Report Review
73 Reviews


sgrey
I don't know why people praise this novel so much. It contains all elements that everyone hates in other novels: bad MC, obvious plot, dumb characters. The title and the summary are actually wrong and it is clear as day from the first chapter. MC is a weak beta and a complete retard. He was not kicked out, he was tricked into leaving by a guy who clearly has alternative motives. The novel is really a tragedy waiting to happen. The whole thing is soooo obvious, and yet in a... more>> classic japanese tradition instead of actually talking to other party members and especially his sister, he f**king escapes and cries. This is so irritating. This is exactly the kind of situation I hate the most in novels because it is completely avoidable if you just use your brain a tiny bit. And of course, the hero's party now is in trouble because the only guy who could manage it properly left. I bet that the dude who tricked MC will also attack the hero in some way (maybe poison or drug) in an attempt to rape her or just to kill her because she rejected him. I am gonna wait until they reunite and see if this is worth reading. <<less
40 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This is honestly one of the worst novels I have ever read. First of all, the title says "longs for magic" and this is exactly what is happening so far. He cannot use magic after reincarnation because he does not comprehend it. After 50 chapters he is still not even close to using magic.

Overall for the first 30 chapters, there is absolutely nothing that happens. The content of the 30 chapters can be moved in 3-4 chapters without any problems. There are two!! Full chapters that describe how MC has... more>> muscle soreness. WTF!? Less time is dedicated to his sister than to muscle soreness!

The dialog and inner thoughts are broken for everyone. There are almost no sentences in this novel that make sense. Almost everything is incoherent and is hard to read. They are just mumblings without completing the sentences and using abstract words in order to confuse the reader. Characters always say things like "do this", "go there", "I know what to do, I will do that". This kind of dialog is just plain stupid. A good example of how this novel is vague on purpose is the skill MC gets. It is so obscure that no one understands it, even MC himself! That skill causes MC to be disinherited in the most ridiculous way.

After 30 chapters there is finally an event that happens, but it is so boringly described and ends so abruptly, even though it lasts for several chapters, it is just dumb. The whole event that lasts about six chapters can fit in a sentence: MC found the fortress with bad guys, went in and killed them all. Really, almost nothing is described. How many people were there, what did he do overall. It is just classical damsel in distress rescue at the last second. There is not even a battle with the main baddy there that is worth mentioning.

MC in this novel gives me the impression of a lobotomized emotionless robot. He does not have likes or dislikes, he goes every day to work out for a while and then listens to the incoherent mumblings of his sensei. He mostly throws one-liners and doesn't really talk much. He doesn't care what happens to him at all. When anything happens, he just goes with it saying "oh well, what happens - happens, such is life". By this time, I actually want MC to be his little sister or the demon girl he meets. At least they have stuff going on and have emotions!

It is extremely poorly written novel! Bad translation doesn't help too. I give two stars because I like the premise, but reading this novel can give you a brain aneurysm, so be careful. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Hachinan tte, Sore wa Nai Deshou!
October 24, 2017
Status: c71
This novel does NOT have romance, action, ecci or comedy. All marriages are political and arranged. MC marries a bunch of girls because influential people just sent him the girls or said he should. MC: "oh, I guess the girl will be in trouble, I have to marry her". There is very little interaction between MC and his wives. By chapter 71 there is 1 kissing scene and 1 "walking into the bath where the naked girl is" scene. This is really just pathetic if the novel wants to say... more>> it's a "romance and ecci".

Second biggest problem in this novel is that it lacks any kind of emotion at all! Even the moments that suppose to be emotional just feel super dry. When MC had his first date with his first wife, it turned into a business talk with the jewelry shop sales clerk and some political talk. When his first wife was suppose to be bonding with the second and third, it was so boring, anticlimactic and unemotional, I cannot even describe it. The bottom line out of the bonding was that the first wife despite of being political marriage might actually have some feelings for MC, which is not even stated in a strong way, but more like hinted. All characters are super dry and there is no connection at all. This also applies to the so called "comedy" part. I maybe giggled twice and that was about it. The humor is dry and stupid and not funny at all. There is nothing here that can be classified as comedy.

