Report Review
145 Reviews


rhianirory
rhianirory
The Rotten Girl
March 1, 2018
Status: c2.1
Why would she would have that hidden file on her work computer???

Makes no sense to me.

And why would it be there if she was so ashamed of liking BL that blackmail is even a possibility?

... more>> Do Chinese people really view fujoshi as "freaks?" but.... there are a ton of fujoshi in China. I see them all the time on YT at BL series/ movie fan-meetings and book signings and the like. none of them seem very ashamed.

So many questions and no answers. no humor yet, either, despite the summery saying the story would be hilarious. guess I'll have to let the chapters build up and then give it another try later (off to find something that actually makes me laugh). <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
Hero? No, I’m an Ordinary Citizen (Monster)
November 1, 2018
Status: c10
it gets an extra star for not being a harem. I don't have the problem with OP characters but after six or seven lifetimes, the guy still acts like an inexperienced fifteen year old nerd-boy who's never even held hands with a girl. Plus he has that whole Japanese beta thing going on, letting himself be pushed around and walked all over (maybe he's an M?). You would think that after experiencing so much he would have learned, sometime in the past 700 years, to say no.

his experiences never comes... more>> into play and he certainly doesn't seemed to have learned anything from all those lifetimes. It would have been better not to add them in but then the author would need another reason for his hero's motivation. Still why add in those past lifetimes and not use them? It really bothers me when authors set up a scenario like this and then make their MCs act completely contradictory to the set up. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
i really like that MC take a while to adjust to his new life and his new body and he has moments when he fumbles and fails, like having no clue how to move his spirit power at first. it's a little more realistic than those novels where the MC takes half a paragraph to accept what happened and he somehow automatically knows everything about cultivation without even having to go through their "new" memories.

the only thing I find dubious is the MC's past identity as a surgeon. in c5... more>> it says he remembers his past 20 years of life.... there is no way a 20 year old could be any kind of a surgeon when 6 or 7 years of college are the norm to become a general practitioner doctor. it hasn't said anything about him being a genius child prodigy and he would have had to start college at age twelve or thirteen to be an established surgeon at age 20.

other than that, though, I am enjoying the story.

on a side note, I see the the people who rate all BL as 1 have been by. I honestly don't get their compulsive need to rate without bothering to read. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
Superstar Aspirations
February 5, 2018
Status: Completed
very good. very cute. I can't wait to read the translated version!!

my one problem... why does the MC almost always pick roles where he dies? if it were me, I'd stop going after a while because just seeing his name I would assume he dies and most of the time I hate crying in public (I'm an ugly crier, swollen eyes and snot everywhere and bright red face). I feel sorry for his fans who are smacked with their idols 'death' over and over again.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
The Founder of Diabolism
January 29, 2018
Status: c88
Loving this MC. he's smart, funny, shameless and not at all the kind of evil monster his bad reputation says he is. he's on my top five favorites for BL transmigration/ rebirth novel MCs. I'm not a fan of the stupid, naive, innocent type so WWX hits my happy zone (fun, wily, clever and hard to ruffle). I also love the MC and ML are equal partners and both make up for the others weaknesses.

I was misled by the title and kept putting this off because I thought he'd be... more>> a ice-cube bastard villain protagonist and I just finished renegade immortal (no BL) not too long ago so I wanted something with an MC that wasn't so... dark. I thought he would be some old monster devil cultivator, not a guy who made me laugh so hard I shot coke out my nose.

