Report Review
33 Reviews


novaes
novaes
Legend of the Great Saint
April 23, 2017
Status: v1c14
Our MC is not a young master of X-clan, nor is he tripping over spiritual herb McGuffins or buried artifacts with ghost grandpas inside that just happen to be nearby for some reason. He is a down-trodden teenage boy living a lowly life of mediocrity and suffering, who begins to slowly temper himself as he starts to realize the world is bigger than he thought it was.

This appears to be a journey of self improvement and discovery, not alchemy cauldrons and bizarrely behaving side-characters who have a compulsive need to... more>> annoy the MC. The characters are refreshingly human-like, the story flows well despite it's slower pace and doesn't feel drawn out, plus we can see hints of greater things outside our protagonist's humble origins. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
Black Iron’s Glory
January 11, 2019
Status: c7
HARD PASS. DO NOT BOTHER.

The only people I can see liking this are the kinds of people who habitually read all the Quest text and Notes in MMOs and RPGs, since this is what the story seems to be made out of. An absolutely horrendous style of writing, to be sure.

As mentioned by others, it is filled with infodumps (that are gloriously boring and way, way too long). I can't decide if it's even worth reading them since what (little) they add to the actual story could have been done... more>> 100x better a different way. I legitimately had to make my own study notes to even keep track of the dozens and dozens of characters, places and events that kept being dumped on me before eventually getting too pissed off to bother. It felt like I was doing homework instead of relaxing! And why would anyone want to feel obligated to do homework to even follow a fantasy novel? What a waste of creative and translator talent. I'm almost irrationally angry at this book for being so awful. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
The Game Warrior
October 21, 2018
Status: c11
Thought I'd give this a go for others and write a little review.

I'll be honest, it's plain awful. It basically amounts to uninteresting info-dumps, cringe and chuuni. I'm sure someone tried really hard to make all this work, but it's just not enjoyable to read. The plot is like what you'd expect a not-so-popular teenager to come up with when imagining a cool life for himself, but it's not cool, it's even more lame than the description makes it sound.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
A Wizard’s Secret
February 8, 2019
Status: c21
Edit: As of ch50: There are way more plot holes and conveniences to come and the writing is a broken mess. But IF you can adapt to the terrible writing I guess I can see people reading this (since a lot of us NUbs consume trash novels religiously). It's still bad, though.

What started off as an interesting, if unoriginal story turned into total crap by what is quite possibly the biggest bullsh*t out-of-nowhere display of PLOT I've ever seen.

Story: A young man awakens to find himself transmigrated into a new... more>> world in a new body. He seeks to understand the world around him with his sketchy, unreliable memories only to realize this new world is one full of mysterious, supernatural powers, mystical knowledge, forgotten dynasties and even hints of great, unknown machinations at play! What does this new world hold for him? Perhaps he can find out as he carves out his own path- BRRRRRRRT ERROR!

AUTHOR LAZINESS DETECTED!

INITIATE PLAGIARISM MODE: QUANTUM COMPUTER INSTALLING... BRRRRT ERROR-

STORY CONTINUITY BROKEN... IGNORING... IGNORING... CONGRATULATIONS, YOUR BRAND NEW DEUS EX MACHINA HAS BEEN FULLY INSTALLED!

Either the translator is just outright skipping giant chunks of the story or this son of a biscuit author just reached right down and pulled out a giant load of crap from his trousers. It came completely out of nowhere!

<<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes
The Hunter Under the Tree of Origin
August 15, 2018
Status: c6
A total robot of a human being wakes up and gets a message telling him to do a thing, so he does, then he gets told to get some items, and he does, as for why the items are there, who cares? The messages say "jump" and the MC doesn't even bother to ask "how high? Before jumping. All the while you are left without any real reason to care about anything that's going on with him at all, other than the thought that whole scenario (as described in the... more>> novel description) might be bad, and it'd be nice to stop it.

The translations themselves are fairly poor quality and despite having three editors, seems to have a lot of common grammatical errors and reads like a disjointed mash of small sentences.

As for a general rant, I'm not sure why authors seem to forget that in order for a character to be interesting, they need to be emotionally engaging and no, boredom is not an acceptable emotion. The author endears very little emotional investment from the reader, and there are hardly any real clues that the MC was ever a human being in the first place, so you are left purely with curiosity for the situation, and none for the character themselves.

