Report Review
11 Reviews


toumatoes
toumatoes rated it
Only Sense Online (LN)
May 5, 2017
Status: v3c1
The premise was interesting and I honestly had high hopes for it but I'm honestly disappointed. OSO gets dull pretty early on, imo, because it lacks a clear aim. All he does in the game is craft, sell, buy, get broke, oooh fanservice! then rinse and repeat. I mean yes, the MC is playing at his own pace but there's really not much excitement which makes it feel like each chapter gets dragged on and on. I persevered to v3 but I can write that OSO is very... fluffy with... more>> lots of cute girls, cute pets and basically cute everything. I would recommend it to people who like a lighter atmosphere in the gaming category, I guess, but other than that I personally would look for something else. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
toumatoes
toumatoes rated it
Perfect Superstar
October 16, 2018
Status: c600
In the beginning, I really liked the story and had high expectations for it. Even though the protagonist plagiarizes 100% of the time (don't do this at home, everyone), I allowed it because the story was interesting. I mean, I gritted my teeth and mtled the first ~600 chapters, y'know? But, in the end, I got disappointed.

Beware of minor spoilers and major spoilers will be under the spoilers tag! Here I go.

The story in general at the start I would rate 3-4 stars but then it slid down to 1-2... more>> at around 400-600 chapters in. Why? It got irritatingly predictable and the protagonist is the epitome of absurd perfection. He's honestly so overwhelmingly perfect it disgusts me. I mean, sure, he has the memories and abilities of 3 people (and that's really already OP enough) so he can act, compose, sing, play the guitar and piano, write, fight, even cook very well, is handsome and he's always calm. The obstacles he faces seem major but then he steps over it so simply that there's a severe lack of tension. The protagonist doesn't face difficulties with managing his time at all too. Like sure it gets mentioned that he's busy but there isn't really a struggle that it gets harder and harder to connect with him.

Spoiler

For example:

Protagonist wrote the script (acted as the main lead and composed the music too, whoo boy) for a series and everyone expected it to do worse than another series with a bigger budget, famous actors/actresses, more advertising, etc. At first, the rating showed that the other series was doing much better but then his series soon overtook the other and shocked the world. For the next drama series and movie, rinse and repeat this process. The reason for the rival series/drama/movie failing is similar too: boring plot (foreshadowing lol). Yeah, it got this predictable and bland.

On the topic of acting, the author barely mentions his acting at all. I mean, composing and acting are completely separate from each other but author basically just said: "he got no NGs" and went with it. Like, uh? Sure, he got that one actor's soul in him (that he could practically do martial arts and parkour no problem) but there must be more he could learn from others and explain about (camera angles, techniques or even portrayal of emotions in his acting) but I can hardly remember any mention of it. It's like acting is just a side note to the protagonist's perfection. Author: "I don't describe it but guess what, he's perfect in this too!"

In the end, the plagiarism got to me because of how fast the protagonist whips out new (plagiarized) songs. It's like he can compose 10 songs in a week no problem, with lyrics and being classics and charting and all. And not to mention the nationalism in the author's writing. Good god. (Reminds me he can speak an entirely different dialect fluently and nobody really questions his flimsy excuse either.) At chapter 600, it's basically the author telling the readers to lick the protagonist's feet aka story went to the obviously self-fulfilling direction.

Also, this is just me being nitpicky but he romances a woman several years older than himself (which is not a problem, I personally think it's sweet and one of the good points of this novel, especially the fact that she's successful and can stand on her own two feet... though debatable on her acting career and comeback album because it's the protagonist that pushed her through fame with his works... but her insecurities about her relationship and age actually makes her more real than the protagonist) and there's really no bumps in their relationship at all. I mean, it's just straightforward pining then being together, etc. that it's kind of... superficial? A romance that has no negatives and only positives. Not saying the relationship should be continuous drama or anything but it feels like it's just there for the kicks and convenience.

I got more to say but the point is that the author made the protagonist so in-your-face perfect, it's scary (nobody really suspects of his sudden, huge changes too haha).

[collapse]

Huh, what did you say? Character development? What's that? Lol.

A good point is probably the way he cares about his family (minor spoilers: and his misunderstanding with his older sister). Also, I personally like online reactions/interactions because they're funny. The protagonist doesn't ditch his fans (minor spoilers: from his streaming platform) so he takes his time to interact with them, which I admit is a nice detail. He's nice to his fans but well, being overly nice is a problem too with stalkers and all. Reminds me that it kinda lacks the complications and darkness of the entertainment world but oh well.

