Report Review
19 Reviews


periperi
periperi rated it
A President’s Out-of-Body Experience
February 17, 2019
Status: Completed
I would have given this 3 stars but I realised I couldn't because that summary did not lie at all. MC is indeed naïve. To the point where I wanted to scream at him. Logic also kind of went out of the window so the summary was really spot on.

Firstly, for things I like, it would have to be MC's family: ... more>>
Spoiler

I liked that the whole liking guys big confession to the family thing happened at the beginning. It led to some pretty hilarious times with MC's father and brother, especially how MC's father actually tries to help him and brother gets roped along. Glad to see no serious drama in that department.

[collapse]

Things I don't like:
Spoiler

MC's naivety regarding people around him who has feelings for him leading to some misunderstanding that gets out of hand, span multiple chapters, make me frustrated, make ML frustrated, I wanted to shake MC to WAKE UP. Also amazes me how those guys just falls for him because of his misleading ways. Not sure to laugh or cry. 真的是哭笑不得。Also, I kind of wanted MC to be like good at something at the very least but he was like a typical rich kid that doesn't know how to work or virtually do anything despite (probably) graduating from university and given a position at his family business. At least pretend to work (but he doesn't).

[collapse]

The overall premise of the story was interesting though really can't tell MC was not bent by how easily he accepted everything. There's definitely humour. Not a lot of outrageous drama except the stuff I mentioned in the spoilers. I do think MC and ML were very cute together. So this is 4 stars because it really delivered what it promised based on that summary so kudos to that summary. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
Peach Blossom Debt
February 19, 2019
Status: Completed
Ah I was really curious about this story since I actually liked san sheng san li. I'm not really sure about the whole plagiarism saga but I'm not going to go into that.

The premise of this book was really interesting, with MC trying his best to make things hard for tian shu but not really succeeding. For those curious, yes ML is ... more>>
Spoiler

MC's good friend Heng wen. Also another spoiler

MC actually fell in love at first sight with ML like thousands of years ago but due to his destiny being destined to be alone, he didn't dare to say anything. MC needs like 1000 hugs.

[collapse]

There's more to meet the eye on why MC is chosen to carry out the punishment and fate is a big thing here where a debt from a previous life can carry over and tie people together. I just want to rant on the plot here:

Spoiler

So MC accidentally got tangled up in the fate between tian shu and nan ming (hence leading MC to rise to the celestial realm due to that tied fate) hence in an attempt to save MC, tian shu actually suggested sending MC to the mortal realm, starting this whole plot, instead of the jade emperor just smiting MC. So many stuff happens and there's a fox demon who love ML and all and then towards the end of the love trial, ML kind of goes berserk?? And more stuff happens and fox saves ML, losing his own cultivation and bam MC is stuck with child version of ML and tian shu and has to take care of them for a few days in the mortal realm. That part was actually really cute where MC has a habit of sleeping with ML but as a kid, ML doesn't recognise him, so was like 'why are you getting into my bed?' then when MC finally got his own bed, ML is the one who comes and wants to sleep with MC. Anyway, so they return to heaven eventually and MC has to be punished because of all the havoc he created. He also finds out that by letting the fox demon near ML, they too have their fate tied together. MC's like, I'm really destined to be alone and at that point, I really wanted to smother MC with love. So due to MC's debt to tian shu, he gives TS his immortal core thing since tian shu's own was broken and before he could really die, he decides to give his remaining powers to the demon fox (who lost his own cultivation and was like a normal fox) and tells the fox everything about ML like how he doesn't like sweets, and tells the fox to take care of ML. MC wanted to see ML one last time before he dies but doesn't want to do so in his real form so he borrows the fox form to visit ML and in his mind tells ML how he loved him for thousands of years (CRIES!!!!) then MC leaves when ML is sleeping, escapes back to the mortal realm to die, thinking it's for the best that ML does not see him die so he won't be that sad. Just as his soul starts to scatter, he thinks he sees ML beside him and thinks that it must be illusion but it was nice to have that illusion. So ML actually realised what was happening when MC left the celestial realm, rushes over, sees MC dying and kind of loses it. Long story short, he gathers MC remaining soul and like somehow brings it back to the reincarnation cycle and MC spends decades reincarnating from small to bigger live forms and ML is always there too. Eventually becomes a human again, accidentally eats another elixir pill, ascended AGAIN, finds ML and says he owes ML and will take forever to pay him back, indicating their fate is now tied together and ML's fate to that demon fox has already been returned by MC so ML doesn't owe the demon fox anything then HE. Omg the ending bit where the angst just slowly ramps up starting from the children form bit WAS SO SAD

