Report Review
17 Reviews


sharon.nayoung
It's plainly obvious that the majority of the scathing, unnecessarily rude, and overly embellished reviews on this web novel (you know exactly what I'm talking about -- that quasi-novel polluting the reviews and offering more bullying content instead of actual constructive criticism) are written this way because of the way the main character loathes her weight. Which I can't understand -- being chubby is one thing, but being overweight means that there are some serious health complications -- something that is evident throughout the MC's journey into weight loss. It's... more>> completely normal to want to lose weight, and dislike the way one looks before weight loss. I don't know when it became okay to normalize overweight and obese people, especially in children.

But I digress. To that specific review above, who deemed it their right to construct a disgustingly mocking, too-serious, malicious, and vulgar review specifically to tear down a story made for entertainment purposes, I hope that there are better days ahead for you. Days where you don't find it necessary to 'critique' (and I use that term loosely -- I think the word 'torture' would suit this individual's sense of propriety better) a light novel intended only to be an exaggerated form of entertainment, not an insight into the mind of a perfect human being or a script for a movie. I'm so sorry that this story didn't check off on your pretentious list of 'perfect MC characters' despite the fact that you could have just given this story one star and a review about how the plot was disappointing, character dull, etc. I find it ironic the way this person absolutely demolishes the character traits of the MC, how she is unredeemable as a morally upright character, how she finds herself infallible in every opinion that she has, etc when they themselves are so up their own asses that they couldn't just stop and think for a moment that perhaps not all stories are suited for the weak-minded and weak-willed.

Anyways, I thought that this novel was perfectly humorous and agreeable, with just enough self-deprecating humor and juvenile dialogue to make me finish the story. I encourage anyone to read it, whether or not they have the time. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
The Untouchable President
February 12, 2019
Status: c34
I cannot read the raw novel as it is, so I have to rely on the translations. Let me say, the translator is very good at their job. However, this novel is probably one of the worst I've read. I don't even want to bother reading the rest of it because of how awful the beginning is.

So the main female lead gets raped and sexually assaulted, unable to speak and has her virginity taken away in one second by the aggressive, awful male lead who COVERS HER MOUTH so that... more>> he doesn't have to hear her screaming. She has a baby that she probably didn't want, left her family etc. Her life was basically ruined by him. As a woman, I cannot explain the disgust and horror I felt for her as she had to go through that terrible situation. I hoped that the male lead would feel regret and ashamed of himself, but that time never came. His only motive was to take his son away from her, saying that she "stole him" and that it is "his son". He feels no sympathy for her and no shame for himself. All he wants is his prodigal son, and blames the woman for taking his child away. He threatens to destroy the female lead's father's company if she does not allow the father and son to meet, which is the most pathetic and vile thing I have ever heard in my entire life. He took the child away from the daycare, which is kidnapping. Even as the child's biological father, he has no right to take the child out of the mother's custody. He has no plans to even compensate the female lead for her emotional trauma, all he does is threaten her over and over and plan to take her baby away. He doesn't want the female lead to tell her OWN SON what travesty she experienced at the male lead's hands, because he is a manipulative sociopath who needs to have control over the entire situation even though he is lying between his teeth.

Honestly I don't care whether or not he redeems himself. If he behaves this way as a full grown adult man, I have no qualms with believing that this is his character and this is what he thinks is okay to do. I don't believe that anyone can go from a kidnapping, chauvinistic, condescending, and manipulative rapist to a nice man. He needs therapy and he needs to be kept away from children and women. This is the problem that I frequently see in CN. As long as the male lead is handsome, tall, cold, and powerful, it doesn't matter what he does as long as he "loves the female lead in the end". I think it is disgusting and barbaric to think that way, to allow a man to take a child away because he threw some money at the issue. He has no redeeming qualities, and honestly if the author is going to portray the male lead as such a disgusting human being in the first thirty chapters, I don't really care what he will be like later on because I am stuck on this image of him. Do not read this novel, because you will go away from it believing this lies that this is how men in real life behave. Rapists in real life stay rapists. They do not reform their ways like this man apparently did (from the rest of the reviews. I refuse to read past chapter 34.) Do yourself a favor and read something more wholesome and less abusive, less condoning of rape and sexual assault. I recommend "our second master" and "easily set aflame". <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
Can Someone Please Explain This Situation
February 20, 2019
Status: c34
i don't want to read this anymore.... so tired of it already. had the potential to be a cute story but turned out to be kind of awful.

