Report Review
43 Reviews


BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Magic Bullet in Magic Land
November 7, 2016
Status: c19
A very promising story. Your typical transferred to another world with some power gained from a modern era game, but due to the short number of chapters we really can't see the limitations or the intricacies of the game mechanics. And ugh! That cliff hanger at the end of chapter 4!

If you liked JSDF manga/light novel I'm fairly certain you'll like this one.

EDIT: Lowered rating from 4 to 3. (If I could)

Still an interesting read, but quickly looking like it will not be one of my favorites.

... more>>
Spoiler

First 5 chapters are just excellent. OP gun fighter, FPS game mechanics as his personal skill, slaughtering of roman-type enemies... but then why does he start looking less and less op? He has the ability to win a war almost single-handedly but an arrow goes past his face and suddenly he's just an advanced long range mage? And he suddenly is afraid because he COULD die here? What about that awesome fight scene where he threw away all thoughts of survival for two little girls? And now they're harem members...

And any limitations that might make the story interesting (other than fear of arrows or magic) are pretty much dealt with when he levels up and gets massively broken OP skills.

Enemy are only fighting because someone more powerful than them will kill them if they don't. Terrible job making the enemy more personal and non-faceless.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
The King of the Battlefield
September 18, 2016
Status: c107
Absolutely love this light novel (LN). Main character (MC) is badass, vicious and takes no-sh*t from anyone. Bides his time when necessary and then absolutely slaughters everyone when he gets the chance. I came to this series after reading Summoned Slaughterer and I have to say that if you liked that series you're going to like this series.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
A real quick & dirty story to read. If you want an slice-of-life OP MC who can't even begin to use his powers efficiently because he has too much mana than this is the story for you. Otherwise if you're looking for serious plots, character development and an actual world building story than this is not for you.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
Oh I so want this story to get better.

Entire premise of the story seems to be that people get stronger the more they train/practice/study. So an MC with saint-like patience and the lack of need to sleep will naturally become superior.

Not a big fan of some of the side plots and really hoping we'll get to more of the main plot line that actually makes the readers actually cheer for the MC.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Ore to Kawazu-san no Isekai Hourouki
June 30, 2018
Status: c48
Incredibly dumb MC given super op powers. Brute force magic all the way!

Could be worse, could definitely be better. I give it a rating of "its alright".
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
The Dungeon Seeker
June 30, 2018
Status: v4c5 part6
One could argue this was a "snuff" piece.

Don't get me wrong. It is very believable why the MC acts and does what he does, but just because its realistic/logical doesn't make it anything other than a bloody constant heart wrenching stomp on the MC.

I did like parts of it, but the Manga is doing a much better job adding in "good character moments" than the LN.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Seoul Station’s Necromancer
June 25, 2018
Status: c208
An enjoyable read. Loved the first 100 chapters especially. Would highly recommend reading this, but my only gripe about it is the ending. Unfortunately, either the author wanted to end the series fast or the author really thought that the ending was a good idea. However, if you want a story where the MC starts out as a level 1 character and then using skill advances to a higher level of "play" or actions, and with an attitude of I'm better than you but I don't say it, then this... more>> is a story you can enjoy.

Not sure if the following is really a spoiler, but leaving the tag anyway:

Spoiler

Basically the ending was similarly as bad as Mass Effect 3's ending. It wasn't a choice for the reader, but it was one of those "did all of this really happen" or something like "it was all just a game the entire time". Honestly those kind of endings are the worst for me because it makes the reader (me) feel like the other red-conned the entire series that you just finished reading.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Tondemo Skill de Isekai Hourou Meshi
January 18, 2017
Status: c20
I say this about a lot of LN stories, but this story has potential.

MC is op in the sense that he could break the world's economy, and the giant mythical wolf that follows him is the OP 'power' which also gets him valuable goods that have nothing to do with his own powers.

The writing is better than other stories i've read; I just hope the translator comes back. Will edit for a more detailed review later when more chapters come out, but for now I would recommend this only to... more>> people that are patient enough to wait for more releases. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
Interesting & original concept, reusing the same hero across multiple summons. First 7 chapters are character introduction and character building of which I thoroughly enjoyed. Main character is also "saving up" female characters that the author could later than use for a multitude of things.

