Report Review
198 Reviews


ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Legend of the Mythological Genes
May 27, 2019
Status: c10
I really had to force myself to read the first ten chapters to give the story a chance.

Like with The Strongest Gene, the “science” in this novel makes me feel like I’m bashing my head into a wall. One hundred percent does not equal 100% in this series. If you don’t understand a lick of science, then make the series pure fantasy! Amino acids and the function of turning genes on and off aren’t mentioned. Why aren’t viruses used for genetic modification? Did people from the future forget how to... more>> splice genes? Furthermore, if you’re in a clan, then isn’t there a good chance that you are related and share the same genes? Why are there “formulas” and “equations” for genes? I would have thought the translators chose the wrong term and wrote “gene” instead of whatever was meant, but DNA is specifically mentioned in the second chapter. The author’s ideas on evolution are... interesting, even if they don’t make a lick of sense. Pluto returned to being a planet. The complications of pioneering through space and colonizing various habitats with different gravities is completely left out. Also, the author seems to have forgotten about the planets in other galaxies and that everything in space is constantly moving and isn’t going to stay in one place.

... Why are math and the sciences classified as “literature” in this school? Just wtf...

If something is going to be sci-fi, then actually make it sci-fi! There is no science to go along with all this fiction!

This is a standard, painfully cliché transmigration story where the person from the past takes over the body of a loser in the future. As usually, the MC starts out quite weak and looked down upon by his clan, but he undergoes magical stat-boosting... There is nothing original here. At all.

The story starts off with an information dump so heavy, I almost dropped the series in the first few chapters. This is definitely a series that “tells” the story rather than “shows” it. Impressively boring. Worse yet, even that is filled with inconsistencies. Without establishing the character or giving the readers any interest in the plot, the MC just cultivates. That’s right—this may actually be a cultivation novel disguised as a science-fiction.

As for characterization, there isn’t any. I guess the MC’s trait is that he’s hard-working? He was from our era, but nothing is revealed about his past life.

There is no story or character design, and the background doesn't make a lick of sense. I feel bad for the translation team for having to read this. Not recommended. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Quick Transmigration: Fate Trading System
December 24, 2018
Status: c21
I'm excited to see a decent yuri series on here. There are plenty of yaoi and het series available, but yuri is like a mythical unicorn. The MC is an assassin who has learned things in the modern-day world. She is not an OP protagonist who is also a master of ancient poisons or bizarre face masks or body-changing magic, unlike many other series, which is a true delight. She is intelligent and calm.

The story is still in the first arc at this point, but it's been interesting so far.... more>> The protagonist is clever and works hard.

My biggest complaint thus far is that the set-up and opening are weak. The MC's history is summed up rapidly without showing the readers what her life was really like or making us feel her motivation.

For now, I'm rating this series as a 4/5, but it has a potential to reach a 5/5 based on how it closes each arc. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Jellyfish
June 7, 2018
Status: c18
This is a funny, light-hearted modern-day monster Xianxia acting slice-of-life series that doesn't focus on romance as being the base of the story. Instead, it focuses on the whole cast and their shenanigans and interactions as well as their individual developments. The MC is a fox who has been moderately successful throughout his life and works as a third-rate actor. The jellyfish is a creature who has been alive as long as Earth has, and he's working as a transparent bodyguard for the fox while struggling through college entrance exams.... more>> Another actor is a cultivator who has put a bounty on the fox's head when he was out of the country, and yet another cultivator is a young girl trying to mix with modern humans while working as an actress. The are other actors, directors, and staff members as well--and some of them are normal humans wondering what the heck is going on.

There are many other funny characters, and they are hilarious when brought together.

Each of the characters has his or her own weaknesses, making their interactions even more engaging. There is no excessive face-slapping or painfully arrogant characters often seen in Xianxia, which is a relief. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Scum Villain’s Self-Saving System
September 23, 2017
Status: c21
The MC wakes up as Shen Qingqiu, a nasty teacher that the original Luo Binghe grew up to torture to death. He must act in-character as Shen Qingqiu while trying to preserve his life. To avoid his death flags, he decides to become the MC's ideal teacher and starts spoiling and favoring him.