honestly my only problem is with the so called "male lead"... I honest to god thought that the butler was going to turn out to be the ML but I was very wrong. I don't know where it became cute to play games with womens' feelings. his initial plan to have a mistress and a trophy wife was pretty awful, and scummy of... more>> him to do.
Spoiler

then he abandons his mistress with some meaningless reason and wants to pursue the FL despite having no legitimate reason to? she made your house comfortable? does that mean it's okay to abandon a woman you've been sheltering and sacrificed your reputation for? I honestly felt bad for the "mistress" and liked her a lot -- she didn't do anything wrong in this story in my eyes. she wanted to say hello to the new wife and was turned away several times by the butler. why can't FL just come out and speak to her? FL is willing to pose as a fake wife but can't even muster up the sacks to exchange a couple of words with the mistress? then the mistress was abandoned like a used tissue by the master of the house because he got bored of her (literally no other reason than that is given.....) and then framed as an awful person because she turned down men who wanted to dance with her after she got tired. since when was it a bad thing to say no to someone? she was forced to leave the household without any compensation after being financially supported by this man who she thought was her soulmate for a long time. does he expect her to just find someplace to hire her after the life he promised to give her? he's just awful. he has no remorse or sympathy for others and thinks that he deserves the FL's love.

[collapse]

the ML is just awful. he's controlling, manipulative, lecherous, and just an all around fickle guy who really shouldn't be trusted in a relationship. the wishy washy FL has problems of her own, but the ML was just... so bland.... uninteresting..... unlikeable..... despicable.... has no personality besides being handsome. literally every single character in the story including the mob character maids had more personality than he did. don't read this unless you plan on becoming very confused and frustrated. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
Return of the Female Knight
March 3, 2019
Status: c20
cute and well written. Love the characters and their development, and how they don't fit into the classic tropes. Can't find the raws, but will be keeping updates frequently
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
Chaos Of Beauty
February 23, 2019
Status: epilogue
eh.... I love a good reverse harem/strong female lead as much as the next person, but the person she ended up with was.... so..... awful.

... more>>
Spoiler

if she had ended up with the emperor, I would have given this a perfect score, same with if she had ended up with the general. even if she had ended up with the first scholar, the story would have been so much more interesting than what it ended up as. GW was so much more likable when she was indifferent to her prime minister husband.... I don't know about anyone else, but I can't stand cheaters and would honestly rather be alone than a willing mistress or a third wheel. it doesn't matter that her hubby fell in love with her afterwards - actually that kind of makes it worse since he's so wishy-washy and prone to changing his mind. how could I ever trust a man who "fell in love with me" after abandoning the one he said was his actual true love? honestly it's so funny, because the only thing she ever says about him is that he spoils her and let her do whatever she wants, and didn't abuse her. wooow, such amazing qualifications to be your husband. he hoes around constantly (even after finishing the story I'm unsure whether or not LC actually slept with the first consort, which is very bad.) and gets into situations where she completely misunderstands his affections for CL.

he is ALWAYS turning his back on her, leaving her alone, not letting her know what's going on in the capital, choosing his power trip over her. yet he thinks he has the right to control her and prevent her from being with other men. she stays faithful to him, but I kind of wish she had given him a taste of his own medicine. he literally drugs her to make her go somewhere.... I'm wondering when that behavior was acceptable. don't give me that "time period" crap, because neither the general nor the first scholar ever made her do something she didn't want to do. even the emperor, who honestly has the right to do whatever to whoever, stopped kissing/groping her because she was crying. that really surprised me. he actually didn't take her virginity because she was crying and upset. i've never seen that happen in a novel before. like..... I don't understand how the author thought LC and GW were a good pair. there was a point where LC was even considering giving GW to the emperor to distract him from the rebellion.... obviously he didn't do it, but the fact that he didn't immediately say no tells me a lot about his priorities.

