Report Review
16 Reviews


mrezman
mrezman rated it
Ze Tian Ji
December 24, 2016
Status: c262
I love this novel so much (it's close to my favorite). I'm actually kind of disappointed at the rankings... rating this below a lot of the repetitive brainless stuff on this website.

Yes, this novel is slow. But it is not repetitive, and everything in each chapter is meaningful (unlike IET...). Although it may be frustrating that the novel has such a slow pace, the author's style is to slowly introduce concepts, characters, and foreshadow subtly as he is an actually accomplished writer. He introduces the world in awesome detail in... more>> a "show don't tell" manner. You get a much better feel for the world in this way. This means that he doesn't rush through stuff and doesn't introduce stuff like IET does in one chapter and it feels rushed and forced.

Everything is masterfully set up and planned. You can tell that the author had already planned for things to happen long, long in advance. For example, the thing with stars and how "the positions are relative."

This novel is really really beautifully poetic. It often centers around the MC's thoughts and moral dilemmas, and it isn't contrived like every other xianxia, in which it's an excuse to slaughter wantonly or stupidly gain power or whatever. The only thing that comes close is ISSTH, and honestly, it pales in comparison to Ze Tian Ji.

Although, one thing that I don't like about the novel (one of the only things) is how the people in the crowd always look at Chen Changsheng "with disdain" and "with scorn" and always think he's trash. It just doesn't make any sense and pisses me off. At a certain point, it's literally impossible to not see that Cheng Changsheng is the real deal. So, I will count off that. But it's still an insanely good novel and that part is only a really small part of it.

I think one of the reasons this novel is not as liked is that in its core, it's really not about being the strongest and getting revenge or getting girls or all that. It's about understanding yourself, surviving, peaceful living etc. The main character (which is one of my favorite main characters on this website) is calm, collected, and doesn't care about what others think. He is fair to everyone and isn't an asshole like many other MCs on this website who claim that they're righteous as they literally massacre an entire group of people.

Anyways, please read this! It's really good! But if you're someone who likes stuff like "peerless martial god, " turn away not because I can tell you're gonna hate this one. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?
January 20, 2016
Status: --
I saw a bunch of reviews annoyed at how the story went from a funny rpg leveling type story to the complex, plot twisty, intricate story right now, and was a bit bewildered. I loved the beginning of the story, but I also really like how the story is going right now.

Although the beginning may have been really great and funny, those rpg elements can only go on for so long before it gets super boring. The twists are well-planned and cool, and the story has a mysterious and convoluted... more>> feel to it. Although sometimes, it is a bit too confusing, maybe because of the MTL translations.

I loved the MC, and loved the new arcs. I just wish the story would go a bit faster, and be a bit more fast paced... We’ve been stuck with the same cliffs regarding many events that happened in the side stories for so many chapters by now. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
Martial God Asura
April 2, 2016
Status: --
I really dislike this novel.

At first, it seemed okay, but after a while, the MC becomes a total prick and arrogant asshole, as well as an idiot. He basically becomes a classic young master xianxia villain, but he's the protagonist, so he gets his way.

The story can be summarized as this: he goes somewhere, everyone is stronger than him and all that, he meets a hot girl, gets with the girl/rapes her, meets a bunch of assholes, stupidly picks a fight with them, gets saved by a mysterious old elder,... more>> then becomes an arrogant prick himself and gets stronger kills the asshole guys. Then, all the characters are forgotten about, he goes to a new place, rinse and repeat.

Spoiler

Don't even get me started about the rape. Holy f**k. He's an actual goddamn rapist. (Spoiler alert) Because her friend tried to rape him earlier, he decides it's okay to revenge rape and rapes her. Great. Just great.

[collapse]

This novel is also terribly written. It's fairly evident that the author didn't put too much thought or editing into it.

I really don't recommend this novel at all. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
The King’s Avatar
January 22, 2016
Status: --
Wow, tons of good reviews. Well, personally I differ in opinion.

First of all, it feels very realistic and intense... but it gets very repetitive. Like the same thing happens over and over, and there is tons of grinding. It also feels a bit weird since it isn’t even virtual reality, just a guy sitting in front of a computer, and it’s literally describing what happens in the game.

It kind of gives an awesome feel, but then you realize it’s literally a video game, like league of legends or something, inside... more>> of a novel. Literally a guy pressing his fingers on the keyboard and mouse, and you're supposed to feel awesome because he's good at it.

I was also peeved by the fact that they spend like 20 hours a day playing this game... like cmon, this game is pretty much their lives. It's not even virtual reality either. Feels kind of lame. (btw, once the cycle of that game ends and it loses its popularity, they're screwed LOL)

After a hundred and fifty chapters, I just got really tired of it.

