Report Review
163 Reviews


earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
My Wife Always Thought I Did Not Love Him
March 28, 2019
Status: Completed
This is an angst/tragedy filled BL story that follows the rebirth of the MC through his high school years to adulthood. I liked that the struggles that the MC and ML go through are very realistic. The MC especially, as a gay person, has to confront coming out to his family, economic struggles living with his single mother, and his deep feelings of guilt and inadequacy from his previous life. His relationship with his boyfriend also goes through the stages of a pure/naive first love to the complicated issues of... more>> early adulthood.

However, I'm not a big fan of "extremely guilty/self-sacrificial/suffering-alone" type MCs. There is a huge lack of communication with the MC keeping everything inside and hidden, which contributes to waves upon waves of unending angst and self-flagellation. In his previous life, he did the chasing to the ML and gave up everything for love. Reborn with regrets in the second life, the MC instead plays the part of the person who is constantly running away and trying to make everyone else happy, instead of himself or the ML.

Spoiler

This makes a lot of the drama/angst feel unnecessary or dragged out. The story becomes unbalanced, weighted too heavily on the angst with hardly any fluff or humor to offset it because the MC is so completely self-defeating. He gives up very quickly on any new relationship troubles because of crippling fear that he is not good enough; the kind that thinks "I'm not good enough so I should just give up now" the moment anything happens, leaving the ML to pull all the weight towards reconciliation or clearing up misunderstandings. Furthermore, the author spends too much time describing all the problems and heavy feelings and too little time describing the resolutions or fluff, so the reader hardly gets a break from the constant arrows to the gut.

[collapse]
The translation group is really good, so everything read very clearly. If you like angst/endless misunderstandings and don't mind characters with zero self-worth, then you will enjoy this! <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The Antelope and Night Wolf
February 26, 2019
Status: Completed
To be honest, I almost abandoned this story after reading the author's preface before Chapter 1 (I recommend BlackBoxTL Chapter 1 because it has the author's trigger warnings translated) because I didn't think that the novel would do a good job with expressing a BDSM relationship or fetishes in a respectful manner.

I'm not part of the scene myself, so I don't know how 'accurate' the author wrote it, but I do think that everything was described with sensitivity/research/awareness on the author's part. I've read some BDSM stuff in the past,... more>> but very few give the feeling of being safe/sane/consensual. This story actually approaches it. The dominant is not just there for a power trip to oppress the sub (which is what many many awful D/S relationships come across as).

Spoiler

The ML comes across as a 'chauvinist' several times, but he does have character development and by the end of the story it's clear that he's getting past his youthful immaturity.

[collapse]

Anyway, the BDSM part is not a huge part of the story. This is a well-written gaming romance, the relationship progression is very cute, and I love the MC's outgoing, sunny character. The humor, side-characters, are all pretty great. The MC is also extremely good at his game (better than the ML) which is the best part. There is also a lot of mystery, drama (some melodrama) with fake amnesia, misunderstandings, hospitalizations, etc. so buckle up!

Spoiler

Why can't childhood friends ever win??!?! Whyyyyy.....

[collapse]

I started the story with a lot of trepidation, and it negatively influenced my enjoyment of the earlier chapters because I was waiting for the interactions to go wrong... so I hope that this review can encourage some of you open-minded people to give the book a shot! <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
I do highly recommend this even though I prefer MCs with more moral compass. There's only a couple things you need to know if you want to enjoy this story:

    • It's looooong so the romance and the character development is paced slowly and spans many worlds (unlike many stories where the MC and ML get together after the first arc).
    • The MC is very distanced from humanity where she treats the characters like she's playing a game. This means that she doesn't treat them like 'real people' and doesn't consider her actions towards them as towards 'real people.' To her, they're all NPCs, which is why she can be extremely crazy and destructive without caring too much. This will probably change in the future, but it hasn't yet. That also means there will be some cliffhangers because the MC doesn't care enough to 'solve-the-mystery' or 'figure-out-every-mysterious-past' in each new world.
    • The MC is frickin' badass. She's an unconventional female lead who frequently flips gender roles to take on traditional 'ML-reserved' spots. She also prefers to solve everything with her sword rather than her brain.
    • If you don't mind all of the above, you will definitely enjoy this story.
Why didn't I give this a 5...

