Report Review
46 Reviews


Promethean
Promethean rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
September 27, 2016
Status: c120
This is a great parody of Xianxia. No, it isn't a parody of a specific series or a writers specific style, it is a complete parody of the genre in general. Not just Xianxia, but reincarnation, soul transmigration, and world with game elements as well.

Its really funny. It has performed comedy in its purest form, taking the mundane situation and giving an unexpected outcome in defiance of your previous depositions. That is comedy, creating an extraordinary outcome out of an ordinary event.

And this does it well. You will be surprised... more>> at how funny it is.

The only down part is:
Spoiler

Once the MC develops feelings... or rather is forced to develop feelings for her master (thanks to the overlord/god of this world), it goes kind of down hill. It comes out of nowhere, and makes you tilt you head at "why"

[collapse]

Other than that, this series is pretty entertaining. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
Soshite Shoujo wa Akujo no Karada o Te ni Ireru
October 24, 2018
Status: c28
If it was a mystery series focusing on the MC trying to find out why the original owner killed her self, I would give it a higher rating.

To be honest, I don't really care for the MC. She is too much of a "generic ideal of what a Japanese girl should be", a concept that I pretty much dislike. Its the average happy go lucky girl with no real character of her own. No depth. Nothing interesting.

The real Aika, yeah she had a tragic life but interesting and mysterious past.... more>> The replacement Aika boring slice of life.

In fact, if it was more of a mystery, that would be more interesting. The "old" her who died, as in the original owner of the body and what happened to her seemed 100000 times more interesting than the current main character. In fact, I only trudged through this C-rate novel to find out what really happened to the original character. And in fact, I honestly think that's what is keeping this story being remotely interesting. All the other characters are bland archetypes.

If the mystery of why she killed herself was solved, this story would lose everything that was interesting about it. In fact, I probably would have preferred reading the tragedy of the original owner of the body. That would be 1000 times more interesting to read, than a story with a bland character trying to be friends with other cookie cutter bland characters.

I mean seriously, the more you read it, the less it makes sense that the real Aika would kill her self. Unless the author goes into an in depth exploration of the psychology of what makes people commit suicide (I really, really doubt the author would make it that interesting), you are just stuck with a generically sweet story without plot. Honestly, if you wanted to read something sweet and cute and lovely, there are plenty of others out there with better characters and better story. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
The Good for Nothing Seventh Young Lady
April 5, 2016
Status: --
Reading all these reincarnation series makes me not want to ever reincarnate into an ancient chinese famiry. Because wholly sh*t, they are all assholes. And I don't want to be poor in ancient china either because it'll be hell, but sh*t, they are all bastards who don't care.

Its even worse because before the reincarnation, she was mentally retarded, and they still wanted to kill her. A mentally retarded child.

As of Chapter 2. =D
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
The Amber Sword
October 11, 2017
Status: v3c24
It's pretty average.

It's really, your typical rebirth series, and nothing much sets it apart, except for maybe the game system, which is slightly more interesting.

Other than that, the MC is just a bland MC, and the side characters are one-dimensional most of the time.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
The first arc or first dungeon was great.

It was really harsh and tragic, and set the mood for the entire series.... except that it doesn't. Almost immediately after the first dungeon, the series has a complete tone shift, and turns into a light hearted- harem-trash- comedy.

Yeah, it really does, with its masochist dragon onee-sans, sadistic MC, useless tag-along girl, loli vampire, and constantly being beaten bunny girl.

... more>> Yeah, it turns terrible extremely fast.

If you were to read it, just read up to the end of the first dungeon, because it goes down hill exponentially fast, after that. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
Absolute Choice
December 22, 2016
Status: c41
So far, it isn't bad.

The main character acts like an idiot. No, he probably is an idiot. He is a gaming otaku with a 100% chuunibyou disease.

Its a refreshing character type in a xian xia world. We don't usually get idiots. We have idiots, but they always go full retard. This MC in this doesn't go full retard. He understands himself the most, so he judges himself appropriately. He isn't humble either, but he is far from confident in himself.

But because he is an idiot he makes misunderstandings, which I... more>> love, since they are hilarious if done right.

Unfortunately, he suffers from "OP"-itis, in which he'll talent and power himself way through things (like the usual MC's who say they don't have talent, just hard work, when that's just bullsh*t, and they have the most talent). But he has all the talent.

The game mechanic of his absolute choice isn't really used that often. I thought it would troll the MC more in the beginning, but it isn't used that often or that much. If the author puts in the game choice more, it would be much better, especially if it trolls the MC (like the experimental log of the lich series).