not only is LC just not great, the female lead is weird too. she's this peerless beauty, intelligent, riveting -- basically a perfect match for any man because of how elegant and well-spoken she is. she literally makes the heartless emperor fall in love with her, turns the prime minister away from his first love, makes the nu prince obsessively search for her, makes the cold general softhearted... the list goes on. these men literally do not find happiness because of their obsession with her. how can a female lead be this perfect? her only flaw is the stubbornness that appears when the plot is convenient -- like when she forces lou sheng to turn her carriage around etc. otherwise she's a perfect doll, complacent and witty enough for men to drop at her feet like flies. I understand why the first scholar and emperor fell in love with her, but her husband, the general, and the nu prince literally just loved her because of her looks.

anyways, the story was just her pining after the husband who leaves her behind constantly, being sad and beautiful when there were so many better choices for her choose from to make the novel soooo much more interesting. imagine if she had been with the emperor, or the first scholar, the general, or even the nu prince. not a man who flopped back and forth between two women, traded the first consort for his military gain (traded a woman to a man she doesn't love, basically tricking her), drugged the female lead..... aiya.

[collapse]

it's a good read when you have some free time or crave a reverse harem/chinese historical novel, but honestly there were infinite ways the author could have changed it to be more satisfying. even the ending was not good. anyways, I recommend it, but only if you don't get frustrated with couples easily.
Spoiler

female lead should have died.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
this novel makes me sick. to the person above who said that this is a harmless fantasy fulfillment, you can have fun fantasizing about psychotic and controlling characters who get off on imprisoning women, but me and every other sane person in the population finds the ML disturbing and psychotic. I actually love yandere ML more than any other genre. I love possessive and borderline obsessive characters because I find them interesting. but this? yandere only works in a satisfying way when the MC accepts the yandere traits that ML... more>> has and acknowledges the obsessiveness.
Spoiler

this novel's MC clearly does NOT LIKE the ML, to the point of attempting to run away because of how awful and controlling he is. knowing all she wants is to be free, the ML shuts her in a confined tower.

[collapse]
if you actually believe that the classic yandere who kidnaps, extorts, forces, and harasses women in an act of "love" is romantic or likable, you don't live in the real world. fantasy aside, being in awe or wanting to be MC and receive all of ML's disgusting and creepy actions is a problem in itself.

once again to the person above, the way you describe this story shows how deluded you are. "This story is clearly appealing to those who just want to daydream a bit about a relentless pursuit by a man whose handsome..." lol I also like relentless pursuit novels, but the relentless pursuit novels with high spec ML's I LIKE don't ever resort to
Spoiler

trapping and kidnapping the MC and forcing her to have ML's children

[collapse]
. the only kind of people who think that controlling, sociopathic, uncaring ML (who kidnaps and psychologically tortures the MC) is romantic are neets and incels. I'm going to criticize this novel because of how this novel's portrayal of healthy yandere relationships is so far removed from anything remotely okay in any other body of fiction or real life. this isn't a novel about "handsome man relentlessly pursues little cute MC", and the fact that you dilute it down to that point shows your ignorance.

I'm someone who likes reading about controlling and possessive characters, but there's always a limit. the ML in this novel isn't even a real yandere.
Spoiler

he gets another woman on his arm to make MC jealous,

[collapse]
why is that so satisfying for young girls to read? lol if you like it then fine, but don't attack others for criticizing this rightfully.

if you like the kinds of novels where the MC's autonomy is taken away and she is given no other choice than to be with the ML, then this is for you. it's sad to watch her running in a maze where the end prize is always the sad***ic, sociopathic, and uncaring prince. if you like novels where the ML is a classic yandere who doesn't care about MC but only cares about himself, then this is for you. there's no real love in this novel, it's literally Stockholm Syndrome. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
Come and Eat, Shan Shan
February 20, 2019
Status: c19
cute read. but kind of superficial

the male lead falls in love with the female lead for no reason at all. honestly I'm not sure if he liked her in the beginning or it's because she gave his sister blood and he felt obligated, but there was no lead in to why he was so obsessed with her.