Spoiler

The story lines can get a bit repetitive since the MC only uses her 'might' in each world. She breaks the worlds quite frequently and makes everyone pretty speechless because she doesn't bother to play to social conventions and kind of just crashes through everything like a demolition truck. I'm crossing my fingers for the MC to get more character development in this factor.

Despite the MC being the coolest person, there's still some misogynist subtext. I say this also because r*pe or prostitution is used with insane frequency (pretty much every arc) for 'bad' female characters. Other than the MC, the rest of the female characters tend to completely follow stereotypical cliches. All of the FL's that appear either rely on the ML/their charms for success or rely on the MC to rescue them. So we have a strange situation where the MC, who is used by the author to break social convention or traditional female roles, ends up emphasizing it instead because she is the sole exception.

[collapse]

Translation is 10/10 one of the best. Kudos to the translation team!
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Fox has no Heart
February 6, 2019
Status: Completed
I won't lie, I cried into my pillow for quite some time. A fluffy yet sad and bittersweet tale. T__T I wish there was a sequel!

Spoiler

I'm frequently astonished at the single-minded devotion (which doesn't waver even when the target seems to despise it?) frequently portrayed in these kinds of novels. So unrealistic yet strangely touching at the same time.

[collapse]
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Reborn into a Hamster for 233 Days
November 14, 2018
Status: c158
EDIT: For everyone concerned about Fishy's intelligence... I'm there with you guys. But I have faith in the author! I think Fishy just seems more naive/dumbed down right now because it's fluff/humor time.

... more>>
Spoiler

Also, at the moment, the storyline is focused on the ML. Fishy was super cool before because he was dealing with design competition/stuff. Now it's about clan fighting and heir struggle stuff, so he doesn't have expertise in this matter which is why the ML is keeping it a secret.

[collapse]

Excellent story, excellent translation. I might end up with a soft spot for "humans-transformed-into-animals" genre. This one is just so good! If you are a pet owner, I highly recommend. The ML is equivalent to one of those extremely passionate pet owners who takes pet photos all day long and mercilessly spoils his pet. If you liked movies like Ratatouille, I highly recommend. The MC is an extremely talented person-turned-hamster and...
Spoiler

his identity as an 'intelligent' hamster who can understand humans, play games, and chat online eventually gets revealed to his 'owner' and there are even more ridiculously fluffy moments between human and hamster bonding together.

[collapse]

There's a great balance to the fluffiness between human and hamster with the background mystery. The MC who was a famous chief designer, in his previous life was greatly suppressed by a mystery designer who he thought was plagiarizing his ideas. As a hamster, he becomes a bit of a detective!hamster and tries to find out the identity of that person. There's corporate sabotage, spying, hidden identities, long-term coma patients and all kinds of dramatic reveals scattered in the fluffy background of pet owner.

Very exciting; I'm looking forward to all the twists the story has to offer. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
God of Cooking
October 31, 2018
Status: c200
Being a big foodie and all, I was pretty skeptical when I first started reading this. It surprised me and surpassed my expectations. This is a very good cooking focused novel with only a couple minor issues. The writing also gets better and better the further you get. A lot of longer novels tend to drag on; so far this is absolutely not one of them! The pacing is fantastic so far and I even feel that the story has just started to really pick up.

The characters are fantastically well-rounded... more>> and 3-dimensional. They are also a wide range of personalities (though the female lead is classic tsundere), and the character development is done very well. There will be people the MC meets that dislike him on sight, but that doesn't make them bad people. It's very rare to have complex characters like this and makes the novel world feel very deep and realistic!

It's also nice that the MC, despite having a system cheat, is not instantly a top genius. You really get every step of the journey with him building up his skills. He also doesn't have the best stats of everyone starting off and has many idols he looks up to. He's also very humble and not a 'genius, ' but works harder than anyone to make up for his deficiencies. This also adds another level of realism and inspiration to the novel. I absolutely enjoyed the cooking aspect. This is definitely a novel with fantastic food descriptions and cooking techniques. When reading this novel, I had an urge to re-watch episodes of Iron Chef. When watching episodes of Iron Chef, I had an urge to read more of this novel.