Now, the biggest problem is that this novel is just endless amount of talking. Even when there suppose to be action, there are 2 sentences of action and then 10 paragraphs of freaking dialog that gives you trivia. In the middle of an intense situation characters just casually walk and chat with each other about women, politics, or some other stuff that not related at the moment at all. Even if you try to feel any sort of tension, it really is impossible because of the idle chatter and poor writing.

Also, there are endless recaps upon recaps, and even the recaps have recaps! You keep reading the same sh*t again and again and again. And then you read about stuff you don't care about. All dialog is disjoint and some trivia is always mixed in. The style of all dialogs are like this:
- The character starts saying something
- What he is saying is not showin
- MC in his head says "in summary he said this", and then recaps. It gets really annoying.

The story itself is actually good, but all the annoying stuff and poor writing makes it boring and hard to read. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
July 16, 2017
Status: v15
I was looking for a slow-paced novel with an interesting setting for a long time, and this is it. I really enjoy slice of life part of it. I got really tired of other novels where there is nothing but action. The MC is really OP, but because he does not know enough about the world, there are still dangers for him and his companions. He goes at his own pace and does what he wants. I also like that he is not an idiot and actually talks to his... more>> companions and friends and tells them stuff that need to be said (for the most part)

A lot of people complain about him hiding his identity, but in the novel it is a proper thing to do. He does not want to get involved in the politics and wants to be able to travel peacefully with his companions. He would not be able to do that if just exposes himself. Overall a pretty nice easy read, where you don't have nothing but action, but it also keeps a good balance with plot progress and things happening. It does get a bit more boring at some point, but then recovers and major stuff happening in v15 <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
Spoiler

omfg, this is appalling trash! If I could give this novel a negative five, I would! On the very first day, the chick colludes with the inn employees, drugs MC and rapes him. After he wakes up, and this is literally in the f**king novel, he says it's pointless to be angry, she is super cute and his type, he doesn't mind to be her puppet and marries her almost on the spot. And he keeps staying at that inn, where people schemed against him, without minding anything. And later we find out that it was the same f**king god that summoned MC got this girl to drug him and rape him. The god says she a good girl and it took him a while to convince her. Yes, because only good people get others drugged and raped. If I was summoned to this damn world and was told I can be a hero or a villain or whatever I wanna be, I would go ahead and destroy everything, because why the heck not if everyone in there is a damn insane criminal, including the gods.

Then, in just a few chapters like a total moron, he exposes himself as an OP hero and then runs away from the city. The kingdom sent 30 assassins after him, who are then killed by MC, except for one chick, who MC tortures and brutally rapes for information. Right after this, he goes right back to the city where he escaped from, meets with the king and starts f**king work for the king who tried to kill him. And not only that, he saw the assassin chick in the slave shop and byes her because he feels responsible that he ruined her life. I cannot even make this sh*t up. Just what kind of mental patient wrote this novel?

And what happened next? The princess of the kingdom that tried to kill him tries to drug him and rape him, which he knowingly almost lets happen all the way through! And he goes and gets engaged with this princess right after that. And the first chick, who he married after she drugged and raped him got upset because just how is it possible for him to get engaged with a princess who almost drugged and raped him.

What the hell is this novel? This is MC is in the top 4 most stupid MCs I've seen. All the while the stupid sh*t happens, he doesn't even do anything. This is the most pointless novel I've seen. The novels where MC just travels around or does random sh*t with seemingly no purpose have more plot than this novel. Not to mention, the atrocious translation that got way worse in later chapters. Every sentence is ungrammatical, spelling errors, all names are misspelled and usually written multiple ways in the same sentence. Hollly, shiit, this novel is so dumb..

[collapse]
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
September 18, 2017
Status: c200
The premise of the story is ok, but the storytelling is just terrible. First, the timeline is all messed up. One chapter can say "six month later" and describe events that happen, and the next chapter starts at six month prior. Not only that, there is no indication when the events happens. It gets really confusing.

