Report Review
13 Reviews


pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
Virtual World: Peerless White Emperor
May 14, 2017
Status: c111
Chapter 12 - [Rated 4 stars]

Looks very good at this time.

4 friends in a virtual world. 3 of them with the objective of sustaining themselves economically in school by being pro gamer; the fourth friend (female) to maintain an eye on them (specially a romantic eye in the MC).

... more>> The interaction between the 3 friends (and everyone else) are fun and challenging. They all seem low IQ airheads but the efficacy of their actions contradict this notion.

The combat descriptions are better than the average in light novels.

By Chap. 12, the title of this novel could have been 'the good heart of hoodlums', maybe 'the despicable friends' or even better 'the 3 stooges in a virtual world'...

Chap 33: The serious part in the story is confirmed. The MC seem to have a ruthless and bloody background. It should give a counter balance to the comedy aspect. But we will have to wait to see if it doesn't wreck the narrative. A bad example of that is Zhan Long novel (although its VR part was also very poor).

Chapter 111 - [Rated 5 stars]

I really must give it a better rating. It does deserve it.

Some novels go and repeat themselves without originality or loose all focus and they turn very boring. Not with this one, it seems. And all that by maintaining the same relaxing and fun pace from the beginning and by just playing with the personalities of the characters, their expectations and the situations.

Some interesting points: the virtual world gives indications of being very different from what we usually see in VR game novels. As the 'real world' it also has its differences from a contemporary one. So much more challenges can be expected to be enjoyed in the future.

A good word to define this type of novel should be: 'Satire'. The author is really laughing at the genre and we can be his companions in crime. <<less
42 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
The Avalon of Five Elements
March 28, 2016
Status: --
[Read until chap 25.]:

lol.

It is really at the level of ‘World of Cultivation’, the other work of the author.

Great humor and great quality.

Although, at the beginning, the story is kind of slow and and the world-building confusing. Now it is getting to be a very enjoying read.
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
The Monk That Wanted To Renounce Asceticism
October 17, 2018
Status: c86
Fun and somewhat original cultivation slice of life.

The characters are well rounded, which is surprising given that they come and go like impromptu visits. The MC has a little complexity (not much yet). He can be likeable and seem to be evolving to some degree.

The descriptions are a little above the average that webnovels have accustomed us. Unfortunately, this gives no bragging rights given the webnovels standard. [Edit chap 86: nope, they are on the average standard : (] And the author show the tendency to waste most if... more>> not the whole of some chapters to enlighten the reader about the details and history of Buddhism. He tries to not make it boring, but it nonetheless feels as expository writing, especially given the length of the paragraphs. Fortunately it is not done often.

In term of the plot, the system decides everything. So it is better to think of this story as a 'slice of life' and not expect too much of it at this time. On the other hand, I must say that the restrictions, imposed by the system on the MC, create some balance and interest/potential to the story.

As for the low rating, it is not too unexpected, since this is from qidian and some people rate automatically without even reading a line...
However I do believe that some of them are genuine. This novel is on a niche of its own. One example would be because of differences in opinions on religion which could be a deserving reason for a low rating. In particular as a consequence of certain behaviors and words by specifics characters in early chapters.
Also one must not forget that not every body likes a MC that do not kill every thing that stumble in its path.

All in all and at this time, I personally like this story very much. Principally because of its humor and also its rhythm and vibe (as mentioned by @1life4death in its review). For this reason I will give it a 5. Let's hope that it continues in the same way.

Edit chap 86:

Good things cannot last for long... I have to drop the rating by one star, from 5 to 4.

I just passed trough an arc with a goal that seemed big for the future of the MC. But for the readers, who were just waiting for a simple slapstick, it felt more like endless filler where most of the humor was too forced. Right when the arc ended, the goods 'vibes' began again.

The author really failed that part. Here is to hoping that he learned from his mistakes for the followup chapters... <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
Invincible
January 14, 2017
Status: c58
I had good hopes for this one and it is a shame given the great work of the translator, but at this time it seems that we have another Peerless Martial God in the making : (

Peerless Martial God also has an excellent translator. I hope it isn't a trend...

At this chapter, all that is left of the good initial potential of the story is arrogance and mercilessness of the MC vs. stupid blindness of the antagonists. Well at least the MC is not self-righteous like the protagonist of PMG.

I... more>> know that, by my point of view, the story has being constantly descending in quality. And I don't intend to wait for a 1000 chapter until the story finally appeals to me. I don't know if I have the energy/time to discover the truth of the matter.

In the beginning, the story deserved at least a rating of 4, but now I will give it a 3. That is: before I regret it... <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
A Sorcerer’s Journey
June 19, 2017
Status: c43
This novel has many positive attributes and it would deserve at least a rating of 4 for it.

But it also have some problems and they all seem to come in an annoying manner.

One example of the worst are the combat descriptions. They are really very bad. Their rhythm is completely unnatural and immediately takes the reader out o the story. This is an issue with most of the Chinese novels, but since those novels have so many others problems, one can usually ignore them a little. In the case of... more>> this novel, it has more good parts than bad and gives a good reading immersion. But all these nuisances come to the fore in a messy way at the worst moment. That is totally irritating.

It is unfortunate that these details (i am lowering my requirements since this is a light novel) spoil such potential and botch the reading. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
King of Gods
February 23, 2017
Status: c202
Interesting ideas with potential. Nothing really too original. A good rhythm in the action. An intelligent and resourceful MC. All in all, it should deserve a 3.5 (rounded to 4) rating at least.

But I think that the reader must have some empathy with the MC for a story to have a good rating and for me to be willing to give it some 'suspension of disbelief'.

Much more so with web novels. They can have 1000 or 2000 chapters. The time invested in them, by the reader, has to be... more>> of some quality/enjoyment.
It is worse, if one remember that, given the writing conditions of the authors, the revisions and writing quality of web novels are usually very poor.

