Report Review
17 Reviews


omarct
omarct rated it
Dungeon Defense
August 26, 2016
Status: v2c4
I started reading this series and I thought well this seems pretty cool, there is a game mechanic and the main character is interesting as it seems he only acts when forced to but when he does act miracles happen. But after reading volume 2 I am completely disappointed, the MCs personality changed almost completely, now he is spewing sh*t about authority and taking over the world by waging war and whatnot and I am like WTF when did this character development happen? Anyways the series has developed into another... more>> Japanese novel where nothing happens, the entire volume is spent talking about nonsense and unimportant things with barely any plot development, in fact after reading volume 2 I realized you could just skip the first 3 chapters and only read the last one and you would still understand the main plot perfectly. Anyways this kind of series full of inconsistencies and nonsense that you can just skip through is what I hate the most. If you like reading tons cutesy character interactions mixed with mass murder and psychopathic behavior (done by the same cutesy characters which is out of place and inconsistent in my opinion) then this sh*tty novel is the one for you. I also recommend most moe (lots of useless interactions as well) and cutesy horror anime such as Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni and the likes. P.S. The game mechanics that I mentioned? Forget about it, that was only in the prologue and it seems that beyond the one that lets him see other peoples affection he wont be getting anything else anytime soon. <<less
93 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Battle Through the Heavens
October 9, 2016
Status: c270
I despise this novel. Everything in this novel feels generic, from the auction house, to the old dude in the ring, to the alchemy, to the MC from another world, to everything else. The fact that it uses it these well used things doesnt bother me, it is the fact that there is nothing unique to any of it. Its like the author just decided to put every xianxia cliche into the story to try and make it interesting. Some of the things dont even play a role in the... more>> story, like him being from another world it is just a gimmick to I guess make the readers relate to the MC, but it has nothing and I mean nothing to do with the story, it is mentioned at the beginning and never again. If what I am telling you isnt bad enough, then there is the writing, oh god the writing. This author is the worst writer I have ever seen, there is so much PADDING every f**king chapter. It gets to the point where I am rushing trying to get through all the nonsense, as a matter of fact I started skipping entire paragraphs altogether, I would read the first few words and just from that I could tell what was coming. Yes thats right it got to the point where I could recognize whether a paragraph was padding or not just from reading the first sentence. Do yourself a favor go read ISSTH, ATG, TMW, MW, DE, TDG or any other recommendation before reading this piece of garbage. <<less
39 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Peerless Martial God
October 26, 2016
Status: c400
This series gets a lot of sh*t. But in reality after reading some other Chinese novels in this site, I have realized that this is actually a gem by comparison. The main gripe with this novel that I have is the nonstop talking before and after the fights which happens around ch100-200. The talking smack thing is annoying and makes the author look silly because of how hypocritical and nonsensical it is. But after this 100 chapters the author tones it down a lot and the series is goes back... more>> to being very enjoyable. This series has everything you want in your Xuanhuan, with very little inconsistencies and good quality of training and pace. Dont listen to the haters and be put off by the ratings, I recommend this series and if you can look past the talking smack part which is not as bad as it sound, I would actually laugh quite a bit because of it, then you will enjoy this novel. <<less
33 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Perfect World
October 7, 2016
Status: c180
Although the translations are lacking a little bit, this is a very good read. Do not listen to the reviews talking about the personality change of a 4 year old (what personality can a 4 year old have?), these reviewers have read too many regular xianxias and believe the MC is a 16 year old with a static personality when in reality personality is something that develops as you grow older and the main character in this novel is directly affected by the personality of those around him (bold, reckless,... more>> loyal, proud, poor, gluttons).

