Report Review
14 Reviews


shylight
shylight rated it
Great Demon King
April 2, 2017
Status: c312
This is the first Chinese novel in this genre that I ever read and that is the only reason I stuck around for so long. MC is boringly OP. Also just plain boring and unlikeable in terms of personality The battles are badly written, boring, and predictable. Same with interaction between characters. Speaking of characters, the only somewhat interesting one is a skeleton MC summons. The title is somewhat misleading: "demon" there refers to "demonic martial arts", so you won't see an ascension of a demon king either. And of... more>> course it's filled with boring meridian wanking.

Give yourself a favour and find something actually decent to read, unless you're a su**er for this genre. But in this case your mind is far too alien to me, so you can safely disregard my opinion. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
It's a good read, but MC's personality really takes a nosedive as the story progresses. That, coupled with overbearing fiance that treats her as a mentally challenged child really takes a bit of enjoyment out of it.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight
Dungeon Defense
March 16, 2017
Status: v4c1
If you seen any other negative review to this novel, then mine won't be that surprising. First volume is brilliant. Then it just goes downhill. The character we were presented with there disappears and is replaced with some kind of psychopath. But that could be forgiven, if he also didn't turn boring.

In the beginning we have a character that is driven and torn by his fears, desires, sensibilities... Then all of that disappears. He no longer faces moral dilemmas because he no longer have any morals. Who knows where have... more>> they disappeared. He no longer tries to act out of self-preservation because he's obviously way too brilliant to fail. Spoiler alert: he's not. Half of the **** he recklessly does is moronic and could easily lead to his death if not for dumb luck.

I loved volume 1, I slogged through volumes 2 and 3, and I'm not sure if I have it in me to read volume 4. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight rated it
Goblin Kingdom
March 17, 2017
Status: v1c71
I wanted to like this novel. I really did. I'm quite interested in the plot, but... It ask comes down to horrible writing in the end.

One thing author loves doing is throwing names at you. Bad names. Just open any of later chapters and look at the name cheat sheet that translators give us. There's over a dozen similar names. What's worse a couple of names characters that have any semblance of personality are simply lost in this mess.

That makes reading everything involving said characters (I.e. 80%of the... more>> novel) a pain. You just start glossing over large parts because it's impossible to understand what exactly is going on.

In the end, if you have enough mental capacity and fortitude to ensure that then go for it. Aside from way to obvious plot armour and aforementioned issues it's a decent read. Otherwise don't bother and look for another novel. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
April 24, 2017
Status: c141
Bland. If I had to describe this story in one word it'd be this one. Both characters and the story are bland. Not that well written either. Author tries to use a common "game mechanics" crutch to substitute for writing skill, consistency, logic, etc, but the result is the worst of such systems I've seen so far. The thick plot armour that MC possesses dispels any kind of tension.

All that said, it isn't a bad novel. It isn't a good one either. It certainly doesn't contain anything that would make... more>> me want to keep reading it, rather doing so feels more and more like a chore, hence 2 star rating and the story goes to the dropped list. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight rated it
Legend
March 5, 2017
Status: c87
As many have mentioned, it is a comparatively slow paced novel. However that's not a bad thing. The author takes time to establish the world and the events without going into unnecessary level of details. The writing seems to be good so far. MC is strong but not ungodly OP, he's also level-headed and fairly ruthless. Most importantly, the story doesn't feel like your typical wish fulfillment novel and it also lacks Japanese narcissism that is way too heavily presented in isekai genre.

All in all it's a good read if... more>> you're ready to take some time for the plot to get into the full swing (which hasn't happened as of time this review was written, but we're getting there) <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight rated it
The Guild’s Cheat Receptionist
April 2, 2017
Status: v2c2 part1
One of the few novels where I don't mind an OP MC. Especially since her OPness actually causes her problems now that her adventures are over and she simply wants to live her life peacefully. So far it's a cute and fluffy novel about a person that left the main stage to quietly support others. There seems to be some kind of underlying plot, but it's pretty hard to tell at this point. Gender bender seems to be there simply as an explanation of MC's sexual preferences, if you expect... more>> something else from this tag, you won't find it. If I would to complain about one thing is that the novel is overbearingly Japanese at times. You know what I mean. Food, culture, etc being shoved right into your face. Thankfully there isn't too much of points like this so far. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight rated it
Ascendance of a Bookworm
March 11, 2017
Status: c45
First dozen of chapters will probably make you hate MC, but afterwards things get better. Much better.