Second, the writing is all over the place. It is incoherent and confusing, especially in the first 50+ chapters. Bunch of different thoughts is often just jumbled together and is thrown at the reader. It... more>> gets a bit better later, but not by much. In addition to the bad storytelling and confusing chapters, the translation also have many problems, but that is really just an icing on the cake here.

Third, hateful MC. He is just a little naive child mentally. He is pretty dumb and does not even learn when sh*t happens to him. He is really classical japanese teen (typical novel or manga mc) with a bunch of complexes. There are no interesting qualities about him. He is really as average as it gets. He does not think things through and does not consider consequences of his actions at all. He is oblivious to what's going on around him. How's the story where the MC is just a stupid child is going to be good? He basically doesn't grow up at all and is still as naive when as at the beginning. Not only that, he is being babied by his followers! They hide stuff from him because it's complicated and might change the way he sees things and thinks.

Also, the story gets often quite boring. There are many pointless chapters that just dedicated to things like discussion about inventory of the store and the items in stock or how one guy is peeping at the MC magically and what he is thinking. Interesting events in the story are often just skipped and overlooked. Also the events are super stretched out with idiotic and pointless things in between. Basically terrible storytelling.

Those poor girls that follow him... I already see a tragic event happening and him realizing how he feels about them... The story has a tag "romance" but really there is none. There is some talk about s*x in the story, but zero romance. MC's followers develop feelings for him and it is shown, but only in occasional discussion. It really gets depressing eventually. MC has zero romance interest in anyone. It is very sad that at the chapter 200 there is so little character growth and MC is still a naive child. Also there are some changes to his character, it's not really much.

Spoiler

Huge plot in the story is how many people are afraid that MC may become derange and start murdering everyone. Looking at how unstable and stupid he is currently, there is actually a possibility that story might take that path. Also because his followers hide a lot of stuff from him, it also might be a factor. Honestly, the more you read this, the more disappointing it becomes.

[collapse]
<<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Nigotta Hitomi no Lilianne
February 18, 2018
Status: c138
I really love this novel! I guess the reason why is because it has a well-established common sense that the author does not break. It is very realistic in that regard. The novel is written from the perspective of a baby. The guy from our world is reincarnated as a baby girl in a different world. The novel shows the grows of a baby, how she adjusts and learns. The reader is kept in the dark and knows only what the heroine knows. As such, we grow together with her... more>> as we learn more about the world around us. I think this is one of the main reason why this novel just makes you want to keep reading. I like that novel keeps thing realistic from biological and common sense point of view. As baby grows, she has to learn how to properly speak, walk, move. You can see all the appropriate stages of growth for a baby. Even she has experience from a previous life and high comprehension ability as a result, she is still bound by the laws of nature.

There is no drama or action since it's all about a baby. It is a cute story about the growth of a little girl. It is very slow paced with a lot of inner thoughts. It is surprising that such a slow paced novel is entertaining to such degree. It is pretty funny and you can't help to want to learn more about the world together with the heroine. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Kuishinbo Elf
February 23, 2018
Status: c46
This novel is painfully dissatisfying. Right from the start it appears to be drawn out slice of life and continues to be the same. Everything is so slow and nothing makes sense. MC is useless and weak, does not have personality and just gets dragged around by everyone. She has this amazing healing ability that she does nothing interesting with, but her overall uselessness just negates even that... She does not have brains, talent for martial arts, magic, or even basic physical strength. On top of this whole thing, this... more>> novel does not have fluff, cute stuff or anything of the sort. Not that much comedy either and absolutely zero adventure so far. And the writing after chapter 20 or so just became incoherent rumbling. It's like the author is the same age as the MC in the novel (5 y.o.). I can't find the reason to read this...

Spoiler

So she meets the ghost of the noble girl adventurer who was betrayed, raped and killed. MC inherits all her knowledge and memories, including magic and martial arts. But apparently, for some reason, she still has to go to school? She doesn't know a lot of common sense, like what is a healer association. Why doesn't she have a theory about magic and weapons already? Why can't she do stuff that the nobel girl could?

And finally.... When that peach-senpai appeared... I stopped reading this sh*t novel...