TL;DR final rating is 1.5, rounded down to 1 star. It's enjoyable the first, say, 300 chapters but imo, not worth continuing after that. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
toumatoes
toumatoes rated it
Rebirth of the Thief Who Roamed The World
February 21, 2019
Status: c293
This story is enjoyable... if you turn off your brain, tilt your head 2cm to the right and blink three times per second. No, really, it is.

Pros: Pretty funny that it drew lots of chuckles from me. Also seeing the MC be creative, make friends, become rich and powerful was considerably enjoyable.

Cons: Where do I start? Man, the plot holes made this pretty unbearable. Also, the protagonist is so overpowered that even though the author tried to made it seem like there are challenges for him to overcome, it seemed... more>> awfully trivial. Everything goes to how the MC wants in the end. The lack of suspense and how bad the build up of some conflict (that was supposed to be fun to read) made it disappointing because we know the MC was going to win everything anyway, even when it doesn't really seem like he will or that's how the author tries to portray it anyway.

Some examples (which might be nitpicky but oh well) :

  • How everything bends to MC's favor (minor spoilers: his in-game luck, how the girl he loves is the same as the one he's close to in-game, how easily he made money, no relevant setbacks, etc.)
  • MC's physical fitness and superiority over people who trained since childhood (how many weeks did he train? days?) and how he could persist to exercise, study, game without a break and mention of food or daily everyday stuff like chores
  • Minor spoilers: Sleepy Fox would not be so impatient that he will skip over crafting materials from a dragon field boss. And the other guild leader wouldn't give it up so easily either wth.
  • Admins are never mentioned except once and with MC grabbing legendary stuff all over the place, it's just unbelievable how they're not wondering how he knew about the locations, etc.
  • The money stuff in general is so convoluted that my brain just shut off so it could continue reading and somewhat enjoy the story
  • Most stuff (minor spoilers: seemingly no cooldowns on his thief skills, 100, 000 vs 25 with 25 winning, infinite number of bolts, oblivious supporting characters and so many more) this story mentioned is honestly so confusing and obviously exists just for the MC to climb over them, it's just... not worth to think about them
tl;dr It's obviously a wish-fulfillment story and in a way that constantly shoves it in your face. While occasionally enjoyable, still needs a lot of work to be not so stale. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
toumatoes
toumatoes rated it
Mei Gongqing
May 27, 2017
Status: c124
Honestly? This novel was so good until the latest chapters mercilessly punched me in the gut.

... more>>
Spoiler

ML, that is so, so not okay. Gods. The angst is so real. I'll kick something if MC isn't happy by the end of this. The men in this story are idiots. I really need to vent.

[collapse]

Aside from my dissatisfaction towards the male leads (excluding Sun Yan as from the three, one of them is a jerk while the other disappointed me so badly I could cry tears of blood), the story is powerful with good pacing and wonderful female lead. I love Chen Rong because she is strong and unyielding even when all the world threatens to bring her down. She has beauty and experience but the author emphasizes on how imperfect she can be even with the help of her time traveling. Chen Rong continues to struggle to stay standing in a land where her status makes her trash in the eyes of the people but she works with her skills and charms to try to find a good person for herself and live a peaceful life. She manipulates, loves, fears and hates but it makes her as a vibrant character that truly deserves eternal happiness after all the suffering she went through (I say as I blankly look at the latest chapters yet again). I admire her very much.

This story continues to hurt me. Throughout the journey, some of Chen Rong's actions and words touched me. Her will to live and her constant efforts in trying to thrive in a discriminating environment encouraged me too. Unlike the perfectly OP MCs in these types of novels, Chen Rong just felt more relatable, in a way.

Also, the style of writing is actually very unique to me. It's a nice change of pace.

Overall, I honestly would rate this a 5 if the MC gets the ending she rightfully deserves, which is everlasting happiness. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
toumatoes
toumatoes rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
May 9, 2017
Status: c247
Many people are dissatisfied with HSSB because as the plot moves on, the summary doesn't quite reflect the content of the story anymore. If you came here hoping for the MC to constantly ridicule mainstream tropes, you probably won't survive after 100 chapters. There's a bunch of it in the beginning but it grows more subtle as the story goes on. Personally, HSSB is funny with an interesting cast that I actually really like (Feng Yunsheng and Ah Hu for example). One thing I always look forward to is how... more>> the MC shocks the world over and over again with his achievements.

Spoiler

Where did your "low-key, low-key" life go to, international celebrity sir?