[collapse]

Read the spoiler only if you want to know the whole plot. I just wished there was more like maybe a bit more of ML POV or something. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
Yes, I’m Straight. But What Have I Done Wrong?
July 8, 2019
Status: Completed
Very cute story. MC is so very innocent and that leads to some very funny situations. He has a very pure heart and mind that he ... more>>
Spoiler

never even once thought of what his friends have as wrong. At most is a little mortified that he caught on so late.

[collapse]

I don't particularly like his friends because they tend to
Spoiler

make use of MC to cover for them. More the fault of the overbearing guy. There were moments where I was really angry at him but his own situation with the enchanting (?) guy made me sympathise with him too.

[collapse]

Overall many cute moments, my favourite is probably
Spoiler

when glasses guy (MC's senior) kind of started really having a good feeling for MC. That was when he tricked MC into getting gastric meds for him because he didn't want MC to see him do the exercise routine thing as part of their final evaluation. He thought by the time MC was back, the exam would be over and MC would just go back so he went to his meeting after that. But MC ran all the way, asking people where he was, just to pass him the gastric med, even worried about having taken so long. At that moment glasses guy (and I) went "ah, how nice would it be to have a lover like this".

[collapse]

I've read the whole thing in Chinese, not sure if it's a link issue or what but the links to the English translation is not working >.< <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
Holding On to My Man
February 7, 2019
Status: Completed
Ahhh this is like the first multiple world story that I actually completed IN CHINESE (my parents would be so proud that I'm even reading Chinese...)

Usually I get bored of the multiple world story after a while but I really enjoyed this. There's no annoying system, there's a general direction MC has to go but no specific way he has to handle it. I enjoyed the way he solved each problem. The worlds were also rather unique, the one I found most surprising (in a good way) is the... more>> arc of the abused protagonist in the historical setting. Especially loved the way the MC wrapped that up.

There's an actual overarching plot that I wasn't really expecting but I liked how it was all explained in the final arc. And that ending was so sweet, I wanted more tbh.

Overall, really like how the ML could be someone related to MC's job or totally unrelated yet every single time he's someone really powerful. Also, it's not a one-sided sort of relationship since after the 2nd arc, MC starts to chase ML.

Overall, worth reading this in Chinese (and that's saying a lot). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
Heaven Official’s Blessing
June 14, 2019
Status: Completed
Just finished reading this giant book the other day and it blew me away. Due to the complicated setting it was hard to read in Chinese so I kind of gave up after a while then picked it up again then gave up again then went to read the English translation then couldn't wait for more translation and finished the last 45 chapters in Chinese with no regrets. It's been a long journey but it was worth it (along with watching MANY MANY youtube videos that's enough to make one... more>> tear up).

I loved the linking story line throughout that 800 long years period. The mystery, the cast (her books have the best assembly of side characters). There's no clear black and white, good and bad. All of them were individuals with their own motives. I love the slowburn too. The sweetest kind of romance that at the very end just punches one in the gut. Now off to read the extras. I do hope her next book comes out soon. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
Your Teacher I, am Hella Rich
January 31, 2019
Status: Completed
This was short and sweet. The main characters interactions were cute and almost like a slow burn. I liked that they both didn't fall head over heels right at the beginning. The gaming aspect was easier to understand than other novels (thankfully).

