Report Review
19 Reviews


rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Against the Gods
January 28, 2016
Status: --
If you visit the series rankings in this site, you will always see Against the Gods on the top 5. Usually that would already be reason enough to read it. But let me break down the details further. This xianxia doesn't start out as your typical xianxia. You are exposed to a lot of chapters of the MC being weak. And it's not just the typical 3-5 chapters till the MC starts slaughtering. No. He begins weak and remains that way for a long long time. But you will enjoy... more>> it. I guess you get to see the genius of the MC through this.

When he grows stronger and starts having all these godlike abilities, you enjoy it all the more. Many have said how ATG repeats and recycles scenes and plot structures. I agree. But the author wrote it in a very tolerable and actually enjoyable way to the extent that I don't actually see it as a bad thing for this particular novel.. Give it a read and you'll see why this novel ranks on the top.

If there is a downside to this awesome novel its that it's clearly not aimed for female readers. Every time a beautiful girl is introduced in detail, you can be sure that that girl will fall in to the inescapable arms of the MC. Seriously. Polygamy has to have its limits too you know?

Regardless I rate this as a 5. <<less
33 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Red Storm
November 6, 2017
Status: v2c1 part10
I read the manga first but after reading this to the latest chapter, I tried imagining myself reading this first before I read the manga. My conclusion is that the Manga is better than the novel in terms of its plot arrangement and delivery. I assume some "filler" chapters where introduced in the manga but it only made the story better and not worse. Although as a fan, I will still be reading this first. A good novel in its own but an even better story in the manga.
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Terror Infinity
February 18, 2016
Status: --
This novel catapulted to the top (and I mean Number 1) of my reading list.

I spent two days reading it straight destroying my productivity at work. I used to read xianxia style novels (ISSTH, ATG, TDG, etc) and this isn’t like one. But one can imagine just how great this novel is as it easily defeats everybody’s favorite ISSTH.

Though this may not be everyones favorite due to it being a horror genre, it will surely keep you entertained and wanting for more.

I agree with Korendir in saying its like Gantz... more>> but way better. Way better because this story shows how the MC evolves. Story wise, its easier to understand, simpler to appreciate and unlike Gantz with sooooooooo many plot holes, (seriously. I couldn’t sleep right after having read through and completed the manga due to the many plot holes, left out elements, and forgotten characters) this novel considers all elements, and even has a lot of room for your imagination to go wild. Read this freaking novel. I beg you! Also, as far as the story goes, (right now I’m at Vampiric Mask saga) I suggest watching the mummy and the mummy returns as a major essential part of the story takes place there and it would be good to have seen resedent evil and apocalypse. As for the rest of the movies, getting the overview is already enough.

anyways, 5/5 for me! <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Emperor’s Domination
October 20, 2016
Status: --
A rather interesting take in a super OP MC. He literally can do anything and kill anyone he wants. Similar to TDG but vastly more overpowered MC. The main difference is that despite how OP the MC of other CN's are, you still get this feeling of dread or threat that the MC feels. Fights that lead the MC to "struggled" to win. But not this MC. He doesn't struggle. We wins.

The action is fairly good, the romance is basically non-existent. He only gets girls to be part of his... more>> team and not a harem. (Unless future untranslated chapters consist of much harem)

All in all, I enjoyed this OP setup because of the world building and story. A resounding 5 stars for me. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
June 4, 2016
Status: c203
Take TDG basic premise. But instead of ultimate knowledge you get extreme cunning. Instead of "going with what you know" you get an MC who does things that his past life never did.

Aside from this, the MC RARELY fights. I mean, the MC has basically fought less than 10 times and that is up to chapter 203. The story is more about cunning, deception, a face-off between Sherlock Holmes and Prof. Moriarty. It has its generic xuanhuan elements but the setting is just different to the point that you feel... more>> you aren't reading a Xuanhuan or Xianxia novel.

As for comedy, I find the authors humor briliant. A very sarcastic and intellectual type at times (similar to the kind you find in the movie Burn After Reading) and very base and crude on the other. (Think of the moive 21, 22 Jump Street)

All in all, this Novel ROCKS!!!! Had to stop and drop everything else I was reading as I can't help but read this. An easy 5 star novel. Read it <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Immortal Mortal
November 8, 2017
Status: c150
Immortal Mortal truely fits its title. Unlike most CN which focuses on cultivation, Mo Wuji is very close to what a "mortal" is. Unlike other novels, this novel does not present an exagerated leap of strenght, an epic showdown of annihilating clans, an extremely smart MC who creates upsets at every turn, but displays a mortal trying to claw himself in an Immortal world.

