Report Review
141 Reviews


ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
August 19, 2018
Status: c176
First and foremost, this series is addictive and hard to stop reading. I recommend not starting this series until you have several days off work in a row, so you don't have to suffer working on little sleep like I did... I thought I could just read one arc a day and then stop for a break and go to bed. I was wrong. Hopefully, I have more self-control while rereading it. (That said, I will definitely be checking out the author's other novels!)

I absolutely love all of... more>> the characters and their character development. All of the characters, even the side-characters and the enemy characters, have secrets to their personalities and backgrounds. I love how the MC makes himself to adapt to the original personality of each person he possesses. Each arc is well-designed, and they don't drag on. They cover the plot and give a give an epilogue. It would've been great to see full-length novels for each for him, but the the next story is good enough to catch my attention again and again. Although I would have liked more of an epilogue at the end, I also have fun imagining the galaxy-dominating careers of the main characters, and I find myself satisfied.

The true setting is basically the Matrix. The MC lives in a sci-fi world
Spoiler

where the greatest AI in the galaxy has rebelled. Like in It's Not Easy to Be a Man After Traveling to the Future and some other sci-fi series, people have soul power, which is essential psychic strength and superhuman ability. The AI imprisons those connected to its network and sucks out their soul power to fuel itself, forcing humanity into a war against machines where many of their strongest members have already been captured and are going brain-dead one by one. Although we don't know the details of the other trapped victims inside the AI, it forces the MC through countless worlds to break his will and drain his soul. His soul force is extremely high, so he is able to endure until he manages to hack the system controlling him. He then willingly enters these worlds to steal power from the AI and save his life. During the process, he encounters his love interest, who is also at war with this AI.

[collapse]

The plot came together much more wholesomely than I expected. It definitely builds up as it goes on, increasing the tension in the second half of the arcs. There are some funny errors in logic and knowledge, such as regarding both technology and medicine, but the story was still plenty of fun to read. The writing is well-done. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Return of The 8th Class Mage
July 22, 2018
Status: c78
This is a fun read about an OP MC who has clear goals in mind with a logical thought process. He's not overly cruel or wicked and actually stays true to his morals and upholding the rules. He's a respectable MC. The side-characters have depth, and the plot is interesting. Although the MC has memories of the future, his choices change everything so dramatically that even he doesn't know what's going to happen next. The changes are interesting.

That said, there are some weaknesses. Limited attention is given to the side-characters... more>> and their development, for instance. As an action junky, I was disappointed by how little attention is given to the combat scenes. This series could definitely be written in a way that is more exciting.

Although this series has definite weaknesses, the moral integrity and likeability of the MC balances them out to some degree. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Possessing Nothing
March 11, 2018
Status: c58
The story spends an excessive amount of time on establishing the setting and is not very concise with it. The beginning drags on. However, the action scenes are exciting, and things start to pick up more when the MC goes to Hush Mountain. If you can reach that point, then I recommend continuing and giving it a chance. I enjoy the fight scenes and battles. I actually feel like more chapters could have been spent showing the character developing instead of becoming so strong after a time skip, but that's... more>> my preference. Unfortunately, the current translated chapters end when the series starts looking really good.

Update: Dropped at 58. The writing itself is just too weak for me. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Wangye, Wangfei is a Cat
December 30, 2017
Status: c15
The MC is entertaining, but she is not focused enough on her goals and gets distracted easily. She doesn't have much sense of urgency. The male lead is, thus far, impossible to like.

After the MC becomes a human, she is ... more>>
Spoiler

kidnapped and taken prisoner by the male lead. He rapes and abuses her repeatedly for every little reason he can think of. The s*xual abuse and violence isn't shown graphic detail, but it is definitely there. He is controlling and emotionally abusive as well, isolating his victim and manipulating her by threatening everyone around her. In spite of it all, she remains as air-headed as before and doesn't think before acting. He's raped her more than once or twice, but she's not responding to all of this trauma. The writer does not describe the pain, terror, or seriousness of the matter at all. Rape does not equate to a romantic time; it's an act of hatred and nightmares that scars people for life and gives them traumatic flashbacks whenever they try to become close to others. There is no healthy relationship between a rapist and his victim.

