Report Review
61 Reviews


sgrey
I don't know why people praise this novel so much. It contains all elements that everyone hates in other novels: bad MC, obvious plot, dumb characters. The title and the summary are actually wrong and it is clear as day from the first chapter. MC is a weak beta and a complete retard. He was not kicked out, he was tricked into leaving by a guy who clearly has alternative motives. The novel is really a tragedy waiting to happen. The whole thing is soooo obvious, and yet in a... more>> classic japanese tradition instead of actually talking to other party members and especially his sister, he f**king escapes and cries. This is so irritating. This is exactly the kind of situation I hate the most in novels because it is completely avoidable if you just use your brain a tiny bit. And of course, the hero's party now is in trouble because the only guy who could manage it properly left. I bet that the dude who tricked MC will also attack the hero in some way (maybe poison or drug) in an attempt to rape her or just to kill her because she rejected him. I am gonna wait until they reunite and see if this is worth reading. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This is honestly one of the worst novels I have ever read. First of all, the title says "longs for magic" and this is exactly what is happening so far. He cannot use magic after reincarnation because he does not comprehend it. After 50 chapters he is still not even close to using magic.

Overall for the first 30 chapters, there is absolutely nothing that happens. The content of the 30 chapters can be moved in 3-4 chapters without any problems. There are two!! Full chapters that describe how MC has... more>> muscle soreness. WTF!? Less time is dedicated to his sister than to muscle soreness!

The dialog and inner thoughts are broken for everyone. There are almost no sentences in this novel that make sense. Almost everything is incoherent and is hard to read. They are just mumblings without completing the sentences and using abstract words in order to confuse the reader. Characters always say things like "do this", "go there", "I know what to do, I will do that". This kind of dialog is just plain stupid. A good example of how this novel is vague on purpose is the skill MC gets. It is so obscure that no one understands it, even MC himself! That skill causes MC to be disinherited in the most ridiculous way.

After 30 chapters there is finally an event that happens, but it is so boringly described and ends so abruptly, even though it lasts for several chapters, it is just dumb. The whole event that lasts about six chapters can fit in a sentence: MC found the fortress with bad guys, went in and killed them all. Really, almost nothing is described. How many people were there, what did he do overall. It is just classical damsel in distress rescue at the last second. There is not even a battle with the main baddy there that is worth mentioning.

MC in this novel gives me the impression of a lobotomized emotionless robot. He does not have likes or dislikes, he goes every day to work out for a while and then listens to the incoherent mumblings of his sensei. He mostly throws one-liners and doesn't really talk much. He doesn't care what happens to him at all. When anything happens, he just goes with it saying "oh well, what happens - happens, such is life". By this time, I actually want MC to be his little sister or the demon girl he meets. At least they have stuff going on and have emotions!

It is extremely poorly written novel! Bad translation doesn't help too. I give two stars because I like the premise, but reading this novel can give you a brain aneurysm, so be careful. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Hachinan tte, Sore wa Nai Deshou!
October 24, 2017
Status: c71
This novel does NOT have romance, action, ecci or comedy. All marriages are political and arranged. MC marries a bunch of girls because influential people just sent him the girls or said he should. MC: "oh, I guess the girl will be in trouble, I have to marry her". There is very little interaction between MC and his wives. By chapter 71 there is 1 kissing scene and 1 "walking into the bath where the naked girl is" scene. This is really just pathetic if the novel wants to say... more>> it's a "romance and ecci".

Second biggest problem in this novel is that it lacks any kind of emotion at all! Even the moments that suppose to be emotional just feel super dry. When MC had his first date with his first wife, it turned into a business talk with the jewelry shop sales clerk and some political talk. When his first wife was suppose to be bonding with the second and third, it was so boring, anticlimactic and unemotional, I cannot even describe it. The bottom line out of the bonding was that the first wife despite of being political marriage might actually have some feelings for MC, which is not even stated in a strong way, but more like hinted. All characters are super dry and there is no connection at all. This also applies to the so called "comedy" part. I maybe giggled twice and that was about it. The humor is dry and stupid and not funny at all. There is nothing here that can be classified as comedy.

