Report Review
127 Reviews


OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Superstars of Tomorrow
March 10, 2018
Status: c151
One of the few series I check daily (and nightly) for updates. It's good stuff if you're looking for a good face-smacking reincarnation story. I rate it 5-stars simply for the wonderful translator: Master Barker. His translations are nearly perfect, or at least as close to perfect as I've seen in regards to grammar, word choice, and word flow.

Favorite thing about this story? Definitely the music portions. They are described so well I can almost hear them.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Grammar: 3/5

Story: 2/5

Writing: 3/5

Honestly, I'm enjoying the story but I have some gripes with the author's standards of beauty...

Grammar is about average, instances of awkward wording/phrasing and misspelling. The story is more copy-paste Chinese female protag being abused before the reincarnator takes over the body and gets revenge. The writing is about standard again, nothing new, just word count filling fluff and stuff.

... more>>
Spoiler

Now onto my gripes. The author seems to hold only perfectly flawless, milky white skin as beautiful and everything else is ugly as f**k. Really? Are freckles ugly?

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
To Deprive a Deprived Person
April 22, 2017
Status: c75
Honestly, this series is horrible, but it's something to kill time with.

(Also, the translator seems to have a lot of confusion as far as gender. The entire translation is rife with mixed he/she despite already having a solid grasp on the genders of the main cast... MC is male the rest of em are female or don't matter. Also, the author seems to be fairly ignorant about a lot of things and just says random ass sh*t, i.e. "Check the balance of your bowstring..." just... the hell is this... more>> bullsh*t? You check for wear and tear on a bowstring, cracks, or defects on a bow body, and balance on arrows.)

The beginning is rather nice, but after about 40 chapters the quality drops by a huge margin. The author is very inconsistent about his details. The writing style starts to get bland as if the author has given up on making it interesting and just throws in things that he thinks will please people without really trying to make them part of the actual story. The translators are really trying, but they desperately need proofreaders and editors. Lastly, as stated by most other reviews for this series... the girls. For no reason what-so-ever, they are all desperately lusting after the MC. It is wish fulfillment to an extreme. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Ascendance of a Bookworm
April 11, 2017
Status: c49
Grammar: 4.5/5
Writing: 4/5
Story: 3.9/5

First, I'd like to say this story is slowly breaking my heart, in a good way.

Grammar is almost perfect, just a few instances of misspelling and awkward word choices (and even I found it difficult to find more suitable wordings for those instances). The writing is fairly well done with a good flow and easy to read structures. The story is not extraordinary in-and-of-itself, but the way it is told is able to capture your interest and keep you wondering what comes next.

The way the... more>> story unfolds, aside from the more fantastic nature of the Fantasy setting and initial reincarnation, is very believable. Nothing that the MC does is beyond the scope of her actual knowledge, and what she does not know exactly she experiments with to find a suitable solution for. The part that breaks my heart is her illness and how it affects herself and those around her. I really want for there to be a happy ending, but I just have this nasty little fear that this story can only end with her death.

All in all, I am closely following this series and hoping (practically begging) for a happy ending (I saw no Tragedy Tag, so my hopes should not be in vain). <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
It's pretty bad... the battle scenes that is.

Grammar: 3/5 (Formerly 1.2/5 updated as of chapter 78)
Story: 3/5
Writing: 2.5/5 (Formerly 0.3/5 updated as of chapter 85)

(Updated as of chapter 85: Well... it really did get better. The Reincarnated Translation group does a waaaaay better job with their grammar, nothing ground breaking, but loads better than previous translation attempts. The writing takes a real turn for the better, nothing extraordinary, but still more than enough to justify having waded through 70+ chapters of tasteless cardboard story-line.)

First,... more>> the grammar seen from chapter 1-47 have thus far been far from good. Though "Mothbalde" does a far better job than the first two, it's still far from passable. Constant misspelling, awkward wording/phrasing, and syntax errors are rife through out the works. The story while fairly good is not too original, with being reincarnated into a monster with a leveling/evolution system. This is the lesser brother of Kumo, attempting to follow almost the same story arc in a different environment. The writing, this is where the series falls the hardest, is abysmal. The author treats most of the series like Dragon Ball Z. Slice-of-life is done for a chapter or two before you get a 3-5 chapter long repetitive battle, and then it moves back to slice-of-life, before again engaging in a 3-5 chapter long repetitive battle. You could literally skip the chapters between the start of a battle to the conclusion of a battle and not suffer any real loss story-wise.