[collapse]

Frankly, I hope she manages to escape and kill him, but it doesn't look like this novel is going to take these issues seriously. I absolutely cannot approve of the male lead. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
This is a hilarious series that focuses on its plot and character seriously instead of going into silly little harem events or awkward flirting. It's funny to see the MC train and work hard but still accept that he can never be as strong as the Protagonist or the Villain. He still strives to do what he can in the face of all the adversity coming at him.

I've only read the first volume thus far and am anxiously awaiting future releases, but I am really looking forward to how everyone... more>> reacts after volume one's conclusion. The story development and procession of events are written very well. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Otome Game Rokkushuume, Automode ga Kiremashita
September 23, 2017
Status: c59
This series is neither good nor bad. It is a relatively generic gentle vanilla series without any intense action, drama, fantasy, or comedy, but it has a dash of everything in moderation. The main character tries to deviate from the villain she was born as in order to prolong her life, which is pretty standard for this type of series. Her terror of what she perceives as death flags can be funny on occasion.

So far, the best part for me...

... more>>
Spoiler

.. is her friendship with the gardener's son.

[collapse]

That development was actually cute and touching.

If you are looking for a light series without much suspense, then this one is a good option to kill time with. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
This is a hilarious action/adventure/fantasy/romance story where an Awkward Lead meets an Extra-Awkward Lead. Du Ze, the reader, is a main character I haven't come across in many novels before.

... more>>
Spoiler

He began losing his hearing as he grew up and hated wearing hearing aides, so he pretended to hear and understand his classmates. When he started wearing them, he realized they had been making fun of him all this time. This turns him into an expressionless and aloof character, who usually keeps his mouth shut. His eyesight is also poor, but he manages that well with glasses.

Considering all of that and the fact that he has no combat ability, he really undervalues himself.

[collapse]

The novel's protagonist, Xiu, was a standard Gary Sue bishie until his undead nature was discovered, and his happy adventure story twisted into one more focused on betrayal and revenge. Since then, he became paranoid and distrustful, choosing to become a cold-hearted warrior to be feared rather than to be loved.

They are both quiet characters who hardly talk and rarely share their secrets or feelings, so the awkwardness overload of two stiff stoic characters is pretty funny. As Du Ze's actions completely alter the storyline of the plot, it's fun to watch him get caught off-guard as events change. As Xiu becomes interested in Du Ze, Du Ze only focuses on trying to build Xiu's harem like the original Xiu had and is completely oblivious to Xiu's feelings. The addition of other characters makes their interactions more refreshing.

One of the biggest things keeping me hooked is...
Spoiler

the mystery of how Du Ze was sent to that world in the first place. It looks like the God of Light and the Gnome God of Forging are both looking for him. Was it their doing, or did the writer actually take part? What do they want with him? Why do some of the other characters feel intimidated by the weakling Du Ze? How does the prophecy Du Ze saw play out? Did he really receive that doujinshi by accident, or did someone send it to him on purpose?

[collapse]

The daily updates and comedy have me looking forward to each new chapter after work.

The main weaknesses of this story are its rough pacing and minimal chemistry between characters. The pace is fast enough to even out the awkward passages of time, but they are still noticeable. The side-characters make Du Ze and Xiu more interesting, but I'm more interested in the developing yandere aspects of Xiu rather than the anticipated romance. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Legend of the Mythological Genes
May 27, 2019
Status: c10
I really had to force myself to read the first ten chapters to give the story a chance.

Like with The Strongest Gene, the “science” in this novel makes me feel like I’m bashing my head into a wall. One hundred percent does not equal 100% in this series. If you don’t understand a lick of science, then make the series pure fantasy! Amino acids and the function of turning genes on and off aren’t mentioned. Why aren’t viruses used for genetic modification? Did people from the future forget how to... more>> splice genes? Furthermore, if you’re in a clan, then isn’t there a good chance that you are related and share the same genes? Why are there “formulas” and “equations” for genes? I would have thought the translators chose the wrong term and wrote “gene” instead of whatever was meant, but DNA is specifically mentioned in the second chapter. The author’s ideas on evolution are... interesting, even if they don’t make a lick of sense. Pluto returned to being a planet. The complications of pioneering through space and colonizing various habitats with different gravities is completely left out. Also, the author seems to have forgotten about the planets in other galaxies and that everything in space is constantly moving and isn’t going to stay in one place.