Now, the biggest problem is that this novel is just endless amount of talking. Even when there suppose to be action, there are 2 sentences of action and then 10 paragraphs of freaking dialog that gives you trivia. In the middle of an intense situation characters just casually walk and chat with each other about women, politics, or some other stuff that not related at the moment at all. Even if you try to feel any sort of tension, it really is impossible because of the idle chatter and poor writing.

Also, there are endless recaps upon recaps, and even the recaps have recaps! You keep reading the same sh*t again and again and again. And then you read about stuff you don't care about. All dialog is disjoint and some trivia is always mixed in. The style of all dialogs are like this:
- The character starts saying something
- What he is saying is not showin
- MC in his head says "in summary he said this", and then recaps. It gets really annoying.

The story itself is actually good, but all the annoying stuff and poor writing makes it boring and hard to read. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
September 18, 2017
Status: c200
The premise of the story is ok, but the storytelling is just terrible. First, the timeline is all messed up. One chapter can say "six month later" and describe events that happen, and the next chapter starts at six month prior. Not only that, there is no indication when the events happens. It gets really confusing.

Second, the writing is all over the place. It is incoherent and confusing, especially in the first 50+ chapters. Bunch of different thoughts is often just jumbled together and is thrown at the reader. It... more>> gets a bit better later, but not by much. In addition to the bad storytelling and confusing chapters, the translation also have many problems, but that is really just an icing on the cake here.

Third, hateful MC. He is just a little naive child mentally. He is pretty dumb and does not even learn when sh*t happens to him. He is really classical japanese teen (typical novel or manga mc) with a bunch of complexes. There are no interesting qualities about him. He is really as average as it gets. He does not think things through and does not consider consequences of his actions at all. He is oblivious to what's going on around him. How's the story where the MC is just a stupid child is going to be good? He basically doesn't grow up at all and is still as naive when as at the beginning. Not only that, he is being babied by his followers! They hide stuff from him because it's complicated and might change the way he sees things and thinks.

Also, the story gets often quite boring. There are many pointless chapters that just dedicated to things like discussion about inventory of the store and the items in stock or how one guy is peeping at the MC magically and what he is thinking. Interesting events in the story are often just skipped and overlooked. Also the events are super stretched out with idiotic and pointless things in between. Basically terrible storytelling.

Those poor girls that follow him... I already see a tragic event happening and him realizing how he feels about them... The story has a tag "romance" but really there is none. There is some talk about s*x in the story, but zero romance. MC's followers develop feelings for him and it is shown, but only in occasional discussion. It really gets depressing eventually. MC has zero romance interest in anyone. It is very sad that at the chapter 200 there is so little character growth and MC is still a naive child. Also there are some changes to his character, it's not really much.

Spoiler

Huge plot in the story is how many people are afraid that MC may become derange and start murdering everyone. Looking at how unstable and stupid he is currently, there is actually a possibility that story might take that path. Also because his followers hide a lot of stuff from him, it also might be a factor. Honestly, the more you read this, the more disappointing it becomes.

[collapse]
<<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
July 16, 2017
Status: v15
I was looking for a slow-paced novel with an interesting setting for a long time, and this is it. I really enjoy slice of life part of it. I got really tired of other novels where there is nothing but action. The MC is really OP, but because he does not know enough about the world, there are still dangers for him and his companions. He goes at his own pace and does what he wants. I also like that he is not an idiot and actually talks to his... more>> companions and friends and tells them stuff that need to be said (for the most part)

A lot of people complain about him hiding his identity, but in the novel it is a proper thing to do. He does not want to get involved in the politics and wants to be able to travel peacefully with his companions. He would not be able to do that if just exposes himself. Overall a pretty nice easy read, where you don't have nothing but action, but it also keeps a good balance with plot progress and things happening. It does get a bit more boring at some point, but then recovers and major stuff happening in v15 <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Kuishinbo Elf
February 23, 2018
Status: c46
This novel is painfully dissatisfying. Right from the start it appears to be drawn out slice of life and continues to be the same. Everything is so slow and nothing makes sense. MC is useless and weak, does not have personality and just gets dragged around by everyone. She has this amazing healing ability that she does nothing interesting with, but her overall uselessness just negates even that... She does not have brains, talent for martial arts, magic, or even basic physical strength. On top of this whole thing, this... more>> novel does not have fluff, cute stuff or anything of the sort. Not that much comedy either and absolutely zero adventure so far. And the writing after chapter 20 or so just became incoherent rumbling. It's like the author is the same age as the MC in the novel (5 y.o.). I can't find the reason to read this...

