Report Review
10 Reviews


rexzshadow
rexzshadow rated it
Superstars of Tomorrow
October 25, 2017
Status: c277
Personally really enjoyed the story. There isn't so much an over arcing story or any goal the MC is aiming toward (at least now until chapter 277 which is the most recent update as of this review)

This is really just a slice of life of the MC who is getting a chance to live again.

Here is the general story so far until chapter 277 if anyone want spoiler.

... more>>
Spoiler

So story starts with the MC Fang Zhao dies at the last few years of the apocalypse. He walk up finding he was inside the body of university student who was doing his internship in his last year of university. This was 500 years after he had died. He has memory from the Fang Zhao he took over and found that a friend of the body's previous owner stole the 3 songs the body's original owner worked on for the internship. Due to lack of time to write more he killed himself. (Also took in a dog and feed the dog the pill he used to suicide too but the dog lived and was kept as a pet)

The MC finishes up a song the origin body's owner had in the note book and it was very popular thus landing him a job at the company he was interning at. Right at the start of his new job he get unlucky and was made to lead the virtual idol department in their company. Their company is one of the 3 major entertainment company but their virtual reality had always failed. He went a created an virtual reality idol based on a tree from the apocalypse and composed a song and music video for it (and yes the music video was described full in words) This was very successful getting him funding and support from the company where he finishes 3 more songs completing a this 4 part epic. There is a very famous game dev company that makes a new game every 10 years and next year will be t heir new game launch based on the apocalypse. They will take 1 virtual idol form each continent as like mascots for the game. Fang Zhao's virtual idol wins. He was also asked to compose music for the opening movie and his song got picked.

Around time for song 3 and 4 he went to other continents to get ideas and in one continent make friends with a farm owner and this kid who was a descendant from the general hero of that continent. Later the kid call him for help coz he brought a farm and got tricked. Fang Zhao went with his dog and help the kid set up a team of dogs to compete in sheep herding competition. Fang Zhao's dog end up coming the leader of the dogs and became very famous after winning the competition.

Then the new game is released and Fang Zhao played it to release all the pent up aggression he had built up due to coming directly from the apocalypse. He is basically a super soldier and god in the game single handedly held the single score ranking world wide by a wide margin. He helps the company he works up build up a game division by recruiting people.

After than he went off to serve the military for 1 year as it is the law that everyone has to serve 1 year in the military. He applies to serve on a few space ship but was rejected as they didn't take stars (He was kinda a star due to his status as god in game) So he end up picking a really far away planet with the highest difficulty to mine. There was this whole plan to send stars to the poor planets and basically film about situation there for a year in hope of getting people to donate. Fang Zhao was chosen as one of the five stars. He arrives on the planet and on the first day of mining finds A ranked energy ore due to his good hearing. This cause a big wave as it immediately made planet become extremely important. Soon the planet was getting all the resource it needed to develop. Fang Zhao moved to one of the outpost to help with one of the research team working there. They get attacked by terrorist who created the monsters from the apocalypse as fodder. Fang Zhao was hiding in underground bunker with the scientist but when he saw the monsters he was extremely angry. He went out and killed a lot of them along with some of the terrorist earning him lot of military merit and he was promoted. This was extremely rare for people just serving their 1 year to get promoted but the upper brass ok the promote due to the program he is in and used him as example to urge the young to join the military.

He does his service at the outpost and then get lent to some of the other poor planets hoping to use his ear to find A ranked energy ore too. On the first planet he visit he meets another star that's part of the program who urge him to buy some land on the planet with him. The whole thing end up becoming really big as they pulled a lot of people and built a film city. Later a big organization buys a big area on the planet and the rumor secret project on a big movie about the apocalypse that had been on hold is about to start up again. Fang Zhao wish to basically play himself and start planning on getting himself well known enough to get the role.

Fang Zhao finishes his 1 year service and return back to Earth where he prepared for his first concert. The concert contained 10 song he worked on during his 1 year of service. It went well with all rights to the song sold soon after the concert ends.

Chapter 277 ends with him attending award ceremony held by the big game company with him handing out an award.

And if you feel that this is really random it is. Its really a slice of life story so far about what he is doing. Personally enjoy it as it is very relaxing read.

