cute story, but somewhat repetitive as it continues. It is also similar to several other stories I have read, so it didn't leave a deep impression on me. It's pretty much as described in the summary.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Magi Craft Meister
May 13, 2017
Status: v3c6
(I read v3 translations, and farther in the raws. My details are a little outdated, so this is based on past notes I took.)

Fairly solid slice-of-life. If you like Death March, this might be your speed. The MC is pretty altruistic, doing things because it's the "nice" thing to do rather than because there's any real benefit to doing it.

The age certainly shows in the style (not a bad thing, just an observation). This series features:

  • Daughter-maid groupies (he's father and master), i.e. The platonic daughter/imouto/servant harem
  • Japanese cultural aspects catching on and becoming instantly popular
  • Situations with predictable outcomes, but are still mildly interesting
  • Encounters with various female characters who don't seem to have any male relationships, or experience as such (the faux-harem)
  • Some signs of self-preservation instincts, but MC definitely doesn't have proficiency in the deception skillset.
  • Generic Japanese-style altruism
Whether those items are good or bad is up to you. I thought it was cute, but not enough to survive my latest reading list purge. I'm giving it 4 stars because it was good. It simply isn't my cup of tea.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Immortal’s Farmland
April 9, 2017
Status: c18
It's very bland so far. The main character's only defining characteristics so far are:
(a) She's a member of a rare yet powerful race with a valuable artifact (and therefore a target)
(b) She somehow manages to make 3 successful young men infatuated with her/want to protect her almost immediately after meeting.
(c) She's willful and seems to think she's smart, but she's dumb as a brick.

Some of it can be attributed to the initial plot setup, but this story is full of holes. I can't... more>> even bring myself to care about the fact that the MC is in trouble. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
4.6 Billion Year Symphony of Evolution
April 9, 2017
Status: c11
It's kind of weird. My biology is more or less at the high school level, but a lot of the stuff in this seems closer to "fantasy" (impossible) than sci-fi (improbable, but still in the realm of possibility).

Still, it's pretty interesting. There's an untethered consciousness that magically controls a collective of cells. If you're familiar with the JP/OEL dungeon core theme, it's like that.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
March 27, 2017
Status: c114
[c85] Interesting and funny story, with a male lead who isn't constantly drooling over the beautiful women.

The various enemies/mini-antagonists are my favorite point. Their decisions and attitudes may put them in opposition to the main character, but they aren't complete

idiots. It doesn't take being beaten down continuously for most of them to realize they might be in a bad situation now. Their despicable levels are low- to mid-ranged, which makes them more believable than the over-the-top stuff we see in a lot of cultivation stories. (The recurring ones are... more>> obviously slower on the uptake.)

Some of the premises are strange, like the master teacher thing. But I try to interpret that stuff as "That's how the novel's world is." Definitely worth a try.

EDIT: [c114] Having read some more, I have to admit that the series is getting repetitive. I still have to admire the fact that he blatantly uses his ability without giving a care as to how to explain it to others. Some MCs try to come up with plausible explanations and end up with a web of lies. This one doesn't even bother explaining. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
Like a super sentai show, apparently. I don't actually remember much about watching power rangers when I was a kid, but the developments are pretty interesting if you keep the intended story type in mind. I like it a lot so far.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Chaos Of Beauty
March 11, 2016
Status: --
Rather than a romance novel, I'd call this a somewhat tragic political drama. The romance seemed to be there in order to motivate the characters outside of (or in addition to) political (monetary, influential, etc.) gains. I felt that the buildup of romantic feelings for the various characters was a bit more realistic than what I see in my usual reads; I actually didn't mind the romantic portion of the story.

It wasn't bad, although it was definitely more time-consuming than I thought it would be. I'd sit down to... more>> read a chapter and before I knew it, a half hour had passed. Still, recommended if you like political intrigue. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Defiled Hero
February 22, 2016
Status: --
A bit confusing at first, but considerably better after that. I prefer a MC who doesn't let himself be ruled by his desire for revenge; passion is fine, but being wrapped up in it even 5 years later? I also like that he doesn't go nuts over every girl he encounters.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
The Prodigy Sefiria’s Overpowering Program
February 7, 2016
Status: --
The story isn’t bad, but I guess it’s a bit lackluster? I just can’t seem to get into it, even though I’m a programmer myself. Well, I don’t think that I’ll have to worry much about a harem popping up, so that’s a plus.

