Report Review
152 Reviews


ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Friends with Benefits
September 23, 2017
Status: c31
This is a dark, mature series with plentiful yaoi scenes, but it is still interesting if you skip the s*x scenes and only focus on the drama and relationships. It is dark and focused on the criminal and business worlds.

... more>>
Spoiler

A sleezy character shows up for a while and causes some tumult in the beginning. The MC hooks up with him a few times for fun. Later on, he brings down the mafia and reappears as a serious business owner. I guess you could say they thought they were playing with a kitten, but he actually turned out to be a tiger in disguise. When his brother is imprisoned for his crimes, the MC seduces their arch-enemy in order to save his life and also get some cheap revenge on the bastard. Since he is quite skilled at business, he becomes an irreplaceable member of the staff.

[collapse]

The thing I like most about this series is the strong friendship between the sworn brothers who will give anything for each other, whether it be their lives or every juan they ever earned. This trust, compassion, and loyalty is the most fulfilling part of this series and what keeps me coming back. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
So far, each arc has a smooth, cohesive plot. The first arc was well-written and felt like a movie script. The second major arc is still in progress, but I have high hopes for it.

An entire classroom of students are reborn as monsters in a foreign world. They have no idea where they are and have to struggle to survive as they adjust to their new abilities. Unlike a lot of other fantasy reincarnation stories, there is no helpful stat system or cheats to explain their abilities or how to... more>> do things. They struggle and squirm and figure out things by luck and chance. Of course, the class hierarchy is thrown upside-down as everyone's looks and abilities are different from before.

They have to discover how they were sent here and how to return home. Not to mention, they need to learn how to use their abilities and possibly return to human form.

Some reviewers have complained that the MC is very gentle, accepting, and forgiving.

Spoiler

Later on, we learn that he is just very empty and has no passions of his own, which is why he was turned into a skeleton. It seems their personality flaws from before reincarnation heavily influenced the monsters they were turned into. In order to become stronger, they have to face their flaws head-on and work to change themselves. This will be great for character development as the series continues.

[collapse]

This is an entertaining adventure story with a large cast, but each character has an individual personality. The comedy and action are good as well as the decisions each cast member makes. It will be interesting to see how things turn out in the end. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
Super-duper fluffy cuteness is the main theme of this series. The MC's interactions with a pair of twins he picks up and raises is really cute. Then, he also gets all of these cute familiars as the story continues. He changes the world with his culinary skills and tends to impress everyone with how OP he is. If you want a light read that makes you smile gently without worrying about any romantic drama, then this is a nice series to kill time.

It is not dramatic. The MC starts off... more>> OP and only becomes more OP as the series goes on, so he doesn't struggle against anything and never gets cornered. He doesn't face any major challenges, and there isn't any suspense in this series.

It would be nice if the MC weren't so OP and wasn't a Gary Stu, but the fluffiness makes up for it. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Strongest Gene
May 12, 2019
Status: c319
I came close to dropping this many times before reaching the premium chapters and finally dropping it there. Although there are a few good chapters, the majority of them are... not.

My first complaint is the logic behind the setting and world. On a planet 10, 000x the size of earth, which is, mind you, about 30x the size of Jupiter, I expected these characters to be slimes rolling across the ground because the force of gravity is so strong. With the weight of all that air pressure on top of... more>> that, I imagined they’d have a hell of a time moving. No explanation of this setting is given. It appears the author randomly threw the setting out there and forgot all about it.

Although not much description is given, the people appear to be humanoid? The MC's appearance is only given briefly, finally, in chapter 127, but it's painfully vague. I spent a good portion of this series imagining him as a purple-skinned dude with three eyes because, why not? There is no explanation about how they’re defying this gravity either. When you read this series, you definitely want to ignore everything you’ve ever learned from science. You also shouldn’t pay attention to the MC’s finances because money appears out of nowhere without explanation. Ditto for the inconsistencies with expenditures and profits. Honestly, you may just want to censure any numbers when you come across them in this story. Why are there shop-keepers for digital shops? This sci-fi world needs to study Amazon, Ebay, and other selling sites because they’re surprisingly under-advanced compared to our world, even if they're in the sci-fi realm of interplanetary travel. If the MC’s golden finger is enhanced luck, then why doesn't he enter any lotteries? While reading this, you can expect to find a plot hole or inconsistency or mathematical problem every few chapters. Reading this series gives me a headache... A lot of inconsistencies. Formulas are expensive, but later the MC buys them by the dozen... He has money, but not that much. If a formula cost at least a million dollars, how is he buying hundreds of them when he only has eighteen million? He can’t use his abilities in the rookie battle in one match, but he can later on. Although abilities are forbidden, a contestant who relies solely on her ability to battle uses it constantly. The author frequently forgets the history of this story, too. The baddies went completely undiscovered until the MC showed up, but, later on, the good organizations had faced off against them prior to the MC appearing in this world and appeared to have full knowledge of who they were, for instance.

