Report Review
20 Reviews


nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Wu Dong Qian Kun
May 11, 2016
Status: c314
"Buzz Buzz! " This is a review as of chapter 314. The series starts out with some usual tropes, boy finds treasure that imparts special skills to get stronger. "Bang Bang!"

There is emotions, there is some character development, and then there are spirit stones and resources. Nothing new, but readable.

"Everybody is shocked! Who is everybody? No one knows, just some random shock reaction scene, move along!'

... more>> Then the story becomes sh*tty because literally 90% of this series is fight scenes and this author sucks ass at writing a compelling fight scene.

"Take this secret move, Moon Phoenix Mystery Dark Fist of the Sun!"

"BOOM!'

Reading this review is pretty much like reading the novel. Some words in between a bunch of SFX. Boring and dropped from my main reading list. "Swoosh!"

"Your secret move amounts to only so! Take this, a secret move that I, Ling Dong, discovered and perfected, Bloody Sacred Saber Divine Sword Darker Fist Shadow Step Big Power Super Kick Golden Platform!"

"What did he say?! What an arrogant fellow!"

It gets 2/5 stars because I can't even care about the MC anymore. All he does is go around wrecking havoc and acting like a spoiled brat.

"Run!" <<less
207 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Emperor’s Domination
February 3, 2017
Status: c1500
So this is a review I decided to write after reading 1500 chapters on the raws. I am going to review this story based on my personal preference of character growth, unique plot development and memorable characters. Warning, overall spoiler ahead. Nothing specific plot revealing but a general spoiler.
... more>>
Spoiler

1. Character growth 2/5
The characters of this series do not develop at all. The MC has been living for a couple of million years, so he is quite unhinged mentally and arrogant to the Nth degree because he's basically the instructor of every major super power in history. He has happened to start the story with his real body this time so he has to build up his body from the beginning. His character does not grow anymore; it is more like we begin to realize the longer we read that he is a bloodthirsty murderer hellbent on seeing the world burn. He intentionally instigates other people to attack him so that he can massacre their family/school for fun. Sure they have treasures, but the MC's net worth is probably 900 billion times that of the most rich school in the world so he doesn't covet their treasures to improve his wealth. At the beginning, you will see that he has weaknesses. IE, he lets other people damage his body and he gets hurt. Which seems weird because a normal MC would not do this. However, this MC thinks pain is a reminder that he is alive... and he wants to experience pain to train his true body. Weird. At least the writing is good and sometimes I can feel the sentimentality of someone who has outlived all of his friends in a repeated cycle for a couple of million years.
The other characters are not notable. There will be names you remember, but they are all the same tropes. Prettiest girl. Cold beauty. s*xy beauty. Super talent. The names don't really matter, because you can basically swap the names and it is essentially the same 4 characters with a different name.

2. Plot development 1/5
Yes, there is a plot. Yes it is a super god damn sh*tty plot that uses the same trope to tell a story. Imagine this scenario:
a) MC intentionally pisses on some random super genius #loldeadguy. Super genius #loldeadguy gets butthurt. Minion 1 jumps in to attack MC. MC eradicates entire Minion 1's school. A bunch of people are shocked. A bunch more people say super genius #loldeadguy is more OP than MC.
b) MC goes on a treasure hunt, encounters Minion 2. MC eradicates entire Minion 2's school. A bunch of people are shocked. A bunch more people say super genius #loldeadguy is more OP than MC. MC now meets super hot girl who now follows him around.
c) MC teaches girl a bunch of stuff. Minion 3 shows up, acts tough. Girl is sad for Minion 3 and super genius #loldeadguy because she knows how OP MC is. MC eradicates entire Minion 3's school. A bunch of people are shocked. A bunch more people say super genius #loldeadguy is more OP than MC. MC now meets new super hot girl who now also follows him around.
d) MC is awesome, super hot genius girl falls for him after following him around. #loldeadguy shows up all butthurt MC is with hot girl. MC then kills super genius #loldeadguy and eradicates his school. Loots the world for sh*ts and giggles. Everyone is shocked. MC decides to go to another dimension where no one knows him so he can start at bottom of totem pole again. (There are probably 9 different dimensions).
e) Repeat step (a) in new dimension. There are 9 dimensions, probably. So this plot doesn't change. At all. You will basically be reading this same plot forever. Each dimension is probably 500 - 600 chapters. So 1500 chapters in, I'm at 3rd dimension and it is the same series of steps that I've already read twice. Different names of characters and treasures, but it is essentially the same thing rehashed. Its basically a 600 chapter spider-man franchise at this point.

