Report Review
12 Reviews


solyana116
solyana116 rated it
Chongfei Manual
October 31, 2018
Status: c74.1
Spoiler

Rating 2.5

Ended up dropping Chonfei Manual 😞 so I'll write as to why and review up to the point which I have read.

Our MC -super OP, and for crying out loud so many loopholes in her logic. She holds unreasonable grudges based on events in her past and current life. Ex. her intelligence is nothing like that of a five year old nor her actions except for using her cute face to cry and incite pity, she hates her father for falling to a scheme against her mother but also hates her mother for not trusting her father and abandoning her and her brother at birth, actually she hates or has a grudge against everyone - exempt are her biological brother, servant, ML, ML's sister. I find the amount of times I need to be reminded how cute MC is and constantly being doted on by ML unnecessary. Especially since she's so unfamiliar with him, but still ends up encountering him EVERYWHERE and he protects her. Actually, FL, is often protected - even though she obviously has the ability to protect herself. I like it when MCs are strong and have poisonous tongues and are regal, but this MC -too much with no bg to explain why, lowkey annoys me. MC also super petty.

ML - Yeet okay, this dude is uh... interesting. Obviously super OP, I mean he's like 15 and a super threat to the throne. Ticks all boxes in appearance, intelligence, strength (your boy was sent to the army when he was a kid), coincidentally encountering MC to build their relationship even if its only a few minutes. BUT... this guy falls head over heels for no reason for our MC when she's just five!!!! He's 15. I don't really mind age difference when the ages are a older, like 18 year old and 28 year old and above, but he freaking just boom falls in love with her, and even when he's gone away, thinks of her and ways to marry her after the time skip. ML has tons of girls after him, yet he locks on to MC just because she bit him and he found her behaviour interesting when she was 5.

As for the side characters, everyone is just... weak. Weak in character, mentality, physique... Maybe even more so because the mains are so strong.

Only giving this 2 stars because of translation quality and it managed to get me to 74 chaps before I skipped to read some spoilers.

[collapse]
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
solyana116
This book!! So satisfying, ah...

... more>>
Spoiler

Space and Rebirth truly reminds me of Malicious Empress. The characters aren't shallow 2D fodder, which is refreshing.

Our MC, Jing Yun Zhao, is the re-birthed superwoman package - beauty, brains, guns, indifference, money - she's got them. Every action she does has a reason, whether it be from her tragic past or from her current observations, she is always prepared with evidence to back herself. JYZ has good judgement, helping those who need it

Spoiler

like Ye Qing's mother

[collapse]

whilst dishing out the face-smacking and reputation ruining. Expect a lot of that.

Spoiler

The best one yet with that two-faced lotus 'sister' of hers... mmm... kind of felt pity but served her right. Still waiting for her 'step-father' to experience the pain.

[collapse]

Call me a sadist - I really enjoy how she baits people and then traps them hahaha.

ML, Li Shao Yun, he's got it all as well, and on top of that he's a pretty funny guy. I like how it's not instant love when he meets MC. He was described in a way that wasn't typical of a ML, - just a good-looking restaurant owner, but at the same time you could tell he was going to be ML, even though their interactions were so ordinary. So far I've only seen him appear three times at this point - chapter 116, so I can not say much about him. I am looking forward to seeing more of his future interactions with our girl.

Some readers may think it is slow paced, however I am quite pleased with the pace of the novel. Nothing is too rushed and there is ample time for events to develop. Though our MC's cheats are so ridiculous it makes me laugh -

Spoiler

like she absorbs jade containing a scroll with a thousand medical books' worth of content

[collapse]

, it's a satisfying read. So far I would rate this novel a 4, but from what I have read so far, it has tremendous potential, and I see it being a 5 in my books.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
solyana116
solyana116 rated it
Rebirth of an Abandoned Woman
October 27, 2018
Status: c90
Spoiler

Honestly, I think all the characters in here are rather 'weak', except for the cousin antagonist.