This series is unique in that the MC grows up slowly and we watch him grow from a baby to a powerful youth. In other series the MC will be 13-18 by chapter 50, yet in this series we are almost to chapter 200 and he is still only 9. I also like how the beast cultivators are handled so they are just like the humans. TLDR: The story is interesting and unique, the translations are decent but can make the reading slightly more difficult, overall a worthy read which I recommend. <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Martial World
May 16, 2016
Status: c212
One of my favorites right now. In fact I like it so much that it actually rekindled my drive to read new novels after spending months only keeping up with 3 or 4 without reading anything new. I love that its fast paced yet still remains slow and detailed without too much skipping around. Its nice seeing him slowly getting stronger although in the most recent chapters the pace has changed to a large degree and he skipped some levels completely which I dont like since it made certain things... more>> like the fight with the strongest disciple kinda pointless, but its not a big deal and hopefully it was a one time thing from the author. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Godly Model Creator
October 29, 2017
Status: c50
It is really unfortunate that I have decided to drop this novel. I really love this kind of setting, but sometimes we must face reality and come to terms on how sh*tty something is. This novel had potential, but the author is just garbage. The first 50 chapters of the story it's just a long training session. What sort of training? The worst kind, where the character just copies others effort without doing anything themselves. The only exception and part that I like was when he went out of the... more>> city to get some money for his training. This sort of cheat system I could overlook, but what really put me off was the "cultivation" system.

Basically, cultivation is made up of 4 parts, knowledge (exam), physique, martial arts, and ability (different ability are given different rankings/points by the government). The system could be ok if it was just used in the school setting, but once you take it out of the school setting it makes no sense. How could a random stranger, who knows nothing about you, know that your cultivation is 9 points, when 2 of those points come from knowledge, 2 from ability, and the rest form physique, and martial art. It makes sense in the school setting because they are regularly tested and the information is public, but outside school how would you know someone exact score if you dont even know what ability (think x-men) they have. Obviously, the author wanted to use a xianxia like system where others can immediately tell your power level but didn't think it all the way through. The story is full of inconsistencies like this and I hate this kinda of retarded stuff. It feels like the author just doesn't care and just puts whatever he comes up with to get some cash. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Realms In The Firmament
September 26, 2016
Status: c160
I have read the author's other novels so I started reading this with high expectations. Unfortunately so far this seems a far cry from the author's other novels. The MC is not as likable, he seems like a Japanese MC at times, he also feels very inconsistent considering that he is 1000+ years old yet acts like a 13 year old from time to time. The story seems even slower than his other novels with a dozen chapters dedicated to the short interaction with one girl, or 1 or 2... more>> chapters spent sitting on his bed breaking through to the next level diyuan 3 to diyuan 4. This is unacceptable specially when you consider the fact that the main character never even uses his cultivation because he never fights anyone around his level. A lot of padding and unnecessary nonsense that seems like poor writing. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Way of the Devil
May 27, 2018
Status: c223
Amazing. This is the story of a tiger in sheep's clothing who is hiding not to eat the sheep, but the shepherds. The story starts out super unique with the horror story feel and making the MC seem insignificant, but quickly turns on its head and the hunted becomes the hunter. The fights although not common are very satisfying and the MC's aggressive and unstable mentality serve to create some bad-ass hair rising moments where you can feel the fear and oppression that the main character emits to his enemies.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Stellar Transformation
October 11, 2017
Status: Completed
This novel can be divided into 3 main arcs. Each arc belongs to a realm. The lower realm was ok, it was a bit generic and nothing really amazing happened, but it was an enjoyable read and I would give it a 3.5 rating which is above average. The middle realm was freaking incredible, it is the main reason why I would recommend this noble. The Author did an amazing job at giving you the feel of cultivators in outer space (something he keeps doing in his later work) and... more>> I completely fell in love with the whole space theme, I give it a 4.5. Now the last realm was the big negative for this story. Especially coming from the hyped middle realm to this last realm was like falling from the heavens. The contrast between the 2 was really bad. It feels like the story suddenly did a 180 and turned into something else. Its been a while so I cant remember exactly why I disliked it as much as I did, but it was probably the lack of good fights/action and the mediocre love story taking the main stage. The world also wasnt very interesting and considering it was supposed to be the highest plane, it felt very mediocre and small. I give it a 2.5 rating.

