Report Review
13 Reviews


pickles
pickles rated it
World of Cultivation
October 10, 2017
Status: c400
Spoiler

Story really falls apart at 200 chapters, the author clearly lost his mind, and just started writing complete nonsense. Ridiculous strength realms, lack of observation and understanding of how to write a xianxia story. Erratic movement, and stilted storytelling, irreparably flawed characters, silly storyline.

By 300 chapters author has thrown cultivation out the window, now any character can turn into a god EASY!

By 400 chapters author has forgotten where his own characters are.

By 500 chapters author is lost in space looking for the storyline.

[collapse]
37 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
Reincarnator
December 26, 2016
Status: c120
This novel is terrible.

Not because of the plot, but because of the quality of writing. The writing is just soooooooooo poor, I just need to stress that the writing is absolutely awful, laborious, inarticulate and ridiculously dull.

Although the beginning was slightly better than the rest of the story, it became increasingly painful to read this. It is either the author or the translator or both, but the storyline and just everything in general becomes so vague and difficult to read. All the characters feel detached, like puppets, half the time... more>> you have no idea where the MC is and what he is doing, literally no description of scenery, and random time skips. I actually like the premise, but the writing is just too bad to continue to read. Good for you if you can read this mess, I certainly cannot. <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
Ancient Godly Monarch
April 30, 2017
Status: c400
Spoiler

This story came from the same author as Peerless Martial God, so of course it's writing style is very similar to Ancient Godly Monarch. This story is very similar to PMG, firstly, let's talk about our beloved MC, Qin Wentian. In some aspects, he is very similar to the protagonist of PMG, wherever they go, some cannon fodder arrogant young master appears to be thrashed by him, also for some reason there's always some sort of crowd following him around. And initially this crowd will mock him saying : "oh he's so unlucky, he ran into _Insert useless person_ from _soon to be destroyed family clan_ " And then later, after Qin Wentian absolutely destroys so and so useless person, the crowd literally begins to revere him as some sort of god: "Who is this person!?! He's so strong!!! But the _useless sect_ will never let him go." Then Qin Wentian proceeds to destroy that sect and 9 generations of their ancestors.

Another thing about Qin Wentian is that wherever he goes, he seems to pick up all the best things from everywhere, like a slightly toned down version of Yun Che from Against the Gods, picking up OP legacies and techniques just like he picks up girls. I wouldn't be surprised if Qin Wentian went for a walk in his own damn house and found a OP technique on one of his bookshelves. I don't really have a huge problem with the harem, except that although Qin Wentian has tons of "jade like" girls drooling over him, he only picks the two best ones with "appearances that can destroy cities" and treats the rest like air. As a side note, like many other xianxia author, this author has a strange fascination with swords, in the beginning although he chose "constellations" in the form of a hammer, 300 chapters later, he picks up a sword and completely changes his career to a sword cultivator *flips table* (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

The author also easily forgets many things such as Qin Wentian's earlier "constellations" and his talent in "divine inscriptions" which apparently he's a genius in, but we haven't seen in the last 200 chapters.

In actual fact this story is awful, but at least it gave me some enjoyment watching Qin Wentian kick ass, but I think I'm gonna have to drop it now, it's gotten a bit hard to read. So, do read this with low expectations, so you don't get too disappointed with it's decline in the future.

[collapse]
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
The King of the Battlefield
December 26, 2016
Status: c60
Like Reincarnator, horrendous writing, ponderous, long winded and vapid. Characters are dull like puppets and the MC is just the most clunky, mechanical piece of junk ever. Very little logic or rational thought in his actions, the author tries to make the MC seem cold and intelligent, but fails miserably, simply because of lack of quality of writing, making MC look like some edgy teen. Author takes pride in elaborating how badass MC is, except this just makes the story even more dull due to his "ruthless" attitude feeling so... more>> forced. Conclusion : plot is 3/10, barely passable.

MC is a 1/10, an edgy lil puppet, most readers do seem to like this though.