3. Memorable characters 1/5
The names may be different but all the characters are the same. None are really memorable.

Overall it isn't great. It is the same short story repackaged with different names every 500 characters. I gave it a 2 because every once in a while, there is some thoughtful writing about life. But this is a terrible book in every sense.

[collapse]
<<less
77 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Versatile Mage
March 5, 2016
Status: --
I stopped reading this at chapter 40. There are a couple of reasons, but the main one is that I don't like the MC. Here is the setting:

MC came to new world, full of magic. His family is being suppressed by a local noble's. MC has a magic pendant and access to more magic than other people. Proceeds to act like a retard. There is no thought process involved, no real character development. His decisions don't come from any thought out plan, he just makes some random decisions and plot... more>> armor makes things go his way. Even the girls who are interested in him comes from plot armor and not from interactions. You don't see the budding romance between them, things are established as fact and I just can't feel for the characters.

The characters are from the country, so I believe the author tried to put in an accent but perhaps the translators didn't do well in translating the dialogue but the direction doesn't work well and the plot is sort of a jumbled mess. Would not recommend.

3/5 World building.
1/5 Character development
1/5 Character dialogue
2/5 Plot.
1/5 MC Charisma - I just think he's a total idiot. Would not want to read more about him.
Spoiler

Especially after he totally insults the lord of the MU family in front of everyone putting a huge target on his back. What an idiot.

[collapse]
<<less
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
LV999 Villager
December 17, 2015
Status: --
I saw the many great reviews, combined with it being so high on the series ranking list, I thought it would be a great series. I was very disappointed in this. It is your very typical japanese novel template, I can never tell if the these types of novels find it funny to write characters with no common sense or if the authors just suck ass at writing a complete character. It is also your typical japanese novel with a few tropes I detest so I will not continue to... more>> read it past c2 part 11.

1- MC is OP in power, but he can't carry a conversation worth crap. People say that this story is interesting - it could have been. Sadly, he is the only character with common sense in the entire novel. It makes you disdain everyone else and leads to a lack to respect for the world building. The reactions of side characters show the emotional maturity of an 8 year old. 2- The "heroes" are totally dumb. This is the group of people the world perceives to be heroes. They are so bad compared to the MC that it is irritating to read. They lack common sense, the princess lacks education that you would expect a princess to have. She isn't worldly, she doesn't understand economics and she isn't aware of society. It's as if the author finds it funny to make everyone except MC and his close friends a dumb brick.

3- The MC will be surrounded by loli's and hot women in the future. For no reason. They will also be one dimensional characters confined to a jap trope behavior. 4- The demon king wants peace, not war. They will probably solve problems with love and understanding and friendship. This kind of bullsh*t is ridiculous.

Really too cliche for me. 2/5 stars. <<less
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Zhan Long
September 22, 2015
Status: --
This story had a lot of potential, but as it chugs along there is a lot of 'WTF this makes no sense' moments. Super powerful ex SWAT team member using chinese battle Qi methods... is homeless and needs a job. Finds a job but plays games all day but is still super handsome, fit, good looking. Sleeping in a park bench to playing games in a capsule, but still manages to get all the ladies. I don't even want to list all the stupid sh*t the game does or how... more>> ridiculous the skills and equipment are. Even the plot will not make any sense at times. Easy to browse since there are a ton of chapters, but you'll just facepalm yourself all the time with this story. <<less
37 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Invincible Leveling King
March 8, 2016
Status: --
So.. Imagine a story about Xanxia. That is this story. No world building, some fights where the enemies are one dimensional. The word ‘trash’ everywhere. Proceed to train and level up. No meaningful conversations with friends, no character development, no reason to care. Would not recommend.

