Report Review
31 Reviews


timma
timma rated it
The Legendary Mechanic
January 27, 2019
Status: c792
It's good. No relationships. Only tiny bits of nationalism every 200 chapters.

Worth giving a shot. The MTL is okay.

Read a lot of web novels and took a small break, this was first one I read after starting again. So it's has unique qualities that kept me interested. Fast paced. But not too fast. Only qualms is I wish MC developed relationships outside of who can be useful to him
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Overgeared
August 21, 2018
Status: c141
Don't wait for it to get better, It's only marginal at best. I'm fine with arrogant MCs, but this guy is just Dense. It's like he doesn't remember being poor.

Spoiler

charging 1b for equipment a guild member needs to complete a SS quest. He literally blocks the guy from advancing by his greed. And this is after he's already paid off his and his family's debt, so he's just a miser for no reason.

[collapse]
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
The Legend of Sun Knight
August 16, 2018
Status: Completed
I avoided this one like the plague for a long time. The series has a few tags I tend to dislike: Amnesia, Demon Lord, Demons, Priests, Religions, and it didn't have one's that I typically would want with a novel: character growth, maybe some romance.

I thought this would just be a standard cutout of a typical fantasy adventure novel, but I was very wrong. The 4.8/5 rating is not an oversight, this one is solid gold.

I'm writing this review to inform anyone who is avoiding reading this novel for... more>> any reason to just try it now. (Also you can read this before Female Warrior and be fine, but personally I'd read this first. I think the author has plans to add to the female warrior series even though it's marked as completed (from what I read on the extras of female warrior volume 2). Either way, that's worth reading too.

This series is a MUST READ. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
September 8, 2018
Status: v2 epilogue
Aside from the fact that this story has been passed around like between translation groups like a cheap whore, it's a good read.

Just be careful of chapter numbers, especially for volume 2, might want to open links directly from NU. Like don't trust paging/next buttons.

Second chance is like a naive normal LN MC lives a life of the righteous hero, gets betrayed by everyone, and then does revenge stuff. Worth reading.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Monster Factory
September 6, 2018
Status: c158
If you like business management, give the first ~100 chapters a shot. They are fun. The chapter where his minions deals with knockoff manufacture is about where it peaks, I advise stopping after that. Story is solid ~4 territory until this point because you can reasonably suspend disbelief. I think after this point, once the factory starts expanding, suspending disbelief gets very very difficult the modern setting just leaves me questioning the world. Where are your corporate spys? Where are your government agents?

How can he literally mine an area without... more>> getting noticed?
Spoiler

his dinosaur minions are headbutting rocks, this shakes the earth, people pay attention to this kind of thing

[collapse]
Why is the military not taking his research for their projects?
Spoiler

If you invent a metal that can self repair, and can make enough to cast the hull for a dozen ships, tell me the Chinese government won't want that for tanks and research?

[collapse]

Most of all, Why is NO ONE asking him questions? His parents are just out of the picture after he pays the bills, so why don't they question their son? Early on he lies and says "imported/borrowed technology" to them, but everytime it's publicized in the news it's all "Our innovative county is light years ahead of everyone else". Why aren't they calling this bluff?

Chapter by chapter it got harder to believe this world where he could have it all exists. The final straw is
Spoiler

THE GIANT MECH

[collapse]
This is too big of a leap. This wouldn't be allowed to sit stationary without reporters from across the world questioning it. People would ask if it was a weapon. They would be scared a tiny bit, but most of all, if it wasn't a weapon, people would make it one.

Please ignore the cover, maybe summary too. This one is better to just jump into, you'll get some fun until you can't believe it anymore. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
Decent amount of face slapping. Op cast. Fun read, with some mystery (like baby daddies) that we probably won't see for a long time.

Sometimes MC Mom's motivation seems off.

I'd say wait until it has a few hundred chapters to bing.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
I love this story, but I hate the martial arts elements.. They don't really add anything of value to the story. Like we get over 20 chapters about her just beating up ML's bodyguards and them having a competition for head guard. Those are just empty and overall kind of boring.

The martial arts makes her too Mary Sue. I'm okay if she can shoot a gun with 100% accuracy, but if you add being a martial arts master on top of that she is literally perfect at everything. An above... more>> average aptitude would have been better.

Overall interesting, but feel free to just skip martial arts segments. Only missing the *o00h she's so powerful*. Yes, people are surprised, and you should be too, that a girl with no prior training can beat up elite specially trained bodyguards, thugs, etc.

Really good prior to 500-ish. Changes format from a second chance with a focus on bettering her relationships and fixing bad choices to this weird martial arts mashup that sucks. This went from being on my top five to something I might consider not keeping up with. Maybe I'll wait a year so I have plenty of chapters to read/skip when it's pure filler. A week+ of body guard competitions made reading this daily just.. Sad. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Spirit Realm
April 18, 2018
Status: c816
Overall it's pretty good. Kind of slow at parts, but that's normal. I kind of lost interest around 800, so I'm stopping with it for now and waiting for more chapters to build up.

I feel like the earlier chapters had more interactions with other characters while the last 100 feel like he only interacts to get the news of where to go fight next. Solo cultivation, is boring as hell. No one to make jokes or anything, no one to flirt with, just cultivation.. That much focus is a cultivation... more>> deviation. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Badge in Azure
February 13, 2019
Status: c194
Review at c194 (2⭐)

I'd tell the author not to write if he's not got things figure out. Around this point we had the longest and most pointless action sequence, and once he gets to the place he deviates from his goal for an absurd reason. Out of character a bit..