Writing is -10/10, my dog can write better because at least his writing doesn't give me a brain tumour. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
Stellar Transformation
May 13, 2016
Status: --
edit:

3 stars, it is very good for a casual read.
... more>>
Spoiler

I'm just being honest, but I think the MC is a bit of sucker, his dad abandoned him because he could not cultivate, yet acts like a stupid cuckold licking his dad's feet, yeah yeah filial piety is a big thing in Chinese culture, except I do not like childish MCs. He isn't as moral as the author portrays either. Eg. His father gets his arm cut off, MC goes batsh*t crazy, but when half of his family and 90% of the city gets killed while he is out having fun with his girlfriend, including his nephews and nieces, he doesn't have much of a reaction. Qin Yu's character building is too shallow, his emotions are not fleshed out enough and therefore it causes misunderstandings, I'm sure IET did not intend to make the reader doubt Qin Yu, but he just didn't give enough life to him and his family.

[collapse]

Spoiler

+ The MC has received to much luck and help. He received the meteoric tear (which saved his ass several times in the mortal realm), Jiang Lans golden immortal puppet (which saved his ass several times in the mortal and immortal realm), and all the other treasures.

This is the big treasure that I hate the most: An old man named Jiang Lan gave him a realm called the Jiang Lan's realm. Basically he can jump in to it whenever he wants and he will be completely safe. Also, time flows faster in this realm so he can just sit, hide and train for millions of years...

I am completely fine with a lucky MC, such as Yi Yun from True martial world, it only helped him cultivate faster. In contrast, Qin Yu has been saved several times by numerous extremely lucky incidences, has Qin Yu really gone through huge challenges? yeah like cultivating in a safe environment like Jiang Lan's realm or his new cosmos is a real challenge.

[collapse]
<<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
Swallowed Star
August 31, 2017
Status: c550
I have to give this novel 5 stars it has opened my imagination as if revealing a clear sky.

BUT, really sloppy, unconvincing plot, and huge plot holes, such as the strength rankings, or the various races in the universe.

Author also likes to throw around phrases like "the laser cannon destroyed 50 000km of area", but that is IET's style so...

Still, read this, it made me turn totally chuuni
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
My Daoist Life
August 5, 2016
Status: --
Unlike other CN novels where the a murderous MC fights other murderous people on a daily basis, this MC is lovable and innocent child, currently living an extremely chill childhood. This is a very lighthearted and slow moving story with bits of comedy here and there, very likeable MC, and very detailed side characters, immersive and altogether just a fun read.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
Global Evolution
May 18, 2017
Status: c85
Really great novel. This novel is a ride of emotions, the MC and his gang go through many troubles to survive an apocalypse involving rapidly evolving organisms. This is somewhat different from the rest of the apocalyptic novels, because it involves a bit of sci-fi fantasy biology, compared to zombies, viruses, demons and magic

... more>>
Spoiler

At one point the story shows some absurdly powerful evolved organisms, this hints that the story may to turn into a large scale battle between humans and the rest of the world with incredibly super-powered combatants, like in a cultivation novel, I would not mind this. I just hope the story does not become too magical, and retains it's sci-fi feel.

[collapse]

On a side note, ignore those who complain about the science in this novel. It is a fantasy novel, what do you expect? It is not meant to be scientifically accurate, as long as it is convincing. Complaining about the science in novels is like trying to make sense out of the profound stuff xianxia authors like to write. It's fiction, if you can't deal with it's realism then go read a history book. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
King of Gods
December 27, 2016
Status: c169
This novel is one of the best time-wasters. Yes, it is generic xianxia, and not very creative, common child gets an awesome cheat, and moves through sects to become super strong, all the while having to fight arrogant seniors and peers who will call the MC trash and then get their asses whooped. It is common and not a story that you can savour slowly, but it is very well written and translated; fight scenes are well thought out and fun to read, also watching the MC go through his... more>> lackadaisical life acquiring OP treasures and amazing abilities also feels great. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
June 6, 2017
Status: --
At first, you think that this is the basic story of a random country bumpkin child picking up an OP treasure, think again.

