Report Review
15 Reviews


montblanc512
Pretty generic "Transported to Game-like world" setting with one interesting concept; the MC is weak but has cheat-like ability to always get rare-drops. I generally like these cheat-level ability fantasy novels, even when they're just okay, but this one really doesn't do much at all to develope characters or the world. We pretty much get; "There are dungeons and all resources come from drops". My problems with this novel so far are:

1. The MC almost immediately finds a way to stat up and get tons of money. There is no... more>> tension whatsoever.

2. The female characters are one-dimensional to the point of being cardboard cutouts of characters. You have tiny girl with big hammer who cooks and doesn't like bugs. And rabbit girl who is strong and likes carrots. Going on 11 chapter and we have learned nothing else about these characters, one of which the MC is living with.

3. Really? Of all the cool loot items you can give your MC, and he gets a thematically inappropriate and fantastically boring gun? A GUN!? Not only is it dull, but in this fantasy world where it might be considered interesting, nobody seems curious about what it is or where it comes from. It's never addressed. The author doesn't even get interesting with limited ammo or something, the MC spends bullets like they grow on trees, and oh-so-conveniently gets another rare drop of about 500 rounds. 4. The author seems to lose track of his own plot, mixing up what monsters are on which floors of which dungeons and what they drop. The translator points out that it's not a translation mistake but the way it is in the original.

Overall, it's just really not very interesting. The fantasy elements are explained non-chalantly, the non-fantasy elements that should be unique to a fantasy world are ignored, and the characters are generic. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
montblanc512 rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
December 24, 2016
Status: v2c10
The MC is hard to like. A lot of people defend this on "It's not his business", but there's something really unrealistic about a guy who just lets people die around him despite having the ability to save them without any risk to himself or even revealing his identity. The MC doesn't seem to be bothered by this at all, which makes it really weird when he's portrayed as such a good guy type at other moments. It doesn't come off as protecting identity, or even that he can't be... more>> bothered, it just comes off as a poorly written character that changes on the whim of the scenario he's written in. Maybe it gets better later, but this is the first transported to another world story I've dropped for non-translation related reasons. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
montblanc512 rated it
Oukoku e Tsuzuku Michi
August 6, 2018
Status: --
This MC just makes me feel gross. He just goes around s*xually harassing people but it's cool because every woman he comes across is just enamored by the fact he's got a big package. And I get it if that's the type of schlock you're coming to this story for, but it goes way too far. Like, every time this dude sees a particular child he thinks is going to grow into an attractive adult, he talks about "harvesting" her later. Our hero is literally grooming a child.

What is wrong... more>> with this author? Who could possibly root for such a sh*tty protagonist. It's not like they play him up as some kind of anti-hero either. He's completely fine and sociable and cool with other male characters, but every female character in the series is completely devoid of any function other than to be impressed by this guys wiener.

And even if you're into that, he's just got nothing else going for him. He's boring. His entire character is just that, he's big and strong and the only sh*t ever going on in his head is whom he's going to try to seduce next. The summary made this sound like it was going to be a rise to power of an over-powered protagonist from slave to king all for the sake of the woman he loves, instead it's the story of a borderline rapist who just swings his weapons around while the world fall in line around him. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
Slightly more interesting in plot than the average isekai, mainly due to the main character not being weak willed or easily led by others. He's optimistic and intelligent. Which somewhat makes up for the otherwise dull premise.

What is far less forgive-able though is the writing. I do think a small part of it is the translation, in that the translator is being too faithful to the source to the point of ignoring English sentence structure. For example, there are a disproportionate number of sentences that start with an excessive clause... more>> or extra words that aren't needed in context. Like:

"In the first place, what Soma was doing everyday was not training."

or

"Therefore, for Soma, it was a custom."

Which don't seem horrible, until you read it and it's the bulk of the writing. It's a combination of the writer writing like he's trying to hit a word minimum, and a translator being afraid of changing the authors work to the point of sacrificing readability.

Ultimately, it's just difficult to read/parse on a line by line level. What's interesting though is that none of it is technically wrong, making it something of a great study in the importance of rhythm in writing. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
I don't usually rate this low. I tend to like even generic Isekai, and make no mistake, this series hit's all the usual generic tropes. Corrupt summoners, cute monster mascot that turns into a loli, female MC being a demure damsel no matter how powerful she becomes. And honestly, it's boring, but all that is fine.

