Report Review
11 Reviews


rainydayromantic
This story has potential and and interesting premise, so I'm rating 5 stars to start.

The MC is smart and adaptable after already experiencing the post-apocalyptic world in her previous life, should be interesting to watch as she and the FL grow in power together. There's been some good set-up for intriguing back stories for the main characters, and I'm pretty sure that all is not what it appears.

The translation is good quality and the translator is witty! I look forward to reading more!
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Who Touched My Tail!
June 27, 2019
Status: c189
This is definitely in my top 3 fast-wear novels. Each arc is interesting, the overall plot progression is well done, and it doesn't get repetitive like some world-hopping romances do. The translator does an excellent job as well.

Other reviewers have said it better, but I really love the MC's foxy tsundere personality and his relationship dynamic with the ML. They show their love for each other in their own unique ways. The ML could easily lock his lover in a black room like he wants to, but he also wants... more>> to see MC fly freely, so he is willing to do absolutely anything to make the MC happy. I love watching the MC tease the repressed ML until he finally blows his top haha. MC definitely wears the pants in the relationship, lol. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
I Have Medicine
July 2, 2019
Status: Completed
After reading this a year ago, I think this is still my favorite chinese bl novel (which is surprising to me because I generally like a bit more meat/romance than this novel has). The world building the author does is absolutely incredible, the lore goes deeper than you realize, and unlike many cultivation novels, each part is interesting and exciting, and the plot holes aren't many or aren't obvious. As the MC and ML push through to greater heights, they still revisit old places and old friends, which is also... more>> nice!

The main couple is soooo complementary and I love their dynamic! The ML is definitely the OP super-intelligent genius, but he would have gotten nowhere without our MC's help. Our MC is a little silly, quite pragmatic, and determined to become stronger to support the ML and stand beside him (honestly, he undervalues himself sometimes!) He's no weak chicken and grows in strength and maturity in a very satisfying way as the story proceeds. His obsession with collecting medicinal ingredients is the cutest! The romance is slow burn, but a very natural progression. The love is obviously there way before the 'romance' begins. Our main couple is always making their decisions with the other in mind in a way that just makes you want to melt.

The author does a great job of painting an unscientific fantasy world of cultivation and ups the ante each time our main couple expands their horizons. They also do a great job of holding us in suspense as the mystery slowly unfolds of who is the real enemy and why their world has come to such a state. The sheer number of medicinal ingredients, magical beasts (and parts), martial arts, special skills, and interesting side characters that are described in this novel is mind boggling. Seriously, you're going to LOVE some of the side characters and couples. Somehow the author manages to keep it all in order and I didn't feel like the cultivation system was overly cumbersome or confusing.

The ending is ultimately quite satisfying and definitely the logical conclusion of the novel. It's long but doesn't go so long that the story goes off the rails like in some other cultivation novels.

The translator is also doing an excellent job with this story and I'm loving re-reading the story in a nicely translated format. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
This looks promising and adorably funny! World-hopping novel about an inexperienced young man who dies choking on a grape and is forcibly pulled into a fast-wear situation, assisted by a rather condescending system. His mission seems to be to travel to many worlds and 'abuse' Mary Sue and Gary Sue characters, disrupting their plot-lines. Not much background on the MC so far, but I can foresee his character archetype leaning towards the silly-stupid, but very earnest, shou. Maybe as the novel progresses he'll get smarter and more powerful, but so... more>> far he is the opposite of OP, haha. His interactions with his system add a bit of dry humor to the story. Slight ch 1 spoiler: In this first arc, he transmigrates into a golden retriever, so you can imagine from that premise that we will see some ridiculous situations.

<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Childish Flower
May 6, 2019
Status: Completed
Omg who is cutting onions in here? These aren't tears, they were caused by the onions... yep it's all the onions' fault.