While the author is probably not a chef, they have definitely done a lot of research regarding various ways of preparing food, recipes, and so on. Although the author's perspective can be a little limited regarding Korean vs. Western cooking, it's clear within the story that there are many types of western cooking, from French to Italian to Brazilian, etc. I imagine the 'western' label is probably just a generic term that is influenced by the Korean origins of this novel. In many countries in Asia, there is a tendency to lump all 'western' influences together in speech, but that doesn't mean that people in Asia don't know that Greek and Italian are different things. I'm sure in the West, there is a tendency to lump 'Asians' together the same way when speaking about it, but people still know that Korean and Japanese aren't the same thing. Thus, I wouldn't be too concerned about these labels, they definitely do not reflect the range of cooking represented inside the novel.

The translation is pretty good and the translators have my respect for figuring out all those industry/professional cooking phrases. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
[Rating/Review might change as I'm in the process of reading this]

So far really enjoying the story! The arcs are pretty fun/awesome and super comedic, especially the misunderstandings between the MC and the ML from the beginning. There's a lot of character development and the ML has a bit of a mysterious past cliche, but I didn't mind it much. This one is a good contrast to QWFOD because the side characters are awesome! The 'love rivals' are generally good people, and it's so refreshing to read BL with non-misogynist,... more>> likable female characters. I think the set up for this story allows for more freedom with the plot & characterizations (since the MC isn't typecast into a vengeance role) so there's less repetition.

I understand the POV of some reviewers mentioning that the ML bullies the MC and causes him a lot of trouble in the arcs. I dislike bully!MLs or overly dominant/oppressive!MLs, but that's not the case so much in this story. Due to the MC's origins (which is a spoiler), the MC himself wasn't actually traumatized or emotionally hurt by the ML's actions, just annoyed at his 'strange' colleague.

The MC isn't too good with emotions or understanding people's feelings, which contributes to the way the ML has to act very extremely for the MC to even take notice of him.
Spoiler

The MC will eventually think about how he feels towards the ML without coercion and it's a really touching arc with a lot of things getting cleared up, and I think the MC also successfully gets revenge for some of the stuff the ML pulled in earlier arcs, haha.

[collapse]
Translation is fantastic, the flow of the story represented very well! High re-read factor. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Stone Age Husband Raising Journal
December 13, 2019
Status: c124
I love base-building stories~! (ノ´ヮ´) ノ*:・゚✧

I love stories with two strong protags and characters who both offer their best towards the relationship and care for each other.

If you love them too, I highly recommend this one!

It's quite difficult to tell who is the MC and who is the ML in this story because both protagonists get pretty much equal screen time and POVs, but regardless, they're very sweet. (and quite pure HAHA) They care about each other and take care of each other. They each offer their own strengths/weaknesses. Although... more>> one protag starts out physically stronger than the other, that doesn't mean he does everything and it doesn't mean the other protag doesn't have good things to offer. I love it when protagonists pamper each other and support each other instead of your typical MC being doted on.

Anyway, this is a very pleasant slice-of-life/base-building read.

The MC (?) is transmigrated from an apocalyptic world and his only dream is to live a nice life (lazy~, eating good food~, having a nice house~). So in the midst of doing that, the MC uses his future knowledge (but with trial/error and not too much of a golden finger) to improve the lives of the village in this beastman/tribal world.

Spoiler

There are some brutal moments/defending the tribe/slaughtering the enemies, etc. but overall, it's very fluffy.

One complaint would be that it can get a bit slow/boring at times because MC is very OP and can pretty much take care of every problem, so there aren't any tense parts. But I really enjoy base-building stuff a LOT so... eh

[collapse]

Great translation! <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The General’s Little Peasant Wife
April 24, 2019
Status: c70
Even though I dislike stories with endless illogical cannon fodder characters, I thought I could last at least until the plot of the story progressed a bit more...

I was wrong.

This is awful. Completely unbearable. Pretty much every person in town other than the MC, MC's friend and ML are 5-year old cannon fodder with no ability for higher cognition. The story is just one endless "X cannon fodder pops out of woodwork to accuse the MC of random sh*t with completely irrational thinking" => "everyone in town suddenly believes in... more>> X cannon fodder for no reason" => "MC shows up and face slaps cannon fodder" => "townspeople all blame cannon fodder" => "cannon fodder hates MC more and tries a new scheme."

