Report Review
46 Reviews


Redmi
Redmi rated it
Sonohi Sekai ga Kawatta
December 14, 2018
Status: c25 part1
When you have dialogues like “Aaaaaaaaaaaah ♡ I’m sorry I’m sorry I’m sorry I’m sorry ♡ Naaaaaaaaaaaaaaa ♡ I’m sorryyyyyyyyyyyyy ♡“ you realize that this novel is not about the R-18 scenes, because they sucks. See that 'yandere' tag there? That, and also with a 'mystery' equivalent tag, are reasons you read this novel.

After all, I want to know how far the MC can push it when he stick it in crazies. Because there are only two outcomes for this novel, if the author ever wants to finish it. The... more>> MC lives, or he sees the boat. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Reincarnation Of The Strongest Sword God
January 1, 2018
Status: c132
Decent story (as of latest chapter) , no romance, no Chu Feng, what not to like? Well, what I really don't like is how the game really likes to give out buffs/debuffs measured in percentages, not numbers. Players in this game should already be killing mobs 20 levels higher, or solo lord bosses 10 levels higher...
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
When A Mage Revolts
September 18, 2017
Status: c54
The MC accidentally slept on his Windows 10 laptop and woke up being transmigrated into another world. Unfortunately for MC, Windows 10 main feature, the personal assistant Cortana, has been embedded into his brain.

This novel revolves around how Cortana screws the MC over and over again as the MC desperately trying to live while going against a psychopath witch and a church that like to 'cleanse' people while being the troubled heir of an aristocratic family.

The story itself is just bang average, but combined with comedic MC's interactions with Cortana,... more>> this novel makes for a decent read.

This novel is a recommended read for any die-hard fans of Windows 10, Windows Phone, Xbox console or the Halo video game series. Especially the latter. Android or ChromeOS users should instead read the 'Help! Gooogle-sensei!!' novel, which being a JP novel, is way inferior to this novel.

For iOS/MacOS users, they should read Martial God Asura for an educational 'triggering' experience.

🌟🌟🌟🌟from me as of chapter 54. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Seirei Tsukai to Shinjuu Tsukai no Shounen
August 14, 2017
Status: v2c20
⭐⭐⭐ rating from me. Why, you ask me? That's because, as of v2c20, the novel has your typical pansy JP fantasy male protagonist. The 'pansy'-ness factor is what grates me the most about the MC. For example:-

... more>>
Spoiler

In the v2c20, any sane, reasonable MC with eyes for upholding justice and protecting the masses from pure evilness, would have put the princess to its proper place, especially when the MC has the moral high ground; royalty be damned. But noooooo, this pansy MC yields only an inch and the resourceful princess then takes a million miles.

[collapse]

Actually maybe it isn't the MC, but the author having brain aneurysm.

The story itself is actually OK, the pacing is a little bit on the slow side. Do not get your hopes up for a decent harem romance here; remember that the MC is a pansy. Even a couple of the girls has more spine than him. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Absolute Choice
December 14, 2016
Status: c58
So, finally a translated chinese novel that has time dilation as its central plot device. Let's see in the future if there will be a good story accompanying it or not.

edit: As of chapter 58, the story is decent, but the anime characters' ripoff is not and very lame. That other Naruto-related novel (In Different World with Naruto System) looks much better in comparison.

But what I didn't like is...

... more>>
Spoiler

the fact that that there is a time dilation event in the 'Absolute Choice' event somewhere in chapter 55 where the MC is asked to choose between DFC or making a GF. With the other 'Absolute Choice' events not having one (like the one where the MC has to choose between underwear and first kiss), this easily blows a plothole into the storyline and also introduced inconsistencies too.

Between the three types of 'Absolute Choice' events (unpredictable, malicious, daily), only the first one should have been given the time loop feature. Also it seems that as of chapter 58, there will be no more new characters that originates from anime titles, which only shows to me the author's penchant for inconsistency.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
A lowly-educated middle-aged man from a backward Third World country got transmigrated to a fantasy world that has magic, into the body of the fifth son of a high-ranked noble. MC promptly found out about the said magic, and started to learn them. MC apparently is really talented with magic. And actually, nothing really happened yet.

The only interesting thing about this novel is the absolute fact that the MC isn't from Japan. So, if you want to see how a Japanese author wrote about a non-JP MC (highly likely African)... more>> doing his thing in a fantasy world, then this novel is for you.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ purely because of the MC former nationality back then on Earth. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Breakthrough with the Forbidden Master
January 30, 2020
Status: c218
This is another novel that taught me to not judge a novel by its title. I have seen this novel around for quite some time in novelupdates' index but I ignored it because the title reads like a ghey CN novel from jjwxc. One day, my finger sleepily slipped and I touched the hyperlink for this novel. Only then I found out that this novel is a JP novel. Seeing that there is no yaoi tag there, I started to read this to see if this novel will get into... more>> my 'recommendation' list or not.

