Report Review
198 Reviews


ResidentialPsycho
I clicked on this series, hoping it would show a cunning psychic MC reveal the dark secrets of the wealthy elite... That is not what this is about. This is more like a soap opera with an incredibly flimsy plot, no character development, and the smallish dash of psychic stuff as background material.

The MC is an extremely naïve and sheltered woman with psychic abilities. Even so, she does some really dumb things like getting drunk in a stranger’s home. She’s completely defenseless and unguarded. She literally gets divorced and engaged... more>> again in the same chapter... and then gets married the next chapter. The plot moves hella fast compared to other series. Didn’t she learn her lesson from her divorce? Unfortunately, the plot developments are so fast, they don’t make a lick of sense. I don’t see the logic. Where is the plot? What secrets is the male lead hiding? Where’s the supernatural theme I was hoping to dive into? Where’s the mystery?

All there is, is an extremely forced marriage without any plot.

....I have never read so many comments in a series where readers were demanding to kill off the ML. This is worth reading just for the readers’ comments. I, too, continue to read to see how the ML will hopefully be divorced and then killed or tortured in some way!

On the bright side, the writing quality improves after the first twenty or so chapters, but that doesn't change fact I either hate or have no reason to like any of the characters in the series. No one has any depth, including the MC.

The currency in the translation is confusing... Sometimes, it’s yuan, sometimes it’s dollars. Earning 2, 500 yuan in a month is supposed to be decent money, but that’s only about $372, which leaves me confused. Otherwise, the translations are pretty good. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Game Loading
January 19, 2019
Status: c10
I'm still in the first arc, but this series has me cracking up every chapter at the MC's pitiable fate. Somehow, he ends up as a scumbag in a survival game full of yanderes who will kill them if they can't have him. He has little interest in other people and limited facial expressions but somehow gets forced into this weird game where he has to manipulate these other characters in order to have them not kill him. He becomes far more used to being murdered than anyone should be.... more>> Needless to say, he is.... not amused. But it is hilarious for me as a reader.

RIP, MC! <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Escape Galge
June 4, 2018
Status: c17
The set-up for this series was interesting, and I liked the shift in the MC's behavior from the annoying twin tails persona to her real personality. However, this tough act doesn't last for long, and she doesn't take revenge or avoidance seriously. With the event mentioned below, the MC lost all of my respect. The writing is weak and not enough to keep my attention or pull me in.

... more>>
Spoiler

At this point in the story, she is even falling for that ML tr*sh.

[collapse]

I've continued this far in the series because the chapters are so short and quick to read, but I'm dropping it now. Even as a light read, I cannot recommend this series. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Violant of the Silver
January 18, 2018
Status: c2 part3
The story has only just started, but I'm enjoying it so far. The vivid imagery really brings the magic to life. Violant's struggles with PTSD are not side-stepped and forgotten, so I'm looking forward to see how his character develops. The background information for Violant is well-done and summarizes his family situation and situation in the town appropriately.

I have really been looking forward to the updates for this novel. I feel a ton of hope and anticipation toward its progression.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Path of the Cannon Fodder’s Counterattack
September 23, 2017
Status: c56
The hatred is real. Xiao Ling and Mo Qi hate each other with a passion and go to great lengths to kill or screw each other over. This is not some half-hearted hatred where they stop last-minute, so it's really nice to see such ruthless characters in action. That said, Xiao Ling is a total softy to anyone who isn't Mo Qi, which is one of his charm points. He is cunning and full of expression.

Unfortunately, now that he is no longer overshadowed by Mo Qi, Xiao Ling has accidentally... more>> seduced a couple of emperors. Seeing as his objectives are to 1) kill Mo Qi and 2) escape with his life and testicles intact, this is a huge problem.

This is a very funny series, so I recommend it to anyone who likes comedy.

However, I wish Xiao Ling and Mo Qi had more time together, and we got to see more depth from Mo Qi's character. I'm not cheering for any romantic couples either. I like seeing Xiao Ling free and causing trouble on his own.