This naturally results in jealousy from the other students.

As the MC is completely oblivious to Luo Binghe's affections, it's pretty funny to see how he misinterprets all of Luo Binghe's actions. Luo Binghe definitely hints at liking Shen... more>> Qingqiu early on in the series, but Shen Qingqiu only sees it as Luo Binghe trying to build his harem.

I am really looking forward to the actions the MC must take in order to stay in-character and continue the plot lines without being eliminated by the system. The future betrayals that must occur will risk the MC's fate on the line.

This is a fun action/comedy/Xuanhuan that is well-worth trying out. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Need to Propose to Seven Men What to Do!
November 1, 2018
Status: c34
This is a very funny BL involving an MC who paints himself as a white lotus shou when he's actually a cunning, heartless gong who is playing with all of the ML's heart strings like he's in a dating sim game. Initially, everything is predictable and fully within his control, but he learns the hard way that even he does not know everything about this world he had created.

The MC is very likeable. He is hard-working, passionate, and honest about what he wants. He keeps a firm mental barrier between... more>> himself and those he is pursuing. It's interesting to see how each character develops following certain events or interactions with him. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Dragon King’s Son-In-Law
August 24, 2018
Status: c4
There is a strong pedophilic vibe in this series. The main character is a college student while the character who is presumably the female lead is a middle-schooler. Worse yet, all of the boys at the college act like they're attracted to her, and she might not even be old enough to be a teenager yet. The MC appears quite unintelligent and lacking common sense in the beginning, so I can't really see this turning into anything useful. The writing is horribly weak. The little girl is a entitled ungrateful... more>> brat with no appeal. I really can't see anything to like.

I was so disgusted, I had to drop the series early on, so I don't know if it improves later. Usually, I give series a chance for several more chapters than this, but I saw that there were no reviews here and felt I should warn potential readers. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Sage Who Transcended Samsara
August 4, 2018
Status: c73
The Sage Who Transcended Samsara is written by Cuttlefish That Loves Diving, my favorite Qidian author, and so I checked it out. I was not disappointed! The MC is a guy who transmigrates into the body of someone who appears to be a former aristocrat. The first mystery is this body's identity, and the MC doesn't even know his real name. Like the other web novels by this author, this one has two main genres. For this series, they are Xuanhuan and mystery.

Like his other series, this one starts off... more>> by establishing the setting during the first few chapters before shocking readers with a twist in the genre in chapter 8. The battles are exciting, the character development is smooth, and I love seeing the characters train hard to develop new skills (or else die).

The mysteries that have appeared thus far are intriguing and not straightforward, even leaving the MC at a loss until he gradually uncovers clues one by one. Murder and thievery abound, but the motives of those involved are not always clear. The suspense keeps me on the edge of my seat, and the life of the MC at his temple is sometimes just as deadly and threatening as his tasks in the World of Samsara.

The plot is still unfolding like a walk into the mist with me never knowing what is about to jump out around the next corner. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Cannon Fodder Cheat System
September 17, 2019
Status: c89
This is a fun, light read about an OP MC and OP ML retaliating against the male couple who wronged the MC's host before the MC came into the picture. So far, every single arc has the same storyline, and the only thing that seems to change is the setting. Although it's entertaining the first few arcs, the redundancy gets downright painful later on. Worse yet, all the villain characters appear to have the same personality arc after arc, so it doesn't even feel like the MC and ML are... more>> facing off against new opponents.

The story is lacking. It could use a ton more suspense, throw in some comedy, or even make us unable to stop reading from tragedy. Unfortunately, there is no suspense or tragedy. Although some of the face-slapping is enough to make me smile, it's not hilarious and doesn't make me laugh or anything like that. This series doesn't bring any strong emotions from me one way or the other.

The "romantic" development feels forced and unnatural, and it's this way every arc. There is no development. Rather than there being any romance in this series, it's more like the ML molests and forces himself on the MC until the MC relents to him. That's right--in this series, r*pe IS ACCEPTABLE as long as the rapist loves the person. R*pe and sexual abuse occurs often in unhealthy relationships, but that kind of thing needs to be broken off right away. If the ML really loved the MC, then would he force himself on the MC all the time? Wouldn't he care about the MC's feelings? He always says that he will never do anything the MC doesn't want him to do, but he repeatedly breaks his promises again and again, proving just how untrustworthy he is.