Aside from all that, I plan on reading through this series, just to see if it gets any better. I really do enjoy the premise of the story, and want to know if the author does anything with the MCs' desire for human interaction, or if that cover art is just a load of bullshot (look up bullshot in regards to gaming, it's not a typo). <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Return of The 8th Class Mage
November 16, 2016
Status: c6
Grammar: 2.5/5
Story: 3/5
Writing: 3.5/5

Nothing really new, but it's entertaining. Grammar-wise, it's close to being unreadable for my tastes. Frequent awkward wording/phrasing, misspellings, and some rather confusing syntax at times. The story is your average rebirth/time travel story revolving around self-gratification through changing personal history and self-improvement. The writing, while I can't judge them too harshly, seems to be mostly a problem on the side of the translation team. I know it's very difficult to translate from one language to another, but they should have used Proof-Readers who were... more>> proficient with the English language to do some quality control. Other than that, I'm enjoying this series and will continue to read this until the author/translators give up or the story quality takes a dive off a steep cliff into the Void. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Grammar: 4/5 (Formerly a 3.5/5, the Translator team is working hard and showing results!)
Story: 4/5 (formerly 3.5/5)
Writing: 3/5

(Update as of Chapter 43: This has to be the cutest chapter ever. It reminds me of when I used to play with my friends in elementary school. This story is heartwarming to an almost unbearable degree.)

(Update as of Chapter 27: I'm surprised at how much I want more releases of this... I still stand by my previous ratings, but it's getting quite addictive.)

This series... more>> is surprisingly delightful at times. Grammar-wise it's not the best, yet it's still very readable. A few awkward wording/phrasing issues with some rather lack luster descriptions. The story is quite nice, I like that the gift is something so simple and small that has over reaching consequences, still it's fairly predictable how OP the MC will become, and already is. Writing is simple, clean, and efficient most of the time. It only tells you as much as you need to know to move the hell onto the next chapter. Once in a while, usually when introducing a new character it slows down and lets you enjoy a few descriptions. Other than that, the chapters are extremely short, the descriptions are bare-bones, and the "Fight" scenes are usually skimped on with very rare exceptions.

Conclusion: Not an Action Title, but more of a slice of life. Which is actually fairly pleasant in this Series. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
I Never Run Out of Mana
September 27, 2016
Status: c46
Grammar: 3/5 (formerly 4/5 as of chapter 4)
Story: 2/5
Writing: 2/5 (formerly 3.5/5 as of chapter 4)

(Update as of Chapter 46: Author burned out too quickly, dropping back on troupes and pretend drama without any really original content being added to it. Saw that there were so many more chapters and tried to get back into it since I stopped at chapter 10. I regret wasting my time.)

(Update as of Chapter 10: Severe quality drop. Most likely either due to the former translator losing... more>> interest, or the author burning out too quickly. Not planning on keeping up with the series since the translation team has officially put the work on hold.)

Well now, found another Diamond-in-the-Rough. Grammar-wise it's fairly well done, not the most brilliant in word choices, but it gets the job done and then some. The story is kind of cliche in the Post-world altering event kind of way, humans adapt to this new threat in some fairly magical way and our MC is an ordinary nobody who gets their power by an odd set of circumstances. Lots of anger and hate going on here, but it makes the story a bit more juicy. The writing isn't the most phenomenal, but it's not bad. It's is just lacking a bit of flair and gets a bit repetitive at times.