no matter how much I love black belly boss style ML.... there is a limit. the reason why BBB trope is so popular is because no matter how scary and cruel the boss ML... more>> may be to everyone else, he still holds a special place for FL in his heart. this BBB is just plain cruel and scary to the FL... he exhorts her, blackmails her, holds her pay over her head so that she is forced to be a maid for him... it's honestly degrading. you know what, maybe she enjoys or doesn't mind picking his vegetables out of his food for him. but you can't argue that she wanted to go with him on the trip, you can't argue that she wanted to pin the flower on her shirt for the maiden prize, you can't argue that she wanted to basically be his slave and do whatever he wanted her to do because she was so scared. the only time ML actually showed his affection was when he pressured FL into doing what he wanted or she was so frightened and uncomfortable that it made him laugh. like.... this sounds like an awful man to be around. there was a huge imbalance of power that he held over her head -- like, if you don't obey me you'll be homeless or working at the bottom again. I don't know, it doesn't sound so pure and cute to me. at some point she actually CHEERS because he is away from her and out of the country. ah..

if there was a guy who always forced me to do his chores for him and degraded me while I was at work, pressured me not to be independent and tried to force me to constantly stay by his side for no other reason than to torment me, I would quit or something. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
If You Don’t Go To Hell, Who Will?
March 20, 2019
Status: c13.2
both characters are annoying. MC is interesting in that she's not the typical cookie-cutter C-Novel slice of life heroine -- she's freaking bald and plays basketball, and has no chest and is kind of stupid. But my main issue with her is her inability to stand her ground and even attempt to save her pride. Every time she gets humiliated or hurt by the ML she forgives him almost immediately when he throws his money at her. It's frustrating and annoying when she can't stand her ground and help ML... more>> learn when he crosses the line. ML is awful because he derives joy from tormenting and humiliating MC, but the worst part is that he expects her to fit him into her future without even letting her know of his feelings.
Spoiler

how can he get mad at her for not including him in her mock-will when all he has done up until that point is embarrass, inconvenience, stress out the MC and get her ostracized and mocked by their peers? He obviously likes her, but why??

[collapse]
she isn't a good person, and he isn't either, but that doesn't mean that they're suddenly compatible. The only reason I can see that he likes her is because she's fun to humiliate and get a reaction out of. Which is not a good reason and makes for a toxic relationship later on if he gets bored of her. Sometimes he's very kind, but both the reader and the MC knows there's an ulterior motive to his actions that always ends up spelling trouble for the MC. Don't read this if you like MCs who dont let other people knock them around because of money. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
honestly, disgusting. d I s g u s t I n g.

i honestly don't mind stories where the prince is perverted or reckless, or loves the female protagonist to the point where he loses self control. but this scenario is just so rapey and disgusting. he falls in love with her small stature and cute looks -- that's it. he sees her and has to have her. it's disgusting. since when were people suddenly property? he kidnaps the MC and molests her, gropes her butt without consent, says he wants... more>> to tear off her clothes to do who knows what, kisses her without consent..... let me say it again -- disgusting. you know what, sometimes couples don't need to have explicit consent before kissing or whatever. but these two are not a couple, they are complete strangers. this is not romantic, this is frightening and disgusting. he strips her of her autonomy, takes away her self defense, and forces his way into her home without any inhibitions. he doesn't even know her name, and he just expects her to be okay with this?

the words "you will learn to love me eventually" are some of the scariest I have ever read, and usually when I read them it is because the ML/FL has been captured and is forced to love someone disgusting and grotesque. in this situation, it is because the FL is being held captive in her own home and forced to interact with and be molested by a pathetic excuse for a human being who has no respect for anything or anyone. no matter how yandere a character is, this is just too much. it's too rapey and I don't think masquerading it as this fluffy romance is healthy. even yandere boys ask for consent.

you know when you start reading a novel and the first few pages are just utter garbage, and you know deep within your bones that you will NEVER enjoy it? yeah, that's how I felt within the second chapter of this story. I already hate rape and dehumanizing female characters. making it seem like a cute and desirable scenario, like this is normal or healthy behavior is even worse. don't read this story. especially you children out there who believe that this obsession with groping or kissing strangers is okay. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
Man from the Wild South
March 3, 2019
Status: c4 part2
The translation is very well done and the story itself is well written, but the one thing I can't get past is the molestation and almost rape. The male lead tricks the female lead by pretending to be a poor, lonely, helpless soul when in reality he is a cruel person who only thinks about himself.
Spoiler

he regularly physically punishes his subordinates for getting too close to his woman, when she doesn't even know she is his woman in the first place. While she is sleeping he puts a spell (?) on her to make sure she stays asleep, then fondles her and molests her against her knowledge or consent. Later on when she gets knocked out in a fight against his subordinate, he strips her and molests her again, considers raping her, then thinks about how troublesome it would be to deal with it in the morning and decides not to. He doesn't stop because he has any respect for the female lead, he stops because he feels that it would be troublesome to deal with it in the morning.