Spoiler

So she meets the ghost of the noble girl adventurer who was betrayed, raped and killed. MC inherits all her knowledge and memories, including magic and martial arts. But apparently, for some reason, she still has to go to school? She doesn't know a lot of common sense, like what is a healer association. Why doesn't she have a theory about magic and weapons already? Why can't she do stuff that the nobel girl could?

And finally.... When that peach-senpai appeared... I stopped reading this sh*t novel...

[collapse]
<<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Nigotta Hitomi no Lilianne
February 18, 2018
Status: c138
I really love this novel! I guess the reason why is because it has a well-established common sense that the author does not break. It is very realistic in that regard. The novel is written from the perspective of a baby. The guy from our world is reincarnated as a baby girl in a different world. The novel shows the grows of a baby, how she adjusts and learns. The reader is kept in the dark and knows only what the heroine knows. As such, we grow together with her... more>> as we learn more about the world around us. I think this is one of the main reason why this novel just makes you want to keep reading. I like that novel keeps thing realistic from biological and common sense point of view. As baby grows, she has to learn how to properly speak, walk, move. You can see all the appropriate stages of growth for a baby. Even she has experience from a previous life and high comprehension ability as a result, she is still bound by the laws of nature.

There is no drama or action since it's all about a baby. It is a cute story about the growth of a little girl. It is very slow paced with a lot of inner thoughts. It is surprising that such a slow paced novel is entertaining to such degree. It is pretty funny and you can't help to want to learn more about the world together with the heroine. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Genjitsushugi Yuusha no Oukoku Saikenki
July 2, 2018
Status: v6 epilogue
This novel is not terrible, the writing is overall ok and at least the sentences are coherent, unlike so many other novels. However, this novel made me cringe so much, I just can't give this a good rating. Overal I would say this novel just does not have anything standing out for it. It is an average novel with one or two good moments.

One of the biggest problems I have with this novel is that it treats the reader like an idiot. There are so many explanations, and everything is... more>> explained at least twice if not more. Every thought MC has is not his own but is taken from some philosophy text. Every thought of MC is explained in terms of logic, then in terms of our world example, then using the quote of a philosophy book and then the quote is explained once or twice. Some chapters consist of nothing but explanations with backstories and histories. But those histories are not even correct some of the time, in a sense that they don't really apply to the situation in a way the author tries to present. It is really stupid how MC explains things to people of the other world using the language of our world. It is clear that explanations are for the reader and not for the characters. And people are just "I didn't get it, but whatever, this stuff usually works out, so I will just go along with it". There is also reintroduction of characters every darn chapter and every darn volume. No, I will not forget the goddamn main character and his wives between chapters. It feels like the author just needed to fill in the space because he couldn't come up with enough story to fill the volume.

The second big problem is MC himself. It might seem like he is smart, but if you think about it, MC is actually quite dumb and a coward. For one, as I said he doesn't have his own thoughts and justifications, he always refers to the history and philosophy of the Earth. He makes decisions when it involves other people, but when it's about him, he is super indecisive and has to ask someone else to make a decision for him. The thing that ticked me off the most is when he said to the princess: "I don't want to have s*x with you right now because I don't think I can support and care for you and a baby properly." You are a goddamn king of a country and you can't care for your wife and kid? Are you kidding me? I took him 6 whole months to just kiss the princess. And six more months to kiss the second chick. By the way things are going, they will get married when they are sixty. Well, he did eventually start sleeping with the princess after a year of a platonic relationship.

Spoiler

The biggest flaw in this novel can be seen in volume 6. So he gets an invitation to the dragon country to make a contract with a dragon (which basically means marriage to a dragon). He tells it to everyone and leaves to do just that. Then, after he gets to dragon country and meets the dragon he goes full retard. "Can I bring he back without the contract?", "Dragon, I have four fiances and I am not from your country, are you OK with me?", "I need to go ask permission to make a contract from everyone". Then he goes back with the dragon and basically says: this is the dragon, will you let me make a contract? I am not in love with her, but I am sure I will fall for her eventually.

