Report Review
12 Reviews


shinidoshi
If you are worried about the fact that the MC is OP, fret not my friend, because the author had the decency to add balance to meta. For example, the guildmaster has space-time powers and controls 30% of the economy. Meanwhile, the MC is a dual wielding swordswoman who is very hayai and can instantly regenerate to full health. Don't worry about that second part because, if you break her will to live or keep hitting her vitals, she will eventually die.

The MC's personality so far is driven from maternal... more>> instinct. If I had to describe it in two words, she is a "yandere mom". For example, she killed a horde of goblins and a dragon because they stole a present her daughters made. She has bloodlust strong enough to make fully grown muscle men pass out, all because she found out some boys confessed to her daughters.

That being said, she isn't a Mary Sue either. A lot of her motives stem from her desire to raise and protect her daughters. In return this opens up a lot of criticism and diaogue between the MC and the rest of the cast. The guildmaster wants to monopolize her; the background adventurers fear her; and her daughters want to be like her when they grow up, etc.

So far I enjoy this because the author does a good job on the world/lore building department. The fact that there's both relationship and character development equally shared between the cast is the cherry on top.

Overall I rate this: Wholesome out of Fluffy <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shinidoshi
Comfy, but the more chapters you read, the more you realize the MC and his sister has a plot-induced gravitational field to attract the rest of the cast. Not only that, the plot progresses from multiple POVs. As a result, you are being dragged onto a never ending incline on a roller coaster ride, until you're let off the attraction. Once that happens, you take a rest stop on ... more>>
Spoiler

fluffy lane with the MC and his gf

[collapse]
. Rinse and repeat, and the pattern will get boring for some.

With all of these Blessings of the XYZ about, you get a Justice League vibe. If you look closely, the MC is very much like Batman. Despite the sh*tty cards he was dealt, he min-maxed his build to its peak. To compensate for his "lacking" he fights entirely based on observation, preparedness, and technique.
Spoiler

In this regard, his little sister is the Superman of this world: forever isolated because she is all-too powerful.

[collapse]
I wouldn't doubt there are people who'd think the MC is a Gary Stu because of all these traits, but that is the main appeal of this entire novel: Underdog on the streets, Overachiever in the sheets.

The author does a good job of paying attention to the rest of the cast. However, you never hear anything beyond Zoltan (as of c75).

I rate this: 1 quiet life out of 2 quiet lives. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shinidoshi
shinidoshi rated it
To Be a Power in the Shadows!
March 5, 2019
Status: c31
After reading a few chapters (in the light novel, and what little chapters the manga had) I picture the MC as the love child between Kazuma and Megumin. He is kinda chuuni, but at the same time he's a schemer (common sense included). He takes a Batman approach to his "Power in the Shadows" persona, which at least doesn't make him suffer the pain of public cringe. However, some people might be itching for the MC to show off his true power. He is the protagonist of an isekai novel,... more>> after all. I don't see the MC folding to emotions easily, so I imagine he won't reveal his power level. If you read/watched One Punch Man, you would get a good idea on this whole "underestimated/hidden power level" shtick is. The plot however, is quirky in of itself: dramatic irony, self awareness, and satire. These are the three ingredients that make this misunderstanding-driven novel more easier to digest. I can forgive the MC for being dense, because it brings in a lot of entertainment value for me. However, I could imagine a few people getting annoyed. If you dislike a dense MC or fed up with them, then keep your hopes low on this one. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shinidoshi
shinidoshi rated it
TS Reincarnated as the Sub Heroine
November 7, 2018
Status: c11
This author is a straight up psychopath. You can tell they are projecting their rape fantasies. I'm going to hide the rest of my review as a spoiler, based on why the Translator gave up after chapter 11.

... more>>
Spoiler

As I mentioned before, this novel is a representation if the Author's rape fantasy. You can also tell the Author self-inserts as the Hero: Beta male who doesn't know how to properly interact with women, but given the opporitunity, will pounce and indulge his desire on them. The Priestess calls the Hero "Thick Headed" but it's more accurate to call him a Sociopath.

