Report Review
25 Reviews


trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Mei Gongqing
July 9, 2017
Status: c1
Jfc, I'm shook. The translation is superbly done. I'm in awe; I never thought that a translation could be so clear and so poetic. MC...I just want this girl to be happy is that too much to ask? She's trying her best to eke out a life in a time that is quite cruel towards women, and even more so towards those unattached to a powerful figure. I've been so disappointed in the MLs that I could vomit blood.

... more>>
Spoiler

On one hand we have the love interest that spurned her to her death and is very likely to be abusive. On the other we have the love interest that "loves her" but has the (historically accurate) character that thinks it's ok to make loverape her when she's roofied.

[collapse]

I really don't want a romance anymore in this story. Just let her and Sun Yan be platonic life partners and for her to finally attain a peaceful and content existence. I think another reviewer said it best: this really is the least escapist historical romance you could conceive of. That may turn some people off, but I think it allows you to bond deeply with Chen Rong on a level that's kind of scary. When will my heart stop hurting *cries* <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Hidden Marriage
July 25, 2017
Status: c263
So the only reason it's a 4 is because the villains are really tiring. I just want to smack them all down; what do they even contribute to the story, hah??? They seem like waste of space characters...

Other than that, I was worried that it was going to be pitiful girl x CEO based on some of the reviews. It's not particularly though! Don't get it wrong, MC is more the type of person that will beat you up if you annoy her, than a wilting flower. Nonetheless, ML has... more>> figured out that the way to wear her down is through gentleness instead of force; what a formidable opponent! Little Treasure (our cute little bun) is incredibly adorable in his preference for our MC. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Rebirth of the Wolfish Silkpants Bottom
October 14, 2018
Status: c138
I was ok with the weird jailbait wait honestly; I've seen it before and since Shu Ning was 30ish on the inside it was more palatable. It's just everything else that started to go downhill fairly early on----

... more>>
Spoiler

Wang Cong's downfall into forced prostitution for example. Like, bro, he didn't do anything to you in this life. And what he did to you in the last life is still not proportional to what you schemed for him in this life. Also how the little brother Shu Yao is handled. I can understand avoiding him (because this character in the last life was truly a snake like the mom), but I can't understand being so circumspect about raising him better. Even if the kid is inherently lacking morality, it is possible to force him to learn boundaries!!! Also he's 3.

I just don't feel like anybody got any character development, including the MC and ML.

[collapse]
<<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
The Yu Brother’s Case Book
December 10, 2017
Status: v1c9.2
This is an intensely compelling murder mystery. I would say that it's somewhat similar Shinrei Tantei Yakumo or maybe Ghost Hunt, in that the main character is able to see ghosts. Ahhh I'm really on a cliffhanger!! Looking forward to how good this series can get.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Friends with Benefits
March 19, 2018
Status: c52
The main characters, as one reviewer has already said, are trainwrecks. The story is another kind of trainwreck. I felt like there was a lot of potential that the author ended up dropping in the last 10-ish chapters.

The best: The translation itself! I highly encourage everyone to read the other works the translators have done/are working on. The word choice, sentence structure--it's evocative and smooth, respectively.

The good: the characters, mostly; they are multi-faceted individuals with distinct desires that ultimately lead to their downfalls. The set up of the first 40-some... more>> chapters.

The meh: the execution??? I'm baffled by the ending. I'm baffled by some of the middle. Certain details and plot points seemed all over the place. Like, this is supposed to be a coherent narrative right?? Characterization starts to break down too.
Spoiler

f**king He Ling and Peter Xiong need a whole arc for us to not only understand them, but what role they play in MC's life/plot ---they get 10 chapters

[collapse]

Anyway, I think that this was an interesting read, if only to try and wrap your heads around the complicated interpersonal drama that happens within. Just... be warned that 52 chapters is not nearly enough space for what the author wanted to do. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Jiang Hu’s Road is Curved
January 29, 2018
Status: c33
I'm not even sure I can say anything that hasn't already been said by the other reviewers! The author threw me for a loop with that sophisticated plot twist, she really did. The underlying threads were mostly there, but obscured by our cute MC's naivety; truly masterful, I applaud. What a stunning antagonist! Hannibal Lecter levels of stunning.