The only thing I couldn't wrap my head around was how the computer game could be played on the handphone, like it's complicated. But that's not the point.

Overall, an easy read compared to like novels with over 100 chapters.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
Slow-Witted
January 31, 2019
Status: Completed
Wow, I really liked this novel! Not often that I manage to read the entire thing in Chinese since I usually give up halfway.

The MC was not a pushover and his directness and courage was really great to read. For once it's not the ML doing the chasing but the MC and that resulted in some really sweet scenes.

There's fluff but there's also a lot of angst esp regarding MC home situation and ML history. When the drama came for them, I wanted to throw rocks at those people.

The one... more>> thing I didn't really like, and I also notice that it's a popular thing to happen in CN BL novels was that
Spoiler

there's a separation towards the ending of the book and a reuniting after like 7 years. There's always a major conflict resulting in a separation for YEARS before we can get that happy ending. It's happened in at least 2 other CN novels I've read and I don't like it. I wanted them to overcome everything together and go on their merry way, not to SEPARATE.

[collapse]

But that ending was a satisfying HE. Just 1 last questions lingered
Spoiler

like what was lin fengxun's response to all these, was he even still alive at the end?

[collapse]

Overall plot was refreshing and there was never a dull moment. Love it. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
The Long Chase for the President’s Spouse
April 24, 2018
Status: --
A really fluffy story that isn't too long (less than 100 chapters). Though I actually liked the side couple more and wanted more of them!
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
My Roommate Probably Is Not an Omega
June 30, 2019
Status: Completed
A fluffy short story. MC is really cute and easily misunderstands, he gets ... more>>
Spoiler

"backstabbed" many times by others but is really to help create less misunderstandings. For example, his previous roommate records and sends MC's confession of liking ML to ML.

[collapse]

There's a small dash of angst
Spoiler

where MC thinks ML will leave for an omega as MC was brought up believing that AO and BB couples are the norm, not AB. Ya MC is a beta.

[collapse]

But overall short and sweet. No drawn out drama due to the length of the story, worth a read! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
I am an Alpha
June 20, 2019
Status: Completed
Argh love the angst and the happy end. Almost wish that this was a longer one. The details are hinted throughout the book and it really comes full circle. This is one of the more unique plots in the abo genre.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
Jin Xiao Yi Tan
February 20, 2019
Status: Completed
So I've only completed volume 1 and may edit this as I read.

This is probably one of my fav genres, mix of supernatural, mystery, a bit of horror. I liked the case based episodic type of plot where MC slowly immerses himself in a new world. Certain things I found cute:

... more>>
Spoiler

how after like a few (like more than 3) cases, MC finally thinks to ask ML for his name. Like dude, you've been staying in his house for at least a month and are internet friends. Oh ya, ML is his internet friend, I originally thought it had to be a closer sort of friend e.g. schoolmate for MC to so shamelessly go and stay over. Also, ML kind of sometimes tease MC which was very cute in my opinion.

[collapse]

The stories aren't linked but there is a thread connecting them. I just want to say volume 1 ended on a HORRIBLE CLIFFHANGER -->
Spoiler

in order to save MC from who I think is the main antagonist, ML ingests a poison, MC wakes up in the hospital, runs back to find ML but he's not there and is told by the ah bao that ML said he will be gone for a while and not to wait for him then when MC asks how was ML, ah bao said not good because he was PUKING BLOOD. So it basically ends with MC waiting for ML to return. Just hits me right in my heart.

[collapse]

Book 1 has an extra story too. In all, the cases were unique and sometimes bittersweet. I really liked the characters though for now this just seems like bromance. I'm really not sure about the shounen-ai tag since this series is actually sold in my bookstore. I do hope for more but won't be terribly disappointed if it's just bromance. But this series better have a HE.

Edit update (completed up to V3)

I'm loving the style of the story of many mini stories. The stories doesn't necessarily end well, sometimes even tragically. It's bittersweet yet realistic. I'm loving the supporting characters like the tsundere bai ze whome I hated in book 1, for reasons related to the ending, but he's kind of cute.

