Report Review
22 Reviews


wintia_blue08
I hope someone translate the rest. It looks interesting... the title, the premise, and it's different in that it's not an otome game based on nobility in the west or fantasy world of rpg but an oriental setting otome game instead.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
Spoiler

Prince Cecil's setting is sorta like another certain prince in a well-known otome game villainess based light novel in that they're both overachieving princes (only I believe Prince Cecil may be a bit more calculating and practical minded?) Who find the world gray and boring until they meet their respective "interesting, colorful" villainess girls. I like that while he acts all clever and composed, he seems to be more "alive" with her. In the recent chapters, too, he's treating her less of a "toy" and more of a "fiancee" I think he may have noticed his transition.

Bertia herself is not so much as a villainess as simply a childish girl who easily shows her emotions and is just so cute it's no wonder her friends want to dote on her, and ber fiance just can't get enough of her antics.

The heroine is almost a plastered cast. In these villainess stories of otome games, there are only 2 main paths so far: They become friends or the heroine hates the "villainess" with all her being. In fact, if triumphant, expect her to always be a step behind a main target/the intended fiance/a whole group of boys, looking all taunting yet "pitiful victim that needs to be protected".

I'm a little worried about what heroine is implying and villainess is hinting... will something bad happen to Cecil if he doesn't end up with the heroine? Makes one want to use a sledgehammer to destroy that "preordained fate" that the heroine is the ultimate person to love. I want to believe (and I actually do; it's just that they're all making me uneasy) that Bertia and Prince Cecil end up together. The heroine can just cry tears nonstop and bite onto her handkerchief in annoyance.

[collapse]
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
I can totally sympathize with you, Monette. Although I don't have the same trauma, I also like to hide away most of the time. Although, in her case, it's more reasonable.

Percival and Alexis have been nothing but trouble, even going so far as forgetting to say thank you and imposing heavily on her; but they've redeemed themselves recently. I also like that Monette did not easily forgive him (although you do feel some sort of pity for the prince later on). Overall, I grew to like all 3 characters, especially... more>> Monette, and I'm hoping that they resolve the mystery behind the Prince's curse and Monette gets her long-awaited peace. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
Haha, I'm almost the same as the former Brittany; a fat, lazy shut-in.

That's about it, but I still feel bad.
But as for me... man, I want to eat that bag of chips; but I want to get thinner. Just please don't be too harsh on me, Brittany.

With that said, I've decided to look forward to the progress and life of the main character, and hopefully she would reach a happy ending.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08 rated it
Witch Rebirth: Strike the Vampire
May 9, 2019
Status: c20
I've not much to say except that I've really enjoyed reading this.

Unlike some transmigration, reincarnation, or time travel stories, the main character, Yoona, goes in blind. She absolutely has no idea about this world, or what she can do, and she has no other goal than to survive, and that she'll do by leaving her life at the hands of a very dangerous man who may very well be an enemy, but at the same time is currently the only one she could trust. After all, witches are hated and... more>> scorned, and the creatures that killed her are out to get her. More questions than answers keep piling up as we get further into the story.
Spoiler

Why did she keep having those dreams? Why did she get killed? Why did she transmigrate into the body of Ribbon? Why can't her ribbon be removed at all? Can she truly trust Wicked? What past did Wicked and Ribbon have other than what meets the eye as contractors?

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08 rated it
Meng Shen Love College
July 26, 2018
Status: --
She's a little dense...

Spoiler

when you're dad panics and sends you back to your room, when he doesn't show a slight bit of joy, when he is cautious and gives you weird warnings; isn't it obvious that something's wrong?! I can only hope her father will be ok...

[collapse]

The first chapter is like a tide, it all rapidly happened - as if one was running through the forest and found a secret path.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08 rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
April 8, 2018
Status: c203
Forever alone village...

Spoiler

Ah, main character, when will someone finally fall in love with you?! Everyone seems to have their love lives settled just fine as if it was all preordained... but we're in this far and still...!

[collapse]

I really love this light novel because the main character is very funny and her expressions are very different and entertaining. If she was a real life person, I'd like to befriend her.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08 rated it
Married to the Mermen King
March 6, 2019
Status: c6
It's not bad... I mean, it certainly was interesting. But...

... more>>
Spoiler

I dislike her parents. They don't care about her, or her thoughts at all.

