Report Review
113 Reviews


ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Jellyfish
June 7, 2018
Status: c18
This is a funny, light-hearted modern-day monster Xianxia acting slice-of-life series that doesn't focus on romance as being the base of the story. Instead, it focuses on the whole cast and their shenanigans and interactions as well as their individual developments. The MC is a fox who has been moderately successful throughout his life and works as a third-rate actor. The jellyfish is a creature who has been alive as long as Earth has, and he's working as a transparent bodyguard for the fox while struggling through college entrance exams.... more>> Another actor is a cultivator who has put a bounty on the fox's head when he was out of the country, and yet another cultivator is a young girl trying to mix with modern humans while working as an actress. The are other actors, directors, and staff members as well--and some of them are normal humans wondering what the heck is going on.

There are many other funny characters, and they are hilarious when brought together.

Each of the characters has his or her own weaknesses, making their interactions even more engaging. There is no excessive face-slapping or painfully arrogant characters often seen in Xianxia, which is a relief. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Escape Galge
June 4, 2018
Status: c17
The set-up for this series was interesting, and I liked the shift in the MC's behavior from the annoying twin tails persona to her real personality. However, this tough act doesn't last for long, and she doesn't take revenge or avoidance seriously. With the event mentioned below, the MC lost all of my respect. The writing is weak and not enough to keep my attention or pull me in.

... more>>
Spoiler

At this point in the story, she is even falling for that ML trash.

[collapse]

I've continued this far in the series because the chapters are so short and quick to read, but I'm dropping it now. Even as a light read, I cannot recommend this series. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
September 23, 2017
Status: c30
Unlike other revenge stories, this one doesn't do it in half-hearted measures. Kaito's hatred is real. Yes, he has hatred toward the people who have yet to do all of the things he hates them for, but they have definitely done things worth being eliminated. He goes back to level one but still has a great deal of strength and knowledge from his previous life, which leads his adversaries to initially underestimate him. The flashbacks of his memories really add color to how he became so consumed with hatred.

The female... more>> lead, Minaris/Minnalis, is not all right in the head either. Even so, she is heading toward her goal seriously and patiently. These two are definitely diligent on their training and future plans.

The revenge is creative and fun to read. Although Kaito is no longer heroic, he still has some of the morality associated with one and legitimately struggles with ethical dilemmas as they come up. The first moment he questions his revenge comes as quite a shock to him and triggers some levelheaded character development he never anticipated. This is something that many revenge stories tend to glide over, but it is taken seriously here.

I'm really looking forward to what other crimes his enemies have committed and how he plans to start his revenge against each of them. The adventure, action, drama, comedy, and pure crafty wittiness are well-worth reading this series for. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Friends with Benefits
September 23, 2017
Status: c31
This is a dark, mature series with plentiful yaoi scenes, but it is still interesting if you skip the s*x scenes and only focus on the drama and relationships. It is dark and focused on the criminal and business worlds.

... more>>
Spoiler

A sleezy character shows up for a while and causes some tumult in the beginning. The MC hooks up with him a few times for fun. Later on, he brings down the mafia and reappears as a serious business owner. I guess you could say they thought they were playing with a kitten, but he actually turned out to be a tiger in disguise. When his brother is imprisoned for his crimes, the MC seduces their arch-enemy in order to save his life and also get some cheap revenge on the bastard. Since he is quite skilled at business, he becomes an irreplaceable member of the staff.

[collapse]

The thing I like most about this series is the strong friendship between the sworn brothers who will give anything for each other, whether it be their lives or every juan they ever earned. This trust, compassion, and loyalty is the most fulfilling part of this series and what keeps me coming back. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
So far, each arc has a smooth, cohesive plot. The first arc was well-written and felt like a movie script. The second major arc is still in progress, but I have high hopes for it.

An entire classroom of students are reborn as monsters in a foreign world. They have no idea where they are and have to struggle to survive as they adjust to their new abilities. Unlike a lot of other fantasy reincarnation stories, there is no helpful stat system or cheats to explain their abilities or how to... more>> do things. They struggle and squirm and figure out things by luck and chance. Of course, the class hierarchy is thrown upside-down as everyone's looks and abilities are different from before.