[collapse]
<<less
47 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rexzshadow
rexzshadow rated it
I Shall Survive Using Potions!
May 29, 2018
Status: --
Start out promising but quickly becomes really really sh*tty. At the start it was pretty standard then when the first noble tried to like capture her showed how serious it was for her to randomly use her power. All good and she learned a lesson which she proceed to not follow get found out again. Runs off to another country and get found out again and basically reveal to the world she is friend with the goddess.... All of this happen in like the first 20 chapters its like wtf?

Her... more>> actions completely contradicts her own thoughts constantly. Also thought it be something fun like someone who interested in alchemy and find new way of crafting potions. No just instantly get whatever potions she gets. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rexzshadow
rexzshadow rated it
Age of Adepts
April 23, 2018
Status: c521
It's ok. It copies WMW pretty hard as everyone state but also does thing in its own way on some parts. It has lot of good of concept but really lacking in execution. The worst part is how much useless fluff there are. I think its become fairly obvious when author is out of ideas because there are chapters that you can skip and somehow not miss a thing.

The problem is that its not even good fluff, its a ton of action scene after action scene that really kills your... more>> urge to real the story because literally nothing progresses during the battles. Everything happens outside the battles which are good but there so many battles crammed in it really kill the pacing. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rexzshadow
rexzshadow rated it
Gourmet Food Supplier
March 7, 2018
Status: c299
Spoiler

It's enjoyable and relaxing read but nothing more. There no real direction and I think the main problem is the MC is always passive. Like because of all the rules set by the system the MC can't actually do anything. All the stuff has to just need to occur the way MC needed for the story to work and it gets fairly obvious after a while.

Lot of chapters are pointless and isn't really interesting at all but if you kinda turn your brain off and skimp it the overall is not.

Now the translation, it seriously need some editing or someone to proofread it. I'm not picky on translation as my I skim pretty fast and my brain auto corrects a lot. But this has gotten to the point where I'm constantly picking out issues. Not to an unreadable degree but to the point it pulls me out of reading. Like there lot of he/she used improperly. Like a woman is talking and in the same like there would be he where it should have been she. Some of the translation is a bit funky like when he unlock soup dumpling then for next several chapter the translator use soup dumpling and steam bun as if they were the same time. There were literally sentence where soup dumpling and steam bun were used close together when it should have been all soup dumpling. Like no idea what was going on there.

Also MC is really meh, he kinda retarded and author try to play out like he smart when he try to trick customer to fulfill his missions but he just comes across as really retarded. Really have no idea what the author is trying to aim for.

Overall relaxing read but don't expect plot.

[collapse]

That was my previous review above if you want to know what I thought about it before. Its been a while since I last read it and while it was meh I gave it 4 stars. However going back to read it now it was so much worse than I remember. Now the biggest problem is the MC is a total d*ck. I mean lot of these novels the MC are total d*cks but he just a d*ck coz I think the author thing is funny to bring random internet trolling to real life.

So early on he unlock soup dumplings which everyone likes. But there is limited amount and only served in the morning. So you get people line up early in the morning to eat it only to either 1) find the store didn't open coz MC being lazy f**k that morning 2) MC decide not to serve it coz he randomly decided it. Like most ironic part is how everyone call him the compass coz he is such a sticker for rules but he be a terrible compass because he be the compass that would suddenly not feel like pointing north randomly.

The author/MC seem to enjoy the fact they hold something that others want and take joy in seeing other suffer when they withhold it from them. And this sh*t goes on throughout the novel where his customers are repeated screwed over by his whims. Most comedy comes at the expense of someone else which is honestly just terrible trend among lot of Chinese novels in general. Just this is boring and has that making it so much worse upon revisiting.

Like I recommended before if you like the idea read Gourmet in another world, stuff actually happen there and the MC has much better personality. I mean he still a f**king wood block but at least he has some morality.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rexzshadow
rexzshadow rated it
The Strongest System
February 20, 2018
Status: --
I found it very it very interesting at the start but it really start o fall part soon after. Well one thing is I guess pure humor novel is not my cup of tea but overall the MC just isn't likable. He is a complete asshole through and through and not even the House kinda smartass kind of asshole who is an asshole but still do the right thing. No this MC is just pure asshole for the sake of being an asshole. Lot of time he complete ass and... more>> f**ks people over for no good reason at all.