It all starts with this Berserker doping drug that's meant for combat purposes. Apparently, it is also abused for s*xual pleasure. Every time this drug is mentioned, someone gets raped. Theres supposed to be a time limit for how long a person can be a Horny Berserker.

Context: the Hero doped himself in order to save the Priestess and escape a horde of demons. Once they found safe shelter, the Hero confesses he doped 3 times in a row. The Priestess figured that the best way to handle the Hero was to consent to his urges until it was out of his system. Contrary to her expectations, the Hero broke passed the limit and continued to abuse the Priestess until she passed out. The following day, she urges the Hero that the entire incident never happened. She does this in order to avoid the wrath of the Hero's harem, but for some reason I feel like this is something a real person would say to supress the trauma.

At some point the author changes the perspective and flashbacks to the raping. They go into great detail about how the Hero enjoyed defiling the Priestess on top of s*x. The author even talks about the Hero getting an erection when he daydreams about the incudent.

The Hero feels guilty so he goes around looking for advice until he meets a shady innkeeper. This is the Hero's sociopath reveal: according to whatever advice he got, apparently the best solution is to tie up loose ends with a happy note. That being said, the Hero takes advantage about how the first rape "did not happen" because the Priestess and the Hero agreed to forgive and forget. He believes that if he shares their "first time" in a more wholesome manner, the Priestess would magically feel satisfied. But obviously, the Priestess hates this idea; not because she used to be a man, but she does not want to be defiled again.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shinidoshi
shinidoshi rated it
The World of Otome Games is Tough For Mobs
November 22, 2018
Status: v1 epilogue part1
The MC doesn't really suffer from oppression in this Matriarchal world as a constant upheaval. In fact, the misandry is quite passive for the most part. I have a feeling the author wants the tables turned between genders, and for men to imagine what it's like to be the "inferior gender". There's nothing much different between our world and this isekai world: the men do all the working and all the money making, while the women marry based on a man's assets and whether he looks good enough. That being... more>> said, there's no role reversal: men are not proper, and women are not vulgar.

For one reason or another, the bad things about women are overemphasized. They are rotten, manipulative, and even cruel. As a result, the men are pretty much neutered: they are not macho-man manly, and most of them are rather pathetic. There's some real depth into how this society was constructed, and that takes the cake for me. I imagine the history of the isekai world's war will explain how and why the matriarchal world came to be, which I look forward to. tl;dr Depending on your gender, you are reading a novel about a parallel world so surreal, it feels like you are reading something about heaven or hell.

I rate this: One Respect Women out of 2 Women Respected

Small edit, but I recently discovered this was written by the same people who have made Sevens. As a result, my expectations are a little higher than before because I really enjoyed Sevens. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shinidoshi
shinidoshi rated it
I Reincarnated For Nothing
November 20, 2018
Status: c128
Pretty cool concept about a demon lord reincarnating as a hero. The party itself is pretty balanced, owing to the fact that the MC realizes that teamwork and battle dynamics are key as opposed to spamming OP magic because your stats are overleveled.

The only thing that bothers me so far in the story is how the Hero's yandere harem get in the way of progress. It alternates between the progress of plot and the harem's civil war for the MC's thick mana string.

Overall I rate this: 1 Soft-boiled Egg out... more>> of 1 Fried Egg <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shinidoshi
Very comfy story, but my only gripe is how the MC does not want to confess their gender-bender scenario to their own sister.

With the way how the author describes their relationship, you would think the older sister is more than qualified to handle the truth bomb. But nope, the author writes the MC to have ptsd when it comes to confessing.

To make it worse, its justified by the MC that s/he should avoid help altogether because they will be a burden for the sister.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shinidoshi
shinidoshi rated it
Sevens Gaiden
December 9, 2018
Status: prologue
Don't read this the moment you have finished reading Sevens' main story, the post-epilogue episodes, and especially the End of the Empire episode. If you are like me, and you get connected to characters on an emotional level, then you will be punched to the gut with loneliness.

I binge-read Sevens within a couple months. As a result, everything is fresh on my mind. However, I was hungry for more content, and so after reading the first chapter of the Gaiden, all I could say to myself is "it's really lonely"... more>>
Spoiler

It's a good thing Monica doesn't have robot depression

[collapse]
.