Spoiler

when their daughter nearly died, all they cared about was that they managed to meet a merman, and because of her near death experience, she got engaged to him. Not that she was about to die due to their neglect, or that the very merman they adore was supposed to eat their daughter.

[collapse]

And while I do understand her pain and her troubles,

Spoiler

I didn't like that she acted selfishly. I get why, but she was so mean to him (I know, I know, he was mean, too, but she did the same thing, disregarding his feelings and she also kind of took him for granted, esp. When he saved her, until the matter of him sacrificing himself to save her was brought to light, but even then she still didn't think much of him.) I guess I just felt bad for him.

[collapse]

Like what one reader had pointed out, I don't know when or how exactly did the merman fall for her. He didn't like her even when they first got engaged, and then bam: complete turn around when he got to her house.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08 rated it
Heikinten No Reijou
October 17, 2018
Status: --
Spoiler

This is different...

Spoiler

She wasn't engaged to the one she was meant to be engaged with, he ended up being engaged to: another person, neither her or the heroine, and they also did not end up together... I feel bad for the prince in a way. The heroine did not pop out of nowhere (she might, someday, but she wasn't at all revealed in this story... who knows? Maybe she'll end up with the prince?) Although no surprise with Jeremy liking her. I was actually rather half-expecting that they wouldn't end up with each other and that the story would end as per her original goal, or that the parents would be against their marriage, but no, they ended up together.

[collapse]

Jeremy's oddly obsessive fixation on her locking her up? Keeping her away from everyone's sights? Kidnapping her? Hooooh... he has the potential of being a horrible villain of the story... it's a good thing that it's only mild (?) because hey, he didn't lock her up and so far it's only all talk...

[collapse]
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08
Empress with no Virtue
September 24, 2018
Status: --
This is not only about this light novel, it's for chinese novels of ancient times stuff that usually involves the man having several wives and concubines: ... more>>
Spoiler

The schemes and plans of the wives and the quarrel of their children is the reason why one should really only have one wife. (I mean, sure, full blood siblings also quarrel for positions and inheritances, favors and the like but that just gets more complicated if there are children from different women as well!) The men just wish to indulge themselves and look at pretty ladies and have lots of descendants. The men have problems at court, so the women have to suffer through inner palace struggles as well?

[collapse]

Just wanted to say. But then again,

Spoiler

It's interesting to see a popular man chase a girl. That even if he has a harem, his true love will be a single person.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08 rated it
Crying in the Night, Unseen
March 13, 2019
Status: c5
Spoiler

First it was, "I hate this annoying person. I don't think I'll get along well with him/her."

Then it was, "Oh, this person's not so bad."

But then he adds,

"she was probably dumped for this and that reason"

However in the next chapters, he thinks,

He must regret dumping her. After all, she has a lot of good points.

Despite thinking earlier on that there were reasons for dumping her, he easily contradicts himself by thinking that there were a lot of reasons why he SHOULDN'T have dumped her.

I know, it's supposed to imply change, but since this story is short, I can but feel that the changes were rapid. Perhaps he just didn't realize?

And in the latest bit,

It becomes apparent that he likes her, especially noticed when she was putting herself down and when they saw her ex.

[collapse]

It was said that one of the painful parts about getting cheated on is thinking that you're not enough, and that you're lesser than the one he cheated on you with. This is especially true for people with low-self esteem. You come to think that you're boring, that you lack a lot of things, that he's not happy with you, and that you are easily replacable...

So I understand why she puts herself down after that moment, and why she's not motivated to look for someone new at once, especially since she also seems to have a fragile self-esteem.

The story may seem fast, but the emotions it contains somehow linger.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08 rated it
Convenient Woman
October 16, 2018
Status: --
Spoiler

Her friends are high ranking... sure, it gives satisfaction, but since it was this way, it almost looks like she deliberately caused trouble for Tooru... which I approve of! It's just that, that part really stood out. How do I say it... "meant to fulfill the reader's desire for the boy to suffer"? Anyways...

