Report Review
25 Reviews


mystichead
mystichead rated it
Re:Monster
November 9, 2015
Status: c201
I liked it a bit in the beginning...
But there is Survival and necessity or even just for major profit.... and then there is just sheer d*ckery...

The Protag is a serious douchebag.... I dont mind him not caring for justice or anything... and I also accept to a degree where since he is now goblin, and not on earth, many of the ethics and morals dont apply... FINE... COMPLETELY VALID

But this guy takes unnecessary aggressive steps in just being an asshole, killing sentient innocents... rape and torture... of someone who... more>> is just weaker and not TRUTHFULLY opposing him.... or just FINDING excuses to unleash mayhem, destruction and to rape and pillage...

In the beginning there is some justified stuff, and he showed relatability... He felt regret and guilt and even disgust at his own actions.. and he cared for those who suffered pointlessly.. to a degree... but now the type of character that the MC shows left and right is similar to the following: [this did not happen in the story but events that follow the same logic happened multiple times]
-MC approaches farmer to borrow shelter.
-Farmer invites MC to dinner with family of wife, older son, adult daughter, child daughter and child son.
-Dinner isn't spicy enough so that's reason enough to attack the wife, family defends wife and asks to leave
-that resistance is sign of war, farmer and older son is brutally tortured slowly, wife is beaten in middle of being raped because she doesn't want to enjoy it, the young children will be set aside and bound for s*x slavery for the other goblins and him, the adult daughter will now be raped and slowly magically fall in love with him cuz she's addicted to his semen and the magical powers they give her..... All the while the author will portraying it as isn't this the most hilarious thing ever, they deserved it... Or the "I do what I want bitch" cuz I'm powerful... He's more like an cookie cutter evil bandit king stereotype now than anything else... Which I guess is novel if considered perspective wise....

I can enjoy and understand the fact that he only cares for those he cares for... or more specifically those he f**ks... and that outside this layer he is cruel to the rest... but you can be cold and cruel without being an active agitator, aggressor, or just pure asshole... And he just isn't relatable at all

The problem is He doesnt just do it once.... he does this repeatedly... and you start to really hate him.... and its being played off as funny or justified... its not.... and im not usually easily offended... I enjoy Cards against humanity too much for that to occur

I guess.... it can be a fun read.. if you're ok and think you can manage constant assholery from the protag <<less
46 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead rated it
Maoyuu Maou Yuusha
July 9, 2015
Status: --
One of the most intelligent pieces of fiction I have encountered in all my life, and I have read A LOT; from regular fiction and philosophical fiction, Arabic, Persian, Indian, English, Russian, Polish, German, Chinese, Korean, & Japanese, across multiple genres and work from different eras; despite that this has come amongst the top.

The best part about it is that it is very easy to read and understand. WHILE being easy its exciting and fun to read and you learn things without even realizing or wanting to. The story in... more>> itself manages to very excellently execute multi-tier scale and depth of story in the macro and micro sense and also some in the middle; all while not putting strain on the reader.

Its also managed to have very creative ways of naming characters... of which I think is marvelous
With each and every character being filled with depth. It also manages to be very progressive in nature, with actually forgoing most of the negative female tropes, and or racist tropes which in this case rather than other race from color/ethnicity would translate into quite literally non-humans. Not only are those aspects forgone but they are also in many aspects combated. All this while in the guise of a nice easy read.

A lot of the plot and world mechanics being are very creative and original, and very well executed.
The romance is also not bad... although it can be slightly frustrating in many moments especially when it becomes quasi-haremy with the hero taking full advantage of it at moments.. although later on its a 1on1 focus

There is a lot more to say but I think it'll become a long positive rant, so ill leave at this summary of my feelings

its wonderful overall <<less
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
I really like this

its funny

No cheap stuff like SUDDEN HAREMS or HAREM attribute

there is not much fanservice

the females other than love interest arent one dimesional... even tho initially they might APPEAR that way..... so it didnt commit one of the most common shounen sins DESPITE being a VERY light read and comedy

its just good creative romantic comedy with characters who might seem shallow for comedic sense but turn out not to be when needed.
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead
Log Horizon
November 5, 2015
Status: --
Now THIS is an intelligent EPIC
JUST READ IT
too bad fan translation stopped due to licensing... cuz the licensing ones are..... slow.... as in itll take 3-4 yrs just to get where the last translation left off
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead rated it
The Bathroom Goddess
November 4, 2015
Status: --
This series is a gem, Read ALL of it... its relatively short