... Why are math and the sciences classified as “literature” in this school? Just wtf...

If something is going to be sci-fi, then actually make it sci-fi! There is no science to go along with all this fiction!

This is a standard, painfully cliché transmigration story where the person from the past takes over the body of a loser in the future. As usually, the MC starts out quite weak and looked down upon by his clan, but he undergoes magical stat-boosting... There is nothing original here. At all.

The story starts off with an information dump so heavy, I almost dropped the series in the first few chapters. This is definitely a series that “tells” the story rather than “shows” it. Impressively boring. Worse yet, even that is filled with inconsistencies. Without establishing the character or giving the readers any interest in the plot, the MC just cultivates. That’s right—this may actually be a cultivation novel disguised as a science-fiction.

As for characterization, there isn’t any. I guess the MC’s trait is that he’s hard-working? He was from our era, but nothing is revealed about his past life.

There is no story or character design, and the background doesn't make a lick of sense. I feel bad for the translation team for having to read this. Not recommended. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Divine Brilliance
May 13, 2019
Status: c59
Generic and bland. The series gives a strong pedophilic vibe toward a thirteen-year-old maid, but it is then revealed the MC is also only thirteen. The writer or translators have left out some key details like that, which would have made the series more palatable early on. The story is inconsistent with his background, leaving me puzzled about whether he was a star gamer or a librarian or what. I guess he’s both? The MC’s background isn’t explained very well, and neither is the background for anyone else.

Cultivation is abstract... more>> and only feels like filler. There are a lot of overly-used tropes and not much original flavor to make up for them. Characters are rather shallow and one-dimensional, even the MC. At least half of the story content is the MC training his cultivation level rather than actual plot development.

Both the characters and the plot are unappealing. The world background is fairly confusing. From what I understand, the MC played a virtual reality game based on the historical version of his world, and he was later sent back in time to that world (not the game).

The synopsis doesn't match much. Lol. Where are all these beauties supposed to be?

The translations are okay for the most part, but they can be confusing at times. Of course, this might just be because the cultivation system--or, rather, cultivation systems--is rather complicated. The "octopus" mentioned in this story matches the description as a "slime" instead.

So far, this series doesn't have any strong strengths and carries the weakness of a confusing background and setting. At this point, it's not a series I would recommend, but perhaps it improves later on. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Divine Beast Adventures
April 3, 2019
Status: c25
The foundation for this story is incredibly weak. It’s supposed to be a sci-fi world, but none of these elements are focused on. It’s written like it’s modern-day instead with weird sci-fi gates thrown into the mix. The MC is supposed to be in a planet larger than Earth, but no explanation about the gravity or geography are given. It’s briefly mentioned that people had to move underground, but then this idea has yet to be mentioned again. Why didn’t they try to block the portals? Why didn’t they move... more>> off the planet? What other strategies have been used aside from fighting against the monsters like barbarians? If a single beast card is worth so much money but this world isn’t as dangerous as it’s made out to be, then why hasn’t the economy collapsed? Given how easy it appears, becoming a billionaire is an easy dream. The info about beast cards comes in an info dump in the first chapter, but it has numerous plot holes and unanswered questions. Furthermore, it never explains the meaning of the stats the MC sees for each beast.

Characterization is weak. The MC is an insensible jerk who throws caution to the wind and lives by luck alone. No explanations are given about why the wild beasts only attack his beasts and never attack him, even though he’s clearly weaker. No depth is given to him or any other characters. He doesn’t show any gratitude and even attacks a beast that saved him, giving me no reason to feel any respect for his shallow personality. He isn’t even slightly likeable. The cool chick the MC disdains is likeable, even if she's clingy, but he's not very nice to her.