Unfortunately the original translator seems to have disappeared and I was all excited to see a new translator begin working on it. I was incredibly saddened however to find out that the new translator decided to skip 42 chapters. Even if a translator personally doesn't like... more>> some of the chapters, once you take on a project please do the whole project.

Will keep an eye on this series and the new translator and will edit my review if necessary. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Seiun wo Kakeru
September 18, 2016
Status: c71
A good story to read, but might not be for everyone. A light novel about a modern blacksmith going to a different world where he can really show off his expertise.

there are some problem areas, maybe due to the original author or the translators, but as long as you don't knit-pick at it the story works out just fine.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Douluo Dalu
September 18, 2016
Status: c166
A good story that takes the traditional reincarnation into a magical world and shifts it just enough to be called fairly-original. Found the main character's (MC) backstory to be fairly pointless, but the intrigue and backstory of the MC's father to be quite fascinating. The relationships between the MC and close friends/classmates were believable and interesting, as well as how they progressed even after a time-skip.

Only thing that I had trouble with was the names, but that usually happens with Chinese light novels (LN) so if you're use to that... more>> this LN should be good. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
DROPPED BY AUTHOR

Now that you've been sufficiently warned. The first 3 chapters are boring and quickly followed up my mediocre at best chapters.

As far as the actually story goes and its synopsis, I don't know if the author actually had planned out how he/she was going to reveal the OP aspect of the MC. Character is constantly bullied, then while unconscious his body knocks out 1 guy, then all of a sudden he has some game mechanics and an AI voice/menu talking back to him. I don't see the omnipotent... more>> aspect of this story and frankly after rushing through the first 7 chapters I don't have any desire to continue. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
A Traveler Across the Worlds
August 17, 2018
Status: v1c1 part2
Wow! Lots of details. Really too much and not enough story. It seems like the author is really into the concept of world building and less about the actual world. Very little plot so far, but quite a dry read and a lot of meaningless-generic foreshadowing. I think the translator either gave up on it or each individual chapter is so huge and dry that it takes a while to get through.

... more>>
Spoiler

Bad stuff happening... maybe. Other worlder! I choose you! Go figure it out. Oh, and you're not OP, but very clearly are? Maybe. Its like this, that op-ness is just to get you to normal levels. WHAT?

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
Incredibly dark, heart wrenching beginning that I really loved. The author really knew how to pull at the readers hearts and at the same time make us cheer when the "villain" got their just-deserts.

Later on it becomes a mix of upgrading stat chapters, bandit hunting, taking a disciple/brother-in-arms, long chase scene, near-war between sects and then finally a harem. I stopped reading mainly because the translator stopped, but if I had to rate the story it would definitely be a downward trend.

Beginning - 5

... more>> Bandits - 4

Chase - 3

Near-war - 3

harem - 2 <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Isekai Onsen e Youkoso!
June 30, 2018
Status: c36
MC wants to build an Onsen. OP abilities allow him to do it for cheap and spread it to the masses. A very relaxing, semi-plot-less story. I can't exactly explain why I liked reading it, but I also can't easily explain why it wasn't a great read.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Isekai Shoukan ni Makikomareta Obaachan
June 30, 2018
Status: c67
Not entirely bad, but for all slice-of-life stories authors need to realize that there needs to be plot and if there isn't a great plot then the character development needs to be beefed up to make up for the poor plot.

Here we have a plot, sort of. MC is trying to retire to the country side but keeps getting delayed. Nothing sinister happens, we just have frequent breaks and large eating around the campfire moments. MC is powerful and easily does the job of all the guards she hired to... more>> get her to her retirement safely.

So why hire guards? Why retire the MC? Why is the retirement home miles away, why couldn't she retire in the town she was in? If the reader can ask "why" at any point in the story and either be unable to point to something specific or a hint that more is to come then the author has missed a key point in writing his/her story. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
Monogatari no Naka no Hito
June 30, 2018
Status: c36
Should be called "MC crippled the world of magic."