Repeat x 1000 and you get this story. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Cultivating to Become a Great Celestial
March 10, 2019
Status: c35
[review may be updated/changed as story progresses]

I'm such a big fan of this story. It reminded me a little of 'Howl's Moving Castle' where the MC gets changed into an old woman's appearance. The transmigrated MC is a young woman forced into the body of an old woman. Her internal dialogue is both sassy and hilarious. In the beginning, all the MC wants is to live longer and enjoy the good life (cultivation is suppose to help her with that). However, she ends up confronting the very cruel/strong-oppress-weak cultivation world.... more>> In this situation, the MC is neither beautiful nor gifted (her body is pretty much a mess) but she works hard and does her best to keep a low profile and treat people with humanity (I love her relationship with the kids).

Spoiler

I've heard she switches bodies a few times, so the old lady body is just the first arc.

[collapse]

Traditional xianxia tends to be 'power fantasy' as another reviewer put it. This is more slice-of-life, but with sect politics. It's not one of those OP face-slapping/revenge novels or a heavily romance 'Oh save me ML' novels (thank god). So far, I've happily got no clue who the eventual pairing will be. I'm glad the translator has picked this up again (I almost started reading the raws). <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
My Former Significant Others Were All Alphas
February 23, 2019
Status: Completed
So cute and funny, I wish there was an epilogue!

This is a romcom short story about a poor beta office worker who keeps dating alphas who all end up accidentally finding their one-true-love/omegas while in a relationship with him. His friend group acts as a hilarious background for the relationship.

Translation is great, I would re-read just for the finished translation.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Lucia
November 17, 2018
Status: c67 part2
While this is in the genre of 'trashy Harlequin romance, ' the plot and characters are surprisingly gripping. There are plenty of twists and turns with the characters and motivations. I was definitely surprised by the ML's family/bloodline background and some of the worldbuilding.

If you like stories like this, I highly recommend [Secret Wardrobe of the Duchess] because it's fantastic, creative, and with a very similar premise (strong MC goes back in time and suddenly marries the country's most eligible bachelor Duke.)

I did not have any hopes for either... more>> the MC or ML in the beginning because they started out cookie-cutter. However, both surprisingly break out of their molds. Their interactions actually feel pretty real and the ML doesn't have the stereotypical "cool 5ever" mask over his dialogue. The MC also doesn't go out of her way to bend to the ML's preferences, so it's quite entertaining to see their relationship progression.
Spoiler

The ML goes very quickly from an arrogant/cold/alpha male stereotype into a helpless regular guy trying to figure out his wife.

[collapse]

I do agree with other comments that the MC could have been way more active towards her own future in the beginning. However, if you're able to make it past the slow start, the MC unexpectedly starts to shine. She's very relate-able because of how low-key she is and how simple things like walks in the garden please her a lot more than expensive gifts of jewelry etc.

The smut/s*x is very very plentiful. (To the point where I started skimming/skipping because I was too eager to find out what happened next in the plot.) Good/bad? <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Our Second Master
March 30, 2019
Status: Completed
One of the few historical romances I'd recommend without reservation.

This one has more emotional depth and character development than similar novels 10x-100x its length. The writing is compact but meaningful, with the interactions described richly. I could feel in vivid detail that night she ran out in the storm looking for help. Likewise, the emotional conflicts in that understated moment when she made the decision to retreat.

The MC is wonderful, a kind, humble character who has so much inner strength despite her insecurities. She is down-to-earth and isn't afraid to... more>> face her own perceived shortcomings (such as her 'ugliness') with jokes and acceptance.

Spoiler

Even though she's called "dense, " one of my favorite parts of her character is her self-awareness. I believe that she saw how the other maids would constantly fight for favor in the beginning, and didn't want to become one of them so she became "dense" as a form of self-protection. Back then when one man had many wives/concubines, the MC had enough self-respect to not want to become one of many. In my opinion, she left him because she wanted to preserve her feelings for him at a high point and unspoiled by multiple 3rd parties (and possibly even test how deep his feelings for her went). And in the end, after realizing that he truly meant it, she was able to refuse being just a concubine and get what she deserved: to be the only wife.

[collapse]

Wonderful translation, this is one of those stories I'd go back and reread again and again.

Spoiler

Also that moment when the ML kneeled down to allies/rivals/enemies to apologize for his shitty behavior in the past? BEST.

