Report Review
39 Reviews


Redmi
Redmi rated it
Absolute Choice
December 14, 2016
Status: c58
So, finally a translated chinese novel that has time dilation as its central plot device. Let's see in the future if there will be a good story accompanying it or not.

edit: As of chapter 58, the story is decent, but the anime characters' ripoff is not and very lame. That other Naruto-related novel (In Different World with Naruto System) looks much better in comparison.

But what I didn't like is...

... more>>
Spoiler

the fact that that there is a time dilation event in the 'Absolute Choice' event somewhere in chapter 55 where the MC is asked to choose between DFC or making a GF. With the other 'Absolute Choice' events not having one (like the one where the MC has to choose between underwear and first kiss), this easily blows a plothole into the storyline and also introduced inconsistencies too.

Between the three types of 'Absolute Choice' events (unpredictable, malicious, daily), only the first one should have been given the time loop feature. Also it seems that as of chapter 58, there will be no more new characters that originates from anime titles, which only shows to me the author's penchant for inconsistency.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
RE:Yandere
July 9, 2018
Status: c22
You don't have to wait for the killings by deranged female characters very long. No beating around the bushes here. If you like violence and gore, put this novel in your reading list RIGHT NOW!
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
You are not reading this for R-18 scenes; the chapters are too short for that. You are reading this only for the plot, praying to your deity wishing for the MC to get his comeuppance; getting NTR'ed by the devil. Or by anyone else for the matter.

馃専馃専馃専馃専馃専 if it happened, only a 馃専 if it doesn't.
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Reincarnation Of The Strongest Sword God
January 1, 2018
Status: c132
Decent story (as of latest chapter) , no romance, no Chu Feng, what not to like? Well, what I really don't like is how the game really likes to give out buffs/debuffs measured in percentages, not numbers. Players in this game should already be killing mobs 20 levels higher, or solo lord bosses 10 levels higher...
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
When A Mage Revolts
September 18, 2017
Status: c54
The MC accidentally slept on his Windows 10 laptop and woke up being transmigrated into another world. Unfortunately for MC, Windows 10 main feature, the personal assistant Cortana, has been embedded into his brain.

This novel revolves around how Cortana screws the MC over and over again as the MC desperately trying to live while going against a psychopath witch and a church that like to 'cleanse' people while being the troubled heir of an aristocratic family.

The story itself is just bang average, but combined with comedic MC's interactions with Cortana,... more>> this novel makes for a decent read.

This novel is a recommended read for any die-hard fans of Windows 10, Windows Phone, Xbox console or the Halo video game series. Especially the latter. Android or ChromeOS users should instead read the 'Help! Gooogle-sensei!!' novel, which being a JP novel, is way inferior to this novel.

For iOS/MacOS users, they should read Martial God Asura for an educational 'triggering' experience.

馃専馃専馃専馃専from me as of chapter 54. <<less
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
I鈥檓 the Evil Lord of an Intergalactic Empire!
October 3, 2019
Status: v4c13
I have read many of this novel's author other works, but this novel stands out for the fact that I didn't drop it yet as of the latest chapter today. Unlike Sevens and Dragoon, the author has largely stopped over-elaborating on the plot. The author has made several things right: he makes the MC overpowered, then donned him with plot armor thicker than what his counterpart in Reincarnation of Strongest Sword God has. Not only that, author also make the MC super lucky just like a typical CN xianxia MC... more>> who can find a phoenix feather nesting amongst the pebbles on the roadside. Author also vastly oversimplify the world's setting, to the point of near non-existence.

Plus, the author likes to handwave a lot of things and events, such as how exactly MC become so powerful with his Himura Kenshin-like swordmanship, which he obtained just like that. Plus, the author is so generous too when it comes to timejumps, and this very one thing actually what makes this novel more simpler and palatable for me. Oh, did I mention that the MC is asexual?

In other words, this novel is the JP version of Reincarnation of The Strongest Sword God. Except the author of this novel doesn't have dementia. Not a great novel, but then again Twilight isn't one either. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
I Might Be A Fake Cultivator
July 7, 2019
Status: c75
This novel has a decently strong start, but the quality of the story nosedives sharply even before 100 chapters are out.

A suspicious old man saved MC from a bunch of loan sharks or something. The suspicious old man offers MC his 'God of War System' and a recommendation letter of enrollment to an elite school somewhere in a Seireitei-like realm. Once MC obtained the system, he failed to notice how happy the suspicious old man is after being able to give MC the system. MC goes to the school... more>> and starts slapping faces and builds the harem...

