Report Review
22 Reviews


sharl
sharl rated it
The Day I Disappeared
August 11, 2018
Status: part3
Take note that the tragedy tag is well deserved. This is a story that well embodied how regrets always came too late...

Although apparently there's a sequel, and I can't wait to read that as I hope it will bring a better closure than this one.... actually, I wish I had waited to read this until the sequel is released/completed, because reading this story alone left such a melancholic feel that's difficult to shake off.

Also, my feeling with regards to the husband's regret: serves you right you ungrateful a******.
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl
Xianggong, Please Divorce Me!
November 29, 2017
Status: c8
There is too little for me to be able to decide whether I like this story... so I'll continue reading for now. Kudos for a headstrong FL though.

Regarding the 'rape' tag...

... more>>
Spoiler

FL and ML both agreed to get divorced and that the whole marriage was just a pretend thing. However ML got drugged by the emperor during the wedding night and ended up doing the mattress mambo with the FL. The part that made this a bit different was that ML recognised it for what it was - rape - and felt guilty about it, resolving to take responsibility by _not_ divorcing FL. FL, on the other hand, seemed to not give a sh*t about what just happened and still wanted to get a divorce, which was an interestingly different reaction from what I expected. It looked like she's so determined to make it out there as her own person (instead of a general's wife) that the loss of her chastity made no difference as she never planned to be married again, ever.

[collapse]
<<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Wife, I Want to Eat Meat
December 11, 2017
Status: c15
The flow of the story... is confusing, to say at least. Up until chapter 14 the story still flowed, but at chapter 15... what's going on? It's like there's a mix between past recollection and current events, with no clear separation between the 2. (Edit: Re-reading the chapter for the 3rd time and I finally got it...)

Plus... the husband/ML... the story basically said that he mistreated the wife/FL when they were first married, and after she divorced him he had a change of heart/realisation that he was wrong, and... more>> the story is basically him trying to woo her back.... so far it hasn't mentioned why he made that realisation, or what made him regret his past mistakes. It's rather hard to reconcile/forgive him when we're not shown why he changed his mind.

Will continue reading for now. Who knows, maybe the answer to my question is in one of the future chapters? <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Assassin Farmer
November 19, 2017
Status: c46
This is one of those stories you read when you just want something fluffy, adorable and heartwarming. No side female characters plotting FL's death to get the ML, no jealous suitors regretting how the FL escaped their grasp and plotting to get her back, no jealous step-sisters and step-mothers (well, only at the beginning) to provide continuous tension and drama... no imperial politics or backstabbing characters (so far).

All there was, was a story of 2 people slowly growing together and cherishing each other. It will probably give you diabetes from... more>> how cute it is, but hey, if that's what you're after... <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
I tried to give this a go, but in the end I gave up. The FL acts recklessly and like one other review mentioned, acts like she'a teenager with no regards for possible consequences or repercussions... what's the point of having a transmigrated FL who doesn't retain any of her wisdom or experience from her previous life?

If she wasn't a transmigrated soul and she grew up with wolves, her recklessness and naivety can be justified. A transmigrated soul, though...? The story mentioned that she was an assassin in her previous... more>> life - it looked like the only thing that got transferred was her killing skill... she certainly didn't carry over any of the instinct or wisdom necessary for self-preservation. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Stunning Edge
November 4, 2017
Status: c12
While I liked the premise, the writing felt rather... rushed. Things just seemed to happen at breakneck speed with not much explanation, as if the author is hurrying to get to the next part, and the next, and the next... from the chapters I read, the speed felt like it made it difficult to flesh out the characters. 12 chapters, and apart from being talented, aloof and distant, I don't know understand anything else about Claire - and as such, I couldn't root for her journey. The secondary characters were... more>> even less memorable.

Decided to drop this one unfortunately. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Villainess’s Sweet Everyday
December 2, 2018
Status: c41
This is a very sweet read without emotional payoff... at least, up to the point I've read.

This was a very slow read... I read 41 short chapters full of fluff and lovey-dovey scenes so if that is what you're after this title will make you happy. If you're looking for something with more conflict/challenge to overcome before the main couple's romance flourishes, this is not it. The heroine gained awareness about how the world was from an otome game etc etc, but except for momentary pondering of "how long will... more>> this happiness last" nothing else really happened before she went back to swooning over her prince.

Not for me I guess. Translation is good though. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
December 29, 2018
Status: c123
This was one of the best court intrigue novel on the site. World build up, characters, their motivations - everything was well thought out. The only thing people might not like is the pace - it's pretty slow paced, going along day-to-day building up quiet tension.