Maybe it gets better? I don't know, but I'm having a hard time pushing through it, and I hate it when a story makes me feel like I'm forcing myself to not have fun for the mere prospect of fun existing in the future. Maybe I'm just spoiled. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes
Painting of the Nine Immortals
April 18, 2017
Status: c7
Boring.

We meet the MC and then before we could get involved in his life PLOT happens! Then he gets a bunch of OP crap because of "luck" and "destiny". At this point in time, all I can see this as being is a wish-fulfillment cheat protagonist story, the xianxia equivalent of fast food. Strong flavor with low nutrition, packs a punch but leaves you feeling empty.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
Ace of the Dragon Division
January 30, 2019
Status: c28
Seems like yet another OP Chinese MC harem protagonist in the modern day complete with arrogant young masters, near total corruption of every level of society from government to the streets, devastating beauties lusting after the MC, face slapping, super powers and most of the same stuff you usually see in these novels.

Not sure if it's harem yet, since there is no harem tag but there's already a bunch of candidates and it's pretty much exactly what you'd expect bar one twist. Thankfully the MC does not appear to be... more>> an amoral, penisbrained, degenerate like they are in most Chinese harem novels, at least FOR NOW. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes
Legend of Swordsman
January 3, 2019
Status: c48
Feels like I've read this story a million times already. Not really spoilers, just a list of tropes.

... more>>
Spoiler
  • parents missing
  • MC is trash and looked down on
  • MC isn't actually trash but magical MacGuffin he's really super duper special
  • beautiful childhood friend betrayal
  • room temperature IQ
  • MC seems to be alone in a sea of people, none of which seem to stop him from being retarded
  • trips over himself to find magical power up plot devices
  • face slapping and arrogance
  • super strong people out of nowhere who exist just to plot the MC or oppress him
  • and more!
[collapse]

So far this is generic as heck, almost as if it's a just a book written by a committee of bots fed cultivation novel tropes, and it is nearly totally lacking in charm or grace. The only "adversity" the MC goes through is plot that exists to highlight how far his hand travels to slap someone in the face. So many cliches! <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
Worlds’ Apocalypse Online
August 12, 2019
Status: c48
EDIT, c48*: OK, the repeated arrogance and face slapping in this is super obnoxious. People are just throwing themselves at MC for the slightest reason. -1 star.

Judging by the reviews I thought this would be amazing, but it's really the same old chinese style novel, complete with arrogant young masters, "toad lusting after swan meat" quotes and all the other stuff you expect, often in a really contrived manner. Only the skin covering it is a mishmash of multiple genres. We currently have:

    • high-tech sci-fi
    • fantasy with demons and whatnot
    • cultivation
    • a system
    • devastating beauties getting involved with the MC
    • nobles and their noble bullsh*t you see in all these novels
    • lots more stuff that's spoiler territory so I can't mention it
It really is a giant soup made out of a whole load of genres. There's enough novelty to keep you reading, but it's nothing amazing so far (chapter 23). It does, however, lay it on thick at times, so don't go expecting some genre busting work of art that will blow your mind; It's just a fun story. As for whether or not it turns to crap in 100-200 chapters like 99% of all the other stories? Can't say. But you should expect CN/LN tropes, so don't get disappointed when the same old, tired tropes rear their ugly heads. Just roll with the punches.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
The Villains Need to Save the World?
June 25, 2018
Status: v1c5
If sexual assault and implied r*pe isn't your thing, I'd suggest you give this a pass

Personally, I wasn't expecting this to be as full-on as it is. The protagonist rapidly goes from confused reincarnated, gender-bent individual to an amoral, murderous sexual deviant that acts like what I'd imagine a horny teenage boy would. It reads like an adult book with the raunchy passages scrubbed, where everything exists only to be an excuse to have poorly planned adult shenanigans.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
I Have a Mansion in the Post-apocalyptic World
April 14, 2017
Status: c6
Seems like a fun "what if" sci-fi, post-apoc adventure with RPG elements and a protagonist who isn't some sort of murder-hobo or LN cardboard cut-out. You will probably find the story's universe very familiar after a few chapters, but hey, it works. I usually cannot stand this sort of "inspiration" at all but the author puts in effort to make it feel original, so it gets a pass from me.

Pacing is comfortable, too, not much in the way of info-dumps or word-count padding filler. Give it a try!
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
The Defeated Dragon
November 1, 2018
Status: c92
Tried to like it, but it's intensely boring.