[collapse]

--
If you've read this story already, I'd like to share this hilarious theory posted in the original jjwxc forums; heavy spoilers!!:

Spoiler

She is not dumb; she may have only stayed with him in the beginning because she was looking for openings to get revenge for the times she was slapped/kicked before in the courtyard. Those hints from the mother/housekeeper asking her to stay were so obvious even a monkey would have gotten it, but she still left anyway. So it's far more likely that she was just pretending to be dumb so he would suffer. In the end, because she was truly in love with him, she forgave him after making him work for it.

I think this theory explains why she would have fun telling him about all those times he treated her badly in the past! And why she would never tell him how long she had liked him (to maintain the upper hand). Haha

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Loving You Is Too Difficult
March 12, 2019
Status: c7
This story is quite simple, though not my cup of tea. Maybe it's because I've read a lot of other CN poking holes into white lotus characters, but the MC's actions didn't struck me as pitiable so much as manipulative.

... more>>
Spoiler

Maybe it's because the author frequently describes how pitiful yet ultra-attractive she looked to the ML, from her eyes/her exposed body/her skin/etc., but it really struck as more "pretending in order to win pity" than something genuine from her upbringing.

Also the MC is a legal adult (18), yet acts like an 8 year old. I could understand her desperation/loneliness and ultra spoiled naivete up to the point when she touched the ML when he was sleeping and tried to keep him with her after confessing to him--when she knew that he had a girlfriend already. That was a turning point for when she went from pitiable to manipulative.

Of course stuff like this can happen in real life. I'm not blaming the MC for trying it because she was desperate, and I'm not blaming the ML for falling for it and remembering it (since he fell for it, he definitely felt something for her and feelings can't be forced). But like I said, that's why this story is not my cup of tea and why I don't feel much pity for the MC.

[collapse]

In the end, this is a story about two people who I don't care much about, who will inevitably get together. So DNR at 70%. However, I do have to give the author kudos for telling a pretty realistic story with realistic outcomes for exes. Great translation! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Everyone Thinks that I Like Him
February 28, 2019
Status: Completed
Ahh, this is like balm for the soul~

Tired of revenge/face-slapping novels?

Tired of yandere/possessive/controlling/self-centered MLs?

This is a humorous and fluffy slice-of-life college romance that starts from a misunderstanding between the MC and ML who are both outstanding, handsome and intelligent students. The story takes us through the university life of the two students, to moving-out and coming-out, and attending grad school. The side characters (dorm mates) are absolutely precious and hilarious. ... more>>
Spoiler

It's so cute that despite the MC being forever 'second place' in terms of studies/competitions, he's actually extremely friendly/outgoing/valued by his community, so his interpersonal skills can be said to definitely outshine the ML.

[collapse]

The relationship progression is a sweet slow-burn. The author builds up a true friendship and trust between the main characters, so it avoids over-used tropes like "the vinegar-bucket ML can't stand other people appreciating the MC." This is one of the few really positive relationships I've seen in CNovels where the two people in a relationship not only bring out the best in each other and wholeheartedly support each other, but also give each other space and mutual trust.

Spoiler

It's unfortunate but most CN books completely romanticize rape/obsession/stalking/stockholm syndrome/dependent personality disorder/possessiveness etc. So the romantic relationships portrayed tend to be extremely unrealistic as well as unhealthy.

[collapse]

Fantastic translation, the humor comes across on point. I would re-read! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Our Glamorous Time
February 17, 2019
Status: Completed
A pretty deep and interesting romance with a fairly strong female lead (I explain why I say 'fairly' in the spoiler) and a focus on corporate politics/media/advertisement and fighting for market share. The schemes and details in the business world were semi-believable, with only a bit of hand-wavy magic, so the author definitely did some research.

... more>>
Spoiler

If you love business world/econ/rags-to-riches, and don't mind BL, there's a much better story that I recommend: [Epiphanies of Rebirth].

[collapse]

This author is very good at writing a mature toned story where the face-slapping is more subtle and there are more three-dimensional villains and the story and romance overall progresses in a logical manner.

Overall, it's a good read with very few contrived situations. I definitely enjoy the 'teaming up to go against the world' feeling between the MC and ML.

