Report Review
17 Reviews


mmem
mmem rated it
Every World Seems Not Quite Right
February 6, 2018
Status: c24
UPDATED 3/5/18

World 1: messy

World 2: boring, but I really liked this ML

... more>> World 3: Too soon to tell

-------------------------------------------

I've been really enjoying this rush of chinese multiple realms stories. This one is a bit unique, in the first arc so far characters beside the MC and FL show some development and it's nice to see the family interacting.

I actually feel bad for the FL, she's not just evil to be evil. I don't think her actions are completely justifiable, but between her father's neglect and obvious favoritism for his son plus growing up poor and ashamed of it, all this hate she's getting from the other characters seems a bit unfair. It's also weird how likable the dad is even though he was pretty much scum before.

I'm actually really uncomfortable with the blatant favoritism towards the MC, everyone seems to like him for his looks. As a result the MC is really annoying me, he isn't even doing anything, he's just having things happen for him.

Looking forward to seeing how this arc resolves itself and what the next world will be like. Wonder if MC will feel sad leaving his current family when the time comes? <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
It Became a Serious Thing
August 21, 2017
Status: c3
Spoiler

There was no adultery tag when I first started reading this, but the translator mentions it before the prologue and it drove me nuts wondering where the adultery was. But turns out the leads have fiance's, it's unclear if they actually are in a relationship with their intended or if this is an arranged marriage thing, but technically it is adultery.

There's not much plot, just a bullied maid finding herself having an affair with a horny beast who strangely enough hasn't lost control and penetrated her yet. The MC makes assumptions with no real basis, and she's easily led by the ML. I don't know if I should feel bad for her or not.

But what really takes me away from the story is the translator's notes that keep jerking me out of the story, and that the ML comes off as horny and nothing else. I literally don't know anything about his personality except he really really likes s*x and has the self-restraint not to go too far despite his constant horniness.

On the bright side, there is a female friendship introduced in the current chapter, always nice to see.

[collapse]
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
Transmigration: Of Mysteries and Songs
April 6, 2018
Status: c29
Where is this story even going?

She's supposed to play a song on some zithers so she can go home, but now she's solving a murder? And she's actually good at it? Really, using a dog to sniff blood actually worked? There's just so much off about this. Even the solving of the case seems weird and full of questions (okay some of which may be revealed but still).

Cultivating friendships is great, props to the author for that, but in 1 chpt the fragility of those friendships was shown, it was... more>> so easy for the FL to be alone again. I'm just really confused.

Just, can we get back to some plot, or is this how the story will be going forward? I can feel myself losing interest. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
September 4, 2016
Status: v1c2
I love protagonists like this. He's called the Lazy Swordmaster, but he really isn't lazy. He worked hard and suffered through so much only to be reincarnated and decides to live a life without doing much. Which would be fine, after all if anyone deserves to rest it's him, but while his family is rich it's also all about being the best swordsman, and there's the conflict. For characters who don't know his past it's easy to see why they're all frustrated by him and his "laziness." But it's also... more>> easy to see why he's the way he is too.

And props to the author for speeding through his childhood by having the first chapter be excerpts from the family butler's diary. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
My New Life, Won’t You Please Become Peaceful!
May 31, 2018
Status: c41
This gets seriously dark, all the characters seem a little broken and now the cracks are showing. Can relationships so torn apart be repaired, it's like a vicious cycle growing worse and worse. I don't know were this is going, and the humors still there, but I seriously love this story and the translator so I'm not going anywhere.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
Inside the Cave of Obscenity
August 23, 2016
Status: v1c2
Too soon to tell but I like the writing. Wish the author was kinder when describing women.

Seems like there could be an interesting plot but the story may end up just being about girls being raped and mind broke by a slime. Currently looking forward to more chapters.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
Rebirth of the Wolfish Silkpants Bottom
August 2, 2018
Status: c89
Since c82 I've been skimming whenever SN and SH are together, I get it already, they want each other, but can the time skip happen already! But it is interesting to see how SH's treatment of SN has changed him, definitely made him spoiled.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
Dungeon Defense
September 1, 2016
Status: v3c1
Vol 1 was awesome, it touched on what it'd be like if your father had a harem, had a lead that was interesting and actually intelligent, side characters I could understand and feel for, interesting game and world elements, and oozed potential. Sure there were some flaws, but nothing too major and I ended up reading it in a day.

Vol 2 was good, it's just the story seems to be going in a much different direction. Some character's personalities have changed and I'm not sure why (maybe if there had... more>> been a vol before this one to make the transition make sense?).

Seriously the story goes from bringing peace to two races to the main character descending into madness (for reasons) and the beginnings of war. What happened?

No seriously, comparing vol 2 MC to vol 1 prologue MC (which takes place 2 years in the future) he seems like a pretty different character, but maybe the author will make it make sense. Don't get me wrong, the story is still interesting, it's just a different story now.

Also the romance in vol 2, where did that come from, I usually love romance but here it felt like
Spoiler

he only "loved" her because they were sleeping together. I kept hoping that his change in personality and sudden love would be explained by Lala kissing him last vol. When her stats are revealed in vol 1 there's a skill called Judas Kiss, which could explain why Lala suddenly kissed him and why he suddenly became crazed. But nope, that wasn't what happened.

