Report Review
72 Reviews


scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
June 13, 2016
Status: --
Great premise, really bland execution.

I REALLY wanted to like this, because I love mages and magic schools, and the premise is great. But unfortunately, everything excluding the premise is sub-par. The characters are bland, Leylin is not only boring but also lacks the superior intelligence and reasoning you'd expect from someone who was (supposedly) a scientist in his past life.

... more>>
Spoiler

Just as an example -- from the very start of the story we see Leylin being moronic and walking around eating plants so the AI can figure out what they do. What? Is this what a scientist would do? What happens when you eat poison? I actually assumed that maybe the AI would be able to control his body and eject any poison if he were to consume it but this isn't the case. He was just being an idiot.

[collapse]

The AI is also extremely inconsistent. There is no rhyme or reason to how long it takes for it to figure things out... it's really just down to when the author wants Leylin to be able to do something. I don't understand why it takes the AI so long to accomplish certain tasks when you compare those tasks to similar ones.

It could be because I've just caught up to a few great xianxias but I find the world boring and unrealistic with the occasional hint of something cool, but there's just not enough of it to keep me invested.

I really wish this was a better story, but I've given up on hoping the story will evolve into a world rich with interesting magic and compelling characters, rather than a selfish douchebag who is wholly dependent on an inconsistent AI and has deceived himself into believing he knows anything about the scientific method.

If you want to see a real scientist in a magic school, you're better off reading Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality. <<less
115 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
Sooo good, I'm loving this so far. The translation itself is excellent and we've got an interesting MC who's a decent person with an understandable, non-edgelord-y reason for wanting revenge. I like his approach to his new life (including planning to not hide his life pre-reincarnation) and I look forward to seeing how things pan out!
98 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
3 stars. I would've given this 5 stars if it developed a real plot after the intro chapters.

The premise is great but with like most JP reincarnation series the story is slowly losing momentum because the author clearly hasn't planned where to take it. The MC's just roaming around doing whatever. I may be overreacting due to my dislike of the JP faux slice-of-life trend, but I can safely say that this series -- despite having an awesome idea and good beginning -- is tripping a lot of red flags.

-... more>> No clear long-term goal for the MC
- No real antagonistic force to add tension to the story
- No real character depth or mystery, etc.
- Very vague world (though let me be fair and say it's not a boring world)

There are a few more but yeah. I'd say it's worth reading but brace yourself. Unless the author introduces a lot of new characters and creates some kind of conflict/objective this series is just going to turn into your typical boring faux adventure/slice-of-life story (which fails at being either because the characters aren't deep enough and the plot has zero narrative tension). <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
The New Gate
July 16, 2016
Status: --
An awesome world, an awesome set-up, so much potential for crowning moments of awesome... and all of it's wasted on an MC that wants everyone to think he's a scrub. Why introduce all of these awesome elements if you're just going to play them down? Why wave all this stuff in the face of fans of the genre?

At the end of the day the author can do whatever he wants, but I can't get over the waste of potential, so my opinion is that the execution of the story sucks.

World:... more>> 5
Premise: 5
Unfortunately, Execution (aka the complete waste of the above two) : 1 <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
Not bad but not amazing either. I think 3 stars (6/10) is a fair assessment.

Pros:

  • Level-headed, capable MC.
  • Characters have personalities.
Cons:

  • MC doesn't speak his mind nearly enough. Some problems could be avoided if he just spoke instead of berating people in his head.
  • Dwells a bit too much on the bits where nothing much is happening. For example, it might describe how they get from A to B instead of just starting at B, even though nothing meaningful happens during the walk. It can get a bit off-putting because the chapters are already so short.
I should admit that it's partly my fault for getting my hopes up after seeing the amazing art. The art is a league better than the story, which is OK.
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
Hone to Issho no Isekai Seikatsu
June 1, 2019
Status: c5
The translation is solid, but the story itself has an excruciatingly boring beginning. It does say "slow growth at start", but that's not the same thing as the story having nothing interesting going on.

I was expecting a smart MC who makes use of the pros of his three classes from his gaming years (think I'm a Villager, So What? or The Old Man Who Got a Second Round in Another World), but it's basically just the diary of a pushover who notes every little thing he does as he dodders... more>> about.

To put his weak personality into perspective, the MC closes his eyes and waits to die in a fight with a rabbit monster*. That was the cherry on the cake for me. Boring AND pathetic? No thanks. I pushed on a little further but I couldn't deal with any more of his bland narration and pulled out. It's the first time in a long time that I've bailed after just five chapters.

