Report Review
9 Reviews


vongolax
vongolax rated it
Sekai Ichi no Imouto-sama
June 14, 2016
Status: --
Honestly it felt like it could've been a good light read, the premise is more or less cliche but since I haven't seen it in a while (as in long lost family member reunites which also happens to be some sort of high class lineage). I thought why not, could go for a good read. I did not expect myself to be so infuriated, seriously in many novels there would be situations where you would be mad because for example villain A did this which made Protagonist A mad hence... more>> making me mad. But this is just bullsh*t, I don't know why this guy takes all the sh*t his sister Dorothy and Lily gives him. In anime I can kind of see it could be funny, it happens sometimes when side characters peev the protagonist. Goddamn the things they do to him, I would rather see him shoot himself in the head and just end the story. In no way should he take this kind of treatment, the only person who remotely treats him well is Maria. I wish he would rage out, it would make it more entertaining. I think the fact he's super passive about it is what pisses me off, he even says he feels like an outsider no matter where he goes. Then why the f**k are you there, what could possibly keep you there. I normally don't review novels bu this seriously pissed me off, grow some balls Protag <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
vongolax
vongolax rated it
Ancient Godly Monarch
August 10, 2016
Status: c30
They should add most hated MC to the tags cause damn why do so many people hate you. And I use the word hate quite liberally. Not even 30 chapters in and it seems like everyone is going against the MC, I mean when you think about it the major clans/people introduced so far already wants to kill the MC. I get the whole adversity makes a stronger person thats prevalent in these xuanhuan/xianxia novels, its what makes them so strong in these stories but holy sh*t I haven't even... more>> gotten to know the MC that well yet and the author already set the mc's difficulty level in life to be nightmare mode. Like what most reviews had said the cultivation is well different, at least its not so generic that makes me yawn. And its true that there are some troupes that are played out but I think its one of those things in the martial novel formula you can't get rid of, at least for most. I think that's fine, but I kind of want to start off small scale and go up from there. What I mean is usually the mc's rivals are on his level, a person in the same school/clan that they have to beat. Or a distant goal where we kind of know that the whole story will lead to this climax in which the MC has to accomplish. You could say the author is going a different direction, spice it up. Sounds good but it wasn't executed well. I barely know the guy and troubles seems to find him at every turn. So for me so far I can't say I find any qualities in which makes me want to know who he is more like I want to know when he's gonna f**k up everybody who harmed him. I already started skimming chapters cause well like I said typical troupe arc, which is why solidifying your MC can make those troupes less agonizing. If the MC and support cast is more established I probably wouldn't care because the MC is unique enougth it can carry the story regardless how mundane it is, at least that's my opinion. I hope it gets better and I hope the MC won't get crapped on so much, I mean seriously he's got way too many enemies. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
vongolax
vongolax rated it
Very Pure and Ambiguous: The Prequel
September 7, 2016
Status: --
This novel isn't bad for like maybe 15-20 chapters, after that wtf. It's very easy to notice if you've read xianxia/xuanhuan, those kind of novels cause the major troupes from them is mirrored here. If it was those kind of novels, no problem, its like part of a formula, you gotta have those. But here we have a modern world, which makes these troupes really stupid.

Here is what I mean, his interest and action towards other girls (building a harem) despite the fact that he was reborn for the sole... more>> focus on getting his true love.
The true love of the MC doesn't give a fck about him getting other girls (approval of harem). Him hiding the stupidest sh*t so that other ppl can be surprised later (him getting good grades).

This novel isn't supposed to be realistic, I get that. But the problem is the thinking behind these characters. You would understand why people in xianxia/xuanhuan novel would love the MC and approve of harem because polygamy ain't a big deal. But in the modern world its like what the f**k?

Also the MC has thoughts about other girls and at one point he was like whatever if I just do this girl my gf can skin me aliver (although he didn't act on it... yet). Its just like is she really your true love? Im not quite clear on the definition but doesn't that mean the one and only person is all you need? Plus the premise of this story, his reborn scenario is based on his feelings for this girls over 25 years or so. The author just totally threw that out the window. They're still together happily but it makes it feel cheap. I would rather you belittle that relationship between those two so I don't feel like I got cheated out for hoping this guy getting this girl whom he supposedly love like crazy.