All of the groups in this series are incredibly incompetent. The MC is also shockingly unintelligent... I'm not sure why "clever protagonist" is a tag here. His decisions and forgetfulness gave me the urge to smack my head into my desk on many occasions. Worse yet, everyone else in this series has an even lower IQ than he does... Where did all the smart people go?!

The character design is redundant and unimaginative. The MC's personality is fairly consistent as are some other characters, but they all have limited depth and complexities. The descriptions for any of them all seem to be the same, too, which makes it hard to visualize.

Not only is the plot full of holes, it is also full of filler. During a genetic production competition, there are at least TWO TO FIVE ENTIRE CHAPTERS OF FILLER for each phase of the competition as people look down on the MC and are then shocked by him. It's good when the action picks up, but I definitely had to skim through several chapters because I couldn't take reading the same things over again and again anymore... They don't contribute to the plot either. I like face-slapping, but spending 5/6 chapters on face-slapping is too much!

The story developments are all over the place, often leaving me wonder how bizarre plot twists came about. Not only is it generic, the MC encounters the gang of baddies almost every time he goes out. It's nice to have surprises once in a while, you know? This is way too predictable.

The translation quality is readable, and it's usually pretty easy to tell what's going on. They have some errors. My biggest complaint is with some of the translation choices, but that may have been the original author's fault. First of all, what does any of this have to do with genes? The "genes" used in this story are more like magical coding nonsense than anything involving genetics. While reading this, I can only believe that the author doesn't even know what genetics are. The idea was good and reminds me of genetic splicing and modification, but the carry-through was terrible. DARK FREAK. Seriously, what is this time? Instead of giving them a name that makes us giggle and think of a circus or a little kid, why not call them deviants or aberrations instead? What the hell is a half-android? Even when multiple uses commented about the proper term being “cyborg” from a year ago, this still hasn’t been corrected.... Like I said, though, I'm not sure how much of this is the translation team's doing and how much of it is the responsibility of the author.

It is fun at times. It has made me laugh once every hundred chapters or so. However, the plot holes, logic holes, and wtf setting make this downright painful to read at times. Definitely not worth paying premium for and barely worth wasting hours of your life reading the free chapters. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Zombie Sister Strategy
February 1, 2019
Status: c178
This is a fun story with a charming MC. It has action, plenty of comedy, ad a dash of mystery. The MC is supposedly a former member of the special forces, and she held a high position. She is powerful and doesn't stand down easily. She remains calm and keeps her wits about her. However, she does not come across as highly intelligent or strategic as one would expect from a military commander. In her defense, she is a dead girl, but I expected more from someone of her level.... more>> The other characters have their own personalities, but not a lot has been done to show their development or depths yet.

Despite the MC's dramatic past, there isn't actually that much drama or suspense in this series. There isn't much warfare or strategic combat.

Although it was fun to read before it went premium, it feels like 90% of the chapters are filler, and I'm not sure they're worth paying for. I considered just reading one chapter every five to ten chapters, but I've decided to drop it in the end instead. It's quite a fun ride until it bogs down, and the plots become drastically slow. I recommend checking out the free chapters and then deciding for yourself if you want to continue it after that. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Never Thought You’d Be This Kind of Hero!
December 9, 2018
Status: c25
Very funny. Thus far, this is mostly a comedy and adventure series with some action thrown in. The MC is a curious mixture of wise and yet naive, which befuddles the demon king. The demon king is actually quite pure, conservative, and untainted, but he thinks of himself as a super baddie (He is the demon king, after all)... The Holy Son is a street rat who reminds me of the MC from Legend of the Sun Knight, even if he has to act serious when he's under the church's... more>> watch. There's a young horse, who is far more pure than any of the human characters. There's also a mysterious black unicorn, whose presence threatens the poor young unicorn's chastity--little horse and little hero never ran so fast... The assortment of characters is hilarious to throw together and see everything go to hell.