[collapse]
<<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Genjitsushugi Yuusha no Oukoku Saikenki
July 2, 2018
Status: v6 epilogue
This novel is not terrible, the writing is overall ok and at least the sentences are coherent, unlike so many other novels. However, this novel made me cringe so much, I just can't give this a good rating. Overal I would say this novel just does not have anything standing out for it. It is an average novel with one or two good moments.

One of the biggest problems I have with this novel is that it treats the reader like an idiot. There are so many explanations, and everything is... more>> explained at least twice if not more. Every thought MC has is not his own but is taken from some philosophy text. Every thought of MC is explained in terms of logic, then in terms of our world example, then using the quote of a philosophy book and then the quote is explained once or twice. Some chapters consist of nothing but explanations with backstories and histories. But those histories are not even correct some of the time, in a sense that they don't really apply to the situation in a way the author tries to present. It is really stupid how MC explains things to people of the other world using the language of our world. It is clear that explanations are for the reader and not for the characters. And people are just "I didn't get it, but whatever, this stuff usually works out, so I will just go along with it". There is also reintroduction of characters every darn chapter and every darn volume. No, I will not forget the goddamn main character and his wives between chapters. It feels like the author just needed to fill in the space because he couldn't come up with enough story to fill the volume.

The second big problem is MC himself. It might seem like he is smart, but if you think about it, MC is actually quite dumb and a coward. For one, as I said he doesn't have his own thoughts and justifications, he always refers to the history and philosophy of the Earth. He makes decisions when it involves other people, but when it's about him, he is super indecisive and has to ask someone else to make a decision for him. The thing that ticked me off the most is when he said to the princess: "I don't want to have s*x with you right now because I don't think I can support and care for you and a baby properly." You are a goddamn king of a country and you can't care for your wife and kid? Are you kidding me? I took him 6 whole months to just kiss the princess. And six more months to kiss the second chick. By the way things are going, they will get married when they are sixty. Well, he did eventually start sleeping with the princess after a year of a platonic relationship.

Spoiler

The biggest flaw in this novel can be seen in volume 6. So he gets an invitation to the dragon country to make a contract with a dragon (which basically means marriage to a dragon). He tells it to everyone and leaves to do just that. Then, after he gets to dragon country and meets the dragon he goes full retard. "Can I bring he back without the contract?", "Dragon, I have four fiances and I am not from your country, are you OK with me?", "I need to go ask permission to make a contract from everyone". Then he goes back with the dragon and basically says: this is the dragon, will you let me make a contract? I am not in love with her, but I am sure I will fall for her eventually.

Another stupid thing is that it is portrayed that he wants this dragon because she generates electricity. He says she is going to be so useful because of that. But it is super easy to make a basic manual power generator. Why the hell do you need a dragon to generate electricity? You can make basic power generator and even basic capacitors super easy. He also has scientists who can help him make those. It just doesn't make sense. The author just artificially inflates the value of the dragon chick to make her seem more important than she is.

And volume 5 is just an embarrassment and should not exist. It is goddamn awful and shows MC in the worst way.

[collapse]

MC also doesn't spend any time with his fiances in a romantic way. They have like one date per month or even less. You would think in a slice of life novel like this they would build the relationship a bit better, but no. The girls just fall in love with MC because plot. Not only that, they are basically just holding hands all the time. They were engage for a year and they are only holding hands sometimes. What the hell is this? Everyone in the castle tells them directly "just start making babies already!". It's like the author is aware that he is being stupid, but he insists on it anyway

Speaking of plot. The author tries to have this intrigue and mystery, but it is so transparent, that pretty much everything is obvious. You can predict how this novel will turn out very early and very easy. There is only one thing in this novel was not obvious, but turned out to be not that interesting, is the former king's explanation. Everything else just falls in place they way you expect in the best way for MC. Overall the novel is just smooth sailing for MC without any good or interesting points. He just does not stand out in any way. I mean usually the novel would have some nice moments that makes you want more. There is nothing of the sort here. No epic victories, no major plot twists, no hardships. The biggest problem MC faces is the large amount of paperwork. There is a lot of missing potential in the story. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
I Alone Level-Up
May 16, 2019
Status: Completed
The novel and all characters are just dull... the MC is braindead, all other characters are also stupid, the plot is dull, everything about this novel is dull. MC is just this apathetic character that even after reading the whole novel I can't really tell what kind of person he is. The only thing we know about him is that he cares about his family. His behavior is erratic and just random, he goes against things we know will happen only to change his mind later on and do the... more>> things we know must happen. And that ending... bleh..