... more>>
Spoiler

Meng Hao is actually the descendant of a HUGE clan, but he doesn't know it

[collapse]

How does Meng Hao happen to have both an OP treasure and an OP bloodline despite seeming like a mortal at the start? Who knows. But wait!!! It gets worse.

Spoiler

Meng Hao happens to have yet another OP bloodline hidden in him, given to him by his mother

[collapse]

Er Gen (the author) tries to hide the fact the Meng Hao is a Marty Stu by giving him a slightly unique, mischievous personality, but for some reason, no matter what trial or competition Meng Hao enters he always come first by a large margin, while the spectators stare in shock and awe, and the competitors feel inferior. Actually... It gets even worse.

Spoiler

Turns out the OP artifact Meng Hao got at the very start is super OP, it implicates the creation of the universe. And... Somehow that treasure landed in the palms of the insanely talented, secretly got a major background scholar failure mortal youth. WHAT ARE THE CHANCES!!! (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)

Meng Hao also managed to pick up the legacy left by the creator of the universe (league of demon sealers) . It feels like a Yun Che 2.0, obviously Meng Hao's luck is maxed out

[collapse]

Oh yeah, Meng Hao is invincible by the way, whenever he is in trouble, random old dudes that have connections with him come and save him from a billion trillion miles away, so don't expect too much excitement.

Let's sum this up : Meng Hao is a Marty Stu Level infinity, the plot armour is thicker than yo mama, deus ex machina EVERYWHERE, confusing profound trash used to make this novel seem "meaningful" urgh.

Anyways, go ahead and read this, it's actually very well written, and very very well translated, that's why I gave it a 3 stars. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
M E M O R I Z E
December 27, 2016
Status: --
This novel is much better than Reincarnator and King of the Battlefield. The problem with this novel is that the fight scenes, storyline and some descriptions is very convoluted and confusing. Otherwise, I like this novel better and Reincarnator and King of the Battlefield because it contains much more details allowing for better visualization and imagery.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
One Sword to Immortality
August 3, 2016
Status: --
The story starts off well, the cultivation/power-up style was somewhat unique considering the MC is a demon, not a human cultivator. Yet for experienced Chinese novel readers, you can clearly see signs of a cliche premise, for example how he has a crush on a bitchy beauty from school, or that how he has some kind of ancient bloodline, which by the way, the readers have no idea how he acquired. Furthermore there are some unresolved plot holes; the author can be a bit vague with cultivation laws which leads... more>> to confusion. I honestly thought this story had a lot of potential at first, but I began to have a serious problem with vagueness, lack of information, and dullness in general concerning the side characters. I cannot empathise with the MC or any of the side characters. This is a result of lack of detail in character and human behaviour. I don't like how the author writes.

I do like the fights somewhat, but I want the MC to get more bloodied, more rekt to bits, because even the so called "hellish" training he goes through is literally nothing compared to other MCs. With that said, I do somewhat like the MC's character, I just wish he would get rekt more often, so far his life has been ezzy pez lemon squez. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pickles
pickles rated it
Chaotic Sword God
May 13, 2016
Status: --
It is a good novel to pass time, but it has quite a few storyline and character flaws which is why I gave it a 3/5.

... more>>
Spoiler

The mc's talent and fighting skill is very niubi like many mainstream xianxias, especially his azure violet power thingy, but whenever he fights, someone will say: "What a fast sword!" or "How did he damage my saint weapon!?!?*coughs blood while flying backwards*. I dislike op mc's, he needs to get his ass handed to him more often. Furthermore because of his opness the fighting scenes are relatively quick.

[collapse]

Spoiler

I really hate the mc's temper, he massacred a whole sect full of young people just because of one douche, and he has no self control, wasn't he an expert in his past life? Geez learn modesty, don't always get into fights. Like when cocky people ordered him to leave the hostel, just frickin leave, its not a big deal, because he was a heaven saint master at this time, he could have just flown to the frickin palace, the city lord would have given him some respect and given him a room for a night.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report