The opening of the story gives me the feeling that this isn't going to be very exciting even after the MC gets his abilities.

*In all fairness, he loses his old abilities upon getting his three new skills, but he's still very mentally weak. No ordinary person would give up that easily.

TL;DR: Unless the story takes a massive heel-face turn, this is a pass. Don't get taken in by the cover. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
I Never Run Out of Mana
October 15, 2016
Status: --
I'm really enjoying this so far. It's early in the story but we've got a likeable character who actually takes advantage of his abilities without needing to be dragged into the dungeons. It could just be the books I've been reading lately but I was really getting sick of MCs who don't fully utilise the pros of their cheat abilities. So I'm excited for this and really want to see where it's going.
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
Wu Dong Qian Kun
August 6, 2016
Status: c519
I’ve got really mixed feelings about this series.

In short, the story – despite having potential – is f*cking annoying. NOTHING ever goes smoothly, to the point where it starts to get really infuriating.

Whenever Lin Dong finds a treasure, he doesn’t snatch it. Instead he stands around gawking at it like an idiot until people show up and try to seize it from him. It makes you rage. A normal MC would just dump it into their quankun pouch or interspacial ring straight away, but nope, not Lin Dong.

And every f*cking... more>> time Lin Dong is about to finish someone off, another enemy comes to the rescue. They save the first enemy so that enemy can come back to be a nuisance later. I can’t even begin to describe how irritating this is. If it happens once or twice? Cool. But over and over again? F*ck that. I was tempted to go back and count the number of times it’s happened. As of chapter 500, it has to have happened (no joke) over 10 times. I don’t know what the author must have been smoking to think this was a good idea.

Then there are the fights. Again, no joke, at least 60% of the story is meaningless fights. Reading this story is like watching a Pokémon trainer walking through tall grass... except whenever he’s about to catch a stupidly tanky Pokémon he’s beaten, another Pokémon shows up to slap the ball away.

This series gets a grudging 3 stars. 4 stars for the *underlying* plot, which is solid, minus one star for all the annoying sh*t the author constantly pulls. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
The Hidden Dungeon Only I Can Enter
April 10, 2017
Status: c8
So far the story has been really enjoyable and genuinely funny. I'm really fond of the MC, his family, and Emma... Emma for multiple reasons :P I'm not usually a fan of ecchi elements but I like the way the author uses it because none of it derails or slows down the plot. If you're anything like me then this is a nice mix of growth and enjoyable interactions... defo worth reading :)
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
Max Level Newbie
February 24, 2017
Status: c33
Vulcan is a great MC, but even though I love RPG stories I find it hard to enjoy this one...

I really enjoyed the first few chapters and some of Vulcan's later dungeon grinding, and maybe a few moments here and there, but man. Maybe it'll get more exciting further down the line but so far MLN is taking a lot of energy to keep going.

Like another reviewer said, it's not BAD but... I can't put my finger on it. It might be a mix of the events (which IMO are... more>> kinda meh so far) and the characters' personalities, which I don't find very interesting either... I can't think of any characters I look forward to seeing. It doesn't help that Asgard is, to me, a really unappealing place to explore, so I'm not excited about that either. Somehow Asgard -- or at least the city the start takes place in -- feels less like a living, breathing world and more like a vaguely sketched out outline with some random factions / nuisances who aren't very interesting.

Summary: Has promise and some decent bits here and there, but isn't exciting enough (so far). Might change later though. I'll keep going for now and maybe change this review if the story gets more compelling. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
Acquiring Talent in a Dungeon
May 6, 2017
Status: --
Enjoyable overall but the MC is a bit too selfish for my liking.

Basically, time freezes at midnight one day and a staircase appears in his apartment. He's told that he can go to bed and carry on with his life or enter a dungeon for rewards. From there it's pretty interesting, as the stat gains and abilities he gets by risking his butt in the dungeon are all things he can carry over to real life.

But. It's soon made clear that people can kill each other to steal gains, and... more>> things start getting a bit weird from there. It's still pretty enjoyable but the MC rapidly switches from a seemingly normal guy to an as*hole consumed with killing people for stats. He doesn't go crazy, but he becomes a bit too rude and ruthless IMO. Not in the cool xuanhuan way, but in a sort of mildly annoying, "That was a d*ck move. Did you REALLY need to do that?" sort of way where he's extremely standoffish in conversations and will make schemes to kill targets who aren't bad or dangerous to him. I can't help but not want that kind of MC to win.