There's no development, dating, seduction, or trying to impress each other. Where's the fun in that? If you're looking for smut, this series isn't for you. Although this series somehow got tagged as a yaoi (explicit s*x scenes) rather than a shounen-ai (inexplicit s*x scenes or no s*x scenes), the s*x scenes are not explicit and don't meet the criteria for a yaoi.

The MC is calm, calculating, and loyal, but his personality doesn't make him stand out too much. He doesn't have to chance his behavior to act according to the role he's given, so he always acts the same way. The plot is bland, so he really doesn't struggle or have to take risks. The objects are easy for him to obtain, so there isn't any excitement.

The ML is the standard, domineering type of character common in these sorts of stories, but he doesn't have any individuality to make him stand out or become more likable. The ML also always finds the MC right away, which disrupts the MC’s independence. He’s also always OP, which might have to do with the central plot, but it’s not as exciting as discovering him as any number of completely random characters. The villains have the same personality arc to arc. Side characters rarely have any development at all. Everyone comes across as quite flat, including the MC. Character development? Character depth? What are those? They sure aren't in this story.

The settings for the various worlds are interesting, but the plots and characters are lacking. Worse yet, every plot feels the same. Although the settings are good, the repetitive plots are boring, and everything else could only be considered mediocre. I hope it improves as it goes on.

This series is good for wasting time, but it's sorely lacking in various areas. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Lovable Package
June 30, 2019
Status: c15
This is a super-fluffy series with dozens of chapters of nonstop flirting. The sugar is so overloaded, it makes me want to gag. The MC and ML fall in love at first sight with no development or reason at all, and they start betraying they rules they live by and get frisky and then get married within twenty-four hours of meeting each other. Seriously, who spiked the punch? Did they stop taking their meds? There's no logic behind this at all.

There really isn't much plot or character depth. The MC... more>> is an annoying, extremely clingy, immature person ens*aved to a system but who just begs and wants to be spoiled all the time. The ML exists only to pamper him. The side-characters feel like they exist in name only.

This is not a story--this is only flirting and fluff. I can't even call it romance because there isn't any natural development between the leads at all. It's just "BAM! WE'RE IN LOVE!" completely out of the blue.

A couple of reviews compare this series to Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil, but the only similarities are that the series are Chinese BL with a system. That's it. Although that series is possibly one of the most famous with such genres, it is definitely not the only one and does not share any other similarities with these series in regards to plot, character depth, development, suspense, or comedy. If you are looking for the heart-wrenching imagery and brutal dramatic plot lines that make QWFOD stand above so many other danmei, this is NOT the place to find it.

If you're looking for paper-thin characters flirting with each other right from the start without developing their relationship and having no plot, this is for you. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
A World Worth Protecting
June 7, 2019
Status: c6
The MC is so annoying, I had to drop this series early on. I hope it gets better later on, but the MC is dumb, the school professors are oblivious, and the setting is pretty stretched. I was trying to tolerate it because I wanted to give the series more of a chance to grow, but the MC is just so obnoxious that I can't stand to read another word about him.

The translations and editing are excellent, though. Props to Atlas Studios.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Never Thought You’d Be This Kind of Hero!
December 9, 2018
Status: c25
Very funny. Thus far, this is mostly a comedy and adventure series with some action thrown in. The MC is a curious mixture of wise and yet naive, which befuddles the demon king. The demon king is actually quite pure, conservative, and untainted, but he thinks of himself as a super baddie (He is the demon king, after all)... The Holy Son is a street rat who reminds me of the MC from Legend of the Sun Knight, even if he has to act serious when he's under the church's... more>> watch. There's a young horse, who is far more pure than any of the human characters. There's also a mysterious black unicorn, whose presence threatens the poor young unicorn's chastity--little horse and little hero never ran so fast... The assortment of characters is hilarious to throw together and see everything go to hell.

