Report Review
15 Reviews


rainydayromantic
This story has potential and and interesting premise, so I'm rating 5 stars to start.

The MC is smart and adaptable after already experiencing the post-apocalyptic world in her previous life, should be interesting to watch as she and the FL grow in power together. There's been some good set-up for intriguing back stories for the main characters, and I'm pretty sure that all is not what it appears.

The translation is good quality and the translator is witty! I look forward to reading more!
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
I Have Medicine
July 2, 2019
Status: Completed
After reading this a year ago, I think this is still my favorite chinese bl novel (which is surprising to me because I generally like a bit more meat/romance than this novel has). The world building the author does is absolutely incredible, the lore goes deeper than you realize, and unlike many cultivation novels, each part is interesting and exciting, and the plot holes aren't many or aren't obvious. As the MC and ML push through to greater heights, they still revisit old places and old friends, which is also... more>> nice!

The main couple is soooo complementary and I love their dynamic! The ML is definitely the OP super-intelligent genius, but he would have gotten nowhere without our MC's help. Our MC is a little silly, quite pragmatic, and determined to become stronger to support the ML and stand beside him (honestly, he undervalues himself sometimes!) He's no weak chicken and grows in strength and maturity in a very satisfying way as the story proceeds. His obsession with collecting medicinal ingredients is the cutest! The romance is slow burn, but a very natural progression. The love is obviously there way before the 'romance' begins. Our main couple is always making their decisions with the other in mind in a way that just makes you want to melt.

The author does a great job of painting an unscientific fantasy world of cultivation and ups the ante each time our main couple expands their horizons. They also do a great job of holding us in suspense as the mystery slowly unfolds of who is the real enemy and why their world has come to such a state. The sheer number of medicinal ingredients, magical beasts (and parts), martial arts, special skills, and interesting side characters that are described in this novel is mind boggling. Seriously, you're going to LOVE some of the side characters and couples. Somehow the author manages to keep it all in order and I didn't feel like the cultivation system was overly cumbersome or confusing.

The ending is ultimately quite satisfying and definitely the logical conclusion of the novel. It's long but doesn't go so long that the story goes off the rails like in some other cultivation novels.

The translator is also doing an excellent job with this story and I'm loving re-reading the story in a nicely translated format. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Who Touched My Tail!
June 27, 2019
Status: c189
This is definitely in my top 3 fast-wear novels. Each arc is interesting, the overall plot progression is well done, and it doesn't get repetitive like some world-hopping romances do. The translator does an excellent job as well.

Other reviewers have said it better, but I really love the MC's foxy tsundere personality and his relationship dynamic with the ML. They show their love for each other in their own unique ways. The ML could easily lock his lover in a black room like he wants to, but he also wants... more>> to see MC fly freely, so he is willing to do absolutely anything to make the MC happy. I love watching the MC tease the repressed ML until he finally blows his top haha. MC definitely wears the pants in the relationship, lol. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
If You Don’t Fall In Love, You’ll Die
April 2, 2019
Status: Completed
Really good quality, premium dog food right here! I used MTL to read to the end. Nothing too heavy or serious, just right if you want a feel-good read and to laugh a little. Very romance-focused story. The spicy chicken system seems determined to pit the MC at first, but you'll find out the reason later. _ (: 3) ∠) _

The side characters and couples are great and you get to explore more in the extras at the end. Really just makes my heart feel like it's been tied up... more>> in a bright red bow. I definitely recommend this one! <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
This looks promising and adorably funny! World-hopping novel about an inexperienced young man who dies choking on a gr*pe and is forcibly pulled into a fast-wear situation, assisted by a rather condescending system. His mission seems to be to travel to many worlds and 'abuse' Mary Sue and Gary Sue characters, disrupting their plot-lines. Not much background on the MC so far, but I can foresee his character archetype leaning towards the silly-stupid, but very earnest, shou. Maybe as the novel progresses he'll get smarter and more powerful, but so... more>> far he is the opposite of OP, haha. His interactions with his system add a bit of dry humor to the story. Slight ch 1 spoiler: In this first arc, he transmigrates into a golden retriever, so you can imagine from that premise that we will see some ridiculous situations.

<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Childish Flower
May 6, 2019
Status: Completed
Omg who is cutting onions in here? These aren't tears, they were caused by the onions... yep it's all the onions' fault.

