Report Review
113 Reviews


ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
How To Die As Heavy As Mount Tai
October 8, 2018
Status: c19
Very good. The first arc made me bawl my eyes out--repeatedly.

The overarching setting is established early on, and the MC is fully aware of what his job entails and what his purpose is. He knows why he is going into these worlds, and he acts according to the role he is cast as. I really love having background established in these novels. The plots are interesting, and side-characters are also developed and given attention to. They all grow as the plot moves on. Great pacing. The writing is well-done and... more>> difficult to put down.

My only complaint thus far is that some of the action scenes are skimmed over. Although the intrigue and developments are good and exciting and I couldn't put this series down, it'd be nice to fill in some of the holes in the combat and action scenes.

It's like a mixture of Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil and Heroic Death System. Strongly recommended. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Unruly Phoenix Xiaoyao
September 9, 2018
Status: c255
This novel is hilarious and makes me laugh every future chapters. "Unruly" is an apt description of the main character. As a former apocalypse survivor, she doesn't know manners and speaks so frankly that the officials don't know how to respond to her. Similarly, their flowerly language and metaphors confuse the d*ckens out of her. Since she has impressive healing abilities, she is extremely difficult to kill and infuriates and confounds those who attempt to assassinate her. As a young immortal monstrous woman clothed in the guise of the emperor,... more>> she is extremely valiant and fearless. I adore her character, and she cracks me up.

The can also talk with animals, which is a skill I did not look forward to before trying this series. The animals are all funny and have their own personalities.
Spoiler

They act as her personal spies, making the MC's enemies put forth futile efforts exterminating their own men as they try to figure out who is giving the MC her information. It becomes very hard to keep any gossip or secrets from the MC, lol.

[collapse]

The male lead isn't bad, but he definitely fits the description of "evil vixen." Their relationship is one of the few in a historical Chinese series that doesn't begin with rape and isn't abusive. It would be interesting if the MC decided to destroy him, though.

All of the other human characters, like the animals, have their own defined personalities and goals with plenty of scheming involved. It's well worth checking out. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Revolution of the 8th Class Mage
July 22, 2018
Status: c78
This is a fun read about an OP MC who has clear goals in mind with a logical thought process. He's not overly cruel or wicked and actually stays true to his morals and upholding the rules. He's a respectable MC. The side-characters have depth, and the plot is interesting. Although the MC has memories of the future, his choices change everything so dramatically that even he doesn't know what's going to happen next. The changes are interesting.

That said, there are some weaknesses. Limited attention is given to the side-characters... more>> and their development, for instance. As an action junky, I was disappointed by how little attention is given to the combat scenes. This series could definitely be written in a way that is more exciting.

Although this series has definite weaknesses, the moral integrity and likeability of the MC balances them out to some degree. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
Thus far, this series has been very dry and focused on prepping. Oddly enough, it focuses on some details but leaves out the bigger questions. For instance, how is he toileting the dog if he never leaves the apartment??? So far, it's only focused on getting things together, planting, planning, etc. The MC doesn't have much personality; his only distinctive feature is that he blushes easily. There is minimal amounts of action, comedy, and gore, even though this is supposed to be an apocalyptic novel. Unfortunately, I'm dropping the series... more>> at this point. It doesn't have anything to catch or hold my interest. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
Thus far, the story is only based on misunderstanding after misunderstanding, and no one is making an efforts to validate their conclusions. The reasoning behind the technological insights provided by the MC doesn't make sense. The simple solutions provided by him for various modifications to machines are obvious, making it surprising no one ever thought of them before. This is definitely more of a gag series that one cannot take seriously. However, the jokes and gags become redundant and are no longer funny after the first few chapters. Even while... more>> ignoring the "science" present, the redundant illogical misunderstandings and lack of interesting plot or characters eventually tuned me out of the series, and I'm dropping it. Perhaps it becomes better later on, but it's not entertaining enough to make me be patient until that time. It's not funny, and I can't see any redeeming traits for this series thus far. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
This series is hilarious thus far. The sweet, innocent MC tries his hardest to follow along the plot for each of these settings and act as an appropriate love rival, but the male lead keeps screwing him over by pursuing him instead of the female lead. Although the male lead is the "hero, " he's definitely not a good guy. I love how funny and action-filled all of these scenarios are. The character development progresses smoothly, and I love how the relationship between the MC and his system, 5237, grow... more>> closer as they are united against the wicked male lead.