The flashbacks are interesting and the characters have both depth and growth as the story moves along. the mystery keeps you engaged in the novel and of course the MC and ML are adorable together. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
QWFOD is about revenge. Spreading IQ is about a bored chess master type toying with his victims. Delusions of a Harem is about defeating those scheming green tea protagonists. This one is all about cats. I love cats.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
Valhalla Saga
July 14, 2018
Status: c40.1
The premise was interesting and the beginning kept me reading but it degenerates into a typical harem/ power-up story. As the story shifts to him collecting women everything else falls to the background. The interesting mysteries and storyline which initially drew me in fades as the author decides to focus on fanservice rather than actual plot and story. I kept reading, hoping it would get better again but nope. My interest is pretty much gone now. Some day I might read more but but the interest that drove me to... more>> dive in at the beginning is completely gone now. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
Lord of All Realms
March 16, 2018
Status: c200
My biggest annoyance is that either the author keeps forgetting he's only a kid (he's only supposed to be ten when goes to the green-whatever realm), or he's one of the worst, perverted little kids I've ever seen. What he does to the blood cult (sect? Something along those lines) chick while she's helpless is not something that would even occur as a possibility in the minds of most ten year old kids. Even before puberty he is apparently an expert on molesting women. And as of chapter 200 he's... more>> only 12-13yrs old but the women's thoughts all show that they think he's manly and gives them a sense of safety. Seriously?! he's fricking twelve and this isn't a reincarnation/ transmigration novel so there's no past experiences in his head!!

The rest of the story is alright but I'm having a seriously hard time suspending my disbelief on this subject. Nor can I make myself believe all these older women are pedophiles at heart. As it getting worse, my interest in the story has dropped quite a bit. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
Are You Addicted?
April 15, 2016
Status: Completed
this was a pretty good novel with a few rather annoying and overly melodramatic moments that made me think the author might have watched too many makjang kdramas in her spare time. Honestly, I liked the beginning and the end but could have done without a lot of the stuff in the middle. Despite it's flaws though, there are some pretty awesome moments and the end is certainly squee worthy. Since I watched the drama first I can't really separate the written characters from the ones I met on screen... more>> and that's not a bad thing since the actors did a really good job, especially for newbies.

the drama was surprisingly good but the Chinese government is apparently afraid of gay content and first censored the hell out of it, then took it down off the web (three episodes from the end) and banned it and the web drama company from airing inside china. Luckily, the company released episodes 13-15 outside the country so the rest of us could see it. They made such a big deal over it that even the two main actors are no longer permitted to stand side by side on stage or have any social contact and it's been years since the show ended. It's completely ridiculous. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
M E M O R I Z E
September 15, 2018
Status: c85
I'm not sure why some others like this better than King of the Battlefield, which at least has lots of action and tension, a coherent plot, an understandable leveling system, and a MC who is consistent in his behaviors and motivation, even if he's not always the most likable person. this story is lacking all of that.

once past the first arc the story reads more like a fluffy slice-of-life novel (with random moments of eww) than the gritty reincarnation story I was expecting. I thought this would be an edgy... more>> survival-type story with an angry, bitter MC but he quickly devolved into the benevolent teacher/ father-figure. he even calls his party members his kids. there's never any real danger and dad is always watching over them ready to save them when things go wrong.

85 chapters in and I still have no idea what the plot/ point of the story is, other then he's hoping to save the woman he loved in his old life... only she's barely been mentioned so we still don't know anything about her and he's not in any hurry to find her. all this meandering around is annoying and a bit boring; the story lacks any sense of urgency or tension and has no direction. instead of getting stronger, he's just growing his kids. he's not even trying to grow his own skills (or even just invest his skill points).

the stats system doesn't make sense; there are people in year 0 whose stats are higher in one place or another than the MC who has the stats of a 10 year player. some of the people at year 4 have all their stats on his same level (80's and 90's). it's never explained how they can grow their stats or whats needed to make them stronger since there isn't a leveling system (as far as I can tell). we also have no idea how they collect stat points, other than getting four for passing that school at the start.

the story is really vague; what is his goal other than saving the girl? why were they brought to the world? is there an outside threat they're preparing humanity to deal with? who are the angels and why are they there? is this just some galactic death game to entertain the masses? why do they need to even bother getting stronger? even at c85 we only know the world is divided into 5 sections (N, E, S, W, and Center). the MC once mentioned falling into hell but its not clear if its another actual place or a state of mind. there are dungeons and monsters, players, vagrants (PK) and normal people. that's literally everything we've been told in 85 chapters.