It’s still good though... so you should read it. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
December 24, 2016
Status: c550
I think this is an okay/decent novel (at least so far). The first 100 chapters imo were really really good (I know a lot of people will disagree with me on this) but then it kind of got repetitive and ran into some problems with combat and overloading the MC with abilities.

As I said, I think that the first 100 chapters were really really good. It had a very clever MC that gets out of some tough situations with fast intellect and thinking on his toes (for example, gifting the... more>> pill he had received to Xu Xing so that he wouldn't get lynched) and I thought it was pretty awesome and great that he set up his own store and everything (this was a while back back in Zhou sect. With so many chapters it kind of gets hard to remember everything, lol). Also, the twist that happens was really awesome too and really pulled the rug from underneath me. Also, the combat was pretty cool and the fight with Wang Tenfei was sick as crud.

After that, however, although the story is still decent, I think it greatly decreases in quality and gets repetitive (this is only up to around 550, so maybe it gets way better from there, and also I know that a lot of people will disagree with me when I say this).

First, I'll talk about what I liked (after chap 100). There are some pretty epic moments, I'll give it that. The novel is pretty funny as well, and Lord Fifth and the meat jelly are pretty awesome characters. Sometimes you're really drawn into the novel (although oftentimes I wasn't, often keeping on reading in the hopes that it gets to Fang clan stuff, which I'm really curious about (as I heard some spoilers about it)). The novel may forget some characters, but it mostly remembers them, and it's nowhere like IET novels where characters are forgotten left and right. It has a pretty good immersive world, and the author does a good job in creating really sick fantastical environments and creating creating stuff in the world around the characters. The story is kind of beautifully poetic in some parts, which kind of works (although it pales in comparison to something like Ze Tian Ji). Also, the current arc with the apocalypse of the western lands was pretty awesome and I felt engaged and excited reading it for the first time in a while.

Now, I'll get to the stuff I didn't like and my pet peeves (after chap 100).

First of all, the combat became boring and just annoying to read. Basically, fights are just two people standing across from each other throwing whatever they have at each other until one guy has a stronger thingy. There's no strategy, no nothing, and it's just really boring. For example, I remember reading this one fight a while back with I forget whose name which was supposed to be sort of a boss fight, but literally they just take turns throwing their legacies/abilities/items at each other until one guy is defeated. (this improves later on in the western lands part though)

Secondly, I really hate all the repetitive stuff with the "beautiful snow-white skin" girls that the MC always meets every arc. Here's how it always plays out: 1. MC meets dao child peerless beauty "snow-white skin" girl who's at first opposed to him. 2. Some stuff happens and the two end up having to work together. 3. The girl falls for him but he rejects her. 4. The girl is later mentioned in passing as having a "complicated expression" when someone mentions meng hao. It's really dumb and I wish the author would just write an ordinary female character that isn't a tsundere peerless beauty that later falls for him. Like it's so dumb, whenever I see the obligatory "peerless beauty" each arc I know she isn't going to die because of hot girl plot armor and it's just so dull. For example, that one girl that went into the bridge competition thingy with Meng Hao is a perfect example: she's at first against him as kind of an enemy, Meng Hao fails to kill her b/c hot girl plot armor, they are forced to work together in the bridge competition thing, then she later has a "complicated expression" when Meng Hao is mentioned.

Thirdly, there are way too many legacies/abilities the MC receives. It gets worse the more the story goes on, as the author is not hesitant at all to stack ability after ability onto the MC. The MC often uses some of them once and then never again, and it's hard for the reader to keep track of even half of them, and it's even hard for the author, as many of them are mentioned once then forgotten. For example, the legacies Meng Hao got from the frigid snowclan thingy are like used three times and then pretty much never again. The freezing ability thing he got from the bridge world place is used once directly coming out of it and then never again. The dragon legacy that I thought was super important that Meng Hao first receives in the beginning is not mentioned very often after a while. The powerful items he gets from the Ji clan guy he [spoilers] kills[/spoilers] are never used at least to my knowledge. There are almost certainly tons others that I've already forgotten about, but you get the idea. Although I will give credit where credit is due, the wooden swords are still important.