Another stupid thing is that it is portrayed that he wants this dragon because she generates electricity. He says she is going to be so useful because of that. But it is super easy to make a basic manual power generator. Why the hell do you need a dragon to generate electricity? You can make basic power generator and even basic capacitors super easy. He also has scientists who can help him make those. It just doesn't make sense. The author just artificially inflates the value of the dragon chick to make her seem more important than she is.

And volume 5 is just an embarrassment and should not exist. It is goddamn awful and shows MC in the worst way.

[collapse]

MC also doesn't spend any time with his fiances in a romantic way. They have like one date per month or even less. You would think in a slice of life novel like this they would build the relationship a bit better, but no. The girls just fall in love with MC because plot. Not only that, they are basically just holding hands all the time. They were engage for a year and they are only holding hands sometimes. What the hell is this? Everyone in the castle tells them directly "just start making babies already!". It's like the author is aware that he is being stupid, but he insists on it anyway

Speaking of plot. The author tries to have this intrigue and mystery, but it is so transparent, that pretty much everything is obvious. You can predict how this novel will turn out very early and very easy. There is only one thing in this novel was not obvious, but turned out to be not that interesting, is the former king's explanation. Everything else just falls in place they way you expect in the best way for MC. Overall the novel is just smooth sailing for MC without any good or interesting points. He just does not stand out in any way. I mean usually the novel would have some nice moments that makes you want more. There is nothing of the sort here. No epic victories, no major plot twists, no hardships. The biggest problem MC faces is the large amount of paperwork. There is a lot of missing potential in the story. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Return of the Former Hero
February 21, 2018
Status: c70
I am not quite sure about the target audience for this novel. First of all, it is a dumb comedy which is not that funny unless you are maybe 10? The MC just wants girls. He is having delusions and fantasies every minute of every day about every girl he sees on the street. Everything else is just a mean to get girls. So it is a perverted comedy with cliche humor that is not funny.

Second, this is a pedo novel. I would like to know if the author was... more>> convicted of pedophilia. Or he is using this novel as means to release his fantasies, maybe? MC is actively having s*x with 9, 12, 13 and 14-year-olds. Yes, some of his harem is in single-digit age. The author is actually going out of his way to justify it. WTF?

As far as I can see, there is no plot. The novel is just empty with nothing but girls, girls, girls. Also, the writing overall is just poor. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Ore no Isekai Shimai ga Jichou Shinai!
December 3, 2017
Status: v3c1
This novel is super dumb, the dialog is broken, the story is incoherent and the MC is the worst of it all. Why do you write reincarnation as a plot and make MCs mental age to be 30 and then make him act like a child? He is just sitting there and never does anything, he is so immature and can't make any decisions. When the story starts, it interesting and you wait how MC will make a nice comeback from the situation he is in, what will he do?... more>> He lives there for 10+ years and does nothing! The author tries to create a sense of mystery, but the plot is so obvious, it is not even funny. Everything that MC does is dumb and not thought through. It becomes quickly very clear that this novel will not become what you expect. I find myself wanting to skip chapters very fast. Part of it is probably bad storytelling, because there is a ton of events that happen. But the way everything is handled is dumb, MC is just weak in all aspects, he is indecisive and a coward. There is no way a 30 year old would act this way. I really can't read this novel because it has horrible storytelling and idiotic MC. Also all of the resolutions to the problems in this novel are stupid and don't make sense, along with the setting.

The way he is treated by his family is also the biggest bullsh*t ever. First of all, why is he not allowed to even learn how to read and write? Because he will become a threat because of it? How are they expect to use him for marriage, to another noble house nonetheless, if he is illiterate and knows sh*t? What's the point of even keeping him there? Just send him away to some remote forest and he will never even know and live a better life. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
The Man Picked Up By the Gods (Reboot)
December 11, 2018
Status: v5
I've read a previous version of this, which is a pretty much identical story with small changes. I actually liked it at first, but this is really quite a tedious novel to read. I came to really dislike MC, who is your average japanese beta. There is too much focus on mundane stuff and food. MC just keeps on blabbering about all the details of what is going on with him and explain himself to others all the time. It always feels like he is looking for validation from others.... more>> He is also quite annoying with "being independent" thing going on.