[collapse]

Yan Zhaoge is hilarious, witty with a dash of ruthlessness and arrogance (all these can be seen from the golden chapters 174-175). He is OP and ridiculously so. He breaks through cultivation levels as if he's just leveling a lvl 1 pokemon to lvl 5, has backup plans for everything he does and collects his enemies' artifacts like they are pebbles by the roadside after thoroughly one-upping them so badly they can't find their faces anymore. Yan Zhaoge has both brawns and brains but he can be stuck in awkward situations when he runs his mouth, a meticulous planner and enjoys showing off. He does have a goal, besides maintaining his Mr. Perfect status, which is to discover about how the calamity came about which seems to be a pretty interesting part of the plot too.

Though really, it's all about taste. HSSB does get detailed in certain points (if you are not into that) and some arcs may feel a bit dragged out (and also, as usual, names and stuff gets a bit confusing). It would seem as if the MC does everything effortlessly because of the advantages he has which would seem hypocritical because he got reincarnated twice, is rich, is strong plus he's got a powerful father and subordinate (their interactions are really good) and if this is not your cup of tea, rather try something else rather than let the MC grate on your nerves. There's not much romance yet but there are hints of it. I appreciate that the author is willing to develop the relationship, no matter how slowly, before the characters devote themselves to each other. Plus, they have good chemistry.

Overall, I would rate it 4.5/5. HSSB is a very enjoyable read despite its flaws. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
toumatoes
toumatoes rated it
Monarch of Evernight
April 7, 2019
Status: c571
One thing to say about MEN: it was worth reading through all the translated chapters so far. MEN is deep, deeper than you think, especially if you've only read the first 2-3 volumes. It's a CN cultivation novel that's enjoyable, amazing, humorous and will leave you wanting for more which is really obvious in the later chapters. Kudos to the author because MEN is genuinely a good book, even with all its shortcomings.

Let's start with the bad stuff (includes minor spoilers btw). First, the one that sticks out to me... more>> the most is how much of a mess volume 2 is. The beginning of volume 2 is actually interesting and it actually has a bunch of foreshadowing which is amazing. But as it goes on, it's obvious was really... messy and boring. The MC's personality wasn't properly established, which comes out wishy washy very often, and his goals are unclear (but this author really is a more "show, don't tell" type). You can really tell that volume 2 is mediocre compared to the rest of the story, even volume 1 which is supposed to be a long prologue. Though right after that mess, it got better and better and even better. So persevere, dear readers because you won't regret being stubborn.

As to where it starts getting better? A hint:

Spoiler

Qiqi arc. Good stuff.

[collapse]

Okay, so is that it? Nah, but these can be considered pretty subjective things. The author is pretty weird with numbers like distance so it came out to be strange sometimes. Another would be how confusing MC's cultivation is. I'm not sure if this is the standard since I've only read a few CN cultivation novels but the stuff about his (spoilers!) blood energies can be utterly confusing. Though it could be a plot point but yeah, it can get really convoluted. Also some characters and certain relationships (spoilers!) aka Bai Kongzhao and Nighteye just makes me... eh. I noticed that a lot of people doesn't like Bai Kongzhao but Nighteye is fairly 50/50. I guess personally the relationship MC had with her isn't developed well enough and going further than that would be major spoilers. But I have to say for other characters and relationships, even antagonists, are actually pretty good.

Now the positives. Where to start? MEN is amazing. The author left a lot of details and goes on an unexpected direction occasionally which will leave you hanging and wanting more. I'm honestly really impressed because it's obvious the author did plan out the story really well. The characters actually leave an impression on you; aside from dislike, you could grow to like minor characters because of how they've developed (spoilers!) like Zhao Junhong. The battles, whether big or small, can leave you at the edge of your seat and can actually end unexpectedly. Also, the powerups aren't inconceivable and MC does experience hardships, even brushing close to death multiple times, so it doesn't feel like the MC is outrageously lucky (MC himself does acknowledge he's pretty damn lucky a number of times though) or blandly OP. MC's power is actually generously strong but also balanced with its shortcomings. The politics, power struggle, and all types of mature themes like death and basic morals are handled pretty well. Got to appreciate how the more powerful MC is, the broader his views grow and the more complicated everything is, which is putting everything simply.

The humor, bromance and delicious, delicious character development. These are the things you need to read to experience and enjoy yourself. But it's so extremely satisfying to read 600+ chapters and look back at all the progress the MC made. From his power, personality, morals, and relationships, the MC had changed. Maybe for the better or worse, but there are also intrinsic characteristics of himself that had never changed and defined him as the MC of the story like his courage and his perseverance. You want to smack the MC sometimes because he's an idiot but this character is actually an MC that you can really grow to care about. A big part of the story is also the relationships MC made, good or bad. I admit, his brotherhood with his two friends is definitely one of the top things I adore about MEN. These three idiots are hilarious and they genuinely care about each other (spoilers!) except the other two besides MC who are like cats and dogs. Plus, I love how the author wrote MC's relationship with his family, which is typical but also not as simple as it seemed.