And it suffers from excessive peanut gallery that goes no where, and nobody, who isn't chinese, likes reading one god damn page of nothing but extras who we don't give a sh*t about, comment on what just happened. Seriously, they need to stop that.

All in all, it has a 5- star potential, a 3 star execution, and if the author brushes up on some of the tired and old narrative choices, then it would be a 4 over all.
Basically: use the absolute system more, dramatically decrease peanut gallery talk, improve exposition execution, and make more misunderstandings.

P.S. Be prepared for characters ripped off from other series (except that it kind of annoys you that they don't act like their original counter parts *cough* saitama *cough*, which puts them at a cognitive dissonance... except the hisoka copy.) <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
Kyuuketsu Hime wa Barairo no Yume o Miru
March 26, 2016
Status: c30
Also Editing after I have calmed down from my initial dislike of the series.

Imagine Overlord, except it is more boring with even more "nothing important happens", and no character development.

The main character is under developed, well... all the characters are underdeveloped. There is a huge lack of character development in this series. She has billions (the MC) of soldiers, but we don't know who they are, nor are we given a reason to care.

Her actions don't really match her personality at all. They don't mesh together. It is sort of... more>> a cognitive dissonance, (or bad writing), where the character does something completely out of character.

The character is a gender bender, so don't be fooled, its not a real female protagonist. However, it is better in many respects (from male to female gender benders), because the MC doesn't display signs of s*xual interest, nor are they "pervertedly straight". In other words, turning into a girl causes the MC to deal with what happens if a boy actually turns into a girl (like Boku girl). In many series, the male to female gender bender doesn't remotely change the character's personality nor their s*xual interest, that they might as well just be wearing a skin suit (since they still, for some reason are not attracted to males, and don't you go saying what if they are lesbian, because the chances of them having a female body attracted to only females is incredibly low).

The comedy is... okay. It is to be expected from this type of series, but there is nothing that really drives you to want to read more (like what Overlord has). Things just happen. The character deals with it. And that's it. Its a slice of life. Nothing really important happens.

The biggest sin though, is its lack of character development for the side characters. The reason why Overlord is great is not just because of the MC, but because of all the side characters. The author there puts just as much focus and care to the side characters as he does the MC.

That doesn't happen in this series. The side characters are tossed out, and we move onto new ones (just like Xian xia). All that potential lost. In a series where the MC is solo, then yes, its fine (I guess, I don't particularly like that though). But in a series where the MC rules over hundreds of loyal subjects as powerful or more powerful than one's self, you NEED the side characters. You NEED to develop them as more than they are. You need to give them depth, because they are just as important as the MC.

So if you want an Overlord (extremely light edition), then this series is for you. Otherwise, just re-read Overlord. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
I recommend this series.

Its cute, interesting, and new.

The main character, controls Doll's, which is a unique ability. Her personality is rather laissez faire, and it plays more like a slice of life with a dash of plot, than a plot filled story.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
Hero? I’ve Long Stopped Being One
November 4, 2018
Status: v2
This series starts slow. Very slow.

But it accelerates over time. Plots kick in. Character development kicks in, etc. Sure some of the jokes are pretty lame, on the same level as Tang Jia San Shao (author of Battle Continent), but the story is pretty interesting in and of itself.

In other words, it is rather entertaining. It isn't unique in any sense, but it is a good chinese satirical series on the "super hero" series.

And let me tell you, good chinese satire novels are really rare.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
That Person. Later on…
October 9, 2016
Status: c21
So far its average, with nothing too special about it.

The writing style is lacking though. Things jump around here and there like a randomly written narrative. That isn't a bad thing if that is the type of story you are writing, but I doubt it, considering the plot of this series.

The MC is pretty generic as well. I admit that I found the beginning amusing, but after that, it starts losing its appeal, especially when you get into the main story (where the flashback ends).
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
Demon Wang’s Golden Favorite Fei
September 27, 2016
Status: c50
One of the better Shoujo reincarnation into ancient wuxia Chinese world series. There is one reason for it. The MC is OP as f**k, but she uses subversion to mess with people. Yeah, she doesn't go kill them, nor is she too weak to kill them. Its simply because its more entertaining for her (and us readers), that she ruins them by using brains over brawn. Yeah, she is one of the strongest people in the series, and she still screws with people using her tricks. And its fun. And... more>> entertaining.

If you want more action, or more romance, this probably isn't for you.

Romance (so far) has little role in this, and that is great. But the subversion and god tier trolling abilities of the MC are what make this great and a cut above the others. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
My Father in Law is Lu Bu
September 26, 2016
Status: c150
The writing style is okay. It's not good, nor bad. (Translation quality is lacking sometimes though when I read it)

The MC has one cheat ability, and that is time travel, unfortunately, its world development is lacking. In that there are no real consequences to changing history and time travel. You basically don't know why the time travel device exists (it's not important for this kind of series, but if you constantly mention the rules of the device, then you need to explain some kind of back story for it.... more>> Maybe the author will, in the future).