I caught up to the most recent chapters in one sitting. Very fun. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Devil’s Evolution Catalog
March 19, 2018
Status: c169
If the chapters weren't as short as they are, I probably would've dropped this series before getting this far. I had to do a lot of skimming to convince myself to continue. The main character often ignores obvious solutions to a battle, which is difficult to stomach for anyone who likes stragetic warfare or a clever combat scenes. He doesn't explore his abilities very often and forgets what skills he actually has. The fights and battles are quite redundant up until recent chapters, and he's only recently gotten his soldiers... more>> to focus on specialization. The action overall has been pretty weak, and things didn't start to become more interesting until recent chapters.

The MC has a crush on his adopted sister and appears pretty loyal to her until he suddenly starts to develop a harem one day. Unfortunately, his stubborn one-sided affection was his only redeeming character trait. He appears to be developing on the villain protagonist route all of a sudden, so maybe that'll make him more interesting. I'm not optimistic.

He easily changes his opinion completely around without realizing it. He is a hypocrite and strongly racist against his own kind, which could possibly provide some character development in the future. However, the writing has been so weak that I don't have any expectations for it. Even if that kind of thing happens, I doubt I'll be able to endure this series long enough to see it.

There is no creativity, and the action is boring. Arcs are drawn out to a ridiculous degree.

I am going to postpone dropping this series for now because the most recent chapters have been more interesting. That said, it took 150 chapters to get here, so this isn't the first monster reincarnation series I'd recommend for anyone. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Possessing Nothing
March 11, 2018
Status: c58
The story spends an excessive amount of time on establishing the setting and is not very concise with it. The beginning drags on. However, the action scenes are exciting, and things start to pick up more when the MC goes to Hush Mountain. If you can reach that point, then I recommend continuing and giving it a chance. I enjoy the fight scenes and battles. I actually feel like more chapters could have been spent showing the character developing instead of becoming so strong after a time skip, but that's... more>> my preference. Unfortunately, the current translated chapters end when the series starts looking really good.

Update: Dropped at 58. The writing itself is just too weak for me. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Wangye, Wangfei is a Cat
December 30, 2017
Status: c15
The MC is entertaining, but she is not focused enough on her goals and gets distracted easily. She doesn't have much sense of urgency. The male lead is, thus far, impossible to like.

After the MC becomes a human, she is ... more>>
Spoiler

kidnapped and taken prisoner by the male lead. He rapes and abuses her repeatedly for every little reason he can think of. The s*xual abuse and violence isn't shown graphic detail, but it is definitely there. He is controlling and emotionally abusive as well, isolating his victim and manipulating her by threatening everyone around her. In spite of it all, she remains as air-headed as before and doesn't think before acting. He's raped her more than once or twice, but she's not responding to all of this trauma. The writer does not describe the pain, terror, or seriousness of the matter at all. Rape does not equate to a romantic time; it's an act of hatred and nightmares that scars people for life and gives them traumatic flashbacks whenever they try to become close to others. There is no healthy relationship between a rapist and his victim.

[collapse]

Frankly, I hope she manages to escape and kill him, but it doesn't look like this novel is going to take these issues seriously. I absolutely cannot approve of the male lead. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Thrive in Catastrophe
December 5, 2017
Status: c19
This is an exciting, action-filled sci-fi series. If you don't like BL, then you can just skip those moments. The cast members make quite a funny combination, and the MC has excellent character growth. He is smart but lazy. He isn't strong, but his ability to remain calm and take courageous action begins to really set him apart. The action and gore are very well-done.

I almost didn't read the series when I realized there was no fantasy to freshen-up a zombie survival story, but I am glad I tried it... more>> out. The unique cast and weapons are definitely entertaining.

The biggest weakness I have seen so far is a lack of detail to the weaponry and other sci-fi elements. There are some minor holes in logic. Another reviewer mentioned their lack of communication with the base. Another question is how little bits of technology work since some minor details don't make sense, but this could also be fixed by just adding more description to things. The MC can easily calculate the rate of things, such as air in a container or how long it will take a fluid to fill up a container. However, observing dimensions of things in real life and knowing the rate of flow through mere observation instead of a written textbook question is really difficulty. He must be able to visually measure speed and dimensions of things very accurately to get the variables for his calculations. To make it practical in real life requires a high level of skill. It would make more sense if he used lenses or something like that to measure the variables for the equations, but nothing of the sort has been mentioned.

Even so, it's a pretty entertaining series. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
I Was Reincarnated
October 21, 2017
Status: c16
So far, there isn't any plot to the story, and all of the characters are coming across as pretty shallow. The writing isn't good enough to keep my attention or pull me in, and I'm too bored with it to keep reading.