... more>>
Spoiler

1- MC thinks of hiding his abilities because being low key is the best. Immediately proceeds to fight powerful people and show off his power with Chuunibyou lines.
2- MC fights one enemy. Enemy is defeated. Enemy thinks MC is trash – then calls his older brother to fight for him. Older brother is defeated. They all think MC is trash. Calls his best friend to beat MC. Best friend is defeated. Everyone still thinks MC is trash. Someone’s god damn grandma comes out. Repeat.

3- MC goes out to train. Finds some lucky super powerful item. Repeat step 2. This is the story by chapter 32. No thanks, I’m done reading this.

[collapse]
<<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Return of the Former Hero
October 17, 2015
Status: --
This isn’t really a novel, it is more like the deluded fantasies of a 12 year old Japanese boy. Harem fantasy, sub-par writing style (though I’m not sure if it is the translator or the original but I honestly don’t care), the story just doesn’t pull you in. It isn’t funny, it doesn’t have great suspense, poorly written fight scenes, poor character interaction and dialogue. Fortunately, no one would truly expect that coming into this story based on the description. I just hoped it would be a shot in the... more>> dark great read – which it isn’t. For that reason, it gets 2 stars instead of 1.

Edit:
So I've read more to re-evaluate my review. I would hate to give a 2/5 and then find out it improves later on. I am going to keep my 2/5 review for the following reasons.
1- The MC is one of those super powerful guys who blush at women and acts with his d--- more than his brain.
2- The MC is a total pushover to any sort of peer pressure or social pressure. It is a contradiction to his power level - his maturity is so low that he lacks poise. It makes for sh*tty comedy, probably aimed at the 15 and under demographic who have not read a wide berth of novels and are reading such things for the first time.
3- Unrealistic plot. It's a harem, with s*x, what plot? There really isn't a connection between the characters. They blush, they fight to 'defend' each other, then its random s*x time. It's not even erotic, still just some delusion of a 12 year old boy who dreams of getting laid. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
The Avalon of Five Elements
July 9, 2016
Status: c32
I nearly did not read this series because of the artwork, so if you feel the same way then be assured and give this novel a try. This is a work by the author of "World of Cultivation." If you are familiar with that, then you would be familiar with the pacing and character development in this series and I would highly recommend it. If not, then read on.

The story's greatness lies in the pacing and character development. So many novels follow a generic formula:

1. MC is poor, MC is... more>> picked on by random village bully. MC trains to fight bully, finds a treasure and wins fight during a tournament. Bully's brother is then mad at MC, etc etc. Repeat sh*tty cycle of (insert random name) is randomly mad at MC and MC is then motivated to train forever. In this novel, the characters have a background and a temperament fitting their background. There are side characters but they are fleshed out and are not random NPCs with a few lines never to be seen again. The humour is done really well and the world is slowly built as the MC explores it. The MC's body is a mystery and his cultivation techniques do not fit in the mold of the current era - so he has to find unconventional ways to improve himself. As of today, only 32 chapters have been translated but I highly recommend it. <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
World of Cultivation
February 3, 2017
Status: Completed
This is a review of the entire novel since l have finished reading the raws. ... more>>
Spoiler

For a long time this novel had been the standard in which l used this novel to compare other wuxia. The characters are diverse. They each had a personality, a relatable quirk of character that was both charming and believable at the same time. The slow pacing became something l really looked forward to because it came with a lot of insight into the psych of our MC.
And then it breaks my heart to rate this series at 3 stars given how amazing the first third of this story was developed. Then the author became overwhelmed by the scope of the world he was building and the constraints of his chapter by chapter format. He could not properly flesh out an event without losing readers in the details and short chapter length. The author also sucks at writing romance, flirting or s*xual tension. There really isn't subtlety at all between the males and females. The last half of the book honestly felt like a different author took over. Time skips happen, 6 to 10 year segments of character growth just aren't described in the same detail as the beginning. You have sorry sentences like "6 years later he wasn't the same person as before. He was more calm and mature" which sucks. I wanted to be there while the MC experiences those hardships and bouts of personal growth. Individual personality is replaced with power level dogma.