My biggest complaint about this novel is after all the set up by the mysterious old man, the supposedly conflict between the MC and the God of War system, that is supposed to be the central theme of this novel, did not appear at all. Sure, the system appears now and then to make things harder for the MC, like when the system forced the MC to bark loudly to gain the ability of language comprehension, but as of where I am now, there are no signs at all that can explain why the suspicious old man is desperate to offload the God of War system onto the MC. In fact, all it does now is to direct the MC to level up relatively quickly by the standard of the novel's world-view; putting some inconveniences to the MC here and there.

The PUBG-like tournament arc that happened shortly after MC enrolled to the school is great, helping to mask the novel's deficiencies. But the second arc where the MC and co. descend back to Earth to do some more face-slapping is not. Suffice to say, in that arc, the comedy + face-slapping combo is a very toxic combination. And of course, the supposedly annoying/dangerous/incompetent system barely appears at all here.

At this point of the novel, I decided to just stop reading this novel. You are better off reading 'Seized by the System' or 'When a Mage Revolts' novels, where their systems are more proactive at making their host MC suffer. I recommend that you should not waste your SS in this novel. 猸愨瓙猸 because the PUBG tournament is actually really good. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Renegade Immortal
April 8, 2019
Status: c1546
This novel is only the second Er Gen novel I have read. The first one, ISSTH, has been kinda dropped by me after the drastic drop of quality after the point where Meng Hao's cultivation went past Spirit Severing. This one instead has its ups and downs, but generally the story-line quality has been kept consistently decent even after more than a thousand chapters.

This novel has the longest prologue period I have ever seen though. This novel only properly begins after

... more>>
Spoiler

Li Muwan dies, some time after 300 chapters or so. Wang Lin's quest to revive her is basically the overarching plot of this novel.

[collapse]

And his adventures when doing exactly that, where he participates in auctions, slapping the faces of arrogant young masters, become an alchemist, a carver, a mortal, a 'rapist' et al. Those adventures are far more interesting than Meng Hao's, which makes me wonder what happened to Er Gen between those two novels. Probably too much peyote. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
FFF-Class Trashero
March 10, 2019
Status: c40
In this novel, the MC is an unrepentant low-dogmatic genociding psychopath hero who views mass murder and other violent atrocities as final solutions to whatever problems and issues he has in Fantasia, a fantasy world that he hates more than the Demon King. Yet, the author skillfully makes this novel primarily a slapstick comedy even when the OP MC slaughters the Demon King (repeatedly), the elves, humans, demons and probably mermaids too. Of course, his companions are not spared the Holy Sword too, except for one...

... more>>
Spoiler

Lanuvel, a.k.a. Fantasy God.

[collapse]

The storyline is trite though, therefore you will only read this novel for the MC's character strength and also the comedy. A 猸愨瓙猸愨瓙猸 from me as of the 40th chapter. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
The Master of Strength
December 11, 2018
Status: c42
This novel features an MC that is a complete newbie in MMORPGs, which then helps explains pretty much all of the awful decision making capabilities the MC has. But what breaks this novel is not the cheat that the MC has obtained, but the bizarre game set-up where raising the STR stat also raise health points. This means that the MC can one-punch his way through all troubles and crises, not unlike his counterpart in Soul of Searing Steel.

At least, this novel has not become boring yet. What helps this... more>> novel greatly is MC's ignorance + lack of ambition and direction, very minimal real-world interactions and influence, and of course lack of harem and romance. Of course, I will make my rating 猸愨瓙猸愨瓙猸 if he romances that Nine-tail Fox instead of one-punching her to EXP and loot. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Valhalla Saga
July 6, 2018
Status: v44c4
The only thing genuinely good thing about this novel is the fight scenes. Most of the time, they are EPIC to the MAX, as long as you ignore rolling dragons. The story line itself is just plain average, not helped by a couple of overwhelmingly OP skills that the MC has. Yes, I'm talking about the dragon eyes technique that can differentiate between friends and foes. The romance fared worse than the story line, because it is non-existent. Character developments outside the MC's is also non-existent.
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Sundering Nature
March 2, 2018
Status: v2c18
As I read this novel, I can't help but saw quite a lot of similarities with The Monogatari Series.

MC is Ararararararagi and Bai Ze is Snail's personality combined with Shinobu's role. That's a big plus for me. Crab has already been ditched by the MC. MC now is playing around with oppai Monkey. No cats or snakes or the others for the time being.