The best way to describe this novel is: grind, grind, grind and some more grind. He just goes to dungeons and defeats monsters that come out of the dungeons in between. After you are done reading, you can't even pinpoint anything that was interesting or fun about this novel.

Don't read this novel, it will spoil your mood. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
The Novel’s Extra
March 16, 2019
Status: c256
I am a bit torn about this novel. It starts off pretty well and is somewhat unique in the way MC is handled. However, after about 100 chapters it all goes to sh*t. The killing of a certain girl's brother just ruined the novel for me. Despite knowing how things are going MC chooses the worst possible way to handle things. And goddamn, how much torment he put on that poor girl. She actually got a mental illness because of him and had to take pills. The thing that MC... more>> only considers is how his actions will influence the overall plot of his original story, and he does not take into account how the people he interacts with will be influenced by him. This is also the biggest plot hole in the novel, which will lead to a tragedy if it happens how MC wants. In his view, this world is not real and none of the people are real, so he does not give a damn about them as people and only as characters. Also, it somewhat changes later.

Now, suppose he returns to his world in the end, and the original owner of the body is put back. What the hell is going to happen to all relationships that he built? He is clearly a different person and won't remember what happened. In addition, all the enemies MC made still will be there. He basically will ruin everyone's lives after he is back.

Of course, this only is true if the world is an actual world and not some sort of hallucination of his. But we have no reason to think that this is not a real world. Regardless if this world is real or not, if MC wanted to minimize his influence, he should've done things way differently than what he does. He should've been working stealthily behind the scenes and helping people from the shadows. But he becomes world famous and basically leading people in war. He pretty much became the actual MC of his story and the original MC went into the background. Not to mention that he stole almost the whole harem from the original MC.

And one of the biggest issues I have with this novel is that for more than 100 chapters it's pretty much a circus. Every single thing MC does is misunderstood as something else. Helping the girl? He must be in love. Had an argument with a girl? They must be a couple. The whole story is built upon a series of misunderstandings about him.

Overall the story was pretty good until the killing brother part. After that the quality deteriorates, the author starts using more cheap tricks to keep the interest. For example frequent switches of the scenes. You read an interesting scene, it buildup, and then in the most interesting part, the author switches to a different scene. This kind of thing keeps happening more often. Also, the same scene repeated 3-4 times from multiple points of view. This is also getting repeated more often.

Do I recommend this novel? I don't know. The most important part now is how it's going to end. If the author ties things up in a decent way, the novel will be fine. However, if the ending is going to be as stupid as the current arcs, the novel is going to be sh*t. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Return of the Former Hero
February 21, 2018
Status: c70
I am not quite sure about the target audience for this novel. First of all, it is a dumb comedy which is not that funny unless you are maybe 10? The MC just wants girls. He is having delusions and fantasies every minute of every day about every girl he sees on the street. Everything else is just a mean to get girls. So it is a perverted comedy with cliche humor that is not funny.

Second, this is a pedo novel. I would like to know if the author was... more>> convicted of pedophilia. Or he is using this novel as means to release his fantasies, maybe? MC is actively having s*x with 9, 12, 13 and 14-year-olds. Yes, some of his harem is in single-digit age. The author is actually going out of his way to justify it. WTF?

As far as I can see, there is no plot. The novel is just empty with nothing but girls, girls, girls. Also, the writing overall is just poor. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
The Man Picked Up By the Gods (Reboot)
December 11, 2018
Status: v5
I've read a previous version of this, which is a pretty much identical story with small changes. I actually liked it at first, but this is really quite a tedious novel to read. I came to really dislike MC, who is your average japanese beta. There is too much focus on mundane stuff and food. MC just keeps on blabbering about all the details of what is going on with him and explain himself to others all the time. It always feels like he is looking for validation from others.... more>> He is also quite annoying with "being independent" thing going on.

