Report Review
29 Reviews


omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Cultivation Chat Group
December 11, 2018
Status: c427
I guess I'm one of the minority that feel this novel is only okay. It started off rather interesting but as the novel continued, the humor seemed rather forced or not that funny to me anymore.

The author created these all powerful cultivators into local people that you can meet at a barber shop, each with their relatable flaws and plusses. Author did a great job on that point but when it comes to the storyline, there doesn't seem to be any. It's just characters being added and funny things happen... more>> around them like a sitcom. One event can be dragged out for 40+ chapters with our MC being dragged into it against his will, just like the many other events. He's similar to a leaf thrown into an ocean without anyway of controlling his life, and then powering up from them as a side note.

Here's a hypothetical scenario: MC and group is going to Cultivator X's birthday party. Along the way, one of their party members starts a fight with a friendemy of theirs they hadn't met for a long time, and this goes on for 2 chapters. Then some demons are plotting to take over and that takes up 10 chapters. And then someone else joins their group to the birthday party and starts chatting about random stuff for another 3 chapters. When the group finally gets to the party venue, there will be 20+ chapters of preparation, people chatting, and sudden invasion of plant zombies. So 50 chapters in, the birthday party still hasn't started yet.

It would be great if the story focused a bit more on MC's real life (family and friends) instead of pushing it to the back burner and focusing so much on the cultivation group adventures of his. 400+ chapters into the novel and he's just at the second level of cultivation, but only 1.5 months have passed by. Of course, there's no need for him to level fast or level up at all, because he's surrounded by super cultivators most of the time. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Silent Crown
August 5, 2018
Status: c97
This novel has a lot of potential but unfortunately, it tries too hard to be mysterious and throws in too many cut scenes happening from all over the place. I'm sure eventually, it will lead back to being associated to the MC but it's too confusing. There's simply way too much stuff going on that I stopped caring about it halfway.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Red Envelope Group of the Three Realms
April 27, 2018
Status: c190
I'm not very smart to begin with but think I just lost a few points of my IQ from reading this novel. If the translation quality was better, it'll get another star but for some reason, calling people by their family name Chen, or Lin instead of the whole name doesn't sit well with me. Their full names are in the raws yet translation just goes by their family name, which confuses me when it talks about multiple people of the same family.

The novel does feel like a teenager going... more>> through puberty writing this in order to fulfill his fantasy of becoming rich and powerful. It becomes a jumble mess of random encounters with random powerups. I understand many of the amateur authors actually live in rural villages and work as farmers as a living, but that influence from this author is too strong here. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
The Avalon of Five Elements
March 12, 2018
Status: c380
I really wanted to like this because of the author, but I couldn't. It's average at best. It was very interesting in the beginning with a modern cultivation system while the old cultivation era was gone, yet the main character trained in old era style etc. But then this novel turned into History's Strongest Senior Brother for me - it kept rambling and rambling to the point it felt like I was reading a wikipedia. I really don't need to know the history of every single speck of dust for... more>> 3/4 of a chapter.

It did feel like the author was trying to suppress the main character every time he grew strong so he would fit in with the other talents, and that's fine with me. But I had to take a break from incessant info drop or I think I'd go crazy. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
My MCV and Doomsday
March 12, 2018
Status: --
In my opinion, the vehicle he has isn't a Mobile Construction Vehicle, it's a doomsday vehicle to survive the apocalypse. Hence the criticism by some of the reviewers. The translation is decent enough and the broken english isn't too bad, but you'll still stumble upon made up words like upgradation. I've just started reading the novel and agree the author has made the main character quite dumb. For example, your doomsday minibus has been seriously damaged and you somehow get the option to upgrade it. Would you upgrade it's fuel... more>> tank? Fridge storing capacity? Weapons? Or an ability to absorb materials with a phase beam? I would personally choose absorb materials with a phase beam but the main character chooses larger fuel tank. And then freaks out over how to find materials to fix the bus? I will edit this as I get further along... <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Limitless
March 1, 2018
Status: c36
I've just started reading this and it's pretty entertaining so far. The only issue I have and to advise new readers, is that the novel needs an editor. The main character is Chu Yu and became Chu Feng in one chapter, and there was also a part where he waved to himself instead of another character. Each chapter would have these minor errors that are annoying, but still bearable. The storyline is different to other novels currently out there so I recommend people to give this a try.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
February 26, 2018
Status: c362
This could be so much better but I find myself falling asleep and have to stop reading it. The reason being is that a few chapters can go by with just talking, thinking, looking... Some novels are fun with a lot of dialogue but the dialogues here are not interesting to me. I say try this novel out because different people enjoy different things, so you might like it.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
The Sacred Ruins
February 3, 2018
Status: c32
I kinda agree with asgard22's review, the translation and editing is a bit weird to read. There's a lot of Pong! sound effects instead of your usual Bang! Guns going off sound is clonk! And word choice has me baffled. Instead of saying someone wailed in pain, they used ululated... I had to google that to figure what it meant. Riven one's clothes instead of using tear? Google again. Onus instead of burden, google again. I could keep going... The difficult part of reading this is you get good sentences... more>> suddenly mixed with broken English, i.e. "Killing you just means is like swatting another fly to me."