Even with the comedy, there's still world-building and plot going on in the background. I'm very interested in seeing how all of this plays out in the end, and I strongly recommend it for anyone who wants some laughs. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
August 19, 2018
Status: c176
First and foremost, this series is addictive and hard to stop reading. I recommend not starting this series until you have several days off work in a row, so you don't have to suffer working on little sleep like I did... I thought I could just read one arc a day and then stop for a break and go to bed. I was wrong. Hopefully, I have more self-control while rereading it. (That said, I will definitely be checking out the author's other novels!)

I absolutely love all of... more>> the characters and their character development. All of the characters, even the side-characters and the enemy characters, have secrets to their personalities and backgrounds. I love how the MC makes himself to adapt to the original personality of each person he possesses. Each arc is well-designed, and they don't drag on. They cover the plot and give a give an epilogue. It would've been great to see full-length novels for each for him, but the the next story is good enough to catch my attention again and again. Although I would have liked more of an epilogue at the end, I also have fun imagining the galaxy-dominating careers of the main characters, and I find myself satisfied.

The true setting is basically the Matrix. The MC lives in a sci-fi world
Spoiler

where the greatest AI in the galaxy has rebelled. Like in It's Not Easy to Be a Man After Traveling to the Future and some other sci-fi series, people have soul power, which is essential psychic strength and superhuman ability. The AI imprisons those connected to its network and sucks out their soul power to fuel itself, forcing humanity into a war against machines where many of their strongest members have already been captured and are going brain-dead one by one. Although we don't know the details of the other trapped victims inside the AI, it forces the MC through countless worlds to break his will and drain his soul. His soul force is extremely high, so he is able to endure until he manages to hack the system controlling him. He then willingly enters these worlds to steal power from the AI and save his life. During the process, he encounters his love interest, who is also at war with this AI.

[collapse]

The plot came together much more wholesomely than I expected. It definitely builds up as it goes on, increasing the tension in the second half of the arcs. There are some funny errors in logic and knowledge, such as regarding both technology and medicine, but the story was still plenty of fun to read. The writing is well-done. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Return of The 8th Class Mage
July 22, 2018
Status: c78
This is a fun read about an OP MC who has clear goals in mind with a logical thought process. He's not overly cruel or wicked and actually stays true to his morals and upholding the rules. He's a respectable MC. The side-characters have depth, and the plot is interesting. Although the MC has memories of the future, his choices change everything so dramatically that even he doesn't know what's going to happen next. The changes are interesting.

That said, there are some weaknesses. Limited attention is given to the side-characters... more>> and their development, for instance. As an action junky, I was disappointed by how little attention is given to the combat scenes. This series could definitely be written in a way that is more exciting.

Although this series has definite weaknesses, the moral integrity and likeability of the MC balances them out to some degree. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Cultivation Chat Group
June 2, 2018
Status: c406
This is an absolutely hilarious laugh-out-loud series that I really had to struggle to put down. I missed a lot of sleep and hardly left my apartment... Every chance I had, I was reading another chapter in my fight to catch up. The plot was a little slow at first, but it improved drastically once things got started. The MC accidentally enters the world of modern-day Xianxia, and all of his preconceptions become utterly destroyed. The characters are all well-rounded and have their own strengths and weaknesses as well as... more>> knowledge and ignorance about certain matters. Each one gets feisty about certain subjects, and they each have varying levels of intelligence. Certain members of the group keep acting before they think, becoming members of what the MC dubs the "death-seeking army." The punishments are quite creative.

This is unlike many of the Xianxia with redundant revenge-focused single-minded characters, and these guys are intelligent enough to know how to survive. If they acted like characters in other Xianxia, they would never have lived to reach the ages they have, which adds a strong touch of realism. There are no Gary Stus or Mary Sues either! The MC is not some genius that instantly comprehends anything he sees.

This series asks the question "What would these people do in the face of modern-day technology?" The answers really crack me up.

The MC has abnormally good luck. If he's short on money, he finds money. If he's looking for an herb, he finds the herb. It's nothing over-the-top thus far, and he realizes it's only luck and not his true ability. Then, another character with catastrophic luck appears. This one's luck level is over-the-charts, but it comes with lethal consequences for the victims who happen to be nearby....

