Report Review
127 Reviews


OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Magi’s Grandson
December 14, 2016
Status: c46
Grammar: 4/5 (2.5/5 from AbsurdTL, but it's understandable considering neither Japanese nor English are his/her primary language)
Story: 3/5
Writing: 4/5

This series is a comedy piece. That said, I have been smiling and laughing throughout the whole piece. The early chapters are pretty much just slice-of-life and comedy mixed with fantasy. The later parts add a bit more action and some meandering attempts at drama, but mostly stick with the comedy it does so well. The grammar is fairly well done throughout, occasional awkward wording/phrasing appears but does not... more>> cause the series to stumble (my regards to the translation team on their excellent work). The story is fairly standard, but also almost self aware in it's use of the source material as parody/comedy. The writing is excellent, lending to an almost idiotically intelligent MC (Has modern knowledge, but seems to lack in basic human empathy, quite often confused about what should be normal). I love this series and have thus far read it twice over to it's current chapter.

I'll definitely be following this series closely, and even should the quality drop I imagine I'll just reread the earlier chapters to find some joy in it. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Heroine of the Broken Engagement
October 22, 2018
Status: c48
(Update chapter 48: It just gets worse and worse. Horrible characters with negative development, as in they lose some of their character the further the story progresses. The reasoning of the villains and their actions don't match up, neither does anything progress without some extremely flimsy plot followed up by extremely thick plot armor. It's trying to be a gag-comedy but it fails miserably because of subpar storytelling, punchlines, and characters.)

Quick problems and quicker resolutions. Another series that gets the writing done too fast and leaves no suspense... more>> for the reader. The author doesn't even get the emotional rollercoaster going up to a good degree before letting the readers down. Romance is a genre where this is really important, romance never happens all at once, it's a slow accumulation of small things. Same with Hate, Envy, and pretty much everything that embodies a good villain, it's about the slow accumulation to the bursting point. If everything happens in an instant it feels unjustified, or it just doesn't make sense period. Some may argue that unjustified is good for a villain, but that's a pretty cheap villain if you ask me. A good villain has a good reason to do all the wrong things. You empathize with their reasons but you disagree with their methods. That's what makes a good villain. This series pretty much does the Chinese Xianxia thing where enemies are enemies for the sake of being enemies. Just because you're in that other school, you are now my lifelong enemy to the death, there are no in-betweens unless we are of the opposite s*x or you save the life of someone close to me. See, doesn't make sense. Evil is almost never evil for the sake of being evil (unless they are extremely socio/psychopathic in which case not sure if they can really help it), Evil is usually evil because it's something working against your interests (or someone else's interest). <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
I Shaved. Then I Brought a High School Girl Home.
October 19, 2018
Status: v1c3
Wow, was thinking I was going into the standard Falls-in-Love-on-the-Spot kinda novel, but was pleasantly surprised by the way things are turning out.

Grammar: 4.2/5

Writing: 4.3/5

... more>> Story: 4/5

The grammar is pretty spot on, translation is tight. The writing style is smooth and vivid, easily bringing to mind images of what is happening even without too many descriptions. The story itself is pretty decent thus far, though I can't really judge it with only 3 chapters and a prologue, so I'll have to wait for more chapters before I can make a proper judgment on this.

Overall, really enjoying this story. Looking forward to more translated chapters of this novel :D <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Main Character Hides His Strength
January 4, 2017
Status: c13
Grammar: 4/5
Story: 3.5/5
Writing: 3.5/5

Great stuff.

The grammar is pretty decent, the translation group puts in quite a bit of effort. I've personally only stumbled upon a couple of mistakes per chapter which is more than forgivable. Rare occasions of awkward wording/phrasing do appear, but not enough to really make you stumble until the early portion of chapter 12. The story isn't very original, but the writing style of the author is enough to make up for the gap, though it could be better. I am enjoying this series from... more>> the get-go, and plan on continuing until it ends, the translation group gives up, or it takes a steep dive in quality. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Grammar: 2/5
Story: 2.5/5
Writing: 2~2.5/5

First of all, the grammar is quite bad. The tenses jump between past/present tense in almost every sentence. The entire thing is rife with mixed word usage, awkward wording/phrasing, misspelling, and the above noted tense intermixing in practically every sentence. The story while slightly original in it's premise also seems to lean extremely heavily on the usual fantasy OP MC with a witless Female lead who follows the MC everywhere being amazed at his OP-ness (pun intended). The writing... I can't really get a grasp... more>> for the author's style since the grammar is difficult to muddle through. It's possible the original author had written this with a very humorous style of writing with witty commentary and the like, but currently nothing seems to really come through other than a rather ordinary story about some OP-guy pulling ridiculous stunts while amazing a rather lack luster female lead.

