Report Review
18 Reviews


notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
Quick Transmigration System: Male God, Come Here
August 17, 2018
Status: c1119
Agree with Sasa's review 100%. Quick note that if you liked QT: Rescuing the Blackened Male Lead or LITTLE GOBLIN: Master, Don't Come Here! then you'll probably like this story so go ahead and read it.

    • ML is NOT scumbag, asshole, stupid, scum, and definitely not the most disgusting or hateful male lead. He has reasons on why he treats her super harsh in the first few arcs when they meet because...
      Spoiler

      ARC 1 (he thinks she killed his mother in a car accident), ARC 2 (ML assumes FL is just like any other lady in the imperial harem aka two-faced white lotus), ARC 3 (FL trapped the ML in a marriage agreement), and ARC 4 (FL caused ML to be bullied in the palace by taking him as a slave after his whole family was executed for a crime).

      [collapse]
      of such reasons. If he didn't treat her in such a way I'd probably worry about the mentality of the ML instead...
    • FL is super hilarious and two-faced in order to achieve her goals. She acts in a pitiful way in order to get the love of the ML each time OR she acts in a wild and unexpected way. It's gold and I love it.
  • There's so many tropes to feed your desires. If you can name it, it's probably in this novel.
Spoiler

My deep desire for yandere/psycho ML's has never been so completely satisfied. The ML gets insane. Like, next level some crazy mind games going on man. And I love it.

[collapse]

    • ML isn't your typical ice-block cookie-cutter man.
      Spoiler

      For example, in ARC 2 his original plan was to execute 4 families and then use FL for the reason behind it due to her 'enchanting' him. After he falls in love with her he decides to change the plan which is pretty bad because there's not much he can do

      [collapse]
    • System is hilarious and probably my favourite kind in the whole 'quick transmigration' series. I probably enjoy system/FL interactions more than FL/ML
Spoiler

The FL is makes a painting of a tiger for the ML (emperor) and the scenario goes as follows:

He suppressed the instigation in his heart and glanced at the painting she had drawn.

Uh...

"I love this painting, it's so peculiar." Sheng Siyu looked at the yellow... unidentifiable object? It was impossible to say words of praise.

When Bai Weiwei heard him, she immediately picked up the paper happily. "Is what the emperor is saying true? I painted it in the morning. This tiger looks good. Although it is not more powerful than the emperor, it can be considered a rare work."

Tiger...?

Sheng Siyu strongly


praised: "The painting is very good, there is room for improvement."

The system was stunned for a long time, and finally could not help but open it's mouth. "You obviously drew Pikachu."

Bai Weiwei calmly replied, "Yeah, what do you want? I am so innocent, so pure and childlike, just like Pokemon, come and marry me."

[collapse]
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
The 99th Divorce
September 22, 2018
Status: c80
If you're like me and enjoy a novel where there are no misunderstandings, a caring male lead, and a fluffy story then leave now. This story is full of drama and I want to roll my eyes at it.

If you're a sucker for pain, drama and angst, go ahead and read it. This isn't my cup of tea though.

ML is the worst I've ever come across. What a tool. THERE ALSO NEEDS TO BE A RAPE TAG! ML is honestly disgusting. Maybe he'll redeem himself in the future but... more>> to me personally, I could never read a novel where such a scumbag individual is the main love interest and it's all okay because he's "overbearing". (Seriously...?)

Spoiler

He thinks MC is just someone who wants to use him and he doesn't try to listen to her. Instead, he just uses her for her body. Literally. When she has dinner with a male high school friend, the ML's childhood sweetheart who wants his D takes a photo that looks like the MC and her friend are kissing. What does ML do? Only the most rational thing ever; sit in the car after she's done eating and then proceeds to rape her out of anger and jealousy.

[collapse]

I can handle novels with some angst (looking at you BTNHH) but novels with forced s*x and a scumbag male lead make me sick.

Rating: 1/5 - ML turned this story off for me completely. MC is a gem but not worth digging around +2000 chapters of drama for. Other reviewers may disagree with me and that's okay as I just wanted to put this here as a disclaimer for anyone who is like me and loathes reading about a scumbag ML.

I guess this novel is the perfect example of something that can only exist in fiction and be labelled as romantic because in reality no one would want to be MC... <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
Cold King, the Doctor Fei Is Running Away
July 20, 2018
Status: c12
Story seems interesting so far, give it a read and use your own discretion to determine if it's your cup of tea. Here's a brief summary if you're curious about the story:

    • About a girl who has transmigrated from a modern world to ancient China. She was a genius doctor (who also knows about poisons) but now belongs to the body of a girl. The previous girl was expected to be a prodigy due to some supernatural events occurring at her birth but when her aptitude was tested, it turns out she was trash!
    • Spoiler

      New owner takes over her body in the midst of an attempted rape and kicks the abductors ass. She exits the cave and meets a mysterious man, who I assume to be the male lead, ends up kissing her. He finds her interesting and helps her overcome some issue with her body (translation wasn't clear). She ends up going back home only to be met with the classic back-stabbing family. She takes action against them because they deserve it for being so two-faced and scheming. That's where the translation is currently at.