Spoiler

We also hardly know anything about how these two were in an "accident" that sent them to the past. Are they from a sci-fi future, where things like time travel and magic-like things are possible? Are they actually fantastical creatures that only recently developed the ability to fall through time? Are the two of them destined to be reborn together again and again? I hope the series answers these questions in the remaining chapters. We know hardly anything about their lives before falling back in time.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
Super-duper fluffy cuteness is the main theme of this series. The MC's interactions with a pair of twins he picks up and raises is really cute. Then, he also gets all of these cute familiars as the story continues. He changes the world with his culinary skills and tends to impress everyone with how OP he is. If you want a light read that makes you smile gently without worrying about any romantic drama, then this is a nice series to kill time.

It is not dramatic. The MC starts off... more>> OP and only becomes more OP as the series goes on, so he doesn't struggle against anything and never gets cornered. He doesn't face any major challenges, and there isn't any suspense in this series.

It would be nice if the MC weren't so OP and wasn't a Gary Stu, but the fluffiness makes up for it. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Seizing Dreams
September 25, 2019
Status: c118 part2
This is a slice-of-life/romance/BL/comedy with occasional splashes of supernatural/action thrown into the mix. The romance develops in a reasonable without anyone suddenly going yandere, and it's believable. The story development runs smoothly. The writing quality of this series is excellent.

The main characters have complete personalities with depth and character development, and so do the side-characters. Everyone comes across as fairly realistic. For once, the main couple is not abusive toward each other, and this is not a rape-romance series. The ML sometimes calls the MC s*upid, which I dislike, but... more>> it's not enough to constitute emotional abuse. They help and support each other. Although the ML pampers the MC, the MC also pampers him. They enjoy taking care of each other and building a life together as they struggle to plan out their futures. This is something many college students or even high school students could sympathize with. These characters screw up plenty and definitely take the wrong turns in life, so they're not OP protagonists who automatically have everything given to them without any tension.

The setting is modern-day college mixed with the occasional mystical dreamscape.

The psychology in this series isn't necessarily the most accurate thing, but that doesn't matter as long as it's interesting. There must be meaning and metaphors with the dreams as well. As long as the reader interprets this series as a alternative world, it's easier to accept the events. The dreams have interesting settings and their own unique dramas as characters face off against their hidden fears. Unfortunately, the action in the dreams is rather vague and over-the-top at times. The battle scenes in the dreams are written in a more vague manner with ridiculous abilities, which reminds me of why I dislike Xianxias. However, dreams are abstract, so this may be intentional on part of the author. The action in the real world is more realistic, even if it could be written in a more exciting manner.

Although this is one of the more professional and high-quality series I have read, it's not my cup of tea. More than 50% of the series is romance, which is a genre I can barely tolerate. Quite a significant portion of the series is also slice-of-life, which I'm only interested in if it's a tragedy. Although it's well-written, this is definitely not a series I could read in one sitting and could only tolerate a handful of chapters a day after the more exciting first arc came to an end. I like more action/suspense/adventure/horror/mystery series like Lord of the Mysteries, Thriller Paradise, and Quick Transmigration Cannon Fodder’s Record of Counterattacks. Of course, I like series like Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil as well, but I actually like to read danmei more for the plot than the romance.

That said, even if this series isn't to my tastes, it still deserves a rating of 5/5 for it's quality. I can't dock it points because I don't like the genres. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
My House of Horrors
June 29, 2019
Status: c601
This is an excellent suspense/horror/action/mystery/comedy series that keeps me on the edge of my seat. This is the first series I have used the download feature on the app, so I could read it during downtime at work when I didn't have internet access.

The translation quality is excellent. There are a few minor errors where quotes are missing or someone's gender changes, but they're not distracting and are easy to figure out.

The plot is exciting and lead by a active protagonist, who is also a hammer-wielding madman, and he does... more>> not wait for the mysteries and ghosts to come to him--instead, he chases down the stories. He has a penchant for exploring extremely dangerous haunted places in the middle of the night, which frequently results in evil ghosts or people trying to murder him.

Thing is, he's often scarier than the ghosts.

He has tremendous character depth and complexity, which forms an interesting and entertaining, charismatic MC. He's a college graduate who is focused on developing the haunted house run by his family while also looking for his missing parents. Even though I've read over 600 chapters of this series, I'm not confident about predicting what actions the MC will take.

The other characters show substantial depth as well and thoroughly fleshed-out with their own individual personalities, experiences, and philosophies. The MC is probably my favorite, but there are many others I like as well.