Even with the comedy, there's still world-building and plot going on in the background. I'm very interested in seeing how all of this plays out in the end, and I strongly recommend it for anyone who wants some laughs. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Dominion’s End
December 3, 2017
Status: v3c6
This is a very exciting fun-to-read zombie apocalypse series It felt pretty slow-going until special abilities appeared, and I was worried that it was just going to be a standard zombie apocalypse. The characters are all distinct, the comedy cracks me up, and the action is well-written. I really love the bonds between the siblings. The gender confusion is pretty funny, too.

When I started reading, I could not stop until I was completely caught up. I stayed up several hours later than I originally planned because I couldn't put it... more>> down. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Spearmaster and the Black Cat
September 22, 2017
Status: c72
This story starts off slowly, but it focuses on training and becoming friendly with the family the Shuya encounters. It makes sense that he trains to become stronger before setting out in the world. The pace picks up after that, and the story has some nice, creative fantasy elements. I love all of the adventure and gore.

However, there are a few critical weaknesses here...

  1. BOOBS. What is with the MC and BOOBS? He literally identifies several of the female characters by their breasts and doesn't pay any attention to the men. If the translation team didn't leave editorial comments in there making jokes about how completely fixated the MC is on BOOBS, I think I would've dropped it long ago. Shuya literally spends several chapters in a row mentioning BOOBS or feeling up women before a chapter shows up where he doesn't.
  2. Shuya himself isn't very smart. Several different events have happened so far where he just OPs his way through them. It doesn't require any clever strategy. He even lets the humans take advantage of him without trying to do anything in retaliation. When women try to kill him, all he does is flirt with and feel them up (this is not always consensual) and possibly have s*x with them.
  3. The start of the story is weak in how it abruptly makes him this OP creature without challenging him to develop on his own or anything. The greatest character development I've seen so far is when he stops trying to have s*x with everyone hot woman he encounters. Although there is a central plot, it comes across as weak and unfocused most of the time. Shuya is taking his time very leisurely.
The highlights of this series would be the cat and some of the side characters. I like how the writer brings attention to Rollo frequently and seriously treats her as... more>> a leading character instead of some kind of pet or minor character. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
This is a funny Xianxia/BL/drama series that focuses on the counterattack of a man reborn at the beginning of a novel fighting against the scumbag transmigrator in the scumbag protagonist position. The original protagonist of the novel is disgusting, and it only gets worse. Fortunately, the transmigrator is far less cunning and unable to be successful in evil schemes compared to the original protagonist. He's definitely someone to hate in the beginning, but things change as the MC learns how to deal with his protagonist halo.

To clarify the beginning of... more>> the setting, both the MC and another character have memories of their previous lives as manipulated by the book's script. However, the novel isn't entirely accurate. The MC is reborn at the beginning of the book with those memories. The first volume of the series falls from the sky (there is yet to be an explanation for this occurrence), and he reads it. Using his memories and the information from the first volume, he is able to figure out what's been going on and seeks to change things to protect his life as well as the many other lives ruined by the original protagonist. The setting is a little confusing at first, so I felt it was important to explain this. Furthermore, the MC's master has two names--Wu Yin and Xuan Lingdi. They are the same person.

The characters are great. The secondary characters are developed as well. Unfortunately, there's a lack of description for the characters--the MC is pretty and looks like a woman, the master is handsome, the BFF is even more feminine than the MC, one chick has pigtails, and one woman is voluptuous. I think that's all the description given to the characters in this entire series thus far. This makes them extremely difficult to envision. Over a hundred chapters later, random descriptors that never appeared in the text show up. For instance, I'd been visualizing the master as a middle-aged man with white hair all this time, but it turns out his hair is black.

There is hardly any imagery at all in this series.

The ML's character is fairly flat. He's more like an ultra-pure tsundere than anything, so it's pretty easy for readers to switch from the shipping the MC with the ML to the MC with the BFF instead. Compared to him, the MC's personality is more developed, but it changes significantly as the series goes on, and he matures. He puts on an obedient face in public, but he's actually quite ornery and reckless. He enjoys provoking his friends. HOWEVER, the MC is a Gary Stu. He's a super-pretty genius who everyone falls in love with.

