Report Review
53 Reviews


timma
timma rated it
The Legendary Mechanic
January 27, 2019
Status: c792
It's good. No relationships. Only tiny bits of nationalism every 200 chapters.

Worth giving a shot. The MTL is okay.

Read a lot of web novels and took a small break, this was first one I read after starting again. So it's has unique qualities that kept me interested. Fast paced. But not too fast. Only qualms is I wish MC developed relationships outside of who can be useful to him
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Monster Factory
September 6, 2018
Status: c158
If you like business management, give the first ~100 chapters a shot. They are fun. The chapter where his minions deals with knockoff manufacture is about where it peaks, I advise stopping after that. Story is solid ~4 territory until this point because you can reasonably suspend disbelief. I think after this point, once the factory starts expanding, suspending disbelief gets very very difficult the modern setting just leaves me questioning the world. Where are your corporate spys? Where are your government agents?

How can he literally mine an area without... more>> getting noticed?
Spoiler

his dinosaur minions are headbutting rocks, this shakes the earth, people pay attention to this kind of thing

[collapse]

Most of all, Why is NO ONE asking him questions? His parents are just out of the picture after he pays the bills, so why don't they question their son? Early on he lies and says "imported/borrowed technology" to them, but everytime it's publicized in the news it's all "Our innovative county is light years ahead of everyone else". Why aren't they calling this bluff?

Chapter by chapter it got harder to believe this world where he could have it all exists. The final straw is
Spoiler

THE GIANT MECH

[collapse]
This is too big of a leap. This wouldn't be allowed to sit stationary without reporters from across the world questioning it. People would ask if it was a weapon. They would be scared a tiny bit, but most of all, if it wasn't a weapon, people would make it one.

Please ignore the cover, maybe summary too. This one is better to just jump into, you'll get some fun until you can't believe it anymore. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Overgeared
August 21, 2018
Status: c141
Don't wait for it to get better, It's only marginal at best. I'm fine with arrogant MCs, but this guy is just Dense. It's like he doesn't remember being poor.

Spoiler

charging 1b for equipment a guild member needs to complete a SS quest. He literally blocks the guy from advancing by his greed. And this is after he's already paid off his and his family's debt, so he's just a miser for no reason.

[collapse]
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Lord of the Mysteries
April 21, 2019
Status: v4c175
I'd recommend this one. Almost missed my attention due to the steampunk tag, but I don't really think that fits. First volume solid gold, and you'll be a fan by the end of it.

Favorite web novel by this author. I like the earlier volumes. Slight spoilers on how the story progresses at parts of his potion path thing.

Spoiler

    1. Seer. (5/5) Solid story here, tons to love.
    2. Clown (4/5), pretty neat some cool abilities, allows for MC to participate in book events.
    3. Magician (4/5) - cool because of detective elements around this arch, but lack of supporting characters that you'd care deeply about at this point, you see the MC start being more of a loner.
    4. Faceless Man (3/5) - not huge on this one, I feel like he could have switched faces more often for a better story, plot at this point is not as interesting as earlier elements of book. Main grip is at this point he's kind of solo, which I dislike.
    5. Puppet Master - haven't read up to this point, but I'm hyped for it. Seems like a lot of plot is being set up so this role can shine.
[collapse]
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
The Amber Sword
April 19, 2019
Status: v3c210
First I'll repeat the one thing that made me give this a chance. Ignore the cover. I'd also say ignore the harem tag. Unless that's a plus for you.

Things I like:

Second chance (ish), Not a loner (like solo play), does try to recruit peeps.

... more>> What I dislike:

Chile of fate type plot.

Trying to save literally everyone.

Author drags stuff out so long I get frustrated.

I'll be honest, I made it as far as I did only to realize that I overall disliked this story. I kept hoping the MC would smarten up or sit back and control the strategy from the background, but instead you get this OP guy fighting above his level most of the time (even though he's constantly getting OP power ups/team members). This is because as one other reviewer said, "a novel with great potential and to see that potential squandered is frustrating."