All in all, not really worth the read unless you don't mind the grammar, in which case it might work as a comedy piece. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Manuke FPS
December 8, 2016
Status: c18
Grammar: 2.5/5
Story: 2.5/5
Writing: 2.5/5

First, I would like to state my initial impression of this series: About average.

With that out of the way, Grammar is pretty hard to get around with this series. I understand that translating from one language to another is very difficult, and even professionals (With full publishing companies behind them) tend to make a mess of things. There are multiple contextual differences that just can't be bridged without a deep explanation or having been personally immersed in. Second, the story is a bit lacking in... more>> all areas, it's interesting enough to keep your attention, but not enough to make rereading it enjoyable. Lastly, the writing... I'd actually say that the writing is below average, but the author tries to color in as much of the world as he can. Unfortunately, the writer does not provide enough color. He does not let you experience the environment in any real way, only stating that he is in a cave with a curved wall on one side of the entrance, not even indicating which side. There are no real descriptors given for the environment, you're left to just use your own imagination to put the world together instead of being shown the author's world (which is exactly what writing a story should).

If the translator takes on an editor, I feel that there would be a marked improvement to the story itself, and I would not be above the translator taking some liberties to add some color to the story.

This series is best for a back burner when you've run out of everything else to read and just want some gun-wielding action in a fantasy setting. (Also, I'd ignore that "Multiple Personality" Tag... Nothing as of yet has even remotely shown a hint of personality let alone multiple personalities.) <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
The Day I Found Her
October 21, 2018
Status: c2 part2
Same Feels as involved in the first part (https://www. Novelupdates. Com/series/the-day-i-disappeared/). The amount of hate one feels for Gilbert is phenomenal.

To destroy a person who loves you so completely like that is something else, intentional or not.

3/15/19: This feels like one of those stories you go to when your day was just a little too happy. The kinda happy that feels suspiciously ominous. Read a few chapters of this and just say, eff you world good night. Otherwise, you'd be an idiot like me, reading this because you... more>> want to feel the hurt. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Some of the side stories are reality checks for this Fantasy world, real heart-breakers for people like me.

Grammar: 2.5/5

Writing: 3/5

... more>> Story: 2.5/5

First, the reason I give this a higher rating than my three systems would indicate is the sense of realism the author was able to give emotionally with his side stories and the feeling of tragedy given with a few of the side stories.

The grammar is about average, quite a few instances of awkward wording/phrasing. The writing is just a little above average, quite slow paced and a bit too redundant in some areas. The story is about average for a fantasy story, but it does lend itself quite well towards a bit of realism as far as fantasy reincarnation stories go.

All-in-all, not the best, but a good read to pass some time. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Grammar: 3.5/5
Story: 2.5/5
Writing: 2.9/5

Initially I enjoyed the story, probably from chapter 3~18. That aside, let's get to the actual review.

The grammar is about standard most of the time, showing instances of awkward wording/phrasing, and misspelling. The story is nothing new, and quite frankly it causes the later chapters to become extremely predictable and boring. The writing, while it has its moments, becomes rather dull and lacks any real meaning aside from making the MC look better. Initially, the MC is portrayed as a strong-willed older woman in the... more>> body of a child, which then degrades in later chapters to confused tween wondering which boy-toy is actually in to her. I understand that this is following the usual shojo-like development where everyone loves the MC, but like so many other Harem and Reverse-Harem stories, the loves only develops naturally with one character while the rest are extremely questionable.

Overall, I'm sad in the drop of of story and writing quality. It was a nice start, but degraded to a stereotypical shojo-reverse-harem story. I was really hoping for more from this series. I'll finish it off, but only because I'm hoping for it to revert back to it's amazing origins of Strong-willed woman finding her way in the world and possibly finding that perfect someone to stay by her side. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Skeleton Knight, in Another World
December 14, 2016
Status: v4c7
Grammar: 3/5
Story: 3/5
Writing: 4.5/5

Grammar is rather average, with quite a few instances of awkward wording/phrasing, and misspelling. The story is about average, fantasy setting using a transferred person. The writing is where this series is exceptional. The author makes good use of descriptors to paint a pretty and slightly tainted picture of his world. You get a real feel for what the environments are like as well as some rather neatly colored in characters. The interactions are interesting for the most part, and the exposé instances fill in... more>> quite a few gaps. I imagine that the author is really dedicated to pushing his world out there for other people to see. Still, there are a few problems as mentioned by a few other reviews. The story has no solid plot line (though I do not personally find any fault with it since it makes it feel more slice-of-life-ish in my opinion) with the main characters just getting dragged along by circumstances and his own whimsical nature. Most of the plot is progressed by the female leads, and the actual purpose of the MC is rather vague even up to this point in Volume 4. Still, the MC is really fleshed out, giving some rather human feeling decisions in moments where his greed gets the better of him (he does things for equally selfish and selfless reasons while trying to maintain an image of himself that hopefully would make him look better in the eyes of the female lead and their race as a whole). Unfortunately this series does suffer from episodic villains. Each villain aside from the Main Royal Villains are dealt with shortly after they are introduced.