Of course you still won't be seeing any miraculous power ups, grand battles, oddly specifically convenient magics or anything like that in this novel. As a matter of fact, MC is frail and she's constantly on the verge of dying from her disease. She also doesn't have an impeccable knowledge of all things she needs. These facts make her probably the most realistic and relatable otherworlder I have seen so far. Couple that with... more>> a gritty and believable mediaeval world and a solid character cast and you'll have yourself a great novel to enjoy. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight rated it
The Skill Maker
March 15, 2018
Status: c85
This one is pretty hard to describe... Overall I can agree with many other reviewers, in the beginning MC feels brain-dead and the plot is riddled with badly inserted clichés for a while. It gradually gets better, but, of course, don't go in expecting a masterpiece.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight rated it
Praise the Orc!
August 23, 2017
Status: c129
Originally rated this as 5, then MC got companions. Which happened to be most badly written characters I've seen in a while. Irritating, unnecessary and constantly present. I could go on with my dislike of them (there's plenty I can to say) but I'd rather move on to the rest of the novel.

This novel obviously takes a lot of inspiration from LMS, but I feel like it handles itself far better, at least so far. I'd postpone judging this novel until you have read far enough for the big reveal... more>> (which shouldn't be a big surprise at that point), as it explains a lot. Of course, you'd need appreciation for the genre to get that far.

Speaking of that, behold a rare case of an author that knows how to write an interesting OP protagonist and good battles on top of that. If you want predictable face slapping and roflstomping go read something else. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight rated it
Akugyaku no Black Maria
April 2, 2017
Status: c33
A story of broken people brought together by fate as a part of an assassin guild. It is dark, bloody, and realistic (as far as fantasy genre allows for). Novel itself is well written, there's a refreshing lack of clichés and crutches that one might come to expect from Japanese web novels. It's hard to call characters unique, but at the very least they are not bland. Some of them are even memorable. In all honesty, it's pretty hard for me to single out things to praise this novel for... more>> and I can't find anything negative to say about it, so in my eyes it makes it good and wholesome. Give it a read, you probably won't be disappointed. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight
Hisshou Dungeon Unei Houhou
March 20, 2017
Status: c47
After reading so far the only way I can describe this is "uninspired". As many here mentioned, at the beginning the story looks rather promising, however it rapidly devolves from there. Dungeon management gets abandoned, author tries to replace it with town management but keeps focusing on the wrong things. And even those are rare and act as a background for mediocre harem. Not to mention that there's no thought put into the system at all. The story is prone to info-dumping. There are chapters that remind spreadsheets and majority... more>> of harem (9 people ffs) gets introduced and falls for MC in the span of two chapters. There are also tons of bad tropes you can expect from Japanese novels. Rather it feels like author wanted to collect them all. The plot is convoluted and feels forced, and, as mentioned by someone else, author suffers from severe case of indecisiveness — the amount of pointless POV changes is staggering, especially in the beginning, and the author can't decide on a genre of this novel. It's still not bad enough for me to drop it, hence three stars, but I wouldn't particularly recommend it unless you're starved for something to read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight rated it
Dungeon Hunter
March 15, 2017
Status: Completed
It's not a bad novel. I'd rate it 4 stars, however author ran out of steam closer to the end. The chapters read more and more like summaries and the finale is lacklustre. Other than that it's your standard "rise to power through future knowledge" novel. At least that knowledge isn't used like a plot armour and MC's actions properly cause deviations. The setting is also somewhat unusual and refreshing, however it's not really utilised that much. All in all its an enjoyable read, but don't expect it to be... more>> something extraordinary. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shylight
shylight rated it
Haunted Duke’s Daughter
March 16, 2017
Status: c19
It's pretty hard to rate this with not enough chapters to judge properly, however the beginning is quite promising. I was very cautious to begin reading due to the top review here, but I was pleasantly surprised in the end. There's nothing intrinsically Japanese about the things main character is taught. Rather I'd call them "basic humility" and, maybe, a bit of "modern sensibilities". The novel itself is rather interesting since we get to see a point of view of a rotten noble trying to reform without magical personality overwrites... more>> or precise future knowledge. While the basic plot isn't that uncommon, this brings a rather refreshing twist to it. I might change the rating and this review if the story starts to fail, but for now there's no reason not to give it a read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report