Report Review
139 Reviews


OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Trash of the Count’s Family
October 15, 2018
Status: c41
Whew, this is that Good-Good I'm always lurking for.

Grammar: 4/5

Writing: 4.2/5

... more>> Story: 3.9/5

Grammar is well done, almost perfect, though a few mistakes and word flow stumbles occur it is more than readable. The writing is well done, the story is logical to a certain extent with motivations for the actions that the characters take with consequences playing out in amusing ways. The story is a mashup of a few common troupes with a nice little twist thrown in.

Overall, a really nice read. I just pray that the quality in the translation, the author's writing style, and the story don't drop. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
The Other World Dining Hall (WN)
June 17, 2017
Status: c17
Thank you, Fox's Coffee Time for picking up this gem of a series. I was so sad when the initial series stopped being translated at Chapter 15.

In general, I love this series for its simplicity and ability to give you tantalizing glimpses of a world beyond our own with a backdrop of the familiar.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Kuishinbo Elf
April 16, 2017
Status: c38
I wasn't expecting it to get good, pleasantly surprised.

Grammar: 1.7/5 (Formerly a 2.5~3/5)
Writing: 2.5/5
Story: 3.5/5

(Update as of Chapter 38: Grammar is slowly taking that downhill slide. The story is slowly starting to get predictable, with plot devices being used almost the chapter after they are introduced. There is a sense of instant gratification that is being used to quickly fill in the plot now that things have progressed so quickly. I don't find the grammar to be too unbearable despite my low score, I only rate... more>> it harshly because the tenses jump back and forth between past and present almost every other sentence.)

The grammar is passable at it's worst and fairly good starting from Chapter 6 onward (definitely a translator hard at work here). The writing style of the author is about standard. The part that allowed me to enjoy this series thus far has been the story finally taking an upswing into a slightly darker tone. I really look forward to what this author can bring out in his world.

All-in-all, I appreciate the effort the Translator goes through, and hopes he takes this series to it's eventual completion. I'm really rather enjoying this series. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Heroine of the Broken Engagement
October 22, 2018
Status: c48
(Update chapter 48: It just gets worse and worse. Horrible characters with negative development, as in they lose some of their character the further the story progresses. The reasoning of the villains and their actions don't match up, neither does anything progress without some extremely flimsy plot followed up by extremely thick plot armor. It's trying to be a gag-comedy but it fails miserably because of subpar storytelling, punchlines, and characters.)

Quick problems and quicker resolutions. Another series that gets the writing done too fast and leaves no suspense... more>> for the reader. The author doesn't even get the emotional rollercoaster going up to a good degree before letting the readers down. Romance is a genre where this is really important, romance never happens all at once, it's a slow accumulation of small things. Same with Hate, Envy, and pretty much everything that embodies a good villain, it's about the slow accumulation to the bursting point. If everything happens in an instant it feels unjustified, or it just doesn't make sense period. Some may argue that unjustified is good for a villain, but that's a pretty cheap villain if you ask me. A good villain has a good reason to do all the wrong things. You empathize with their reasons but you disagree with their methods. That's what makes a good villain. This series pretty much does the Chinese Xianxia thing where enemies are enemies for the sake of being enemies. Just because you're in that other school, you are now my lifelong enemy to the death, there are no in-betweens unless we are of the opposite s*x or you save the life of someone close to me. See, doesn't make sense. Evil is almost never evil for the sake of being evil (unless they are extremely socio/psychopathic in which case not sure if they can really help it), Evil is usually evil because it's something working against your interests (or someone else's interest). <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
I Shaved. Then I Brought a High School Girl Home.
October 19, 2018
Status: v1c3
Wow, was thinking I was going into the standard Falls-in-Love-on-the-Spot kinda novel, but was pleasantly surprised by the way things are turning out.

Grammar: 4.2/5

Writing: 4.3/5

... more>> Story: 4/5

The grammar is pretty spot on, translation is tight. The writing style is smooth and vivid, easily bringing to mind images of what is happening even without too many descriptions. The story itself is pretty decent thus far, though I can't really judge it with only 3 chapters and a prologue, so I'll have to wait for more chapters before I can make a proper judgment on this.

Overall, really enjoying this story. Looking forward to more translated chapters of this novel :D <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Okoborehime to Entaku no Kishi
October 2, 2018
Status: --
I'm amazed... actual CHAPTERS instead of a single page labeled as a chapter. This is too intense for me.