Seriously I wouldn't bee completely fine reading this as this guy reincarnating and trying to build a harem and get rich or whatever, typical Chinese Hero novel stuff. Kinda disappointed <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
vongolax
vongolax
Great Demon King
March 24, 2016
Status: --
Normally I don' t comment but for some reason I can't help it. The premise of the story is so so, unique but at the same time not so unique. The MC is honestly not a like-able character. The title says Demon King but there is nothing Demon King about him. I was up to chapter 31 and so far he didn't exactly kill anyone, the people who treated him like sh*t got beat up (but not everybody). I get it at that point he isn't strong enough for the... more>> whole revenge and I'm gonna screw you over plot. But really he doesn't seem evil or "Demon" like so far. To me it's more like he's a bit mischievous and you'll hear this a lot from the author "can't control himself". I won't say its bad but it totally went a different direction than how I thought it would go. I imagine at least if you're gonna go the evil route of a rising Demon King in a Xuanhuan universe I was hoping you put your all into it and not half ass it. He says he's evil but honestly he's basically a horny teenager. Technically he is, but I was hoping that after getting f**ked over all of a sudden by a random guy which made you rethink your life, then re-living memories of the sh*ttiest life you can have. You would be more resentful and I hate to say this but fall to the dark side. Honestly if it went with a more serious, almost tragic kind of tone instead of comedy it would really improve it. The whole half ass proclaimed I'm evil and his mischievous and perverted demeanor towards woman kills my motivation to keep reading. I'm mostly ranting instead of making a review but I wonder if other readers feel the same way, or you feel differently. I hope more people review it and tell me what you think. Hopefully it gets better! <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
vongolax
vongolax
In Different World with Naruto System
October 6, 2016
Status: --
The idea itself isn't bad, if you are a fan of naruto and the xianxia world. Its kind of interesting to see these two ideas mix, you will never think of it but clearly someone has. Its not as bad as some reviewers say it is, at best it is mediocre, at worst its something you might run by and drop after awhile.

However I do have alot of issues with it despite thinking it isn't terrible. There are a lot of inconsistencies, or simply it doesn't really make sense. For... more>> example his whole goal of going back to his home world. Why? He doesn't seem like he gives a sh*t about anything other than naruto, at least according to what we know so why go back? He could have underlying feelings for his family and what not, its only logical, but the author doesn't bother to explain that so we might as well pretend his ties to the other world exist at all. He gets to live a life where what he loves is a reality so I see no strong motivation to return. Of course the obvious as well, doesn't he think that him returning will make him lose his powers and he'll just be a regular dork again.

Second his whole revenge thing.... I don't know seems kind of far fetched. I know this happens alot in transport to another world novels where the MC take over another person's life and gets there memories. Some MC feel the urge to make the identity they took to be better or get revenge, etc. It helps that the authors for those stories take their time to reveal the pain behind their lives and I can kinda see the transported person feel sympathy. But there is a really lack of depth for him to care in my opinion. Also the most important thing, if he really cares about returning home why is he bothering to bring more troubles to himelf? He could totally detach himself cause afterall everyone thinks he's dead.

The final part is spoiler territory so you can skip if you want (though its not too big). At some point he creates the Akatsuki mercenary group and when I read that part I was thinking he is mentally retarded isn't he? Why? Because just recently he got in a big fight with his old clan (the old identity) and he even declared that he came from the Akatsuki. He killed some important people but he emphasized alot on hiding his identity the whole time. Isn't creating a mercenary group with the same name really fckin stupid? They track all the missions you do so its not hard to find you. I mean his old clan is a powerhouse, when that name comes up im sure they'll find you.