Overall I hate the most is the stupid etiquette and dialogs where everyone tries to outpolite one another, fear of offending anyone, idiotic surprises at obvious things (e.g. MC didn't realize for a while that it is normal to have managers operate the store while the owner is away doing his own thing and is super surprised by that. Especially given that he lived until he was 30 in modern Japan, yea). In addition, this MC is so much beta that he doesn't even get to participate in most main events in the story. For example, the biggest monsters and largest events all happen without him and only much later in the novel he starts to somewhat participate in bigger events. And I don't actually mind slice of life novels, but slice of life doesn't mean it has to be about every darn little detail of every day. I guess if MC was not as annoying as this one, I would like the novel much more. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
The story is surprisingly not bad. I like the events and progression overall. What is bad in this novel are the characters.

MC is useless, spineless and stupid. As I keep reading it I am getting the impression that MC thinks the god sent him to another world to be a farmer until the world is destroyed. He keeps whining and whining how he wants to be a farmer and to live a peaceful life. He is a walking contradiction. He doesn't want to stand out, but he keeps doing flashy... more>> stuff, he got a cheat skill but can't fight. He can use magic because the spells are basically provided for him, but when he upgrades his physical talents, he is useless. His slave has the same level of physical skills and she is way stronger. He says he wants to keep stuff about him a secret and then blabs about it to everyone. I had the urge to punch the screen at least twice and flip the table at least three times because of how stupid and contradictory MC is. He is never proactive, he dreams of becoming a neet in another world as well and stuff always happens to him. If he was not forced to do stuff, he would just shut himself in the house and never leave!

Let's talk about romance for a bit. MC basically says he wants a harem right off the bet. Then, of course, he buys himself a cute girl slave who has a condition which he cures. Of course, she falls in love with him immediately. She started to actively go after him and invite him for the night. So what does he do? He is running around scared and screaming: "this is baaad, what do I do, she wants to get naked, aahhhh, this is sooo baaad". I mean, are you for real? Isn't that what you want? Now, he meets few other girls and they all suddenly fall in love with him for no apparent reason. He keeps running around scared and then suddenly he f**ks all of them and before you know it, they are all married. I think the time span in the novel was one month between him meeting everyone and then getting 4 wives. Moreover, when other girls confess to him too, he is also running around scared and screaming: "why is this happening, what's going on? why did she say she likes me? what did she mean? what do I do?" And that is from a guy who actually likes the other party as well and dreams about a harem. To illustrate just how bad the romance is here - tsundere! confessed!! first!!! and told him she is going to marry him and he has no right to refuse!!!

Overall all characters are one dimensional. There are no character development of any kind. Ther is a minimum backstory given to each one, and they stay exactly the same as when they were first introduced. That includes MC as well. All characters get one trait and that trait gets emphasized all the time.

Overall story progression... every arc volume is structured so you get about 60-70% of idiotic meaningless stuff and then during the last 30% of the volume something interesting would be happening. However, the aftermath would generally be described in the next volume. I do like the actual story, it would be way more interesting if not for the moronic MC and one-dimensional characters. Honestly, MC just makes the whole thing so much worse. He just does so much stupid sh*t that whaterver enjoyment you get from the novel gets negated.

Also, the writing is overall amateurish. There is a severe lack of emotion in the story. Even during the wedding and other moments that supposed to be emotional, it feels very dry. In addition, the translation is quite bad. The grammar is ok, and I can't say it is not english, but the actual translation is often incorrect. To be precise, this translator has a problem with verbs. The sentence that should be in the past tense is translated in the present tense. First person becomes third person, passive voice becomes active. The reverse is also true. Every chapter multiple times the meaning of the sentences would be reversed. I often have to pause and think of what is actually happening there. Not to mention, some of the sentences are really not english. I think about 5 cases were translated so poorly that it just a meaningless sequence of words. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This novel.... I have to say, I really hate and despise MC of this novel... He is a total sociopath.

The author of this novel is going for being stupid to the point of being funny. I gotta say that he succeeds. This is the most perverted novel I have seen. I would go as far as saying that it is more perverted than even porn. The whole comedy is tied around perverts and perverted jokes. I usually don't like this type of humor, but I have to admit that this... more>> novel did make me laugh eventually.

Don't expect anything from the harem and romance. There are no relationships like that at all. All women in the novel are there only for the sake of comedy and nothing else. At least until the very end, I don't see anything happening there.

Now, this MC. As I said, he is a sociopath. He runs around naked from the very beginning and asks women if he can grope them. Every single sentence he says is meant to be some sort of perverted joke or a pun. However most of the time the reason I laughed was the side characters and not MC.