I feel upset making it as far as I did. As I find out more about the overarching plot instead of being hyped I'm just disappointed. I hate seeing the characters had personality shoved into the background for hundreds of chapters while the latest princess/harem candidate is constantly antagonizing the MC. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
The Legend of Sun Knight
August 16, 2018
Status: Completed
I avoided this one like the plague for a long time. The series has a few tags I tend to dislike: Amnesia, Demon Lord, Demons, Priests, Religions, and it didn't have one's that I typically would want with a novel: character growth, maybe some romance.

I thought this would just be a standard cutout of a typical fantasy adventure novel, but I was very wrong. The 4.8/5 rating is not an oversight, this one is solid gold.

I'm writing this review to inform anyone who is avoiding reading this novel for... more>> any reason to just try it now. (Also you can read this before Female Warrior and be fine, but personally I'd read this first. I think the author has plans to add to the female warrior series even though it's marked as completed (from what I read on the extras of female warrior volume 2). Either way, that's worth reading too.

This series is a MUST READ. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma
End of the Magic Era
April 7, 2019
Status: c807
  1. Under Rated
  2. Alchemy
  3. MC who is capable and can resolve conflicts without seeming like a showboating teenager
  4. I remember playing Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic as a kid and all the time I spent augmenting my light saber, so I can relate to over 500 chapters finding the right components for his staff, etc
  5. Give this a try. Unfairly hated.
  6. You don't really notice lack of romance stuffunless you think about it. Which is nice for this kind of novel because there is no way for a female lead to keep up with him in an organic fashion. Plus difference in experiences means the likelihood of finding someone compatible is low.
  7. I don't agree with the others who say this is a copy paste of other tropes. MC can determine right from wrong and take appropriate action, like not eliminating entire families because they bumped him. That's a huge change. The main character acts in a mature fashion.
  8. Is it slow, maybe. Not as slow as some, but definitely not as fast as others. MC does have downtime, so that's a plus. He decides what to do mostly instead of other stories where they are always under external pressure. At least in earlier chapters, around chapter 600 we get an arch or two that feel slow. Still interesting to read, but very disappointing..
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
September 8, 2018
Status: v2 epilogue
Aside from the fact that this story has been passed around like between translation groups like a cheap wh***, it's a good read.

Just be careful of chapter numbers, especially for volume 2, might want to open links directly from NU. Like don't trust paging/next buttons.

Second chance is like a naive normal LN MC lives a life of the righteous hero, gets betrayed by everyone, and then does revenge stuff. Worth reading.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
Decent amount of face slapping. Op cast. Fun read, with some mystery (like baby daddies) that we probably won't see for a long time.

Sometimes MC Mom's motivation seems off.

I'd say wait until it has a few hundred chapters to bing.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma
Demon’s Diary
May 7, 2019
Status: c301
Normally don't review this early, but I'll update it as I read.

First few chapters I almost gave up on this novel, but it picks up at chapter 5. I'd encourage anyone like me who wasn't feeling this novel in first four chapters to at least read until 6.

Stays pretty interesting throughout. Don't miss out on this novel.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
I love this story, but I hate the martial arts elements.. They don't really add anything of value to the story. Like we get over 20 chapters about her just beating up ML's bodyguards and them having a competition for head guard. Those are just empty and overall kind of boring.

The martial arts makes her too Mary Sue. I'm okay if she can shoot a gun with 100% accuracy, but if you add being a martial arts master on top of that she is literally perfect at everything. An above... more>> average aptitude would have been better.

Overall interesting, but feel free to just skip martial arts segments. Only missing the *o00h she's so powerful*. Yes, people are surprised, and you should be too, that a girl with no prior training can beat up elite specially trained bodyguards, thugs, etc.