Aside from that, translation quality is fairly great, the story is nice and detailed, and the writing is pleasant.

I've always disliked stories about political dramas because they simplified how twisted and complex things would really be. They would have some impending threat and simply sweep in and miraculously fix it. Real political strife is complex, dirty, and not always for a reason other than because they don't want someone else to... more>> have one up over themselves. Real politics have no real solution other than complete destruction of all parties involved because for one to come out on top at least one other has to be at the bottom. This story takes a complex political situation in which there is no real answer and procrastinates as problems come and go, either being solved or resolved in some manner while still being an underlying issue (damn, just like real life). So, I might not like political dramas, but this story does a decent job of having that sour in the gut feeling I get from real life political problems. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
I am the Newly Born Woman of Around Thirty
March 10, 2018
Status: --
Welp, sadly the switch in translators makes this series unreadable for me. The initial translator did brilliantly, but then Journey to the Sky took over and I can't bring myself to struggle through more than a few chapters.

The story is great, the MC is funny, and I like where it is going, but the translation quality kills me. I can't read it, the English is too broken. I can't. T_T
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Main Character Hides His Strength
January 4, 2017
Status: c13
Grammar: 4/5
Story: 3.5/5
Writing: 3.5/5

Great stuff.

The grammar is pretty decent, the translation group puts in quite a bit of effort. I've personally only stumbled upon a couple of mistakes per chapter which is more than forgivable. Rare occasions of awkward wording/phrasing do appear, but not enough to really make you stumble until the early portion of chapter 12. The story isn't very original, but the writing style of the author is enough to make up for the gap, though it could be better. I am enjoying this series from... more>> the get-go, and plan on continuing until it ends, the translation group gives up, or it takes a steep dive in quality. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Grammar: 3.5/5
Story: 2.5/5
Writing: 2.9/5

Initially I enjoyed the story, probably from chapter 3~18. That aside, let's get to the actual review.

The grammar is about standard most of the time, showing instances of awkward wording/phrasing, and misspelling. The story is nothing new, and quite frankly it causes the later chapters to become extremely predictable and boring. The writing, while it has its moments, becomes rather dull and lacks any real meaning aside from making the MC look better. Initially, the MC is portrayed as a strong-willed older woman in the... more>> body of a child, which then degrades in later chapters to confused tween wondering which boy-toy is actually in to her. I understand that this is following the usual shojo-like development where everyone loves the MC, but like so many other Harem and Reverse-Harem stories, the loves only develops naturally with one character while the rest are extremely questionable.

Overall, I'm sad in the drop of of story and writing quality. It was a nice start, but degraded to a stereotypical shojo-reverse-harem story. I was really hoping for more from this series. I'll finish it off, but only because I'm hoping for it to revert back to it's amazing origins of Strong-willed woman finding her way in the world and possibly finding that perfect someone to stay by her side. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Grammar: 2/5
Story: 2.5/5
Writing: 2~2.5/5

First of all, the grammar is quite bad. The tenses jump between past/present tense in almost every sentence. The entire thing is rife with mixed word usage, awkward wording/phrasing, misspelling, and the above noted tense intermixing in practically every sentence. The story while slightly original in it's premise also seems to lean extremely heavily on the usual fantasy OP MC with a witless Female lead who follows the MC everywhere being amazed at his OP-ness (pun intended). The writing... I can't really get a grasp... more>> for the author's style since the grammar is difficult to muddle through. It's possible the original author had written this with a very humorous style of writing with witty commentary and the like, but currently nothing seems to really come through other than a rather ordinary story about some OP-guy pulling ridiculous stunts while amazing a rather lack luster female lead.

All in all, not really worth the read unless you don't mind the grammar, in which case it might work as a comedy piece. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Some of the side stories are reality checks for this Fantasy world, real heart-breakers for people like me.

Grammar: 2.5/5

Writing: 3/5

... more>> Story: 2.5/5

First, the reason I give this a higher rating than my three systems would indicate is the sense of realism the author was able to give emotionally with his side stories and the feeling of tragedy given with a few of the side stories.

The grammar is about average, quite a few instances of awkward wording/phrasing. The writing is just a little above average, quite slow paced and a bit too redundant in some areas. The story is about average for a fantasy story, but it does lend itself quite well towards a bit of realism as far as fantasy reincarnation stories go.