The setting is modern-day China with ghosts, specters, and nightmares abound. How do these entities form? How does a person become a specter after death? What are these red doors? Who is responsible for all these murders? These are a few of the many questions the MC looks into as he treks through his horror-filled world. Of course, most people are oblivious to the existence of ghosts or else pretend not to believe in them. Unfortunately for the MC, the ghosts are often not the most dangerous creatures he faces but rather the living people who murdered them in the first place.

There are a few distracting details that pull me away from the plot. I'm pretty sure the MC's first week of getting involved in the paranormal had more than seven nights. Key details like the opening and closing hours of the park and the working days are not given in the beginning of the story. Even this far into the story, only a couple of other attractions at the amusement park have been mentioned, so there isn't much detail about the location. The MC's lack of sleep becomes explained later, but other details like eating, bathing, buying groceries, or doing laundry or other chores are often neglected. At many points, I have wondered if this MC only bathes once a week or less. There also isn't much description about the layout of his home in the park. These missing points in the setting and background leave me confused from time to time.

Most of the cases have hidden meanings and subtexts that can be interpreted from the hints given, adding extra depth and volume.

For me, this is one of the best web novels on Web Novel. Strongly recommended. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
The combination of tension and comedy combined with deep backstories makes this an inviting and engaging read.

This is a hilarious series where an MC attached to a system and is a veteran of nine worlds is struggling to get a promotion. For this task, he has to live an average life on Earth for 20 years. Sure, his Lucky S Physique causes him some distress, but this mission gives him the impression that it's too easy to really make sense. And then... his overpowered obsessive exes start showing up, one... more>> after another, invading his world all willy-nilly, quickly turning this into the most difficult task he's ever faced.

The MC is not a slut. So far, four exes have appeared so far. In each world, he only every loved one person. He only ever got married once, and spent that lifetime in unconditional love with that person. Once the MC left that world and assumed he would never see his husband again, he moved on, but he literally waited centuries in another world before doing so... At that time, it wasn't really his choice to get into a new relationship either. For the other exes revealed thus far, they were largely one-sided toward him. Even when he chose never to fall in love with anyone again, he was still only with one s*x buddy for one lifetime. One world, one lifetime, one love. He was loyal to each one. He's much cleaner than a lot of people in today's world, who might even sleep with different people within a single decade. The only problem is that now, which is probably thousands of years after he's been separated from some of them and never expected to see them again, they all showed up in the same world that he's inhabiting. To him, these people all suddenly just popped out of the grave... For these exes, it's only been anywhere from a couple of decades to a few centuries since the MC disappeared from their worlds, which is far less than it's been for him.

The exes include the loyal, innocent type of ex, the yandere ex, the overbearing ex, etc. It could be taken as a bit of a satire with yaoi. Each of these men could be the ML of another BL series. They're all capable, and each one is powerful enough to destroy the world and ruin the MC's promotion... Here, though, they all get mixed together in a crockpot of hell and hilarity, making the MC beg for them to quit showing up on his doorstep.

The poor MC has to struggle about how to deal with each one of them. One, he genuinely loved. Another, he only thought of as a business partner. Yet another was abusive, and the MC has seriously considered killing him. He deals with each one as an individual person and tries to treat them all fairly. Unequivocally, he asks to end the relationships he had already considered to be over. Unfortunately for him, the only means he can use to make them go away complicates things.

As a transmigrator who never belongs in the world he visits, he has already cut himself off from love, but none of the exes approve of this. For such an uproarious series, he and the exes all show a significant amount of character depth and development.

Although the MC thinks he just needs to behave himself for twenty years, his true task appears to be more along the lines of saving the world from his exes while maintaining an average life and remaining unknown to most people.

Anyway, this is a great read. Although this is tagged as a yaoi, it could be read as a shounen-ai since there aren't any explicit s*x scenes. Even if you don't like BL, this is a fun read and worth checking out to laugh at the torment the MC has to suffer through for his past relationships and choices. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Rebirth: Degenerate S*ave Abuses Tyrant
October 13, 2018
Status: c79
This is an exciting, clever read full of cunning, intrigue, and political machinations. The MC has a tortured past, which has turned him into someone who is wise and experienced, merciless and cold-hearted to his enemies, and soft to the innocent. He remains calm through his struggles and trauma, using his intelligence and knowledge to pave the way for his family's survival.