Now all of this can still work if there was a solid story. I mean I read novels where I hated the characters but doesn't mean the novel was bad because it still made me gave enough of a damn about them to hate them and want to keep reading. However the MC here doesn't really reach hate as much as I just can't stand keep reading anymore because this is just so unbelievely dumb. Also lot of stuff is fairly disguesting and f**ked up be honest.

Spoiler

What kill the novel for me and why I just stopped completely was after his sect get destroyed and he is teleported away. He get his own mountain to create his own branch to rebuild his sect. He make fun of someone then felt bad or w/e and followed that guy to find he had trouble s*x life (pre mature ejectulation) so he make this pill that increase one's s*x drive like crazy and gave it to him. That guy f**ks his gf hard and is conflicted about asking for more of the pill. And if that was it its like w/e pointless but ok. BUT the complete asshole the MC is he feed it to his two disciples who had no way to vent themselves beside literally f**king a hole in the ground. Like I wish I was kidding but this part is so f**ked up why was it even in the novel? At this point it was like I'm not going to make myself suffer reading this and stopped.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rexzshadow
rexzshadow rated it
My Wife is a Beautiful CEO
April 22, 2019
Status: --
Hmm how do I say this... probably the most infuriating novel I have ever read. Like I get so angry reading this due to the just insane relationships that goes on in this novel. But I still give it a 4 because it was good enough to make me gave enough of a damn about them all to get so pissed off.

... more>>
Spoiler

So the relationship in his novel is like a big cluster f**k of MC picking up random girls and treating them all like their his soul mates. His explanation he is never had anything before and doesn't know how to reject love or something stupid. All the woman fall head over heels for him coz he saved them once. And this is all pretty standared actually and w/e. The problem come down later once the main female lead actually develop feelings for him.

So at the start she tell him this is just a business thing and he acts like a body guard. so she let him do w/e and I don't fault him for the sh*t he stared before that. Its when they start having feeling for each other and she legit told him she was not ok with him having other relationship where the beyond retarded as f**k logic kicks in. Basically every single woman he has been with up to that point are completely disposable. Basically all saved by him coz he stuck this nose into something and have s*x with him. There is ZERO actual relationship between them but he act like the had gone through some life and death sh*t with all of them. I remember clearly the line that pissed me of the most was hims saying they all sacrificed for him so he can't leave them. BULLsh*t! Aside from 1 single person who actually sacrificed herself for him every other girl was completely and utterly useless beyond all reason. They done nothing but get save by him and have s*x with him.

Now let's talk about how f**ked up these women are too coz its not just MC being a total bitch they are total bitchs too. Now there some really casual ones thats like w/e but there some f**ked up ones that goes after him hard even though they know he is married and some of them are even friends with the main female lead.

Like the MC's manager who is like best friend to his wife end up with him coz he saved her during their trip to a factory. Some how that made it so she had to be with him even though she knew that the main female lead would hate this.

Then there is the like main female leads little sister that was part of the cultivator world. Who falls for him coz he is strong? She f**king knew full well how much her older sister liked the MC and can't deal with all the women he had now but she still throws herself onto him in the end.

Then there is also this girl who is like daughter of some old man the MC knew while he was like pretending to be a no body at the start. She had a crush on him fine teenage crush. Later she does some volunteer and become friends with the main female lead. Learns about the MC is married and still basically throw her self at him like if you don't take me I'm going to die.

Then there was some random girl from the streets that turn out to be some heir to some rich family in korea too does the same f**king sh*t.

The absolute worst was the female police officer that was the main female lead's like best friend from childhood. She basically played the cop that was always after the MC coz he get caught up in sh*t. Then fall in love with him knowing full well how much it hurts her best friend. Then when MC reject her she goes to some like super elite military training group and push herself to the point of death forcing the MC to go stop her and accept her.

Like just thinking back about it piss me off at how sh*tty they are all considering most of them consider teh main female lead their good friend or supposedly respect her greatly.

There are only TWO other women beside the main female lead that LEGIT gave so much to the MC that they are the only people worthy of like being with him. First is the police officer's older sister. Basically she kinda deal with like relation between the cultivators and the government. So when MC like attack some high up people she sacrificed herself to be married off so they won't go after him.

