Report Review
11 Reviews


saekicchi
saekicchi rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
July 23, 2016
Status: c254
This is such a heartwarming and entertaining story. Really slow-paced since the story starts from grade school. Major developments rarely happen but if they do, they're really shocking/satisfying/endearing. It's mostly focused on friendships and as for romance,

... more>>
Spoiler

No clear pairing for Reika and Wakaba (game Heroine) yet. In these kinds of stories, one would expect it to be Enjou/Reika but so far, I'm afraid this story is leaning towards Masaya/Reika (or maybe that's just me?) since they have so many (typical shoujo manga) moments together. I've watched a lot of romance stories so I know that it's very, very easy for the author to go down the Masaya/Reika route. Masaya/Wakaba is not developing either and guys who use bridges in romance usually ends up with the bridge (Reika). With how the story's developing so far, I think that I won't be opposed to it.

[collapse]

Which is why I love the author's writing style and how the plot is being developed. There are so many possible endings but with the current flow of the story, I think it would be an acceptable ending no matter what route the author chooses.

Definitely worth reading! Let us join Reika-sama as she establishes her religion! <<less
49 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
saekicchi
saekicchi rated it
Dominion’s End
October 4, 2016
Status: v2c5
Yu Wo has always been one of my favorite Chinese authors. Dominion's End is just like her other works; usually comedic but has its own moments of drama. Yu Wo did not back away from delving into the protagonist's identity crisis. The protagonist's struggle to determine whether she is Jiang Shuyu with a ten-year long dream or Guan Weijun who reincarnated into Jiang Shuyu's body is believable. The world-building and action scenes was also well-written. The comedy is gold but when it goes into serious dramatic scenes, it will really... more>> move you.

The only disappointing part about this novel is that it updates monthly. Each chapter is really long, but I recommend you read it by volume if you don't want to wait for releases. <<less
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
saekicchi
saekicchi rated it
The Former Hero Wants To Lead An Ordinary Life
October 17, 2016
Status: c57
This is one of the unique reincarnation stories, by that I meant it's a "fantasy world-->modern world" reincarnation novel rather than the opposite.

We've got an unreliable narrator who introduces himself as the Hero and a Demon King who declares that the MC is his subordinate Alois. The Hero is your typical protagonist with a dark past----a commoner, sold by his parents to a slave merchant and later ascended to a high position after being chosen by the Holy Sword.

The plot is basically Bokura no Kiseki (BL version). The Grade School... more>> Arc is more of an introductory arc and the main plot starts at the High School Arc. All of the past life's major players (Hero party + Demon King party + other important people) gather in an academy island where "the key to revive the Demon King is found". The focus is more on the mystery behind the Hero-Demon King final battle and the reason why they were reincarnated, rather than the romance (though there are a lot of this, too).

It's really hilarious but it has its own moments of drama that will pull your heartstrings. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
saekicchi
saekicchi rated it
Mob… Sore mo Waki Mob no Hazu Nan Desu Kedo!?
January 1, 2017
Status: c90
The protagonist is the typical dense overpowered (reverse?) harem master. So many men, so little time~

He's really adorable in his denseness though and he makes up for it in his wild but amusing thought patterns.

In his past life, he learned most of his "wife" skills as a consequence of being influenced by his mother and sisters. He reincarnates into world that's a weird mix between Middle Ages and one of Japan's historical eras. This is due to the fact that the world is a setting for a shoujo manga so... more>> the shoujo manga author made it very easy for Japanese readers to comprehend the world. There is a lot of world building and since protagonist has a unique constitution and method of using magic, there will be several info dump.

The protagonist reincarnates as a supporting mob fated to die and so he spends his life evading this outcome. He meets a lot of people (mainly men, or rather, they're all men) and spreads his influence in each encounter.

It tends to be a bit draggy, since there are many reaction chapters (modern knowledge, banzai!) but it's tolerable enough. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
saekicchi
saekicchi rated it
I Was Reincarnated
October 17, 2016
Status: c20
The protagonist is your typical lazy MC who was quite popular in his school despite his delinquent status. He once threw a student off the second floor for bullying his best friend (who also happened to be his f**k buddy).
The mystery behind MC's death

... more>>
Spoiler

stabbed to death by his bff/f**kbuddy-turned-yandere, which MC accepted because "to be killed by him (bff) means he's so crazy in-love with MC that he'd prefer MC died instead of others snatching him away"

[collapse]

was sufficiently explained, which is surprising, because I thought the author will write it off as a fateful coincidence.