They have to discover how they were sent here and how to return home. Not to mention, they need to learn how to use their abilities and possibly return to human form.

Some reviewers have complained that the MC is very gentle, accepting, and forgiving.

Spoiler

Later on, we learn that he is just very empty and has no passions of his own, which is why he was turned into a skeleton. It seems their personality flaws from before reincarnation heavily influenced the monsters they were turned into. In order to become stronger, they have to face their flaws head-on and work to change themselves. This will be great for character development as the series continues.

[collapse]

This is an entertaining adventure story with a large cast, but each character has an individual personality. The comedy and action are good as well as the decisions each cast member makes. It will be interesting to see how things turn out in the end. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
Super-duper fluffy cuteness is the main theme of this series. The MC's interactions with a pair of twins he picks up and raises is really cute. Then, he also gets all of these cute familiars as the story continues. He changes the world with his culinary skills and tends to impress everyone with how OP he is. If you want a light read that makes you smile gently without worrying about any romantic drama, then this is a nice series to kill time.

It is not dramatic. The MC starts off... more>> OP and only becomes more OP as the series goes on, so he doesn't struggle against anything and never gets cornered. He doesn't face any major challenges, and there isn't any suspense in this series.

It would be nice if the MC weren't so OP and wasn't a Gary Stu, but the fluffiness makes up for it. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Game Loading
January 19, 2019
Status: c10
I'm still in the first arc, but this series has me cracking up every chapter at the MC's pitiable fate. Somehow, he ends up as a scumbag in a survival game full of yanderes who will kill them if they can't have him. He has little interest in other people and limited facial expressions but somehow gets forced into this weird game where he has to manipulate these other characters in order to have them not kill him. He becomes far more used to being murdered than anyone should be.... more>> Needless to say, he is.... not amused. But it is hilarious for me as a reader.

RIP, MC! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Quick Transmigration: Fate Trading System
December 24, 2018
Status: c21
I'm excited to see a decent yuri series on here. There are plenty of yaoi and het series available, but yuri is like a mythical unicorn. The MC is an assassin who has learned things in the modern-day world. She is not an OP protagonist who is also a master of ancient poisons or bizarre face masks or body-changing magic, unlike many other series, which is a true delight. She is intelligent and calm.

The story is still in the first arc at this point, but it's been interesting so far.... more>> The protagonist is clever and works hard.

My biggest complaint thus far is that the set-up and opening are weak. The MC's history is summed up rapidly without showing the readers what her life was really like or making us feel her motivation.

For now, I'm rating this series as a 4/5, but it has a potential to reach a 5/5 based on how it closes each arc. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Trash of the Count’s Family
December 21, 2018
Status: c93
This is a charming adventure/comedy/fantasy/action/fluff series that is good for some lighthearted reading. The MC is funny and charismatic, and, as some reviewers have said, can even be classified as a tsundere. He says he only wants a peaceful life and wants to be lazy, but he works hard to make a good life and to take care of his people. He says he's heartless and doesn't like certain things, but he still takes care of those in need while pretending he has no feelings for him. Even when he... more>> realizes he's gotten on the path of what he might consider a main character to be, he still continues his actions without looking back.

His companions adore him despite his cold demeanor, and it's really cute to watch. Although there is drama related to the plotline, it's not focused on the MC seeking revenge at all cost or going mad or anything like that.

If you're wanting a fun shounen read full of action, adventure, and cute critters, this is a fun one to check out. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Rebirth: Degenerate Slave Abuses Tyrant
October 13, 2018
Status: c79
This is an exciting, clever read full of cunning, intrigue, and political machinations. The MC has a tortured past, which has turned him into someone who is wise and experienced, merciless and cold-hearted to his enemies, and soft to the innocent. He remains calm through his struggles and trauma, using his intelligence and knowledge to pave the way for his family's survival.

His greatest love at this point is his family. He is focused on protecting his family and keeping them alive and has completely thrown away any thoughts about romance,... more>> even though this is supposed to be a BL. Even though he finds success repeatedly and has grown in fame, he only seems himself as worthless. Although he has confidence in his plans, he has no self-esteem regarding his ability to love. He jumps from the extreme of loving one person only to feeling love for the members of his family and having no hope for romance. The character development in this series is excellent, both for the MC and the other characters.

