Report Review
22 Reviews


razgallo
razgallo rated it
Boundary Labyrinth and the Foreign Magician
March 16, 2016
Status: --
Has a good premise but the prose is mediocre. This story is difficult to comprehend the author doesn't seem to handle the dialogue and flow of the story properly, a lot of times you will question yourself and get confused in the earlier chapters. There are many information that the author dumps but the readers could not follow most of them and gets left behind, politics can be very confusing and this is not the way to handle it.

There are also issues with point of views not handled very well... more>> that also is a factor that confused most readers. Monologue of characters are also squeezed in between dialogues, it is irritating to read.

I won't wait for it to improve it's prose, there are better stories out there that won't give you a migraine from deciphering its contents. <<less
44 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
Maken no Daydreamer (WN)
April 26, 2016
Status: --
This is a poorly written story. Dropped at 20.

The narrative does not help you get immersed within the story world but instead breaks it for you. Flashbacks on almost every chapters which could have been avoided if the author just tried to write the story in a better way.

The Main character is also unpalatable, I think his decisions are forced just to move the relationship between him and the first heroine which is also a bad character. I just can't feel any kind of excitement when I read this, instead... more>> it kept me irritated.

You can read it yourself, I wouldn't recommend it. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
Amaku Yasashii Sekai de Ikiru ni wa
February 11, 2017
Status: c10
The premise is interesting at best the writing not so much. It is a weird way of saying it but it is what it is. The author tried to make the MC fall into this limbo of trying to correct his past self's mistakes but it just doesn't feel right.

The weight of a "Title" does not come right as well, the author's experience shows, it is a very heavy burden you will only understand when you get it and handle it. This is a very tricky thing to convey and... more>> will be mediocre otherwise. You don't just say sorry because you were hurt and can't handle it, in front of all higher ups, for five years of mischief, and expect to be forgiven immediately, which happens in the story. You will have to suspend your disbelief on it.

Even then I question the author's use of POV right when we don't even know the characters yet and takes two chapters, one for each side characters, I mean the author haven't even properly introduced these two and we get their perspective? Why should we care? Besides these POV are the previous chapter just from a different angle which makes it worse.

Overall its okay but I just don't like the style. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
The Alchemist God
September 19, 2016
Status: c50
I came to realize by chapter 50 that the title is just misleading, this story never have been focused on alchemy it is just your standard chinese xianxia. The minute the MC entered a warriors temple instead of going to that alchemy school I questioned why?

Alchemy was really only focused when he was weak, when he got stronger through the help of someone the alchemy part is just a side plot. He is good at it because well plot armor. Nowhere in the prologue did it say about it, it... more>> was just blurted out when he was already on the other world and just add a little bit of ret-con and there he was an alchemy king in-game.

I was disappointed because I thought we would read a story about an alchemist making medicine and saving lives but we are here to read about a warrior taking lives through poison and what not using alchemy.

The title should have been The God who also know Alchemy on the side. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
The Dark King
February 5, 2017
Status: c157
I see this story had potential but it feels more of a fantasy story than post-apocalyptic, the only real reason it is classified as such is because there are zombies... yeah that's it. The magic senses the hunters in the story is more fantasy.

A fair warning there is prison rape, the main character almost got his ass poked, it is also implied that the prison has that activity at least. I know its real activity here on earth but it is a bit distasteful to read when the author tried... more>> to push it in your face so you could feel angry, which is also a bad, he could just give some passing remarks on the subject.

The plot, if you could call it as such, is mediocre. Some scenes and decisions of certain characters are all over the place and it is also predictable. It basically involves identifying who the villains are and what the MC is going to do about them, there is no goal or at least a purpose in what the MC is trying to accomplish "Just get stronger" for what? Maybe to rule this place? Get all women? Try to clean the radiation? Find its source? Just find the villain and kill it, get into trouble then kill the one who wronged him rinse and repeat. It is more like an autobiography.

You see that plot twist? I can see that a mile away Jones, but why did the MC fall for it? Cause he has to as the author would write it. I could not pinpoint why it is so predictable and bad at the same time but maybe because the author tried to introduce some lame romance which made the MC stupid made me irritable to its decisions.

The time skips are also very obvious which is like "3 days later, after 4 weeks, and etc", I mean really? Pointing out the most obvious things, the activity will start x days from now and we read the next sentence "x days later". I understand if it is a vague time passing like years of training or some such.

The other characters are flat mostly because you can entirely see who the damnable villains are and who is an ally.