I read this because it's the same author as Eight Treasures Trousseau, and the author didn't disappoint.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Goddess Medical Doctor
October 19, 2018
Status: c14
This was ok, I guess? The story read more like a summary, compressing what would be numerous pages to delve into, into a single paragraph... It's like, rather than 'seeing' how the characters' relationship developed I just had to take the author's words for it : "they're very loyal to her" and such. Okay then.

Also be prepared for plot holes in the name of advancing the story. I nearly dropped the story when MC got kidnapped... She's the head of the strongest sect commanding 7 awesomely strong people renowned in... more>> the jianghu... And they let the head of their sect got kidnapped...?

Not a bad story to read if you're starving for something/anything to read, just don't expect anything memorable. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Red Strings
December 13, 2017
Status: Completed
This is short and adorable, with no drama or angst and an open ending. I recommend this if you're looking for a short fluffy story.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Enchantress Amongst Alchemists: Ghost King’s Wife
November 6, 2017
Status: c392
This is a very good paced read, although I think I'd need to take a break.

A lot of things happened - one after another something just keeps happening, it felt like the story never gives you a breather before it throws the next conflict at your face. Will have to pick this up again later.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Your Humble Servant is Guilty!
November 4, 2017
Status: c7
This was an entertaining read, notable for its lack of politics/intrigue/backstabbing/revenge/angst/drama. Nice to read when you just want something lighter - the FL's monologue and observation is pretty hilarious.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Otome Gēmu no Akuyaku Demonai Reijō wa Fianse o Hitasura Aisuru
November 4, 2017
Status: short story
Short and sweet, even if I prefer the ML to be more aggressive. Still worth a read as it's pretty short.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
The Rich And Honorable ChangAn
March 16, 2019
Status: Completed
That was a very, very enjoyable read. I took 1 star off because the story left some questions unanswered at the end, and the translation got rather confusing once in a while. But other than that, highly enjoyable and I really like how 'mature' the characters were - no pointless drama or temper tantrums. Recommended if you're after romance that build up slowly.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Sansheng, Wangchuan Wu Shang
December 29, 2018
Status: bonus story 3
This was a short read that succeeded at being touching and lovely at the same time. A recommended read when you want to read sweet romance.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Grabbing Your Hand, Dragging you Away
December 29, 2018
Status: ss2 part2
This story was notable for its female MC. Unlike other court intrigue novels, she's not catty, she's not vengeful and she preferred to stay unnoticed in the background. All of the court intrigue that happened around her, on the other hand, was well written. The story did feel rather weird due to how passive she was for a majority of the story. Things happened around and to her, and she just floated along with it passively. It's not until near the end that she actually decided to act on her... more>> own will, I'm guessing as a show of character development.

Also, I couldn't understand what the guys saw in her to be so obsessed with her - but I ignored that for the sake of the story. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
Eight Treasures Trousseau
December 29, 2018
Status: c108
This was an excellent read! The slow build up, the quiet tension, the way no character is ever black or white... this was a good example of a good court intrigue novel.

I took one point off because the ending felt rushed.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
The General Wants to Hug and Sleep
November 13, 2017
Status: c19
This had started out nice and cute - then I reached chapter 19 and immediately considered dropping it.

... more>>
Spoiler

FL decided to sneak out on her own... a short while after getting rescued from a kidnapping attempt, in a town that still had traces of enemies hiding. I can tolerate a clueless main character, but not an idiotic main character.

At the start she seemed good - she knew what she wanted, planned on how to get it and went with it... and somehow in the middle all of this got forgotten. And she just... followed along, I guess, original plan and scheming buried away after seeing a handsome man.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
sharl rated it
It is a Straight Road
November 7, 2017
Status: v1c1 part12
It's a bit of an unusual read. The characters are interesting, the premise intriguing and the set up was well done... But something about the way the story was written, and how dense the FL was... Left me feeling nothing for the story, or for the romance between the 2 leads.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sharl
This is an entertaining read, even if I get confused as to the flow of the plot. Maybe because I'm not used to wuxia genre?

... more>>
Spoiler

FL got her revenge, so to speak, in the first 200 chapters or so. From there it felt as if the genre suddenly shifted... to a martial arts school setting, whereas ML disappeared around chapter 120 only to appear once or twice in the next 200+ chapters. Whenever he appeared it made me squeal, but the fact that he appeared so rarely... kinda decreased the romance content a lot.

[collapse]

The story also suffers from repeating tropes - I lost count of how many female villains appeared whose sole motivation was jealousy towards FL for snagging the ever so brilliant ML.... even when the person himself hasn't showed up for 100+ chapters.

Still, the pace of the story is good and I liked how the author kept the story interesting and intriguing - it's the reason I keep reading despite the lower romance content. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report