There is the bare minimum of background information, but it isn't developed to the point you could imagine playing a video game based off of it. There is almost no explanation for training or even any training montages. The fights are over-the-top weird mystical fights that are boring for that lack of realism or even feeling a threat.

This is entertaining, but it doesn't dish out a whole lot of emotions. Sure, there was trauma in the MC's past life, but it's not written in a way to make anyone cry over it. The action is weak. The s*x scenes are inexplicit thus far, making this series arguably more of a shounen-ai than a yaoi. It's an fun read, and I had trouble putting it down. However, it's not worth five stars not only because of how much it is lacking but the fact the MC is a Gary Stu.


I don't include translation quality when reviewing a series on Novel Updates, but the translation quality is a mess. Once Flying Lines takes over, many things change. Gold Core Cultivators become Cold Core (this happens many times, so it's not a typo), rogue cultivators become rouge cultivators, weird words that don't appear in regular English show up and require a dictionary to try to interpret, "bice" is a frequently-used word for a while that makes me keep imagining the MC covered with lice, names of titles keep changing, the petals are pedals for a very long time, genders of characters keep changing (which is even worse since we don't know what any of them look like aside from gender), etc. The MC starts practicing a seizure technique, which is as translated by the first translator. Does he like seize all over the bed or what? There has got to be another way to translate it that doesn't leave me baffled every time. Like a devouring technique or something. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Trash of the Count’s Family
December 21, 2018
Status: c93
This is a charming adventure/comedy/fantasy/action/fluff series that is good for some lighthearted reading. The MC is funny and charismatic, and, as some reviewers have said, can even be classified as a tsundere. He says he only wants a peaceful life and wants to be lazy, but he works hard to make a good life and to take care of his people. He says he's heartless and doesn't like certain things, but he still takes care of those in need while pretending he has no feelings for him. Even when he... more>> realizes he's gotten on the path of what he might consider a main character to be, he still continues his actions without looking back.

His companions adore him despite his cold demeanor, and it's really cute to watch. Although there is drama related to the plotline, it's not focused on the MC seeking revenge at all cost or going mad or anything like that.

If you're wanting a fun shounen read full of action, adventure, and cute critters, this is a fun one to check out. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
I’m Not Shouldering This Blame
October 17, 2018
Status: c92
There are many novels out there featuring transmigrators and giving their perspective as they are reborn in new worlds. This does the opposite: the MC is one of the book characters, and hoards of transmigrators have invaded his world. Being a transmigrator is definitely not always a good thing and often leads to trouble and despair. Not to mention, the family and friends of the original characters want the transmigrators to go back and return their loved ones to them. It's quite a refreshing take.

This is a sci-fi/horror/action series with... more>> a dash of BL thrown in halfway through the series. Even if you don't like BL and want to skip those scenes, you won't miss out on much. The world-building, plot development, and character development are all excellent. The MC's ability is hilarious, although it becomes terrifying later on, it's always great for a laugh. The setting is intriguing and described well. Although the transmigrators have knowledge of the original storyline, all of their actions have royally screwed things up, even for other transmigrators who are trying to predict what's going to happen next.

Spoiler

The Black Abyss begins based on what they have told the MC and ML about. They originally had no plans to create the organization but began it later to protect ability-holders who weren't connected to the government. They are overall good guys who protect their members, minimize damage to their surroundings, and avoiding killing or stealing other people. As far as we know, they've never even killed a human. In the books, they were this fearsome organization that fills everyone with dread, so the government, who knows the truth, will even threaten to send their prisoners to the Black Abyss for interrogation... Not knowing anything, those people spill the beans because they're terrified of the book's version of the Black Abyss. The leaders of the Black Abyss are good guys who generally protect the weak and only fight those who attack them first. Don't attack them, and they're pretty nice.

Instead of being enemies with the Chinese government, they actually work together and rely on each other quite a bit.

The book's protagonist has nothing but a gang of transmigrators around him trying to gain his favor and control him. Although a couple of people try to do that with the MC and ML, they're generally too chicken to try taking advantage of the "villains."

