Report Review
41 Reviews


omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Cultivation Chat Group
December 11, 2018
Status: c427
I guess I'm one of the minority that feel this novel is only okay. It started off rather interesting but as the novel continued, the humor seemed rather forced or not that funny to me anymore.

The author created these all powerful cultivators into local people that you can meet at a barber shop, each with their relatable flaws and plusses. Author did a great job on that point but when it comes to the storyline, there doesn't seem to be any. It's just characters being added and funny things happen... more>> around them like a sitcom. One event can be dragged out for 40+ chapters with our MC being dragged into it against his will, just like the many other events. He's similar to a leaf thrown into an ocean without anyway of controlling his life, and then powering up from them as a side note.

Here's a hypothetical scenario: MC and group is going to Cultivator X's birthday party. Along the way, one of their party members starts a fight with a friendemy of theirs they hadn't met for a long time, and this goes on for 2 chapters. Then some demons are plotting to take over and that takes up 10 chapters. And then someone else joins their group to the birthday party and starts chatting about random stuff for another 3 chapters. When the group finally gets to the party venue, there will be 20+ chapters of preparation, people chatting, and sudden invasion of plant zombies. So 50 chapters in, the birthday party still hasn't started yet.

It would be great if the story focused a bit more on MC's real life (family and friends) instead of pushing it to the back burner and focusing so much on the cultivation group adventures of his. 400+ chapters into the novel and he's just at the second level of cultivation, but only 1.5 months have passed by. Of course, there's no need for him to level fast or level up at all, because he's surrounded by super cultivators most of the time. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Seized by the System
April 18, 2019
Status: c69
Our MC has been possessed by an AI System that is chivalrous and likes to do things to level up while the MC himself just wants to play online games and read webnovels. The system occasionally gets advice from MC but is usually in control of the body.

Now the concept of the novel is great, but the execution is rather poor, hence the ratings of this novel is all over the place. The author tries to make the novel funny with the banter between MC and system but it comes... more>> off "meh." And because there's no underlying goal, we get to read a bunch of daily life/filler/side scenarios that aren't that interesting to read. That's the crux of the problem - it's not interesting enough to make me want to find out what's going to happen in the next chapter. But you should still give it a try because you might find it funny. And also, translation and editing is a problem with missing info and wrong translations. So I'm not sure if that's a contributer to the MC and System's dialogue being not that funny. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Death Sutra
April 6, 2019
Status: c183
Something just irks me the wrong way about this novel. Granted this was written greatly with lots of intrigue and plotting, but the entertainment value for me was very mediocre. The first 80 chapters was like reading a malnourished cat that keeps getting beaten and starved, and then tortured. The MC just couldn't win in life. The next part when he does seem to gain a tiny bit of status and it turns into a Detective Conan novel. The worst part is that you think he has solved the mystery... more>> of who is plotting against who but the author says "nope, " this is the real reason and the reader has to accept it. And another mystery will appear once again and all the investigation done by the MC will be mostly wrong once again because the author says so.

As I'm reading this novel, I'm just waiting to see which chapter the MC betrays someone or gets betrayed by someone and the cycle continues. A lot of people enjoy this hence the high ratings, but to me, it's an average novel that you should give a try since you might like it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Silent Crown
August 5, 2018
Status: c97
This novel has a lot of potential but unfortunately, it tries too hard to be mysterious and throws in too many cut scenes happening from all over the place. I'm sure eventually, it will lead back to being associated to the MC but it's too confusing. There's simply way too much stuff going on that I stopped caring about it halfway.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Red Envelope Group of the Three Realms
April 27, 2018
Status: c190
I'm not very smart to begin with but think I just lost a few points of my IQ from reading this novel. If the translation quality was better, it'll get another star but for some reason, calling people by their family name Chen, or Lin instead of the whole name doesn't sit well with me. Their full names are in the raws yet translation just goes by their family name, which confuses me when it talks about multiple people of the same family.

The novel does feel like a teenager going... more>> through puberty writing this in order to fulfill his fantasy of becoming rich and powerful. It becomes a jumble mess of random encounters with random powerups. I understand many of the amateur authors actually live in rural villages and work as farmers as a living, but that influence from this author is too strong here. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
The Avalon of Five Elements
March 12, 2018
Status: c380
I really wanted to like this because of the author, but I couldn't. It's average at best. It was very interesting in the beginning with a modern cultivation system while the old cultivation era was gone, yet the main character trained in old era style etc. But then this novel turned into History's Strongest Senior Brother for me - it kept rambling and rambling to the point it felt like I was reading a wikipedia. I really don't need to know the history of every single speck of dust for... more>> 3/4 of a chapter.