Now for the novel itself, I tried really hard reading the beginning but the 20 chapters of describing the new changes to the world could have been done in 2. I skimmed most of it and felt like I didn't miss a thing. Just a simple call to another person would have a whole paragraph describing the current night sky, temperature, swaying of leaves etc. I will keep plodding along and will update this if the novel gets interesting. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Martial Arts Master
December 18, 2017
Status: c207
It's a slice of life novel with some martial arts thrown in. This is a different breakup of the novel:

25% chatting on QQ
10% chatting on the forums
50% chatting with each other in real life and info dumps
15% training and fights

The fights use many terms of fighting styles that the reader will be unable to understand thus cannot imagine what's going on. The romance is kinda cute at times. Translation speed is fast so quality suffers with many broken English. Overall, a decent enough novel to kill time.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
History’s Number 1 Founder
September 18, 2018
Status: c267
Just like History's Strongest Senior Brother, this novel is all about info dumps and people thinking, feeling, talking, contemplating etc etc. Then ocassionally some fights mixed into it. It's really too tiresome for me to read and instead of being entertained, I feel like it has become a chore to read.

Instead of focusing on his cultivation especially when his disciples are catching up to him, the internal game system inside his mind forces him to complete certain quests. Off he goes on excursions dealing with his disciple's personal issues in... more>> order to fulfill said quests. It's fine and all if it were entertaining but then we all know what's in store for the readers - massive info dump of history and thoughts we don't care about of every place he walks by. On some ocassions when a fight takes place, instead of describing the fight scene, you get a bunch of background info dump once again.

Zhao Yan gathers his energy and performs X special move against Xiao Budian as a last resort!

"X special move was once created by Y and then modified by Z, but it wasn't to L's liking so he searched all over for a piece of plant to upgrade it. The new X special move has achieved balance with both fire and ice elements which cause space-time to fluctuate when it's ultimate form has been activated. Unfortunately, Z heard about it and there was a big disturbance when those two people brought in other sects into the chaos by making up random rumors to damage the reputation of their Sect Leader's wife's cousin's dog..."

In summary, it's chapters upon chapters of filler trying to digusise itself as interesting content. If you liked HSSB, then you'll like this work of his as well. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Treasure Hunt Tycoon
August 3, 2018
Status: c417
As others have said, this is a Chinese guy in the Storage Wars tv shows who's living life with a super bug Cheat. It's a slice of life novel with his partner, some pets, and a girl he has the hots for. Slightly on the boring side for me because I'm more action oriented but others might enjoy it.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Nightfall
August 2, 2018
Status: c184
This novel isn't for everyone because it's kinda like watching a ballet or opera. There's a whole bunch of flowery descriptions, wikipedia info dump, and many chapters of characters introduced that I assume will one day intersect with the MC's destiny. I feel like the info dump is even stronger than Ze Tian Ji and don't really care too much for it. And there are backstory's to multiple characters, places, things, flashbacks, that it gets rather tedious for me to read so I start skimming. Sometimes, I'm confused at what's... more>> going on and I'm too lazy to re-read it to understand. But when the story focuses on the MC, it's quite interesting to read about his struggles to cultivate.