As a novel it doesn't fly along the high action packed and crazy killing sprees of ATG, MTG. Nor does it offer the extreme wit and intellect... more>> of WMW, TGR, Spirit Realm. It floats in the "averageness." but this state of "average" is what drew me to get hooked to it.

Edit: Well I made the above comment a wee-bit too early. I didn't expect that a few chapters pass 150 his cultivation skyrocketed. However, I still stand by my observations. This is an "average" amongst dragons. But definitely worth the read. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
The Human Emperor
November 12, 2018
Status: c511
Read up to 511 (latest when I was reading this)

Five stars. Other reviews (negative ones) make this story sound too boring or too clique-ish but it's not. Its a unique spin to the second chance novel as it is mainly focused on army building (unlike others which emphasizes on MC growth)

Battles are well written. Especially the wars. Kind of like the manga/anime Kingdom. Uses actual Chinese history and adds an alternative world as a good spin to spice it up.

As several people "don't get" why this has high... more>> ratings... I don't get why people give this low rating... I enjoyed it. It gives the MC enough power to make you read in anticipation... enough knowledge to make you expect sure victory but at the same time enough opposition to keep you on the edge of your seat. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Stellar Transformation
May 18, 2016
Status: v18c24
A brillian IET novel which birngs all the joys and fun seen in Coiling Dragon. I just had to put this extremely positive review so to balance out the negative ones near the top. I mean seriously, I know to some, this won't be your cup of tea, but a one or two star is just too much! This book ain't bad and if you do find it bad it ain't THAT bad. At least have the decency and rate it a three star! New readers would be turned off... more>> and would miss this amazing novel. Anyways, if you enjoyed Coiling Dragon or Desolate Era, this one will definitely fill your appetite. As the book nears its end with our main MC slowly reaching the already revealed spoiler in Coiling Dragon's end, this ismy most anticipated book beyond all LN I've been following. As is suggested by many, this book slowly progresses. But that is a normal element in IET books but the epic comebacks and awesome moments are definitely worth it. Read it <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
December 15, 2017
Status: c1200
A 5/5 for me. Dark gritty world. I have to read or watch something happy after binge reading this. But a good read nonetheless. My only point of frustration is the MC ALWAYS outsmarts everyone.

Basically all you need to do is guess how the MC outsmarts his way to win in whatever challenge he is facing. Every arc is full of build up of the bad guys and a little bit on what the MC is doing. Then intense calamities arrives and MC stands at the peak of the mountain.... more>> Its a point of frustration for me, but I just couldn't resist. I have to read to find out how. It's been a wild ride reading this. I'm looking forward to the next novels the author will write. Waiting for the translation team to do about a hundred or 2 before I start though. Lol. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
The Desolate Era
July 4, 2016
Status: v14c16
Another great IET novel. If you enjoyed Stellar Transformations, Coiling Dragon, this is another novel to enjoy. It has its similar IET style flow with stories that parallels ST. I enjoyed ST and CD so obviously I enjoyed this one too. If you are new to the CN xianxia genre, then this is a good casual place to start.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Hail the King
November 12, 2018
Status: c279
Review as of 279...

Great story. Has almost everything that other reviewers rate an tell as bad. But I like the execution.

As they say, a lot of bad mouthing and MC brutally beating them up. Call me crazy, but It's actually one of my guilty pleasures.

Repetitive story. yeah. But aren't most WX novels repetitive? So I just gave it a five star to boost rating in respect with the Author. But my real score would be a 4. Good read though. I read this without prior knowledge to the plot. Big... more>> fan of Diablo 2. This story makes me want to play the game again.

I guess one of the major reasons why I read this is because of the Diablo 2 connection. But the story outside of Diablo 2 is also good. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Dragon-Marked War God
July 15, 2016
Status: c144
A very "standard" Xuanhuan novel. But that's just it. It doesn't have anything else that stands out.

It takes the generic, OP MC, lawless world with arrogant enemies and all that stuff. That I believe is the flaw of the novel. I mean even TDG, ATG, ISSTH, CD, MW, etc and all the other novels had their fill of near death experiences where they fought enemies that almost killed them. Not so with this. He basically wins by magnitude. Although, it may be too early to judge considering the translation is... more>> still on its early parts of the story. But if you are in to those, then this is enjoyable. As it so happens I am into these kinds. So i'll give it a 4 star. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari (WN)
July 4, 2016
Status: c386
A great novel overall. Has a lot of funny and awesome moments. I read through it now that its completed. I'm just going to give it a 4 though as there are arcs that was just so boring IMO. But nonetheless I was still interested and continued reading through it.