Prepare the box of tissues because this story gives a healthy dose of heartache before a sweet ending. It's a solid and emotional short story. There are some things I would love to have been discussed more, but the author does a good job of focusing on the progression of inner emotions of our MC and ML in the short story format that we are given. Definitely recommend this... more>> one if you are in the mood for a good cry (but don't worry, no tragedies here.) <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
The Ugly Man’s Big Transformation
April 30, 2019
Status: Completed
I give this story 4 stars as my actual rating, but put 5 stars on NU to counter some of the 1-star ratings.

Ultimately this story is about two very damaged souls finding solace in each other, but because they are so unused to normal human interactions/relationships - many misunderstandings ensue. The story is actually pretty original and was interesting to read, definitely kept my attention the whole way through (even with confusing MTL).

MC is so beaten down and bullied in his real life resulting in a severely stunted emotional maturity.... more>> This causes his personality to be naive and child-like/childish. He suffers from deep insecurities and feelings of worthlessness. He definitely fits the silly-stupid-shou archetype, but he has his moments of brilliance too. He grows a lot throughout the novel and even though he maintains his whimsical personality and sense of humor, he learns compassion, hard-work, and becomes more sensible as the story progresses. He has his own concept of honor and 'manliness' that he sticks to and, to his credit, he holds to his convictions.

The ML is realllllllyyyy twisted. Like psychopath-level twisted. But he has his reasons as well, he is a product of his environment. He is also a very damaged person who has never learned what love and human warmth can be. Like MC, he also grows in maturity as the story progresses. The MC and ML experience many misunderstandings, which might seem repetitive (LIKE WHY CAN'T YOU JUST COMMUNICATE?), but you see that the ML's twisted response becomes more moderated each time and start learning from his mistakes. The MC's light contrasts and deflects the ML's darkness. As long as the MC is by his side, he can find meaning in the world.
Spoiler

I'm not sure if I can say the ML becomes fully 'good' by the end of the story, but there is a happy ending.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Wife, You Can’t Run After Eating
December 20, 2018
Status: c75 part1
Hmm, how should I say this - as compared to other transmigration novels, this is like a sitcom comedy rather than a thrilling drama. It's absolutely hilarious! Definitely don't take it too seriously and you'll enjoy it. Personally, I find it refreshing and funny, and I can't wait to see just how she's going to eat all those pretty men!

(Edit) I will say that the translation quality is somewhat lacking. The pronouns and proper names get mixed up quite often. It's not too difficult to tell what is going... more>> on in the story and infer what the sentences are talking about, but it does get annoying. Nonetheless, I'm happy I get to read this anyways because without the translator I wouldn't have found this fun novel to enjoy! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Refined Sunflower and the Little Priest
April 9, 2019
Status: Completed
Short and sweet! There's even a side couple!
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Mr. Dior
April 9, 2019
Status: c19 part2
I've never laughed so hard while reading a novel. Be advised if you read this in public, you might look like a crazy person laughing at their phone hahaha. I know this from experience lol! This story is really sweet and the plot device of the ML's many characters lets the 7-year-old marriage be refreshed and renewed. It feels like they get to fall in love all over again! Definitely recommend this novel if you are looking for something entertaining and not too heavy.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
The Scum Shou’s Survival Guide
February 17, 2019
Status: Completed
I have been on a fast-wear reading binge and I have to say this is one of the better and more unique ones I have read so far! I highly recommend it!

I used MTL to read to the end, definitely will re-read as the translation comes out. I usually avoid the 'tragedy' tag like the plague, but this story does have a happy ending! Sometimes you just want to cry it out - I swear I used up at least 2 boxes of tissues reading this story over the weekend.... more>> The author really does an excellent job of making you invested in the story of each arc/world and cry your heart out in the process. It's very cathartic.

I love how the MC really gets into his roles and you even get to follow the inner dialogue of the tragic character he is playing in each world. The MC and his relationship with his system provides great comic relief and reminds you that these worlds are not 'real' - that the MC is treating it like an amusing game, even if only to protect his own feelings. He is such a trooper to get tortured so much in each world and still exit without major psychological damage. The ending is quite a twist and it's very exciting to see how everything comes together at the end! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
I Have a Sickness
November 17, 2019
Status: Completed
This is your standard fast-wear novel where the MC is killed in a car accident, attached to a system, and made to run tasks to 'rectify' the story line in the various worlds. In each world, the MC's character is afflicted by either a physical or mental illness (portrayal not always accurate - esp that some can be 'cured' - but that's my own personal gripe). In all, this story didn't leave a huge impression on me. It's not bad, but it's not that great either. If you like fast-wear... more>> BL, then I'm sure you'll enjoy this as a comfortable read, but you def won't be missing out if you decide to skip it.