In summary its fun for a light read but don't take it too seriously, when you read some lines in your head you can't help but think that the MC has some mental issues. But that is my opinion <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
vongolax
vongolax
Renegade Immortal
July 18, 2016
Status: c193
If you ask me to describe this novel, the MC in particular in one phrase then it would be "can't catch a break". Seriously those that read this book know that the MC has the sh*ttiest luck tho some could say "good luck" as well. Although like many xianxia novels the MC does get into sh*t with people who have higher cultivation than him, and overall have trouble coming his way. But this MC is like a sh*tstorm magnet, seriously in most novels there will be at least 1-2 chapters... more>> of peace and quiet (excluding cultivation time), like a short filler. But the MC after finishing one problem and another one comes, sometimes these troubles stack too.

Though don't misunderstand I'm not saying it's a bad thing, but I feel bad for the guy. His life is nothing but easy, which I guess that's why he's quite unique. You understand why he acts the way he does which is not surprising considering the author who wrote this, it's good work and I do recommend it. But get ready for the MC to be met with misfortune over and over again like he has black cloud floating over his head. Seriously I hope it turns out better for you when you make it, cause you deserve it! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
vongolax
Its a decent story with potential, tbh Volume 1 is a bit of a drag. The typical reincarnation troupes are there, which is fine... what do you expect right? But the problem lies in the info dumps, and its not only the infor dumps on world exposition - its the info dumps on the tech and the way to use them from the mc's knowledge. Most of the chapters are spent on his narration on mundane things like rubber which becomes tedious. It's as if the author believes that his... more>> audience will reincarnate and this info will be important for the readers. It felt like every chapter was stuck on one topic and the author rehashes over and over with examples and comparisons. We get it a+b=c, no need to nag.

The flaw which is prevalent in Vol 1, unfortunately it is also prevalent in Vol 2 which is about 50 chapters after. However it is not as strong as it is in Vol 1, if you can get through the info dumps its actually a good story. And the driving force for most of it imo is the MC and the overall premise.

The MC unlike other reincarnated person actually acts like an adult, well unless he has to pretend to be a child/his child like emotions overwhelms him (read the story). Its also not so obvious, if you binge read it like me you might feel it overall in the story but it doesn't smack you in the face. His maturity and his in depth thinking makes me feel like im actually reading about a 40 year in a body of a teen.

The second thing is the hint of a clash between reincarnated people. Although I'm sure this was used before like Tensei Slime, but here it is more realistic. As in less magical bs and more on the fact if people do reincarnate with modern knowledge how will that affect the world and themselves. What will they do, how ill they interact, and the changes (good/bad) it will bring forth because of their knowledge.

This is pretty much where I'm at, and is these few chapters I started to really feel like it will pick up and go to a more interesting direction. I was going to drop it, and I did for awhile but picking it up again I felt like maybe there is potential. Give it a shot if you have nothing else to read, it takes a bit getting used to but from what I read from reviews some people just skim over the info dumps so thats ok too. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
vongolax
vongolax rated it
Gate of Revelation
September 16, 2016
Status: --
Story: Well its general premise is not something new, especially if it a certain Game Element is present, it acts like a guideline of sorts. Some things you've definitely have seen before. But what makes this interesting is the way this element is presented and how the setting is used. Its unique and intriguing without a doubt, without any spoilers I can only say the author really made something outstanding. It's something worth reading since it treads a different path compare to the general stories you would read in general... more>> or from this genre.

Characters (MC) : He isn't a good one nor a bad one. Even though I'm over 100 something chapters in, you still can't get a sense of this guy. A little bit you understand who he is but not why he is the way he is (not much on backstory). So there are still somethings to flush out. The fact that he is kind, courageous in situations, a critical thinker for me are artificial qualities of him in the story. You see him exhibit those because he is the MC, he is suppose to drive the story through. I can't say I don't like him because he has typical qualities of the hero of the story. He is something unique, not like the others, there were only somethings he can do in those dangerous situations. But I can't say I like him for almost the same reasons, he is unique only in the sense of the story not an objective opinion for the readers like me. It's not so much his problem though but more because of his character development.