Plot of this novel is iffy at best, and the world setting isn't fully fleshed out yet. But MC's character strength, comedy and most importantly, the interactions... more>> between MC and Bai Ze starting from volume 2 more than makes up for it. Plenty of potential from this novel tha I look forward to in the future. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
These Dangerous Girls Placed Me Into Jeopardy
April 4, 2017
Status: v1c20
Suprisingly is quite similar Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu.

* Take Kyon (as MC) and also Haruhi's novel world setup.
* Remove Haruhi (good thing?).
* Fill the class/library with multiple copies of Asahinas, Yukis, Koizumis et. al. (all those weird people).
* Add wincest to the house too.
* Remove Endless Eight...
*... and then put a better story in this novel.

This novel MC being Kyon-lite is what clinches it for me.

p/s: there is no yandere in this novel. At least at time of writing (c20).
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Emperor’s Domination
September 27, 2016
Status: c859
This is the Chinese novel where Mt. Tai personally has become the MC. The events where the various antagonists failed to see the MC are the highlights of this novel; I never get bored with them.

2 points docked from the evaluation mainly because of the extremely complicated power system, cultivation methods, treasures' levels et. Al. And he have not really get started with alchemy too.

Even after 200 chapters or so, I still do not understand them. Oh well, looking at the various antagonists blindly diving head-first onto Mt. Tai can... more>> never get old.

Edit after c859:-

Other reviewers has mentioned about this novel being repetitive and how it reflects badly on this novel. For me, this novel should instead be used as an example of how to repeat the same plot effectively. If you see this novel as comedy, looking at arrogant young masters poking the beehive and then suffering the consequences is barely no different at all than watching American Funniest Home Videos clips on YouTube. It never gets boring to me. About the fillers, now that's a real problem especially in this current arc in Stone Medicine World. It must be this arc where the Absolute Choice's author learns how to game the Qidian reward system. Speed reading through paragraphs is essential for your sanity.

Another complaint refers to how the MC not fighting personally anymore and relies on other people and treasures to win instead. IMO I don't think that's a bad thing and I view this as a normal plot progression process.

I have fully given up trying to understand the cultivation system though after 800 chapters. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
In Different World with Naruto System
June 24, 2016
Status: c5
The smirk on my face when I read when I read this piece of 'art'. Is indescribable. Do not expect Pulitzer-writing here, you should shut down all your intellect and IQ before reading new chapters of this series.
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
The World Online
February 20, 2018
Status: c192
Between all the novels that has second chances and VRMMORPGs, this novel stands out because the Earth Online game depicted in it is excellent and the world setting is good. But oh boy you have to slog out through over 100 chapters of nation-building before this novel actually get interesting when PvP started at the Yellow Emperor arc. If not for the things I mentioned in the first sentence, I would not have lasted 20 chapters of this novel.

There is also crappy romance here, and sometimes the unnatural amount of... more>> luck he has in some scenes in the nation-building phase also grates me. This novel needs more PvP and more bad luck for MC. And maybe, MC should also ditch the trophy girlfriend if she doesn't allow harem. Yes, this is a rare novel where harem is desirable. <<less
1 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Magi’s Grandson
April 3, 2016
Status: --
This series starts so well, for the first 10 chapters or so, but quickly went downhill because of average story, MC's characterization, and the crappy romance. It was times like this I wished this series is harem.
1 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Dungeon Hunter
January 13, 2017
Status: c242
Consider this:-

... more>>
Spoiler

1. The MC name is Randalph Brigsiel.
2. At the beginning of the novel, MC donned a mask and go to human world, collecting points and titles, while using his real name.
3. Then the yearly auction happened, and he goes there while using his real name (understandable), exposing him to the other bemused antagonists.
4. After the auction, he repeats what he does in no. 1 and also upgraded the dungeon. While still using his REAL NAME.
5. Then, the yearly auction happened again, and the antagonists are still bemused.

[collapse]

It was here then, it dawned to me that one of the things below is true:-

1. The grand dukes in this novel are one of the stupidest antagonists in webnovel/light novel/xianxia et. Al. History. If, let's say, one of the grand dukes has the brains of a random antagonist from True Martial World, the MC would have been finished in less than 50 chapters. 2. The author is simply incompetent. Considering the ending arc, I think it is more to the latter. At least the author of this novel try to own up to whatever mistakes he has done in the course of writing this novel. True Martial World's author would do well if he follows this novel's author lead. <<less
0 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Demon’s Diary
May 15, 2016
Status: c107
This webnovel has very good story, but a little bit slow in pacing, as mentioned by others. The MC is also one of the better ones in the xianxia/xuanhuan genre.
0 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report