Now in a different world, MC reincarnates as a Demon God. Some circumstances lead him into taking two beastmen and some slaves to his castle. Thus, their fluffy daily life begins~

This story has a nice set up and a good plot however further into the story, the uke becomes one of those damsels-in-distress which I hated. He's a beastman with strong combat abilities but he just cry and hide behind the seme. I stopped at the point where the main plot is starting, I admit. Maybe I'll read this again someday.

Edit: Dropped. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
saekicchi
saekicchi rated it
Third Prince Elmer
October 4, 2016
Status: v5c9
I translated this for the fluff and cute scenes. My review might be biased, but I don't regret it even if some are saying that the author's dropped it because it's trash. As a novel under the Slice of Life category, I think it's really good.

Please don't expect an war-freak/killing machine with wikipedia-level intelligence out of a normal, bed-ridden-and-underwent-painful-operations-and-untested-drugs, sick teenager from the modern society who was raised by his parents with morals and didn't even finish second year high school. If this said person reincarnated into a child trapped... more>> in a small room with people who only see him as a "target", then I get why he did the things he did.

His actions as a baby may be deemed illogical by some people, but he was never familiar with babies and the right reactions for their level. When do they start to talk/walk? When do they stop peeing their sheets? A teenage boy won't automatically know these things just because he had a little brother who's actually close to him in age. That would mean he was also a kid when his brother was a kid.

There are a lot of things I won't go into, but I hope you give this a chance and view it as a "heartwarming, fluffy, slice-of-life adventure in a fantasy world". It's not about a quest for world domination.

This story might not be the best, but I think it's not worth one-star at least. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
saekicchi
saekicchi rated it
Dungeon Defense
September 27, 2016
Status: v2 afterword
First volume was amazing, however I feel cheated after reading volume two. The protagonist's personality shift came out of nowhere. I kept reading until the end of Volume 2 to see where he's coming from, but using love as an excuse when there's not even enough development to lead there left me disappointed. I expected Dantalian wouldn't change his principles from such a shallow thing (I think it's shallow because they only ever had physical relationship, not enough emotional developments) or even if he did, I expected it to be... more>> more of a tragic/eye-opener moment wherein he'll realize where his dad was coming from. I expected a lot, I guess. It's so rare to come across good novels that I unconsciously projected all my expectations and only ended up disappointed when they did not happen.

I have nothing against anti-heros and I could've kept reading as long as it's worth it but I couldn't help myself from dropping this.

It lost its charm from the first volume. : (I would recommend you read it, but not the second volume onwards. It's saddening to see a story with so much potential be ruined like that. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
saekicchi
saekicchi rated it
Dare ga Otome Geemu Dato Itta!
July 5, 2017
Status: Completed
Although the plot devices used are cliche, the execution is good. There are no dumb characters which otome game authors tend to do regarding the game heroine. Everyone's motivations are understandable. There were some 'huh???' moment about the magic system but it works, I guess.
Spoiler

I mean we got to see AttendantxTeacher and a voyeur shota MC XD

[collapse]
The drama wasn't pointlessly prolonged so good job on that part, too.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
saekicchi
saekicchi rated it
Stunning Edge
October 4, 2016
Status: c55
The story is interesting but with how lucky the MC is and how she always win against opponents 100x her strength, it just turned out to be your typical xianxia story. There is no real struggle that would lead to character development and the developments are too fast. I would recommend you read it if you like strong female MC, but I wouldn't guarantee you won't lose interest,
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
saekicchi
saekicchi rated it
The Magician Wants Normality
October 4, 2016
Status: v1c8
I really don't understand the translations and texts don't flow right. It would be a shame if the story is good but butchered by the translator. I haven't tried reading the raws, but with how the translations don't inspire interest, I don't think I ever will.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
saekicchi
saekicchi rated it
War Prisoner
July 5, 2017
Status: Completed
Su Yi is a General captured by the enemy, hence the title. Su Yi himself was just thrust into the role "General" and their country was falling due to their stupid ruler. Of course, the typical prisoner torture and such happens. Frankly, I liked the extra stories than the main one. Too much angst could have been resolved by proper communication. SuSu goes through so much for things he never deserved. But I still liked the story because it was one of the better ones in this genre.

This was one... more>> of the earliest CN novel I read and I read Xing Bao Er's novels first so I was kind of desensitized to the blatant emotional manipulation and physical abuse back when I read this, but still -2 stars. The male lead did grovel so there's that too. And +1 star for the adorable son Shuo. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report