As for the romance department, zilch, nada. Still many cute moments of doting and teasing and hugging but still not really crossing any sort of line.
Spoiler

There's this moment in book 3 where MC is trapped in this dream and apparently the dream demon will take on the form of MC's most precious person and it turned out to be ML. So there's definitely hints of something but nothing overtly romantic, more like platonic soulmates???

[collapse]

There's something deeper about MC and looks like things will be getting more and more serious in book 4. I almost wish this series is longer.

Update: I am screaming internally.

While most of the cases were bittersweet, I wasn't expecting the MAIN STORY TO ALSO BE BITTERSWEET. I think this can count as a HE yet... not exactly the way I wanted. If endings are a make or break for you, you may consider looking at the spoiler:

Spoiler

ML is like an ancient demon. He fought with this other ancient demon like many years ago and in an attempt to recover, that bad demon possesses this human boy's soul so that the bad demon's energy will slowly come back and the boy's soul gets reincarnated over time. Initially, ML obviously wants to kill the boy to kill the bad demon but he couldn't do it. Killing that bad demon means the boy's soul will forever be gone, unable to return to the reincarnation cycle. So ML follow's MC's soul through each reincarnation till the current one. And this is when bad demon finally recovers enough energy to come back and in doing do, will kill MC. ML is weakened significantly over the course of the 5 books due to saving MC so he will not be a match to bad demon. MC finally regains the past memory after nearly dying when bad demon takes over his body and severely injures ML. So to prevent bad demon from harming those he love, MC drinks the poison water to kill both bad demon and himself in the process without telling ML. So turns out ML uses his some kind of spirit? in exchange for MC's soul to enter the reincarnation cycle but in doing so he loses all his powers and becomes like a human. So the ending is basically MC in his next life as a child meeting ML and promising to meet again when MC is bigger. DOES THIS MEAN THEY ARE ONLY TOGETHER FOR ONE LIFE? I want them to keep reincarnating and being together... I wish it was happier.

[collapse]

Overall still a 5 star story but I really wished for a better ending. It's definitely a HE though.. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
Urban Tales of Demons and Spirits
February 18, 2019
Status: Completed
I actually read this like about a year ago.

This is one of my favourite genres. I liked each arc of the story, the supernatural/fantasy elements and the cast.

I took away 1 star because of the ending.

... more>>
Spoiler

I'm not even sure if it's a HE... It reminded me of xxxHolic ending where MC never ages while his friends aged as he waits for ML. It's one of the saddest endings I've read and dammit I wanted that HE for them so bad especially after finding out MC and ML's past.

[collapse]

Overall the romance part is on the light end (def just shounen-ai) but people who enjoy this kind of genre (supernatural, case based, mystery) will enjoy it. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
Positive Energy System
February 17, 2019
Status: Completed
I must say that this is not a romance novel.

The premise itself is very unique, with the doing good things part to get points and upgrade the system to get rewards and interesting abilities. The unique part is that the "doing good things" bit is not what one would think. It actually involves more bloodshed than one would think. Almost ironic. It's a driving force for MC, who died and entered another person's body, to get back his ability to walk.

As for MC and ML, they were apart for like... more>> half the novel and just somehow ended up together in the span of 1 chapter towards the end. Firstly, the identity of ML was not clear to me at the beginning and it bothered me so much I had to peek at the back before continuing reading. So for those who are the same as me, ML is
Spoiler

ZYY, MC's younger brother after his rebirth. There's no blood relation.

[collapse]

I do like the characters and how the system worked and MC's journey itself. Overall, I enjoyed the novel and it was relatively easy and short (compared to other novels). Just wished the romance part was more satisfying. The ending itself was a good HE so it's 4 stars for me. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
Lord Seventh
July 10, 2019
Status: Completed
4.5 stars!

I liked the set up of the story but my limited Chinese prevented me from truly appreciating the court intrigue (sadly). I did enjoy the flow of the story and the build up.