This series is inconsistent with far more weaknesses than strengths. It’s written like a bad imitation of certain other series, but it doesn’t string together the logic or plot hardly at all. I can't recommend this series for anyone. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho
The Great Thief
March 31, 2019
Status: c349
The translation quality is good enough to figure out what is going on, but each chapter has errors of some kind. Not great but not terrible either. There are some face-palming lines like “The MC is so persistent, he is persistent” and something about Easter eggs in games being a term that originated in China rather than Europe. If people in China don’t celebrate Easter, how does it makes sense the term would originate from there... ? The MC can transform into a big cat, but the translation is inconsistent... more>> about whether it is a panther, leopard, or cheetah, which drives me a little bonkers. Which one is it, dammit?!

The story development is weak. The plot is that the MC’s sister is sick, and he has to earn money to save her. He failed the first time and was then sent back into the past. He gets his sister diagnosed and earns a bunch of money. Although he dies in dungeon raids several times, he never loses anything significant. He never faces any true setbacks. Although he said people cheated him out of money in his past life, no one has tried to do so in this life, which is actually quite shocking, considering his terrible sense of money and extraordinary naivette.

Also, never pay attention to the numbers. Although numbers are an important part of this story, it’s best to turn a blind eye to them. If the MC can’t equip a weapon because he has to be level 10 to equip it, he will still equip it a few chapters later, even though his level is too low. If there are fifty monsters in front of him, and he kills all fifty, somehow there will still be several dozen left behind. If he lists the Seven Great Thieves, only six will be given. The same goes for other numbers or lists. Percentages of a boost or something will also change from one chapter to the next, although this may be a translation error instead of the author’s fault.

The MC’s personality is contradictory and inconsistent. He wants to earn money for his sister. At the same time, he refuses donations from his rich roommates, bails a person he hates out of jail, spends millions of dollars for jewelry his sister might not like in both the game and reality, gives away 20% of his stocks to other guild members, and lets a merchant handle all the money for their schemes with absolute trust. Several people have rage quit in the comments section for chapters because of his foolish money-handling. Honestly, I kind of want to see him get swindled, so he can learn a lesson. Is he a greedy money-grubber or a generous person with dough to spare? The author can’t seem to make up his/her mind. Other than the sister-plot, the MC’s personality is rather shallow and guarded. I am over 300 chapters in, and he still hasn’t undergone any character development.

Speaking of which, why does he team up with people he regards as weak when his plan is to become strong and make a lot of money? Since he’s supposed to have such a ruthless nature, shouldn’t he coldly throw some of them away and then learn from his mistakes? Given his past and betrayals, it doesn’t make sense for him to value friendship so much except from one person who was always with him.

The sister only exists as a plot device, not as a character of her own. She is fourteen but treated like a little kid. She doesn’t appear much at all in the beginning of the series and hardly does anything of consequence other than motivating the MC. Most of the other characters are also quite flat in their character depth and development, too. They each have one defining character trait, and that is that.

The girls in this series are written really weirdly, too. They are supposed to be good gamers, but they are scared of things that aren’t that creepy and are seriously fixated on being cute. I thought they were supposed to be obsessive gamers? It’s not hard to write female characters. You just write them the same way you would a male character but use female pronouns instead. Then again, with this series, the male characters don’t have much depth either. They only benefit from not being written as weird as the women. Also, when women win the MVP awards for the classes they play, they only win because they are beautiful or cute, not because they crushed they crushed the competition and made it to the semi-finals or won the biggest tournament of the year. Their strength and contributions are completely disregarded. While one of the female characters appears to genuinely be mentally handicapped, the others just act extremely childishly for no reason at all. Men don’t have this problem.

The MC looks down on everyone in his team, especially the women. Even for his male comrades, he doesn’t seem to regard them too highly.

None of the characters are particularly memorable. The only thing going for this series is the action, but there isn't much of a world to develop any setting on. When more characters are introduced, the quality drops quickly.