Really good prior to 500-ish. Changes format from a second chance with a focus on bettering her relationships and fixing bad choices to this weird martial arts mashup that su**s. This went from being on my top five to something I might consider not keeping up with. Maybe I'll wait a year so I have plenty of chapters to read/skip when it's pure filler. A week+ of body guard competitions made reading this daily just.. Sad. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Spirit Realm
April 18, 2018
Status: c816
Overall it's pretty good. Kind of slow at parts, but that's normal. I kind of lost interest around 800, so I'm stopping with it for now and waiting for more chapters to build up.

I feel like the earlier chapters had more interactions with other characters while the last 100 feel like he only interacts to get the news of where to go fight next. Solo cultivation, is boring as hell. No one to make jokes or anything, no one to flirt with, just cultivation.. That much focus is a cultivation... more>> deviation. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Crazy Detective
May 5, 2019
Status: c454
Really a 4, but I feel it's very underrated. MC acts his personality. Has funny moments, but the story itself isn't a joke. Worth jumping into. I didn't even know I liked this genre.

I'd pause on it before tomb murder arch, otherwise you'll get sick of it.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
The Great Storyteller
May 2, 2019
Status: Completed
Really no novel quite like this. Every chapter feels good to read. Love the MC. He's using his second chance like a genuine person would. Tiny cheat with language, but that adds more to the story rather than being a distraction.

Highly recommended.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Versatile Mage
April 5, 2019
Status: c385
Very underrated.

I like the MC a lot. It's a similar feel to Library of Heaven's Path and other lighter webnovels that still get real at moments. I was honestly surprised by how much I like it.

Anyone who says there's no character growth needs to break out their old grammar books and learn again.

Baddies are okay, better than some.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
I feel like a lot of this is a 4. The trading, some of the politics. Any relationships, business or romantic, are weakly developed.

I think this is worth reading, kind of a guilty pleasure. Someone needs to build a solid ToC. This one was passed around translation groups like a cheap wh*** for first few hundred chapters.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Assassin’s Chronicle
March 16, 2019
Status: c254
I'm not upset at the personality changes, but I don't like stories where there isn't downtime. Like always being pressed by external circumstances is annoying.

Not sure if I'll finish, going to try to push forward. Maybe it will regain some of it's past glory.

Worth reading first 100 chapters. Stop when you get tired of being on the run all the time. FFS finding the one piece would be faster than the MC finding time to relax.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Badge in Azure
February 13, 2019
Status: c194
Review at c194 (2⭐)

I'd tell the author not to write if he's not got things figure out. Around this point we had the longest and most pointless action sequence, and once he gets to the place he deviates from his goal for an absurd reason. Out of character a bit..

Review at c495 (4⭐)

I pushed through. For about 40 chapters I told myself "don't think about the overarching plot, just enjoy the adventure". I feel like it worked. While that psych felt dry, the content it leads to was... more>> pretty solids. Future action moments are less artificial. The MC actually makes it from Point A to Point B without having a fight, which shows huge growth for this author.

Relationship stuff is slow, but he does have progress, so you should look forward to that.

Averaging to 3⭐. Quality content, but sometimes annoying content. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Throne of Magical Arcana
February 12, 2019
Status: c399
Enjoy it for the most part. Really solid world, and I don't regret reading it. The MC is pretty cool. Not enough magical technology for my taste, especially for someone who transmigrated, but that's okay.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Martial King’s Retired Life
October 4, 2018
Status: v4c7
This series is pretty good. Surprised of the lack of Slice of Life tag, because that's how it reads in my opinion.

The MC does pretty good as far as staying in character. (Wanting to hide so no one recognizes him).

Translation is pretty good.

... more>> Lost the will to continue around v4. Honestly I feel like v3 dragged a good bit, but overall I'd still say I enjoyed it.

I recommend this to potential readers:

read a chapter or two. If you're in the mood for this you'll know it, so continue, if not save it for later. You aren't going to get in the mood by forcing yourself through it. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3