Spoiler

A meteor knocks a poor cultivator from the sky. Later on, it blows up and nearly kills the MC. The MC is forced to ingest this monster plant, which would have killed him if someone else didn't pump his stomach. There is a plane crash with many subsequent life-threatening events, etc.

[collapse]

There are other good traits aside from comedy and character development. The plot is is interconnected, and the action is entertaining. The fear is real.

The characters are distinctive and gut-busting comical. They could easily star in a series on their own, but they work magic when they are tossed in a series together. This is definitely a series one should not miss. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Possessing Nothing
March 11, 2018
Status: c58
The story spends an excessive amount of time on establishing the setting and is not very concise with it. The beginning drags on. However, the action scenes are exciting, and things start to pick up more when the MC goes to Hush Mountain. If you can reach that point, then I recommend continuing and giving it a chance. I enjoy the fight scenes and battles. I actually feel like more chapters could have been spent showing the character developing instead of becoming so strong after a time skip, but that's... more>> my preference. Unfortunately, the current translated chapters end when the series starts looking really good.

Update: Dropped at 58. The writing itself is just too weak for me. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Wangye, Wangfei is a Cat
December 30, 2017
Status: c15
The MC is entertaining, but she is not focused enough on her goals and gets distracted easily. She doesn't have much sense of urgency. The male lead is, thus far, impossible to like.

After the MC becomes a human, she is ... more>>
Spoiler

kidnapped and taken prisoner by the male lead. He rapes and abuses her repeatedly for every little reason he can think of. The sexual abuse and violence isn't shown graphic detail, but it is definitely there. He is controlling and emotionally abusive as well, isolating his victim and manipulating her by threatening everyone around her. In spite of it all, she remains as air-headed as before and doesn't think before acting. He's raped her more than once or twice, but she's not responding to all of this trauma. The writer does not describe the pain, terror, or seriousness of the matter at all. Rape does not equate to a romantic time; it's an act of hatred and nightmares that scars people for life and gives them traumatic flashbacks whenever they try to become close to others. There is no healthy relationship between a rapist and his victim.

[collapse]

Frankly, I hope she manages to escape and kill him, but it doesn't look like this novel is going to take these issues seriously. I absolutely cannot approve of the male lead. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
This is a hilarious series that focuses on its plot and character seriously instead of going into silly little harem events or awkward flirting. It's funny to see the MC train and work hard but still accept that he can never be as strong as the Protagonist or the Villain. He still strives to do what he can in the face of all the adversity coming at him.

I've only read the first volume thus far and am anxiously awaiting future releases, but I am really looking forward to how everyone... more>> reacts after volume one's conclusion. The story development and procession of events are written very well. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Otome Game Rokkushuume, Automode ga Kiremashita
September 23, 2017
Status: c59
This series is neither good nor bad. It is a relatively generic gentle vanilla series without any intense action, drama, fantasy, or comedy, but it has a dash of everything in moderation. The main character tries to deviate from the villain she was born as in order to prolong her life, which is pretty standard for this type of series. Her terror of what she perceives as death flags can be funny on occasion.

So far, the best part for me...

... more>>
Spoiler

.. is her friendship with the gardener's son.

[collapse]

That development was actually cute and touching.

If you are looking for a light series without much suspense, then this one is a good option to kill time with. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
This is a hilarious action/adventure/fantasy/romance story where an Awkward Lead meets an Extra-Awkward Lead. Du Ze, the reader, is a main character I haven't come across in many novels before.

... more>>
Spoiler

He began losing his hearing as he grew up and hated wearing hearing aides, so he pretended to hear and understand his classmates. When he started wearing them, he realized they had been making fun of him all this time. This turns him into an expressionless and aloof character, who usually keeps his mouth shut. His eyesight is also poor, but he manages that well with glasses.

Considering all of that and the fact that he has no combat ability, he really undervalues himself.

[collapse]

The novel's protagonist, Xiu, was a standard Gary Sue bishie until his undead nature was discovered, and his happy adventure story twisted into one more focused on betrayal and revenge. Since then, he became paranoid and distrustful, choosing to become a cold-hearted warrior to be feared rather than to be loved.

