Report Review
10 Reviews


zaim9999
zaim9999 rated it
Starting Over
December 6, 2017
Status: c70
Such a depressing story......I stopped reading after the chunk of chapters 1-23 for a good while.

It was only later that I realized the reason, the story is way too real.

My life used to be pretty awesome, until recently. Well it's still much better than many other people. But I try to blame all my problems on fate. I keep reading all this reincarnation novels and think, if only I got a chance to Start Over, I could fix all my problems. Hah. The MC is so relatable that its scary.... more>> Some of his views on life really make me think. I almost feel the author must have had to personally experience these things to write such deep stuff.

Well for some reason I restarted reading it, and well I didn't regret it. I liked the ending too. It came as a pleasant surprise.

The one thing to take away from this novel (that I kinda knew already but somehow don't apply to my life) : YOUR LIFE CAN CHANGE FROM THE MOMENT YOU DECIDE TO CHANGE IT. lol. sorry for the caps

Spoiler

"When I changed, it changed my sister, and us changing changed our parents. " this made me think how most reincarnation novels totally ignore this butterfly effect within the family. Your decisions don't only affect your life but those really close to you. And I feel so guilty knowing how much I'm making my parent's suffer. f*ck. they're good parents but after seeing a failure of a son like me, I'm sure they're blaming themselves for not doing something right. I used to be a role model for my sister. Now I feel ashamed to even give her advice.................................i hate myself.. lol... this is supposed to be a review for a novel..

[collapse]
<<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
zaim9999
zaim9999 rated it
Love You 59 Seconds
September 8, 2017
Status: c40
The story's fine... its funny and stuff. quite different in the game focus, although a bit unrealistic in the way the seme is so OP is everything.

Other than that, I realized these uke-seme type stories are not my cup of tea. meh....

... more>>
Spoiler

i mean I really can't understand a guy who feels faint from a crowd and needs to hold someone's hand to not get lost in a zoo. I mean you're a freaking university student for crying out loud!! really bro??

[collapse]

Also these chinese romance stories are seriously one-sided.... like one person's job is to take care of everything, the other person's job is to look and act cute and get taken advantage of. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
zaim9999
zaim9999 rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
July 20, 2017
Status: c208
One of the better reincarnation stories out there.... definitely worth a read. After reading so so many reincarnation stories I usually drop a story pretty easily if I don't like it.

What I really liked was the realism behind the story. No annoying cliches or plot armor and the like. Although most bad guys are kinda stupid (but not all though), overall the story flows really well.

Warning: The first few chapters are kind of annoying with all the flashbacks but if u can get through it, you're in for a exciting... more>> adventure.

The commentors are also pretty cool, specially in the later chapters, there's like a multiple discussions about what's going on and I usually find at least one other person who has the same retort as me lol. Also the translator Ryogawa is pretty active with replying which is pretty cool too. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
zaim9999
zaim9999 rated it
The Book Eating Magician
August 12, 2017
Status: c9
meh it feels too cliche..... too much plot armot.. too much coincidence.....i wanted to give it more time and read more chapters but honestly I dont feel like forcing myself, , , , , inconsistencies in logic always ruin a story for me... btw the spoiler is not that bad as I only read 9 chapters

... more>>
Spoiler

So the main cheat that the MC has is this gluttony which eats books among other things and absords the knowledge and transfers the ability to MC. And sometimes when it feels like it, it will answer the MC's question.

what I dont get is why the heck does this gluttony with its vast knowledge not know the simplest spells like lightning bolt or flame magic etc. it's almost as if it forgot all the beginner magics spells so that the MC can learn it slowly....., , ,

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
zaim9999
zaim9999 rated it
Joy of Life
October 16, 2018
Status: c452
Yeah sure, it's slow. Yeah sure, there's no epic incident every time the MC steps out of his house. But I thinks that's exactly what makes this novel so realistic. Then there's the character development which is just so relatable... or at least understandable. The interactions are so natural that you can easily imagine it happening.

One thing I'm really sensitive to, is bullsh*t from authors. This usually comes in the form constant deus ex Machina, consistent inconsistencies and half baked one line explanations for people's motives. So far I'm still... more>> really into it.

Even at chapter 452, I'm still not sure who is definitely evil (maybe cause no one is?) At times I got so confused and frustrated that I wish the MC would just kill them all and be done with it..... <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
zaim9999
zaim9999 rated it
Apocalypse Cockroach
September 26, 2017
Status: c155
I really liked the beginning and most of the rest....

but somewhere along the way the MC has a personality switch that I can't understand nor accept. Once he gets some experience he become way too arrogant and starts treating weaker people like shit. He forgets his origins. Although he does bring it up.... he still doesn't fix his attitude.

i guess it's I could still accept it but then he tries to Justify every single one of his actions and that pisses me off. Also there's no consistency in how he... more>> treats the women.... sometimes as animals/slaves sometimes as other men.... depends on his mood. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
zaim9999
zaim9999 rated it
Swamp Girl!
July 30, 2017
Status: c28
so I tried reading this.....i really did....

the summary sounded promising and so did the beginning.... but something I have been forced to admit after 28 chapters (which is more that 1/3 of the story).... so far it's been reallllyyy boring!!

I mean the last three chapters I read had like 3 things of importance happen... that too barely. Also there's almost nothing special about the MC compared to an extra character. Like he/she doesn't proactively do anything. No clear goals, or determination to do anything, not even any kind of self... more>> improvement.... in fact she/he is just letting things happen, feeling weird about the randomest things, ending up in awkward situations like a third rate drama and making them more awkward by overthinking things. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
zaim9999
zaim9999 rated it
Super Brain Telekinesis
February 4, 2018
Status: c48
Who hasn't read tons of books about superpowers? We all know how it goes, MC gets powers, meets bad people, kicks ass, meets stronger bad people, gets upgrade and kicks even more ass.

What happens if there are no bad guys? Well the MC just does whatever he wants. Buy a house for your houses so ensure you're fillial and then go off into the wild and just explore! People keep saying there's no plot, but what they fail to realize is, it's just a different kind of plot. Why do... more>> need supervillians or damsels in distress for a story? Then you can read every other story. Here it's all about chilling and exploring one's desires. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
zaim9999
zaim9999 rated it
My Father in Law is Lu Bu
March 18, 2018
Status: c116
People with two hearts? someone who could rip peoples arms by taking a step and one-punch people to death somehow takes forever to choke one person to death.

I really liked the beginning where the author kept comparing the story with actual history (not that I know it but just gave it more credibility). However the villian characters are so retarded almost all the time and the drama during fight scenes is so illogical that I just couldn't handle it.

The last straw was actually a weird info dump right in the... more>> climax of a battle.... that was so bad that I'm like fk this shit. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
zaim9999
zaim9999
The King of the Battlefield
September 4, 2017
Status: c98
MC keeps getting powerup..... idk.... maybe I read too many korean LN but feels pretty repetitive. also I dont like the system of other people being able to observe all his actions and give him this sh*t and that.

maybe would have been nicer if we got a few different perspectives. like some different POVs.... so dropping it cause too much plot armor
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report