Man gets reincarnated into the body of a boring aristocrat, then spends his life plodding around doing hardly anything. Entire chapters dedicated to barely one thing: "Today MC had a bath and wanted soap! Today MC told his serfs to serf better! Today MC ate bread! Today MC swung his sword! Today he looked at the thing again!". That's it, chapter after chapter he just sort of gets his serfs to do everything, practices a little, maybe rides a horse, then hurray! Our... more>> new Baron is so smart and the bestest master ever, I want to be his slave forever!

Story comprises maybe 1-2% action and adventure, despite them being the main tags. Hopefully something will happen in future but after nearly 100 chapters of drudgery, I've lost any real hope. It isn't even a real kingdom builder since everything just falls into his lap via a literal plot device that exists to... give him things. It is a very one dimensional story that probably could have been good, but got mired in laziness. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
The Ring That Defies The Heavens
February 27, 2019
Status: c24
I expected it to be good based upon the ratings but it's really just another one of those weird self-insert gary-stu VRMMO novels written by what appears to be a 14yo boy who loves World of Warcraft, but wishes he was good at sport and popular with girls. You really don't have to read the rest of the review, that is everything important.... more>>
Spoiler

Oh well, you asked for it. There's a cringe inducing, overly long game of basketball early to display the whole "game items to IRL" thing that makes no sense and I felt like dying while reading it. You have been warned!

[collapse]
Story so far: MC wants to to be a cool MMO baller but his dad (literally) won't let him, so he finds a ring lying around and what do you know? He can play the game now... somehow. So things aren't explained well, neither in real life nor the game and the MC's personality is total dogsh*t and pretty much what you'd expect from a stupid teenage boy with an undeserved sense of self-worth who almost constantly yells stupid things out loud.

He meets many cute girls, gets everything delivered to him without much effort and sort of struts around being a jackass. The game's rules also suck, btw
Spoiler

like supposedly being in prison for 3 whole days if you get arrested by NPCs. 72 actual hours of prison? Author please, I hope that's not true.

[collapse]
and there are a bunch of room temperature IQ bad guys pecking around who really give off no sense of danger because you just know they all exist as cannon fodder for the MC. So just read this for brainless self-insert and not for the engaging story. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
The Transcendent Immortal
February 10, 2019
Status: c10
Yet more of exactly the same stuff we've seen over and over again. A predictable, bog standard cultivation novel.

Spoiler

Trash MC, but he's actually not trash, also there's a childhood engagement breaking, young masters from sects, face slapping, revenge, idiot family conspiracies, oh no he pissed off a powerful person and blah blah blah, slap slap slap, the chapter titles contain spoilers. We've all read this novel before.

[collapse]

I won't call it horrible, but it's exactly what it is: a standard cultivation novel... at least SO FAR.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes
Overlord in Cultivation
December 20, 2018
Status: --
Really hard to understand this one.

It feels like a schizophrenic mess of ideas slapped together with deceptively good grammar, yet when you scratch the surface you find that it appears 60-70% of the content is missing. The plot jumps around like a spider high on caffeine. Who is the MC talking to? Is it himself? Wasn't he just in one place, how is he now in another? He just said he was hungry but now he's in a garden, what about eating? Oh a new character just appeared but the... more>> MC supposedly knows them because plot? Everything just jumps around, and then you get weird lexical choices like "overmatch", what is an overmatch? Author doesn't really say, but it is mentioned as if we should know what it means. I mean, it LOOKS like I'm reading English but I constantly feel like the words I'm reading are not the words that are supposed to be there.

I don't know if this is a cleaned MTL or what, but I do know that I'm terribly confused, yet I get the contradictory impression that this story is very simple and the story I'm piecing together with giant guesswork is probably exactly what is happening. Website is nice though. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes
Zombie Sister Strategy
November 21, 2018
Status: c29
"She wakes up only to find herself having become a newborn, superpowered zombie, in a body that used to belong to an evil and notorious woman!"

At first I thought she reincarnated into a literal zombie baby inside a woman's belly... but no, that's not what it was, I misread it even if that might have been exciting. Anyway, our hero transmigrates into the body of a villainess, not a fetus, under crazy circumstances, and then has to figure out how to get by in this unfamiliar, post-apocalyptic hellscape. The story... more>> itself borrows many elements from established works (I think the whole zombie system here is very korean, but I don't know where this style originated) but still turns out to be an enjoyable read, so don't let it bother you. There's action, there's adventure, there's... well, there's no romance... I don't think <ahem> that was very romantic, but we can see hints of where it's going so it's all good.