The grammar has been fixed in early chapters but start getting bad in he 200's. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Pursuit of the Truth
May 16, 2018
Status: c580
I want to like this novel but it tries too hard with the mysteries and trying to make the reader feel emotional. And the worse part is certain segments drags on and on. The closest example I can give without spoiling the story is imagine a single dinner could be talked about for 15+ chapters when you were already over it by the third chapter and wishing it would end by the sixth. Then the MC goes take a leak in the toilet and that's another 3 chapters. Ugh...

But there... more>> is a light at the end of the tunnel, because once you get to around chapter 250's, things only drag on for a few chaps and the story becomes more entertaining then. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Invincible
August 6, 2017
Status: c225
Apart from finding treasures like cabbages left and right, the "oh, come on!" factor is actually quite funny to me. It's like walking away from a mindless action movie that leaves you feeling entertained.

Don't think too much and just enjoy the OP'ness and face slapping.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Peerless Martial God
January 23, 2019
Status: c1339
A novel that started off quite interesting but turned repetitive in order to be dragged out. That's fine and all since most authors do this to make a living so read this when you have nothing better to do. The only issue I have is the bad grammar and the awkward sounding conversations that ruin my immersion. Here's a quick example: Mo Yang Feng blinked, some people laughed, Lin Feng was ridiculous, kneel down and apologize?

If those can be fixed, this novel will have a 4 star rating from me.... more>> And do not count how many times the word "die" is uttered by people because it will drive you nuts. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Fishing the Myriad Heavens
October 13, 2018
Status: c347
Like many others, I thought the beginning of the novel was a lot of fun with the fishing concept. Everything was going great until he started getting strong from cultivating for only a short amount of time. Then the novel turned into mostly cultivation while fishing becoming less and less. I don't know about others but I noticed the fishing background story started off with a chapter of brief world setting and the MC captures his target. But later on, they turn into 3-4 chapters of world setting before the... more>> MC comes in with his lure, which kinda annoys me.

The racist stuff didn't affect me since I don't really care about it but other readers might. I took a star off the rating for my dislikes but feel this novel is still kind of an interesting read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Omnipotent Sage
October 9, 2018
Status: c47
Oh my god, this novel reads like the author of History's Strongest Senior Brother. They must be related or something because there's so much info dump! Add in a translator that has horrible naming sense and you've got a hot mess of a novel.

We have a 30 something year old MC growing up in a little boy's body. He's still growing up slowly where I'm at, doing mundane things and getting caught up in stuff beyond his control. Slow moving novels can be interesting but this one isn't. The story... more>> progresses for 1/5 of the chapter while the other 4/5 is all info dumping, making it quite a chore to read. I have to take a break from reading this because I feel like I'm going to work instead of relaxing. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Womanizing Mage
August 24, 2018
Status: c467
Early translation needs major edits but it slowly improves to minor edits. The cultivation and fights are interesting to read, and the way he picks up girls is entertaining (in the beginning). But when the MC tries to court the 100th pretty girl he sees (exaggeration), the repetition starts getting annoying. It's like the MC falls in love with every single pretty girl he encounters and can't help but try to sleep with them. If the author stopped the MC from trying to f*ck every single pretty girl in the... more>> world, this novel would become 4 - 5 stars.

I'm at the point where that whenever a girl is talked about in the novel, whether it be a waitress or a random passerby, I will automatically wonder when the MC is going to do her. About 60% of the novel is MC flirting and sleeping with girls, the other 40% is everything else. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
I'm honestly not sure if it's the storyline that's boring or if it's the poor word choice and bad grammar that puts me off. Everytime I read it, I can only handle a few chapters before I give up on trying to understand what's going on. I think everyone who enjoys OP characters should give it a try because it's at least useful for killing time.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
God Of Slaughter
December 22, 2017
Status: c470
An entertaining novel in the beginning but MC gets a bit too ruthless in the future, but then changes back to a neutral person. Also translation quality goes goes up and down depending on the chapter, i.e. Bad English, names changing in the same chapter, and words in Vietnamese?!

Overall, it's a decent novel for entertainment and to kill time.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report