Overall I hate the most is the stupid etiquette and dialogs where everyone tries to outpolite one another, fear of offending anyone, idiotic surprises at obvious things (e.g. MC didn't realize for a while that it is normal to have managers operate the store while the owner is away doing his own thing and is super surprised by that. Especially given that he lived until he was 30 in modern Japan, yea). In addition, this MC is so much beta that he doesn't even get to participate in most main events in the story. For example, the biggest monsters and largest events all happen without him and only much later in the novel he starts to somewhat participate in bigger events. And I don't actually mind slice of life novels, but slice of life doesn't mean it has to be about every darn little detail of every day. I guess if MC was not as annoying as this one, I would like the novel much more. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
The story is surprisingly not bad. I like the events and progression overall. What is bad in this novel are the characters.

MC is useless, spineless and stupid. As I keep reading it I am getting the impression that MC thinks the god sent him to another world to be a farmer until the world is destroyed. He keeps whining and whining how he wants to be a farmer and to live a peaceful life. He is a walking contradiction. He doesn't want to stand out, but he keeps doing flashy... more>> stuff, he got a cheat skill but can't fight. He can use magic because the spells are basically provided for him, but when he upgrades his physical talents, he is useless. His slave has the same level of physical skills and she is way stronger. He says he wants to keep stuff about him a secret and then blabs about it to everyone. I had the urge to punch the screen at least twice and flip the table at least three times because of how stupid and contradictory MC is. He is never proactive, he dreams of becoming a neet in another world as well and stuff always happens to him. If he was not forced to do stuff, he would just shut himself in the house and never leave!

Let's talk about romance for a bit. MC basically says he wants a harem right off the bet. Then, of course, he buys himself a cute girl slave who has a condition which he cures. Of course, she falls in love with him immediately. She started to actively go after him and invite him for the night. So what does he do? He is running around scared and screaming: "this is baaad, what do I do, she wants to get naked, aahhhh, this is sooo baaad". I mean, are you for real? Isn't that what you want? Now, he meets few other girls and they all suddenly fall in love with him for no apparent reason. He keeps running around scared and then suddenly he f**ks all of them and before you know it, they are all married. I think the time span in the novel was one month between him meeting everyone and then getting 4 wives. Moreover, when other girls confess to him too, he is also running around scared and screaming: "why is this happening, what's going on? why did she say she likes me? what did she mean? what do I do?" And that is from a guy who actually likes the other party as well and dreams about a harem. To illustrate just how bad the romance is here - tsundere! confessed!! first!!! and told him she is going to marry him and he has no right to refuse!!!

Overall all characters are one dimensional. There are no character development of any kind. Ther is a minimum backstory given to each one, and they stay exactly the same as when they were first introduced. That includes MC as well. All characters get one trait and that trait gets emphasized all the time.

Overall story progression... every arc volume is structured so you get about 60-70% of idiotic meaningless stuff and then during the last 30% of the volume something interesting would be happening. However, the aftermath would generally be described in the next volume. I do like the actual story, it would be way more interesting if not for the moronic MC and one-dimensional characters. Honestly, MC just makes the whole thing so much worse. He just does so much stupid sh*t that whaterver enjoyment you get from the novel gets negated.

