Report Review
59 Reviews


admira
admira rated it
Akuyaku Reijo Ni Koi Wo Shite
August 13, 2016
Status: c11
I started reading this with the expectation that it would be another stereotypical reincarnation/body takeover/game world story. But I was pleasantly surprised to find that the main character is able to adapt and develop in a way that makes sense.

Minor spoilers in the following: ... more>>
Spoiler

Rion is vicious, and I love his character for that. He isn't the "I'll avert my flags" sort of character, because he doesn't even realize that it is a game world. Moreover, the character of Rion isn't part of the game. His loyalty to Vincent is slightly odd, but at the same time the personality "Rion" doesn't seem to have the usual ambitions of conquering the world with cheat abilities. Rather, he truly supports Vincent, his lord.

[collapse]

I'm reminded of "My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending" in terms of plot and character sophistication. Rion is truly able to become part of that world. Plus, it's refreshing to see a story about the noble heir's servant instead of the noble heir him/herself. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Semi Datte Tensei Sureba Ryuu Ni Naru
February 27, 2016
Status: --
THE FEELS.

Okay, this story is fairly short but it definitely has impact. For the most part, it's happy and funny. Even if he's a dragon, he still acts like a cicada for the most part.

As for the ending... so many feels. You'll just have to read it to find out.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
I’ll Live My Second Life!
February 13, 2016
Status: --
First of all, this story has nothing to do with reincarnation. Nothing at all.

I’m up to date with the raws (currently 121), and I can say that this story hasn’t lost my interest in the least. My pet name for it is “Fii’s Story of Being Hilariously Awesome While Aspiring to Become the Most Manly.” And yes, Fii is a girl. But that doesn’t stop her from being awesome.

The author can be a bit confusing sometimes with the ordering of stuff; at one point (s) he breaks from the current... more>> story to write a piece that happened several weeks before and then returns to the original timeline abruptly. The details within a chapter make sense to me, though. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
I Was a Sword When I Reincarnated (WN)
January 26, 2016
Status: --
Somehow, this novel feels pointless. Or maybe "plotless" would be a better description? Events happen, but even by stringing together a good number of chapters I can't find any point to them all.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Tensei Shitara Kyuuketsuki-san Datta Ken
August 13, 2016
Status: c32
It's cute, but seems somewhat repetitive. Nothing much seems to happen. It'd be one thing if it were primarily slice-of-life, but I get the feeling that it's supposed to be more of an adventure. I don't get the see much character growth at all, more of a meandering [nothing happens]->[power-up]->[nothing happens]->[power up without effort]-> (loop).

3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
A cute series so far. Definitely one you can't take too seriously, but it's vague in an interesting way.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
The Unicorn Legion
January 23, 2016
Status: --
An interesting, somewhat cute fantasy adventure novel--at least, that's my take on it. Better yet, it's funny; I broke out laughing more than once when reading it. There is a potential for romance, but nothing has been realized--yet. At the very least, I expect any romance to have a slow and steady development instead of sudden and illogical (a huge turn-off for me).

Note: It DOES have BL elements, which I can predict turning into BL developments. So if that's a squick for you, then proceed with caution. Otherwise, I'd suggest... more>> giving it a try. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Cook of the Mercenary Corp
December 10, 2015
Status: --
I liked this one. Each story (roughly 2-4 chapters) has 2 PoVs: the cook (Shuri) and the person he is cooking for. The difference in their thoughts on what's going on is quite interesting.

Give it a try, it's a slice-of-life-like story.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Nobunaga’s Imouto is My Wife
November 28, 2017
Status: c11 part2
Make no mistake, this is a R-18 story. But it also has a plot, and said plot is not gathering a harem.

A history nut travels back in time to become a historical figure shortly before his wedding. So far, the actual plot has been about developing his territory and deepening his relationship with his new wife, Oichi. He doesn't inherit his body's memories, so he has to rely on his own knowledge of the period to make do.

About half of the chapters are devoted to the R-18 parts with Oichi.... more>> So no, this isn't a story for minors; the s*x scenes are quite explicit. They're easy enough to skip if you're not in the mood, but they're still half of the reading material. No signs of a harem as of chapter 11.

