Report Review
29 Reviews


summers
summers rated it
Age of Adepts
June 30, 2017
Status: c116
MC is not a jerk, MC is not OP, MC is not an idiot, MC is not a beta, MC is creative but not genius, MC is humble but not pathetic. Finally!

Guy souls has a chip that helps him organize, optimize and analyze info, its not a Cheat but is useful, a tool not a crutch. MC died and came back to life in the body of a apprentice of magic school the story up till now is him advancing as a student. This is not your usual magic school,... more>> its isolated and desperate; everyone is seeking advantage and doing crazy experiments on themselves to advance. The teacher Anderson is not seen much, in fact up until the chapter I have read to he has not taught them a single lesson, he is too busy with his own business.

MC is a flame user with a darkness attribute, this rarely comes into play early in novel cause he does not have the resources to cultivate those talents; instead he focuses on using his chip to make optimized Golems. The magic system and world in constantly expanded on without being overwhelming, MC think like we would, so there is not face-palming at him missing an obvious Ideas; he uses his creativity to fuse golems and cover his weakness.

Power scale is well done as well; the pace picks up and shows us this when 3 foreign advanced students sneak into the school grounds, we see the difference in levels, MC only survives through trickery. Its also that trickery that lets him punch above his weight and its satisfying to see.

Later in the novel the world expands from the slow dreary swamp school tower, they get sent on mission to more resource rich schools and he advances rapidly, better Golems are used, he stops holding back a bit, he gets a cool new look, and he does so while still being relatively humble (Author seems tempted to make him a jerk and walks it back).

Most of the major secondary characters are antagonists with the exception of Mary the Vampires; she took some getting used to and I could not get past her murdering some random student but she was going through a uncontrollable mutation; and she doesn't turn the MC into horny idiot. Her purpose is actually to be used as cover for MC; he takes the spotlight while he plots his growth. She realized this later and is frustrated but can't and won't do anything about it.

Translation is good updates are frequent. Give this a read.

UPDATE: The second Arc did not interest me and I dropped it. I understand that he can't advance all the time and it needs to be broken up with action but it was just him and vampire Mary, and Atecon evil bugs using their drones to fight. Greem uses summoned golem army, Mary blood slaves, and Atecon's bugs. It's not interesting.

Also never cared about what was happening, like, why is he doing this, or more accurately, why does he care? Resources to advance, I guess. This is a problem many magic system; advancement focused novels have. How to mix advancement with action. One way would be make the resources gained temporary in order to curb power creep. Not every crystal needs to give one 10 levels or any levels at all, just something needed for skills, the crystal would be rare thus giving character a reason to be constantly running around fighting for stuff. Anyways, read the first arc and stop there. If I see reviews saying things get better I will skip to that chapter. <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
Monarch of Evernight
July 4, 2017
Status: c13
it was boring. Not even the infamous orgy other reviews mentioned could spice it up; said orgy was pg13.

The beginning made little sense, girl for some reason try to kill him for giving her food? Betrayal makes not sense if there is no reason for the betrayal. Cultivation is the standard 9 nodes model.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
Risou no Himo Seikatsu
January 31, 2017
Status: v3
This could have been good. Sadly like most of slice of life fantasy most of the content is just filler. The political aspect was smart without being overbearing and obvious, there is no snickering evil count, just people with reasonable ambitions and worries and interests, that is harder to deal with than an actual antagonist.

The filler is stuff that really ads nothing, I don't need to read about him eating or walking the halls, or the fact that he is using LED lamps for lighting for the 100th time. I... more>> don't need to read that queen is wearing a red dress, she is almost always wearing a red dress. As for the criticism that MC is not bringing in enough modern tech or guns. There is a reason why poorer countries have a hard time making or even stealing some tech; it requires maintenance, infrastructure, a proper supply chain strong knowledge base etc. Those novels that have some guy just watch video and start a industrial revolution requires too much of a suspension of disbelief even in a world of magic.

Its too bad about the filler, because speed reading ahead it looks like there are some interesting and cute/fun characters to be introduced, but I will not waste my time with filler, I have learned to drop those kind of novels fast. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
Amazing read. The MC is not overpowered, he is not a jerk, and reacts realistically. Sometimes he is a bit too hard on himself I a way that many people won't like but he is a formally bullied teenager.

MC starts out wanting to go it alone and it works for a while until he gets swept up in a series of events that have him gaining and caring for allies. It's also a harem that bears results quickly, teenagers in such a charged situation and with few strong figures to... more>> count on its felt natural that girls would turn to MC. His support style of play makes him more ideal for this than a simply damage dealer.

MC is no OP, thank god for that. It means the skills actually matter, the stats actually matter, the game system matter, I found myself thinking what would I do with these skill sets and that was fun.

The enemies did not feel like pushovers even when they starting getting used to the weaker enemies, The pacing is not slow but it does emphasize that fighting through a large school full of enemies is difficult and wont be done quickly.

Read this!