[collapse]
the whole story begins with him tricking the female lead into being at his beck and call and pretending to be a weak and misunderstood young man. In reality, this male lead is an angry, frustrated, holier-than-thou sort of character who will go to any lengths to get what he wants, even if it means forcing the female lead to love him. He doesn't regret that she pities him, he doesn't regret molesting her, he doesn't respect her autonomy at all.

to be honest these types of stories can be written in a way that changes later on or represents some kind of theme, but I don't feel like his lack of remorse or the lack of any sort of repercussions or chastisement from anyone around him will change his attitude anytime soon. The female lead is actually pretty likable at least up to where I read, and I can sympathize with her to a certain extent. She is kind of stupid but that's honestly an expectation with C novels. I recommend you read this if you like female fantasies or you don't mind the gross rape subtext it pushes.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
Wipe Clean After Eating
February 24, 2019
Status: c21
tried to force myself to read this, couldn't.

female lead is gluttonous and selfish. Sometimes it's cute to have a female lead who is gluttonous and not a model, but in this case it just makes you disgusted.
Spoiler

i finally finished trying to finish this novel when I got to the part where she shoves the cookies her boss bought into her mouth like a crazy person. Whether or not he bought them for her, why is she eating like that and acting like his good will is a token to act insane and selfish? Honestly people like this are raised the wrong way. The description of her and her actions are so vomit inducing, as in they make me visualize the disgusting way she eats and the disgusting way she hoards all the food for herself.

[collapse]

she is also very stupid, as in I honestly think she's mentally challenged in some kind of way. No matter how many times the boss tricks her into doing something ridiculous or accompanying him somewhere, she falls for the trick because she is too stupid to remember the last time he did something like that to her. She just conveniently forgets how the boss used to torment her by saying one thing and doing something completely different, and just believes that her boss is suddenly a good person who wants the best for her. It's not even funny how she never learns from her actions.
Spoiler

the part where she got on the bus to escape but tried to go back because he offered her a skirt made me so disgusted.

[collapse]

the male lead is honestly better, but still pretty unlikeable.
Spoiler

at some point he sexually harasses her. I'm not joking or being sensitive. He tricks her into lying down in his lap for an extended period of time, and literally gets horny and hard because he forced her face next to his crotch. It was honestly so gross.

[collapse]
I actually like black belly boss characters, but he was written so awfully. He obviously likes her, but literally does nothing but torment and abuse the female lead. He threatens her constantly, manipulates her, puts her in uncomfortable positions, puts her livelihood on the line, takes all autonomy away from her. He takes her away on a trip she doesn't want to be on for no reason. Honestly his actions might be less creepy if he had just told her his feelings and these events were his way of showing her his affections. But he treats her like crap, makes her think she doesn't like him, constantly calls her ugly, treats her like a maid or servant, then expects her to just know that he likes her. Are you kidding me? Not only is the female lead a moron, he takes advantage of her stupidity to get what he wants, which is ultimately her love or her body or something. Neither of them change or grow into better people. They stay ignorant, stupid, and toxic for each other and those around them. Don't even get me started on the female lead's awful mother, friends, etc. The entire cast of characters is just awful and disgusting, the only redeemable character so far is the male lead's younger brother. I found him very tsundere and cute. Then again I could only stomach up to halfway through the translation, so perhaps I am wrong.

moral of the story: don't read this story if you like well-developed characters who help each other grow and improve themselves. If you're looking for a light read that you don't want to get emotionally attached to or if you don't mind borderline sociopathic characters, this might be for you.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
Flower Demon’s Inn
August 17, 2019
Status: --
nothing crazily special or interesting from what i've read. The translators did a great job of explaining things but for the most part a lot of nuance went by confusingly for me. If you have a little bit more patience than I do you might spend a bit more time trying to understand what is going on and succeed in grasping the point of certain chapters, but for me it was not the light story I wanted so I kind of quit. Also, it's not that interesting and is kind... more>> of mundane. For me at least.

still there's nothing wrong with it enough to discourage you from reading it, and if you like slow burn romance where there isn't really any romance in the beginning, fantasy, and stories set in an ancient time, then this is probably good for you. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung
Ten Years are not that Far
August 15, 2019
Status: --
It was good but there were so many turn-offs for me that I didn't know whether or laugh or just stop reading. I would have really enjoyed the premise because I adore age gap relationships (between consenting adults of course) but the two main characters were just so.... weird.