      [collapse]
    • Story seems interesting so far and seems to be moving at a fast pace which I really like.
Translation quality is alright. just a bit annoying that it's all in italics and the translator makes comments in-between the paragraphs without warning so you don't really know which is part and not part of the story. Translator has made it easier to read (thank you!) and has lots of foot notes to help understand.

Overall: It's a 3.5/5 right now but I've given it a 5/5 just to balance out the 1 ratings. Will update this as it continues.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
Edit: I have come to look forward to the updates every week now.

  • Characters: Fu HengYi (ML) isn't straight off the bat off into Shen Qinglan (FL) (extract included below for your enjoyment & to entice you into reading this) which I highly appreciate. Both grandpas are totally awesome but the only downside to this novel so far is the inclusion of the stereotypical green tea b****
    Spoiler

    of a stupid 'sister' (it's always the family)

    [collapse]
    . FL is also extremely mature and not dumb or 'airy/goofy' which I highly enjoy. She's actually got a set of brains, not giving second-hand embarrassment and super likable.
  • Plot is quite comedic which I appreciate because it's not dry to follow and I'm actually interested to see how the romance will develop considering this is slow and sweet kind (according to translator).
  • Translation quality: Very good with regular updates (thank you translator!)
  • Extract (my favourite part so far) :
Spoiler

Fu HengYi slightly glanced at him, which implied as a warning. "If I remember correctly, she's only 21 years-old this year."


Han Yi didn't mind his warning in the slightest, and continued to tease him. "Didn't you know that being an Uncle Loli is in trend right now?"

[collapse]

-

1st review:

Not sure why there's so many one-star reviews when the novel is literally 6 chapters in.

It's an interesting story so far but not much can be said because it's just the beginning. It's not as bad as all the one-star reviews say but give it a shot and make your own decision instead of following the one-star trend.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
Only 5 chapters in and there's not much to say about it apart from the fact that it looks promising. Excited to see how the story progresses and will definitely edit my review once there's more chapters.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
There's nothing amazing about this story. It's a cliches on top of one another but it's not that bad to the point I want to slam my head against the desk. It's definitely not as bad as all the one-star ratings seems, but not as good as the five-star ratings make it out to be.

  • MC seems kind of indecisive which I don't like and ML just seems like a douche, the classic 'overbearing' type that Qidian seems to have a thing for.
    Spoiler

    For example, he tries to block her from meeting her first love constantly which I don't understand because he's literally drawn the line between the two (MC/ML) as only friends since ML is still cares for his first love at that point? (he fell for her because they slept together when he was drunk because she had a soft voice or something like that; who wants to bet that it was the MC that he actually slept with and not the other girl he thinks)

    [collapse]
  • Plot: seems bland and there's not much to keep me hooked apart from seeing what is so compelling about the ML that the MC likes him.
Spoiler

Also MTL'd so I would be able to figure out why the ML is such an a-hole. 157 chapters in and the only thing ML has just realised is that he's fallen for MC. This is of course after 40 wholesome chapters of him getting super upset over MC's interactions with the second ML.

[collapse]

  • Characters: I definitely have respect for MC for putting up with ML the entire time. ML is one-dimesional (has some moments but in comparison to his bad ones, completely cancels out) and so is the majority of the characters. The only person I really liked enough to keep going and rate the story as 3/5 instead of 2/5 is the second male lead. Seriously, he's the best. I hope he finds happiness with or without FL...
tldr; Cliche story about childhood friends (ML = overbearing, rich, president type while MC = indecisive, plain Mary Sue) who have secretly fallen in love with each other and are forced together to marry (157 chapters in and there hasn't been much mentioned in relation to the description given).

Rating: 2/5 but second ML makes it a 3/5

Would I recommend: Only if you're bored OR have a thing for these kind of tropes... or maybe you want to read a Qidian story...
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
Major General’s Smart and Gorgeous Wife
August 24, 2018
Status: c2
Synopsis:

  • Lin Mu Mu (FL) wakes up on a bed and finds out that she's in a marriage with Yun Ting (ML) due to her Master signing a contract with him. Surprisingly, she gives him a necklace that symbolises their marriage and doesn't argue.
  • SEEMS KINDA WEIRD BUT HERE'S WHY = Turns out she had reincarnated 10 years into the past after she had been burnt to death and YT followed her into the flames, promising to be together in their next life. She was shocked that he loved her because she, an 18 year old who had never spent much time away from the mountains where she trained and lived with her Master, was forced into marriage to an unfamiliar 22 year old man. Furthermore, he never explained as to why he wanted to marry her because he's the kind of person to stay silent and not express his thoughts and feelings. Consequently, their relationship soured but once she realised exactly how much he loved her after death, she wished she could make sure that their relationship was a good and happy one.
  • So the story seems to follow exactly how she wants to make up for their past lifetime.
  • Tags should probably include reincarnation to make more sense...
Translation quality: Not the greatest and a bit dry but if you're out... more>> of stories to read then maybe give this a read (3/5) <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
My Youth Begins With Loving You
July 19, 2018
Status: c33.1
This book captures what love is about, making you reminiscent about past experiences. It's written extremely well and isn't unrealistic or extremely cheesy. I would definitely recommend reading this if you're searching for a sweet story with a few bumps.

>Translation quality is also extremely good

-

Edit: 30/07/2018

Came back to edit just to say PLEASE READ THIS. Amazing novel.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
It's mediocre at best.
    • The girl is 'so lucky' that's she's the epitome of deus ex machina.
    • There's been no progress between the characters or their development and I'm pretty sure the author just copy and pastes the same things to describe people/events.
    • Men fall at her feet
      Spoiler

      after she becomes extremely pretty because she's the daughter of an extremely beautiful woman (*gasp* what are the odds).

      [collapse]
      and the romantic plot still hasn't developed past her being a giant tsundere for 1000+ chapters.
    • Plot is entirely repetitive. Danger, enemy brags and insults as they hit her, she gets super 'lucky' by getting an overpowered item,
      Spoiler

      her spirit animals or Nangong (main lead) comes out, and destroys whoever is pissing her off

      [collapse]
    • For a renowned assassin of the 21st century, she's so weak. Where's the use of her awesome knowledge or awesome martial art skills that she used in the 21st century?
Overall: Give it a try if you're desperate but I'd recommend other novels such as Descent of the Phoenix 13 Years Old Princess Consort or Divine Doctor: Daughter of the First Wife
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
You’re My Glory
July 31, 2018
Status: c19
Gu Man never dissapoints. Although this story is only halfway, I can feel it quickly becoming one of my favourite c-novels. Everything about the book is beautifully written and in such a great style. Please, give this novel a chance and don't miss out. (An excerpt included below in my review to get you interested!)

The FL is charming and endearing. She reminds me of a puppy, super cute and scheming (in an entirely good way of course) when they want something. She isn't naive or air-headed, something I greatly... more>> appreciate, or a cold-faced beauty. She's warm, vibrant and hilarious.

The ML isn't your typical cookie cutter handsome man who is either facially paralysed or a big flirt. He reminds me of Xiao Nai except a bit more realistic and flawed.
Spoiler

His main flaw comes from the frustration he has after pursuing his life long dream in aerospace but eventually coming to the crossroad of abandoning of his dreams for financial stability.

[collapse]
I love this flaw because it's something that just resonates with me as an individual. ML is also extremely caring and witty

Spoiler

My favourite moment comes from when the ML goes to the FL's house after she asks him to help fix her air purifier via her gaming ID and he meets her for the first time in years.

"...." Suddenly Zhai Liang remembered an important question. "By the way, is Cotton pretty?"

This time, Yu Tu contemplated for a while, then answered him: "She can be seen everywhere on the street."

Zhai Liang was a little disappointed, but he still righteously criticized Yu Tu: "Isn't your mouth a bit mean? How can you say that of a girl?"

Yu Tu: "I spoke the truth."

Much later, when Zhai Liang finally saw the true face of "Cotton"..... he was so impressed he wanted to kill Yu Tu... This face... could indeed be seen on the street everywhere, couldn't it?

[collapse]

Translation quality is also extremely well done. The translator puts extensive notes (and pictures!) about the game mentioned in order for you to comprehend what's going on, even if you have no prior knowledge with MOBA sort of games.

Tldr; Great romance with wonderful character build-up and pacing. Only flaw is that the translation isn't complete :P

Do I recommend it? Well, since I stayed up to read this even though I have a test the next day, I cannot stress how much this novel should be read. YES! Please don't decide to not read this because it seems 'uninteresting' because I can tell you now, it's definitely not. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy
The Demoness Is Not Evil
May 8, 2018
Status: Completed
Extremely sweet and short story. I recommend reading if you're looking for something to kill time that's romance, has decent characters, and hilarious banter. MC is strong-willed and sharp-tongued which leads to hilarious interactions between her and the ML.

tldr; funny and witty romance story that's light
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
Goddess Medical Doctor
July 21, 2018
Status: c14
It's a simple story with a simple plot. Nothing too outstanding about it nor anything too bad. It's just a nice filler story while you're waiting for your other stories to update. MC seems to have lead a hard life while ML seems alright.