Update ch102: still good, I waited a year and only couple chapters have been released. The world expanded and am a little confused about where they are. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
Reading several chapters and I never knew what the point of it was. As an ecchi a good foundation was set, apparently hero's don't have level limits and s*x with them raises it, this forms the basis for MC's capture, rape, then reason for revenge. That's fine, problem is this world seems to view healers as useless?! Because who needs healing. After that I just got lost.

A test I use to see if I should drop book is if a skip dozen or more chapters and feel as if nothing... more>> has been missed, like there was just a timeskip or a scene change.

I dropped it. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
Castle of Black Iron
July 3, 2017
Status: v2c5
It was just boring. Steampunk world MC with game dimension in his head, not OP and that's a good thing. It felt like a slice of life, but for that to work it has to have other interesting characters. We get the airplane brother hood who don't really doing anything; the hot teacher who has yet to say anything and is just leered at and fantasied about by other students. The ranking system seems in this world is different in that its all physical, they rate marching speed and effective... more>> combat and maximum spear rating etc.

At the point I dropped it I have yet to see the usefulness of his inner dimension.

Thx to translaters though. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
Pure Love ✕ Insult Complex
January 26, 2017
Status: --
Don't get turned of by the tags, this is really good. Translation is understandable. Characters are well flashed out and plot does not drag. This is not a rape-fic, but it does have many characters with rape fantasies due to trauma. Its like a one of those old rape-revenge films. There is more than meets the eye going on, the plot not being to different than a hentai but this has dozens of chapters to flesh out story.
OK if you want major spoilers read bellow.
... more>>
Spoiler

Turns out the sensei is on a revenge quest and all her victims are really the victims of her father and his shady patter, or her toys already had problems of their own and she helps them with their dark tendencies;since she herself is broken that help take on a s*xually sadistic form. This way our MC's become likable. Though I think story could have worked with them being outright antagonists.
The main guy is the only guy we get to know, that's good thing, he has his harem of broken women and he himself is broken up in a way that tragic. He just does not feel happy or sad for himself, this passive character does what his told but not in a annoying way. The true victim here is shiruza yukino who is being used as a tool for revenge; but even this is put into new light when we find out her father has raped and is planning to rape his daughters!

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
These Dangerous Girls Placed Me Into Jeopardy
September 18, 2017
Status: c31
Slice of life, pervy-scary girl harem. The girls are interesting; MC is described as the usual passive loser and that's OK. The problem is the MC does not fit that description, and NTR character would be better than him, those guys at least may eventually react to things with intense feeling and actions. He is not even a character, something that we have to call the MC moves around until and event happens then he does not follow up at all, he does not try to find out why everyone... more>> in his class is special or what makes them so or if they really are. He does immediately go to the principle and asks these questions when he find out she is also special.

What he does do is avoid all the girls when possible, make agreements not to touch the succubus even if she wants to, etc.

The key to slice of life is to feel that what is happening is important to the people invovled even if its just a school test, and some regular events so that when those events change it become something that we remembers. All we get is MC goes to school avoid people till event is forced on him, goes home and maybe event is forced on him. That's it. This is worse than beta-neet like behavior.

Its a shame because the girls are interesting, his sisters are hardcore in love perving on him, and not in the usual cutesy ecchi kinda a way, more like drugging him for five years so she can molest him in his sleep, counting the number of times climaxed while doing certain action (was not s*x but might as well be). But its like the girls are interacting with a ghost, girls do interesting things, he repeats what those things are, the end. If this was done so we could imagine ourselves in our place, then its ineffective.

I don't know if its the translation or the result of a Chinese author replicating Japanese style of writing, but it was hard to understand. My final test if skipping 2 dozen chapters, if I can't tell the difference between that chapter and the actual next chapter then nothing is happening and I drop the fiction. I dripped this. I give it 2 stars because I can see some people willing to power through this. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
Oukoku e Tsuzuku Michi
July 20, 2017
Status: --
Amazing erotic story and one of the few good novels I have read since getting into this.

The description says most of what you need to know. The MC is strong not overpowered, and the girls are likable and fleshed out. They don't always stick around; they come and go based on their own circumstances because they have and had lives before the MC came along. He does have a few one night-stands but even these flesh out the world. For example he capture and evil lord during a war and... more>> the girls he kidnapped want him dead; they "convince" MC that it would be great if he would kill the lord and how much they would "love" for him to bring down justice.

It also read like a hentai comic, other s*x novels surprisingly don't read like a comic but instead reads like a series of clipped awkward sentences that mostly end like this "and then he did this then that, then she did this".

So know this coming in. Its a pervy story but MC is not an idiot and no NTR. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers
Epoch of Twilight
July 3, 2017
Status: c87
Found it boring, would have been better without the game system. Its not his overpowered, but he does do everything with ease. It seems like a slice of life apocalypse and thats OK, its just that slice was boring.