Over all, think of this as a Korean Drama with a Fantasy/Game Theme. It's going to be entertaining. It's going to have emotion that usually leans towards the extremes of hate and angst. Most of all, it's going to be a good way to kill time. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Semi Datte Tensei Sureba Ryuu Ni Naru
August 24, 2016
Status: Completed
READ THIS STORY! You are missing out on something great if you don't. I can't use my usual rating system on this piece of Art. I laughed, I worried, and I cried. It evoked emotions from me that most things could not. I can't believe that the premise of this story was so simple and silly yet had a hidden emotional roller coaster. READ THIS! Go on a Feel Trip on the Feel Train to Feel Town. You're going to get punched in the Feels and cry manly tears (if... more>> you're of the fairer s*x, then it will probably punch you into a man and force manly tears out of you too). <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Kuro no Maou
August 21, 2016
Status: c44
Grammar: 2.5/5 (formerly 3.5/5)
Story: 3.5/5 (same)
Writing: 2/5 (formerly 3.5/5)

(Updated ch44:

Yeah, it devolved quickly into a very confused piece of work. Author very clumsily swaps between perspectives and people. There is no indication as to when the changes happen so it can get a bit frustrating jumping around with no one view point really completed. The translation team seems to be having a hard time making this readable at this point, and honestly I can't blame them, it's the authors fault for using really unstable... more>> view points. I was Enjoying it immensely until about chapter 40, then things just started getting messy. I don't mind when things stagnate in a story, I just push through, but when things get messy I just give up. I'm hear to enjoy a story not a puzzle.)

Far from the worst thing I've read, but far from the best. The grammar is tolerable, though awkward phrasing and wording is almost guaranteed to be found in each chapter. Not really a problem with the author, but a blip from the translation team. Still, a decent job and nothing the really detracts from the reading experience except for the momentary pause wondering what would be a better way to phrase or word something.

As far as the story goes, it's nice, but not anything new or ground breaking thus far. Can't really say anything else on this, seriously.

The writing is fairly well done, nothing is dragged through the mud with too much detail, nor is it really explained enough. The descriptive scenes could use some more flavor, but it's understandably difficult to do that with a translated work. Over all I'd rate this at a 3.5/5, with some hope for the future. Once I've read the entire thing I'll probably come back to finish this review. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony
Shadow Hack
March 10, 2018
Status: c58
Honestly, this novel puts together almost every problem I have with most Xianxia and throws a fairly bad translation into the mixer.

The author has the usual problem of telling you something is awesome instead of showing it. Expositions come at the drop of a dime to explain to you why certain equipment is god-like and you should bow your head in reverence just before something more amazing is explained to be even more amazing. Fights are slightly interesting, slightly. The reasoning behind most of the characters decisions within the entire... more>> story of what I read through has been almost cardboard cutout style. Conversations are rather bland and almost always consist of exposition about place X, Person Y, or God-like equipment Z (or some combination of the three). Every time something happens, someone inexplicably knows everything there is to know about that thing and feels the need to explain it to everyone around them. As far as personalities? Maybe the MC has a slight hint of one developing, but from the 50+ chapters I had desperately sloughed through, I couldn't really say any of them were more interesting than a print-out handed to me out on the streets.

Overall, I feel that this story has a lot to be desired, including a competent editor. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Transmigrator Meets Reincarnator
November 16, 2017
Status: c278
Update as of Chapter 278: Cold... Love it.

Update as of Chapter 271: Finally, the story is starting to get exciting. The MC seems to be in a hopeless situation with things slowly starting to unravel despite her knowing it was going to happen, so what's next? How is the author going to pull the MC out of this predicament? I need to know T_T

Update as of Chapter 191: So far, so good. The update schedule is fairly reliable, the grammar is quite good, and the story is loveable. I like... more>> reading things about food, and this brings about a nice bit of casual cookery.

I feel too biased to give this a proper review.

I have one gripe for this story aside from a few grammar slips, the released "Chapters" are too short. It makes me want to cry when I reach the end of the available reading material. The story is funny and fairly light-hearted. The reading is smooth. The grammar is passable. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Battle Frenzy
August 26, 2017
Status: c206
Update as of Chapter 206: Wish I could change my previous rating. Seriously, author reuses all his material and only changes names and appearances slightly. Templates for characters:

  1. Friend who is a master of Economics
  2. Friend who is good looking but doesn't get many speaking roles
  3. Good looking girl crushing on MC who won't end up with him but still entices him
  4. Another Good looking girl who gets with MC but suddenly has to go far away with hints of being able to get together again if the MC proves to be the most OP Badass in the universe
  5. Entire crowd of people who underestimate and hate on MC because he's "Trash"
  6. Virtual/Spiritual/Game space where the MC can display his OP combat techniques while remaining anonymous to everyone but those he blabs to
Everything just gets relabeled,... more>> but it basically follows a very linear template that has little to no change from the three different stories. Also, as noted by others, everything gets drawn out waaaaaaay

too much. Talking multiple chapters just to get a fight started, and multiple chapters detailing how big of a deal something supposedly is. While the author isn't that bad at it, he still suffers from "Telling" you that something is supposedly badass

instead of "Showing" you how badass it is.

Not an official review just yet.

I felt I must point out the major story writing flaw the author has displayed countless times:

He takes too much time detailing parties currently unrelated to the MC. Characters that have had any small interaction with the MC of a story hold at least a semblance of importance to a reader, but when the story is driven by unrelated characters it becomes a chore to read through. Exceptions to this are those who

observe the MC in some fashion, whether by directly observing or through passing notice it makes that character more interesting.

Just a small analysis I had to get off my chest before continuing to read.

Not even going to bother reviewing this anymore... Too many psychological inconsistencies... Too many uses of absolute trash forced logic. Just too many. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Omni Genius
February 28, 2017
Status: c69
Grammar: 2/5
Writing: 1/5
Story: 0.5/5

This is a guilty pleasure for me to read. Pretty much just a wish fulfillment story. Grammar is pretty bad at places, the awkward wording and phrasing is prevalent throughout the series. The writing is sub-standard, quick in places while exceedingly slow in everything but combat. While it has the standard Xianxia tropes and Chinese author habits of writing, it still has a little bit of uniqueness that gives it an oddly comforting atmosphere. The story, is simply wish fulfillment. RPG powers in modern life,... more>> making money problems go away, making friends, being surrounded by beautiful girls, overcoming your bullies, and that kind of stuff. Don't look for a deep story here, just enjoy the bad guy stomping. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Grammar: 1.9/5
Story: 2.9/5
Writing: 2~2.8/5

First I would like to state that I am enjoying this series. With that out of the way, let's move on to the review:

Grammar is horrible... just horrible, but the translator is doing this as a free service and has stated that his translation will not be 100% accurate or properly translated. Constant tense shifts within sentences. Awkward wording/phrasing is rife throughout the translation. Entire paragraphs are nearly indecipherable. The author tries, but English is obviously not his/her first language, nor are they entirely knowledgeable... more>> about the use of words and/or descriptors.
The story is about average, fantasy setting with lots of instant gratification. The only thing that makes the story stand out would be the manner in which the MC is able to go back and forth between worlds, but that in-and-of-itself has been done a few times with other series.
The writing is a rather tricky part to review for this series since the translation is not very accurate. There are moments when the author's style shines through and is quite enjoyable, while at other times the translation is a complete mess and makes it a headache to read. Thus my approximate rating instead of a solid rating.

Over all while the translation is a mess, the story is quite enjoyable. Not a recommended read in my case, but still enjoyable. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
LV999 Villager
November 13, 2016
Status: v2c7 part 1
Grammar: 3/5
Story: 4.5/5
Writing: 2.5/5

I adore this series. The series combines just the right amount of levity with jovial comedy, making it a rather real feeling (for a Fantasy Story) environment. You have the radical views, the moderate views, and the deviant views that one could find in the world around you. Though the story is based on an OP MC it takes the reader on a journey of racial and social-political segregation and the attempt to bridge that gap.

The grammar, while not perfect is not so atrocious... more>> as to prevent you from reading. The story more than makes up for any flaws you will find Grammar-wise. There is only one issue I take with this series... The writing is inconsistent. The author makes leaps of logic, seems to insert important details almost as if it were an after thought, or as a way to progress the plot without the readers knowledge. There are times in the novel when you will be wondering, "When the hell did that happen?". Though the series is not rife with these, it happens enough to be irritating and almost pushed me to drop the series. Still, after you get past the rather unexplained moments it returns to being a decent novel.