All-in-all, not the best, but a good read to pass some time. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Skeleton Knight, in Another World
December 14, 2016
Status: v4c7
Grammar: 3/5
Story: 3/5
Writing: 4.5/5

Grammar is rather average, with quite a few instances of awkward wording/phrasing, and misspelling. The story is about average, fantasy setting using a transferred person. The writing is where this series is exceptional. The author makes good use of descriptors to paint a pretty and slightly tainted picture of his world. You get a real feel for what the environments are like as well as some rather neatly colored in characters. The interactions are interesting for the most part, and the exposé instances fill in... more>> quite a few gaps. I imagine that the author is really dedicated to pushing his world out there for other people to see. Still, there are a few problems as mentioned by a few other reviews. The story has no solid plot line (though I do not personally find any fault with it since it makes it feel more slice-of-life-ish in my opinion) with the main characters just getting dragged along by circumstances and his own whimsical nature. Most of the plot is progressed by the female leads, and the actual purpose of the MC is rather vague even up to this point in Volume 4. Still, the MC is really fleshed out, giving some rather human feeling decisions in moments where his greed gets the better of him (he does things for equally selfish and selfless reasons while trying to maintain an image of himself that hopefully would make him look better in the eyes of the female lead and their race as a whole). Unfortunately this series does suffer from episodic villains. Each villain aside from the Main Royal Villains are dealt with shortly after they are introduced.

Overall, I'm really enjoying this series as it brings a breath of much deserved quality storytelling to the light novel industry. I'll be keeping close tabs on this series until either the author of translation group gives up, or the quality takes a steep dive off a cliff into the abyss. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Returning from the Immortal World
November 25, 2016
Status: c468
Grammar: 2.1/5
Story: 2.1/5
Writing: 1.8/5

The author could do with some improvements... to the fight scenes... to the dialogue... to the character development... to pretty much everything. The only reason I can really keep reading this is that I've gotten this far and don't want to quit.

(Update as of Chapter 468: I figured out one of the things that have been bugging me about this series. Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, is very pretentious. Every word spoken is forced through a filter of I'm bigger than you so... more>> you have to listen to me. Every action taken is from some supreme point of view that is ridiculously wrong. Every situation they find themselves in is just a setup for some pretentious show of power or wealth. There's no middle ground, you're either 100% right or 100% wrong in this series, and if you're not the MC you're most likely 100% wrong.)

(Side note, another Rant: Damn these word count filling bastards... The author tells you information about something in one paragraph then immediately has the character repeat the exact same information with hardly any variations if any. I really hate this. It's a pointless waste of space. It's a waste of time. Mostly, it's just stupid to repeat the exact same bit of information twice without so much as an idea separating them. It's like: The circle was very round, it was so round it was surprising. "That circle is so round it's surprising!" exclaimed the MC, marveling at its roundness.)

(Update as of Chapter 374: Conversations in this series all feel monotone. Everyone has the same way of speaking, regardless of male/female, age, position, or what-have-you. They all talk in the same way. I like the face-smacking bits, but that's about it. Everything else feels too contrived. Nothing really feels natural with this story.)

It might be way too soon to give a proper review, but I will go on what they have dished out thus far. While it has quite a few of the typical Xianxia stereotypes, it also has a good dose of humor. Unfortunately, this series is also plagued by quite a few instances of misspelling and awkward wording/phrasing. The writing, while not the worst I've seen in a Chinese series, is far from being anything different from the typical Xianxia. The explanations given on what is going on are the typical "this is the way it is, it's simple, you should understand" for where they pretend that the information is common sense (I detest this way of writing as it almost seems to ridicule common sense and proper writing form).

All in all, it's entertaining at times and I'll wait for a bit more before updating this review and giving it a proper assessment. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Remarried Empress
October 13, 2019
Status: c82
Emporer: Stereotypical Otome Game Cheating Bastard falling for the Game Protagonist

Concubine: Stereotypical bit*h Game Protagonist who kicks up a fuss

Empress: Chick who didn't see the storm coming and was caught off guard because everyone else told her it would be fine.

... more>> Prince: Waiting-on-the-sidelines-to-steal-yo-girl-since-you-don't-appreciate-her.

You know that the country is going to get f*cked in the ass if the Empress doesn't step in to mitigate the damage after she leaves. You know the Emporer and his Concubine are effed because they are about to lose the largest power their empire has, namely the Empress. You know what's going to go down, but the way the author writes and executes things just force so much emotional investment into you that you can't look away from the trainwreck that is gonna be happening in the very near future.