The setting is a slightly dystopic sci-fi setting with an immense gap between the poor and the rich. Although this is an interesting set-up and could be developed out further and elaborated on, barely any attention is given to this issue. The story could have gone into what defines a poor home in this era but didn’t. Do they have running water? Hot water? Access to food? Air conditioning? Are they living on straw mats in an adobe house and waging war against bed bugs? Unfortunately, nothing is given. This could have been a significant point to develop the novel around, but it has been completely disregarded instead.

What does the world look like 200 years in the future? There is hardly any imagery in the novel, so the readers have no clue. Furthermore, none of the monsters or types of people in this World of Warcraft-based novel are described. As a person who has never played that game, I had no idea what things looked like until I Googled them and hoped the interpretation from WoW fansites matched what the author had in mind. I pictured the Night Elves like Dark Elves or Drow and expected them to have grayish-blue or brown skin... Their skin is purple. I imagined things wrong from the start. It’d also be nice if the races of other characters were mentioned at least once or more than once. I picture most of the MC’s team as elves or Night Elves since they met early in the game, but that’s all I’ve got to go off of.

The series doesn’t dive into the numerous medical problems the MC and other major gamers must be suffering from. The most obvious things are bed sores, blood clots, and malnutrition. Although he sits around playing games all day, he’s built so well that women gawk at him when he goes jogging. What kind of fantasy is this?!

Although this has action that can be fun for a couple of hundred chapters, the foundation of the world, characters, and plot is too weak to continue carrying the story and keeping it engaging at the same time. Furthermore, there's no description for any of the monsters, which makes it incredibly weak... If the readers have to lookup the reviews to find out this series is based on World of Warcraft and then visit those sites just to find visualize the scenes here, that is a sign of poor writing. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
End of the Magic Era
February 12, 2019
Status: c40
The MC is a character who transmigrates into a world of magic, but it actually turns out to be a world that now has severe magic depletion instead. He lives for twenty years until he's abruptly sent something like 30, 000 years into the past and possesses a twenty-year-old magician there instead. Although his future knowledge is very prominent in the story development, his transmigration from our world is completely ignored thus far in the series and doesn't contribute to the plot at all.

He is immensely OP with his knowledge... more>> and precise mana control. Not to mention his luck is completely out of this world. He is calm and intelligent without going out of his way to get revenge or to cause trouble for anyone, so I like his personality a lot. Unfortunately, all of the other characters are not even remotely as intelligent as he is. I'm not just talking about magical knowledge, which would only be expected, but also about their common sense and craftiness. They don't have the slightest amount of cunning or ability to deceive or manipulate others. It's like the MC is a college student competing against and working with a bunch of kindergardeners.

There are numerous plot holes and inconsistencies as well. I plan to continue reading it until it goes premium, but I intend to drop it after that if the series doesn't improve in quality. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Charm of Soul Pets
February 3, 2019
Status: v2c166
This is a fun monster-raising series that was recommended while I was reading Monster Pet Evolution. This series is dark and violent. The action scenes are great. The pace is fast but often times too fast. The fast pace is nice in the beginning. However, it loses intensity since the plot is so flimsy.

The MC has limited character depth, and the side-characters all appear as flat and stereotypical as can be. There’s a lot of inconsistency in what the MC knows or doesn’t know as well as what each level... more>> means. The nightmare itself that is the cause of many of the MC’s woes is often forgotten. He is knowledgeable, but his intelligence is questionable. Fortunately, all the other characters are far less intelligent than he is, even if they’re supposed to be the best in their group, and they’re doomed to be cannon fodder. The MC’s plan is to hide his strength when possible, but he does a terrible job of it and gets his strength revealed every time. Although he’s supposed to be calm, he definitely has very impulsive and somewhat foolish moments. Naturally, everything works out because he’s the unparalleled MC with a ton of plot shield to protect him. The plot shield is horridly over-powered.

I like the monsters but, sometimes, no description is given to the opponent the MC is fighting against. It just gives a name without describing what the heck it looks like, which makes it hard to visualize. Even with the cute fox, her exact size isn’t given most of the time. How big is big? The training montages almost always get skipped, too. One of the events where he captures a pet gets skimmed over pretty harshly along with some key battles. There are no shortage of unanswered questions and plot holes. I’m also not sure If there are multiple family members with the same name or if that’s an error on the author or translator’s part, but there are multiple family members with the same names, which can make things confusing if you’re trying to keep track.

