Report Review
22 Reviews


mllhild
mllhild rated it
I Was a Sword When I Reincarnated (WN)
July 28, 2016
Status: c180
First, ignore the cover image of the LN, its brings totally the wrong image to the story characters.
Spoiler

Like what the hell is Fran wearing?! She owns and wears nothing but armor in the story.

[collapse]

Second, read the first 20 chapters (they are short so no problem) before commenting or deciding how the story is. Not everything has to start with a meteor shower, truck-san or a pair of boobs
Spoiler

no ecchi for you here, only gap moe

[collapse]
. Maybe 11 chapters of a sword explaining the abilities and showing the mind, weaknesses of the MC could help the world building.

I liked it enough that it became the first WN where I read the raws until the latest release and now have started to translate it together with ensign.

Bad points first:
- the MC goes sometimes on to ramble
Spoiler

(well, he only talks to like 3 persons in 180 characters so of course he talks to himself)

[collapse]
- short chapters? At least this means it will be released more frequently
- has only the most necessary world building
- very few POV chapters (I really like this kind of chapter)

Good points
- good pace
- MC is a sword, so NO HAREM
- no MC solves everything alone,
Spoiler

or even cares to

[collapse]
- no moral pu**ys
- Fran
- Fran's dialogues
- Fran's grandiose speeches
77 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
Demon Noble Girl ~Story of a Careless Demon~
January 14, 2016
Status: --
It is reincarnation without any game elements, quite refreshing.
Good Points:
- has a very nice chapter 1 for setting the mood.
- very good translation
- nice protagonist with which one can relate
- you get the POV from several people to complement the story
53 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
Kuma Kuma Kuma Bear
May 21, 2016
Status: c53
Extremly lovingly and adorablely cute. Pro:
There is no central plot to worry about.
The main character has her feet on the ground, not a stupid soft heart, not cruel, just a lovingly human girl who sees the world in a realistic way and is "my pace".
She is not OP, but her equipment (bear clothes) are.

Con:
short chapters
maybe lacking Character depth, but the chapters are short so they are still world building and
... more>>
Spoiler

a lot of the main side charater's are less than 10 year old loli's so they didn't live long enough to build and interesting character

[collapse]
<<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
The Magician Wants Normality
May 10, 2016
Status: --
The text flow is really hard to get a feeling from. Its not engaging at all and the world, human relations, politics are missing. Its like reading a resumes of chapters instead of the actual story.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
Nidome no Jinsei wo Isekai de
January 20, 2016
Status: --
The MC is an adult, an old man in a young body, but behaves properly. The illustration image doesn't fit with the story at all, there isn't any harem until now nor a fluffy mood. Also the MC appearance is different from what is mentioned in the book, so don't be rejected by the image.

The pace is good and the characters are nice and well told. I don't know if it will tilt to comedy or plot later on, but the writing style doesn't seem one for ecchi at least.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
Netorare Pilgrimage of the Saint
May 30, 2018
Status: c13
The translation is sadly a mostly unedited MTL. Story wise it looks like a decent NTR and I will keep reading it for now. It's not the cheating gf NTR, but they are forced into the arrangement. This means that they both are fully aware of each other's act and are actually not willing. Which makes it all the more sweet to see them both fall. Also due to Japanese grammar the story is a mixture of male MC and 3rd person.

What this TL project truly needs to get up... more>> to 4 or 5 stars is a good editor how has a knack for erotica. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
Isekai Maou to Shoukan Shoujo Dorei Majutsu
May 7, 2018
Status: v8c1 part4
I really recommend it if you want to read a nice funny action ecchi story with good characters. Especially if you can laugh at ecchi developments or unexpected traits of characters!

Pros:

  • good translation and already a lot of strory translated
  • character driven plot with good character development in a realistic pace
  • MC is strong but far from an OP God like mage like Ainz and undefeatable. Also he is quite likable and realistic in his behavior. (I can't say that I would be more ruthless and my ex-gf had to be almost as aggressive as some characters in the novel to start my relationship with her, so I can see this a quite real behavior)
  • ecchi is well written and really comical while still keeping ero
  • relation ship progression is realistically paced. Please consider that they are running around in constant combat and this is no a hentai.
Cons:

  • start seems a bit like a random ecchi novel with OP dense protagonist
  • you have to search the net a bit and go to a certain Jcafe to find the volume 1 and 2 since its been licensed
  • for a light novel that is all demerits I can think off.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
Only Sense Online (LN)
June 24, 2016
Status: v9c2
So good that I used up all my free time for 3 days strait until I came to the last chapter.

A heat warming story with a cute main character. Playing my pace while also being very cute and ... more>>
Spoiler

influencing a lot the other characters and game behavior without noticing and becoming rather famous

[collapse]

Translation quality is good.
Chapters are long
There is no central plot.
A pure-hearted MC
No visible numeric stats, its close to Skyrims leveling system
It focuses on crafting rather than action and so there are no long stretched tedious combat explanation.

I personally like Yun's character quite a lot, still a lot of commenters don't. So it is purely a question of taste.

Things you won't find here are romance, violence, real life troubles, a OP or pushy MC, harem or reverse-harem...

Even if its not the same style, if you like the novels translated by Oniichan yamete's then you should also like this one. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
Virtual World: Close Combat Mage
May 15, 2018
Status: --
The Author has no idea how MMORPG Players behave, much less how the companies that make such a game behave.