Translation is good.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
This was a nice light story, but I dropped it. I just got bored. Its was nice to see the illustrations of happy smiling cute characters, I was looking for a slice of life, but it felt like filler too many times. If you have the time and patience read this.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
Youkoso Jitsuryoku Shijou Shugi no Kyoushitsu e
July 14, 2017
Status: v2
Very good read. We have seen the so-called uninterested MC before, sharp tongued girl duo before but usually it breaks down and becomes another cliche. So far they are sticking with it. Probably because the reason MC is in school is not to pass but to find an answer to A question, so he is not all bluster.

Only problem is I have a hard time suspending my disbelief about this school system. They dont let people into the school just on grades; reason being that japan not in a good... more>> situation and hereditary system is bad. But class D keeps getting trolled. Its one thing to keep info from students about how the system works, but the teach lied to their face about what to study; and played it off as an accident. I hope they explains this sooner rather than later or I might loose interest in the school aspect. Only excuse so far is that life is not fair and they are simulating real work conditions, but the point of the school is to change that system not encourage a bunch of kids to be pessimistic untrusting jerks. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
God and Devil World
September 15, 2017
Status: c660
So this is the third time I have tried to pick this up. Still sucks, but not for the reason people post. Yes there is an anti-japanese thing going on, yes lots of women being traded around, and double yes to characters being quickly forgotten.

I knew what I was in for, my problem was that despite the loads of jade-like women in this story other than the first chapters, MC is not getting laid, and the game system can be completely ignored by this point, so can the identical... more>> characters. Also I don't know if its the translation but everyone talks like they are in lip synced black and white kungfu movie; its all "You demon!" "This man so Amazing!" "!!!!"

Also rape is only implied, have read no graphic scenes, he just pops into a community he has taken over and finds women that used to served the previous boss he takes the most Oval faced out of all them; rince, repeat.

The translation site its on is good though, infinite scroll so you can read fast, none of this clicking through 3 sites and links to get to a chapter. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
Welcome to the Man-Eating Dungeon
September 11, 2017
Status: c58
This is my second time trying to read this. It went better now that there is more chapters and I enjoyed the s*x scenes. Some people will cry NTR, but thats not in the story, he does pimp out the girls though, they are all comfortable with s*x. Screaming NTR when another guy looks at a women screams insecurity and that shows in many ecchi novels. This MC does not give a crap. Side effect is the characters are defined by their fetishes only and might as well be the... more>> same girl.

2.5/5 <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
The Book Eating Magician
July 14, 2017
Status: c20
Not much to say. MC is not a jerk that's good, or a wimp; but nothing about him as a character seemed interesting. His cheat (there is always a cheat) is a magic book that eats other magic books, that increases his stats and knowledge; he is not OP that's good, but reading about a guy looking for stuff to feed his book is boring. Its not bad though so I give it 3.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers
Dream Life
July 11, 2017
Status: --
Im a pretty harsh reviewer so be warned you may like this. All I can say with the chapters out right now is that its the usual. Normal guy goes to other world, growing up with his pretty mom. Blah blah. He doesn't seem like an OP jerk so far, that good, but I could not keep reading. It is marked slice of life, but that does not give it a excuse for that life to be uninteresting.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
Starchild Escapes Arranged Marriage
July 11, 2017
Status: c12
Starts out well. Simple man living simple life and enjoys it. His good at what he does and plans to do it for the rest of his life. Until he is killed by Yanderes.

Problem comes when things get a bit too grand. It goes from simple, while hinting at other higher rankings and positions to talking about supreme dragon gods. The problem with this is that it all mixes together there are 4 gods, but it was; supreme this and gods of goddesses that. Got bored.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers
(Um, Sorry) I’ve Been Reincarnated!
January 27, 2017
Status: --
it must be good to be an elite. Noticed for a while now. Down on his luck or bullied MC will show they new world and the elites he's awesome. Goes off to serve elites. His the son of a noble and the people he runs into? Trip oh met a princess, whoops heir of a beast clan, oh dear bumped into a goddess elf mage. Wow I'm OP what a surprise.

What I would give for a humble but capable MC, who meets some actually interesting people. An ambitious merchant,... more>> a struggling single mother, a average tired soldier. And if the meed the big leagues its in passing instead of getting caught up in their drama.

My frustrations with this genre is seeping to the surface. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
Isekai Taneuma
July 21, 2017
Status: c19
OK read. Guy goes to another world and is treated as a s*x slave to gain skills. He also gains skills from this though and as time goes on he becomes closer to his masters and exerts some control over his situation. Promoted from slave to man whore. We get repeat "customers" while focusing on the main girls. The princess and her knights.

It starts out dark, with Classmates being killed; but obviously author changed the tone. This is for the best, because then it would have to confront how to... more>> become close to the people who killed his classmates. So instead everyone seems to make their peace with it and move on. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
summers
summers rated it
I Became a Hero in a Pandemic
July 21, 2017
Status: c23
Not and easy read but not a bad one. Something to read quickly if nothing else around.

Edit: Gave this a second chance, feel the same way, speed read it up till 61. Don't know if its the translation or the author It's just unreadable. MC does not help with his "Oh?" "Ah..." "Eh..." followed by some dribble.

Maybe someday we will get a solid zombie erotica.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report