the MC is also vague; his behavior is inconsistent with his stated urgent motivation (finding the girl) and there is no clue as to what the bigger picture is beyond that goal. also, for someone who spent ten years killing and surviving, he is way too concerned with how other people see him. he's also too trusting and happy. the behavior doesn't fit with his background.

also, what happened to the angels? they just disappeared after the beginning and no one seems to talk to/ about them or are being guided in any way. from the prologue, they made it sound like his angel was his constant companion and personal observer for ten years. now all trace of them are gone. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
The Returner
September 15, 2018
Status: c79
surprisingly interesting. The MC comes back to earth and is in "retired old man" phase for much of the beginning chapters. He doesn't do crap, doesn't care and wants to be left alone to play his games. Honestly, I don't blame him. He spends most of his time acting like an idiot and messing with the people around him for the fun of it. He plays just about everyone except his mom, who's just scary.

this guys moral code is so skewed that its not black and white (or even gray),... more>> it's completely blue and orange. He's chaotic-neutral in the second edition D&D sense, acting mostly on his whims and driven almost entirely by self interest. He isn't any kind of a knight (white or dark) and he couldn't care less about anything other than keeping his family safe and himself comfortable. He's not a hero and has no need or desire to become one.

in the most recent chapters we start seeing bits and pieces of The Bringer of the Apocalypse bleeding through his carefree personality as the gates get worse and he can be pretty scary. I'm really curious about how bad its going to get when he actually starts getting serious.

edit c106

it went from interesting despite the harem misunderstandings to full blown harem focus with no actual plot progression and I lost all interest in the story thanks to this. Sad, since I thought the MCs personality was really interesting. The rest of the story isn't interesting enough for me to keep putting up with chapters that have absolutely nothing to do with the actual story though. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
Reborn into a Hamster for 233 Days
March 15, 2018
Status: c145
so much fluff!! I love them both, but there is something about a pouty hamster that tugs at the heart waaaay more than a pouty human ever could. And no naive, dumb as a box of rocks MC, which is a huge plus.

I'm a little nervous about where the story is headed, seeing as hamsters have such a short lifespan and his body had already lived part of its life when he got it (I'm guessing he has 233 day left until the end; less than a year). What will... more>> happen to our MC when his little hamster body gives out? What will happen to our ML who loves his Fishy? I wonder how big a box of tissue I'll need for this book? Here's hoping for a H.E.

Edit c145

that took some turns I wasn't expecting. And is it just me or is Fishy way more dumb, naive, and submissive as a human than he was as a hamster? At least as a hamster he stood up to the ML, was clever and skeptical. Human Fishy just accepts everything, including being treated as though he were a little child (or woman in Chinese culture) to be pampered and petted and totally dominated. The fluff is good but I'm disappointed in the human Fishy. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
The Second Coming of Avarice
September 18, 2018
Status: c24
so far this is pretty interesting, though admittedly we're not far into the novel yet. The MC isn't a total a**hole or insane, nor an eldritch horror in a human body, which is good; one Yi Ji-Hyuk is enough (The Returner). He's not a goody-goody or a beta male with an overblown sense of justice that will get all his friends killed, either. Yes he has cheats but at least his come with consequences (he can access the other hims experience but his body can't really handle the fighting techniques... more>> so he pays for it physically). Can't really say much on the story yet since they're all still in the starter city and he's still building up his basic fitness levels. I'm curious about whats going to happen once he heads out in the world and how things will change since he's Invited rather than Contracted now. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
Treasure Hunt Tycoon
April 4, 2018
Status: --
The racist stuff bothers me because it's obvious the writer knows nothing about Americans. I'd say at least half of all American's have mixed blood in one way or another. I myself have Native American, Irish, German, and a touch of Mexican and most of the people I know have at least two ethnicities in their background. I'm not saying there aren't any racists here because there are plenty, there are as*holes in every country, but depicting the entire country as racist pricks is too much for me. Also the... more>> whole losing face stuff doesn't matter so much here, survival is way more important than something like honor or face, so the face-slapping is out of place. This story reeks of blatant nationalistic Chinese propaganda. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
Royal Roader on My Own
March 9, 2018
Status: c25
Not a the worst story but it's certainly not good. there are quite a few inconsistencies and its not well written or well thought out. the reader has to do a lot of guessing and assuming because things aren't explained clearly, or at all. It's bad enough that I feel sorry for the translators.