But he's a good MC overall, mostly because he's a smart and capable guy who puts all his abilities to use. The story itself is also pretty compelling and doesn't slow down... there's always some level of tension. Worth taking a look at. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
Leveling Up And Becoming Undefeatable
February 28, 2017
Status: c16
Important mention: THE BIG NUMBER OF AWFUL 1-STAR REVIEWS FROM BEFORE 2017 ARE OBSOLETE!

A different translator has taken over the series -- so the posts about desperately needing editing (etc.) don't count anymore (those are the source of many of of the 1 star reviews. They're from back from when the series was near-incomprehensible and was called "Leveling Up Is Getting Me Undefeatable", which should give you an idea of what the problem was ;) Not that I mean to speak ill of on the old translator... In all actuality... more>> I'm grateful that they took their own free time and used it to provide the early chapters :)... but I digress!).

It's a great series and I'm really enjoying how decisive the MC is... he knows how to hold his rage in in order to get some really satisfying revenge. It's nice to see an MC who isn't stubborn to the point where he pointlessly offends people he (logically) doesn't have the power to survive against, and he doesn't forget the grudges he owes people :P

The only thing I'm not sure I'm a fan of is how the abilities he earns (upon leveling to certain intervals) are from other series (personal pet peeve -- I'm USUALLY not a fan of pop culture references, or similar real-world elements, because I feel it dates a series for future readers) but it's done in a way that doesn't make the story unappealing, so it's more of a mention than a complaint.

In any case, the story itself so far is pretty compelling and definitely worth taking a look at, especially if you're a fan of MCs quickly growing strong enough to dish out some sweet, sweet retribution. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
Emperor of The Cosmos
December 22, 2016
Status: --
Honestly, I'm kind of disappointed.

Okay, PRETTY disappointed.

While the story IS interesting, it's nothing like what I was hoping it would be. I was expecting a world full of the mildly strong ~ godlike cultivators we see in most xuanhuan. I wanted to see towering sects and Saints or Immortals on distant worlds or wreaking havoc with/against futuristic technology. Maybe something like ISSTH or Desolate Era, but brought into an age where science is blended with the mystical elements of xuanhuan.

... more>> But that's not what this story is.

It tries to be spiritual and scientific at the same time, but it falls flat IMO. The re's all sorts of BS about brainwaves and strengthening the spirit (which I thought was cool at first, but now dislike, because cultivation is very unclear -- the stuff people can do at varying levels of life force is also very inconsistent in terms of tonnes/running speed). The martial arts are BORING, with cool names for half-assed moves like dislocating bones to strike further. I've also got mixed feelings about the cultivation resources. Some are OK while others are just stupid... mammoth DNA isn't magical. A mammoth's muscle fibres aren't supernaturally strong, so it doesn't make sense that their DNA would give a cultivator monstrous strength. This would only have been believable if the DNA came from some genuinely mystical species.

It's stuff like this that just takes you out of the story. And a few other things... for example, it makes ZERO sense that a blatantly criminal city would be able to exist on a civilised planet during the galactic era, where police can co-operate across planets. First of all, nobody would realistically overlook a city like that, or even allow people to come and go as they please. Secondly, a whole host of police from off-planet would descend to purge the city, rather than allowing it to remain. And thirdly, NO BUSINESS LIKE THAT COULD POSSIBLY WORK. If getting r*ped and murdered is practically guaranteed, nobody is going to go anywhere near that city. Even real life crime syndicates will ensure the safe coming and going of their "customers", because otherwise their business would die.

This supposed future just doesn't work on so many levels.

On the other hand, if you really want to see a futuristic cultivator world and don't mind a low power-level universe with no real cool abilities then by all means, check this out. It may sound like I hate this series but I don't... it is enjoyable, but I'd grade it somewhere between D and C+ compared to other xuanhuan, depending on the part of the story. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
Re:Monster
August 17, 2016
Status: --
One star is all this series deserves.

I love wish fulfilment. I love power fantasies. I also love the monster evolution element of this story... but I can't read stories with piece of sh*t MCs.

Rou is a complete piece of shit. None of his flimsy justifications would fly in real life, and the fact that he's in another world doesn't make this stuff OK (capturing someone and drugging them until they succumb to a desire to have s*x is still r*pe. I've read some comments trying to justify this plot point.... more>> Go on, try it in real life and see how that works out for you. As I said, Rou is a piece of shit).