The second is like this super genius who has been in love with the MC for a long time and supported him for years but he refuse to accept her this whole time (while f**king all these random ass women and claiming now important and deep their relationships are)

Ofc main female lead does a lot of sh*t that pisses me off too but get overshadowed by everyone else.

[collapse]

Like as much as I seem to hate everything I really did enjoy the novel, just the relationship make me so made. Also stopped reading literally right at the end because I kinda saw the ending a mile away and just didn't really like it so stopped there.

Also s*x happens whenever author is out of idea and author is out of ideas a lot. I skip all the s*x because its the most boring thing ever once you read it a few times. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rexzshadow
rexzshadow
The Tutorial Is Too Hard
May 22, 2018
Status: c51
Its interesting but it drags WAY WAY WAY too much. Like its fine to go into detail about the first few floors but my god you get like 5+ chapters of pointless explanation for each floor. Its like the author is writing a lets play of a game. I'm quite literally skipping chapters and not missing out on a single bit of the story.

Everything that's not the MC recalling his past clearing the floors is pretty good but my god is everything else dull. I mean I thought TKA got... more>> repetitive with its in game events but that was after like 1000 chapters. This manage to make me start skipping chapters within the first like 20. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rexzshadow
rexzshadow rated it
Tempest of the Stellar War
February 11, 2018
Status: Completed
Spoiler

Finished reading the whole thing and it was ok. It main story is not bad if you don't think too hard about it (way too many plot holes) but one thing that kills it for me it is drag. Oh man does the novel drag like no tomorrow at times.

This is big problem with the author's other novels, like so MC is part of a team in this competition. Most people author would drag out the fights the MC's team is in. Well this author will drag out the fights of EVEYRONE ELSE first so be prepared to read a lot of sh*t you don't remotely give a f**k about and will be completely inconsequential.

Also there a lot of build up for stuff that get resolved in really anti climatic ways that make you wonder wtf is point of all this build up. Especially the ending like my god. When I reached the last 10 chapters I was like is there a sequel because there is no way this can end in 10 chapters with the current situation. Yet it does and while its not bad (my god CD ending still haunts me) but my god was it the most anti climatic thing ever. So much hype and mysterious that just goes meh its over.

Lot of repeating plots but few very good plot twist. Actually one of the big twist toward the end I thought was really really cool and could have went in some awesome direction but of course totally wasted by the direction author went.

Overall enjoyable mindless read. Don't expect too much.

[collapse]
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rexzshadow
rexzshadow
Warlock of the Magus World
June 24, 2019
Status: Completed
I had my fun with it and it was pretty good up to a point. Then the last arc goes to complete and absolute sh*t coz its beyond rushed.

... more>>
Spoiler

So after getting to almost the top of the magnus world he sneak himself into the god's worlds with reincarnated body. Basically story almost restart with him climbing up to become a god. Its still fun story and all. Then he does this quick detour to the shadow world to do some stuff that's not related to the plot at all.

Finally the big showdown between the warlocks and the gods happen. And its a total sh*t show where the entire war basically get skipped beside 1 battle. Then when it comes to the final showdown.... There is none lol. MC just get some bullsh*t plot armor to gain control of both planet's will fuse them and story end with him invading the world he came from...

[collapse]

Basically my advice is stop reading once he goes to the god's world or right after that arc and the novel can be a solid 4 star. Read the end and whole novel is ruined due to how terribly rushed the ending is. Not as bad as CD's last chapter but pretty bad. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rexzshadow
rexzshadow rated it
Ascendance of a Bookworm
May 18, 2018
Status: c75
It's an ok read, the beginning is fairly rough but does get way more interesting later on. The reason why its so rough at the start is the MC's personality is fairly irrating as with a lot of MC in JP LN. I wonder if only people with zero self awareness get transmigrated/reincarnated to another world. What really kill it for me for a while is just how much of absolute child the MC is. I mean she is like 6 years old but she is suppose to be have... more>> the mine of a 22 year old but aside from her knowledge she acts just like a 6 year old...

However once it get over her acting so childish all the time and things progress it gets lot more interesting as other stuff is introduced. The novel does really move too slow at the start and focus way too much on really boring and unimportant stuff. Which such because by the time things pick up I reached the end of the current translation. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report