Report Review
10 Reviews


sal880612m
sal880612m rated it
Other World’s Monster Breeder
April 17, 2016
Status: c32
As of c32 this is neither awful nor amazing. It's just standard.

Like people have been saying it's is something like a mix of Konosuba and Pokemon but one thing they haven't included is that there are elements of DQM in it as well and since DQM > Pokemon it seems a shame it's not mentioned somewhere.

As to what I would consider it's biggest drawback, that would be the harem and the OP harem seeking protagonist. If you don't like either of those, this novel will be a waste... more>> of your time. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sal880612m
sal880612m rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
March 13, 2017
Status: c100
This novel has an interesting concept, in fact there are several interesting concepts in the story. However, all of them fail to deliver on any of the potential they have.

The idea that he is the only one left behind, only crystallizes into the main character becoming/viewing himself as a super loner and being completely overpowered. The fact he can't use magic is entirely irrelevant because he's so powerful he overpowers even the most powerful magic users. This novel cycles through roughly three or four plot arcs repeatedly which can... more>> be roughly described as Main Character Curbstomps Small Fry Monsters, Main Character Fights a Supposedly Strong Monster Only to Come Out Completely Unscathed, Main Character Upgrades his Gear, Heaven Screws Up Again to Provide the Main Character Something to Do. There may be the occasional moment of Main Character is Oblivious to Female Characters Interest in him thrown in there for good measure. I know some of you are probably thinking, "Well, isn't that common in the genre?" and you're right, but this is the single worst example of it I have come across.

This is made worse by the author constantly using cliche plot developments, and going out of his way to specifically shine a light on the fact that not only is he doing so but that it should be expected. As if pointing it out someone made it better.

A more appropriate title for this work would be Everyone Else is Irrelevant.

If all you want to read is a story about an loner who becomes all powerful and repeats the cycles I mentioned earlier there is a chance, only a chance, mind you, that you'll enjoy this, otherwise pass on it. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sal880612m
sal880612m rated it
Game Market 1983
June 5, 2016
Status: c2 part4
This novel is something of a time-travel/restart novel, but instead of fixing problems in the characters original life it is focusing on fixing problems within the game industry. While the chapters have been broken into parts they are of a decent enough length that it's okay, and the story has thus far read very fluidly. Like has been mentioned it shares some similarity with I'm Really a Superstar, except where IRAS has a strong focus on humor, Game Market 1983 has up to c2pt4 taken a more serious tone but... more>> it's still early to make a definitive call. At this juncture I really want to give the story about a four and a half but that isn't possible, so I rounded up. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sal880612m
sal880612m rated it
The Devil’s Cage
June 20, 2016
Status: c14
While this is a VRMMORPG type novel, at this point, it has used a more modern setting. The details of what is going on haven't completely unfolded, and there is potential for some big changes as the MC is still in the tutorial stages. A lot of the world, both in game and out, has yet to be revealed so it's hard to make a judgement.

At this juncture the in game setting reminds me of IET's Swallowed Star, but remains more grounded in present day and reality. That is to... more>> say, people are't flying around, guns are still considered deadly, and have yet to encounter mutated beasts. Just people doing bad things, at least that is my understanding at this point. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sal880612m
sal880612m rated it
Virtual World: Peerless White Emperor
September 15, 2017
Status: c182
This doesn't honestly deserve a five, but it also doesn't deserve a four. It shares a lot of similar points with some other titles, but is on the whole a much more enjoyable read. The three main male characters are... stupid... well maybe that isn't the exact right word as there are times they are incredibly competent. Maybe a better way to put it would be they march to the beat of their own drummer, and that drummer is clearing playing something different from the one the rest of the... more>> world is marching to.

Thing of importance to note:

    • This is not by the author of Zhan Long despite the fact that Zhan Long's author has several Virtual World titles.
    • This novel isn't a one man show. If you've read something like The Rebirth of the Thief who Roamed the World, Shura's Wrath or Zhan Long where the MC is often racing out way ahead of his allies, the same isn't happening here, so you actually spend a lot of time with the other characters in the novel.
    • As a result of point two, there is no need for the MC to be capable of and good at absolutely everything. The author has made the character extremely versatile in combat but has limited him outside of it, making him poor or just outright bad at some things.
    • This isn't a quick paced story. As of this review the cast has yet to leave the novice village.
    • My rating would be around 4.25-4.5 if I could give it that and that rating is less a rating compared to every other novel and more in comparison to other VRMMORPG novels. It would be around 4.0 against every other novel.
<<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sal880612m
sal880612m rated it
The Nine Cauldrons
June 8, 2016
Status: c137
This is a fairly typical IET story, if you like his other works there is a good chance you will like this one too.