Unfortunately, lately the MC has being having some unjustified actions (not foreshadowed in terms of plot, character moral,...) that loose all the little empathy that I had accumulated. I could ignore it and continue to seek the more positive aspects of the story. But there is a time, when one is just hurting oneself by sticking to a negative relationship with an unlikable MC.

And I am not into masochism.

A rating of 3 should be enough, before I say goodbye to this novel. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
Master Hunter K
January 22, 2017
Status: c55
A simple read, it seems. Maybe a little hypnotic, even claustrophobic... One level after each other, like doing only the main quest in a single player game because there is nothing more. It might be a little better in the next chapters?

Some potentially interesting side characters, but the MC is kind of generic, although not too difficult to relate.

I cannot give it a 4 at this time, but it may deserves more in the future. I just don't know if I will give the story a chance, since I am... more>> sending it to the 'pause/let's decide later' shelve. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
Rebirth of The Heavenly Demon
June 3, 2017
Status: c45
Old master at the top of martial world dies and reincarnate in the body of a young and wretched playboy. The reputation of the new body is very bad and his fiance wants to cancel their engagement. He has a conflict with another young master from an enemy family. There are clues that the old master's death was not natural. Will the MC seek vengeance?

Everything in the beginning is totally cliche and do not inspire the reader. That would be it, but the rhythm of the story is kind of... more>> different from the norm. The plot is quick but the feeling is slow and nostalgic. It is reason enough to give this novel more chances to prove itself.

Fortunately, by chap 45, one can say that it deserved the chance.

The MC do feel like an old man that has reincarnated and it isn't difficult to relate with him. The story is centered on the intelligence and personality of the characters. Although the MC will probably settle the accounts of his previous life, vengeance is not an important theme at this point. More like strategy and politic on one side and a search for understanding of certain aspects of life in the other.

At this point one can give to this novel a rating of 4 for its quality. Will it please everyone? Probably not, because of the above mentioned rhythm. The word 'intense' do not apply well to this novel. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
MMORPG: Rebirth of the Legendary Guardian
May 18, 2017
Status: c98
Overall not a bad novel, but it has some problems that lower its value.

One of them is: what are the objectives of the MC? It gives some reasons (professional gamer, girlfriend, revenge etc), but they feel vague in terms of the importance they have for the MC. He only talk of it but we see little to nothing... The 1 chapters did a good job, but after that: the MC rarely confront its feeling about the issue. We ear about it in passing like if it has minimal relevance, just... more>> a mark to pass in the future road.

Because of this, as a reader, I do not feel great attachment for these so called important reasons (i end up forgetting about them), so why must I continue with the directionless effort?

This sentiment (or lack of it) correlates with a weak emotional investment from the reader (me) to the MC in many others things. That is in other words: where is the enticement?

Where are the great and little antagonists? It all feels to easy at this stage.

The rhythm and style of the story reminds me of Zhan Long. Interesting in the beginning and always full of action but the more you read, the more tedious it becomes.

I will give this novel some more chances, but, already chapter 98, and it is beginning to be a little boring. It will surely change later on (when the so called important reasons finally appear in the flesh), but it really is slow coming : ( <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
Martial World
February 20, 2016
Status: --
I just read Martial World until chapter 18.

One can easily see that this story is from the same author as True Martial World. It has a very similar rhythm, quality, MC and, it seems, maybe even plot (in general term).

Another good point is the extraordinary speed of the new translator (hyorinmaru) with a Release Frequency of 0.3 at the moment when I write this review.

A novel with an easy read and with a MC that is not just immediately killing everyone that he don't like.
If I can give a... more>> 4 to Coiling Dragon then this one surely deserves at least one too in my opinion.
Nice, very nice.

P.S. I do not rate web novels in the same way as I rate books, since I look for very different things in the two of them and the working condition of the authors are completely different. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
December 31, 2017
Status: c475
I am truly conflicted by this novel. I almost abandoned it several times but here I am still.

This is a comedy with interesting (but not original) caricature characters, with a little, but subtle, variety. The characters are also reasonably consistent and relatable, although not the least developed. In addition, one can mention the translation, which seem of relatively good quality (i cannot say more since I do not know chinese and cannot compare to the source, but I certainly cannot say anything bad at this point, quite the contrary).

The fact... more>> is that I can endorse most of what has been said by the reviews with a rating of 3 or less.

    • It is endlessly repetitive,
    • formulaic,
    • face slapping not funny after the 2 or 3 time (every chapter seem to have it and we are at almost 500 at this time...),
    • the phrasing and reactions of the chorus is almost always the same,
    • endless fillers,...
From this one can infer that the comedy tag may be doubted.

On the other hand, it has some addictive qualities that are difficult to fight.

Like @paradoxclouds mentioned in an earlier review: "The easiest way too explain this novel is that it's the junk food equivalent of novels."

Even though, the quality of the writing and the story should deserve a low rating by my standards, I cannot ignore the fact that I continue to read it almost like a fan.

So and until I come to my senses, I will give a 4. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
The Great Thief
June 21, 2017
Status: c121
Could be better and it has some good qualities. I would have rated it higher in the beginning.

Two of the main problems are characters and plot.

The characters never develop and stay one dimensional (MC included) and I have lost the direction of story.

Meaning: it is simply getting boring : (
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pjrc8899
pjrc8899 rated it
Taming Master
June 20, 2017
Status: c96
All in all, not a bad novel, but also not very satisfying.

Especially because of the poor dialogues, the cardboard characters and the week plot lines.

As for the other parts of the story, they are reasonable and without great flaws, but also without any brilliance.

This novel is not a difficult read and unfortunately not a challenging one.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report