I really like the relationship between MC and ML. It's a good slow burn that started off as friends. I would appreciate more details about ... more>>
Spoiler

link between "bai wuchang" who appeared in chapter 1 and ML. Or for MC to at least know the truth behind that??

[collapse]

One might think how do they get that HE being a MM couple in ancient China court setting? Well the author wraps it up very nicely and in a believable manner.

I also liked the side characters and one of them is even the MC of author's other novel. This novel is the prequel and that novel is the sequel. They don't have to be read to understand each other but it's nice to see the link.

Overall an enjoyable read. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
To Be a Heartthrob in a Horror Movie
July 6, 2019
Status: Completed
This is a unique take on "transmigration" where the MC goes to a movie theatre and basically gets inserted into the story as a side character to experience the movie first hand. Technically doesn't sound feasible but well, it's just a story I suppose. Each arc is different and interesting and there's that overarching arc linking MC to ML. I don't consider this a horror story as it's not particularly scary but interesting nonetheless. I like the characters and even the movie characters in each arc. Though...

... more>>
Spoiler

I wanted to know MC's parents reaction to ML tbh. Too bad that part isn't covered. Also, what exactly happened between MC's roommate and his online friend?

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
Fox Demon Cultivation Manual
June 30, 2019
Status: Completed
5 stars!

The genre is right up my alley with humour and mystery. There's 5 arcs and the first 3 arcs revolve around a story. Each case is just as heart-breaking with likeable characters and detestable villains. It's almost bittersweet. But fret not, it all ends as well as it can end (except maybe the first arc but there's not much emotional investment in the first arc as it's more of an intro arc).

I like that the romance is slow burn and really sweet. No forcing of anyone and just overall... more>> cute. There are many side couples (see the arcs characters) and some don't have a satisfactory end in my opinion. However, seems like the author has other books in this world. Not sure if I'll try them but this was a good read. Not too long and not too short and filled with non-stop action and plot.

If anyone wants spoilers, I've been posting them on the spoiler thread. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
The World Is A Bit Sweet
February 13, 2019
Status: Completed
I just want to say, this was a really, really, really sweet modern day love story. I loved the slow burn, the characters (this story actually has side characters that were unique and added to the plot, not just wallpapers). It had humour, some misunderstanding (but well resolved in my opinion), much angst at the end of each "arc" (I call it arc since the book seems to be split to 5 parts on the website I read it on) but they get over it stronger than ever.

... more>>
Spoiler

The story handled the parents disapproving part rather well. Oh It caused much MUCH angst but the way they overcame it was just beautiful. My only question is about ML's family because not much was mentioned. His parents didn't appear.

[collapse]

Overall, I loved this novel, I shall now go read the extras. Also, mMaybe time to read the author's other books. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
He is His Excellency Zhi Li
February 12, 2019
Status: c48
Read up to the latest translated chapter (Thank you so much to the translators) and am loving it.

There's a good cast of quirky characters, funny shenanigans, surprise deepness and emotions. Each character is rather unique and together, it was fun to see their adventures. I love the interactions between the MC and the rest, especially with ML. There's more to them than the comedy and sometimes those emotions really hit hard (I wasn't expecting it, I thought this would be some comedy slapstick plot the whole way).

Good enough for me... more>> to consider reading the rest right away and highly recommended if one is looking for a fun, modern day tale. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
periperi
periperi rated it
It’s Not Easy Being Your Love Rival’s Big Brother
February 8, 2019
Status: Completed
4 stars!

Taking away 1 star because I read this in Chinese a long while back but it didn't hold my attention long enough to finish. Glad to see it translated completely.

Overall, a sweet, silly sort of love story with fluff and comedy but just a tad too much drama (I dislike all those 'love rivals' popping up, okay mainly just that 1 annoying person but argh, and the miscomm).

... more>> MC is a tad to naïve at times but I liked the almost slow burn sort of romance he had with ML.

Overall, the book has 2 official couples and 2 more not really described ones.

Worth the read if one is looking for a relatively chill modern day romance. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report