Voila, I am so impressed with what I have seen from what has been translated, I decided to continue reading the raws, for 4 consecutive arcs.

Spoiler

This whole novel is pretty much a Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann fanfic. The fact that it gets a novelization without being sued to the hell and back is a mystery by itself.

The first arc (tournament arc) is great, second arc (the first best friend arc) is meh (the only good thing in it is the MC met his DFC Princess Nia waifu) and the third arc (where MC met with a guy similar to the dragon guy from Demon King, Retry novel) is just a little bit better. The fourth arc (another tournament arc) is just as good as the first one, which greatly redeem the series back. And from what I have read for the fifth arc as of now, it should be better than 2nd and 3rd arcs, but not as good as the 4th or 1st ones.

Conclusion: Novel needs more tournament arcs?

[collapse]

⭐⭐⭐ from me as of now.

edit: As of latest chapter 218...

Spoiler

The fifth arc turns out better than expected. It is not good as the preceding 4th arc but is vastly better than the 2nd and 3rd arcs. This novel could have been much better if the author doesn't make the 3rd arc as bad as it is now. Maybe a rewriting is in order for the 3th volume of the light novel?

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
I’m the Evil Lord of an Intergalactic Empire!
October 3, 2019
Status: v4c13
I have read many of this novel's author other works, but this novel stands out for the fact that I didn't drop it yet as of the latest chapter today. Unlike Sevens and Dragoon, the author has largely stopped over-elaborating on the plot. The author has made several things right: he makes the MC overpowered, then donned him with plot armor thicker than what his counterpart in Reincarnation of Strongest Sword God has. Not only that, author also make the MC super lucky just like a typical CN xianxia MC... more>> who can find a phoenix feather nesting amongst the pebbles on the roadside. Author also vastly oversimplify the world's setting, to the point of near non-existence.

Plus, the author likes to handwave a lot of things and events, such as how exactly MC become so powerful with his Himura Kenshin-like swordmanship, which he obtained just like that. Plus, the author is so generous too when it comes to timejumps, and this very one thing actually what makes this novel more simpler and palatable for me. Oh, did I mention that the MC is asexual?

In other words, this novel is the JP version of Reincarnation of The Strongest Sword God. Except the author of this novel doesn't have dementia. Not a great novel, but then again Twilight isn't one either. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
RE:Yandere
July 9, 2018
Status: c22
You don't have to wait for the killings by deranged female characters very long. No beating around the bushes here. If you like violence and gore, put this novel in your reading list RIGHT NOW!
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
You are not reading this for R-18 scenes; the chapters are too short for that. You are reading this only for the plot, praying to your deity wishing for the MC to get his comeuppance; getting NTR'ed by the devil. Or by anyone else for the matter.

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 if it happened, only a 🌟 if it doesn't.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
In Different World with Naruto System
June 24, 2016
Status: c5
The smirk on my face when I read when I read this piece of 'art'. Is indescribable. Do not expect Pulitzer-writing here, you should shut down all your intellect and IQ before reading new chapters of this series.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Instant Death
February 17, 2020
Status: c107
Good thing about this novel: This novel has an extremely overpowered MC who delivered instant deaths to Gods and Demons while sneezing/hiccuping and also able to say 'FARK U' to Newton's first law of motion. Also a pervert that will ignore female lead's protestations as he simply touched her here and there every once in a while.

Bad thing about this novel: The author is hell-bent on relegating the MC into a side -character with all those non-female-lead third-party POV contents. Dude, this novel is for showing the MC sneezing his... more>> adversaries to death, not for showing how EACH OF THOSE ADVERSARY being sneezed to death by the MC.

⭐⭐⭐ from me as of c107. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Renegade Immortal
April 8, 2019
Status: c1546
This novel is only the second Er Gen novel I have read. The first one, ISSTH, has been kinda dropped by me after the drastic drop of quality after the point where Meng Hao's cultivation went past Spirit Severing. This one instead has its ups and downs, but generally the story-line quality has been kept consistently decent even after more than a thousand chapters.

This novel has the longest prologue period I have ever seen though. This novel only properly begins after

... more>>
Spoiler

Li Muwan dies, some time after 300 chapters or so. Wang Lin's quest to revive her is basically the overarching plot of this novel.