Thankfully the protagonist, while a bit naive, doesn't seem to be terminally retarded like they usually are in these kinds of novels. Plus there's refreshing lack of 'helpless dainty flower that exists to be sexually assaulted' syndrome! Our cute protagonist's bite is worse than her bark (which is also pretty big), and she's not afraid to get muck under her nails to get stronger so she can protect whatever she chooses.

I enjoy it a lot, so I'd say give it a go and see if it's your thing. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
The Devil’s Evolution Catalog
August 4, 2018
Status: c296
EDIT: Many chapters later, the MC is still helplessly stupid. Everything is suffering. Changed to 1.5 stars because I can't like nor recommend it, even though I want to.

All in all it's better than most of the stuff that I've seen here, but it's not amazing. I'll try and describe it without going into the plot too much, since I hate spoilers, even minor ones.

There are some darker themes, for those of you who are weak to that sort of thing, but they are glossed over handily so they don't... more>> get pointlessly uncomfortable. The protagonist has a lot of Japanese-style quirks, but they aren't too over-the-top (unlike the vast majority of actual Japanese novels). As for the story? I have to admit, it has been one extended exercise in frustration and annoyance. The main way the plot seems to progress is via the power of stupidity, and it can be quite the ordeal to read, but if you can deal with being frustrated with a few dark themes popping up here and there, you might be fine with it.

In the end, I don't regret reading this far, but I can see why some people have given up trying to read it.

Spoiler

lol @ hard working protagonist tag, if you read this you know what I mean :D

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
Demon Sword Maiden
June 26, 2019
Status: c57
It's a novel that wants to be an ecchi doujin. Everything exists as a vehicle to promote the protagonist's sexiness, but without art to uh.. Appreciate, so it falls flat on it's rather disappointing mess of a story.

All in all, it's a tolerable novel that gets sadly worse as it goes on. Expect to be reminded constantly about the protagonist's large breasts and flawless skin in ever more awkward, and sweaty, detail. Expect to see her (his) devastating beauty get her into ever more ridiculous situations, then get into a... more>> powerup scene where we are reminded, again, about her breasts and how darn much she seems to sweat. Her clothes are constantly in danger of showing her naughty bits and there's a mountain of mentally, and morally deficient weirdos all over the place to provoke her lewdness out. You are absolutely only reading this for the ecchi, and the latest chapter I read, ch57, is particularly bad for it. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes rated it
Unrivaled Medicine God
September 7, 2018
Status: c124
Another OP MC face-slap fest Chinese cultivation novel, complete with all the same cliches you've experienced a million times, that actually starts out OK... until it turns into filler after filler, while endlessly repeating itself and saying things that have already been said multiple times before. Unrepentant in its blatant word padding, it seeks to bore the audience to death, 'Unrivaled Medicine God'? More like 'Unending Masochistic Grind'.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novaes
novaes
Hakai no Miko
September 6, 2018
Status: c1.22
Do yourselves a favor, read the author's note in the start of the prologue and see if it's for you.

No magic, no skills, no jobs, no status and no harem...This is a story about him being called the history’s worst destroyer.

If it is, then I have one piece of advice. When you see the author's spoilers (in the form of stuff like "and in the future『blah blah blah』everyone remembered this『thing』and here's a『spoiler』to ruin the suspense"), just scroll past it. I'm absolutely serious! Although it seems to be the... more>> style of the novel itself and part of the author's intent, I found that it detracted more from the novel than it added. It was delivered in such a way that it ruined, rather than gave suspense. [opinions]JUST. SCROLL. PAST.[/opinion]. Read at your own discretion.

As for the story, it does carry the some of the feelings of a typical JP isekai, especially ones from a few years ago, but it is far enough from the tropes that it doesn't read like a straight-to-anime script, unlike many, many other JP-WNs which are all carbon copies of each other. No herbivorous invertebrate puppet MC with random bouts of being a sexual predator, none of that garbage.

But seriously, just skip the spoilers, they are easy to spot. Don't even indulge in curiosity and have a skim. Just ignore them. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report