They are both quiet characters who hardly talk and rarely share their secrets or feelings, so the awkwardness overload of two stiff stoic characters is pretty funny. As Du Ze's actions completely alter the storyline of the plot, it's fun to watch him get caught off-guard as events change. As Xiu becomes interested in Du Ze, Du Ze only focuses on trying to build Xiu's harem like the original Xiu had and is completely oblivious to Xiu's feelings. The addition of other characters makes their interactions more refreshing.

One of the biggest things keeping me hooked is...
Spoiler

the mystery of how Du Ze was sent to that world in the first place. It looks like the God of Light and the Gnome God of Forging are both looking for him. Was it their doing, or did the writer actually take part? What do they want with him? Why do some of the other characters feel intimidated by the weakling Du Ze? How does the prophecy Du Ze saw play out? Did he really receive that doujinshi by accident, or did someone send it to him on purpose?

[collapse]

The daily updates and comedy have me looking forward to each new chapter after work.

The main weaknesses of this story are its rough pacing and minimal chemistry between characters. The pace is fast enough to even out the awkward passages of time, but they are still noticeable. The side-characters make Du Ze and Xiu more interesting, but I'm more interested in the developing yandere aspects of Xiu rather than the anticipated romance. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Lovable Package
June 30, 2019
Status: c15
This is a super-fluffy series with dozens of chapters of nonstop flirting. The sugar is so overloaded, it makes me want to gag. The MC and ML fall in love at first sight with no development or reason at all, and they start betraying they rules they live by and get frisky and then get married within twenty-four hours of meeting each other. Seriously, who spiked the punch? Did they stop taking their meds? There's no logic behind this at all.

There really isn't much plot or character depth. The MC... more>> is an annoying, extremely clingy, immature person enslaved to a system but who just begs and wants to be spoiled all the time. The ML exists only to pamper him. The side-characters feel like they exist in name only.

This is not a story--this is only flirting and fluff. I can't even call it romance because there isn't any natural development between the leads at all. It's just "BAM! WE'RE IN LOVE!" completely out of the blue.

A couple of reviews compare this series to Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil, but the only similarities are that the series are Chinese BL with a system. That's it. Although that series is possibly one of the most famous with such genres, it is definitely not the only one and does not share any other similarities with these series in regards to plot, character depth, development, suspense, or comedy. If you are looking for the heart-wrenching imagery and brutal dramatic plot lines that make QWFOD stand above so many other danmei, this is NOT the place to find it.

If you're looking for paper-thin characters flirting with each other right from the start without developing their relationship and having no plot, this is for you. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
Reading this series is like watching a gory horror movie or reading a scary book while the MC is just jamming along to the pop song "Party in my Head" by SEPTEMBER. There is tragedy, dead people, and nightmarish settings in the haunted landscape all around him, but the MC is just merrily doing his own thing and dancing to his own beat. His kind, cheerful, and optimistic attitude is infectious and seems to fill this horrific story with bubbles of pop music, leaving both his rival characters and the... more>> wicked ghosts confused and bewildered.

I love this MC! This is the MC I have longed to read about in a ghost series! He's not just a naive, generic nice guy. In fact, I would argue that he isn't naive at all. He is calm and diligent, and he just accepts and treats ghosts like the people they once were.

The side characters are great, too. Each of them have has his or her own distinctive personality and undergoes character development in the arcs. They have repeat appearances, too.

The setting is modern day where groups of people go to haunted worlds called Copies to achieve certain objectives or die. The suspense is real for anyone who isn't the MC, and many people die. It's a bit similar to series like Misplacement Game, Game Loading, and Kaleidoscope of Death. However, the ghosts aren't limited to these game-like settings--the MC encounters them on a daily basis in real life, too.

So far, the plot is very interesting and a great read. Strongly recommended! I'm hyped for the next update. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Divine Brilliance
May 13, 2019
Status: c59
Generic and bland. The series gives a strong pedophilic vibe toward a thirteen-year-old maid, but it is then revealed the MC is also only thirteen. The writer or translators have left out some key details like that, which would have made the series more palatable early on. The story is inconsistent with his background, leaving me puzzled about whether he was a star gamer or a librarian or what. I guess he’s both? The MC’s background isn’t explained very well, and neither is the background for anyone else.

Cultivation is abstract... more>> and only feels like filler. There are a lot of overly-used tropes and not much original flavor to make up for them. Characters are rather shallow and one-dimensional, even the MC. At least half of the story content is the MC training his cultivation level rather than actual plot development.