Spoiler

One very subtle issue is still the matter of CN culture/subtext in the story. While the author tries very hard to present a strong female MC, all of her actions are still written as being under the purview of the ML. It's stated several times that her choice to break away to stand on her own was 'allowed' or humored by the ML due to his love for her. The MC's brother is the same. In the end, the author writes that the MC feels more comfortable supporting the efforts of the ML instead of being at her own company. Of course, there's nothing 'weak' about supporting the person you love. However, this is a consistent theme in most C-novels and this author's stories. The female MC once again is only allowed to be strong enough or independent enough to suit the male characters protecting her. She will never be written to outshine them or take up a bigger share of any life burden because of her gender.

Despite this, it's still one of the better novels out there with a female MC that has more character and is written better than many others. (Kind of a sad state, tbh.)

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The Earth is Online
January 30, 2019
Status: Completed
Good translation, excellent story/writing. It's a rare apocalypse/survival story that involves mysterious towers appearing around the world, forcing the entire humanity to participate in its games. Humans also start 'leveling up' and essentially gain a very varied superpowers (think X-men). The games are a mix of different logic puzzles, psychology, and wordplay elements, inspired from fairytales and classic games like Monopoly. They're very cleverly written and the clues to figure them out are scattered in the text to enable the reader a try before the reveal!

While it's a BL story,... more>> the story mostly focuses on the puzzles and plot, with the romance being very subtle in the background. It's definitely slow burn as the MC and ML go from strangers to friends to partners through the story. The MC is extremely intelligent and competent (as is the ML), so it's a pleasure for the reader to follow his progress. There are plenty of three-dimensional side characters and lots of interesting personalities with hidden motivations. It was a difficult novel to put down once I started reading. I highly recommend this for a very refreshingly different survival book!

P.S. I really admire the translator for making steady & super fast releases for over a year. One of the best translators we have here on NU. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Flash Marriage
October 14, 2018
Status: Completed
Overall, cute novel, slice-of-life-ish. MC is a pretty foolish but straightforward girl. Even though she is teased to be super average, not-good-looking, etc, her personality still attracted handsome men. Although this trope was a little overdone, the oneshot moments looking through the men's eyes made it pretty believable/reasonable how they each fell for her.

There were some surprisingly good and emotional moments between the ML and the MC. Both had been hurt in the past, so it was touching to see how they struggled with that.

It would be really nice to... more>> read just ONE story where the MC is smarter than the ML in a C-novel. This will never happen, unfortunately (might be a cultural thing??). Instead, we have an overabundance of 'dumb-but-purehearted' MCs who are pretty much always under the ML's thumb. (And it would be nice if the MC would stop putting herself down in her thoughts too.) I'm really starting to appreciate K-novels more now... <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The Chronicle of the Oriole Island
January 18, 2020
Status: Completed
I wasn't sure about this story at first because every chapter is a long narrative in the form of a different character's POV. (Long narratives can get pretty boring if not done well.)

But this is a very beautiful and thought-provoking short story (๑→‿←๑).

It's like an onion.

... more>> Starting at the outer layer, each person's perspective digs deeper and deeper into these two connected large events in the family, and eventually unveils new intentions behind the actions of the main characters.

In the end, it's up to the reader to decide: Who manipulated whom? Who gained the most?

I thought this would be a simple story of an elopement and then eventual happy fluffy marriage. I was totally wrong.

So I recommend putting aside your preconceptions and giving this a try.

I'm sure I'll come back to reread this in the future.

-

Kudos to the translators, I thought it was done very well. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
A President’s Out-of-Body Experience
August 22, 2019
Status: Completed
This story gave me interesting vibes (a la "Flowers for Algernon") and I'll be the first to say that I typically very much dislike MCs that are portrayed as stupid/silly all the time. That kind of plot device can be humorous in the beginning but frequently gets old very quickly.

I'm not sure whether it's due to the fantastic translation or just how the story felt to me personally, but the MC did not come off as a typical frustratingly dumb MC that cluelessly does things to annoy the reader.

This reads... more>> more like a story about someone with Asperger's or someone genuinely mentally challenged, not just naive or contrived innocence.

So I actually found myself enjoying this because it's quite different from other "idiot" MC tropes. I give the author kudos for being able to portay a very funny, sweet and touching love story with a handicapped character, which is not something you'd typically see in CN. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report