His greatest love at this point is his family. He is focused on protecting his family and keeping them alive and has completely thrown away any thoughts about romance,... more>> even though this is supposed to be a BL. Even though he finds success repeatedly and has grown in fame, he only seems himself as worthless. Although he has confidence in his plans, he has no self-esteem regarding his ability to love. He jumps from the extreme of loving one person only to feeling love for the members of his family and having no hope for romance. The character development in this series is excellent, both for the MC and the other characters.

I strongly recommend checking this series out. The opening is quite gory, the emotions run deep, and the pacing is swift. The only complaint I have so far is that I would like to see more vivid action scenes. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
So far, this is following the original pretty closely. I'm looking forward to the changes in future chapters and, of course, to the completion of the series. This is laugh-out-loud hilarious with its ridiculous over-the-top scenarios of training from Hell--and the personality changes that result for those who survive.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
Thus far, this series has been very dry and focused on prepping. Oddly enough, it focuses on some details but leaves out the bigger questions. For instance, how is he toileting the dog if he never leaves the apartment??? So far, it's only focused on getting things together, planting, planning, etc. The MC doesn't have much personality; his only distinctive feature is that he blushes easily. There is minimal amounts of action, comedy, and gore, even though this is supposed to be an apocalyptic novel. Unfortunately, I'm dropping the series... more>> at this point. It doesn't have anything to catch or hold my interest. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
Thus far, the story is only based on misunderstanding after misunderstanding, and no one is making an efforts to validate their conclusions. The reasoning behind the technological insights provided by the MC doesn't make sense. The simple solutions provided by him for various modifications to machines are obvious, making it surprising no one ever thought of them before. This is definitely more of a gag series that one cannot take seriously. However, the jokes and gags become redundant and are no longer funny after the first few chapters. Even while... more>> ignoring the "science" present, the redundant illogical misunderstandings and lack of interesting plot or characters eventually tuned me out of the series, and I'm dropping it. Perhaps it becomes better later on, but it's not entertaining enough to make me be patient until that time. It's not funny, and I can't see any redeeming traits for this series thus far. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
This is a fun, light read with interesting plots and harem-breaking. The main character carries the story, but most of the side-characters come across as rather flat. The original protagonists whose harems the MC had to destroy came across as pretty nasty people once all was revealed. It'll be nice if more dimension is shown for the original protagonists and side-characters. Thus far, there are a lot of unanswered questions, even relating to the previous arcs, so I don't have any hope for them being answered.

Unfortunately, some of the sentences... more>> are very unclear, which makes them lose meaning in the translation and makes me feel like I'm missing part of the story. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
I have read Gu Yun's book, Zhou Qing's book, and this one. However, this one is my favorite by far. The MC cracks me up at every turn. She is definitely Gu Yun's daughter. Although she knows a lot from her upbringing, she does not have the experience that Gu Yun started off with, so it is a lot more fun watching her grow and make mistakes and learn on her own.

There are plenty of action scenes, mystery, and a bit of fantasy, which makes this a really exciting read.... more>> Several of the side characters are more fleshed out than in previous books, so the writer has come a long way. The comedy is much stronger than previous books as well.

If you like action-adventure stories, this is one definitely worth checking out. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
September 23, 2017
Status: c30
Unlike other revenge stories, this one doesn't do it in half-hearted measures. Kaito's hatred is real. Yes, he has hatred toward the people who have yet to do all of the things he hates them for, but they have definitely done things worth being eliminated. He goes back to level one but still has a great deal of strength and knowledge from his previous life, which leads his adversaries to initially underestimate him. The flashbacks of his memories really add color to how he became so consumed with hatred.

The female... more>> lead, Minaris/Minnalis, is not all right in the head either. Even so, she is heading toward her goal seriously and patiently. These two are definitely diligent on their training and future plans.

The revenge is creative and fun to read. Although Kaito is no longer heroic, he still has some of the morality associated with one and legitimately struggles with ethical dilemmas as they come up. The first moment he questions his revenge comes as quite a shock to him and triggers some levelheaded character development he never anticipated. This is something that many revenge stories tend to glide over, but it is taken seriously here.

I'm really looking forward to what other crimes his enemies have committed and how he plans to start his revenge against each of them. The adventure, action, drama, comedy, and pure crafty wittiness are well-worth reading this series for. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Friends with Benefits
September 23, 2017
Status: c31
This is a dark, mature series with plentiful yaoi scenes, but it is still interesting if you skip the s*x scenes and only focus on the drama and relationships. It is dark and focused on the criminal and business worlds.