Maybe its that he hasn't done enough to vastly change history yet.
Maybe its that the author doesn't want to focus on that.
But the main point is, that its primary weakness (like most xian xia), is character development of non-MC characters. In deed, the MC is the sole driving force of this series. That isn't bad if the most important thing is the MC, but in a series with historical figures, you really really need to have character development of the historical figures, especially if you saved someone from death.

Other than that, unlike other cheat abilities, his is rather tame. He can (largely) only bring a limited quantity of future items to the past. It isn't explained well (how much he can bring to the past, nor the consequences though).

There is room for growth for this series. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean
Godly Stay-Home Dad
February 8, 2019
Status: c22
It's not bad.

The characters are decent enough, and have some depth. Its different from the usual killy killy ones,

But there's one thing that is hard to take. A child does not automatically go up to a stranger who says he is your Dad, and start dissing her own family members.

... more>> She also does not automatically accept a new name from a "new" dad, and reject what her mom says.

She also doesn't automatically love the dad more than the mom or "aunt" who raised her.

In other words, the child isn't realistic, and seems to take action only to show up everyone else.

Its a small annoyance, but since the child is in half the chapters, its a big part.

Other than that, its pretty decent. Not good enough for a re-read, but enough for at least 1 read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
The Strategy to Become Good at Magic
October 11, 2017
Status: c91
Its hilarious.

The plot barely exists, but the comedy is great.

Unlike japanese OP characters, this one is different because its a real japanese loli girl protagonist (gender bender =/= female protagonist, because they never act like one, in that no, most of them are in fact going to tend toward males, instead of being stereotypical fat otaku perverts).

... more>> Sure, most of the comedy comes from MC's common sense =/= world's common sense, but that's infinitely better than pervert, harem, and rape jokes (found in most japanese transmigration series with OP characters).

And yes, I know this is chinese, but I have no context to compare it to other chinese op real female MC transmigration series focused on comedy.

Oh and yes, the MC is greedy, but not as bad as Weed (LMS), so there is that, and unlike LMS, it is actually funny here. In general, she is a good nature person. But since, she already has everything, no need to read copious amounts of padding chapters filled with nothing but snore fest training/skill up chapters. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean
Tensei Shoujo no Rirekisho
May 27, 2016
Status: c9
Its pretty good. ... more>>
Spoiler

The MC is not a male reincarnated into a female, or turned into a female (which is gender bender, and I don't ever really call that a female protagonist, because at heart, they always act like a guy, and never deal with what its like to be a girl, which I think is a different experience from being a guy, and biologically, they will most likely be attracted to males, and not maintain their attraction to females.) And its not a story about a disgusting wretch of a person who is so disgusting, you can't ever finish reading the story and don't understand why its so popular or even considered good, even with its terrible writing *cough* mushoku *cough*.)

[collapse]

This series is neat. The MC is pretty entertaining to watch, and if you like upbeat but kind of weird female protagonists with a hint of narcissism and apathy, then its even better.

The writing/translations are pretty good.
And she doesn't end up in a "well to do" family either, just a poor commoner family in a poor village.

And she actually uses science (or well, mostly advanced technology) to make the world a better place, since its not a "magic series" or a "MC becomes godly" series.

Which, I have to tell you, its a pretty good change of pace. Almost like a less-blacksmith centered seiun no kakeru, except with more technology, some magic, and a female MC.

So yeah, its weird right? A reincarnation story where the MC can't use magic, but uses tech instead, in a world of magic? Insane, right? But that's what makes it great. And her non-polite and proper generic japanese girl style personality. Like a mini-kumoko, so to speak, except with more conceit.

I'll probably update the review as the series goes on. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
Akuyaku Reijou wa Danna-sama wo Yasesasetai
June 27, 2019
Status: Completed
Contrary to popular belief, there is no reverse harem. So BIG plus. (Harem implies that all leads are in love with MC, not just "being around them"). A love "V" is hardly a harem.

Yeah, its pretty harsh. Especially the MC. I won't spoil it too much, but to expect lots and lots of persecution. I mean wholly sh*t, does it get you frustrated. You understand it. It is realistic. Rumors are bad but, this just hits home with how really frustrating it can get. Don't expect much catharsis.

But that's all... more>> part of real life. In fact, compared to every other "villainess" story out there, this is simply the most realistic portrayal of a human possible. Why? Because you can feel that the MC is a real complex character, and not just a 2D caricature. And she doesn't have any special powers. I mean like none. She can literally be the "normal" person sitting next to you. No isekai, no OP magic, none like that. Just a straight up ordinary person, with a bit more rash. Everything you would expect a teenage girl to be.