The female lead is a perfect example of a creepy, overly-obsessed girlfriend except she isn't even the male lead's girlfriend. She's possessive and stalks him every chance she gets, works in his office building and attended his former college because she wanted... more>> him so badly. She reads every book he reads, comes to his blind dates, and harasses the male lead's potential love interests. It's amazing to compare the reaction of those around her to what they could have been if it weren't a young, pretty female stalking their love interest.
Spoiler

This isn't even me over-exaggerating her actions, she literally breaks into his car while he's on a date and almost causes an accident. She could have killed him and his date, and her reaction is that "he needs to drive more carefully."

[collapse]
It's ludicrous, and I get that it's supposed to be funny but from the reviews that I see, girls are idealizing her behavior and from their inability to acknowledge her creepy and inappropriate behavior they allow it because it gives them a laugh. The male lead is even described as "furious" and kicks her out of his car because of how angry he is at her reckless and dangerous behavior. She will literally go to any lengths to be near him, and she didn't even bother apologizing for almost totaling his car and killing him.

I actually sympathize with the male lead. Since he was 26, he has been relentlessly stalked and pursued by a girl who he feels no attraction for and is basically an annoyance and burden on his everyday life. He grows steadily used to her unwanted presence and he expects her to be near him every time he goes somewhere. At some point he is numb to her advances and only really shows a reaction when she does something out of routine or reckless. Such as when she shows complete respect for him and his autonomy and tells him that she won't pursue him anymore. His reaction of wanting her to be around from that point is clearly connected to how numb he is toward her stalkerish routine. Like Stockholm Syndrome. He literally only falls for her because she is constantly around him and traps him into a sense of need by her overbearing and inappropriate behavior. After years of knowing that the female lead is the only constant in his life, he feels like he loves her when in reality it's his commitment issues and past trauma with the female lead and past relationships that is making him feel this way. He should have just taken this chance to escape from her dangerous and obsessive behavior.

And can we talk about how disrespectful and backwards it is for her to never take "NO" for an answer? It's not like he had unresolved feelings for years; he literally couldn't stand her and ignored her for 8 years before the Stockholm Syndrome. She ignores his feelings and just invades his privacy for YEARS because she thinks they're perfect together. It's psychotic. How is this heartwarming or a love story in any way? She's a relentless stalker who finally got what she wanted after 8 years of stalking a man who has told her no every time she's asked. Lord, the people who rated this 5 stars without discussing her disgusting behavior are the most delusional people I've seen. Do yourself a favor and read something that doesn't normalize and romanticize stalking. If she were a male, this story would have been seen as terrible and awful. The bar must be set really low if people are saying this is a "good novel". <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
Omae Mitai na Hiroin ga Ite Tamaruka!
August 11, 2019
Status: --
the translated version has been incredibly boring so far, with the main plot being MC's mother's romance. Maybe it gets more interesting in the raws, but as far as chapter 12 (the most recent TL for me) it's just MC's mother's romance and that's about it. I want MC to have some kind of pertinent conflict but none yet. Other than that the translation is okay and the plot is interesting. I don't have the energy to MTL the raws but by the summary it sounds okay lol.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung
Daybreak
August 15, 2019
Status: --
I expected to cry a little because the reviews proclaimed its sadness and I'm a crybaby but..... it was just kind of okay. Their relationship was purely based on coincidence and there was literally no reason for them to like each other besides that coincidence. I didn't root for either of them because I literally have no concept of their backstory or their true personalities... the female lead was conditioned to be an assassin and at the end is where we see that she might be confused by her true... more>> feelings. The male lead was stunted due to being trapped underground for years so he's basically a child.