Character Development: The one thing I want to talk about the most! It sooooo sloooow, and I'm not exaggerating. This MC went through so much so far in this 140 chapters and I felt like he barely grew as a character. His a actions has no reason or cause, he protects Soo Soo because she was a kid which makes you think he is a good person with morals. You accept that at first but later you hope you can find out how he learned those morals. You get a tiny glimpse of his background so still alot of room to fill so you can't understand his base character yet from the ground up. He's now in his 3rd "Instance Dungeron" (you'll know once you read) and this has been the single most large event which is BEGINNING to develop his character. Of course it is my opinion but you'll notice it rather quickly. In the last 2 instance dungeon before it, think of it like 2 do or die situations for him....I get nothing, its the same events happening with different characters for that even happening in the same sequence. Arrival, meeting with other characters, MC critical thinking to solve puzzle, Dangerous situation, MC selflessness, and Soo Soo saves the day. Wtf? I felt like he hasn't had time at all, or the author made him not have time to reflect on the things that happened to him, plan ahead, etc. It sort of made sense since he is 18 but as the MC and driving force of the story, you would like him to grow. He does, I'm finally seeing it now but just slow.

Summary: Honestly I can talk about this the whole day but generally it's good for its unique setting and overall presentation of its story, executed well. Its a slow read in terms of how character develops, if its slow for the MC you can only imagine for the Support cast. The leveling and whole system for the characters aren't too important because the MC is weak as hell. You don't get to see a comeback situation when the MC is at a disadvantage, others usually save his ass and others support him. Its only good for those who like that sort of thing, my personally preference of a one man army isn't here but it doesn't take away from the story. After all its suppose to be like that and you kind of get why, the author uses the theme of teamwork and unity a lot. There's so much more and its definitely worth a read but I caution you because it takes a while for this story's main dish which is even in the synopsis, the creation and STABILITY of the "Guild for NPC" to arrive. I say that because man does him team suck, overall and individually. The only thing driving me is to see it come together and the overall premise. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
vongolax
vongolax
Zhanxian
July 13, 2016
Status: c61
Honestly it was refreshing to see a different premise. Although yes he was sent back to the past which we have seen before but the whole idea of an executioner brings something new to the table. Unfortunately that was about the only thing it separates from other XianXias, ok not entirely because the fact the MC isn't a d*ck who pick fights with everybody and isn't always on the run cause of some ego issues, the usual troupes. I honestly kinda like that because I'm pretty sick of everyone fckin... more>> with the MC every couple chapters, it happens here too but moderately. Now what I can't stand about this novel is its cultivation, more specifically the mcs. In any xianxia/xuanhuan novel the story, characters, setting takes a huge chunk of the story, but the pillar that holds this together is the cultivation of that world. In here I'm totally lost, the author describes it in depth, like sh*t loads of details that I don't give a sh*t about. Rather I would want to have a solid foundation of what this cultivation entails and how does it actually work so I can follow along.

But nope there's alot of bullsh*t coming out and I'm just like what? How does him cultivating this make him strong in this aspect? Its just so confusing, its like he is one step ahead of me and I'm trying to follow up the whole time. The author is so into his own world he lost me in the process. Another thing, although its a personal preference so you don't have to take it to heart but he cultivates slow. I mean its 61 chapters and this guy is still half way in his first realm of cultivation. The author has a lot of justification for this too which you will see. Maybe I've been pampered by these ridiculous genius in other novels and they practically blew by their first realm, tbh its prob true. But I can't deny that it has more flare and draws me in right away, mostly because their circumstances forces them to be strong faster. But here there is not tension because even if he doesn't cultivate fast there isn't much to give a sh*t about. Honestly its not bad, even though I quit after reading 11 chapters I went back cause I literally have nothing to read. It has a good idea but executed not poorly but its missing alot of good factors that makes xianxias interesting. A looming threat which makes itself obvious in the beginning (his situation don't count cause not one knows him yet), an interesting and mysterious background which draws us in, support character either against him or with him fluffing the story. Basically the author has alot of useless bullsh*t (to me) describing sentence after sentence about cultivation which I can't understand nor give a sh*t anymore. If put that into other aspects it would be a great read. Hopefully it gets better <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report