... more>>
Spoiler

A sleezy character shows up for a while and causes some tumult in the beginning. The MC hooks up with him a few times for fun. Later on, he brings down the mafia and reappears as a serious business owner. I guess you could say they thought they were playing with a kitten, but he actually turned out to be a tiger in disguise. When his brother is imprisoned for his crimes, the MC seduces their arch-enemy in order to save his life and also get some cheap revenge on the bastard. Since he is quite skilled at business, he becomes an irreplaceable member of the staff.

[collapse]

The thing I like most about this series is the strong friendship between the sworn brothers who will give anything for each other, whether it be their lives or every juan they ever earned. This trust, compassion, and loyalty is the most fulfilling part of this series and what keeps me coming back. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
So far, each arc has a smooth, cohesive plot. The first arc was well-written and felt like a movie script. The second major arc is still in progress, but I have high hopes for it.

An entire classroom of students are reborn as monsters in a foreign world. They have no idea where they are and have to struggle to survive as they adjust to their new abilities. Unlike a lot of other fantasy reincarnation stories, there is no helpful stat system or cheats to explain their abilities or how to... more>> do things. They struggle and squirm and figure out things by luck and chance. Of course, the class hierarchy is thrown upside-down as everyone's looks and abilities are different from before.

They have to discover how they were sent here and how to return home. Not to mention, they need to learn how to use their abilities and possibly return to human form.

Some reviewers have complained that the MC is very gentle, accepting, and forgiving.

Spoiler

Later on, we learn that he is just very empty and has no passions of his own, which is why he was turned into a skeleton. It seems their personality flaws from before reincarnation heavily influenced the monsters they were turned into. In order to become stronger, they have to face their flaws head-on and work to change themselves. This will be great for character development as the series continues.

[collapse]

This is an entertaining adventure story with a large cast, but each character has an individual personality. The comedy and action are good as well as the decisions each cast member makes. It will be interesting to see how things turn out in the end. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
My Senior Is Always Salivating After Me!
July 27, 2019
Status: c20 part1
My face hurts from smiling so much...

The MC transmigrates from the modern world (?) to a Xianxia web novel he had been reading and becomes a cat spirit beast. He takes everything in stride and is incredibly naughty and quick-witted. His tongue is so sharp, his words take down one senior after another. Even so, he's a kitten, meaning he's extremely playful and distractable and naps a lot. He gives his seniors any number of headaches and actively pursues the ML all while watching the drama from the novel and... more>> trying to avoid getting involved with the villain.

The side-characters each have distinctive personalities, temperaments, relationships, and specialties as well. They have their own individual responses to the characters and events going on around them, allowing each of them to exist on their own in the story instead of depending on the MC to define them.

So far, the plot is hilarious. The MC's clever shamelessness reminds me of the MC in Founder of Diabolism/Grandmaster of Demonic Cultivation, but the plot is more straightforward and easier to follow. So far, characters have been introduced and the setting has been established, but the most exciting action and drama has yet to start. I'm anticipating it big-time. This is a series well-worth checking out. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
Reading this series is like watching a gory horror movie or reading a scary book while the MC is just jamming along to the pop song "Party in my Head" by SEPTEMBER. There is tragedy, dead people, and nightmarish settings in the haunted landscape all around him, but the MC is just merrily doing his own thing and dancing to his own beat. His kind, cheerful, and optimistic attitude is infectious and seems to fill this horrific story with bubbles of pop music, leaving both his rival characters and the... more>> wicked ghosts confused and bewildered.

I love this MC! This is the MC I have longed to read about in a ghost series! He's not just a naive, generic nice guy. In fact, I would argue that he isn't naive at all. He is calm and diligent, and he just accepts and treats ghosts like the people they once were.

The side characters are great, too. Each of them have has his or her own distinctive personality and undergoes character development in the arcs. They have repeat appearances, too.

The setting is modern day where groups of people go to haunted worlds called Copies to achieve certain objectives or die. The suspense is real for anyone who isn't the MC, and many people die. It's a bit similar to series like Misplacement Game, Game Loading, and Kaleidoscope of Death. However, the ghosts aren't limited to these game-like settings--the MC encounters them on a daily basis in real life, too.

So far, the plot is very interesting and a great read. Strongly recommended! I'm hyped for the next update. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report