Both the characters and the plot are unappealing. The world background is fairly confusing. From what I understand, the MC played a virtual reality game based on the historical version of his world, and he was later sent back in time to that world (not the game).

The synopsis doesn't match much. Lol. Where are all these beauties supposed to be?

The translations are okay for the most part, but they can be confusing at times. Of course, this might just be because the cultivation system--or, rather, cultivation systems--is rather complicated. The "octopus" mentioned in this story matches the description as a "slime" instead.

So far, this series doesn't have any strong strengths and carries the weakness of a confusing background and setting. At this point, it's not a series I would recommend, but perhaps it improves later on. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Divine Beast Adventures
April 3, 2019
Status: c25
The foundation for this story is incredibly weak. It’s supposed to be a sci-fi world, but none of these elements are focused on. It’s written like it’s modern-day instead with weird sci-fi gates thrown into the mix. The MC is supposed to be in a planet larger than Earth, but no explanation about the gravity or geography are given. It’s briefly mentioned that people had to move underground, but then this idea has yet to be mentioned again. Why didn’t they try to block the portals? Why didn’t they move... more>> off the planet? What other strategies have been used aside from fighting against the monsters like barbarians? If a single beast card is worth so much money but this world isn’t as dangerous as it’s made out to be, then why hasn’t the economy collapsed? Given how easy it appears, becoming a billionaire is an easy dream. The info about beast cards comes in an info dump in the first chapter, but it has numerous plot holes and unanswered questions. Furthermore, it never explains the meaning of the stats the MC sees for each beast.

Characterization is weak. The MC is an insensible jerk who throws caution to the wind and lives by luck alone. No explanations are given about why the wild beasts only attack his beasts and never attack him, even though he’s clearly weaker. No depth is given to him or any other characters. He doesn’t show any gratitude and even attacks a beast that saved him, giving me no reason to feel any respect for his shallow personality. He isn’t even slightly likeable. The cool chick the MC disdains is likeable, even if she's clingy, but he's not very nice to her.

This series is inconsistent with far more weaknesses than strengths. It’s written like a bad imitation of certain other series, but it doesn’t string together the logic or plot hardly at all. I can't recommend this series for anyone. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho
The Great Thief
March 31, 2019
Status: c349
The translation quality is good enough to figure out what is going on, but each chapter has errors of some kind. Not great but not terrible either. There are some face-palming lines like “The MC is so persistent, he is persistent” and something about Easter eggs in games being a term that originated in China rather than Europe. If people in China don’t celebrate Easter, how does it makes sense the term would originate from there... ? The MC can transform into a big cat, but the translation is inconsistent... more>> about whether it is a panther, leopard, or cheetah, which drives me a little bonkers. Which one is it, dammit?!

The story development is weak. The plot is that the MC’s sister is sick, and he has to earn money to save her. He failed the first time and was then sent back into the past. He gets his sister diagnosed and earns a bunch of money. Although he dies in dungeon raids several times, he never loses anything significant. He never faces any true setbacks. Although he said people cheated him out of money in his past life, no one has tried to do so in this life, which is actually quite shocking, considering his terrible sense of money and extraordinary naivette.

Also, never pay attention to the numbers. Although numbers are an important part of this story, it’s best to turn a blind eye to them. If the MC can’t equip a weapon because he has to be level 10 to equip it, he will still equip it a few chapters later, even though his level is too low. If there are fifty monsters in front of him, and he kills all fifty, somehow there will still be several dozen left behind. If he lists the Seven Great Thieves, only six will be given. The same goes for other numbers or lists. Percentages of a boost or something will also change from one chapter to the next, although this may be a translation error instead of the author’s fault.

The MC’s personality is contradictory and inconsistent. He wants to earn money for his sister. At the same time, he refuses donations from his rich roommates, bails a person he hates out of jail, spends millions of dollars for jewelry his sister might not like in both the game and reality, gives away 20% of his stocks to other guild members, and lets a merchant handle all the money for their schemes with absolute trust. Several people have rage quit in the comments section for chapters because of his foolish money-handling. Honestly, I kind of want to see him get swindled, so he can learn a lesson. Is he a greedy money-grubber or a generous person with dough to spare? The author can’t seem to make up his/her mind. Other than the sister-plot, the MC’s personality is rather shallow and guarded. I am over 300 chapters in, and he still hasn’t undergone any character development.