Overall it is still an interesting read at first, the Prison Arc is just too detailed (Prison Rape-ish) that made me want to stop reading it. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
The Legendary Moonlight Sculptor
December 31, 2015
Status: --
Its a weird thing that I can't stand this story after 10 volumes in but I kept going up until 26.

Exploring the vast game world is fun to read and the statues he makes are also funny in relation to the characters. He changed the way the game is played but persevering in his own class, its a unique class, he also gets to master other crafting classes. The interaction between the characters are humorous solely because of the MC behavior.

Many forgot the main goal of the story and that... more>> is for weed to amass 3 Billion real world money to show that korean mafia and his money back. This however was just glossed over by the author after many volumes and completely forgotten altogether. Instead we get the feeling of adventure which is nice but its disappointing that the main goal is glossed over when it should be focused more.

Weed is a fantasy character and it is in all aspects. I can't relate to him after a few volumes in, he sleeps for just 4 hours a day, he is a master swordsman that the dojo leader was impressed by him in just a year, he has superhuman survival skills that his classmates was surprised even though he never has been training aside from basic body training. I can tolerate one of these... no actually if there is just some explanation how he can sleep for 4 hours a day and feel fine I would consider it.

He is a despicable person everyone in his circle of friends know it but they still agree with him. That is one of Gary Stu's defining characteristics. Everyone also fawn over him its not even funny anymore, I mean all his acquaintances go in-game to be with him even the Dojo masters. Weed's love life is also written badly.

The story also suffers from bad handling of perspectives. We go back and forth from reality and the game world but I really can't see the point of going back to reality. At first it was to check on his financial savings and his grandmother but afterwards it just boils down to "How can weed be more superhuman than anybody else."

I can't say much about the game world because I am not really a fan of MMORPG. Just the fact of "First Discovery and First Drop" mechanic I can't relate to. When discovering a new dungeon you get a bonus drop rate for "the first" monster you kill and it is totally rubbish. Weed even tells us that it should be reserved for the boss, are you kidding me? So we are just going to waltz to the boss room with a mob train, it is ridiculous how the author planned this out.

I am mixed about recommending this story, I did have fun reading it but the bad parts just doesn't subside so No. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
Skeleton Knight, in Another World
May 11, 2016
Status: --
It was interesting at first but lacks a proper flow on the story and will not keep you interested long enough to care.

The main character's behavior is also not clear, he is either aloof or empathetic... only for women. He does not have much of a goal, all that happens is just coincidence, because he is there.

I also don't understand his fixation of food, he feels no hunger and yet he wants to eat? What happens to the food that he eats? He can taste flavors without a tongue, talk... more>> about contradiction. I bet he can also have some libido because it seems his desire for women is there.

It isn't that bad but you will question the author's decision on some points. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
Overlord (LN)
December 28, 2015
Status: --
You either love it or hate this story, I like the theme and story but the author’s style leave something to be desired.

There are two volumes that are just a bunch of side stories. I know side stories are fun to read but not as a single volume. There are many ways to weave these into the end of the chapters or volumes but when it takes a single volume it just spells of bad writing to me. Especially when the last volume ended in a cliffhanger (Volume 7). And... more>> these side characters never really gets a focus aside from the side stories they were introduced which makes them somewhat a distraction and a waste of time to read.

Most of the time it takes a chapter or two to flesh out a character which is a drag. I think this could be summarized better as we are not really moving plot wise.

Spoiler

The lizards are just mention in a single scene cameo and that is after 2 volumes from their introduction, I felt these characters should be at least have some more focus if the author spent time to flesh out their stories for one volume.

[collapse]

It is mostly assumed that his human psyche is being dominated by his undead body however I could never see it that way, his inner monologue never has him talking like an evil overlord at all, he is just a spineless human who is depressed from being abandoned in-game. Its not that he is becoming an Overlord he just can’t say no to his minions and tries to be an Overlord for them.

Spoiler

He still has emotions which I would think is suppressed because it was after all written there, then later he gets embarrassed and angry from riding a giant hamster. Further in Volume 7 he is enraged by some adventurers he lured, which he explains that his emotion is actually just cutoff after a certain threshold, meaning if he gets too emotional he loses the emotion which is retarded.

Don’t even try to explain the significance of him keeping that small town alive aside from the potion productions.

[collapse]

Overall you will have fun reading it but there are better stories out there. I am just keeping this low rating as a bitter reminder that this author and its editors I should shun in the future. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
Legend
March 17, 2016
Status: --
The pace of the story is slow and basically reads like a monologue, every single lines for the griffon is added which is fine at first but it gets irritating fast the character really reads like it is talking to a wall just replace the griffon's text with an ellipsis or better yet remove it and it doesn't make the story any more lacking as it already is.