I strongly recommend checking this series out. The opening is quite gory, the emotions run deep, and the pacing is swift. The only complaint I have so far is that I would like to see more vivid action scenes. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
August 19, 2018
Status: c176
First and foremost, this series is addictive and hard to stop reading. I recommend not starting this series until you have several days off work in a row, so you don't have to suffer working on little sleep like I did... I thought I could just read one arc a day and then stop for a break and go to bed. I was wrong. Hopefully, I have more self-control while rereading it. (That said, I will definitely be checking out the author's other novels!)

I absolutely love all of... more>> the characters and their character development. All of the characters, even the side-characters and the enemy characters, have secrets to their personalities and backgrounds. I love how the MC makes himself to adapt to the original personality of each person he possesses. Each arc is well-designed, and they don't drag on. They cover the plot and give a give an epilogue. It would've been great to see full-length novels for each for him, but the the next story is good enough to catch my attention again and again. Although I would have liked more of an epilogue at the end, I also have fun imagining the galaxy-dominating careers of the main characters, and I find myself satisfied.

The true setting is basically the Matrix. The MC lives in a sci-fi world
Spoiler

where the greatest AI in the galaxy has rebelled. Like in It's Not Easy to Be a Man After Traveling to the Future and some other sci-fi series, people have soul power, which is essential psychic strength and superhuman ability. The AI imprisons those connected to its network and sucks out their soul power to fuel itself, forcing humanity into a war against machines where many of their strongest members have already been captured and are going brain-dead one by one. Although we don't know the details of the other trapped victims inside the AI, it forces the MC through countless worlds to break his will and drain his soul. His soul force is extremely high, so he is able to endure until he manages to hack the system controlling him. He then willingly enters these worlds to steal power from the AI and save his life. During the process, he encounters his love interest, who is also at war with this AI.

[collapse]

The plot came together much more wholesomely than I expected. It definitely builds up as it goes on, increasing the tension in the second half of the arcs. There are some funny errors in logic and knowledge, such as regarding both technology and medicine, but the story was still plenty of fun to read. The writing is well-done. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Lord of the Mysteries
August 4, 2018
Status: c20
This is a thrilling supernatural steampunk mystery that starts a bit slow wit the world-building but then really spins it's story well. Although I'm still in the beginning of the story, the suspense has built up enough to put me on the edge of my seat. I am looking forward to the cases the MC will be investigating.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
I have read Gu Yun's book, Zhou Qing's book, and this one. However, this one is my favorite by far. The MC cracks me up at every turn. She is definitely Gu Yun's daughter. Although she knows a lot from her upbringing, she does not have the experience that Gu Yun started off with, so it is a lot more fun watching her grow and make mistakes and learn on her own.

There are plenty of action scenes, mystery, and a bit of fantasy, which makes this a really exciting read.... more>> Several of the side characters are more fleshed out than in previous books, so the writer has come a long way. The comedy is much stronger than previous books as well.

If you like action-adventure stories, this is one definitely worth checking out. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
This is a hilarious series that focuses on its plot and character seriously instead of going into silly little harem events or awkward flirting. It's funny to see the MC train and work hard but still accept that he can never be as strong as the Protagonist or the Villain. He still strives to do what he can in the face of all the adversity coming at him.

I've only read the first volume thus far and am anxiously awaiting future releases, but I am really looking forward to how everyone... more>> reacts after volume one's conclusion. The story development and procession of events are written very well. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
This is a hilarious action/adventure/fantasy/romance story where an Awkward Lead meets an Extra-Awkward Lead. Du Ze, the reader, is a main character I haven't come across in many novels before.

... more>>
Spoiler

He began losing his hearing as he grew up and hated wearing hearing aides, so he pretended to hear and understand his classmates. When he started wearing them, he realized they had been making fun of him all this time. This turns him into an expressionless and aloof character, who usually keeps his mouth shut. His eyesight is also poor, but he manages that well with glasses.