My problem with this series comes from the terrible deus ex machina nonsense. Every time the author introduces an element that could be problematic, the MC immediately levels up and earns a power that solves... more>> it. It's ridiculously boring because those problems are the only thing that would have made the series interesting. He's leveled up twice in the first 7 chapters. Spoilers:

Spoiler

Level Up 1. MC's special power is that he can steal stats and abilities. The limitation on it is that he has to be within 6 ft to do so, it's not instant, and he can't steal from corpses. Okay, it's still OP but it's cool that the author put in some reasonable limitations that could add some tension to it's use. Nope, the very first time he accidentally kills an enemy before he can steal it's power, he levels up and now his ability can be used on corpses. Limitations completely destroyed. Range and time and tactical need to keep the opponent alive, gone immediately.

Level Up 2. MC kills a bunch of bandits and gets to their treasure room. He tames a dragon (whom of course is actually a loli), but it turns out she can't speak yet. Ding! MC unlocks two new abilities! You can now speak telepathically with your tamed monsters and slaves. In the same level MC learns generic trope number 1, and unlocks infinite storage... while he conveniently happens to be in the bandits treasure room!

[collapse]

It's just dumb... It seems the author has decided that the answer to all problems is just to have the MC level up. It's the laziest writing I've ever seen. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
montblanc512 rated it
Living in this World with Cut & Paste
February 7, 2019
Status: c100
Generic. About as generic as generic gets. If there were a Japanese fantasy LN checklist, this would hit pretty much every box except food porn. You have your OP protagonist that somehow still comes off as a weak willed nobody, who gets vast wealth thrown at him almost immediately (the author clearly having no sense of economy as it's revealed early on that a few copper a day is his salary, but for some reason random townspeople like the alchemist and the butcher can afford to buy his materials for... more>> more than a commoner in this universe could earn in their entire lives and this isn't questioned), two women throwing themselves at the protagonist (one on a hunch and the other clearly for power/political motivations that they both instantly forget/abandon as they are then completely devoted to the protagonist without any actual character development), the protagonist using his cheat skill to have magic storage (why does every protagonist in every fantasy or isekai have this ability?), an adorable but powerful animal companion (you know, a chibi divine beast, because your OP protanist isn't complete without some kind of god-tier pet).

But a perfectly generic series would still be an even 3 stars in my book if done competently, but this author can't decide what he wants the protagonist to be. He can fight the strongest beings on the planet but when the plot dictates it, he's a weak and naive young man who can be bested in a spar. And then we have nonsense like other characters telling him he has to learn to fight without relying on his cheats... why? They make it seem like he might not be able to rely on those abilities, despite in this universe abilities being seen as a gift from god and nobody in existence being aware or thinking that those abilities can be sealed or taken or anything. It make's no sense, it's like training a painter by telling them they have to learn to paint blind-folded. There is no circumstance in this universe in which that training would be useful.

I wanted to like this series, but it's infuriatingly inconsistent while also not really trying to do anything interesting. It gets a 2 instead of 1-star rating solely because the translation is competently done compared to a lot of LNs out there. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
It started off so much better than the usualy Isekai. There's a poweful loli, but they don't spend the entire novel s*xualizing, the MC is powerful but not completely OP, No super convenient status and item storage system, none of that 50% of the novel being about food. I thought we'd finally gotten a series that wasn't full of stupid tropes, then we get to volume 2, and we have the new animal-eared loli and suddenly half the chapters are about food, then we get to volume 3 and OP... more>> gets his stupid broken magic storage, now in volume 4, for no reason whatsoever, MC is suddenly godlike at everything because he spent two years in a demi-human village, and every new thing he's a god at is waived away as "I learned it at my time in...".

So much promise slowly reduced to absolute generic garbage, just spread out over 4 volumes. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
Translation so far is great. There's a lot to like in the world and characters. And it does some interesting stuff with the concept of fantasy worlds with Jobs/Titles that not many other series with similar titles have touched.

The only thing that really keeps it out of a 5-star rating is that there are some plot holes that were very obviously ignored for the sake of setting up the story. To justify the whole premise, we're given a scenario where the MC is tricked by one of his companions. Which... more>> is kind of dumb when every single thing the MC does from his introduction on shows him to be a brilliant and capable tactician and perfectly capable of reading other people. It 100% feels like the author just hoped nobody would question why this guy would just outright believe the lie, when it's then also revealed that pretty much everyone else in the party was aware of the fact it was a lie. So we have that problem of a smart protagonist being dumb when the plot dictates it because the author couldn't be bothered to come up with something more elaborate.