And the ending was a load of crap that felt so rushed. Hey, we won. Time to build a house. The end. What? They plan to fight. Fought then story ended. No resolution, no reunions, no good things.

[collapse]

Overall the characters are great but are not developed to their full potential. This could have been a magnificent story because the scope of the world was so grand and well developed but the author totally dropped the ball on how he executed it. It was as disappointing for me as when l first read the balls deep amazing book Bloodsong then read the second book which was utter garbage. 3/5. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
September 22, 2015
Status: --
A very similar feel to Against the Gods, so if you enjoy that flavor of story then this is something you will also enjoy. I am 57 chapters into this story and I enjoy it. There are some aspects that make me concerned, but I will address the good parts first. The MC achieved a lot in his life before he died and was reincarnated. After reincarnating, he has retained his memories and the adventure begins of how he will use his knowledge to change 'history'. It has a lot... more>> of similarities in humor and 'MC is op because XYZ' moments. It is paced well and we also get the standard asshole guy who wants to ridicule and embarrass the MC because he thinks the MC is trash. Can't have a novel without these guys. Easy to read, there is a plot and character development to some extent. Now, I am concerned about how these authors tend to make the women super pretty and slightly one dimensional. I also find it creepy this old guy reincarnates into a 13 yr old body and starts chasing after his love who is also in a 13 yr old girl body. Sure, I know they were lovers but it has a slight pedo feel to it. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
The King’s Avatar
March 8, 2016
Status: --
I really liked the story at first. It is detailed, the characters are relatable; they're human. But that is also a detraction of the novel. The premise is playing a game using a keyboard + mouse. So it is a story about a guy who plays games all day. Try to explain to a friend why they should read this story:

It is about a guy who is really good, with fast hands, playing a video game. He is better than other people at tactics, he is beating other people in... more>> the video game. So he fights using an... umbrella that designed himself. No, he doesn't have a job. No, he doesn't have a girlfriend. He lives in the Internet Café where he works... Yeah... He plays the game for like 20 hours a day... and a lot of people admire him in the game! No.. he doesn't stream, nor make money, nor advertise... he.... wants to farm a lot? He's already good at the game, it isn't really about him getting better... He's like a better FAKER. Who is FAKER? UHH....

Right. Not necessarily the most thrilling to read about his goals to farm in game. The world building is a nice read and you can see the tactics involved. I just don't happen to care about the character's goals, so I can't get into it. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Unlimited Fafnir
December 7, 2015
Status: --
The world building:

In typical Japanese fashion, there is a crazy setting. World gets attacked by dragons (nothing new, it’s Japan) and the only thing that can save them is a bunch of little girls. Yup. And then they will put all the girls on one island, because obviously the dragons will not nuke them all at once and kill the only resource available to mankind to defeat these dragons. Why do the dragons not attack the island at once? It isn’t clear – the first few books create the scenario... more>> where the girls can’t handle more than one dragon attack at a time. What is creepy is that even the dragons want to sleep with these little girls. The dragons put dragon symbols on a bunch of girls, give them super powers with a time bomb like feature. When a dragon gets horny, a random girl with a dragon symbol will be selected. That girl will have to evade the dragon. If she gets caught, she will turn into a dragon and get raped. In addition, as soon as the girls have s*x or turn 20, these powers disappear. Even dragons want virgins and lolis. If you are familiar with Japanese novels, this kind of creepy ass sh*t is nothing new.