Also, the writing is overall amateurish. There is a severe lack of emotion in the story. Even during the wedding and other moments that supposed to be emotional, it feels very dry. In addition, the translation is quite bad. The grammar is ok, and I can't say it is not english, but the actual translation is often incorrect. To be precise, this translator has a problem with verbs. The sentence that should be in the past tense is translated in the present tense. First person becomes third person, passive voice becomes active. The reverse is also true. Every chapter multiple times the meaning of the sentences would be reversed. I often have to pause and think of what is actually happening there. Not to mention, some of the sentences are really not english. I think about 5 cases were translated so poorly that it just a meaningless sequence of words. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
Ore no Isekai Shimai ga Jichou Shinai!
December 3, 2017
Status: v3c1
This novel is super dumb, the dialog is broken, the story is incoherent and the MC is the worst of it all. Why do you write reincarnation as a plot and make MCs mental age to be 30 and then make him act like a child? He is just sitting there and never does anything, he is so immature and can't make any decisions. When the story starts, it interesting and you wait how MC will make a nice comeback from the situation he is in, what will he do?... more>> He lives there for 10+ years and does nothing! The author tries to create a sense of mystery, but the plot is so obvious, it is not even funny. Everything that MC does is dumb and not thought through. It becomes quickly very clear that this novel will not become what you expect. I find myself wanting to skip chapters very fast. Part of it is probably bad storytelling, because there is a ton of events that happen. But the way everything is handled is dumb, MC is just weak in all aspects, he is indecisive and a coward. There is no way a 30 year old would act this way. I really can't read this novel because it has horrible storytelling and idiotic MC. Also all of the resolutions to the problems in this novel are stupid and don't make sense, along with the setting.

The way he is treated by his family is also the biggest bullsh*t ever. First of all, why is he not allowed to even learn how to read and write? Because he will become a threat because of it? How are they expect to use him for marriage, to another noble house nonetheless, if he is illiterate and knows sh*t? What's the point of even keeping him there? Just send him away to some remote forest and he will never even know and live a better life. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
The Legendary Moonlight Sculptor
August 5, 2017
Status: v42
The story is pretty average, but at times entertaining. What I don't like is that timeline sometimes is messed up and the author jumps from present to the future, but then goes back to the past. And not for something important, but for trivial stuff. He often uses these kind of tricks to gain more interest, but what it causes are situation like "wait, did I just missed a chapter? Why are you talking about this random thing?"

I also hate MC. He is super rotten and treats his friends like... more>> crap. They are also handing out with him just for benefits. He also seem to have split personality where he thinks one thing and does another.

Really, he does not change at all, there is no character growth here. It is sad, but majority characters that are close to MC (except for the gf) have flat personalities. Really, Geomchies are most interesting out of them....

What is also quite irritating is that the author seem to think that he has to write about the game every few paragraphs. He will switch to it in the middle of some interesting event and talk about random things, as long as it is in the game or about the game (like in the middle of a dialog). This discontinuity becomes quite irritating as you keep reading.

Spoiler

One of the biggest disappointments for me was how Seoyoon started to speak. She was exchanging notes with MC because she was too shy one moment and then in the next paragraph she was working in a restaurant talking to a bunch of strangers. WTF? Huge deal was made of how she was able to communicate only with him and then sudden jump to complete cure. Such a missed opportunity for a good chapter.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
The story is interesting enough, but overall the novel is quite shallow. The biggest problems I have are really two things: your expected pu**y of a protagonist and the pacing of the novel.

The protagonist is not the worst I've seen, he is actually a bit better than in other novels. However, his character is neither here, nor there. The author seems to want him to be the good guy, but he just leaves his classmates hanging while they are cursed. He also (so far) seems to be more selfish in... more>> self-centered then you would expect from the MC who is good. Basically, he acts as a tsundere who wants to look like a selfish egoistic person, but reluctantly helps others and behaves like a good guy because stuff happens near him and he has the chance to help. Well, and he doesn't touch a willing chick too. Basically what you expect from a japanese MC: can't touch a girl or something very bad will happen.

The novel's pacing is pissing me off, though. The author constantly switches from MC to some other boring character's POV and events. MC would be in the middle of a battle, and the author in the next chapter would switch to how few of his classmates in a different town were pickpocketed. At some point there were few consecutive chapters where the author switched every chapter - 1 chapter MC's battle, next chapter describes different town, next chapter MC, chapter after that something else. It's just so irritating. And lastly, the stupid. MC, in the beginning, had a chance to kill the king but did not. Now he keeps going and regrets it. However, he had many chances later to kill the king and the princess. Not to mention, with his skill he can just walk into the castle and kill them and no one would be able to do anything. Then, there is the problem of the whole class is cursed. He had an opportunity and several ways to remove the curse from everyone but did not. In addition, the setup that happened around that time was just dumb and was super obvious. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
sgrey rated it
The Portal of Wonderland
December 3, 2018
Status: Completed
Spoiler

Don't read it, you will be disappointed. This novel is not satisfying at all, especially the ending. It is ambiguous and retarded. MC throughout the novel never seems to get what he really wants, gets involved in someone else's plot and business and constantly has blocks that come out of nowhere. The plot armor is over 9000 in this novel: whenever there is trouble for MC that he cannot solve, there is always someone who ends up saving him by coincidence.