To be honest, I was hoping for the sequel to be 1-2 generations after Lyle's era; about the near- future where Lyle and the Female Camp are retired, but are still on the main stage at times. I wanted the fluff and comfort that was to come for Lyle raising the kids of his 25 wives.

Tl;dr if your hype is at peak after reading Sevens, and you became attached with the entire cast: take a breather and keep your expectations low.

Just like the First Generation, I expect great things from this Second Generation. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shinidoshi
shinidoshi rated it
Sevens
December 8, 2018
Status: Completed
Revision for my entire review: I wish there was a map for this novel. At times I felt lost whenever they traveled, especially the war campaigns. Otherwise, I really enjoyed this novel a lot. It's a slow start, but I recommend it for anyone who wants a solid novel for their first read. It's not perfect, but has a good foundation for what it is.

Personally, the bread and butter for me was how the entire cast felt real. My tension peaked when it came to dialogue and character interaction, especially... more>> when it came to yandere events. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shinidoshi
shinidoshi rated it
Common Sense of a Duke’s Daughter
March 12, 2019
Status: c166
The MC starts off as a Mary Sue for like 50 chapters, only because she has revolutionary knowledge from her previous life. After the Queen Dowager restores her status in society, our MC is harassed with conspiracies after conspiracies by the Second Prince Faction (belligerents include the Royal Concubine, the Otome Game's protagonist ... more>>
Spoiler

who turns out to be a spy from an enemy country

[collapse]
and a Marquis traitor). Each time the MC faces oppression from SPF, she peels away her Mary Sue aura and becomes more pragmatic. Her character growth is especially stimulated by the general toxicity of noble society, and so she has to make measures beyond cause and effect.

Edit: Earlier I made a harsh opinion on the translations, however, I recently learned what MTL and I have a feeling it was used in some of the chapters. Thankfully the comment section is full of people who are either good at interpreting MTL, or memorized the story so far; even the grammar police are a godsend. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shinidoshi
shinidoshi rated it
Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari (LN)
January 24, 2019
Status: --
If you read and completed the Web Novel and decide to read the Light Novel, I suggest to skip at Volume 5 (if you're in a pinch of money or time). This is where the story changes, but in such a way where it makes me believe the Web Novel was just a rough draft of the Light Novel.

Explaination and Pseudo-Spoilers: in the Web Novel, the final boss fight had an abrupt and a disappointing ending. After many complaints, the Author extends the final boss with additional chapters, and a... more>> better finale. (Yorikun Translations points this out). To put it simply: imagine the additional chapters as DLC that makes for a better ending. The Light Novel is a remake that includes the DLC, but surprisingly enough it also expands on some lore that screams "loose ends" in the story.

For example (spoiler warning) :

Spoiler

Glass' World and the Wave Invaders. Raphtalia's and Sadina's country. The 4 Benevolent Spirit's purpose.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
shinidoshi
shinidoshi rated it
Kuishinbo Elf
October 22, 2018
Status: c71
Revising my review because I got around and have been reading other light novels. To be blunt, it would have been better if the MC was a girl from the beginning, or reincarnated as a young boy. Being a gender bender does nothing except a free pass to ero comedy, except, that only happens until the MC goes to school. Once the MC goes to school, you are not only sucker punched with the Slice of Life tag, but it starts to feel like a Boku no Hero Acedamia rip... more>> off: You got these kids with superpowers going to school, and whenever they go outdoors for a hot minute, sh*t happens and now they are in a near-death scenario.

For whatever reason, the author decided it was a good idea for some side characters to have a crush on the MC. I wouldn't know if it was for dramatic irony or what, but it's a flat out pointless. The MC shows no signs of becoming more effeminate
Spoiler

especially after inheriting og Eltina's memories

[collapse]
, and she is as dense as your average isekai protagonist.
Spoiler

And then theres this magical talking peach. Don't get me started on this god damn fruit because it's a black hole for a plot hole.

[collapse]

There are many ways the light novel would improved if, for example, a timeskip happened after the Demon King arc, and a plague spreads across the nation. As a result, the MC has to synthesize a cure. Anything other than the SoL bs, and more roleplaying as a healer. 3/5 stars. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report