Overall there is nothing here except perverted jokes, but for some reason, I did have fun reading it. I wanted to give this novel a lower rating originally, but here you go. Also, I have to say that MC is super OP, but I have no problem with it. And there is a story of sorts, you can call it "adventure, " where MC is going from place to place and does stuff, but it's mediocre.

Oh, and the latest translator is sh*t (angry angels translator). Starting chapter 78 it is hard to call it english.... <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
At first, I liked this novel. It was a bit funny, and light read with a good mixture of action and off time. However, later the novel became just more annoying and boring. Overall I have few problems with the novel.

The novel revolves around conflict with gods. They are supposed to be the ones who created the world. So they are old and powerful. However, the personalities of almost everyone, especially gods are just awful. First, the MC. He is supposed to be the most powerful god who was sealed... more>> for 1600 years. After his seal was released, he went ahead and reincarnated as a human for the purpose of learning how humans live and all about them. So what does he do after he is born? He lives in a remote village deep in the forest, does not know anything at all of what is going on outside the said village and have no interest in human civilization and society. How does this even make sense? Why would he live for 18 years and not explore or at least learn history and other things? That was the whole purpose of being reborn. Personality of MC is that of an average teenager, maybe very slightly more mature. He is constantly spawning stupid lines and gets flustered like a horny teen. He retains all the knowledge of a god, why the hell is he like this? He is a walking contradiction between what he says and thinks! Now, all of the other gods and probably humans in this novel. All of them are conceited fools. They have been there for 1600 years and did not learn anything? Every single one of them is just a clone of one another. They spawn almost identical lines; they show an identical misunderstanding of humans, they behave in almost identical ways. The power dynamic between the gods is a mess too. First, the darkness is the strongest; he is the father of all gods. Then they say the light is absolutely superior to the darkness and can kick his ass while sleeping. After that apparently, darkness can pull of a black hole trick and overpower the light. But the light also has shadow power, so maybe black hole won't work on that and light is stronger? Who knows what will happen later. Also darkness apparently can swallow all elements except light, but the light has an advantage over all other elements, but that advantage is not really specified. Another problem with the powers are that they are super boring and not well thought through. Apparently, each person has a combination of elemental powers within them and one of them is usually the strongest. But others can also be at a high level and it is shown that with the training they can increase. However, everyone only uses one power by themselves, only the element they are the best at. Why? There is no reason they can't do it. Especially since the heroes do combine elements between themselves. Did no one in that world try at least training to separate powers? Even if not combining, they should be able to use them separately. The wrighting is pretty simplistic and kind of amateurish here. For me, the best parts of the novel are the heroes and their interactions. I think all heroes have good personalities, pretty flushed out and interact in an interesting way. I also like the humor in the novel. It feels natural and realistic. I would rate this higher, but it became so repetitive and boring after almost 200 chapters, I can barely tolerate it now. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
No Fatigue: 24-jikan Tatakaeru Otoko no Tenseitan
December 5, 2017
Status: c77
This novel is boring. Most of the time there is too much expo that is dumped on you in endless stream of information. Not to mention, the idiotic setting when half a year old baby has the body of 3 year old child, walks around, infiltrates criminal organisations and kills master assassins. If this novel already doesn't have common sense, it will certainly start breaking all the rules later on.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
I like this novel a lot. It focused on character interaction and development. It is somewhat similar to the Death March in a sense that an OP guy travels leisurely with kids and and has fun. I read it after I read one depressing and violent novel and this was like a breath of fresh air after a long dive. It is mostly focused on slice of life, but it does have action and such. Also it is questionable who is more OP - the MC or the kids, who... more>> are currently higher level than him. Overall really nice casual novel. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
It is a lot similar to Slave Harem, but much better. It is not stagnant and a lot of thing going on. So why 3 stars? It really doesn't have anything going for it other than being "not bad". You can pretty much guess how the story will turn out, the is no tension and not much comedy. MC starts off not that good, then becomes better and then falls to be no good again. It also becomes a mega-coincidence plot device where it turns out almost all characters know... more>> each other. It's an OK read, but not great and exciting. Just something to read while turning the brains off. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Slave Harem in the Labyrinth of the Other World
October 24, 2017
Status: c220
This story is about horny teenager who got his hands on some s*x slaves in another world and for the first time in Japanese novel he uses s*x slaves as s*x slaves to fulfill his teenage fantasies! He never fails to remind his slaves that they are indeed his slaves by constantly reminding them how much they cost. Every time he buys something for them, the situation goes
- But master, this is so expensive!
- Don't worry, you are much more expensive!
- Ok, master, thank you very much!... more>> It gets really old really fast. By the way, for those who hope at least to get some ecci parts, there is almost nothing of the sort here. Yes, they have s*x and take baths together, but the way it is described is almost ok for children to read.