The one thing I do have to say is more in reply to riida's review. CoCayn seems to share a similar sentiment with me, but the position of riida's review has moved since then.

The entire first book was not wasted, and the MC in no way betrayed himself after he reincarnated. The entire first book wasn't about how badass of an assassin the MC was, it... more>> was about how strongly he valued his family. Going so far as to die in obscurity to protect the only family he had left. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sal880612m
sal880612m rated it
ReBirth ~ From the Upper World to the Lower World
November 10, 2016
Status: c18
This novel is a fairly light game-elements type novel at this point.

I have several issues with the novel in it's current state.

There are some story issues that stood out as being particular unlikely or just plain dumb wish fulfillment.
... more>>
Spoiler

The first female character we meet is a slave who has her original owner die in a monster attack and becomes the property of the MC along with another slave. Fairly standard but when they reach the nearest city he gives both the option to be released from slavery and she chooses to stay a slave. Maybe it could be played up as a result of having no where to go and not being able to provide for herself but in the translation that is barely touched on. Never mind the fact that the MC is nice enough to pay for them to get out of slavery, but having a relationship and that pursuing a relationship other than master and slave could probably work she still chooses to be a slave.

[collapse]

Outside of the story, I have issues with the authors/translators choices. I haven't seen the raws but apparently the author revamped the status system he was using in the novels. I'm not sure if it's him that didn't go back and update the earlier chapters or if it is the translators that didn't. The end result is you get one system for some chapters another for later chapters before going back to the old system and if the translation continues it will once again switch to the new system. As I said I don't know if the raws are available for both systems for the early chapters or if the author didn't rewrite, but the switching of the system and lack of re-translation/proper updating of the early chapters was a big part of the reason I stopped at 18. The translation quality in terms of readability seemed to be decent but the story itself uses fairly simple language. I can't comment on accuracy, I don't have those skills. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sal880612m
sal880612m rated it
Awakening
April 17, 2016
Status: --
Awakening is an entertaining read as of c42.

If I were to hold something against the story at this point it would be two things. The characters aren't amazing so far, they are decently executed but fairly flat despite clearly having their own backstories. It remains to be seen if the author will do anything interesting with them or if they do whether what they do will be worth reading. Aside from that there are times when I go to read the chapter and have to check on the previous one... more>> because I'm not positive I'm reading the same story. I guess I would call that jarring or poor transitions. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sal880612m
sal880612m rated it
Monster Factory
April 20, 2017
Status: c105
One of the biggest reasons I am writing this review is because I decided to read it after several people brought up that it isn't that bad. And they are right. It's not amazing, being completely honest it doesn't even necessarily deserve the four stars I gave it, but it's fairly solid, and I'm sure that it's gotten more hate than it deserves from the original cover art alone.

Probably the closest comparison I could make to another work on NU would be something like Very Pure and Ambiguous: The... more>> Sequel. Other fairly reasonable comparisons would be I'm Really a Superstar and Game Market 1983, though only in terms of story premise (MC recieves a cheat power related to a specific industry). In terms of execution, I would say it's more steady than VPnA because VPnA jumps all over the place with the MCs powers and where he gets his tech, while in Monster Factory has up to this point kept to it's initial premise.

So while on the whole Monster Factory isn't amazing, it's solid enough to enjoy if you like stories with a similar premise. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
sal880612m
sal880612m rated it
Starchild Escapes Arranged Marriage
August 28, 2017
Status: c18
I don't honestly know how far I'll get into this story. It's got a novel concept and for the most part it's decent enough but it goes on and on about the same things.

I mean the premise itself is innovative, and most other aspects of the story are up to par, however, since it keeps repeating things I just might drop it.

So yeah if you don't mind how the author keeps reiterating things, this is at the very least an above average story. On the other hand because it gets... more>> kind of annoying who knows how long I'll be able to put up with it.

Get the idea? Or do I need to repeat myself, just to be sure.

TLDR; Okay premise, annoying execution. Repetitive, but unique-ish start. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report