Overall, I'm really enjoying this series as it brings a breath of much deserved quality storytelling to the light novel industry. I'll be keeping close tabs on this series until either the author of translation group gives up, or the quality takes a steep dive off a cliff into the abyss. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Returning from the Immortal World
November 25, 2016
Status: c468
Grammar: 2.1/5
Story: 2.1/5
Writing: 1.8/5

The author could do with some improvements... to the fight scenes... to the dialogue... to the character development... to pretty much everything. The only reason I can really keep reading this is that I've gotten this far and don't want to quit.

(Update as of Chapter 468: I figured out one of the things that have been bugging me about this series. Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, is very pretentious. Every word spoken is forced through a filter of I'm bigger than you so... more>> you have to listen to me. Every action taken is from some supreme point of view that is ridiculously wrong. Every situation they find themselves in is just a setup for some pretentious show of power or wealth. There's no middle ground, you're either 100% right or 100% wrong in this series, and if you're not the MC you're most likely 100% wrong.)

(Side note, another Rant: Damn these word count filling bastards... The author tells you information about something in one paragraph then immediately has the character repeat the exact same information with hardly any variations if any. I really hate this. It's a pointless waste of space. It's a waste of time. Mostly, it's just stupid to repeat the exact same bit of information twice without so much as an idea separating them. It's like: The circle was very round, it was so round it was surprising. "That circle is so round it's surprising!" exclaimed the MC, marveling at its roundness.)

(Update as of Chapter 374: Conversations in this series all feel monotone. Everyone has the same way of speaking, regardless of male/female, age, position, or what-have-you. They all talk in the same way. I like the face-smacking bits, but that's about it. Everything else feels too contrived. Nothing really feels natural with this story.)

It might be way too soon to give a proper review, but I will go on what they have dished out thus far. While it has quite a few of the typical Xianxia stereotypes, it also has a good dose of humor. Unfortunately, this series is also plagued by quite a few instances of misspelling and awkward wording/phrasing. The writing, while not the worst I've seen in a Chinese series, is far from being anything different from the typical Xianxia. The explanations given on what is going on are the typical "this is the way it is, it's simple, you should understand" for where they pretend that the information is common sense (I detest this way of writing as it almost seems to ridicule common sense and proper writing form).

All in all, it's entertaining at times and I'll wait for a bit more before updating this review and giving it a proper assessment. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Okoborehime to Entaku no Kishi
October 2, 2018
Status: --
I'm amazed... actual CHAPTERS instead of a single page labeled as a chapter. This is too intense for me.

Aside from that, translation quality is fairly great, the story is nice and detailed, and the writing is pleasant.

I've always disliked stories about political dramas because they simplified how twisted and complex things would really be. They would have some impending threat and simply sweep in and miraculously fix it. Real political strife is complex, dirty, and not always for a reason other than because they don't want someone else to... more>> have one up over themselves. Real politics have no real solution other than complete destruction of all parties involved because for one to come out on top at least one other has to be at the bottom. This story takes a complex political situation in which there is no real answer and procrastinates as problems come and go, either being solved or resolved in some manner while still being an underlying issue (damn, just like real life). So, I might not like political dramas, but this story does a decent job of having that sour in the gut feeling I get from real life political problems. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
I am the Newly Born Woman of Around Thirty
March 10, 2018
Status: --
Welp, sadly the switch in translators makes this series unreadable for me. The initial translator did brilliantly, but then Journey to the Sky took over and I can't bring myself to struggle through more than a few chapters.

The story is great, the MC is funny, and I like where it is going, but the translation quality kills me. I can't read it, the English is too broken. I can't. T_T
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Update as of Chapter 29: I'm loving the relationship dynamics being displayed, it feels like a real couple slowly starting to tease their way into the other party's heart. The feelings don't feel plastic like many other "Romance" stories, it feels genuine and as spontaneous as real life thus far.

Update as of Chapter 19: The grammar is going into a slow decline, but nothing too bad, yet. The story is slowly starting to gain traction, with the setting firmly taking root, and the beginnings of an undertone to the story... more>> showing its face. I'm really looking forward to where this story takes us.

Update: I 300% missed that Yaoi tag... or was it even there to begin with? Either way, just do note down that it's there.