Prepare the box of tissues because this story gives a healthy dose of heartache before a sweet ending. It's a solid and emotional short story. There are some things I would love to have been discussed more, but the author does a good job of focusing on the progression of inner emotions of our MC and ML in the short story format that we are given. Definitely recommend this... more>> one if you are in the mood for a good cry (but don't worry, no tragedies here.) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Refined Sunflower and the Little Priest
April 9, 2019
Status: Completed
Short and sweet! There's even a side couple!
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
If You Don’t Fall In Love, You’ll Die
April 2, 2019
Status: Completed
Really good quality, premium dog food right here! I used MTL to read to the end. Nothing too heavy or serious, just right if you want a feel-good read and to laugh a little. Very romance-focused story. The spicy chicken system seems determined to pit the MC at first, but you'll find out the reason later. _ (: 3) ∠) _

The side characters and couples are great and you get to explore more in the extras at the end. Really just makes my heart feel like it's been tied up... more>> in a bright red bow. I definitely recommend this one! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Wife, You Can’t Run After Eating
December 20, 2018
Status: c75 part1
Hmm, how should I say this - as compared to other transmigration novels, this is like a sitcom comedy rather than a thrilling drama. It's absolutely hilarious! Definitely don't take it too seriously and you'll enjoy it. Personally, I find it refreshing and funny, and I can't wait to see just how she's going to eat all those pretty men!

(Edit) I will say that the translation quality is somewhat lacking. The pronouns and proper names get mixed up quite often. It's not too difficult to tell what is going... more>> on in the story and infer what the sentences are talking about, but it does get annoying. Nonetheless, I'm happy I get to read this anyways because without the translator I wouldn't have found this fun novel to enjoy! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
The Ugly Man’s Big Transformation
April 30, 2019
Status: Completed
I give this story 4 stars as my actual rating, but put 5 stars on NU to counter some of the 1-star ratings.

Ultimately this story is about two very damaged souls finding solace in each other, but because they are so unused to normal human interactions/relationships - many misunderstandings ensue. The story is actually pretty original and was interesting to read, definitely kept my attention the whole way through (even with confusing MTL).

MC is so beaten down and bullied in his real life resulting in a severely stunted emotional maturity.... more>> This causes his personality to be naive and child-like/childish. He suffers from deep insecurities and feelings of worthlessness. He definitely fits the silly-stupid-shou archetype, but he has his moments of brilliance too. He grows a lot throughout the novel and even though he maintains his whimsical personality and sense of humor, he learns compassion, hard-work, and becomes more sensible as the story progresses. He has his own concept of honor and 'manliness' that he sticks to and, to his credit, he holds to his convictions.

The ML is realllllllyyyy twisted. Like psychopath-level twisted. But he has his reasons as well, he is a product of his environment. He is also a very damaged person who has never learned what love and human warmth can be. Like MC, he also grows in maturity as the story progresses. The MC and ML experience many misunderstandings, which might seem repetitive (LIKE WHY CAN'T YOU JUST COMMUNICATE?), but you see that the ML's twisted response becomes more moderated each time and start learning from his mistakes. The MC's light contrasts and deflects the ML's darkness. As long as the MC is by his side, he can find meaning in the world.
Spoiler

I'm not sure if I can say the ML becomes fully 'good' by the end of the story, but there is a happy ending.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Mr. Dior
April 9, 2019
Status: c19 part2
I've never laughed so hard while reading a novel. Be advised if you read this in public, you might look like a crazy person laughing at their phone hahaha. I know this from experience lol! This story is really sweet and the plot device of the ML's many characters lets the 7-year-old marriage be refreshed and renewed. It feels like they get to fall in love all over again! Definitely recommend this novel if you are looking for something entertaining and not too heavy.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
The Scum Shou’s Survival Guide
February 17, 2019
Status: Completed
I have been on a fast-wear reading binge and I have to say this is one of the better and more unique ones I have read so far! I highly recommend it!

I used MTL to read to the end, definitely will re-read as the translation comes out. I usually avoid the 'tragedy' tag like the plague, but this story does have a happy ending! Sometimes you just want to cry it out - I swear I used up at least 2 boxes of tissues reading this story over the weekend.... more>> The author really does an excellent job of making you invested in the story of each arc/world and cry your heart out in the process. It's very cathartic.

I love how the MC really gets into his roles and you even get to follow the inner dialogue of the tragic character he is playing in each world. The MC and his relationship with his system provides great comic relief and reminds you that these worlds are not 'real' - that the MC is treating it like an amusing game, even if only to protect his own feelings. He is such a trooper to get tortured so much in each world and still exit without major psychological damage. The ending is quite a twist and it's very exciting to see how everything comes together at the end! <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report