It did feel like the author was trying to suppress the main character every time he grew strong so he would fit in with the other talents, and that's fine with me. But I had to take a break from incessant info drop or I think I'd go crazy. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
My MCV and Doomsday
March 12, 2018
Status: --
In my opinion, the vehicle he has isn't a Mobile Construction Vehicle, it's a doomsday vehicle to survive the apocalypse. Hence the criticism by some of the reviewers. The translation is decent enough and the broken english isn't too bad, but you'll still stumble upon made up words like upgradation. I've just started reading the novel and agree the author has made the main character quite dumb. For example, your doomsday minibus has been seriously damaged and you somehow get the option to upgrade it. Would you upgrade it's fuel... more>> tank? Fridge storing capacity? Weapons? Or an ability to absorb materials with a phase beam? I would personally choose absorb materials with a phase beam but the main character chooses larger fuel tank. And then freaks out over how to find materials to fix the bus? I will edit this as I get further along... <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Limitless
March 1, 2018
Status: c36
I've just started reading this and it's pretty entertaining so far. The only issue I have and to advise new readers, is that the novel needs an editor. The main character is Chu Yu and became Chu Feng in one chapter, and there was also a part where he waved to himself instead of another character. Each chapter would have these minor errors that are annoying, but still bearable. The storyline is different to other novels currently out there so I recommend people to give this a try.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
February 26, 2018
Status: c362
This could be so much better but I find myself falling asleep and have to stop reading it. The reason being is that a few chapters can go by with just talking, thinking, looking... Some novels are fun with a lot of dialogue but the dialogues here are not interesting to me. I say try this novel out because different people enjoy different things, so you might like it.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
The Sacred Ruins
February 3, 2018
Status: c32
I kinda agree with asgard22's review, the translation and editing is a bit weird to read. There's a lot of Pong! sound effects instead of your usual Bang! Guns going off sound is clonk! And word choice has me baffled. Instead of saying someone wailed in pain, they used ululated... I had to google that to figure what it meant. Riven one's clothes instead of using tear? Google again. Onus instead of burden, google again. I could keep going... The difficult part of reading this is you get good sentences... more>> suddenly mixed with broken English, i.e. "Killing you just means is like swatting another fly to me."

Now for the novel itself, I tried really hard reading the beginning but the 20 chapters of describing the new changes to the world could have been done in 2. I skimmed most of it and felt like I didn't miss a thing. Just a simple call to another person would have a whole paragraph describing the current night sky, temperature, swaying of leaves etc. I will keep plodding along and will update this if the novel gets interesting. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Martial Arts Master
December 18, 2017
Status: c207
It's a slice of life novel with some martial arts thrown in. This is a different breakup of the novel:

25% chatting on QQ
10% chatting on the forums
50% chatting with each other in real life and info dumps
15% training and fights

The fights use many terms of fighting styles that the reader will be unable to understand thus cannot imagine what's going on. The romance is kinda cute at times. Translation speed is fast so quality suffers with many broken English. Overall, a decent enough novel to kill time.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Battle Frenzy
May 13, 2019
Status: c501
It's a mixed bag written reviews here while the ratings are skewed to the 5 stars. I feel like this novel is definitely entertaining but as others mentioned, the author does drag it out too much which is why I only gave it a 4.

Our MC is theory smart but due to low power, cannot effectively utilize the moves he has dreamed up. Once he does power up will he then become quite strong. We have beasts all mutating into more powerful forms due to energy from another dimension and... more>> causing problems for the human civilization. We've got land masses being changed and the world only being made up of a few empires. All good stuff to my liking.

Now, I usually hate massive info and history dumps but because this was post-brink earth destruction theme, I am more inclined towards it and read everything slowly. I would consider this an entertaining info dump. A lot of reviewers didn't like the spectators making comments for 1/2 the chapters but I found it laugh out loud funny, similar to reading forums posts of people bashing each other.

On to the negatives - The pacing of the novel is rather slow, like I'm at chapter 500 and it's only been a year of novel time. I got really annoyed with the author when they started ranking Top 5 Assassins, Top 10 Soldiers, Top 5 xxxxx which took around 15 chapters. So imagine yourself following the release of this novel every day and then only reading background info of characters for 2 weeks straight without plot progression. Then you find yourself vomiting blood when this info is repeated in a summarized form when those said Top people meet MC. On top of that, competition fights not involving the MC but other groups get 2-3 chapter screen time each, so you get like another 15 chapters of other groups fighting other groups with MC reaction inserted here and there. And just as you've guessed, so much screen time for the loser groups to just disappear off the map and forgotten.

My advice is to read this because it's translated well and written well, but bank a bunch of chapters in case you pull your hair out at the massive info dump for the sake of so called immersion. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Rebirth: How a Loser Became a Prince Charming
May 6, 2019
Status: Completed
MC gets to be rebirthed but is in a alternate dimension where the only difference is he's now suddenly super good looking and super smart. The novel is a slow slice of life where MC gets pretty much everything handed to him because of his good looks. You, the reader will follow along his day to day life to becoming super famous in the world.

Now this was originally a 4 star rated novel for me because there's some funny parts in the story where women walk into poles from staring... more>> at his smile among other things. But here's the problem, and some people might have noticed this too. There were often times that paragraphs in the novel don't quite connect with each other for me, and it was nagging me at the back of my mind.

I finally went to check the raws one day and realized that the translator had been SKIPPING SENTENCES, and sometimes whole paragraphs!!!!! That's right, he/she only translated what they felt like! So 1 star taken off.