Great read, Author makes great use of showing instead of telling to get things done. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
Update as of Chapter 29: I'm loving the relationship dynamics being displayed, it feels like a real couple slowly starting to tease their way into the other party's heart. The feelings don't feel plastic like many other "Romance" stories, it feels genuine and as spontaneous as real life thus far.

Update as of Chapter 19: The grammar is going into a slow decline, but nothing too bad, yet. The story is slowly starting to gain traction, with the setting firmly taking root, and the beginnings of an undertone to the story... more>> showing its face. I'm really looking forward to where this story takes us.

Update: I 300% missed that Yaoi tag... or was it even there to begin with? Either way, just do note down that it's there.

Loving it so far. Fairly well translated, just a few errors that don't detract from the word flow too badly. The premise and setting are nothing new but are executed quite well thus far. I'm looking forward to reading more of this series. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
The Great Conqueror
August 28, 2017
Status: c98
Honestly, of the three copy pasta titles this author pushed out, this would be the greater of its brethren. The MC has more personality and bite to him. The plot is palpable and resonates with an almost zealous sense of possible religious fervor. Of all his stories, this series alone gave me a little tingle.

Grammar: 2.3/5

Writing: 3.9/5

... more>> Story: 0.5/5 (It's been rehashed three times over by this same author, almost identical story, plot devices, and conversations while only changing the settings and names.)

Grammar is pretty bad at times, though it's understandably difficult to translate from Chinese to English it could be better. Writing is pretty consistent with this author, no real improvement through any of the works I've read through but still enjoyable. The story is unoriginal by the author's own hand. Rehashing almost identical stories with almost identical dialogue through different settings feels almost like cheating. The templates are literally all the same. Most of the "jokes" are rehashed as well. Similar MCs, exact same female cast with different names and abilities, female love interest is introduced in almost the exact same formula (starts with the strong female lead, then introduces the love interest without getting to deep into the character before suddenly throwing the love interest into your face with rapid relationship development before love interest is carted off to the side).

All in all, not a really good way to push out stories, but honestly I'm enjoying all three of em. I'd recommend picking the setting of your choice and sticking with that one story.
    1. Tempest of Stellar Wars = Post Modern Si-Fi with Mecha and moderate Cultivation
    1. Battle Frenzy = Si-Fi with Fantasy and hints of Cultivation
    1. The Great Conqueror = Fantasy with Beast Powers and hints of Cultivation
<<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Dominion’s End
December 6, 2016
Status: v2c7
Superbly written.

Grammar: 4.3/5
Story: 4/5
Writing: 4/5

(Side note: As a few others have noted, the transition is fairly Jarring between the volumes. I would have also very much appreciated it if the author had immediately continued the side story, though I did appreciate the humor provided by the extra.)

Another gem, except it is polished and gleaming in this gritty post-apocalyptic world. Grammar is exceptional, high praise to the translation team. The story takes the Chinese culture and depicts a very surreal kind of apocalypse. The writing is smooth,... more>> the action is fast, and the tension is almost enough. Almost enough, but falls just a little short. Don't get me wrong, I am loving this series. I just have to state that while the story is great, it doesn't really allow you to connect with the characters. It almost feels as if aside from the older brother the Author is trying to distance himself from the other characters because he plans to kill them (which is the opposite of what he should do). I'll be reading this, and rereading it, until the author finishes the story, drops the story, or the story takes a steep dive in quality into some unfathomable abyss. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Returning after 10000 Years Cultivation
October 21, 2019
Status: --
He, she, him, her. If you want definite gender assignment you are looking at the wrong story, or translator.

I like the story.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony
Major General’s Smart and Gorgeous Wife
October 12, 2019
Status: c48 part2
75% sure this was written either by a male, or a female who did not really understand how period blood accumulates and doesn't affect the total blood volume drastically unless there are medical issues (such as anemia or some kind of rupture/abnormally heavy period).
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OfficePony
OfficePony rated it
Super Urban Master
April 8, 2019
Status: c70
Not sure how to rate this other than Meh.

The writing and story are pretty much just cliche after cliche of wish fulfillment. Things are resolved too quickly, problems pop up that are almost nonsensical, and there are just really cheap resolutions to everything. The story doesn't hold enough meaning to get invested in and the characters are all so shallow and thin that cardboard feels like it's being too generous of a descriptor.

Not exactly a good read unless you've exhausted everything else and just want some good ole wish fulfillment.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report