The monsters of the other world show up ahead of schedule and confuse all of the transmigrators' timelines.

[collapse]
<<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
So far, there have only been the set-up chapters, so it's hard to see how this will turn out. The MC is a hard-working villain who wants to do his role well, and I respect him a lot already. He's not being manipulative or nasty like many Xianxia, and he actually comes across as an honorable villain thus far, which is quite refreshing. He tries to keep himself at a distance from others, but the halo keeps making him charm people instead, which will royally screw over his plans. The... more>> hero appears to be a good guy whose past is not as unblemished as he pretends it is, so it'll be interesting to see what is revealed about him from here on out.

The past events are not as clear-cut as they would first appear, and even the MC doesn't know exactly what happened in the details of his current role's villainous past. It'll be interesting to see what is discovered about this and other mysteries. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Tutorial Is Too Hard
September 21, 2017
Status: c88
This is absolutely one of my favorite web novels right now. The action, comedy, suspense, and writing are fantastic. I hesitated to start the series because I was concerned it would progress slowly and give overly-detailed lists about skills and statuses every chapter. I have never been more delighted to be wrong. This adventure series focuses on Lee Ho Jae's life-or-death struggle in this chamber of death called the Tutorial, and he chose Hell Difficulty. Unlike the people on other difficulties, he is isolated from other humans and only has... more>> the forum to rely on for social contact. The loneliness is real, and the despair hits him hard when he notices it.

Sure, he becomes the strongest person as far as we know, but his struggle is believable. Some floors aren't too terrible for him, but he is definitely risking his life and sanity every step of the way. The suspense is great. Each floor shown has been unique and different from the others. I love the creativity.

The alternating present time and flashbacks is done very smoothly. It is fun to compare the current him who is struggling against being trapped on a floor and maintaining his mental state back to the him who was proceeding through the Tutorial but only starting to realize he wasn't quite normal.

Characters die for real, and crimes happen in this world. People adapt in response to it, so it's interesting to see the Tutorial culture develop, too.

Some reviews commented that Korean archer he's assisting is a Mary Sue, but she has complained about the ridiculousness of the Tutorial and is proceeding more slowly than she could be. We've only seen things through her perspective a few times, so I'm looking forward to see her again. We really don't know too much about her at this point, and there's still a good chance she could be killed off... After all, they don't call it Hell for nothing. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Strongest Gene
May 12, 2019
Status: c319
I came close to dropping this many times before reaching the premium chapters and finally dropping it there. Although there are a few good chapters, the majority of them are... not.

My first complaint is the logic behind the setting and world. On a planet 10, 000x the size of earth, which is, mind you, about 30x the size of Jupiter, I expected these characters to be slimes rolling across the ground because the force of gravity is so strong. With the weight of all that air pressure on top of... more>> that, I imagined they’d have a hell of a time moving. No explanation of this setting is given. It appears the author randomly threw the setting out there and forgot all about it.

Although not much description is given, the people appear to be humanoid? The MC's appearance is only given briefly, finally, in chapter 127, but it's painfully vague. I spent a good portion of this series imagining him as a purple-skinned dude with three eyes because, why not? There is no explanation about how they’re defying this gravity either. When you read this series, you definitely want to ignore everything you’ve ever learned from science. You also shouldn’t pay attention to the MC’s finances because money appears out of nowhere without explanation. Ditto for the inconsistencies with expenditures and profits. Honestly, you may just want to censure any numbers when you come across them in this story. Why are there shop-keepers for digital shops? This sci-fi world needs to study Amazon, Ebay, and other selling sites because they’re surprisingly under-advanced compared to our world, even if they're in the sci-fi realm of interplanetary travel. If the MC’s golden finger is enhanced luck, then why doesn't he enter any lotteries? While reading this, you can expect to find a plot hole or inconsistency or mathematical problem every few chapters. Reading this series gives me a headache... A lot of inconsistencies. Formulas are expensive, but later the MC buys them by the dozen... He has money, but not that much. If a formula cost at least a million dollars, how is he buying hundreds of them when he only has eighteen million? He can’t use his abilities in the rookie battle in one match, but he can later on. Although abilities are forbidden, a contestant who relies solely on her ability to battle uses it constantly. The author frequently forgets the history of this story, too. The baddies went completely undiscovered until the MC showed up, but, later on, the good organizations had faced off against them prior to the MC appearing in this world and appeared to have full knowledge of who they were, for instance.