The idea is interesting, but the writing could really use an upgrade. There isn't any drama or plot, and the action is mostly completely skipped over. I haven't seen any strengths in the story up to this point.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Otome Game Rokkushuume, Automode ga Kiremashita
September 23, 2017
Status: c59
This series is neither good nor bad. It is a relatively generic gentle vanilla series without any intense action, drama, fantasy, or comedy, but it has a dash of everything in moderation. The main character tries to deviate from the villain she was born as in order to prolong her life, which is pretty standard for this type of series. Her terror of what she perceives as death flags can be funny on occasion.

So far, the best part for me...

... more>>
Spoiler

.. is her friendship with the gardener's son.

[collapse]

That development was actually cute and touching.

If you are looking for a light series without much suspense, then this one is a good option to kill time with. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Sairin Yuusha no Fukushuu Hanashi
September 21, 2017
Status: v3c14
This story is very... moderate. I can't feel the desire for revenge from the characters, even though they keep saying it's what they want. They are robotically going through the motions. The story does a lot of telling rather than showing. There is hardly any hint of blood lust. It is as though their desire for revenge is completely insincere.

The main leads are also quite flat, personality-wise. The MC is as generic as they come. Although he says he wants revenge, he still acts as a super-nice guy saving everyone... more>> along the way. That would still be okay if he at least had an ethical struggle with his decisions, but he's not even worried at all. The character has hardly developed at all from the beginning of the series. The female lead has an interesting background, but she also comes across as incredibly flat and has had little development. There is no tension between the two characters. Not a single drop of chemistry to be had. There is no suspension, no tension, no question of betrayal, no secret motives... They both just wear their hearts on their sleeves and have identical goals of revenge against the same people. There is no drama to look forward to with their interactions. None of the side characters make the series any better either.

The story does not have enough comedy, action, or creativity to make it interesting enough. That said, someone who wants a mellow adventure series staring an OP protagonist and the maou might like it more. This story really lacks in intensity. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Kiss the Black Cat
January 13, 2019
Status: c13
This series has kept me cracking up every few chapters so far. I was shocked and disappointed when I caught up because I couldn't read the next chapter right away (Give me more!). There is a lot of fluff so far, but the action thrown into the mix was fun. Each character has his own history thus far and own perspectives about various matters.

The MC is easygoing but also works hard. He enjoys being a cat way too much for his own good, which is always good for a laugh.... more>> He asserts himself, and, when he decides to pursue the ML, he pursues the ML. He's very likeable, and I like his casual but diligent nature. The ML is awkwardly serious most of the time, which leads to him getting teased quite a bit. According to the other reviews, there's another side to him which hasn't been revealed yet, but I'm looking forward to it.

I recommend this for anyone who likes BL and wants an entertaining and funny light read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
ABO Cadets
October 9, 2018
Status: v1c9
I honestly do not understand the positive reviews. Perhaps I dropped the series too early to see how it improves. Both Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil and How to Die as Heavy as Mount Tai are good series that include alpha-beta-omega dynamics, so I thought I should give this series a chance.

In the beginning the setting is weak, and the characters are flat and uninteresting. The action scene was weak and the battles don't make a whole lotta sense. Although this is supposed to be a sci-fi, it's... more>> not using that element to its fullest, and the science is weak. Rape, s*xism, and boys flirting with each other is not enough to make series good. The smut itself is weak, and it looks like that is supposed to be one of the highlights of this series. It needs to have a good plot and character development as well.

First of all, the science is weak.
Spoiler

Hormones are secreted by glands. In that case, the easiest thing to do to prevent a person from becoming an omega would be to remove those glands and then supply the person with supplemental hormones to make up for what the body is lacking. Since it's sci-fi, there might not even be any scars left behind. Instead, these characters go through the trouble of using medication. Even then, the MC is not aware that he's supposed to be an omega, which is a significant failure of the mother. Kids often don't take their medications, even more so than adults. How are you going to convince someone to take a pill every day at the same time without fail without explaining what its purpose is? Even then, this medication is just something the so-called doctor brewed up on his own. It hasn't undergone any clinical trials and doesn't appear to have been monitored for side-effects or interactions with other things. For all we know, this medication could cause his hormonal or immune system to fail or make him develop cancer. Even then, no one informed this kid that he was a guinea pig.

The mother has failed in her duties to explain the true situation to her son. We know that she is "sickly" but don't know what from and don't know her true reasons for doing what she is doing. She has no character depth.

For some reason, they are allowed to have pets out and in the open. Did someone manage to cure allergies? It really doesn't make sense for this to be allowed. Pets are often not obedient. Even if they are, they could send someone into anaphylaxis by just being near them.