The main character:

Typical Japanese harem bait. Useless as f**k in a conversation but secretly a super assassin with life issues. A whole bunch of issues. And of course, in a world filled with little girls, only he can unlock their hearts and save mankind. Girls will all want him just because he says ‘hi’ and will fling themselves at him and get jealous and overreact to everything. No, thanks, this book isn’t for me. I have a preference for MCs with their own set of values, ambitions and confidence. I had a huge headache by book 2 and will not continue to read further. Evidently it has a lot of favorable feedback, but I do not think this is meant to be read by anyone older than 15. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Takarakuji de 40-oku Atattandakedo Isekai ni Ijuu Suru
August 18, 2016
Status: c55
Ugh writing reviews suck. I think I'll procrastinate by flying to a different city and then write a review. Flying sucks. Let me drive to the next state to take the airplane back. This kind of weird logic is basically the premise of this series.

Guy wins the lottery but feels burdened by the 10 family members who pop out of nowhere asking for some money. Annoyed and not wanting to share his newfound wealth, the MC drives to the country side... to take care of an entire village of... more>> strangers. Then he voluntarily decides to use his wealth to help a new country of strangers.

I don't understand what motivates him. If you are familiar with Japanese MCs, you will notice that a lot of the male leads have no real directions or aspirations. They are all 'will not kill' or 'laze around at my own pace' kind of stories. This is a 'laze around at my own pace' kind of story that in theory I should enjoy, but the backstory and MC really holds be back from enjoying it. The MC isn't particularly cool nor is he interesting. It was the world building that brought me into the story and it is the MC that is going to bring me out of it. He's too selfless, too dense, too nonsensical, too non human in his reactions. He has almot no passion, no drive and nothing that makes him memorable.

I enjoy the story, hence the 3 stars but it is a slice of life on the weaker side of novel offerings. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?
September 9, 2015
Status: --
This is a strange series, very similar to Tensei sh*tara Slime Datta Ken, where the female MC reincarnates as a spider with MMORPG like stats, skills and story setting. She is at first very shy and reserved and we see her progress as her skills and desire to live grow. I wasn't sure if I would enjoy her silliness in the early chapters but having read up to ch 150, I can see how much growth and change she has gone through due to her experiences. I highly recommend this... more>> story. The author forgoes a lot of emotional and scenic details and instead focuses on capturing your attention with wit and short bursts of action and reflection. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Descent of the Phoenix – 13 Years Old Princess Consort
September 8, 2015
Status: --
What starts out as a slightly interesting story with a strong female lead quickly degenerates into a female version of the "male" dream. She goes from the most beautiful assassin and re-incarnates into.. The most beautiful mystery princess who is better at swordplay, politics, guts, warfare, assassination, technology than the universe. Oh someone gets in her way? Kill the entire enemy army by herself, cuz she's so bloodthirsty they all piss their pants looking at her. Readers beware, mary sue to the extreme and honestly becomes pointless to read.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Martial God Asura
October 17, 2015
Status: --
450 chapters in and I have realized that this novel is a waste of time. What started out as an enjoyable read about a young man coming into his own as a martial artist quickly becomes a story devoid of plot, character development or sense. Every antagonist goes on and on about their so and such power level compared to the MC then gets face smashed because the MC powered up. Really, the power levels don’t mean jack in this series; I don’t know why they even bother to bring... more>> it up anymore except to say that this badguy can’t be beat up right away by our MC. After a while, the whole story is basically about power levels. No fighting skills, the descriptions of a fight are basically: “And power lvl 80 fights power lvl 80. Their fight is amazing. Lazers and sh*t. Everyone is shocked. Then MC kills them all. Everyone is shocked because MC’s power is obviously only 40. How did he do it?”