[collapse]

I'm happy that this woman didn't cry over this scum of a man. Some would cry, and others would be violent. In her case? Call a couple of buddies and forget him! 👍

I just kinda wish there was more to this story... like her not being just "convenient" but actually being relied on and him living without her. Well now, I doubt that new girl of his would do all the things she's done for him, and even if she does, that would make her no different from how she previously was. I can sort of imagine...
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08
Junai
August 1, 2018
Status: --
Spoiler

The lack of link between both of them has been highlighted by them not being in an actual relationship yet the victim acknowledging the existence of the relationship. It was pretty effective - after all, the only thing that made him feel anything was those times at the beginning. The genuine him is the doubts put throughout (especially towards the end), and while he is probably no longer hypnotized, the brainwashing was successful - pushing aside his doubts, with no reason, he simply desired this man. This is also symbolized by him not knowing his real name until the end, and so he finally falls into the darkness willingly, knowing that only in it can he seek comfort.

[collapse]
While the "fall into the darkness" theme has been around, it's both beautiful and dangerous at the same time... and can be twisted and tragic as well. While one sometimes can't understand how their minds work, it seems to make so much sense to them, and reading their perspective makes one susceptible to whatever darkness they have... like a magnet. Well, of course in the end they're fictional, so I can still extricate myself... I don't want to dare imagine it in real life, though.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08 rated it
First Marriage Then Love
July 27, 2018
Status: --
Hoo, there are a lot of troubles... Several spoilers ahead...

... more>>
Spoiler

I never thought I could see this many rivals everywhere. I knew the battlefield of love was bloody, but hooh, there's rivals everywhere you turn. Well, those "rivals" are mostly people who "regret". Of course, each rival just had to have yet other "extras" clinging unto them.

An Ran's ex-boyfriend still "loves" her after 6 years, after horrendously betraying her and cheating on her with another woman. On the other side, Yi Cheng's ex girlfriend who cheated on him with his best friend deeply regrets what she considers "one mistake ONLY"and wants to claim him from An Ran, as if the mistake was just an oversight and never existed. I despise people who use their suicide attempts and illnessesto illicit another person's concern/pity/love. Putting aside those serious issues and the cunningness, they're hurting the people they love. Of course, she's not the only one-her sister's there, too. Of course, An Ran's best friend also has trouble - she's less fortunate, however, in that her fiance-now-turned-ex is someone who can't make a proper decision and did not cherish her properly despite her loving him for 10 years. She was used as a substitute, he ruined the wedding, and caused her to have a miscarriage.

[collapse]

I'm happy to see that Su Yi Cheng is a loving husband and, although awkward, An Ran is very earnest and caring as well.

The families of these two are also very good people.

As much as I know that these two people love each other, as their marriage was pretty much done fast, I hope they fall more and more in love (although in my opinion they couldn't be more in love than they already are despite everything... he said, "Let's fall in love"? As if they aren't yet... Seriously, they care about each other so much and trust in each other confidently, you'd think they were married for 1 year already... or more...) Ah, how does one remove those stubborn "stains"?! CAn't they see that these two people are happy with each other?!? Is this going to go on for 50 years or so? Are they going to keep wasting their lives, lying in wait, even if those two are married, even if those two soon have children... don't tell me even if those two become grandparents they're still going to stick around?!

Su Yi Cheng is a refreshing man, and is basically a fresh break from those tyrants and selfish, arrogant, and easily displeased male leads in Novels. Maybe because they aren't in ancient china? A husband, a wife. Both work, and the woman doesn't have to rely on a man's existence. In ancient china novels... rivals are everywhere and you can't say anything about it because they CAN marry your husband, either as another wife or a concubine, in addition, it goes by "acquiring favors from the man", life is easily disposable, and you "should be virtuous and not jealous and small minded when your man obtains another woman." I still read those because I root for the main character and/or I want to see how they'll manage their lives. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08 rated it
Mochiron, Isharyōseikyū Itashimasu!
April 16, 2018
Status: c32
I really love this story~ she reminds me a lot of Kanoko Naedoko (from a manga series) but more money-oriented! I really love her personality and the way she acts; there wasn't a dull moment for me from ch1!

... more>>
Spoiler

It's easy to see why I agree with the commoners. I want the main character to end up with the prince.

While I like that she absolutely has zero interest in romance; I can't help but pair them together anyway.

[collapse]

I really love Yulias' character~ she's so unique, interesting, and her entire self is just so cute~ <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08 rated it
Desire
March 29, 2019
Status: c33
It was certainly interesting, but there were other points I wished Jiyeon would pay attention to during the investigation of the case.