Although I rate it a 4 star, I recommend this as a must read.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Chaotic Sword God
January 28, 2016
Status: --
Those who read this novel up to 100 and says its starting to loose its juice are right. But only for a few chapters. I admit, I also stopped reading somewhere after the first hundred or so. Later I decided to continue the tale due to the many chapters added and much to my surprise and delight, this novel turned out to be Mt. Tai! The story takes a drastic turn from then on, transforming into an even more action packed story full of twist, friends and all the other... more>> xianxia themed events. I implore those who stopped to pick it up again. Unless you want to be one of those who has eyes but can’t see Mt. Tai.

It’ll be a drag, but it’s worth it. A 5/5 for me. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Peerless Martial God
January 28, 2016
Status: --
Is this novel any good?

To me, yes. This is a very entertaining novel despite its lack of plot twist.
The story can simply be summarized as, someone bragging to be strong, the MC appearing and wipping the floor with the other guy while teaching him/her (yes the MC beats girls as well. Gender Equality Achieved!) and showing off how superior he is while impressing both friends and foes a like. It's as if the author was someone bullied all his life and used this novel as a way of expressing... more>> his hatred or something. There are times where I find this disturbing.

People around the MC will feel their "heart throbing" and "mind exploding" from the shear awesomeness of the MC. Its actually very very typical. Take this plot structure and repeat it for all eternity.

But why is it good? Simple. I enjoy it. Though it doesn't rank as high as the biggest names in xianxia novels like ATG, CD, ISSTH, TDG and other top ranking novels, this will be one of the novels which you read after reading all your faves.

I give this "nice-to-see-daily-update" novel a 4. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
That Person. Later on…
October 20, 2017
Status: --
A mindless, plot-less, wish-fulfilling, harem-building, Japanese styled novel aimed to satisfy little boys dream. No clear plot. Very little character development, repetitive scenarios, eccentric comedy styles. I agree with all the comments that rated this star a one star.

Do I agree with them that this novel sucks? Definitely not. I read this novel up to 70% of what was translated in just one day. I enjoy this novel albeit how poor this is written and how dumb it is. So I recommend this to anyone looking for a light read.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
Shen Yin Wang Zuo
October 17, 2016
Status: c417
A feel-good story about a righteous MC with a very unrealistic love interest. MC overcomes whatever is thrown at him and continues to grow at an astonishing pace. If you enjoyed Douluo Dalu, then you will enjoy this. I personally enjoy this very monotonous progression of the MC winning again and again. The fight scenes are very detailed unlike the typical "MC smashes opponent, opponent smashes back, both fist collide and MC stays firm while enemy zooms across the horizon spitting out blood." The action and details of the powers,... more>> skills abilities are what draws me interested.

Of course the character development is admittedly poor as what others have said. But IMO, its just an iota of an error against the greater picture of the novel. 5 Stars without a doubt. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
The King’s Avatar
May 25, 2016
Status: 355
The one thing that stopped me from reading this novel is the concept. I mean, its just a mouse and keyboard MMORPG game. How can it be any good right? Oh was I so wrong. Once I started I just had to read it to the latest chapter.

Have you dreamt to be someone sooooo freaking awesome at something? If you have, then this novel will surely satisfy your fantasy.

Imagine him, a mighty king, reduced to a simple peasant. And imagine what he will do to reclaim his throne. This super-divine-paragon-high-saint-universe-multi-galactical-presedential-lord-of-Pandemonium... more>> isn't just going to sit and cry. He will return. He will make his comeback.

The plot is awesome. Don't underestimate the setting. This will captivate you. Read It. 5 well deserved star for this. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rapture_edge
rapture_edge rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
January 28, 2016
Status: --
While all xianxia novels are generally similar in concept but would have something new to offer, ISSTH is by far, the most unique xianxia novel I have read to date. This is mainly because it isn’t focused on cultivation. The MC doesn’t start out that OP but slowly gets to that point. He reaches that point of OP that is just enough to make you admire him but not so much that the threat around him becomes boring.

And then things start to get weird. But not the bad kind, the... more>> good kind. Readers will agree that the best supporting characters in all xianxia novels are found in this novel and you will know who they are once you read about them.

As for our MC, he becomes a being which surpasses Professor Snape as well as a Pokemon Trainer surpassing those of the Indigo League. You get to see Crobat’s and Arcanines in action, and who know’s what else the MC will become.

It’s a good ride. Read it. 5/5 <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report