It’s super light

It’s quite funny

It’s quite crazy

yet in the background its well laid out... how little spurts of funny random episodic-like “adventures” are connected into big plot in the background

I cant do this series justice by trying to explain further.. just read, enjoy and laugh
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead rated it
Neta Chara
December 22, 2015
Status: --
Other than cookie cutter titillation this series is seriously trash... I mean sure fine harem, and constant s*x... but... like have some flavor will ya

there is really no depth to this at all lol

its worse than cheap hentai
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
Lol I think this story might be decent

but because I AM a programmer myself (Data scientist with healthcare and econ specialty)... the way its done is a complete turn off

I guess that’s how I felt when reading medical mangas lol.. but my understanding of the science and infrastructure and actual procedures was seriously hindering enjoying it lol... it was simply too much into detail which completely misrepresented reality... because those mangas... and also this novel will surely... go into minute details as a plot mechanic... but those details will be... more>> completely off... those stories tht keep it a bit general might not receive such feelings lol

sigh

still ok tho <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
Sigh even as a hentai this story is pretty trash, same with the characters. The problem isnt just that its so generic, there is barely any plot/char dev of any value

Sure rape is there.. heavily.... there

but as bad as that is with the convenient psychic date rape pill.... even the s*x and smut is so so

this is just a generic fap bag for rape fetishists isnt it? sigh
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
So I tried it.

Its meh... actually it can get pretty annoying. It can be fun at times and I like short slice of life and or simple reads too but heres the problem as mentioned before. The characters, surprisingly ESPECIALLY the MC, are WAAAAAY to 2 dimensional. Look you can have fun quick easy reads with light material, even light and kinky material... So many amazing works exist using that format combination but this is horribly executed. It just a lame fantasy of sorts focusing on the fetish and quasi... more>> power fantasy end. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead rated it
Grimgal of Ashes and Illusion
November 5, 2015
Status: --
I have to say I was somewhat surprised.... I felt like it was going to be boring a number of times
but it has done well to make me feel wrong on that front

So READ it FULLY for like a volume to judge.. seriously... otherwise u might get lost or feel like its gonna die.. but when u finish to the point where it turns it is pretty nice.. and you see why the pacing was or things setup were as such
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead rated it
Unique Legend
November 4, 2015
Status: --
First things first
and this is a quasi spoiler: NO this is NOT shounen ai or will ever go there with any of the characters or shows any leanings to do so as many fundoshis and fujoshis might want it. The characters are very very close but its quasi familial and bromance instead... and later its indicated as a side note that theyre all straight.

ANYWAY!

This is a fairly smart and HILARIOUS series
and it does this WITHOUT the fanservice bit....
in a sense this series deeply explores and combines many... more>> mnay many different mythos into one, and does it well and how they cross over and interact with each other. Granted most of these mythos are oriental based or oriental derivatives of western and or celtic ones. It shows the author not only researched well, but also actualy put thought into integrating them into each other in an intelligent way, without some convenient tool that shows you didnt really think about the background

The MC CAN be super annoying though..... especially since some of his habits and way of thinking persist even though hes gone through multiple big events and growth that should make him do otherwise.... well its one of the things that make him funny though.. but it DOES get old when its used there.... thats my only problem with this series.

While being a generally very light and comedic series, It also manages to be simultaneously be very serious at time while being very light; and this is done seamlessly, so that it doesnt look forced or awkward, or missing something with holes or things being avoided, but instead, AGAIN it shows that the mood and presentation was well thought out.

I think most ppl should be able to find something to love in these series.