I understood this is a slice of life but really is there no other things to do for him? Keep the interesting parts... more>> and scrap the boring ones. Fights are also stale since the character is just too strong, a shame as the author could have done better at making these things interesting except we get a griffon whose role is... unnecessary in the early parts of the story.

This kind of problem plagues a lot of stories, when creating a very powerful character as a main focal point they can't just make it interesting enough. Is it interesting to read a character reading in a library? It really is just a blatant info dump. Is it interesting to read paragraphs of a character fighting an enemy he could defeat in just one? It is also a subtle info dump about magic besides stretching it out does not make it anymore tense.

I do not recommend this. It is slow and 20 chapters in we haven't really come to know the character that well. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
Bocchi Tenseiki
March 13, 2016
Status: --
I have a really close connection to the MC as this kind of story is very much similar to mine own... the prologue anyway.

The setting is a bit weak and the characters are meh... typical Characters from other novels especially the elf. The magic used by the main character is also not explained very well, we do know that he is helped by the spirits but it just lacks in some ways. Are spirits so obedient that if you can see them they will just help? Are unicorns okay with... more>> you domesticating them? These are just some of the questionable aspects the story needs to straighten out.

So far the story looks pretty much on a decline 11 chapters in.

I know that the translation is free but please make it sensible, it doesn’t help me understand if you leave your translation comments within the story and it is totally irrelevant to the story to make matters worse. Make a proper footnotes for the love of Thoth. Also in the subject of translation the dialogue looks very sloppy, there are better ways to translate stutters in dialogue than this [Bu, bu, butbut!].

You would think why I would include the translation in this review, it is because the translation is all we get if you can’t read the Japanese story and it will greatly affect your enjoyment if the translation is good or not. I certainly value good translation in stories as it helps me enjoy it but if you can get passed that then go ahead.

Scratch that, further in the story sentences aren't acceptable too many mistakes and to make it worse they even put red colors on their translation notes (a big glaring red font), what on earth happened to the footnotes a few chapters back.

However I would advise to steer clear as this story seem a bit stale, and translation is getting worse. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
The story is so-so, the main character wants to be viewed as a villain but as a Japanese he doesn't seem to be well fitted for it. He is your same old main character from every web novel that Japan churns out.

I could not get past the mentality that he should be a villain and I should do evil things, but wait what are evil things? His behaviour as a villain is nonexistent, so it is a misleading title there in itself.

Character development? You shouldn't expect this kind of things... more>> in web novel, there are a few web novels out there that have this but not here.

It's slow by the way, like all Japanese novels they should just add Slice of Life to all of these Japanese web novels. But it's not a detriment.

What irritated me the most is the translator, look I know it's hard to translate this and that but seriously please don't ruin the story further by inserting "translator's note" in every other paragraph just because you think its cool. The story is already average as it is.

If not for the amateur fan translator who could not clean it's "translator's notes" I would have kept going. Translator's notes should be kept where it belongs, in the footnotes. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
The Prodigy Sefiria’s Overpowering Program
March 10, 2016
Status: --
The setting itself haven’t really been ironed out that much but the characters are kinda sloppy for most part. We are 20 chapters in and he hasn’t aged a year yet but the author thinks that he should talk... cause plot. Seriously why not a time skip of 3 years, that way it is a bit tolerable.

Apart from that it seems okay, just hope we don’t need a hundred chapter for him to age three years old.

There is but one thing that kills this story. Translator comments.

I can understand if... more>> it is somehow important, I can tolerate if it helps me understand the prose but no the translator keeps having these comments in between sentences and honestly its distracting, like reading the entire thing is hard enough. Please if you really need to put some comments here at least do everyone a favor and create a proper footnotes at the bottom of the page, else just erase it. It feels like there aren’t any editor for this story unless the one doing these incessant comments is the editor then make it stop.

If you can tolerate such translation then by all means but I would not recommend it because of that. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
The story is okay, not that good yet not that bad. The setting is well built but we haven't really touched the details of the places since it is still too early. Characters are still in its early development and I am sure it will go both ways, none of them really piques my interest.

I only question the logic behind the reasons as to why he didn't want his identity to be revealed. It isn't something petty but more political yet it isn't convincing enough, there are better ways to... more>> convey the why and how. This is just a minor it doesn't really matter much.

There are also some flaws in the plot like...
Spoiler

Thirty years have passed and not even one of the two characters have tried to seek out the players who came before the main character. I mean really they didn't even try to make any effort to search for them and just let the last person who got there to do it for them instead they were satisfied in making a kingdom.