Action is pretty bad here, or should I say that action is barely there. Whenever they fight something difficult, it ends very quickly. MC in his party are always in the dungeon and the author does not fail to describe every little detail of it! There are loooong description of how they walked, what they smelled, how MC want to grope the girls every single moment all the time, etc. All the stuff that is not interesting to read after maybe 2-5 chapters about it.

And every 10-15 chapters there is the same thing happening over and over and over again. MC gets new slave, then he f**ks her the same day, then he brings her to the dungeon, then the girl is surprised how strong he is, then she is surprised that she can eat together with him and then promises to serve him forever. Basically this pattern is repeat in a cycle all the time.

All characters are forgettable and nondescript. There is nothing ever happening in this story other than some key points, like buying a slave. Everything else does not change anything, so you can skip 20-30 chapters and be just fine reading because there will be nothing new there. What I means is that nothing MC does or noting that happens in the world have any influence or changes the setting in any way. There is no progress in any direction, other than MC gets more slaves as the story progresses (or rather not progresses). <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
The Legendary Moonlight Sculptor
August 5, 2017
Status: v42
The story is pretty average, but at times entertaining. What I don't like is that timeline sometimes is messed up and the author jumps from present to the future, but then goes back to the past. And not for something important, but for trivial stuff. He often uses these kind of tricks to gain more interest, but what it causes are situation like "wait, did I just missed a chapter? Why are you talking about this random thing?"

I also hate MC. He is super rotten and treats his friends like... more>> crap. They are also handing out with him just for benefits. He also seem to have split personality where he thinks one thing and does another.

Really, he does not change at all, there is no character growth here. It is sad, but majority characters that are close to MC (except for the gf) have flat personalities. Really, Geomchies are most interesting out of them....

What is also quite irritating is that the author seem to think that he has to write about the game every few paragraphs. He will switch to it in the middle of some interesting event and talk about random things, as long as it is in the game or about the game (like in the middle of a dialog). This discontinuity becomes quite irritating as you keep reading.

Spoiler

One of the biggest disappointments for me was how Seoyoon started to speak. She was exchanging notes with MC because she was too shy one moment and then in the next paragraph she was working in a restaurant talking to a bunch of strangers. WTF? Huge deal was made of how she was able to communicate only with him and then sudden jump to complete cure. Such a missed opportunity for a good chapter.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
While the novel is not translated, the manga is way ahead of this novel and it generated a lot of dislike from me. There are many isekai novels who say "xxx" (substitute character trait here) in another world. Yet all of them have the same personality, which is usually stupid, immature and without a common sense. This is exactly what we get here. Why the hell do you write about this old man in another world and then make him self-deprecating, dumb and immature moron?

... more>>
Spoiler

So he saves a waitress from an adventure who assaults her verbally, physically and s*xually. This adventurer tries to take revenge on this guy and hurts the waitress and her dad (wtf with that, really). MC thinks it's all his fault because he prevented the initial assault, but the criminal came back for more later while MC was not around. Who in the world thinks this way? After that MC f**king runs away from the village and starts living in a forest because he is afraid to cause trouble for others. I mean this guy seriously need psychological help asap.

Now, let's see this situation in more detail. Why didn't he send the guy to the guards? Do the law there allows for people to get assaulted for no reason? They put the attacker in prison later on, after he beat up the father and daughter. And the attacker... MC only knew this girl for like one day, and yet the attacker decided that he will take revenge against MC by hurting her??? Normal person will fill slightly bad, but they literally don't know each other. He might as well started to beat up random people in order to take his revenge.

[collapse]

So far this MC is really unlikable. I will see if he gets a bit better later, but I have no interest in a 40-year-old MC who behaves like a bullied teen, seriously, wtf is with Japanese novels... <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 4