Just note, that this isnt standard chinese fiction, its taiwanese, and the different effects and slightly different cultural approach on things shows subtly in the work. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead rated it
Outaishihi ni Nante Naritakunai!!
January 8, 2019
Status: c32
I don't know why I kept reading this.

This wasn't even good cheap smut. Nor was there any depth in characters. The only thing that stands out is that Prince is an A1 douchebag that deserves to be shot. As someone who enjoys a lot of josei, I felt a lot of annoyance seeing the prince everytime, and then how suddenly retarded the MC would become retarded and keep shooting herself in the foot in a way that's just painful to read. Assertive and Overpossesive male leads can be very interesting,... more>> even yandere ones, but this was a load of BS <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
Man even though it was 6 chapters of the total 8
This was hilarious... sad to see something with so much potential go... especially something so hilarious
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead rated it
A Certain Middle-Aged Man’s VRMMO Activity Log
November 5, 2015
Status: --
A light Epic funny "slice of life" ish read

It should be hard to ruin this lol... its too episodic

but so good
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead rated it
Hachinan tte, Sore wa Nai Deshou!
November 5, 2015
Status: --
It turned out to be better than I expected
pace is a bit weird but acceptable
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
"Kotarou is such an amazing person.. Shes a dog though"

This is a nice slice of life adventure about easygoing survival

I dont think ppl will dislike this series
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead
General Above I am Below
June 19, 2017
Status: c4
The first 3 chapters were pretty funny, but the MTL needs HEAVY editing.

Its very difficult to make out what is being said there and takes a whole bunch of effort.

So, while its first impression was PRETTY DAMN GOOD in content, but the cost of time and effort to understand it is too high.. FOR NOW

I will update this review later if there are any changes to this scenario, or even just going past 60 chaps
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead rated it
EC
November 6, 2015
Status: --
A work of genius
It can be a little difficult to follow sometimes, but this has a wonderful depth of character and plot.
Just from reading the first volume (although im fully caught up to the 3rd as of now) you can feel that the author has already established and prepared a very very rich environment and background and settings with rules etc... nothing stupidly convenient being pulled out of the ass that looks out of place.. no cheap deus ex machina...

The characters themselves are very wonderful, and there are... more>> many philosophical conundrums that te author makes the reader face and think about without hurting ur brain, so ppl who dont like to think while enjoying ur fiction or games... dont fret... ur covered

the abilities and systems are well thought out too.... just watching things progress is so enjoyable, both emotional and hilarious. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead rated it
Tensei Oujo wa Kyou mo Hata o Tatakioru
November 4, 2015
Status: --
A rather cute series... it might have a problem with pacing and tonal shift occasionally to becoming super serious randomly for a whole block of chapters... but its still quite enjoyable

even WITH the tropes and cliches and templates and a bit of fanservice, this is somewhat enjoyable, or rather those are used slightly in a tasteful manner.

i think even non-shoujo fans can enjoy something like this...
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mystichead
mystichead rated it
Seiun wo Kakeru
November 4, 2015
Status: --
This is a fairly interesting and intelligent slice of life series.
It starts small and will scale slowly but into more complicated aspect both related to ACTUAL crafting and even markets and society.
All the characters even those who appear for a single chapter are very very well fleshed out. Currently the cast is small and theyre being built out as being slowly introduced. And the mechanism to restrict casting is rather fairly intelligent, and no stupid cheap fanservice. Fanservice is there, but its put there tastefully and very occasionally,... more>> and with good quality, and not spammed all over. This series can be treated as a quality made artisan delicacy in compared to fastfood that spams cheap titillation in being the majority of its contents.

It has tension in its places, there it needs it, its not without it, and its very smart of the author to recognize it, otherwise it becomes monotonous.

If you are looking for a quick cheap fap; this isnt for you.
If you're looking for cheap constant titillation both s*xual and otherwise, cliches and templates; this isnt for you.
if you're looking for action and fast pace, and constant drama, or just quick ups and down; this isnt for you

If you're looking for something relaxing and or intelligent that might even make you very very very slightly use ur head to think a bit rather than base emotions.... this is for you <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report