Not a bad read, but also not really anything special to write home about. MC is immortal and found out that he might be the reason why the world of magic is so far behind, but for some reason has loads of new magic that he's never seen before.

And that's where the plot ends and the slice-of-life story mode type shows up. There are other stories that do this part better as well and so far I'm not really seeing much of... more>> a character development or a plot brewing in the background. Either the author is being really subtle about things, or trying not to go back to having a plot. I've said this before on other slice-of-life story reviews, but even when a story is designed not to have a plot, it NEEDS A PLOT! Otherwise, why bother reading it? <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
The Returner
June 30, 2018
Status: c34
An enjoyable read, to a certain extent. Author manages to turn a story with a plot into one without and then back again to one with a plot. Now that stuff is happening again I'm curious to see where the story goes, but I won't be holding my breath in anticipation for the next chapter.

Spoiler below isn't much of a spoiler, but it could create expectations in the reader; read at own risk.

... more>>
Spoiler

Plot #1:

I thought there was more to the history and background of the first world, but we didn't get exposed enough to it. MC had a history with some of the most powerful and nearly immortal beings in the world, some might even have been considered friends but for some reason both sides take an absolutely stubborn side without any further communication.

No Plot:

Then he becomes a lazy, jobless, shut-in that doesn't want to work or do anything in life other than die after having lived a life of leisure. Yeah he's super powerful, but for some reason lost all ability to play games? And is he powerful or is he intentionally crippling himself to remain "normal" in his/the world's eyes?

Plot #2:

Monsters are attracted to MC and every time MC leaves the house new portals are born. Interesting idea that looks like it'll start to rope the MC back into the story. Will he go back to being a kick-ass bad-ass or will he train up the next group of "heroes"?

[collapse]

Will reserve rating for more chapters. Pass/fail/success information on Rules to follow below:

Rule of 5 - if not interested by first 5 chapters stop reading.

Rule of 10 - if the story has not progressed or shown little to no hints about the direction of the future of the story, stop reading.

Rule of 15 - If the story has started to change or does not resemble what was written about or hinted about in the first 5 chapters then determine if it is worth continuing to read.

Rule of 30 - Is it fun to read or am I forcing myself? If I'm not really having fun reading it, then stop reading it.

  • Rule of 5 - Passed
  • Rule of 10 - Passed (barely)
  • Rule of 15 - Passed (barely)
  • Rule of 30 - Passed (barely)
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
BrotherofHavok rated it
MMORPG: Martial Gamer
June 25, 2018
Status: c208
Competently written, which is a huge plus in my mind. Too many light novels out there that I have to wonder about the authors ability to remember/re-read what they previously wrote. And unlike other game stories, this author doesn't forget that there is a world outside of the game. Though to be honest, like most game stories the author needs more non-game related parts of the story. I find myself more interested in the real world then the game, because the MC is so OP in the game and he... more>> considers it a job almost.

A very similar story to One-Punch Man but set in a VR MMORPG game. So don't look at this story for a real-world type adventure where the character has his tribulations, defeats and triumphs in equal measures. A quick and enjoyable read. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
BrotherofHavok
Death March is what I would consider in the purest sense of the word, a web novel. It really feels like the author wrote the story on a chapter by chapter basis to get the readers interested enough to read the next chapter. A light-hearted adventure story that's full of comedy, drama, fluff and...
... more>>
Spoiler

... near the end a strong feeling of impending and utterly complete destruction. Really feels like the author is ready to end this series.

Enjoyed the harem route. Not a Beta male MC, but just keeps getting thwarted by the loli's in his group that want him to jump them. Really pretty funny when the MC gets other characters to think of him as perverted when really he wants someone who couldn't be his own child. He even makes a full statement about using professionals, but I thought it would have been better if he had some kind of contract with the brothels for them to collect information and he pays them well and leaves them passed out. lol!

MC seems to be more like the focal point of the story. The people around him and the interactions they have with him (not him with them) and with other people seem to be the MC's.

[collapse]

Would recommend this as a time waster. Its good, but there is plenty of room for improvement <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report