Anyway, there are two major problems with this story:

1. Rou is extremely hard to relate to. He seems reasonable at the very beginning of the story but quickly throws away any semblance of decency. His reasoning is "hey, I'm an ogre now", completely disregarding the fact that he was born with human intellect and morals and ogres are not. So... you can use the retained memories of a human to completely overhaul the life of the goblin colony you were born into, but somehow you can't use your retained morality to exercise restraint? Anyone notice a huge hole in his reasoning there? I call bullshit.

and

2. TMI. The journal format is enjoyable, but the story quickly degenerates into an infodump of things nobody cares about. Rou doesn't have to cover every last thing he stumbles across and eats. It's boring and you'll find yourself skimming a lot.

I gave this a long (ish) review because this is actually one of the first LNs I ever read, and it got me into reading RPG LNs, but at the time only a few chapters were translated so I had no way of knowing this series would go downhill so fast.

TL;DR: This is a power fantasy that fails miserably because of a crappy MC. If his decisions don't make you angry, cool. If you need to like the MC and what they do to enjoy a story, stay away from this, you'll only be disappointed. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
It's true that we've seen this set-up a million times before (MC is summoned and then cast away because of his seemingly trashy skill, which soon turns out to be OP af) but people love it -- myself included -- which is why new authors keep trying their own spin on it and lots of us keep reading.

While this story isn't perfect, I'm glad to say that it's at least enjoyable. The biggest flaw this story has is that the MC tends to linger on a topic and keep repeating... more>> himself.

Story: His eyes were fixed on me. Upon me. At me. His eyes.
You: BRUH

Other than that it's fun to read if you enjoy seeing isekai MCs using their cheat to quickly get stronger, but if you don't then there's probably not enough subtance here to keep you happy. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
Stellar Transformation
July 20, 2016
Status: Completed
I'd give this a 5.5.

It doesn't SUCK but it's not exactly great either. I don't know why people recommend it so much. I highly suspect that it's because it's one of their first (if not their first) xianxias. Someone else described ST as "poorly executed" and I agree... it has some really good bits but the writing style and the MC's constant dumb decisions cause all sorts of problems. There's SO much CIS (Character Induced Stupidity).

... more>>
Spoiler

I'll illustrate my point: at one part during the story Qin Yu gets chased by a big shot (Emperor Mu) and BARELY escapes by the skin of his teeth. Just then, he sees an important underling of Emperor Mu who tried to kill him before. If he does anything, Emperor Mu will know where he is and come after him again. The smartest thing to do -- and in fact, what would solve ALL his problems -- would be to stay low key, hide inside Jiang Lan's realm and train until he's OP, then come back and safely crush all of his enemies, including Emperor Mu and co. There's really NO need for any danger. But does Qin Yu do this? NOPE! He throws awsay common sense, attacks this guy in the middle of a gathering of important people, makes a bunch of enemies he doesn't need to make, and then gets chased across planets in yet another life-or-death pursuit! Wtf??? Emperor Mu follows, and sends all his underlings ahead to watch every possible route of escape. WTF did Qin Yu think was going to happen? And absolutely none of thisw as necessary. It was just IET deciding he needed some kind of conflict so he made Qin Yu do something dumb.

There are also more CIS:

After everything he's done, why the f*ck does Uncle Lan give Jiang Fan the last two parts of the Exalted Celestial's Treasure? He murdered Uncle Lan's lover along with the other 8 Godkings. He made Zhou Xian or whatever his name is his son-in-law for his own ends. He tried to kill Qin Yu while shamelessly acting like it was a fair decision. He tried to kill Qin Yu and Jiang Li's unborn child. Instead he gets let off with no punishment and Uncle Lan even rewards him...? Retarded. It's obvious that IET just did this because he'd decided he was going to have someone else get the Exalted Celestial's treasure, but it's completely out of left field and Jiang Fan doesn't even go to Fog City to apologise.

There's also a bunch of other things:

- Qin Yu slaughters a school of cultivators because the son of the Patriarch or whatever killed his master and cut off his relative's arms. Qin Yu is an asshole.

Not to mention that Qin Yu regularly behaves like an as*hole by randomly being arrogant and often sidestepping questions people ask him for the sake of looking mysterious. There's event a point where

Hou Fei is about to die -- also don't get me started on that dumbass Hou Fei -- but Hou Fei is about to die and Qin Yu waits until Hou Fei, his supposed "brother", cries out for help before he saves him. Just... what? Are you that desperate to look cool? It's not cool, it's just irritating.

[collapse]

If I hadn't read Desolate Era I'd think IET is a crappy author, but he's clearly improved by leaps and bounds. I'm just starting Coiling Dragon and I'm a bit worried because I don't know if IET is going to make as many stupid plot decisions/Character Induced Stupidity moments as he does in ST... I'm just hoping it's like Desolate Era, which is a very good series.