For me personally, I really dislike useless characters. The male lead was the most useless I've read in a while. He literally has no common sense (which I know some people might like) but for me it's annoying that I finally get a FL who is stronger than the ML but he is absolutely mediocre. If the story was fleshed out I might discover he's actually not a gigantic burden but sadly that's not the case. He seems kind and self sacrificing but in reality he's incredibly selfish for knowingly burdening the FL like that. I mean I don't hate either of the characters, they're just not well written. Read it if you're looking for an easy time passing novel that you don't have to think about at the end. It's not particularly sad unless you consider cliche endings sad, but it's not terrible. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
Scapegoat Sister Vs Second Prince
August 8, 2019
Status: --
nah.... he's 15 and she's 21. the age gap isn't cute at all. it's disturbing that the female lead could ever fall in love with a child who is literally 15 years old.

other than that, the translation wasn't that great either. the last few translated chapters had sections that made absolutely no sense and I couldn't figure out which characters were talking or what emotions they had. I'm sure they tried their best but it reminded me of when you put a page through google translate.

the story itself wasn't that... more>> interesting and from what has officially been translated on novelupdates, it's kind of boring and the characters really aren't fleshed out enough. for me, every single character besides the MC and ML are there for plot convenience and not to actually be interesting as themselves.

Spoiler

the sister in law of the ML is a hero? wow, that's actually pretty cool! a character other than the MC or ML being a hero is kind of rare in a shoujo romance and could be setting up for a future plot! in actuality, the hero characteristic does absolutely nothing for the story and without it, the plot would have progressed in the exact same way. it doesn't impact anything and I don't know why they made the sister in law of the ML a hero when she could have been a noble lady...

[collapse]
the ML also has no personality. the only reason I can think of that the ML would like the MC is because she's "different" than the other girls because she gardens, and she's a little dense. that's really not a good enough reason for him to profess love to her but ok. that kind of already establishes him as shallow, but that's the only thing I can think of. he has a perfect character where he's princely, but pushy and exerts his position over her very often. it's not interesting or exciting, and it's kind of annoying that he's a figure of perfection and handsomeness without having any likable qualities besides being weirdly possessive of a woman who not only tricked him but is too dense to actually rule over a country.

the MC is dense to the point where it starts getting exhausting rather than cute.
Spoiler

she's a pushover and does whatever people tell her to do, and never actually ends up telling the prince her real feelings about the matchmaking to the point where he falsely believes that she has feelings for him.

[collapse]
she's not particularly kind or thoughtful, and doesn't possess a lot of common sense or propriety. she's only smart when the situation arises instead of catching the issue from the beginning, and her social sense is non existent. MCs who are pushovers are some of the most annoying because they don't stand up for themselves and everyone else steps all over them. MC's father, sister, sister in law, the prince, and the villainess all stepped on MC or caused trouble for her and she didn't stand up to them at any point. she seems to be too afraid to express her truthful feelings, but for some reason doesn't mind going up to random strangers and telling them that the prince wants to dance. she is both shy and sly but not enough to actually be interesting and impact her overall character. she doesn't learn anything and there is no character development for anyone.

the conflict is absolutely mundane --
Spoiler

she's disguised as her sister in a matchmaking ceremony and the sister in law and prince just HAPPEN to like her immediately?

[collapse]
.... her problems get solved within the chapter and it's just not interesting.

the worst part is that the prince holds significant power and status over her head and has shown to manipulate her with it knowingly. their power dynamic is so wildly different that you can't help but feel like the gullible MC has been duped into thinking she loves a prince she that has only known for a couple days. on the other hand though, the MC is significantly older (6 YEARS!!!) than the prince and the argument could be made that the prince only has an immature crush on the clearly older MC, and MC has a big issue for not nipping the problem in the bud and cutting his romantic attempts off as soon as they started.

it's not disgustingly awful but by no means is it the fantastic story that some of the reviews are raving about. if you're craving a mundane and meaningless story about shallow characters, a plot full of holes, and numerous translation errors, I guess this is for you but let me assure you that there are shorter stories than this with far more meaning and depth. I don't hate it but it's really not worth anything higher than 3 stars. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharon.nayoung
sharon.nayoung rated it
Rock Sugar And Pear Stew
April 8, 2019
Status: c44
cute but at times the leads can be a little too much. Gave it a 5 star rating because it was so entertaining but the male lead specifically weirded me out at times. From sabotaging the second lead to tricking FL into giving him 3 wishes, he seems very sneaky and manipulative. As much as I like ML, I much prefer FL with the second male lead lol I'm still gonna update myself on the story tho
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report