Considering all of that and the fact that he has no combat ability, he really undervalues himself.

[collapse]

The novel's protagonist, Xiu, was a standard Gary Sue bishie until his undead nature was discovered, and his happy adventure story twisted into one more focused on betrayal and revenge. Since then, he became paranoid and distrustful, choosing to become a cold-hearted warrior to be feared rather than to be loved.

They are both quiet characters who hardly talk and rarely share their secrets or feelings, so the awkwardness overload of two stiff stoic characters is pretty funny. As Du Ze's actions completely alter the storyline of the plot, it's fun to watch him get caught off-guard as events change. As Xiu becomes interested in Du Ze, Du Ze only focuses on trying to build Xiu's harem like the original Xiu had and is completely oblivious to Xiu's feelings. The addition of other characters makes their interactions more refreshing.

One of the biggest things keeping me hooked is...
Spoiler

the mystery of how Du Ze was sent to that world in the first place. It looks like the God of Light and the Gnome God of Forging are both looking for him. Was it their doing, or did the writer actually take part? What do they want with him? Why do some of the other characters feel intimidated by the weakling Du Ze? How does the prophecy Du Ze saw play out? Did he really receive that doujinshi by accident, or did someone send it to him on purpose?

[collapse]

The daily updates and comedy have me looking forward to each new chapter after work.

The main weaknesses of this story are its rough pacing and minimal chemistry between characters. The pace is fast enough to even out the awkward passages of time, but they are still noticeable. The side-characters make Du Ze and Xiu more interesting, but I'm more interested in the developing yandere aspects of Xiu rather than the anticipated romance. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
A Wizard’s Secret
February 14, 2019
Status: c12
I have endured reading the first twelve chapters of this, hoping the story would improve or get a move on. Significant sections of the chapter describe women's breasts (including the MC's sister's and a young girl's who gets molested by the MC's friend) or legs, but faces and attire aren't described. Why is there a hot water tap in a castle? Do they even have running water? Isn't this a medieval setting?

The writing is incredibly redundant, reminding us about the MC's memory problems every couple of paragraphs. The explanations for... more>> the setting aren't clear, and the MC hasn't investigated his background or anything. His friends never wonder why he's acting so unlike himself.

The plot holes are so extensive that I can't bear to read anymore. Not recommended.

There are also missing words by the translator filled in with "..." <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Charm of Soul Pets
February 3, 2019
Status: v2c166
This is a fun monster-raising series that was recommended while I was reading Monster Pet Evolution. This series is dark and violent. The action scenes are great. The pace is fast but often times too fast. The fast pace is nice in the beginning. However, it loses intensity since the plot is so flimsy.

The MC has limited character depth, and the side-characters all appear as flat and stereotypical as can be. There’s a lot of inconsistency in what the MC knows or doesn’t know as well as what each level... more>> means. The nightmare itself that is the cause of many of the MC’s woes is often forgotten. He is knowledgeable, but his intelligence is questionable. Fortunately, all the other characters are far less intelligent than he is, even if they’re supposed to be the best in their group, and they’re doomed to be cannon fodder. The MC’s plan is to hide his strength when possible, but he does a terrible job of it and gets his strength revealed every time. Although he’s supposed to be calm, he definitely has very impulsive and somewhat foolish moments. Naturally, everything works out because he’s the unparalleled MC with a ton of plot shield to protect him. The plot shield is horridly over-powered.

I like the monsters but, sometimes, no description is given to the opponent the MC is fighting against. It just gives a name without describing what the heck it looks like, which makes it hard to visualize. Even with the cute fox, her exact size isn’t given most of the time. How big is big? The training montages almost always get skipped, too. One of the events where he captures a pet gets skimmed over pretty harshly along with some key battles. There are no shortage of unanswered questions and plot holes. I’m also not sure If there are multiple family members with the same name or if that’s an error on the author or translator’s part, but there are multiple family members with the same names, which can make things confusing if you’re trying to keep track.