Otherwise though, it's been consistently enjoyable so far. It's a little light on action so if that's what you're looking for, go elsewhere. I'll also say that the way romance is handled is great. It's tame and somewhat innocent, but it's sweet and it's nice that they don't make the MC romance blind, and the heroine comes off strong at first, but after they've established the romance to an extent, she doesn't get stuck in that annoying role of constantly trying to throw herself at badly written MC.

You know you've found a good series when you've caught up and didn't realize you were so far in, and are annoyed because you really want to know what happens next. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
montblanc512 rated it
Skeleton Knight, in Another World
November 3, 2017
Status: v7c8
Pretty interesting isekai novel. It does a lot of the usual tropes, but also subverts quite a few. Like the MC being OP solves most problems, but he's also shown to be unskilled because he relies on brute power, and easily bested in swordsmanship/sparring. Supporting characters are all pretty good and well developed. The heroine of the story has gotten duller as the story has progressed, slowly falling into the trap of being mostly defined by being a bit tsundere and getting embarrassed while trying to come off as tough... more>> more often than not.

I keep coming back to it. They do the OP MC trope really well and it's always fun when new people realize how crazy strong the MC is, both in small ways (like being able to lift a heavy door), to the insane (single-handedly wiping out most of an army). <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
montblanc512 rated it
Reincarnation into the Barrier Master
November 3, 2017
Status: c25
This started off being interesting. Not the most original series, but had a bit more going for it than the normal Isekai. Then the twist occurs, and it suddenly becomes the most generic Isekai OP protagonist story one could possibly imagine.

... more>>
Spoiler

Stop me if you've heard this one, a 30+ year old re-incarnates into a child prodigy in a swords and sorcery type medieval world, gets a cheat skill, gets a convenient item that lets them carry infinite junk, and then slowly builds a harem? Now imagine that, only it starts 20 chapters in when the writer apparently decided he didn't like his original idea. He gets to this generic plot by having everyone die in one chapter, all the characters they spent 20+ chapters making important to the MC, just gone, and he gets angry about it for all of 3-4 chapters, and then it becomes that generic story I just described.

[collapse]

Absolute garbage that feels even worse since it started off being more interesting. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
montblanc512 rated it
The Other Side of the Last Boss
February 7, 2019
Status: c15
I read some of the other reviews and thought maybe I was being to harsh on this, finding it really dumb after the first 3 chapters, and thought I'd read a little further, but no, this author is an idiot.

We have here a protagonist who is so OP normal people literally piss themselves and adventurers whip up into a panic when he even uses the bare minimum of his power. This protagonist also has an extreme phobia of women. Okay, not my cup of tea watching a 1000 year old... more>> all-powerful being get stomped because he's reduced to a quivering pool when looked at by young teen girls, but I can at least follow the premise and figured it'd make for some decent comedy. Then we find out his aura drives human insane with lust (for some reason this is random because some people cower in fear at his aura while others go into heat... nice consistent writing there. So this god-like entity then reveals he has no s*xual urges... okay, that kind of makes his fear of women stupid, but maybe it's not s*xual, maybe it's a traumatic event. It's getting more dumb, but it's not at "I give up" levels of dumb yet. Then we get to the adventurer's guild, where he shows a tiny bit of his power and it turns the receptionist so horny she demands he take responsibility for humiliating her... and he teleports them to his bed and brings her to orgasm... What kind of stupid bullsh*t is that? We have a protagonist that literally cannot speak when around a girl out of fear, but he can rub one off and then curse her to keep his power a secret, without any hint of difficulty in doing so? Severe gynophobia but he just turns that sh*t off when it's convenient for the plot? There is absolutely no justification that makes that make sense. The protagonist is so all over the place I'm wondering if the author has ever met another human, let alone a woman.

The fact that there are people giving this 5-stars and defending this schlock is absurd. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
I was between 2 and 3 stars. On the one hand, I really appreciate the concept of magic vs wizardry, and the MC's use of wizardry being DnD-style as opposed to everyone else's magic being more like a video-game.