I really did like the self-absorbed Wan Wan from the beginning! Perhaps some may be annoyed by her Mary-Sue delusions, but I mostly found it charmingly adorkable. This is a girl daydreaming about... more>> achieving some grand romance and a little narcissistic, but ultimately she is in her heart reluctant to cause pain to others. It's such a defining character trait that the pain she feels later struck my heart all the harder. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Reborn Only to Love You Again
December 5, 2017
Status: --
Rating 5 because I love it, but I also have to acknowledge that the protagonist is a bit OP.
Spoiler

What kind of seven year old can beat up two adults? I guess he takes them by surprise each time, and he's swift and decisive about his violence but damn.

[collapse]
Otherwise, his actions are well within the ability (though not natural proclivity) of a seven year old. Little kids at that age do start to become independent; just usually not independent enough the ride the bus by themselves without informing their parents in order to go shopping in a city center! Of course, the guy is mentally in his 20s? 30s? So it makes sense.

Anyway, goodness gracious, I just want these two little boys to grow up happy and healthy. WDH is going to ensure that LQR does at least, even if he has to bust up some skulls. He sure dotes a lot on Ran Ran *^u^*
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Screen Partner
July 15, 2018
Status: c31
Guys I think this is the healthiest relationship I've ever seen in BL, like what is this soft gay????? Feeling uplifted after reading; even though the story is short, it's effective. Also, and perhaps this is to be expected given that this is about filming porn, there is a lot of spicy content lol
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
God’s Song
December 13, 2017
Status: c281
I only regret deeply that I can't hear the music that Jun is composing in reality, haha. This story is a bildungsroman and then some; spanning across 15 years (though honestly the focus is on the first 5 anyway), it not only details Jun's rise to preeminence on the international music stage but also his personal growth as a person. While these two progressions are intertwined, I do think that it's important to distinguish them--it has deep impact on the way one can read the text. Long story short, your... more>> enjoyment depends on which you place more importance. I think these kind of "genius" narratives are incredibly compelling; there's absolutely a real-world premium on the idea of "genius." In regards to fiction, some may turn away from a character that can conquer any mountain with ease. While it's alright to be wary of the Mary Sue/Gary Stu, one must remember that those are badly written archetypes that defy reason. By defy reason, I mean that their meteoric success doesn't make any sense in-universe. Where is the work that is put in? Why do they succeed, beyond a banal description of "awesomeness?" God's Song handles that really well: Jun's effort and the efforts of the people around him are acknowledged and described. Not to mention you can tell that the author did their research (or is incredibly good at bullsh*tting) when it comes to music and the music industry. So this where I would rate this series to a 5/5 stars.

But gotta tell you, I would rate some other aspects a lot lower. Let's take Jun's personal growth, aka "character development." Perhaps this is an effect of the writing style (taking into account that it is translated), which happens to be very "tell" not "show." It falls flat sometimes, honestly. It's difficult, though not impossible mind you, to connect emotionally with any of the characters. I am of the opinion that for strong characterization, their tears must be the readers' tears. Ok, maybe not that dramatic, but reading God's Song was like reading words on a paper. That's it. No visualization, just flat. And that brings me to a big problem I have with the author's decisions. Good god, author, you have such a good chance with Amelia and Jina to really make them into characters in their own right, if only simply due to the integral roles they play in Jun's life. Instead what happens? They don't even get to live, they die before they're born---whatever you want to call it. Jina is a plot device, though a really adorable one, that can neatly bring Jun's story full circle. This one is a little less regrettable because she doesn't get much screen time anyway; the author is clear about her purpose. BUT AMELIA It frustrates me when I think of what Amelia could have been. She's pretty much forever the "passionate Latina lover." Let's tack on "loyal" since she stayed with Jun for 15 years. What is she there for? To show that Jun is not a total hermit? That he can live a "normal" life? She gets so much screen time but is not even afforded the decency of character development. The Amelia you see in Clayton for the first time is the Amelia you get by the end of the epilogue. This my emotional outpouring haha. Sighhh actually this criticism could really apply to all of the characters, damn. Jun, the protagonist, doesn't even get that much development, but at least he gets some. If character development is what you want, this is not the place. 2/5 stars. I can't even bring myself to cover this with the spoiler tag because what is there to spoil when there's no anticipation in the first place?