With only 15 chapters in length you can't really expect too much. Characterisation is non-existent and everyone is introduced as 'here is this person, here's their background and their personality'. It's all very two-dimensional but then again, with the given length of the story, is acceptable.

Plot seems... more>> cliche but not to to the point it seems unbearable. Not that many conflicts apart from the main plot.

Translation quality and speed is extremely good.

tldr; Stry is average but give it a read if you're in need of something

Rating: 3/5 <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
Love You 59 Seconds
April 5, 2018
Status: Completed
It's like "Just one smile is very alluring" but with two male leads. Minus the fact that it's a male x make story, it doesn't need really impact the romance that much and just as good as JOSIVA. Humour is great.

Overall: Great story if you're by looking for something light and fluffy.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
Enjoyed this more than I thought I would've. It's pretty funny and the stories are well developed for such a short length.

Rating: 4/5 just because characters were a little underdeveloped until the end but please don't let that stop you from reading this
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
When He Comes, Close Your Eyes
June 25, 2018
Status: Completed
Wow, this story was beyond my expectations. I noticed the drama adaption when it came out but was highly put off by it and only noticed there was a novel version recently. After pondering for a while, I decided to give this novel a read.

AMAZING. I absolutely love the mixture of crime and romance. The way these cases are made have me hooked. Character development is evident and the plot is intense. To me, the book has the perfect ratio of romance and crime. Any more crime then it'd just... more>> be a crime oriented book but any less then it'd be a cliché and bland novel. The extras make up for the lack of romance in the actual novel and makes the story end on a sweet note.

Loved it to the maximum and would highly recommend if you're looking for something that not only has romance but also has a solid plot. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
Unrepentant
May 21, 2018
Status: c18
Hesitating to read it and looking at the reviews first? Have a tissue box on hand and click as fast as you can to begin reading! (Tldr; at the end)

Plot: A bit cliché BUT it's not unbearable. The biggest plot device in this novel is the same as any other tragedy, a big great misunderstanding. The misunderstanding isn't so bad that you want to flip your desk but it's crucial as a plot device. I agree with the translators note that you can't just skip to the end and... more>> see ML's reaction because the build-up is essential to all the emotional reactions it'll provoke at the end.

Spoiler

I did hate that the misunderstanding could've been easily solved but I guess the ML wouldn't have believed her. It's also partially the MC's fault to an extent for ignoring her own feelings but hey, I guess that's what love can do to you.

[collapse]

Characters: The MC is the most selfless individual. I don't agree with the above review about how the MC is worthless because love makes you do things for people even if it means hurting yourself. However, I can absolutely agree with the fact that ML is scum.

Spoiler

Karma really hit the ML once he found out about her death. MC deserves to live another life without him because he's not grateful for ANYTHING she's done. Without her he wouldn't have ascended the throne or even made it that far. *massive eye roll*

[collapse]

It's a shame that the translations have been paused or dropped at this stage so I couldn't really read the proper ending, just excerpts and summaries. You really do need to read it from start to finish in order to fully appreciate the authors (and the translators effort!).

Conclusion: It's a 5 star novel for me. It brought out my masochistic side by leaving me to cry, but in a good way. I would definitely recommend it if you want a tragedy or even someone like me who loathes tragedy and runs away once they see that tag.

tldr; Cliché in a good way to understand the MC and her struggles. Ending is a tearjerker when read from start to finish. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
Gentleman Free-Flowing Cloud
April 20, 2018
Status: Completed
The novel was average and didn't leave much impact on me apart from how awesome it could've been if it was expanded. However, it's worth a shot if you're looking for something to kill time and get the gears going off in your head.

The MC is a great character who literally just "endures" everything. I liked the concept of her character and how the author develops her given the shortness of the novel. The side characters also have their positives but were a bit bland (apart from the second male... more>> lead). Romance is there but it doesn't quite come in until the later part of the story which is alright considering the length of the novel in itself.

My only issue is that some chapters I had to read perhaps twice or thrice before I understood what exactly was going on and what every action meant. The narrative was good and had lots of potential but fell short due to the shortness of the novel.

Overall: A rating of 3/5

Would I recommend it: Yes, if you're looking for something to pass the time. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
notawordybirdy
notawordybirdy rated it
A Slight Smile is Very Charming
March 7, 2018
Status: Completed
Highly enjoyable in terms of being a light, fluffy book. The book:

  • Has a drool worthy main lead (Xiao Nai why don't you exist) that's kind of too perfect but it's nice in terms of fluff and romance.
  • The main character and the interactions between those around her is actually really funny and nice although one or two characters are really shady and there's no depth into that.
  • Writing was nice for a c-novel + good grammar -> translators did a great job in clearing up confusion with idioms.
Overall: 5/5 for being a... more>> cute, fluffy novel. If you're looking for something more realistic or less shoujo-y, I wouldn't recommend this. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report