Spoiler

Stuff about MC's character development (major spoilers ahead) :

I love it when authors place importance on the characters they write and their growth. MEN is amazing because Qianye was, in the beginning, a strong boy with compassion and the desire to prove himself. He hated all the dark races with no exception, because that's was how he was taught, even when he became a blood thrall he hated them. But his understanding of the world was too simple and the author did a wonderful job weaving this complicated world which the MC discovered little by little. Qianye became more flexible and he eventually reached the point of understanding that dark races are living beings too (somewhere in volume 6) and not in those exact words because the author showed his understanding rather than stating it. And this was all after he fell in love with a vampire, made friends with some of the dark race (aka William), spared some enemies and came to see that humans are equal or sometimes worse than the dark races themselves. Not only this, I love how he was hesitant about the Zhao clan but slowly, after learning more about them and the reasons why, his hatred melted away and he was able to genuinely let go. He didn't naively 100% come to love everyone or anything but he thought about it and opened his heart to those that he thought deserved his trust (for example: Jundu and Yuying), just like how he opened up to Zining and Botian. Honestly, if the author wrote a chapter or even just a paragraph about Qianye looking back at his past self, he'll probably be surprised at how different he is.

Not saying that MEN is without a single flaw, but personally, it did an exceptional job at this.

[collapse]

This is getting monstrously long but tl;dr MEN is good and if at the beginning it seems bad, continue reading because you most likely won't regret your efforts. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
toumatoes
toumatoes rated it
Akuyaku Reijo Ni Koi Wo Shite
May 11, 2017
Status: c47
FILWTV is an unexpected gem. The plot is intriguing and new with the MC constantly struggling to, literally, fight against the world. Readers should be warned though that there are certain mature themes to this story especially because most of them are ~12-15 years old (with Rion being the oldest but uncertain to how many years older).

Reading this story can be considered a rollercoaster of emotions. I've been angry and hideously sad but also the romance is actually really adorable. The relationships the MC formed, whether friendly or hostile, really... more>> added flavor to the story. Rion as the MC is also considerably powerful, but not excessively so, and smart. But what I liked about him is also his absolute loyalty to the pair of siblings he serves. He works hard for himself and for their well-being, almost losing his mind over them sometimes because the world hates him (coughs).

The flaws I could think of are the lack of certain details that can be considered spoilers. Some developments are quite farfetched when looked at a realistic angle but then again considering what the plot of this story is based on, it is generally excusable.

Here are the spoilery warnings:

Spoiler

There are mentions of sexual assault and underage sexual intercourse.

Also the development of the slums, for example, is really quite unrealistic. The lack of Ariel and her fiery personality after the school arc also makes me sad. Plus, Vincent was mentioned twice (or once if counting only directly by the MC) after that too.

[collapse]

This story is a good read though. Character developments plus the unexpected twists really made it worth it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
toumatoes
toumatoes rated it
Husband, Be A Gentleman
May 31, 2017
Status: Completed
I'm disappointed I can't read the side story. Oh well.

HBAG isn't bad. The characters really stood out and it was honestly fun reading through the story. The humor is fantastic (poor Bei Dou... Pei Jin is merciless) and the interactions between the MC and ML isn't boring. The contrast between ML's teasing and thoughts make me laugh. He acts like he has all the cards but he just wants his wife.

Meanwhile, for all its good points, I think this story doesn't have enough chapters. The pace isn't horrible but at... more>> the end, it truly was quite overwhelming. I feel that some issues could be plot points could be fleshed out more and it could've been more interesting than it is. If I want to summarize this novel in a few words, I would say 'enjoyable but rushed.'

Spoiler

For example, what happened to Huang Guo and widow Li in the end? The author could have written more details about the MC aside from getting 'eaten' by the ML. Maybe her interactions with other women, her managing the household, making connections/friends, etc. but it seems like the ML is far more well-rounded as a character than the MC. After her revenge scheme was over, it was just the plot focusing on her pregnancy and that's it.

Really wish I could read the side story so I know what happened to Pei Khan in the end. Did he marry? Did he live happily in the end? Wish he was inspired by his ninth brother's love towards his ninth's sister and decided on having one wife or something.

[collapse]

It's a good enough read but lighter than, say, TBAVW. The plot points seem complicated but because of the pacing, everything is revealed one after another and feels a bit dissatisfying. Overall, recommended for a short read that you can complete in one go. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
toumatoes
toumatoes rated it
I Alone Level-Up
October 20, 2019
Status: Completed
Let me just start by stating one thing: this story is not without flaws.