Sidenote: The author has some 'eh' views when it comes to race and gender. I personally don't agree with the "colorblind" stance that the author has some of the characters take. If you read carefully, Isaac's groping of women and various male characters' objectifying comments about Amelia are definitely played for laughs. It's small, I don't know if you care, but it's there.

In the end, I can't bring myself to rate it to 3 because I did enjoy the journey but I'm also dissatisfied with many aspects. Just throwing this review out into the void, in case anyone finds it helpful. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Tsukumodou Kottouten
December 4, 2017
Status: v5c4
Ahhhh I like this one a lot! A mysterious antique shop that sells fake antiques, but every so often a real one (carrying with it real consequences!) will find its way in. Already a stunning, atmospheric visual presents itself; you add in the mystery component and bam it's the supernatural detective show you've been trying to find. I will say that the characters are a kiinnnda stock archetypes (i.e. "Emotionless" girl x mysterious white haired girl, the everyman high school boy x part-timer with the hidden power, capricious boss x... more>> mysterious woman with an obsession with the supernatural). However, don't let that detract from the fact that the protagonists are distinct and amusing; each "case" is fascinating within itself as well! The author's personal investment and interest in the case subjects seeps off the page. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Heard I’m a Hero
August 17, 2017
Status: --
Spoiler

What the heck everyone's just a foodie lolololol But like I also understand on a spiritual level. Tasty food is Very Important, after all.

[collapse]

Very amusing! A hero that blunders his way into hero-ing.

Spoiler

And a demon king that gets tamed because he ends up living in domestic bliss with the hero.

[collapse]
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
Actually, Isekai Yururi Kikou is a cooking manga...I'm kidding! Mostly. There are abundant descriptions of delicious food and recipes throughout this book. The MC is basically reinventing everything he's ever eaten into this new world lol.

... more>>
Spoiler

The God of Fire (to whom the domain of cooking belongs) even gave him a huge reward for singlehandedly innovating new cuisine in a world that has literally been stagnated in this aspect for hundreds of years.

[collapse]

This is just a really feel-good piece. If you want to feel refreshed and happy, this is a perfect novel to read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Ballad of the Desert
July 22, 2017
Status: v2c5
The pacing is insane; it's a masterpiece holy sh*t. It's just slow enough that you can really appreciate the character development and their everyday life but also fast enough that things are never in the doldrums. How does one achieve that balance????

Seriously though, I would rank this among my top 5 novels. At the very least, top 10. Maybe there's such a thing as destiny and fate, but what is more vibrant than struggling against it? DMY is that kind of story, I think. I'm really into the MC precisely... more>> because she's that sort of person. Certainly, this brings a lot of heartache and sometimes you want to shake her, but I can't help but admire the conviction and strength of will it takes to be the one acting on kindness and honor even if everyone is telling you to shut up and keep your head down. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Warm Place
July 22, 2018
Status: c17
After reading this, I could eat 5 whole bowls of rice!! It's just so pure and soft. I mean, not to say that nothing hurts, because boy are there some emotional punches in here, but nonetheless there's an inherent warmth. A Warm Place is a really apt title.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
AHhhh my heart is healed~ The food is delicious, the relationship is balanced and well-developed... even the mundane, everyday tasks are fun to read about.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
February 4, 2018
Status: c295
This is a work that is ultimately amusing! Enjoyment comes with taking this novel with a grain of salt--some of the plot points get pretty strange and illogical. However, I think that it's (mostly) a purposeful decision on the author's part; this novel seems to lampshade and parody tropes of the harem genre. It's basically good for a casual read; don't expect stunning character development or anything.