They also announced the disappearance of the elders which I thought was a illogical. It was clear there are more risks on doing it than not so now they are in a midst of war with the neighboring kingdoms.

I may have missed some points but it is clear that the people who came before the main characters aren't that sharp.

[collapse]

Long winded prose makes me cringe every single time, I would assume these words in the story is vital but it isn't most of the time it is just a filler and makes the chapters longer than necessary, just to make a word count goal perhaps, this is a published story already... I think since it is a Light Novel and not a Web Novel. I don't know why the author didn't even clean these and make it more concise. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
The Princess Wei Yang
August 22, 2018
Status: c70
Reading this was a test of patience, not because the story sucked but the translation is all over the place. More pinyin terms every chapter that can even rival the Chinese to English Dictionary. It really detracts from the story, I mean I can keep track of names but then they change how they address anyone from names like Gary to ching to chong in a single chapter. Gary can be called in five different names in a single chapter and the translator doesn't even bother being coherent with it.

Translator... more>> has a glossary every chapter but why? Why not just translate it properly? It even has some parts where the pinyin is right next to a literal translation, is this all according to keikaku (plan) ?

The story is okay, its a standard fair of drama and revenge story with a very thick plot armor. All conflict is very one-sided her only struggle is before she died. Everything is quite cheap, the author is telling you who to hate and who to like. The schemes are you could say standard and not really mind blowing and creative its just okay.

Overall if not for the half-assed translation the story might have been more tolerable. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
Elf Tensei Kara no Cheat Kenkoku-ki
January 17, 2016
Status: --
The idea of a soul being continuously reincarnated is a good base for plot but it just isn't explained that well, it feels that the main character suffers from a multiple personalities every time he uses his unique skill. It makes the events predictable and less intense.

I liked the pace of the story in the first volume the kingdom building theme that is hinted is interesting. The culture of the elves is also a new idea and not a cookie cutter woodland elves that lives in the tree house. The... more>> story makes humans the main villain.

When he recovers his past life knowledge we are introduced to a wide array of template like a great healing capabilities, RPG-esque Item box, suddenly too strong. We just all assume that these skills work in this current world even though it is from another world skill. Sometimes laws of nature can be forgotten.

Later in the story we are told that his other lives has "personalities" which made me question the rules of his unique skill. The author didn't explain why they could have unique "personalities" and can even restrict this skill's potential. I thought it would just be his past lives memories and not full blown characters inside his head. I think this is just another sloppy way to make it "hard" for him and make the character developed.

There are some weird things that are out of place like info dump about potato cultivation, everyone does not question how he got some otherworldly abilities, and never just accepts his "common sense".

Then volume 2 is just all over the place. Honestly we waste 3-4 full chapters of them cooking, making preparations, and having a banquet. What on earth happened, did the author lose his focus and can't write credible stuff anymore? I am not sure I would rather have some political background with the human side than read these mundane activities.

Don't forget we have erotica side stories like intercrural s*x for example, I get it. Really it is always hinted he is a pervert but to make side stories like these is just disgusting. I would watch porn than read it. I would have loved to give this story a good rating if it wasn't for the latest translated volume, which is volume 2.

I would not recommend this story. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?
December 29, 2015
Status: --
I had fun reading this up until the side stories became a thing.

It is nice to read how a spider survives and grow into a very powerful being. The hardships that accompanied her idiotic actions and overall it is funny.

The thing that did destroy the immersion I had was that the side stories got more and more focus as the chapters rolled. It gets very confusing and distracting to follow at times because it is also set in another timeline. Each side stories are just POV on side characters which... more>> is really unnecessary. We could have just followed the spider and get the same info instead of dragging it on these side stories which really just poorly executed.

Spoiler

You can see I hated how the author wrote the skill, it was never thought out pretty well like most of the WN out there.

The skills also don't follow any rules and the author just makes them like there is no tomorrow, I mean you could say Physical Resistance can have Blunt, Slash, and Pierce at level 1-3 respectively. And at level 10 you get total Physical Immunity instead there is another skill for it. As said the rules are nonexistent which made me cringe every time we get status reports that takes up half the chapter. The skill can upgrade to even better version but why? Its pointless if you have levels 1-10.

I would say this as part of the world building. And it is Weak.

[collapse]

In the end she becomes a tiring to watch especially in the later chapters because.

Spoiler

I will guess the author also got tired of writing in a perspective of the spider and just pull out a Deus Ex Machina plot twist to make her into something else.

She becomes a god and can transform into a humanoid form gets drunk (a lot and craves alcohol) and you will get subjected to her disgusting drunkard state which I question the relevance to the whole story.