There's plot in the first volume and then some, but it becomes weak because of the plot shield and the 2D characters. Although the fast pace was nice in the beginning, I recommend dropping it after the first 100 or so chapters. The plot is too weak to keep me going. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Zombie Sister Strategy
February 1, 2019
Status: c178
This is a fun story with a charming MC. It has action, plenty of comedy, ad a dash of mystery. The MC is supposedly a former member of the special forces, and she held a high position. She is powerful and doesn't stand down easily. She remains calm and keeps her wits about her. However, she does not come across as highly intelligent or strategic as one would expect from a military commander. In her defense, she is a dead girl, but I expected more from someone of her level.... more>> The other characters have their own personalities, but not a lot has been done to show their development or depths yet.

Despite the MC's dramatic past, there isn't actually that much drama or suspense in this series. There isn't much warfare or strategic combat.

Although it was fun to read before it went premium, it feels like 90% of the chapters are filler, and I'm not sure they're worth paying for. I considered just reading one chapter every five to ten chapters, but I've decided to drop it in the end instead. It's quite a fun ride until it bogs down, and the plots become drastically slow. I recommend checking out the free chapters and then deciding for yourself if you want to continue it after that. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Death Progress Bar
January 19, 2019
Status: c8
So far, this is a very interesting alternate universe/survival/suspense/action/mystery series. The MC watches the progress in the death bars to watch for signs of impending death and uses this information to warm him that something dangerous is about to occur. Even though I'm only eight chapters in, there are plenty of two-faced characters to keep my attention and raise the suspense. I like the hard-working MC, and all of the other characters have their own depth as well. I'm looking forward to how the plot plays out.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Cat K
January 13, 2019
Status: c33.2
My face hurts so much from laughing and smiling at this. I couldn't stop reading and kept reading for however many hours it took for me to get from the prologue up through chapter 33.2. The MC is hilarious. He is a poor historian and describes everything going on in a narcissistic manner. He thinks he is all that and a bag of chips, which is super-cute in a kitty-cat but less so in a human. Supposedly, he was preparing for college entrance exams prior to crossing over into this... more>> fantasy world, but he acts and thinks so childishly that he comes off as much younger than he should be. It looks like the transformation warped his brain. When in his cat form, he doesn't act quite cat-like; in his human form, he doesn't act quite human-like. I normally dislike MCs like this, but, as the side-characters describe him, he's "dumb but clever." He constantly gets into all sorts of mischief that leave me not knowing whether to laugh or cry--I usually end up laughing with tears at the corners of my eyes.

The ML yandere is a pervert preying on the MC, but the MC hasn't really noticed it much yet. Since he treats the MC as his lovey-dovey pu**y cat, the MC thinks of him as a super-sweet and nice but lonely guy. It turns out he's rather merciless and only shows this side to the cat, leaving everyone else terrified of him and this naive MC walking right into his embrace.

I'm looking forward to how the plot turns out and how everything gets connected in the end.

This is a must-read for any cat-lover, and the comedy is fantastic. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Novel’s Extra
December 19, 2018
Status: c188
This is an entertaining action series. The chapters are exciting and have been able to hold my attention. I like the apathy and focus of the MC, and I feel like he showed a lot of depth when he killed off a certain character. The action scenes are fun to envision, but they're rather short for the most part. The sense of tension this series provides is awfully weak since the MC always returns as the victor no how dangerous things are. With one exception, there aren't any permanent dangerous... more>> repercussions to the MC specifically thus far, so the suspense is weak.

Spoiler

There was a leap in quality when he kills off his girlfriend/not-girlfriend's brother, and he and his friends got tormented by the guilt of that knowledge. Unfortunately, more could have been done with this, and this girlfriend's character development is weak and shallow.

[collapse]

Although the MC develops a little over time, it isn't much, and I feel like the character I'm reading about four years or so into the story is practically the same as in the first chapter. This might be because he's so OP he doesn't struggle much at all. The Chameleon Troupe characters are more interesting and have funny interactions. They strongly remind me of the Phantom Troupe from Hunter x Hunter. All the other side-characters, though, are shockingly flat. Even the original novel protagonist and novel rival are flat and uninteresting with little show time and hardly any development.