So long story short, ST is really REALLY flawed and you'll see some serious dumbassery, but even so it has some good bits. Brace yourself! And don't listen to the endless gushing. It's definitely nowhere near 5 stars. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
I was expecting something MUCH better when I read the promising title. I figured the MC would be summoned to another world and would immediately defy the deity / people that snatched her from Earth.

It's a premise with a lot of potential, so I was wondering where the writer would go with it. Unfortunately this story is just a confusing and infuriating mess.

We're treated to endless paragraphs of the MC's fruitless rage and self-pity, and the other characters are bizarre, unreasonable caricatures. There might be more to why they are... more>> the way they are but after a few chapters it's hard to care.

The further you get, the clearer it becomes that this story isn't going to give you what you were expecting when you read the title / blurb.

Could have been so much better.

Now... the context isn't quite the same, but if you want to see someone venting their rage on the people who summoned them, check out Nidome No Yuusha. It's much closer to the spirit of the title than this story is. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
Dominating Sword Immortal
July 27, 2016
Status: --
I'm really enjoying this series... it's nice to read a series that isn't as slow build as most other xianxias, where you have to wait a hundred chapters for each realm advancement. He advances pretty quickly and I do enjoy how things are going. A big 5 stars for enjoyment :D
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
A very unrealistic MC (who kills people just because) running around in yet another example of a contrived VRMMO that could never work in real life.

SPOILERS FOR FIRST 3-4 CHAPTERS:

... more>>
Spoiler

What company would get away with letting players set the pain setting so high that you can die IRL?

How can one Lv. 1 player kill so many players so fast? Are the other players made of soap bubbles? And why are none of these guys using the weapons they spawned with? It's stupid how long it took players to react. There's no way that 100+ gamers are going to stand still (even if they didn't play the beta) until a random level one player in beginner gear manages to get kills in the doube digits. That would NEVER happen. Anyone who's played a MMO with mass PvP would understand the terror of player zergs, and would know that the MC would get mobbed and die in a split second.

What's even dumber is that not even the town guards can stop her. For real?? Why the f*ck are there even guards protecting the town if they can't stop a single, newly spawned player??? In any real MMO they would one-shot her. She wouldn't be able to decapitate one, either.

OK, so let's accept that this VRMMO is different. It's still just another example of how contrived it is. There's also a reason why games have safe zones. People just ragequit if everywhere is a PK zone, unless the game's main feature is whole-world PK -- in which case every player would spawn ready to fight.

Also, how does she know how to use camouflage or any of her other skills when she immediately killed the guy that was supposed to explain it to her? It just goes on and on.

[collapse]

I think people are partial to the story because it's a fresh and interesting perspective (sort of like when you save the game in Skyrim and then go on a killing/looting spree to see what you can pull off). It's definitely not worth five stars, though. And personally, I really dislike the MC, not just because she's basically a cartoon but because of [minor spoiler for chapter 1] that breaking someone's teeth thing. That pissed me off and made me want to see someone smash her teeth in >:@ <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
scribbledoutname
scribbledoutname rated it
Dungeon Defense
September 23, 2016
Status: --
A disappointing read.

Someone described it quite well: after reading this, you feel cheated.

First of all, the story starts out with a dungeon management system with tonnes of potential. Except this is dropped almost instantly after the first conflict in favour of some friendship rating BS (the LEAST interesting of the abilities he could choose. He supposedly picks this because it lets him read minds, but it's useless when he can't even see what his enemies/acquaintances are thinking. Only friends. He may as well have picked something that would stop him... more>> being just an ant tier threat).

The MC is witty and ruthless, but he's also humane -- he does what he has to do to survive but also shows that he has a bottom line. Except, he suddenly does a heel-face turn in the second volume and becomes a heartless mass murderer.

The MC is meant to be a genius... except he suddenly becomes a spineless moron who can't make decisions for himself and starts trying things out to please his underling, Lapis.

At this point, you quickly come to realise that the MC thinks he's far, far smarter than he really is: a lot of his seemingly genius methods of dealing with situations rely heavily on luck and the stupidity/baseless trust/naivette of the other parties involved. If they had common sense, the MC would be dead several times over.

The story just contains a lot of trash talk and bragging from the MC as he takes credit for luck and makes decisions that would be common sense for anyone else with his cheat knowledge.

That said, it's enjoyable at times... but disappointing nonetheless. If I could go back in time I'd tell myself to stop at the first volume and treat it as a one shot. I'm craving a true dungeon management story now, so I'm going to go find one of those to read. It'll be 100x more interesting... <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 4