And then there's the end of vol 2, MC spends most of the vol coming to the realization he was in "love" only to then be raped. B wasn't shown enough in vol 1 for me to say her personality changed but was she really so pathetic that she needed to drug a guy to get him to sleep with her? The fact they continue to sleep together according to vol 3's prologue was hard to read. Where does Lala even fit in then? Is the rape ever dealt with? This isn't the start of a harem is it? Please no.

[collapse]

So this starts out crazy interesting but then goes dark and crazy, really dark (and no I don't buy that he
Spoiler

killed someone when he was in his 3rd year of elementary school, maybe if it had been described how he did it it would be easier to believe.

[collapse]

Oh well, at lease his relationship with LD was pretty cute so I look forward to more of them together. Meanwhile I'm going to wait till vol 3 is translated to read it my hope is that a certain character is killed off, preferably by the MC or Lala.

Edit: Looks like vol 3 may be leading to a harem... why? <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
The Perfect Destiny
December 24, 2018
Status: v2c9
Still to soon to judge, but I really like the premise and the MC system interactions are funny.

Its just, more than a story about MC helping the FLs each arc, it's more like this is a story about a couple with a role play rape fetish.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem
I Will Quietly Disappear
August 6, 2018
Status: c6
It’s okay, I’m just not sure why she can’t just decline the position. She’s taking about running away or faking her death, but why? Unless it’s been mentioned earlier and I forgot....

So far this isn’t a very memorable story.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
Is it Tough Being a Friend?
July 27, 2018
Status: v1 illustrations
Interesting premise, so far it's been fun and I've always had a soft spot for side characters over main characters, though he's reasoning for being a side character is questionable. I especially can't wait for the protagonist to learn the truth.

At least that's what I felt until I saw the illustrations. Now this story seems like it'll become generic real quick. I just don't feel motivated to continue reading. I'll probably come back later when there's more chapters, hopefully I'm wrong about the direction this story will go in and... more>> this'll stay interesting. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
Quick Transmigrating Second Female Lead’s Counterattack
February 6, 2018
Status: c30
This is pretty heavy on the romance, sometimes a little too heavy. But it's a fun read and I like how she faces different difficulties each arc, the MC is pretty strong, the systems pretty cute in a dumb kind of way, plus the reason ML follows her is explained pretty early. I feel pretty bad for these second female leads, they're pretty much stepping stones for the FL.

Now that the instant romance is out of the way I wonder if it'll be less focused on going forward.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
Intoxication
September 27, 2018
Status: c5
Honestly I'm not sure what to think about this story.

The relationship between the MC & ML is... complicated. On the one hand the ML takes him for granted but also seems possessive of him, not to mention they've been in this toxic relationship for 6 or so years, but on the other hand, the MC is a stalker. I mean I don't think it's okay how the ML treats the MC, but the MC kind of lets him, I feel like they're both responsible for how their relationship turned out.... more>> And while this is titled Intoxicated I think Obsessive fits better. MC is obsessed with ML, to the point I'm not even sure I'd call it love. Sure he's older now and tired, and according to the summary he eventually moves on, which seems much healthier than what's going on now, but can someone so obsessed with another person actually truly move on and let that person go?

Guess I have to keep reading to find out. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
Heroic Death System
April 27, 2018
Status: c57
This hurts. I have never felt so bad for a ML before and will completely understand if in the future he goes crazy as a result of watching his lover constantly die in front of him.

Arc 1: Easiest arc, really liked.

Arc 2: Hurt the most, my favorite.

... more>> Arc 3: Liked the idea, found it okay.

Arc 4: Possibly my obsessive refreshing of the translator website messed me up, but I did not like this arc. It started good and had it's moments, but the longer timeline resulted in a side plot that annoyed me and the MC constantly treating the ML like a kid since technically he was. I felt really frustrated, whether it was because of the arc or my obsessive stalking of snowy's webpage or both!

Arc 5: The reason behind the premise of this arc was interesting, the actual arc was just okay.

Arc 6: Finally! I'm actually enjoying this arc! I think I enjoy the arcs more when the MC & ML's relationship is more balanced. No deciding what the ML should be doing or feeling, just two almost equals that respect each other. That's why I hated Arc 4 so much, their relationship was too unbalanced and MC kept making decisions for ML. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
I Don’t Dare to Oppose a Protagonist Anymore
September 13, 2018
Status: c1
Interesting idea, I'm just not sure how I feel about the story other than it's okay. The biggest issue for me is the MC. He's an idiot and has a bad character, which isn't an issue for me unless he doesn't experience some character growth.

It's just I'm not sure he will. For example the MC has a crush on a girl, okay. But midway through c1 you find out the MC was reborn (twice) into a fat kid. Which is fine, what bothers me is he finds out his crush... more>> didn't like him because he was ugly and fat. Not because he was harassing her or because he had a bad personality, nope, it's because he's fat. Like seriously author.

This worries me because he takes it as he needs to slim down, not that he needs to fix himself, and the girl comes off as a bitch despite having a legitimate reason for not liking him.

I don't know, I'm probably taking this story too seriously. Maybe c2 will be better, for now 2 stars for just being okay. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
This is cute, and different (I like the inclusion of fetishes) plus side pairings are always welcome, but I have to keep reminding myself they're 10 years old, that's why they seems so childish.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mmem
mmem rated it
Thank You for Abandoning Our Engagement!
June 7, 2018
Status: c1 part4
The stories okay, it's just there's this strange disconnect between c1.1 & c1.2, and the story goes in an unexpected direction that's kind of boring. But it's a sweet short story, I just don't understand the Prince's reactions in c1.1.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report