The author seems very confused with her math... even within the same chapter, (we're not talking complex formula, just simple numbers). first it's six months, then it's two years, first its 10, 000won then less than... more>> a paragraph later the amount changes to 20, 000won. that kind of thing. the stat page doesn't make a lot of sense and its not until we hit chapter 20+ that s/he mentions another page with different stats like knowledge and charm. also...i was unsure if he lives together with his Mom and sister or separately in his own apartment after moving out of the first place (where it was also unclear if he was living with them or not).

The MC has a lot of nifty cheats IRL but he wastes so much potential its painful. by chapter 25 I just wanted to smack him upside the head. I can't understand his motivation since the pressure of needing to make enough money is taken care of in a ridiculously short amount of time...i think. Probably... (he never mentions if he paid off their debt and his Moms medical bills but he's talking about buying a house and he rented an apartment and bought two or three cars and a ton of clothes so I'm guessing the debt is paid off).

The author made him greedy in an attempt (i assume) to give him a personality like Weed but it doesn't work. Weed has actual conversations with his family and schoolmates and he mourns every penny he has to spend (he spent half the series groaning about stupidly buying salt that was a few won more expensive). this MC hasn't had a face to face conversation with his Mom or his sister in 25 chapters. I only know he cares about his family because the author tells us so. there isn't one scene of them having actual interaction or even of him calling his sick Mom just to check on her.

He starts showing off and spending money like its water the first chance he gets. he sleeps (is in the game) 12 hours a day and works out, spends money, goes clubbing and hooks up with chicks the rest of the time; just like all those silkpants young masters/ 2nd generation rich kids we love to hate in other novels.

Others have mentioned that this is The Gamer in novel form but honestly, The Gamer is much better than this story. in fact, The Gamer as a webnovel would be much more entertaining, though I think they'd have to change a few things for that to work out right.

This is a frustrating read and an irritating MC. maybe it gets better later on but right now I'm surprised I made it to chapter 25. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
True Star
January 27, 2018
Status: Completed
poor guy just wants to act and grow his career and he's a little bemused at why these guys keep following him around but whatever, as long as they don't get in the way of his acting it's all good. Get in his way and he's not above ripping them up one side and down the other and putting them in their place. Especially once he gets to know them better.

a bit of drama in the later volumes and we get to learn more about his suitors, which make them... more>> more understandable if not more likable. My personal favorite is the ice cube rather than the dumb bear or psycho. Charles is too much like an overgrown needy puppy for my taste, and the psycho is so not my cup of tea.

i like the actual acting parts and the scenes for his movies but I realize some people may not find it as interesting as I do. This is well written over all and well translated, with a decent storyline and interesting characters. I found it interesting enough to MTL the rest, which is something I rarely ever do (last time was Unique Legend, which really hurt my head).

one of my favorite MC. I find him soothing after reading so many scatter-brained and painfully naive shou MC in other Chinese BL novels. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
January 24, 2018
Status: c655
i like the story well enough but I'm having a hard time suspending my disbelief when it comes to the MC. Its not because he's weak, but rather because he's dense to the point that I can't understand how he passed any kind of college exam, and so incredibly naive that my first assumption is that he was raised in a bubble and locked away from the modern world. His child-like though process would be fine if it was in line with what we read of his past life, but... more>> we're supposed to believe he was able to live on his own, was capable of taking care of himself and smart enough to have tested into college. It doesn't match up. He's too trusting and naive to have grown up in the 21st century.