Review at c495 (4⭐)

I pushed through. For about 40 chapters I told myself "don't think about the overarching plot, just enjoy the adventure". I feel like it worked. While that psych felt dry, the content it leads to was... more>> pretty solids. Future action moments are less artificial. The MC actually makes it from Point A to Point B without having a fight, which shows huge growth for this author.

Relationship stuff is slow, but he does have progress, so you should look forward to that.

Averaging to 3⭐. Quality content, but sometimes annoying content. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
I normally avoid oneshots because they leave me wanting more, but this is a real reincarnation story.

The real version where you don't magically become a genius, it just looks that way in childhood.

Really thought provoking. 9/10 would recommend.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Crossing to the Future, it’s Not Easy to Be a Man
August 8, 2018
Status: c73
Boring goal. Okay character development for MC. But little to no side character development, and sparse interactions.

I'm okay with tons of patriarchy, but bad science, like genes coming from mainly father's side, irritates me. It's 50/50.. Bad author.

MC's goal is kind of weak (tiny spoiler)

... more>>
Spoiler

Her Dao is to be able to shoulder a world where she can have an excellent kid.

[collapse]

Like others say, if you love gender benders, you might like this more. Personally I'm not huge on them.. Even sinse the cute shota on Prince of Tennis ended up being a girl, I've been emotionally scarred. (Still salty about that) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Still, Wait For Me
July 2, 2018
Status: c558
Worth reading up till point where the relationship is publicized. After that the author himself admits that he's dug a pit that he couldn't write his way out of. The MC grows too influential and takes a turn from his original personality which is heavily influenced by decisions stemming from desperation. After that the story drops. Honestly some of the best 450 chapters I've read, really enjoyed them. I'd recommend reading whatever is translated. I'd stop once they get together and call it quits. It's 5/5 up to that point.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Martial King’s Retired Life
October 4, 2018
Status: v4c7
This series is pretty good. Surprised of the lack of Slice of Life tag, because that's how it reads in my opinion.

The MC does pretty good as far as staying in character. (Wanting to hide so no one recognizes him).

Translation is pretty good.

... more>> Lost the will to continue around v4. Honestly I feel like v3 dragged a good bit, but overall I'd still say I enjoyed it.

I recommend this to potential readers:

read a chapter or two. If you're in the mood for this you'll know it, so continue, if not save it for later. You aren't going to get in the mood by forcing yourself through it. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
15P 7H 6SM
September 7, 2018
Status: Completed
I like BL. I'm okay with mushiness, but I don't like this stories pacing.

The multiple POV switches with these short chapters resulted in a lot of jumps, which at times left me confused about where I was at time wise in the story. I felt like I was watching a modern action sequence where they do 50 jump cuts. By the time I finished this (rather quickly) I was like "that's it?".. Plot is nothing special.

I feel like this was more of a generic outline of a story than a... more>> story itself.

I guess I recommend it to people who just need some emotional bleach? Like if you're coming off a heavy story, you can completely read this one in about 30-45 mins and it'll put you in a better mood.

If you don't need emotional bleach, then save it for when you do maybe? Or ignore this one.

Showbiz and celebrities tags seem off. He's just an actor. If he was a politician, or any other public figure, the story would be the same. Don't read it for the showbiz. This story is just a showbiz background at best. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Jiang Hu’s Road is Curved
September 7, 2018
Status: Completed
Honestly, the beginning was a little hard to follow. I'm not sure if it's the translation or the writing style. Probably hard for the author describing transmigrating from a world that is not earth into a world that is not earth. So no loss of points on that. For me it's 4.1/5. The point loss is because the MC is at times too naive, but she grows throughout the story, so don't disregard the story because of this element (She's just naive for a China novel, not nearly as foolish... more>> as Japanese MCs).

Multiple times this one get hard to follow, but you pick it up with some context, so it's not a biggie. Enjoyable read, longer chapters so that's nice. Worth reading, but I don't recommend this for new readers. The jokes require that you know about conventional romances with a Mary Sue type character, otherwise you won't get what it's talking about or why it's funny.

Overall, try it, just jump into it without reading summary and stuff, that's what I did.

If you're not sure what a Mary Sue is, then read some others and come back to this later. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Demon Wang’s Golden Favorite Fei
September 1, 2018
Status: c168
Really liked some of it. The mystery behind family stuff was good. Should have ended series before honeymoon.

Seems like beyond that point is literally just dragging time. Like pointless conflict. Got boring.

Before honeymoon is solid 4.2/5

After is like 2.1 and hard to read.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
The Fourteen Years I Spent as a Cat
August 19, 2018
Status: Completed
The feels kind of snuck up on me.

Like if it was a person as a protagonist I don't think I would have been as emotional. 😿 10/10 Writing

My advise: have something else lined up to read afterwards so you can forget the feels
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Godly Model Creator
August 13, 2018
Status: c224
Wow. I've neglected to read this for a while. Though the rating is okay (3.9) the first like 8 reviews I read just hated it. I'd recommend just jumping into it and giving it a try. I feel like it's okay world wise. MC doesn't feel cheaty, just feels like his ability makes up a bit for his huge shortcummings. I'm not sure if it's that way later on, but at least the first couple of hundred chapters were a fun read.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
I Don’t Like The World, I Only Like You
March 13, 2018
Status: Completed
This is so heartwarming. Idk if it would be depressing to someone not in a relationship/with decent familial bonds.

Worth reading.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
timma
timma rated it
Tempest of the Stellar War
February 16, 2019
Status: c11
Cliche wish fulfillment fluff. Writing is too poor to get into the story. Like too much luck or child of destiny bullsh*t makes it impossible to get into.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report