Don’t think I’ll continue to read this. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Martial God Space
September 9, 2015
Status: --
The premise isn't new, the execution is just worse. Standard MC is reincarnated, finds a rock in a pond that gives him super training speed and then he trains using magic stones. Quickly develops a domineering attitude followed by tournaments after tournaments where everyone in the world is an asshat and MC needs to beat them all down in front of other people to gain reputation. Cycle repeat. /Plot. Boring to read, nothing new brought to the table, and really poor character development makes this one an easy read but... more>> also easy to pass. Very forgettable. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Gourmet of Another World
January 14, 2018
Status: c800
Imagine the worst tropes of Xanxia and Japanese Isekai novels and combine it into one. Then you will have this book. The first few hundred chapters did such a good job of being a good read that I was fooled into expecting something from this series. In many ways, this novel was entertaining and a decent read but quickly the xanxia and isekai elements go full retard. Once discovered, it becomes unbearable to read because of the repetitiveness.

Lets go over the list:

1. Reincarnated/transported MC. This is fine in itself but... more>> it is kinda pointless 98% of the time.

2. Lolis and big chested girls surround MC. All peerless beauties... but lets lead to point 3 which is kinda part of Isekai series that I find annoying.

3. MC has no d*ck. MC sees peerless beauty, thinks wow she looks great. Back to nap time, cuz my d*ck doesn't have a reaction. You sir are gay, just admit it and stop pretending to be looking for the "one."

4. Enemies appear and their first lines eventually devolve from an interesting encounter into "who is this trash?" as the series continues. 700 chapters in, it is basically "trash" "trash" "trash" as an insult by default. ugh.

5. Enemies also comment "what a trash from the noob kingdom/realm. Oh and he's such a trash."

6. Power ups happen for the sake of more power ups to fight more power ups. No actual bad guys are written, just random hating npc with a higher lvl is introduced endlessly who continue to spout out how their realm/kingdom is more badass and how trash MC is. Please, ffs, write like you did in the first 500 chapters where there is actually some sense of world building.

7. MC wants to be lazy and sleep. Which is cool, except this is the author's excuse to not flesh out the world around the MC. I get the "detached restaurateur" attitude, but the MC isn't detached - he doesn't give a F about life or the world around him. After a while, I don't care about the world either. Lets face it, if the MC don't care, why should I?

8. The black dog being a powerhouse is stupid beyond belief since it is so overused in the story. At first it is comedic, then it becomes face-smacking, then it becomes pointless. Black dog keeps on patting people down, but like the TSA, all it does is make people more angry the more patting happens. The dog is supposed to be awesome.. but he doesn't kill anyone meaningful. Bad guys keep bringing back their dads to wipe their ass and dog claw comes out. People are shocked. Repeat cycle.

After 500 chapters, this becomes full fledged Xanxia power level fest and super mindless. I really wanted to like this because it was very refreshing at the start but man does the author drop the ball. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
Heavenly Jewel Change
October 13, 2015
Status: --
So this review is basically a refutation of LNFanatic’s review. He is definitely NOT a mix of all these OP character’s strongest personalities. He is a realistic 13 year old spoiled brat good at being a pervert and getting in trouble – if you have read/watched the Return of the Condor Heroes series, he is very much a young Yang Guo. He’s mouthy, perverted, lazy and with a touch of both good and bad luck mixed in. That said, if you approach this novel without the high expectation created by... more>> LNFanatic’s review, it is an easy read. The world building is a steady pace so far, not too fast and not too lacking in detail that you can definitely see potential in the future chapters. Note that the females in Wuxia tend to be portrayed as crazy in some way – so don’t be surprised by that in this novel. Sadly I am giving it a 3/5 because of the hype that was created and then the MC falling short of the bar... but if you read it without that hype, I would have given it 4/5 stars. I've only read to V2c11 so far at the time of this review. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
nwms8
nwms8 rated it
A Martial Odyssey
September 2, 2015
Status: --
The story is very linear, the characters are super flat and an obnoxiously stupid MC could be forgiven if the action scenes are exciting.. But they aren't. What started out as an intriguing story quickly becomes a chore to read. I recommend moving on.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report