(Sorry I wasn't able to take note of them...)

Because of Minho's enigmatic words and actions, it was easy to start thinking of it as a story with a hint of supernatural, so I had to check the tags again.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
wintia_blue08 rated it
At the End of the Wish
March 28, 2019
Status: Completed
I cried from the first chapter.

It's been a long time since I've cried while reading a light novel.

The story is filled of emotions, and while it is wonderful to let go of the hatred, and live on...

... more>> As expected, I am more bitter than the main character herself.

I can't turn back time, but with what the young lord has revealed, I can't forgive everything and everyone and live happily ever after either.

I know no one will be happy if I chose that path, but I would rather bear it and live incompletely. I shall serve as the living testament of their injustice.

He knew he could've tried to save her father and speak up, but he let his doubts get the best of him, even if this was the very man who had dedicated his life for him and declared himself innocent.

I don't want his head. I don't want his life. Rather, I don't want him at all. He is less guilty than the criminal, his father, and the people who beheaded her father, but there is no way I could live in the same space where he is. I want him to remember all that and bear it with her, knowing that he did not speak up, and she could not speak up. Remembering it and tacking that guilt on his forehead for the rest of his life should be enough, since the actual criminals are gone, and I wouldn't mind dying there, too. I'm going to make him, make all of them wish they hadn't killed my father, even those who are already dead should see us and see what they have done.

Hahahaha, got kinda dark, didn't I? That was a pretty bad end in my mind, if I say so myself.

Nevertheless, it certainly is different compared to the many chinese novels where the evildoers always get punished and revenge is exacted up until the end.

I do get the message they were trying to convey, but this is me under the influence of my emotions, which this short story splendidly brought out. Now that I have eaten, calmed down and thought about it, I would say that it is a beautiful, happy ending, but not one that would satisfy me, surprisingly, who is a lover of happy ends. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
Instead of an otome game with fairytale elements, it's more of a fairytale in otome game setting.

I came to think so because of the last part.

While the story isn't the usual comedic "villainess runs away from/runs towards her destruction end", it's still a very charming love story, and it only takes a few words to feel a myriad of emotions.

... more>>
Spoiler

It's totally not the otome game she knew anymore. Does that mean that's Anna's fate in the game? See, a person plays an otome game and strives for a happy ending with that prince. They get it and Anna and the prince are together now. And then the person somehow finds out that after that, Anna and the prince don't have a happy conclusion... that's definitely bad for an otome game. Well, Shiris did act differently and there are rumors that the prince came to like her, so I guess Anna just had a bad end of sorts. But if the prince didn't love Shiris and he couldn't have a child with Anna... he won't have 32 concubines... will he? That just ruins the whole otome game and would be weird for a heroine with a halo (or a lot of good luck) . I guess the change of the storyline cursed these two to live in misery for what they did? And that's why I said this is a fairytale set in an otome game.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
There are stories where a girl is simply the heroine of an otome game and enjoys her position in the story, and then there are stories where the villainess is the main character and the heroine is a side character or worse, a villain. (I love both types.) In here, the heroine is aware of both otome games and villainess novels, which is differrent. It's short, but though it just feels like the heroine and the villainess switched positions in this story, it's still interesting to see a different type... more>> of setting. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
wintia_blue08
After reading the first part, I headed here for the 2nd part.

It's a refreshing read; while I do like the stereotypical villainess stories of avoiding their destruction or steadfastly hurrying towards it, it's nice to read something different once in a while.

... more>>
Spoiler

1. the villainess seriously challenges the heroine instead of helping her for her own sake or avoiding/sidestepping destruction.

2. the heroine is neither bad nor good, she's not the annoying girl who interferes/acts pitiful/somewhat harasses the villainess nor is she the direct buddy bff girl.

3. The villainess is still herself, and though she changed, and got her previous memories, she's still the old Belfreya - although she now has a different personality.

[collapse]

Spoiler

1. I know she's so filled with fighting spirit and that's her whole life from the start of this story (9 year old her) to the future, but she's so filled with it that everything else feels secondary. Her parents? Her actual likes and dislikes unrelated to this? Her hobbies?

2. The prince feels like... he's just there. I get that she's the focus, but his life is only glossed over.

[collapse]

Those are just my opinions regarding the story; overall, it's very nice to read. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report