Our MC puts up with every wrong thing done against her she's does everything with quiet acceptance, and ML isn't very good at coming to her rescue. She is left to fend for herself but her docile nature just leaves her fending off every attack, or accepting punishment to avoid conflict, not actually retaliating. Though I do think this makes ML more realistic since you can clearly see that his life is very separated from hers and does not meddle much with inner court affairs. ML isn't likeable and you do feel a huge sense of pity for MC. It isn't the instant love at first sight, which is why until like 70 chapters in, he's still a fool for the cousin antagonist. He also isn't a man of his word and you really do see how imperfect he is. Low-key frustrating but I understand why author wrote him. I personally don't think the relationship is super 'fluffy', just 'meh', partly due to the MCs not being likeable. Better off reading similar world novels: ROTMEOML, DCF, TMR, etc, for the hnnnngh dose. The side characters thoughhhh, imo are just meaningless. They're literally a bunch of useless annoying fodder. Also think it would have been better without so much filler - I can hardly follow the plot of the novel ojz.

As for the cousin, she will annoy you to death with her schemes. LOL. She literally is extremelyyyyy unlikeable, and the typical narcissistic fodder b*tch who thinks the world revolves around her. However despite this, I do find her character a contrast against all the other characters (except for the MC's second-sister-in-law who's refreshingly strong willed and outspoken). As you read it, you really begin to realise how insecure she is because of all her scheming and interactions with ML and her servant (when she constantly frets over what the ML is doing and why he is losing interest in her). She doesn't trust in ML, which draws him away from her to our MC. It's ironic how the person ML trusted the most, betrayed him, and the person who trusted him the most, he betrayed. I liked this part about the story since there's so many flaws in everyone. Even though they both proclaimed mutual love, I get a feeling that the cousin never really loved ML. She feared him being taken away from her because that meant her stability within the household would falter and she strongly believes that everything belongs to her - the position to manage the household - hence why she bullies MC and was successful in the past life, trying to attain whatever possible means of power a woman of that time would be able to attain in a male-dominated era. She's the only 'strong' character in the main household, her tongue is really vicious and has a way with sweet words. She knows how to play her pity cards, is proactive and if she sees potential in something, she will do whatever to see it happen - often successfully. If she weren't following the antagonist route, I believe she would be really successful as one of those smart-strong-headed-rise-to-power MCs.

[collapse]

Edit: Yeet, okay, finished the raws. Opinion still holds - book tried to create some fluffy moments (kinda like from DCF but I didn't really feel it), still bland.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
solyana116
solyana116 rated it
Stunning Edge
October 20, 2018
Status: Completed
Stunning Edge is an enjoyable read.

... more>>
Spoiler

My review is based on reading the raws ahead and contains spoilers.

Stunning Edge is interesting in the sense that it is quite action-focused, however lacks the crucial plot needed to really make it engaging. The action comes with the flow of the novel, and you can not really anticipate it. It is like - all of a sudden an action requiring event occurs and then boom, MC shows off her OP abilities. The events are so ridiculously random and there is hardly any build up. The strongest villains are defeated in an instant and makes any hype fade instantly. Not only that, this novel really drags... there are usually two reasons why I spoil novels for myself:

  1. The first being I cannot wait for the translations as there is probably a big cliff hanger and I must know what happens NOW!! (Exception - for my favourite novels I resist this.)
  2. The second being the novel at this point is currently making me lose interest and I want to read ahead to see if there is anything good.

Unfortunately, Stunning Edge is the latter. There were many fillers packed with flat unlikeable characters. Sometimes they were so bland, that it made me laugh - why did author bother to include them?

Initially, I enjoyed reading about our Claire, our OP MC. However, a really big flaw I find in this novel is how strong the FL halo is. She is so ridiculously powerful, smart, beautiful, etc, that she shadows everyone else. Until reading over a hundred chapters in, I wasn't even sure who the ML was

Spoiler

it's

Spoiler

Feng Yi

Spoiler

just joking

Spoiler

do you really want to know?

Spoiler

okay fine.

Spoiler

it's Ling Yun... his persistence pays of haha

[collapse]
[collapse]
[collapse]
[collapse]
[collapse]
[collapse]

because Claire shadows them so greatly.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
solyana116
solyana116 rated it
Light Beyond (LN)
September 23, 2017
Status: v3c9
Light Beyond Road's End, is one of the most thought provoking and heart wrenching light novels.