After this the whole point of the story is basically ruined. It would have been best that it ended when she was still a spider to begin with. Totally disappointing.

[collapse]

In the end I didn't like it. I would recommend it to others though just don't expect that it will get better, but I guess that will be a matter of perspective. This after all became a guilty pleasure at this point. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
Hail the King
February 17, 2018
Status: c180
World building is a joke the author clearly has no regards to the medium he himself takes inspiration from. It is straight up copy and paste and even then he makes elementary mistakes. Diablo 2 Mercenaries can't use boots and the Rogue archers certainly have no poison and lightning arrows, I digress.

The characters are all the same, they all talk the same. "Hehehe smart political monologue or insult hehe" seriously a princess and a king is no different from a brigand from the way they talk, heck even villains and... more>> non-villains speak the same way. Just slap some label and its good to go.

Action is even repetitive, one thing the author did right from copying Diablo 2, "I have Bul Kathos Children set" is what you will read first and foremost the minute he acquires them in every single fight he goes. Like similar xianxia of its kind its a one sided massacre, I don't even know why they bother. You would be reading a few chapters just to finish off a single enemy at times. Which slows what little pacing the story has got.

There are also some segments in which the author just cuts important info to make the story "mysterious" but fails and just confuses the reader. Clearly an amateur mistake.

Overall its a bad read. Translation is also a hit and miss with names misspelled, which makes the already bad prose even worse. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
It is your typical Japanese story, God or not, I didn't know Gods also act like an otaku.

So far the story has been stretched out with half of the content of the chapter is them flirting in this common platonic harem route like all other web novels from Japan. The plot barely moves and you get these segmented chapters (part 1, 2, etc.) which make me think why make it longer than necessary when half of the content is unnecessary?

What bugs me about this story is that he does not... more>> make any effort to anything that doesn't have any split in between its legs. The people with "Light" attribute is already a clue that he should at least gather or plan them out but nothing is yet happening. He even ignores that one person who has that attribute be imprisoned and implied to be executed because it's a he, let's be honest here if it were a woman we would get another chapter for its background then another for its POV and another for... hey wait a minute.

Overall I would rate this somewhat ok, I will wait and see how the main character goes about. This really feels another Death march in the making which I really hope doesn't happen but its very close. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
Common Sense of a Duke’s Daughter
February 4, 2017
Status: c63
The story is interesting but the author has the inability to build up tension makes the story rather predictable in many ways. The characters are totally black and white, ally or enemy, no backstabs or any kind of plot twisting mumbo jumbo because you can clearly see who the villains are if you pay attention.

The villains are tacky and somewhat edgy in a sense that why they are called as such is just because they are an enemy of the main character, they do not have any other reasons for... more>> their actions.

Character development is forgettable, they seem to have a single purpose like those two knights or that maid girl or that merchant or that librarian. They look more like tools for the main character to choose from when she needs them and they are loyal to a fault, not resembling close to human's ever changing behaviour and attitudes. As his majesty Claire wills, so shall it be done.

And with that, the conclusion is that it is not really that bad but it's rife with flawed plot progression and robotic characters. Very predictable, very boring climaxes in every arc. You basically know who wins anyway. Read it if you like city building genres like I am but a caveat that it falls off quite fast, I am only interested in what happens on the fief and nothing else anymore. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
razgallo
razgallo rated it
My Father in Law is Lu Bu
December 29, 2015
Status: --
I like that the MC is funny enough at times and at one point he is commanding an army and their reactions on his training methods are funny let alone his slogan. This story is hilarious and yet it falls short.

Liu Mang (MC) is treated as a side character most of the time and it mainly tries to focus on politics, however it just gives you some historical facts and trivia. I would question the style of writing because of its repetitive paragraphs but I can only read the translation.... more>> This point is still valid however as the story gets dragging itself, it could be shortened but that's just me. His magical device on how he could transport from past to present is never explained, it just popped somewhere and boom he is now able to provide it. We are told that there are restrictions but it does not really matter much as we aren't able to specify the rules on how it works its just sloppy.

The title suggest that we would have more focus on MC and his Fiancee but that's false she may interact with him for a chapter or two then forgotten for another twenty. I feel that it needs to refocus itself to them but I think the author can't write about politics and power struggle that well seeing the later translations. The author just wants to convey that these Chinese heroes are very powerful that they could do superhuman abilities.

To be fair I never really got into the Chinese Histories aside hearing about them from Games and what not.

Don't take this story seriously though. I just read this because I find it funny, I would recommend this just for that reason. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report