All of the groups in this series are incredibly incompetent. The MC is also shockingly unintelligent... I'm not sure why "clever protagonist" is a tag here. His decisions and forgetfulness gave me the urge to smack my head into my desk on many occasions. Worse yet, everyone else in this series has an even lower IQ than he does... Where did all the smart people go?!

The character design is redundant and unimaginative. The MC's personality is fairly consistent as are some other characters, but they all have limited depth and complexities. The descriptions for any of them all seem to be the same, too, which makes it hard to visualize.

Not only is the plot full of holes, it is also full of filler. During a genetic production competition, there are at least TWO TO FIVE ENTIRE CHAPTERS OF FILLER for each phase of the competition as people look down on the MC and are then shocked by him. It's good when the action picks up, but I definitely had to skim through several chapters because I couldn't take reading the same things over again and again anymore... They don't contribute to the plot either. I like face-slapping, but spending 5/6 chapters on face-slapping is too much!

The story developments are all over the place, often leaving me wonder how bizarre plot twists came about. Not only is it generic, the MC encounters the gang of baddies almost every time he goes out. It's nice to have surprises once in a while, you know? This is way too predictable.

The translation quality is readable, and it's usually pretty easy to tell what's going on. They have some errors. My biggest complaint is with some of the translation choices, but that may have been the original author's fault. First of all, what does any of this have to do with genes? The "genes" used in this story are more like magical coding nonsense than anything involving genetics. While reading this, I can only believe that the author doesn't even know what genetics are. The idea was good and reminds me of genetic splicing and modification, but the carry-through was terrible. DARK FREAK. Seriously, what is this time? Instead of giving them a name that makes us giggle and think of a circus or a little kid, why not call them deviants or aberrations instead? What the hell is a half-android? Even when multiple uses commented about the proper term being “cyborg” from a year ago, this still hasn’t been corrected.... Like I said, though, I'm not sure how much of this is the translation team's doing and how much of it is the responsibility of the author.

It is fun at times. It has made me laugh once every hundred chapters or so. However, the plot holes, logic holes, and wtf setting make this downright painful to read at times. Definitely not worth paying premium for and barely worth wasting hours of your life reading the free chapters. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Divine Beast Adventures
April 3, 2019
Status: c25
The foundation for this story is incredibly weak. It’s supposed to be a sci-fi world, but none of these elements are focused on. It’s written like it’s modern-day instead with weird sci-fi gates thrown into the mix. The MC is supposed to be in a planet larger than Earth, but no explanation about the gravity or geography are given. It’s briefly mentioned that people had to move underground, but then this idea has yet to be mentioned again. Why didn’t they try to block the portals? Why didn’t they move... more>> off the planet? What other strategies have been used aside from fighting against the monsters like barbarians? If a single beast card is worth so much money but this world isn’t as dangerous as it’s made out to be, then why hasn’t the economy collapsed? Given how easy it appears, becoming a billionaire is an easy dream. The info about beast cards comes in an info dump in the first chapter, but it has numerous plot holes and unanswered questions. Furthermore, it never explains the meaning of the stats the MC sees for each beast.

Characterization is weak. The MC is an insensible jerk who throws caution to the wind and lives by luck alone. No explanations are given about why the wild beasts only attack his beasts and never attack him, even though he’s clearly weaker. No depth is given to him or any other characters. He doesn’t show any gratitude and even attacks a beast that saved him, giving me no reason to feel any respect for his shallow personality. He isn’t even slightly likeable. The cool chick the MC disdains is likeable, even if she's clingy, but he's not very nice to her.

This series is inconsistent with far more weaknesses than strengths. It’s written like a bad imitation of certain other series, but it doesn’t string together the logic or plot hardly at all. I can't recommend this series for anyone. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report