The combat is not realistic in the slightest and its completely irrelevant that the MCs class is a mage.

The translation isn't bad, but everything else is giving me a headache when reading this, so I'm dropping it.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
These Characters actually know what they want! And go to get it.

I expected to read some "retarded spineless guy takes care of bratty adopted daughter" setting, but my expectations were pleasantly betrayed. Also please get at least until chapter six before judging the story.

Another fun thing is the comment section of the first few chapters. Because the readers seem to quite heavily disagree on how they see the hero and his actions/choices. As well as of the ones around the hero.

So I suggest to give it a try!
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
Hakai Me no Yuuri
May 12, 2016
Status: --
Really refreshing, a nice change from the usual type of development this story has. It has a bit of dark elements, but the writing style is of a fluffy heat warming story so it becomes funny. If you like the MC to suffer and be helpless then this is for you. Also if you are a M you would certainly like to be the MC, reversed a S would like to have the MC as pet
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
The Man Picked Up By the Gods (Reboot)
April 21, 2018
Status: v1c20
The story is nice and the Translator is good and has a steady track record. The release speed of the raws is sadly slow at the moment.

Compared to the original work, this one is more fleshed out. Simply put, the author got better and he has a second chance.

I'm guessing that the author will also fix his flaw of not expanding the world and factions, which lead to him writing himself into a position where a lot of build up would have been required to continue the story.

... more>>
Spoiler

the story is character driven, so after Ryoumas character was explored then his interaction with Elia and her friends should probably receive more time and evolve further in this version

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
Almadianos Eiyuuden
May 14, 2018
Status: --
The MC is op from the start and then his God version decides to help the mortal version to become even more op. His interference destroyed any possibilty of a decent story development.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
The Saint’s Magic Power is Omnipotent (WN)
April 17, 2018
Status: c29
Really fun to read and the translation quality is good.

It has the Josei problem, like the Shounen one, of too many handsome man which makes the cast some what undistinguishable one from another if you were to think in form of appearance. Fortunately the author uses their jobs and not their names, so I mostly forgot how they were described and my image of them comes from their title+behavior.

The MCs behavior is nice and realistic considering her age and life.

I recommend it if you want something nice relaxed to read
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
The Strongest Guild Master Founded a Nation in a Week
April 16, 2018
Status: c164
To get the Overlord question out of the way, the main similarities are the first few chapters and that the MC and subordinates are OP.

The MC is no pu**y but still a decent human being with normal flaws and s*xdrive (he wont turn down what is offered). If you think of Ainz as a fanatic scarrycat who is falling slowly into insanity and coldness. Then the MC in question is a tolerant person who still doesn't have a problem with incinerating tens of thousands if they are an attacking army.

The... more>> story is fun, but has some structural problems. TL quality is low but its alright since the TL speed is high.

Its less fascinating than Overlord (mainly due to the way its build and TL quality) but even after 160+ chapters im always excited for the next one.

The main flaw of the story is that it has to many characters so it gets hard to remember since the the author uses names instead of attributes to describe the people involved in a scene. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
Sword Saint’s Disciple
May 22, 2018
Status: v2c11
So far the story decent and can become something nice if it continues like this. A bit of a darker tone would make it better.

The big problem at the moment is that the translator need urgently an editor who has a good grip on English. Its a torture to read it as it is. So until chapter v2.c6 onward is edited, its two stars instead of four.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
The Strange Adventure of a Broke Mercenary
May 20, 2018
Status: c21
This is one of the best adventure novels with a realistic setting I've seen until now on NU.

Pros:

  • The translation is good and has a decent speed.
  • The characters are funny and interact in a realistic way.
  • No kindhearted or OP MC, but he also isn't a Jerk.
  • No Harem
  • very smart way of world building, the author manages to express strength and background without wall of text exposition
Con:

  • the Chapters are a bit short and the chapter titles aren't good.... yeah, thats the only "problem" I could find until now. Oh and that I can't enslave the translator and editor to keep translating it 24/7
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
The Man Picked up by the Gods
April 21, 2018
Status: v5c38
The story is quite nice and the translation good. The sense of building dimensions seems a bit off, but I guess that could be just the author not having a good grasp of scale.

The way characters are written and treated is nicely done.

The reboot is supposed to diverge at around Vol. 3, which is where the author failed to expand upon the world beyond the base town and already established characters. (probably since he had to scrap more than half (v3+v4+v5) he decided to start at vol 1)

Yet I... more>> would still say that its perfectly fine to read because in a sense this version did tell everything it could with how it went and the remainder of the story could be imagined assuming nothing unexpected occurred.

Spoiler

Ryouma angry and the kingdom as well because of the incident in v5 --> destroyed Dark Guild. Next I guess Elia would have to put in quite the effort to snare Ryouma, but its very probable that they would end up together with him becoming the next Duke throu marriage. Happy ever after....

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
mllhild rated it
Genjitsushugi Yuusha no Oukoku Saikenki
January 14, 2016
Status: --
It is about politics and economics only (as of cap 4) and because of this it is great. Mostly a lighthearted read, but is very interesting if you like to think of Medieval/Renaissance economics. Also if you like Spice and Wolf then this is for you.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
mllhild
A loving light read with a lot of humor. The development and story telling is good. There is no OP until where I read.
Its a slice of life with soft/easy adventure and survival. The chapters with message boards are specially funny.
A good read for a slow day.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report