edit as of 654:
I've come to the conclusion that the MC is just the Chinese version of a Japanese shoujo character who's been given a d*ck. In the beginning he's dumb, naive, has a doormat personality, and is incredibly easy to bully and most of that doesn't change with time. He has a bit of character growth and even manages to mouth off and punch some people now and then but his entire world revolves around the ML and what the ML wants and needs. He doesn't have any goals outside of helping the ML. Even after 600 plus chapters its still as easy for the ML to bully and trick him as it was when they first met. The MC seems to exist mostly to get into trouble so the ML can rescue him and they can have lots of punishment s*x. 600 plus chapters into the story and I was hoping for a little more character growth from the MC by now. Since we're so close to the end now I have the feeling that this story is going to stay a 3 for me. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
One Man Army
October 23, 2018
Status: c95
i like it so far and honestly, I don't get why people are surprised that he doesn't group up when it says loner protagonist right there in the tags. Maybe they didn't read the tags first?

MC is absurdly OP but it was expected on my part because how else could he play alone? I'm just glad he was not (so far) yet another necromancer, which seems to be the job of choice for OP loners in other Korean novels. In the beginning there is only the game and his focus... more>> on getting first in everything but he slowly starts opening up to other people so there is character growth, though it's pretty slow.

the story only gets a four instead of a five because frankly it's impossible to function long term on only two hours of sleep like that. Four hours of uninterrupted sleep is the minimum humans need to function normally (from a researched medical standpoint), and most people are still pretty cranky and dazed with only four hours. For someone so concerned with his health and burning out his gift, he's not taking very good care of himself.

Also, for a "revenge" novel there is a decided lack of revenge. He didn't even bother to get revenge on the first group of people who hurt him (at the very beginning of the story), even though just calling the cops on them would have been enough to break up their little slave ring. Instead he decides not to get involved. He hasn't done anything to get revenge or hunt down any of the people who messed with him and betrayed him in the past so if your looking for someone wanting payback than this isn't for you. It's more second chance and "i'll show you by becoming the best" rather than the MC actually getting revenge on anyone. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
Why do almost all Japanese "summoned" stories always vomit out so many POVs that the reader forgets who the MC is by chapter 3? This one is the same. You get one chapter of the MC, then several others, then the "hero" (who sounds more like a jilted girlfriend than a so-called hero). It jumps around so much that I can't bring myself to care about any of the characters which is a shame, since the whole assassin thing could have been pretty cool. It's not a terrible story but... more>> there's nothing interesting or unique enough to make up for all those POVs and cliches. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rhianirory
rhianirory rated it
A Monster Who Levels Up
August 13, 2018
Status: Completed
I'm not sure how to rate this one. up until the final chapters it was around a four for me, despite it's flaws, but the ending...

... more>>
Spoiler

he works so hard and saves the world and what does he get? his powers taken away and his memory wiped. everything he's learned along the way, all his growth as a person, the lessons learned through hardship and experience all end up meaning nothing because he goes back to being the person he was at the beginning of the novel! how can they seriously claim this is a happy ending?! I really hate these "everything goes back to normal" stories. why did I just bother reading this novel when the ending made the entire book, other than the prologue, redundant?

[collapse]

there is some character growth in this story but the final chapters negate everything in the 172 chapters before them so it's kind of meaningless in the end. it's not really a harem; the main girl is decided fairly early on, though he does have a bunch of annoying flies buzzing around him all the time. also, the second half of the novel gets a little sloppy, as though the author was either running out of ideas or getting tired of writing his own novel.

final conclusion, worth killing time, but not worth the frustration of the ending if you're like me and really dislike that kind of thing. read at your own risk. or read until 172 and stop there. yeah, good luck with that. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 8