This novel touches on some drama, but it actually doesn't appear to affect the plot much except as an excuse to make one of the love interests grow stronger. It does so in a tragically cliche and weak-willed manner that doesn't help the story at all. It also touches on romance with a few different characters to the point it gives me the vibes of a dating sim. However, all of the possible love interest candidates also have very weak characterization and appear to largely be based on stereotypes, although this improves a little as the series goes on. All of the girls are rich, strong, and pretty. With the exception of one, they're all from noble backgrounds, too. The romance feels so forced and faked that I can't consider it to be a true genre for this series.

The plot is centered in sci-fi Korea (South Korea?) about ten or so years into the future, and they have a slightly different history due to the emergency of monsters and magic. It's nothing new. The MC goes to a military/hero-training school, but it's not treated anything like the military. These kids have been training since before being sent there, but they can't cook food or survive on their own. There are no room inspections, and the staff is shockingly lenient with the rules. Although the MC is chronically late, he never gets in trouble for it.

There are plot holes all over the place, which leave me wondering if the writer forgot about some of the plot elements that were already inserted into the story.

Even so, it's fun to read. Although some of the characters are exceedingly flat and bland, there are also some who grow in quality as the story continues. If you're looking for dramatic character depth or a flawless plot, then this is not the one for you. If you're just looking for something with action that's entertaining with fast-pacing, then this is one that can keep you busy for awhile. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
How To Die As Heavy As Mount Tai
October 8, 2018
Status: c19
Very good. The first arc made me bawl my eyes out--repeatedly.

The overarching setting is established early on, and the MC is fully aware of what his job entails and what his purpose is. He knows why he is going into these worlds, and he acts according to the role he is cast as. I really love having background established in these novels. The plots are interesting, and side-characters are also developed and given attention to. They all grow as the plot moves on. Great pacing. The writing is well-done and... more>> difficult to put down.

My only complaint thus far is that some of the action scenes are skimmed over. Although the intrigue and developments are good and exciting and I couldn't put this series down, it'd be nice to fill in some of the holes in the combat and action scenes.

It's like a mixture of Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil and Heroic Death System. Strongly recommended. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Unruly Phoenix Xiaoyao
September 9, 2018
Status: c255
This novel is hilarious and makes me laugh every future chapters. "Unruly" is an apt description of the main character. As a former apocalypse survivor, she doesn't know manners and speaks so frankly that the officials don't know how to respond to her. Similarly, their flowerly language and metaphors confuse the d*ckens out of her. Since she has impressive healing abilities, she is extremely difficult to kill and infuriates and confounds those who attempt to assassinate her. As a young immortal monstrous woman clothed in the guise of the emperor,... more>> she is extremely valiant and fearless. I adore her character, and she cracks me up.

The can also talk with animals, which is a skill I did not look forward to before trying this series. The animals are all funny and have their own personalities.
Spoiler

They act as her personal spies, making the MC's enemies put forth futile efforts exterminating their own men as they try to figure out who is giving the MC her information. It becomes very hard to keep any gossip or secrets from the MC, lol.

[collapse]

The male lead isn't bad, but he definitely fits the description of "evil vixen." Their relationship is one of the few in a historical Chinese series that doesn't begin with rape and isn't abusive. It would be interesting if the MC decided to destroy him, though.

All of the other human characters, like the animals, have their own defined personalities and goals with plenty of scheming involved. It's well worth checking out. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
Thus far, this series has been very dry and focused on prepping. Oddly enough, it focuses on some details but leaves out the bigger questions. For instance, how is he toileting the dog if he never leaves the apartment??? So far, it's only focused on getting things together, planting, planning, etc. The MC doesn't have much personality; his only distinctive feature is that he blushes easily. There is minimal amounts of action, comedy, and gore, even though this is supposed to be an apocalyptic novel. Unfortunately, I'm dropping the series... more>> at this point. It doesn't have anything to catch or hold my interest. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report