Overall I give this novel a 3-3.5. It is a good read if you are looking for something that isn't idiotic like many other novels on this site. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Ultimate Scheming System
December 18, 2017
Status: c25
Just more hot garbage. Another author just straight up copying things from other novels, it reads more like fanficion of a "Battle Through the Heavens" Fan, where the MC just buys abilities and weapons from other novels. Although it may be entertaining for a few chapters at the end of the day is just another lazy author seeking to make a quick buck.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Shrouding the Heavens
November 12, 2016
Status: c130
Not as good as perfect world, yet still very enjoyable. This novel lacks something, I can't put my finger on it but I think it may have to do with story direction or maybe its the world building. In any case the writing and translation is good and the novel itself is enjoyable. I recommend it if you are looking for something to read. P.S The beginning of the novel is incredibly slow and it takes almost 50 chapters for cultivation to start which can be a turn off for... more>> many, just a warning so that you can push through that start, because as interesting as it was I feel that it dragged for a bit too long. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
The Desolate Era
August 29, 2016
Status: v17c21
In my top 5 fav novels and I have read close to 70. This novel has everything from IET previous novels like CD and ST, but it is done so much better. A lot of the flaws from those 2 novels have been reduced or removed completely while keeping the good aspects. I have always loved the whole concept of Daos and enlightenment as cultivation instead of just the usual level up by just spending enough time cultivating qi. IET does training really well and this novel excels at that,... more>> the action is really good but what hypes you up is watching how the character uses his tribulations and hardships to get stronger and stronger both mentally and physically. If you love a solid story with no major flaws, good action, decent drama, and a genius on his path to Godhood to be able to protect everything he cares for, then this is the novel for you. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Genjitsushugi Yuusha no Oukoku Saikenki
July 31, 2016
Status: v3
What can I say, this is your average japanese novel, emasculated male character, lots of girl who mainly serve as decoration (look and dont touch), very slow story with a lot of japanese like things. BUT the saving grace of this story is the concept, although probably not unique this happens to be the first time I have seen it and particularly to this extent where he changes things from the ground up, although it will probably never reach the level I hope for (scientific/military advancements such as guns) it... more>> is still interesting to read and I have enjoyed myself. Cant wait for more chapters to get translated. P.S. The translations do a really good job and have gotten even better as they release more chapters. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
God and Devil World
June 22, 2016
Status: c232
Lots of inconsistencies and mistakes by the author really breaks this for me. MC levels up to lvl37 one chapter then 10 chapters later levels up to lvl35. The skills are not explained very well and the main character's strength feels very inconsistent. Story also gets dull after a while. Long story short the concept is really good but the author is utter garbage, he just writes whatever pops into his mind without even remembering what he has written before. Even still I recommend the novel it is much more... more>> enjoyable read than a lot of other higher on the novel updates rankings. TL;DR: The concept is unique and incredible if you have a good imagination, which makes up for the subpar translations and author. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Sovereign of the Three Realms
June 10, 2017
Status: c164
Inconsistent, poor writing, mediocre story. This is at best a time sink if you don't care about quality. The beginning was alright but like many of these novels the longer it goes the worst it gets. I had to stop reading when a female character asked the MC to pull a giant needle out of her buttcheeks because she couldn't reach it (huh? Wasnt there a more believable excuse for an "ecchi" moment?).
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
War Sovereign Soaring The Heavens
October 29, 2017
Status: c40
If you are a teenager with tons of time to burn then I could see you reading this. Even then, I would recommend to do something better with your time. This series is just super mediocre. Nothing interesting or new. Shallow characters, plot, cultivation, etc.... There is no inspiration in this. Whoever wrote it just wanted some cash from readers.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
omarct
omarct rated it
Castle of Black Iron
August 9, 2017
Status: c214
This novel is very slow, especially the beginning which I kinda speed read because of all the info dump. Another problem is the vulgarity and pervertedness which takes some time to get used to. Other than that the translations are lacking, they are generally decent but every now and then the translator gets brain farts, especially when dealing with the cultivation (which can be a bit confusing).

So then why give it 4 stars? Well once the series gets going at around chapter 20, it becomes a very enjoyable progression adventure... more>> and coming of age story. The story has some game element like progression which I always enjoy and the main character becomes more and more interesting over time. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report