However, that novelty only goes so far, and is ruined by the Overpowered MC cliche. While I enjoy my overpowered protagonists as much as anyone else, this series early on hints at the weaknesses of this style of wizardry compared to magic, mainly the need to re-charge spells, and the time it... more>> takes to cast. The author even very early on makes it clear that his cheat spell of invincibility doesn't work on this world's magic because it's fundamentally different from his magic. Despite this, he then proceeds to never be challenged in any way. Then the limitations of his need to charge spells makes no difference because he's so high leveled he can have 81 spells use-able between needing to charge. He has yet to be shown ever coming close to running out of cheat OP magic.

Then you have the MC's personality. He's such a typical Japanese wimp. I don't get how even in power-fantasies LN authors seem to love their MC's being weak willed, overly cautious, terrified of being impolite, and completely dominated by women. I swear the most used phrase in this novel about a wizard isn't "wizard" or "magic" but "Japanese salaryman", The MC just keeps reminding us how much of a chump he used to be in his past life and how he's just pretending to be a big-shot in this world... and it just gets so old so fast.

Then you have the women. Typical cardboard cutout women in what's becoming a cardboard cutout harem. You have the first girl he meets being an innocent but plucky merchants daughter who clings to him and blushes whenever he's nice to her, the mage who is the worlds most generic tsundere, who shows no interest in the MC beyond getting jealous when he interacts with any other woman, and then we get number 3, a curvy dark-elf who has sword absolute loyalty to our MC for the rest of her life. None of them have any depth, no real agency, no real reason to be at all interested in the MC except that he's powerful.

The worst part though, is this dude's supposed to be a middle-aged dude, not a teen nor re-incarnated as a teen, and yet he seems to have the mind of a typical teen protagonist. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
Very short chapters, it's about as generic as they come and doesn't do much to build the world. Honestly, I keep forgetting it's not an Isekai since apparently in this common medieval world the MC acts like a the typical Japanese beta-male, and there are bento, and yeah, the author didn't really bother crafting a world so much as throwing in a king, magic, and monsters. It's also super trope heavy.

Stop me if you've heard this before: OP Protagonist is surprised to find out he's OP. Finds it's easy for... more>> him to make a ton of money, he obtains cute girl slaves for stupid reasons that are very obviously just excuses to have him be surrounded by cute girls who don't have to have character or agency since they're slaves. The slaves are a loli, a tsundere ex-princess, and a mature for her age magic user. Every girl the MC meets does everything short of rubbing up against him to show interest while he laments being average looking. He meets generic cardboard cutout other characters like an elf-guild leader who *gasp* just looks like a little girl, but is actually 100. Oh, and he disguises himself while saving the town by using his cheat ability to fight off a monster invasion, because he doesn't want people to know it's him and of course only the chosen plot important few can put 1+1 together... only it gets dumb and literally everyone of any plot significance knows by chapter 50. The King, the villain, the guildmaster, the slaves, the guild receptionist.

... It's generic fantasy soup, only to stretch this metaphor, the author didn't let it simmer long enough so it's bland and flavorless. Now that I think about it, food is literally the only generic trope the author hasn't put much time into, well, other then the generic "Oh no, one of the slaves wants to cook but is terrible at it" gags.

The only thing it had going for it was that it was well translated, and I say was because after it switched to a new translator it became completely unreadable.

Do yourself a favor, don't start, you won't finish it unless you're desperate for any content at all. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
montblanc512 rated it
The New Gate
August 18, 2018
Status: --
I was between a 3 and a 4 here. It's not a 5. It's got some problems, namely the fact that the protagonist is another weak willed pushover type when it comes to women. Godly powerful, still freaks out when within 25 feet of a boob. And of course, despite this power, he feels the need to hide it. Which seems dumb when the actual princess of the country he's in knows how strong he is. Hiding his power seems silly and only exists to keep battles vaguely more interesting.

That... more>> said, the rest of the series is pretty good. The characters are interesting and have more going on than just being lifeless tropes. The female characters despite swooning over the MC don't come off as nearly as one-dimensional as most LN heroine's do. And they've kept the party small enough and have another male friend/comrade, thankfully avoiding the harem tropes pretty well.

What I really appreciate though is the world building. The travel and adventure aspects of this novel are fun and interesting, Weapons and smithing lore are fun. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
montblanc512
montblanc512 rated it
HP1 kara Hajimeru Isekai Musou
June 9, 2018
Status: c5
I can't get into this. It's not only super generic, but it feels like it's sprinting along into each generic beat. Protagonist is your typical super generic beta male with godlike power, and the author actually uses harem powers as a way to get around having any actual development or reason for women to just throw themselves at this half-written hero.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report