Fourthly, the story kind of feels like pokemon, if you know what I mean (not in the way you're thinking). In the pokemon games, you start out in a town with like a level 5 pokemon or whatever and miraculously, all the enemy trainers in your town has around the same level pokemon. Then you, move on to the next town when your pokemon is level 20 or something, and miraculously, all the enemy trainers again have like level 18 pokemon. So on and so forth. It feels fake, and you can't help but thinking like wow: what are the chances that these people that are challenging him are the perfect power level for him to barely win over them and gain more power? And sure, you can make the argument that before, people didn't really bother with him because he was weaker, but it's like miraculously more powerful people are there where they weren't before that were "in seclusion" or something, and it works up a gradual ladder. Like for example, you rarely ever saw Nascent soul cultivators in the beginning and they were "lofty" when he was in the southern lands or whatever, but like later on they're a dime a dozen. I know this is a problem that pretty much all authors in this kind of story suffer with, so I won't give Er Gen too much grief, and actually didn't mind it too much.

Finally, I feel like the author keeps on backtracking on the MC's power. Like, they show the MC fighting evenly with people of the late nascent stage, for example, and then he undergoes a huge powerup where he gets a super powerful pure core or whatever, and then the author's like "now he can contend with people of the late nascent stage" and I'm like wtf, wasn't he just able to do that? Was this huge powerup that was hyped like crazy worth nothing? It feels like the author was like "shoot, I made him too strong before, hopefully the audience doesn't notice, " and gives the MC a really minimal powerup for how much effort he had to go through to achieve it.

Finally, here's some pet peeves of mine (so don't take this personally, just some little things that I find kind of annoying) :
1. I don't like the dumb "all eyes were on Meng Hao" stuff that the author keeps on doing. I get it, everyone's looking at Meng Hao. The author repetitively, repetitively, says: "this image was branded in their minds, and they would never forget it." After you say that literally 3 times every chapter for 30 chapters the phrase kind of loses effect, and it feels kind of contrived.
2. I hate the "light coughing" that Meng Hao does when people are like talking about how awesome/notorious this mysterious masked guy is, not knowing that Meng Hao's the person they are talking about. Like I get it Mr Awesome, you're all iNcOnSpIcUoUs badass over here. You don't have to "lightly cough" literally every time, just keep your face neutral... Idk, maybe this is a stupid complaint, but this is my review, so yeah.

Anyway, to wrap this up, I think it's decent. The first 100 chapters were my favorite part (fight me about this), and there is a lull up until recently when it started to pick up (around 500). It suffers from some issues, but overall is definitely worth the read. I wouldn't read this first if it's your first xianxia however, as it has SO MUCH STUFF in it that may be confusing to reader that is new to the genre. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
Wipe Clean After Eating
February 6, 2016
Status: --
I love this novel so much.

Dense, stupid, and cute female lead doesn't realize that her boss starts to like her. This novel is insanely funny, and their interactions are really great.

The only thing I didn't like that much was the ending chapters, but the beginning was brilliant.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
World of Cultivation
December 28, 2016
Status: c471
This is one of my favorite novels on this website.

The first thing I really love about this novel is that the side characters aren't just forgotten (it's not like IET). For example, each member of his lil' gang still has screen time, and it's pretty hilarious the escapades this goon squad goes on. The members of Wu Kong Sword sect I'm pretty sure haven't been forgotten either, just haven't come up in the story yet.

Secondly, the characters actually have personalities, and aren't just cardboard cutout stereotypes. The MC is not... more>> a stupid stereotypical power-hungry women-attracting MC. He actually has a personality. He's funny, stingy, woman-oblivious and money-hungry, and mostly just wants to live comfortably, but circumstances keep forcing him to try and get stronger. The author doesn't just write dumb stereotypes that he shortly throws away (although he does sometimes, but only characters that it's really clear are only really minor characters), and each person interacts with each other naturally and in often hilarious ways.

The novel also has a ton of its own badass moments, and the build up is really epic. The nation-building feels real and natural and is the best I've ever seen in one of these novels.

All in all, really really good novel. The only downside is that the author for some reason chooses to not translate some terms that are really easily translated for no apparent reason, which makes things confusing especially at the beginning, but if you stick with it you'll get used to it, and it's really worth it. Also, the novel is a bit slow but that's not really too bad of a problem.

All in all, excellent, non-cliche novel. It's stayed constant that way for like 450 chapters, which is absolutely amazing to me. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
This novel can only be described as "ok".

At first I thought the prince guy was going to have a super strong personality, but he turns out to just be eyecandy, and pretty much does nothing for the rest of the series. What a disappointment.

The characters are shallow, and the MC just feels too OP. Like, there's no tension anymore, and she just does everything.

There aren't really any epic parts of the story either. Nothing made me feel super excited or tensed.