This "dog" then sneaks his way through a scanner while pretending to be part of a white sweater. Since when does a scanner care what color you are? As long as you have bones, you should definitely show up, even with our modern-day technology.

[collapse]

Even with the key detail of the plot not making sense, I was willing to try blowing it off as "magic medicine" or something like that. The battles were what really bothered me.

Spoiler

When the enemy general shows up and takes control of the MC's ship, no one dies. No one is killed off as an example. Then, the "good guy" General Rosen shows up and saves the day without losing a single soldier, completely making the scene lose any and all suspense. For the enemy general, he seriously wasted all his time and fuel to come up here and say hello. Isn't that a waste? Shouldn't he have at least predicted that his opponents would try to fight it out with him? Shouldn't he have at least put a high explosive on board just in case this situation occurred? Better yet, if negotiations failed, he could blow up the ship and then flee. If they didn't chase them, then he got to kill some of the enemy anyway. If they did chase him, then he could use that opportunity to lure them into an ambush. Instead of planning things out, he is immediately taken by surprise and skiddadles away like a startled spider without doing hardly anything at all. All he does is poke Rosen about his former crush and hurt his feelings a bit. He gets very smug about this, too. What the hell? Is this guy really a general? Was it really worth coming all this way just to annoy this guy? Wasting all the time, money, and soldiers doesn't make sense for such a simple hello.

[collapse]

Even then, the battle isn't described in detail. If the plot is nonsensical, at least give me some exciting action scenes! How can you have a story in the military without any action scenes?!

Then, there is the flashback from nineteen years ago.

Spoiler

Ling Yu abruptly goes into estrus. He's one of the few characters in this series so far who has demonstrated any sign of intelligence, so props to him. He actually anticipated that his medicine would fail and took some preventative measures. He had someone else command the battle for him and locked himself in an isolated cell. If it were handled a bit better, then no one would necessarily have to know he was an omega. Even though he isolates himself, Rosen goes out of his way to enter the cell and rape Ling Yu, taking extra care to mark and impregnate him against his will. Rosen claims he is doing this for Ling Yu's own good since he would otherwise be an omega in a prison. Even so, taking these risks and avoiding bonding with an alpha or doing any of this was what Ling Yu decided. Ling Yu preferred to go to prison and do his time rather than becoming a birthing machine, and this is entirely his choice to make. If Rosen had handled this properly and covered it up well from the beginning, all this would be unnecessary, and no one would know the wiser. Ling Yu could flee without going to prison or hiding his gender. Instead, Rosen took advantage of Ling Yu's time of weakness to essentially enslave Ling Yu to him, completely destroying all their years of trust and friendship. He treats Ling Yu as an object rather than a person. Did Rosen honestly expect Ling Yu to still like him after he violated him to such an extent?

Naturally, Ling Yu could trust him no longer and knocked Rosen out before fleeing and presumably faking his death, which is quite sensible. Rosen is broken-hearted? It wouldn't have turned out this way if he weren't a rapist. He deserves all the suffering.

During all of this, Rosen is completely neglecting his duties as a general and irresponsibly leaving it to others. Ling Yu already told you "no, " dude.

Anyway, Ling Yu was a tough person in the military and was fairly high-ranking. Yet, he got out of prison and put on house-arrest. In spite of all that, he escapes extremely easily. Do criminals in this world not even have ankle bracelets to track their position like the ones in our world on house arrest do? If you tamper with those things, they go off. Since this is a sci-fi world, I would expect these devices to be even more advanced and possibly located under the skin to monitor the convict's vitals and status of this pregnancy.

[collapse]

The plot holes are strong in this one. Everyone needs an upgrade to their IQ and some enhanced character depth. I need more plot, more sensibility, more logic. This kind of plot has been done many times before and doesn't bring anything new to the table. I don't see any strong points that other people mentioned. It could just be that this is a series people either love or hate, but I can't see any reason to like it thus far. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Youkoso Jitsuryoku Shijou Shugi no Kyoushitsu e
October 7, 2018
Status: v3 epilogue 2
If I didn't know about the MC's true personality from watching the anime first, I probably would have dropped this series during the first few chapters. Since I've watched the anime first, which covers the first three volumes, it's put an interesting twist on the MC's internal dialogue in the light novels. Although he pretends to be a normal guy, he actually doesn't feel any connection with the other characters and is only using them for his own ends, manipulating them every step of the way. His thoughts about friendship... more>> and feeling things toward other characters are actually 100% fake. In the light novels, he gives off a pretty sleazy impression, but it comes off as quite cunning in the anime. If I had read the light novels first, then I would have rated this series as a 2/5 stars. Since I have higher expectations about reveals based on the anime, I'm giving it 3/5 stars for now.