Loving it so far. Fairly well translated, just a few errors that don't detract from the word flow too badly. The premise and setting are nothing new but are executed quite well thus far. I'm looking forward to reading more of this series. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
The Great Conqueror
August 28, 2017
Status: c98
Honestly, of the three copy pasta titles this author pushed out, this would be the greater of its brethren. The MC has more personality and bite to him. The plot is palpable and resonates with an almost zealous sense of possible religious fervor. Of all his stories, this series alone gave me a little tingle.

Grammar: 2.3/5

Writing: 3.9/5

... more>> Story: 0.5/5 (It's been rehashed three times over by this same author, almost identical story, plot devices, and conversations while only changing the settings and names.)

Grammar is pretty bad at times, though it's understandably difficult to translate from Chinese to English it could be better. Writing is pretty consistent with this author, no real improvement through any of the works I've read through but still enjoyable. The story is unoriginal by the author's own hand. Rehashing almost identical stories with almost identical dialogue through different settings feels almost like cheating. The templates are literally all the same. Most of the "jokes" are rehashed as well. Similar MCs, exact same female cast with different names and abilities, female love interest is introduced in almost the exact same formula (starts with the strong female lead, then introduces the love interest without getting to deep into the character before suddenly throwing the love interest into your face with rapid relationship development before love interest is carted off to the side).

All in all, not a really good way to push out stories, but honestly I'm enjoying all three of em. I'd recommend picking the setting of your choice and sticking with that one story.
    1. Tempest of Stellar Wars = Post Modern Si-Fi with Mecha and moderate Cultivation
    1. Battle Frenzy = Si-Fi with Fantasy and hints of Cultivation
    1. The Great Conqueror = Fantasy with Beast Powers and hints of Cultivation
<<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Dominion’s End
December 6, 2016
Status: v2c7
Superbly written.

Grammar: 4.3/5
Story: 4/5
Writing: 4/5

(Side note: As a few others have noted, the transition is fairly Jarring between the volumes. I would have also very much appreciated it if the author had immediately continued the side story, though I did appreciate the humor provided by the extra.)

Another gem, except it is polished and gleaming in this gritty post-apocalyptic world. Grammar is exceptional, high praise to the translation team. The story takes the Chinese culture and depicts a very surreal kind of apocalypse. The writing is smooth,... more>> the action is fast, and the tension is almost enough. Almost enough, but falls just a little short. Don't get me wrong, I am loving this series. I just have to state that while the story is great, it doesn't really allow you to connect with the characters. It almost feels as if aside from the older brother the Author is trying to distance himself from the other characters because he plans to kill them (which is the opposite of what he should do). I'll be reading this, and rereading it, until the author finishes the story, drops the story, or the story takes a steep dive in quality into some unfathomable abyss. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
This is the Chinese OnePunch Man (it's golden).

Grammar: 1.9/5

Writing: 3.4/5

Story: 2.1/5

The grammar is sub-standard, lots of awkward wording/phrasing, misspelling, and instances of convoluted syntax. The writing is pretty well paced and enjoyable despite the horrible grammar. The story is nothing really new, but it is very much comedy gold. I personally think of this as the Chinese version of OnePunch Man.

I look forward to continuing this series.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
MMORPG: Rebirth of the Legendary Guardian
April 16, 2017
Status: c13
Grammar: 3/5
Writing: 2.7/5
Story: 2.4/5

The grammar is fairly standard with instances of awkward wording/phrasing, misspelling, and incorrect word choice. The writing style of the author is just slightly above average, but not really good enough to keep a constant flow going. The story itself is fairly standard without much innovation thus far, taking heavy influence from common MMO's such as World of Warcraft and others (though it feels most dependent on WoW).

Overall, I am enjoying this series.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Super Urban Master
April 8, 2019
Status: c70
Not sure how to rate this other than Meh.

The writing and story are pretty much just cliche after cliche of wish fulfillment. Things are resolved too quickly, problems pop up that are almost nonsensical, and there are just really cheap resolutions to everything. The story doesn't hold enough meaning to get invested in and the characters are all so shallow and thin that cardboard feels like it's being too generous of a descriptor.

Not exactly a good read unless you've exhausted everything else and just want some good ole wish fulfillment.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Vermillion
September 20, 2018
Status: c20
This story is heavy. Similar in style to Grimgar Fantasy but giving them game powers. It's gritty and surreal.

Grammar: 4/5

Writing: 4/5

... more>> Story: 4.2/5

The grammar was splendid, the translator and the team behind them probably put in a lot of effort. The writing is quite nice in setting a darker tone with lighter moments interspersed between to keep you from drowning in the tension. The pace is slow, but it builds everything up and the world building is decently done. The characters have yet to experience any real growth aside from the MC. The MC has already started to change due to the harsh nature of the world they were forced into. While the story itself isn't an original concept, the way it's presented is quite a work of art.

A bit of advice, don't read this if you dislike slow-paced stories. It's very slow.

Overall, a good read, but it's sad it was dropped. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report