[collapse]

And his adventures when doing exactly that, where he participates in auctions, slapping the faces of arrogant young masters, become an alchemist, a carver, a mortal, a 'rapist' et al. Those adventures are far more interesting than Meng Hao's, which makes me wonder what happened to Er Gen between those two novels. Probably too much peyote. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
FFF-Class Trashero
March 10, 2019
Status: c40
In this novel, the MC is an unrepentant low-dogmatic genociding psychopath hero who views mass murder and other violent atrocities as final solutions to whatever problems and issues he has in Fantasia, a fantasy world that he hates more than the Demon King. Yet, the author skillfully makes this novel primarily a slapstick comedy even when the OP MC slaughters the Demon King (repeatedly), the elves, humans, demons and probably mermaids too. Of course, his companions are not spared the Holy Sword too, except for one...

... more>>
Spoiler

Lanuvel, a.k.a. Fantasy God.

[collapse]

The storyline is trite though, therefore you will only read this novel for the MC's character strength and also the comedy. A ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me as of the 40th chapter. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
The Master of Strength
December 11, 2018
Status: c42
This novel features an MC that is a complete newbie in MMORPGs, which then helps explains pretty much all of the awful decision making capabilities the MC has. But what breaks this novel is not the cheat that the MC has obtained, but the bizarre game set-up where raising the STR stat also raise health points. This means that the MC can one-punch his way through all troubles and crises, not unlike his counterpart in Soul of Searing Steel.

At least, this novel has not become boring yet. What helps this... more>> novel greatly is MC's ignorance + lack of ambition and direction, very minimal real-world interactions and influence, and of course lack of harem and romance. Of course, I will make my rating ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ if he romances that Nine-tail Fox instead of one-punching her to EXP and loot. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Valhalla Saga
July 6, 2018
Status: v44c4
The only thing genuinely good thing about this novel is the fight scenes. Most of the time, they are EPIC to the MAX, as long as you ignore rolling dragons. The story line itself is just plain average, not helped by a couple of overwhelmingly OP skills that the MC has. Yes, I'm talking about the dragon eyes technique that can differentiate between friends and foes. The romance fared worse than the story line, because it is non-existent. Character developments outside the MC's is also non-existent.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Sundering Nature
March 2, 2018
Status: v2c18
As I read this novel, I can't help but saw quite a lot of similarities with The Monogatari Series.

MC is Ararararararagi and Bai Ze is Snail's personality combined with Shinobu's role. That's a big plus for me. Crab has already been ditched by the MC. MC now is playing around with oppai Monkey. No cats or snakes or the others for the time being.

Plot of this novel is iffy at best, and the world setting isn't fully fleshed out yet. But MC's character strength, comedy and most importantly, the interactions... more>> between MC and Bai Ze starting from volume 2 more than makes up for it. Plenty of potential from this novel tha I look forward to in the future. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
These Dangerous Girls Placed Me Into Jeopardy
April 4, 2017
Status: v1c20
Suprisingly is quite similar Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu.

* Take Kyon (as MC) and also Haruhi's novel world setup.
* Remove Haruhi (good thing?).
* Fill the class/library with multiple copies of Asahinas, Yukis, Koizumis et. al. (all those weird people).
* Add wincest to the house too.
* Remove Endless Eight...
*... and then put a better story in this novel.

This novel MC being Kyon-lite is what clinches it for me.

p/s: there is no yandere in this novel. At least at time of writing (c20).
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Emperor’s Domination
September 27, 2016
Status: c859
This is the Chinese novel where Mt. Tai personally has become the MC. The events where the various antagonists failed to see the MC are the highlights of this novel; I never get bored with them.

2 points docked from the evaluation mainly because of the extremely complicated power system, cultivation methods, treasures' levels et. Al. And he have not really get started with alchemy too.

Even after 200 chapters or so, I still do not understand them. Oh well, looking at the various antagonists blindly diving head-first onto Mt. Tai can... more>> never get old.

Edit after c859:-

Other reviewers has mentioned about this novel being repetitive and how it reflects badly on this novel. For me, this novel should instead be used as an example of how to repeat the same plot effectively. If you see this novel as comedy, looking at arrogant young masters poking the beehive and then suffering the consequences is barely no different at all than watching American Funniest Home Videos clips on YouTube. It never gets boring to me. About the fillers, now that's a real problem especially in this current arc in Stone Medicine World. It must be this arc where the Absolute Choice's author learns how to game the Qidian reward system. Speed reading through paragraphs is essential for your sanity.

Another complaint refers to how the MC not fighting personally anymore and relies on other people and treasures to win instead. IMO I don't think that's a bad thing and I view this as a normal plot progression process.

I have fully given up trying to understand the cultivation system though after 800 chapters. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Genius of a Performing Arts High
May 22, 2020
Status: c6 part9
Damn man, this novel and FFF tr*shero are the only KR novels left worth reading in novelupdates. You do not have to know jack about opera music, or music in general, to enjoy this novel. The daily updates really helps too. Best second chance KR novel I have read since Emperor of Solo Play.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report