The author is another one of those nationalist guys where China is great and everyone else sucks so if you cannot stand that, you might want to skip this novel. Now everyone needs to read at their own risk because many details are missing from the novel. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Mystical Journey
May 1, 2019
Status: c520
The premise of the novel is quite interesting where MC gets summoned or reincarnated into different worlds and trains to become stronger.

I took away 1 star rating because of the translation/editing. You get past and present tense mixed up, awkward sounding sentences, and the naming sense is a hot mess. I have a feeling the translator jumbled up the Chinese raw with its English pinyin to make the names more Western sounding. You basically end up with a retarded sounding names that you thought was one thing but ends up... more>> being the opposite or completely different. Ivy is a guy's name, Daniela is a city name, Stone Clock of Fortune is actually not a stone or a clock but a bottle... I'm scared to even check the raws for their translation accuracy because I bet there will be quite a few mistakes.

I took away another star rating due to the story at times is rather boring, and there's too many side characters getting half a chapter screen time that will encounter our MC but be gone shortly after. And when you throw in the nonsensical names mixed with convuluted explanations, you basically come away from a chapter asking yourself "I wonder if any other readers understood that."

Give this novel a try because certain parts of it is entertaining. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
My House of Horrors
April 7, 2019
Status: c83
I'm not an actual fan of horror genres but if I watch a movie belonging to it, I have to do it at night and in the dark to get the full experience. I recommend new readers to read this at night by themselves without any distractions. The reason this is highly rated is because it will give you goosebumps and let your imagination run wild.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Carefree Path of Dreams
March 8, 2019
Status: c532
This novel is a pretty good read. The beginning was great, the MC levels up pretty fast, and traveling to other worlds by dream powers is quite entertaining. Some minor annoyance are that there's sometimes too much screen time for side characters that you know will become obsolete in the future. Another thing that keeps the novel from being 5 stars is the awkward translation/editing at times. Here's an example:

Chen He spat out the chunk of meat he was chewing on and retched. He was cross.

Did the translator just go... more>> Dr. Seuss on us? Every chapter would have these cringe worthy word choices which pulls the reader out of the immersion. I have seen much worse translations in webnovel so I guess this is considered quite good already. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
History’s Number 1 Founder
September 18, 2018
Status: c267
Just like History's Strongest Senior Brother, this novel is all about info dumps and people thinking, feeling, talking, contemplating etc etc. Then ocassionally some fights mixed into it. It's really too tiresome for me to read and instead of being entertained, I feel like it has become a chore to read.

Instead of focusing on his cultivation especially when his disciples are catching up to him, the internal game system inside his mind forces him to complete certain quests. Off he goes on excursions dealing with his disciple's personal issues in... more>> order to fulfill said quests. It's fine and all if it were entertaining but then we all know what's in store for the readers - massive info dump of history and thoughts we don't care about of every place he walks by. On some ocassions when a fight takes place, instead of describing the fight scene, you get a bunch of background info dump once again.

Zhao Yan gathers his energy and performs X special move against Xiao Budian as a last resort!

"X special move was once created by Y and then modified by Z, but it wasn't to L's liking so he searched all over for a piece of plant to upgrade it. The new X special move has achieved balance with both fire and ice elements which cause space-time to fluctuate when it's ultimate form has been activated. Unfortunately, Z heard about it and there was a big disturbance when those two people brought in other sects into the chaos by making up random rumors to damage the reputation of their Sect Leader's wife's cousin's dog..."

In summary, it's chapters upon chapters of filler trying to digusise itself as interesting content. If you liked HSSB, then you'll like this work of his as well. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Treasure Hunt Tycoon
August 3, 2018
Status: c417
As others have said, this is a Chinese guy in the Storage Wars tv shows who's living life with a super bug Cheat. It's a slice of life novel with his partner, some pets, and a girl he has the hots for. Slightly on the boring side for me because I'm more action oriented but others might enjoy it.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Nightfall
August 2, 2018
Status: c184
This novel isn't for everyone because it's kinda like watching a ballet or opera. There's a whole bunch of flowery descriptions, wikipedia info dump, and many chapters of characters introduced that I assume will one day intersect with the MC's destiny. I feel like the info dump is even stronger than Ze Tian Ji and don't really care too much for it. And there are backstory's to multiple characters, places, things, flashbacks, that it gets rather tedious for me to read so I start skimming. Sometimes, I'm confused at what's... more>> going on and I'm too lazy to re-read it to understand. But when the story focuses on the MC, it's quite interesting to read about his struggles to cultivate.

The grammar has been fixed in early chapters but start getting bad in he 200's. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omgitsaray
omgitsaray rated it
Pursuit of the Truth
May 16, 2018
Status: c580
I want to like this novel but it tries too hard with the mysteries and trying to make the reader feel emotional. And the worse part is certain segments drags on and on. The closest example I can give without spoiling the story is imagine a single dinner could be talked about for 15+ chapters when you were already over it by the third chapter and wishing it would end by the sixth. Then the MC goes take a leak in the toilet and that's another 3 chapters. Ugh...

But there... more>> is a light at the end of the tunnel, because once you get to around chapter 250's, things only drag on for a few chaps and the story becomes more entertaining then. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3