Something unique about this novel is that all the worlds are all in the modern world. Unfortunately that does make it repetitive and I was losing interest in the family dog-blood drama by the end. Even the different illnesses didn't add much that flavor or drama to the different worlds - the 2 exception being the mental hospital task world (so funny), and the heart disease world (I cried so hard). The MC himself by the end is basically rushing through the worlds to get back to the real world so that he can find his lover, and you can definitely sense his lack of interest in the last few task worlds. It finally picks back up again once he goes back to the real world - learning the truth about his lover and where they go next is entertaining enough to wrap up the novel. I especially liked the extra story at the end.

Something I really liked about this novel is that the MC is very comfortable with his sexuality and is equally as enthusiastic and open about s*x as the ML. None of the stereotypical bottom tropes about wanting to avoid 'punishment' s*x or not being able to get out of bed for 3 days. You can say it is all very consensual and mutually satisfying. The ML is OP and is def a golden thigh who is cold to everyone but gentle to the MC, but he's not the yandere/obsessive-controlling type. He rather respects the ability of the MC and happily supports him from the side. Other than that, there's not much character development for him. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Fake Cinderella
November 9, 2019
Status: Completed
I'm conflicted about how to write this review - my main conclusion is that it was unsatisfying for me as a novel, but I did read it to the end.

The first half of this story only gets 3 stars - the mystery kept me reading, but the way it was written was really not my cup of tea. Maybe it's the way J-novels are written, but there is a ton of introspection that leads absolutely nowhere and doesn't add much to the plot, just makes me frustrated with the FL.... more>> It's also a LOT of dry exposition about past events and genealogy in very long boring conversations. I mean, I appreciate world building, but there must be a more interesting way to do it. I also did not find a satisfactory resolution to all the horrible things that poor Alterie had to go through as a child. The way the FL moves on from the past is just so dismissive. While the relationship between the CP is very sweet and I have no doubt of their love, there is very little romance in this novel, their relationship takes a backstage (I mean she stays in the body of a 11-13 year old girl the whole time, so what could happen?) The food also comes in and out of the story, but really isn't that prominent either. So if you are reading for romance and food porn, you probably should forget this novel.

The 2nd half of the novel is a bit better in terms of plot pace and brings the rating up to 3.5 (rounded to 4), perhaps because the necessary exposition happens in the 1st half. But the ultimate mystery behind her identity doesn't get much resolution in the 2nd half either.

2nd half major spoiler:
Spoiler

I think her transmigration had something to do with her being the 'key princess' and that one of the doors she could open in the strange palace basement might lead back to modern Japan or something, but that never happened? It's never made clear what the magic of the key princess is actually worth (other than being protected by the crown as the last descendant of the Unification Empire) So that was pretty frustrating for me. What was the point? She also doesn't really bring any major innovation to the world being a modern person, other than a few new recipes for sweets.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Pampered Fei Brimming with Cuteness
October 22, 2019
Status: c236
This novel is quite funny and I enjoyed the play at first, but after 100 chapters or so the main character's repeated ridiculous and unreasonable behavior started to grate on me. Don't get me wrong, I love arrogant and domineering female MCs, but this one just hit the wrong notes for me. I continued to read because I do really like the ML (he's so freaking sweet!), but I think I'm gonna have to drop this one because my annoyance with the MC is no longer outweighed by the comedy... more>> she provides.

If you've ever read one of those "Cannon-fodder- counter-attacks" type stories, she exactly the kind of arrogant protagonist who is actually a really stupid villain. I can't believe there's actually 1800+ chapters of this - I hope there's some sort of character growth, but I won't hold out hope.

I swear to god the guys in this book are all shaking Ms! There is absolutely nothing cute or redeemable about the MC's abhorrent character, yet they are all begging for her abuse lol. She's quite plainly, a jumping clown, who stirs up chaos wherever she goes with her arrogant and narcissistic actions, then runs to the the ML to protect her when she realizes she's gone too far for the umpteenth time. She believes she's so capable and smart, yet she's actually totally useless. I can barely believe that she was a cop in her past life, except for one time she actually half-admitted that she could act so domineering because she was protected by her male colleagues (wtf!). If the female MC is going to be domineering and arrogant in the face of everything, she better be as OP as hell to back it up, not completely relying on men to clean up her messes and protect her from the consequences. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
rainydayromantic
rainydayromantic rated it
Wounded Ego
October 14, 2019
Status: Completed
Pretty damn cheesy. This short story is just ok. Read for the sadistic s*x scenes, not for emotions or great character development. And the alpha is still a selfish bastard even in the extras after they get together.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report