Let's talk about MC's motivation and romance. First, MC trains because he promised his mother to become strong. This is probably the dumbest reason I have ever seen. Just training to be strong for the sake of being strong is a better reason than this. Then, MC starts to chase after a girl who is way stronger and also doesn't give a damn about him. He wants to be strong so he could get her. All this while there is a second girl who is in love with him, cares for him and is near him and he ignores her all the way until after a third of the novel where she ends up in trouble because of him. So, he decides to be together with this girl that he realized to have feelings for all this time, and what happens? They got separated. Multiple times. Every time he finds her, they get separated over and over again. Eventually, she leaves for some higher realm and waits for him there for a f-ing 300 years!

Also, I honestly hate the whole thing with his summoned skeleton. It's just not handled well at all.

Each individual arc in the novel is kinda interesting and entertaining, but when you consider the overarching story, it's not good at all.

And from the ending you can't even f-ing tell if he does end up with the chick because it's ambiguous in this way. His whole goal was to be with the chick and the story doesn't f-ing tell if they end up being together.

[collapse]
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
While the novel is not translated, the manga is way ahead of this novel and it generated a lot of dislike from me. There are many isekai novels who say "xxx" (substitute character trait here) in another world. Yet all of them have the same personality, which is usually stupid, immature and without a common sense. This is exactly what we get here. Why the hell do you write about this old man in another world and then make him self-deprecating, dumb and immature moron?

... more>>
Spoiler

So he saves a waitress from an adventure who assaults her verbally, physically and s*xually. This adventurer tries to take revenge on this guy and hurts the waitress and her dad (wtf with that, really). MC thinks it's all his fault because he prevented the initial assault, but the criminal came back for more later while MC was not around. Who in the world thinks this way? After that MC f**king runs away from the village and starts living in a forest because he is afraid to cause trouble for others. I mean this guy seriously need psychological help asap.

Now, let's see this situation in more detail. Why didn't he send the guy to the guards? Do the law there allows for people to get assaulted for no reason? They put the attacker in prison later on, after he beat up the father and daughter. And the attacker... MC only knew this girl for like one day, and yet the attacker decided that he will take revenge against MC by hurting her??? Normal person will fill slightly bad, but they literally don't know each other. He might as well started to beat up random people in order to take his revenge.

[collapse]

So far this MC is really unlikable. I will see if he gets a bit better later, but I have no interest in a 40-year-old MC who behaves like a bullied teen, seriously, wtf is with Japanese novels... <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sgrey
This novel.... I have to say, I really hate and despise MC of this novel... He is a total sociopath.

The author of this novel is going for being stupid to the point of being funny. I gotta say that he succeeds. This is the most perverted novel I have seen. I would go as far as saying that it is more perverted than even porn. The whole comedy is tied around perverts and perverted jokes. I usually don't like this type of humor, but I have to admit that this... more>> novel did make me laugh eventually.

Don't expect anything from the harem and romance. There are no relationships like that at all. All women in the novel are there only for the sake of comedy and nothing else. At least until the very end, I don't see anything happening there.

Now, this MC. As I said, he is a sociopath. He runs around naked from the very beginning and asks women if he can grope them. Every single sentence he says is meant to be some sort of perverted joke or a pun. However most of the time the reason I laughed was the side characters and not MC.

Overall there is nothing here except perverted jokes, but for some reason, I did have fun reading it. I wanted to give this novel a lower rating originally, but here you go. Also, I have to say that MC is super OP, but I have no problem with it. And there is a story of sorts, you can call it "adventure, " where MC is going from place to place and does stuff, but it's mediocre.

Oh, and the latest translator is sh*t (angry angels translator). Starting chapter 78 it is hard to call it english.... <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 4