EDIT: Changing my previous opinion to "extremely lackluster." Like mystichead said, fiction that includes elements you have specialized knowledge in is usually a huge turn-off. I'm trying to avoid a full-out rant, so I'll just stop at saying that the story is cliched so far and I... more>> have little respect for the computer details dropped thus far.

<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?
February 1, 2016
Status: --
I don't think that I can do it justice with a review, so I'll just give my top two points:

(1) MC is female, reincarnated as a weak, female spider. But she fights for herself and doesn't become a damsel in distress. The same goes for many of the other female characters; they exist as actual characters, rather than props to support the male characters' existence.

(2) No instant OP. And even when she gets stronger, she is immediately humbled by something even stronger appearing. As for when she gets... more>> strong, there are other, weaker characters who provide interest in that area. So, the story doesn't get boring because the MC becomes able to handle herself. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending
December 4, 2015
Status: --
I really like this one. The MC is convinced that everyone hates him, when they really don’t because he managed to avert the main event that would cause animosity. I liked it enough after only 2 chapters that I read ahead in the raws because I couldn’t wait for the translation, if that tells you anything. 50+ chapters and waiting for more! (Edit: Up to date with the raws in the 3rd arc and still loving it)

Plus, he’s stuck with a verbal autocorrect that turns everything he says into... more>> arrogant, haughty speech just like the original character. To the point where if he wants to communicate anything halfway decent, he just remains silent. Good luck, Harold! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
HP1 kara Hajimeru Isekai Musou
November 16, 2015
Status: --
As charioles said, it's definitely not a serious read. Granted, I did most of my reading for this series in Japanese (rather than the translations; it wasn't translated back then) but it'd be pretty hard to mistake the theme of this story: huge misunderstandings that somehow change the world greatly.

I got kind of bored of the series after about 14 chapters, but it seemed to be fairly popular on Syosetu at the time.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Isekai Mahou wa Okureteru! (WN)
November 16, 2015
Status: --
I rather like the fact that it's a "hero summoning" with a twist: the hero's friend who isn't granted powers by the summoning, was actually already quite skilled on his own. This doesn't really count as a spoiler since it's revealed in the first chapter, but...
Spoiler

The fact that he's a clandestine practitioner of magic in his original (earth) world is quite interesting, I think. Especially the fact that he can beat the crap out of the local mages.

[collapse]
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira
Thousand Autumns
December 10, 2017
Status: c8
Witholding a rating because it's still very early. At 8 chapters, I'm still rather confused about which characters will be sticking around. Most series make it quite clear who the protagonist is, and it's easy to identify the deuteragonist (i.e. The main love interest). Within the first few chapters, my interpretation of both roles changed several times.

This series seemed to have a very interesting premise, but is meandering along rather than having an actual direction. If it continues this way, I would give it 3/5 stars for being "okay."
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
Even taking into account the genres for this, it's still unbelievable. Really, as far as I've read the only thing I've read is about breastfeeding. Okay, so you're a baby; that's what you do. Okay, so you somehow manage to gain skills from doing it--whatever. But all it seems to be about is which milf--well, woman he's going to rope into his feeding harem next.

Seriously, what the heck. Isn't his skill set supposed to be communication? I get that babies are cute and all, but that charm skill is way... more>> out of whack. It's like some R18 novel seduction skill, minus the R18 bits because he's a baby. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
The Girl Who Bore the Flame Ring
March 7, 2016
Status: --
Thus far (2 chapters) : Excellent translation quality and an interesting story to start things off. Plus, it has tragedy mixed in pretty liberally. I'm tempted to read ahead in the raws, but the translators are doing such a great job so far that I'll hold off on that.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
(Read: Chapter 9)
I like it because it's different from the types of stories where the protagonist becomes arrogant and smug in his OPness.
Bonus points for the following:
1) Protagonist isn't a horny teenage boy whose ultimate goal in life is to build a harem
2) Protagonist is a rational adult (mentally, at least) who treads cautiously in a dangerous world
3) Protagonist builds bonds with people who he stays with, rather than running off on an adventure
4) As Ligoya said, good... more>> pacing. Time passes but it doesn't rush by or lag.
5) Also as Ligoya said, no Truck-sama. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira
My Pet Is a Holy Maiden
November 28, 2015
Status: --
Not much to base a review on so far, but I really like how original the premise is in comparison to the usual summoning/reincarnation stories (I'm hard-pressed to find a fiction that doesn't involve kidnapping or truck-sama these days...)

Besides, cockatiels are adorable.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report