I recommend this for people who do not mind a bit of a gap in what is read and what seems to be suddenly inserted to get the story moving along. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Instant Kill
August 31, 2016
Status: v5c3
Grammar: 4/5
Story: 4/5
Writing: 3.8/5

(Update v5ch3: Yep, still good.)

(Update v5ch2: I'm really sad right now... I've caught up to the currently translated pages. Honestly I was expecting more... so much more... completed translated chapters. This stuff is addictive. I couldn't stop, I didn't sleep, I could only read on and wonder what shenanigans this guy would get into. There is some character growth, not as much as I was hoping for, but enough for you to get attached to some of the side characters and the... more>> MC. Dear Lordus, Please send me more completed chapters, A.S.A.P.)

Well, I didn't expect to enjoy this, nor did I expect for the translation to be done so well for a Xianxia (reading from Path of Translation). The grammar is nearly perfect in comparison to most other translations you'll find. The story is a smooth and slowly progressing ball of interesting. The writing style of the author is only semi-xianxia-ish. The descriptions are apt, the flow of time progresses in a logical manner, and the characters are given characteristics that you can link to individuals. Very much Top Quality stuff here. Glad I took the chance to read this one after checking reviews. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Update as of Volume 4 Chapter 16: The grammar is really rough, almost seems like there is no editor/proofreader. The word flow stutters about in almost every single sentence. Conversations feel forced, and characters feel like they are all side-lined at the moment. Marked drop in story quality for the last few chapters, possibly just due to translation being slightly lack-luster.

Starts out a bit rough... don't let that fool you. The writer, translator, editor, and proofreader do a great job at making you grow attached to the characters. You really... more>> start to feel like they are real and despite some character flaws, they are people you want to be okay. When something happens you feel sick to your stomach and end up getting chills thinking they might die and that would be the last you'll see of them. Not exactly an emotional roller coaster, but still something you will get invested in. The grammar and phrasing is well done on the part of the translation teams, for the most part. There will be some awkward phrasing and the occasional misplaced word, but over all it's done well enough to just breeze through it without getting stuck on it like most other translated novels. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Godly Stay-Home Dad
April 14, 2019
Status: c744
(Reading from the raws because I'm not very patient)

It's a fun read but has a lot of flaws that really drag the story down.

The biggest problem is the treasure hunting sections, there's no real excitement in them until afterward most of the time.

... more>> After that, it's mostly an issue with inconsistency, plot holes, plot armor, and (my favorite gripe in Wuxia) McGuffins.

Honestly, the slice of life parts are the most interesting parts of this story as they display a good dose of sugary family time that I've come to envy. There are a few nice battle scenes, but all of them are tied to family (and some of these are kinda set up in a rather obvious way), the ones that are not just feel... forced.

There is lots of repetition, lots of 'Ohhhh, that's so-and-so' and "Who-do-you-think-I-am" followed by "That's impossible!" and the like. It may get irritating, but it usually only lasts for a chapter or two at a time.

Lots of cliche stuff from other xianxia and Chinese system (but without the system) type genres thrown into the mix as well.

Overall, a nice read if you're bored. Not the worst thing I've seen, nor the best. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Rebirth on the Doors to the Civil Affairs Bureau
April 10, 2019
Status: c54
Well, a lot more feels involved than I thought there would be. I don't really agree with how she handles people on the radio as far as advice goes because there are already so many incidents where advice on a radio show was taken and things ended in a really bad way, but aside from that, I love it all. Quite a few scenes thus far where I'd tear up a bit, and a whole lot more scenes where I'd giggle to myself from how silly it is. Overall, this... more>> is a really lovely read.

Heh, this is some pretty sweet stuff. Not Diabetes Mellitus inducing, but close.

I'm liking it thus far, though the grammar could use a little more work it's not really hampering the story in a serious way.

Definitely going to recommend this for someone looking for a bit of sweet romance.

Spoiler

Some people don't seem to understand that when you reject something enough times, you lose it altogether. You don't avoid something until it goes away when it comes to love, you face it head on or it's out of reach before you know it. Trust and Love are two very special things, Love is built upon trust, if you can no longer trust who you love, then you end up rather not loving that person at all.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report