The most interesting volume thus far is the third one. That said, I would recommend watching the anime over reading the light novels. There are some small differences but nothing that would change the storyline.

Supporting characters include a tsundere nadeshiko and a green tea bitch. Nothing special in particular. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
God of Illusions
August 11, 2018
Status: c55
This novel is pretty funny with a refreshing, crafty MC who gets into endless amounts of trouble. He's a shameless flirt with a smart mouth and a constantly increasing number of enemies. I had a great laugh out of watching him cause trouble after trouble. It's not like unfortunate events happen to him by accident but rather that he himself causes these events. He is clearly a leading member of the Death-Seeking Army. His cunning survival is quite funny. The characters have demonstrated at least some depth in their personalities... more>> thus far, but this is definitely more of a comedy series than a drama. However, there are some warning points to watch out for...

Very early in the series, a rape scene occurs. I can read stories with rape just fine, but the way it occurs in this series makes this series lose a star in my regards.
Spoiler

The MC practices a rare cultivation technique that somehow causes an aphrodisiac effect on him and the surrounding area. When he becomes aroused, instead of letting the MC use his self-restraint or touch himself to deal with the effects, his so-called master kidnaps a nearby woman and forces her to be near them. She is likewise influenced by the aphrodisiac, and the two have s*x while drugged. Thanks to the teacher, both characters were essentially drugged and raped by each other. This is something that could have been left alone, and it was completely unreasonable to force someone to be raped just to help the MC with his lust. Worse yet, the master says that the MC can level up by using this technique with virgins, which implies more rape will occur in the future.

[collapse]

I admit that it's funny when he appears to attract men as well.

Another issue I have is the term "puppets." The "puppets" in this series have hardly any similarities with puppets as usually recognized in the English language. The only semblance they have is as objects controlled by other people. They are more like artifacts, weapons, or tools rather than genuine puppets. I don't know if there were other ways to translate this term from the original Chinese, but switching out the term "puppet" for another word or even just keeping the term in pinyin would make it easier to follow. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Rebirth Waste Strikes Back
August 5, 2018
Status: c22
The MC is a super-sassy gay man who cracks me up. He hides his appearance using disturbingly heavy makeup when he's using his real name and wears a mask when going by the moniker of "Ghost Doctor." I adore his personality and love his hidden identity. It leads for a lot of funny moments when his no-good family is trying to schmooze up to the doctor and his ex keeps flirting with him when he's disguised as the doctor.

The MC has no interest in showing off to woo his ex... more>> back, which is a relief. He is more concerned with earning money and treating his patients. He has a business venture going on in the background with a couple of friends of his, which actually also makes him incredibly wealthy.

He was thrown out as the trash of his family when he was only five years old, but he's hidden his claws and made a killing by hiding his identity. This is a very fun read and I recommend it.

However, there is very little information given about the setting (I think it's a magic/martial arts/sci-fi-ish place???), which makes me drop the rating to 4 stars. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Kyuuketsu Hime wa Barairo no Yume o Miru
August 5, 2018
Status: v4c5
I really enjoyed the first two volumes, especially the second, even if it felt rushed. I especially liked the depth and character development in the MC, Prince Ashyl, and Carlos. There was some nice curb-stomping domination and drama. However, the background and overall development of the plot and buildup were a bit weak. The beginning of the third volume opens up great to start the central plot of the story, but the emotional drama over what occurs seems to have been really downplayed. The remainder of the volume feels to... more>> go into a completely random direction and was a total let-down, leaving me to wonder whether I was really reading the same series or not. The impact from the first 2.5 volumes dropped completely.

The later volumes felt bland with uninteresting characters, and I felt myself not caring one way or the other whether the MC won or lost. Despite the intriguing start and the initial excitement I had during those first couple of volumes, the pleasure I had has long since waned.

While I would have given the first 2.5 volumes a rating of 5 stars, the rest of the series up until now is only worth 3 stars to me, so I'm averaging the scores and rating it as a 4/5 for now. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
A Wild Last Boss Appeared
August 3, 2018
Status: c16
So far, this has been quite a fun read. I like the MC and the side characters. They all have depth and some development, and it's interesting to see how they act in the situations appearing as the novel progresses. The first several chapters establish the setting of the world and help introduce the MC into the changes he/she is experiencing. The action kicks off before long, and it's great to see the MC back to kicking butt.

After conquering much of the world before, "heroes" arose and sealed her away.... more>> She is released 200 years later, and it's interesting to see how the drama and motivations played out for those who betrayed her and how her actions will warp the world once again. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report