I have to address some things that have been mentioned in other comments though. As I mentioned before, I am almost certain that the... more>> author meant for this work to be a parody, in a number of ways. One of the main points of humor is that the MC is subject to the white lotus characteristics of the body she transmigrated into. The original BXX was afraid of blood, so even if our MC is not, her body physically reacts anyway. Our MC mentions at many points that she herself can't believe how weak the body she's currently inhabiting is. She gets frustrated that her body will faint at any surprising stimuli. She does take advantage of her body's condition sometimes, in some funny, manipulative ways.

The ML was both a disappointment and not. He obviously thinks highly of the MC, to the point where he will defer to most of her judgment calls. Their interactions as a couple are adorable; they earnestly support each other. However, the ML still can't escape the conventional tropes that permeate such novels: the possessive (aka rape-y) lover. That's right folks, the MC and ML are a cute couple ONLY if we ignore their s*xual relationship. I think it's a side affect of the CN novel romance genre as a whole? I've seen it in many permutations across different works. It's like most CN novel authors are allergic to women (or for BL, the partner with the "woman's" role, which is a whole other problematic trend that I won't get into right now) feeling or expressing pleasure. It's not impossible to find a romance in which both characters mutually enjoy sleeping with each other, but it is damn rare. Why does the female character have to be in pain all the time?? We get enough of that ridiculousness in the real world, so why do these sh*tty situations have to carry over to our fantasy fiction too? Why do MLs always have to be "beasts" s*xually? These are questions for which I have no answers. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Supernatural Girlfriend
November 27, 2017
Status: c153
Somehow it was a little unexpected for this novel to also turn out to be a romantic comedy?? With snappy slapstick humor too! I'm definitely not complaining because holy sh*t it's f**king hilarious but I just needed to reorient some of my views lol. It definitely doesn't skimp on the ghost stuff though, if that's what you're here for. I would say the atmosphere is similar to Shinrei Tantei Yakumo or Ghost Hunt.

EDIT: After reading to the end, I think I have to subtract a full star. The ending arc... more>> is so abrupt? Too much timeskip shenanigans crammed into a small space; I wish the author had kept up with the atmosphere that was the first 3/4 of the novel. The last arc also lost the horror aspect and most of the ghost stuff that I liked; the investigation aftermath was glazed over. All in all, a disappointing way to end a really fun/tragic/touching novel. If y'all were here for the romance only though, it was okay. FINAL RATING: 4 STARS

HOWEVER don't let this discourage you from reading!!!!! The translation quality is top-notch and I still firmly believe that the positive half of my review absolutely applies to the everything sans the last arc!!! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
I Don’t Like The World, I Only Like You
August 23, 2017
Status: epilogue
Slice of life novel---there's no better description! For both the ups and the downs of human relationships, the author touches on them all with an ever-present sense of humor and wit. The subsequent life advice contained therein is very relatable as well. It is mainly focused on the relationship between the author and her husband, but friends and family hold as important a place in her heart and story. I feel like my soul has been revived!my skin is clear and my crops are watered
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
trippy-chan rated it
Violet Evergarden
June 22, 2018
Status: --
Came to read the light novel after every episode of the anime made me tear up. I had heard that the artistic direction the anime took was different, but somehow I did not realize the extent of that difference. That is not to say that it's bad! Rather, I think these two permutations of the story of Violet Evergarden simply have shifted focuses--both of which are incredibly touching and heartfelt. The novel version tends to center more on how Violet affects the lives of those she encounters rather than on... more>> the interior of Violet herself.

A large part of why this works is the mesmerizing writing. There is a delicacy to the words that the author chooses; the fairytale dream persists at the surface but nonetheless moments can pierce through your heart. How can it be like this, you wonder? How can it manage to twist the most tender parts of your heart? This is a novel ultimately dealing with loss and healing. "You are not alone." The author really gives us such a beautiful message.

Spoiler

ALSO the ending fully satisfied my heart in a way the anime wasn't able to. Good god, I needed that reunion.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
trippy-chan
Tbh 4.5 SOLELY because the author made an inexplicable decision in the 2nd epilogue. Otherwise it would have been a 5 (maybe the author just got lazy???)

Anyhow, this is a heartwarming school-life novel full of fun friendships and cute romance.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report