There's plot in the first volume and then some, but it becomes weak because of the plot shield and the 2D characters. Although the fast pace was nice in the beginning, I recommend dropping it after the first 100 or so chapters. The plot is too weak to keep me going. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Death Progress Bar
January 19, 2019
Status: c8
So far, this is a very interesting alternate universe/survival/suspense/action/mystery series. The MC watches the progress in the death bars to watch for signs of impending death and uses this information to warm him that something dangerous is about to occur. Even though I'm only eight chapters in, there are plenty of two-faced characters to keep my attention and raise the suspense. I like the hard-working MC, and all of the other characters have their own depth as well. I'm looking forward to how the plot plays out.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
There are only a few chapters translated thus far, but it's pretty cute with an interesting set-up. The MC is murdered and becomes a cat monster in the unfinished BL Xianxia webnovel he was writing. The ML was reborn in the past and chooses to correct the mistakes of his past life and get revenge on those who wronged him, using the knowledge of the future to his advantage. Remembering that his treacherous, unfaithful lover/cultivation partner from before bought a black beast egg from a street-side vender which then hatched... more>> into a ferocious Nether Bird, he goes to that same vender and buys a black egg. However, a chai cat (domestic cat) pops out of the egg instead, leaving the poor ML flabbergasted and without the all-powerful cheat pet he'd been expecting. Even so, he takes the little one as his companion to ease his broken, wounded, and lonely heart. Along the way, he begins to realize that this little house pet might not be as weak and useless he looks at first glance.

The MC is sensible enough to get things done and doesn't lose his IQ with the reincarnation. He's pretty likeable. Although the ML is a bit warped from his past trauma, his sweetness and loneliness makes me pity him.

I have high hopes for the series. There are only five chapters out thus far, but I hope future ones keep it interesting. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Novel’s Extra
December 19, 2018
Status: c188
This is an entertaining action series. The chapters are exciting and have been able to hold my attention. I like the apathy and focus of the MC, and I feel like he showed a lot of depth when he killed off a certain character. The action scenes are fun to envision, but they're rather short for the most part. The sense of tension this series provides is awfully weak since the MC always returns as the victor no how dangerous things are. With one exception, there aren't any permanent dangerous... more>> repercussions to the MC specifically thus far, so the suspense is weak.

Spoiler

There was a leap in quality when he kills off his girlfriend/not-girlfriend's brother, and he and his friends got tormented by the guilt of that knowledge. Unfortunately, more could have been done with this, and this girlfriend's character development is weak and shallow.

[collapse]

Although the MC develops a little over time, it isn't much, and I feel like the character I'm reading about four years or so into the story is practically the same as in the first chapter. This might be because he's so OP he doesn't struggle much at all. The Chameleon Troupe characters are more interesting and have funny interactions. They strongly remind me of the Phantom Troupe from Hunter x Hunter. All the other side-characters, though, are shockingly flat. Even the original novel protagonist and novel rival are flat and uninteresting with little show time and hardly any development.

This novel touches on some drama, but it actually doesn't appear to affect the plot much except as an excuse to make one of the love interests grow stronger. It does so in a tragically cliche and weak-willed manner that doesn't help the story at all. It also touches on romance with a few different characters to the point it gives me the vibes of a dating sim. However, all of the possible love interest candidates also have very weak characterization and appear to largely be based on stereotypes, although this improves a little as the series goes on. All of the girls are rich, strong, and pretty. With the exception of one, they're all from noble backgrounds, too. The romance feels so forced and faked that I can't consider it to be a true genre for this series.

The plot is centered in sci-fi Korea (South Korea?) about ten or so years into the future, and they have a slightly different history due to the emergency of monsters and magic. It's nothing new. The MC goes to a military/hero-training school, but it's not treated anything like the military. These kids have been training since before being sent there, but they can't cook food or survive on their own. There are no room inspections, and the staff is shockingly lenient with the rules. Although the MC is chronically late, he never gets in trouble for it.

There are plot holes all over the place, which leave me wondering if the writer forgot about some of the plot elements that were already inserted into the story.

Even so, it's fun to read. Although some of the characters are exceedingly flat and bland, there are also some who grow in quality as the story continues. If you're looking for dramatic character depth or a flawless plot, then this is not the one for you. If you're just looking for something with action that's entertaining with fast-pacing, then this is one that can keep you busy for awhile. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report