... more>>
Spoiler

Edited: 1st February 2019

I started this novel, hoping for romance and fluff. I got so much more. The whole angst package, plot development, revelations, and character developments had me shOOK. So well developed, even the side characters are integral to the plot.
Our MC is selfless, but she isn't stupid. She's aware of the feelings of the people around her, be it hatred or love. It's a journey of discovery as you learn about the world and history alongside Yuna. She's emotionally resilient and despite her weak constitution doesn't spontaneously faint every other paragraph. You'll empathise and imagine, rather than reading a story where a certain character's past is already known. I love the mysteriousness and it will keep you hooked with the painful recurrent cliffhangers.
The plot and world itself is quite dark, and there's a clash between the political and religious parties of the world. In a good way, you can really see the elements that shape the world; good world development rather than a plain tragic backstory generic of most MCs.
In my opinion, I don't believe MC is the female lead - Lady Celiastina is. Yuna is acting as a host and creating and shaping Cella's story. It reminds me of Shakespeare's Henry IV where the story being told is implicitly another person's life.

Spoiler

The fact that they have history together and are connected as friends and in their power is insane.

[collapse]

The writing is eloquent and the translation is so well written. You will appreciate the full lengthy chapters.

I really love this story and definitely recommend it. The images are a bonus and I recommend listening to Your Name's OST.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
solyana116
solyana116 rated it
Mr. CEO, Spoil me 100 Percent!
January 31, 2019
Status: Completed
Spoiler

To be honest, I started reading for the face-slaps, though I've read so many face-slap novels it was kind of unsatisfying and predictable. Too many scheming lotus-faces one after another. I found the beginning generic (and the plot boring), and I despised all the characters; literally everyone except MC has something wrong with them. Especially ML?! I was hoping he wasn't ML for the first hundred chapters because he's EQ is negative. He doesn't give a damn about anything to the point he's aloof and taken advantaged of, but he どえsん't EVEN CARE he's being taken advantaged of. He brainlessly goes with the flow even though he's supposed to be a cold and calculating guy. At the beginning you will definitely hate him. It wasn't until like chapter 230 something that I started liking him. In the first place, I don't really like divorced people getting back together esp. if it was a loveless and mutual decision so I definitely wasn't rooting for him. As for all the characters they are so 2D. Everyone is dumb - good or bad (I didn't even like Lin Lin, I got a 3 yo baby bro and Lin Lin is nothing like him. He's expected to be wise beyond his years, so unrealistic). I feel like author felt the need to write them in such a way that they were nothing so that MC could outshine everyone, even though her number-one-hacker-FL-halo is already way too OP. But she's well developed and rounded with a mysterious past and her attitude towards herself and everyone is strong, fair, and ruthless so I like her. She's a dignified queen -

Spoiler

especially when her memory implanted into Xia Meng and proved quiet confidence was everything.

[collapse]

It's the first for me to read an MC leave out of her own volition because she cared about her own well-being. She's upright and values herself - doesn't want pity from ML, or ML's family, or her own family and friends. I mean if someone offered me a one hundred-million-dollar cheque that actually legally belonged to me, I would have just taken it lmao. I liked how MC became a new person/reverted to her old self, not because of reincarnation/transmigration - a plot too easy and common, but rather because she regained her pre-amnesia self. She's also intelligent - not just the show-off-y way where she schemes against people, but her passive yet manipulative speech when talking to people reminded me of some irl criminal interrogations.

Spoiler

When she was captured by FS and said "if you have suspicion in your heart, then every truth I say will sound like a lie" that really hit me.

[collapse]

Author definitely put a lot of thought into her character and it linking to later parts of the novel well.

Spoiler

The angst near chapter 900 something when you realise they missed each other three times was crazy. And the fact that author linked it with parts of the story so early on.

[collapse]

Refreshing.

I do think the first hundred chapters or so is worth skimming over unless you live for the endless face-slapping. But the arc where MC meets Xia Meng... that's some Illuminati shenanigans there. Made me think of the Harry Potter 3rd movie where Harry saves his past self from the dementors. I totally didn't expect that sci-fi twist and the plot kept on getting more and more complicated and interesting from what originally a novel I thought was going to be about how FL face-slaps her way to glory and falls in love with ML. The change was quite nice, and definitely unique. Also she starts genuinely reciprocating his feelings ish around chapter 700 lol...