All in all, this is one of those transmigration stories where the transmigration element actually feels meaningful. The plot is good enough to work without the R-18, and the female lead has more depth than the typical R-18 gal (ie we'd notice if the author suddenly swapped her out for a different female). <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
May 17, 2017
Status: c25
A funny read. If you're tired of typical 'arrogant assassin/doctor transmigrates into a peerless cheat' stories, give this one a try. Like My Disciple Died Yet Again, this is transmigration of a fairly ordinary woman into unusual circumstances.

The cast of characters she interacts with is kept fairly small, with sufficient descriptions to tell you who others (such as servants, friends of characters, etc.) are. The story is light and has plenty of misunderstandings. It's far from a serious read, but not a waste of time.

As a side note, the synopsis... more>> seems to have some things mixed up, unless it's describing much farther into the plot. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira
Dragon’s Bloodline
May 13, 2017
Status: c54
I stopped reading this around chapter 54 because (a) I was getting bored of the story progression, and (b) it became generic yuri ecchi.

I get that the female MC (formerly male) is beautiful, strong, and confident. But the female love interests that she courts don't seem to have any problem whatsoever about being s*xually harassed by a girl/young woman. Even if they had that orientation to begin with, it's ridiculous.

That said, it's not much worse than a harem with a male MC. So if you're looking for a yuri harem,... more>> then this is probably for you. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
It's a decent read. I like the dynamic between the female lead and her love interest, especially early on. However, the more recent chapters haven't been doing it for me. The entire point of the novel seems to have changed, although there wasn't much of a plot to begin with.

The story seems shallow overall. People in power, the MC's allies included, are all more than happy to use their power and influence to trample on those weaker than them. They even have the guts to complain about someone mistreating one... more>> of their own for the same reason. It also goes on and on about how earth-shatteringly handsome/beautiful important character X, how jealous all the cannon fodder are of their skills/wealth/appearance, etc.

Good as a time-killer. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
A heart-warming story with a healthy dose of controversy mixed in. It does a good job of building the universe (especially the circumstances regarding the 2 worlds) without an info dump.

Bottoms up!
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
The Girl Who Ate a Death God
March 18, 2016
Status: --
Great story, a little offbeat. Schera's motivations make her stand out as a protagonist, as does the fact that we pretty much know the Kingdom (country she is a soldier for) will eventually lose from the get-go. It makes things more interesting, rather than assuming that they'll eventually triumph, I look forward to seeing how things turn out for Schera.

I'm reminded slightly of The Girl Who Bore the Flame Ring (I've only read 2 chapters of that so far though).
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira
Dragon Life
March 3, 2016
Status: --
A very amusing story; whenever her more dragon-like traits come out in the narration, it always makes me laugh. The emotional developments are gradual, but have impact in the long run.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira
True Star
February 17, 2016
Status: --
Very well-written and interesting! There's BL, but it's far from smut. I'm a fan of the cool-headed, confident main character.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Divine Protection of Many Gods
December 2, 2015
Status: --
It's kind of... average-feeling. Like there should be more, but there isn't. The logical leaps for him acquiring his female companions doesn't really make too much sense to me either.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
A cute, funny short story about the high-specced Villager A who lives near the final boss's dungeon and a humanoid demon he's familiar with.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Avoid the Death Route!
September 25, 2017
Status: c25
A fairly typical reincarnation story where the female MC is very easygoing and has zero common sense. It's cute and fluffy, but kind of predictable. The whole "loved by everyone and has no sense whatsoever" sort of protagonist honestly wears on me. However, it still surprises me from time to time, which is why I read it when I'm bored.

Expect lots of lethargic "..." & "~", occasionally peppered with random bouts of high energy. And statements of the obvious--

... more>>
Spoiler

MC gets kidnapped: Crap......I'm in an ultra pinch! What do I do...

[collapse]

--and such. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Fremd Torturchen
July 25, 2017
Status: v2c1
This is definitely one of the most graphic and gory light novels I've read. It's to the point where I would have probably felt queasy if I wasn't so wrapped up in the momentum. I can draw some tentative parallels to A Clockwork Orange (western novel) in the way that it displays such unhesitating violence.

Overlord's review pretty much nails it as far as evaluating the story quality. I would give it 4.5 stars if I could, but I'll go with 5 for now.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report