What does this mean? It has the typical stuff web novels usually have like plot holes, etc. That would, overall, drag the ratings down to 3-4 stars. But why is my review 5 stars? Because ultimately, as it always does, it all lies in patience and personal preference. I guess that this story just sneaked in, got to me and became a particularly memorable one.

Beware of some spoilers!

When I read WNs, I don't want to think too... more>> hard on all the details and just enjoy the ride. But I don't want to experience uncomfortably bad bumps on the road either (aka ignoring minor flaws is fine but when the story is too much of an intolerable mess, I'll quit reading). I feel like this WN fulfilled those conditions and it also stuck wonderfully to my preferences, which are character interactions and development (plus, it also helped that the length isn't so ridiculously long either). I absolutely adore the interactions between MC and his summons. It personally feels like one of the driving points of this novel. The author may lack in pacing or plot or whatever else they were critiqued on but I love the way they wrote dialogues or feelings of characters. There are just points where the dialogue or the feelings transmitted was powerful enough to invite onion cutting ninjas. The little bits of character and humor found throughout the story also made me laugh and like them all the more.

Despite the fact that I said the author was good with character development/interactions, I won't deny that there are flaws on that aspect as well. Some characters need to be more fleshed out, interactions emphasized, etc. But I felt in the end, if I don't scrutinize it too much, it doesn't take much of my enjoyment of the story itself. It's an imperfect product but it made me feel thrilled, melancholic, and other emotions and that's what matters. If the story just made me feel tedious to read, uncomfortable or bored, then it isn't for me.

Here we are probably going to thread through the spoiler territory a bit. The ending was definitely disappointing but the side stories should be read for a worthy ending. Honestly, the side stories are what enhanced the main story so much more. Actually, it fleshed out the summons' characters so much better with their POV chapters, Igris' POV chapter was definitely one of my absolute favorites with Beru's close behind (the heart-wrenching one where they had to seal MC's son's memories and powers) and a bunch of other future chapters as well. Personally, I really feel that if you stopped reading at the end of the main story, it'll feel lacking because the story and the side stories are a complete package and the true ending is at the end of the side stories. There are events like MC's everyday life, MC's family, MC's future, little tidbits about the people MC met and even a fun chapter about the Dragon Emperor being MC (which is hilarious tbh) and then, the end chapter that's less vague, less abrupt and more conclusive.

tl;dr This definitely isn't perfect. I could think up of so many things that could be improved upon even now, but this story was a definite fun adventure with its own special, unforgettable moments. Give it a try and maybe you'll like it more than you think. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
toumatoes
What makes this so charming is definitely how it's all told from the perspective of the ML instead of the MC. I love how light-hearted it is and how dumb oblivious the MC is towards certain, or well many, things. The ML's more manipulative than anything but his storytelling tone was always she's-exasperating-plus-ridiculous-but-I-love-her-so-what-can-I-do and it made it all the more cute and endearing. Fluffy, funny and lovely, a good piece in the otome reincarnation genre. Just don't take it too seriously and enjoy it as you go. Translator, thank you... more>> for your hard work! <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
toumatoes
toumatoes rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
May 25, 2017
Status: Completed
Based only on my tastes, I would give this a 4.5/5 or somewhere along those lines. I am really into the little details though so I would rate it a 4 star read but I went ahead with 5 instead because I honestly did enjoy the entire novel. Aside from some flaws, I enjoyed the pace of the story and the male lead's growing adoration is adorable.

... more>>
Spoiler

And especially the kids. Ugh. The epilogue made me cry.

[collapse]

Some words really hit me in the gut honestly (the last few chapters ugggh) and the humor made me laugh a lot. I have very conflicting feelings towards the female lead. On one hand, there are some parts of her where I deeply relate and I really admire her but I also feel that sometimes she is a bit too flat character-wise (Or maybe romantically speaking it gets a bit too subtle or I am just that unsatiable that I need more fluffs). TBAVW isn't a bad read though as I did read the whole thing in two days. The ending is satisfying, just like the revenge scheme. And right, I admit that near the end, the romance on the female lead side came through for me which made me so happy I continuously reread that particular scene.

Spoiler

When she scolded the male lead out of worry and everyone was watching with fear, the male lead was happy instead. Then she actually acts like a tsundere. My heart healed.

[collapse]

Aside from having to take heavy mental notes on the pinyin used, there's not much I find really wrong either. Kind of wish it would be made into a drama. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report