Expect slow romance development. But that's a plus. Its important that its slow. I'm reading this for people falling in love until the point they officially get together.

Expect realistic portrayals of human nature or behavior (especially for the MC). I can't stress this enough. She is the most realistic portrayal of a human ever, in any series. The author has a better understanding of human nature, and a less romanticized view on "love". Because yeah, in real life it takes months or years to "let go" or some times never.

The ending is expected, but doesn't disappoint. Its the ride that is most important. But the great ending doesn't help. It certainly isn't a weak ending. I think it handles relationships pretty well.

I recommend this 100%, 10/10, re-read again.

You've read the rest, now read the best. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
New.

Exciting.

Edge of your seat action in the first 5 chapters.

... more>> A very unique character, not your typical boring generic cowardly Japanese MC.

A Psychopath who actually knows they are a psychopath instead of trying to justify their psychotic killing sprees with "righteousness" or other bullsh*t.

It pulls you in soooooooooo fast. I can't wait for more. I really can't, to the point that I'm considering reading the raws.

And the MC isn't a boring edgelord either. She just wants to go on killing sprees, like a true psychopath. Oh my god, is this character refreshing for a Japanese series.

Usually they are psychotic or try to justify their actions or usually edge lord murderers or rapists, and try to make you feel like they are justified. Nope. She's just a cold blooded (well, she likes killing so probably not cold blooded) killer.

I'm in love with how refreshing this is. Lets hope it keeps that way, and she keeps her non-nonchalant psychopathy and mass murdering. I don't want her to develop "friendship" or "love", or any of that boring cliche stuff.

Just keep on murdering. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Just read any Korean real world becomes game/fantasy web novel instead.

They are all 1000x times better than this trash. And you are already reading them, don't even try to read this filth.

Its not like this is the first attempt at it, but, it is one of the worst I have ever read.

It feels like you aren't reading a Japanese Web novel attempt at this kind of plot, but more like a sh*tty mass clone chinese webnovel plot that you can't tell apart from each other anymore.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean
Release that Witch
October 20, 2016
Status: c106
On a side note, I'm really surprised at the quality of this series. I'm not sure if its just the translator, or the writer is really good, but this is the quality and level of writing that I expect from most writers, especially Chinese writers (you know, consider the majority of them are terrible grammar, pacing, and plot wise).

To be honest, If I didn't already know it was Chinese, I would never have suspected it to be chinese, since its quality is for superior to 99% of chinese novels out... more>> there.

The theme is different and unique enough. The style of writing is quite different, in that its a european fantasy. There are no usual chinese troupes and cliches.

And most importantly of all, there is no use of Chinese idioms (I swear to god if see mount tai again, you won't be able to tell if I'm laughing or crying).

There are no peanut gallery style padding (where unimportant mob character A says "blah blah"), and all the side plot and stories end up adding to the story later.

And its a daily novel too. That means the high level of writing, plot development, and character development where events actually lead to something tells you something about how much effort the author is giving into this series (and the translators as well).

The characters are actually developed. The author goes in depth on most major characters, including backgrounds and feelings, and they aren't just tossed to the side either.

The Harem, oh man, its not really a harem. He is surround by girls (due to the plot of the story revolving around witches), but the other girls don't really love him and vice versa. He doesn't really like anyone really, and is pretty shy or dense about the main (and only) girl.

Conclusion:
This is a rare gem among chinese webnovels. There is little to no use of cliches or the usual chinese troupes. There are little to no use of chinese culture specific things (so foreigners won't be lost at some references). The characters are well written. There are no tangents, padding, filler, etc. Everything leads to either more plot and set ups, or more character development.

Its something you wouldn't expect with all the trashy chinese webnovels being translated nowadays. A rare gem of a series of excellent quality.

Rating: SSS
Rank: Top on my list of series to read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Promethean
Promethean rated it
Bishoujo wo Jouzu ni Nikubenki ni Suru Houhou
April 8, 2016
Status: --
It's what you expect from the description. Dark, dark, dark. I couldn't get past the first few chapters, because if you aren't into reading about perverted asshole (nearly NTR, though its more of corruption), tags from all your Japanese porn sites then this isn't for you. Because there is a lot of that.

Yeah. There isn't much to describe it by, as the summary is on point. Once again, its dark, dark, dark. Its like reading about the early stages of s*x trafficking. Well, at least its better than 90% of... more>> most harem novels out there, because it isn't cliche generic crap you've read over again. Because trust me, you have not read this before. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report