It's an interesting mix of modern-day-romance-sci-fi-drama-mystery with countless plot twists and conspiracies.

I'd personally rate it 3 stars, as it's not on par with my favourite novels, but it's unique and worth a shot.

[collapse]
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
solyana116
solyana116 rated it
You’re Gonna Break the Engagement? Right?
April 30, 2018
Status: oneshot
1.5/5 for translation quality, although it's understandable since English is not their first language and there was no editing nor TLC-ing.

2/5 for impact. I ended up reading the raws because getting through the translation was a bit difficult and it was just 'eh'. Ending was a bit abrupt and wasn't satisfied but oh well.

I dislike the MC's character, whiny and dense; the ML isn't bright either. Though I applaud the author for trying to squish a heap context into a single moment. It's definitely rushed and doesn't engage me as... more>> a reader - that's just my personal opinion. Overall it's a fairly quick but pointless read, and if you want to waste some time, go for it. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
solyana116
solyana116 rated it
Sansheng, Wangchuan Wu Shang
January 21, 2018
Status: bonus story 3
Tis lighthearted, and fluffy yet at times, really touches you.

I think other reviews have said what I want to say better, only wish it was longer and there were more adventures/bonus stories xD
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
solyana116
solyana116 rated it
Jiang Hu’s Road is Curved
January 21, 2018
Status: Completed
Jiang Hu's Road Is Curved is both so heartwarming and heart-wrenching.

... more>>
Spoiler

Be prepared for an emotional rollercoaster.

Honestly, in the beginning it didn't really give me the WOW factor, and you really don't know who is the male lead, since there are a few males that pop out, but MC doesn't really interact a great deal with them.

My advice is to continue to read, because it gets so good, DON'T DROP IT if you have started reading. There are so many plot twists after plot twists, and honestly it's so refreshing that the plot is unpredictable. I even jumped on the wrong ship, for the first 50 chapters.

After I finished the novel, I re-read it, starting at chapter one, the MC has grown so much. Her character development is no joke and she turns into a person who was once (neutrally dislikable) and naive to someone who's every action you root for.

This book got me so hooked and I just could not put it down after the action started.

My average rating is usually 2-3 stars, so I 200% recommend.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
solyana116
solyana116 rated it
Love Me Again
October 26, 2018
Status: epilogue
To be honest, I started reading this at 3:26am don’t question me ojz, and finished at around 11 in the morning.

Giving this a five star rating because I was so hooked. I truly wish that it was longer, so characters would be given ample time to develop, before going into the snusnu or like, that really caught me off guard. Though I really commend the author for their writing. You can feel so much angst and emotion portrayed I often found myself rereading paragraphs because of how much emotion it... more>> conveyed. Also I love how in one chapter there is so much development and the scene builds up nicely. Bit frustrated at the side characters, Mei Fang and her dad. They do seem quite pathetic and like stone characters, there for just one purpose and not really explored until like one paragraph at the end of the book. The main charas really make up for it though, especially done in such a short novel.

Overall enjoyed this book! Got so hooked, and couldn’t stop reading. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
solyana116
solyana116 rated it
Beloved Empress
September 26, 2018
Status: c85
Plot and romance is quite slooooowwwww.

MC starts off likeable, ML on the unlikeable side. Roughly 70 chapters in, you start wanting to jump in and throttle the MC because she's so dense?! ML also becomes much more likeable (he is quite tsun) and makes you want to root for him. Dropped because MC was too annoying and kept siding with second ML, whose obviously dodgy as spiky potatte but she's too dense to see it. Also 85 chapters in, and the novel has progressed extremely slowly. MC has had no... more>> character development since the beginning, and still afraid ML can kill her at any time, yet acts (idk) 'arrogantly' in front of him. He would have done so ages ago if he wanted to. Wish there was more to there character that we could see. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
solyana116
solyana116 rated it
Your Humble Servant is Guilty!
January 21, 2018
Status: c7
3.5 stars

Tis lighthearted, and a decent read, especially since it is only 7 chapters.

It doesn't give you the 'can't put this book down' feeling, and the characters are not too likeable, but they aren't extremely annoying either. For a short read, it's above average, in my opinion.

-:D))))))) ~
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report