This story is ok. That's all.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
Red Data Girl
January 5, 2016
Status: --
I really liked this. Although it's slow-paced, it's really well written. Although, it's starting to bore me a bit with how little is happening
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
A Naive Short-tempered Girl
January 5, 2016
Status: --
I read up to chapter 6 so far, so I guess I still haven’t gotten to the “juicy” part, but I can’t really tell if it’s well written or not since to be honest, the translations are very hard to read. Sorry, thanks for translating, but it really does read like mtl. Also, the story seems pretty mediocre so far and I’m having trouble keeping along, whether it be from bad translation or what. The first chapter, it took a while to understand what was happening.

Updated: After reading up to... more>> chapter 20, I think it gets a lot better, although I would hardly call this a great story. Basically, it’s about this girl that the ceo/mafia guy, who usually is bored with everything, finds “interest” in. He harasses her but in his heart starts to fall for her. That sounds good, but it doesn’t read very well, and the MC has like no personality. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
Legend of the Cultivation God
January 4, 2017
Status: c33
Geh. I'm done. I can't take this anymore.

This novel had/has so much promise, but the writer sucks! He doesn't know how to introduce a world, characters, or what plot points to go in depth about and what to skip over.

At the beginning, I was excited. Even up until a bit after they were building the well and the MC found the bracelet thing I was totally on board and was loving the pacing. It was great. Slow, but develops the story and deliberate.

Unfortunately, that turned out to be a total... more>> fluke because the next like 25 chapters were a struggle to get though. Jesus Christ, the author elaborates for like 10 fricken chapters about an adventure to a mysterious treasure land with 5 characters we were barely introduced to and know NOTHING about. The MC is not even remotely connected to it. I'm reading it and I'm like why am I reading this? Am I supposed to know/care about any of these characters that were introduced literally in one paragraph and that we don't know at all, introduced through two characters we barely knew before too? The author even spends honest to god 5 paragraphs detailedly describing each round of a Rock Paper Scissors tournament that these unknown people play for the final treasure box. I was thinking maybe something goes wrong and these experts get injured and that sets up the MC coming into play soon, and that's why it's being focused on so much, but the trip goes exactly to plan and they leave peacefully afterward. WHAT A WASTE OF TIME AND MY ENERGY. Dude, author... When you build a world, you introduce the world through the MC, a newcomer to the world, and we share in his awe. Not elaborate in such detail about this dumb boring stuff we literally care 0 about that doesn't include the MC in any way.

And then the author chooses to freaking go on in detail about the mc's older brother's (Xiolong) love life with the other girl, and with the detail that the author goes into, you'd think that this novel was a love story between the MC's brother and that girl. At this point, I wouldn't be surprised if the author started describing a love story between the MC's other brother and another girl too while he's at it.

I appreciate developing side characters, but that's not what the author's doing. He's attempting to introduce the world by just telling you through random side characters and evensucks at it. The MC is honestly a side character at this point.

Although, I will give the story credit, although it doesn't focus on the MC much, the MC is good and I like his personality and all that (at least so far), and some characters are well developed (kind of).

For a story called "Legend of the Cultivation God, " it's a really boring pile of sh*t. Well, it's not that bad. But I feel pretty annoyed about persevering for so long and getting nothing out of it. I feel like if the author can get his sh*t together in the later chapters, it could get pretty good. But I'm not banking on it and dropping it now. Also, the world is kind of boring and sh*tty. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
I’ll Live My Second Life!
February 22, 2016
Status: --
This has a great concept and a very promising first few chapters. I still love where the plot is going, but some of the writing... is kinda mediocre. Like many things the author says just come out of the blue and don't flow well at all. It's hard to explain, but a lot of the time I just feel that it doesn't read well.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
Come and Eat, Shan Shan
February 9, 2016
Status: --
It's okay. I didn't exactly buy that the president suddenly started liking her, but it's still cute. I feel that's it's a not-as-good version of "Wipe Clean After Eating, " just from my personal preference.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
It's addicting to read, and is a decent story in my opinion. The female and male leads are both good. However, it's kind of cliche and has the stereotypical villains and all that.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
The Desolate Era
January 17, 2016
Status: --
This is a decent novel. It’s very IET-ish.

It felt awesome watching Ji Ning power up and then beat up the guys who were previously untouchable figures. I didn’t really feel the loss of his father and mother very much, but it was still done at least not in a mediocre manner. If you like xianxia in general, I can guarantee you will like this novel.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mrezman
mrezman rated it
Long Live Summons!
January 24, 2016
Status: --
People seem to really like this, but I really can't get into it. I even read up to chapter 30 hoping it would get better, but it's just way too convoluted and annoying to read. There's way too much stuff going on to keep track of, and I get kinda pissed reading it from what happens. Also, the first chapter was confusing as hell, and I had no freaking clue what was happening.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report