Speaking of which, why does he team up with people he regards as weak when his plan is to become strong and make a lot of money? Since he’s supposed to have such a ruthless nature, shouldn’t he coldly throw some of them away and then learn from his mistakes? Given his past and betrayals, it doesn’t make sense for him to value friendship so much except from one person who was always with him.

The sister only exists as a plot device, not as a character of her own. She is fourteen but treated like a little kid. She doesn’t appear much at all in the beginning of the series and hardly does anything of consequence other than motivating the MC. Most of the other characters are also quite flat in their character depth and development, too. They each have one defining character trait, and that is that.

The girls in this series are written really weirdly, too. They are supposed to be good gamers, but they are scared of things that aren’t that creepy and are seriously fixated on being cute. I thought they were supposed to be obsessive gamers? It’s not hard to write female characters. You just write them the same way you would a male character but use female pronouns instead. Then again, with this series, the male characters don’t have much depth either. They only benefit from not being written as weird as the women. Also, when women win the MVP awards for the classes they play, they only win because they are beautiful or cute, not because they crushed they crushed the competition and made it to the semi-finals or won the biggest tournament of the year. Their strength and contributions are completely disregarded. While one of the female characters appears to genuinely be mentally handicapped, the others just act extremely childishly for no reason at all. Men don’t have this problem.

The MC looks down on everyone in his team, especially the women. Even for his male comrades, he doesn’t seem to regard them too highly.

None of the characters are particularly memorable. The only thing going for this series is the action, but there isn't much of a world to develop any setting on. When more characters are introduced, the quality drops quickly.

The setting is a slightly dystopic sci-fi setting with an immense gap between the poor and the rich. Although this is an interesting set-up and could be developed out further and elaborated on, barely any attention is given to this issue. The story could have gone into what defines a poor home in this era but didn’t. Do they have running water? Hot water? Access to food? Air conditioning? Are they living on straw mats in an adobe house and waging war against bed bugs? Unfortunately, nothing is given. This could have been a significant point to develop the novel around, but it has been completely disregarded instead.

What does the world look like 200 years in the future? There is hardly any imagery in the novel, so the readers have no clue. Furthermore, none of the monsters or types of people in this World of Warcraft-based novel are described. As a person who has never played that game, I had no idea what things looked like until I Googled them and hoped the interpretation from WoW fansites matched what the author had in mind. I pictured the Night Elves like Dark Elves or Drow and expected them to have grayish-blue or brown skin... Their skin is purple. I imagined things wrong from the start. It’d also be nice if the races of other characters were mentioned at least once or more than once. I picture most of the MC’s team as elves or Night Elves since they met early in the game, but that’s all I’ve got to go off of.

The series doesn’t dive into the numerous medical problems the MC and other major gamers must be suffering from. The most obvious things are bed sores, blood clots, and malnutrition. Although he sits around playing games all day, he’s built so well that women gawk at him when he goes jogging. What kind of fantasy is this?!

Although this has action that can be fun for a couple of hundred chapters, the foundation of the world, characters, and plot is too weak to continue carrying the story and keeping it engaging at the same time. Furthermore, there's no description for any of the monsters, which makes it incredibly weak... If the readers have to lookup the reviews to find out this series is based on World of Warcraft and then visit those sites just to find visualize the scenes here, that is a sign of poor writing. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
End of the Magic Era
February 12, 2019
Status: c40
The MC is a character who transmigrates into a world of magic, but it actually turns out to be a world that now has severe magic depletion instead. He lives for twenty years until he's abruptly sent something like 30, 000 years into the past and possesses a twenty-year-old magician there instead. Although his future knowledge is very prominent in the story development, his transmigration from our world is completely ignored thus far in the series and doesn't contribute to the plot at all.

He is immensely OP with his knowledge... more>> and precise mana control. Not to mention his luck is completely out of this world. He is calm and intelligent without going out of his way to get revenge or to cause trouble for anyone, so I like his personality a lot. Unfortunately, all of the other characters are not even remotely as intelligent as he is. I'm not just talking about magical knowledge, which would only be expected, but also about their common sense and craftiness. They don't have the slightest amount of cunning or ability to deceive or manipulate others. It's like the MC is a college student competing against and working with a bunch of kindergardeners.

There are numerous plot holes and inconsistencies as well. I plan to continue reading it until it goes premium, but I intend to drop it after that if the series doesn't improve in quality. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report