Report Review
17 Reviews


meridianna
meridianna rated it
Ghosts Know What I Experienced
September 13, 2018
Status: Completed
Expectation: murders, mysteries, gore, supernatural, ghosts, deaths.

Reality: FLUFF, EAT DOG FOOD.

Ok, that's exaggeration on my part. tbh, I expect some gruesome things, thanks to my experiences with JP mysteries (totally my thing lmao). but this novel....... well not that bad. there's still some things that make me lose appetite, but most of time they're just okay, not too appalling, horrid enough for readers as it's supposed to be supernatural. just some cases are bit anti-climatic. this kind of supernatural-case story is really my fave.

the couple is very cute,... more>> totally, just a bit awkward coz both of them used to be alone for a long time. MC is not a weakling. he can really hit when it's needed. The ML tho... he is very kind in true sense, well mostly toward MC. rather than stoic, he's just awkward and doesn't know how to express himself. a real treat when many MLs are sick bastards or cold tyrants. honestly, I'm tired of those MLs. this ML... is too pure for this world. we don't deserve him at all. only MC deserves him #shot
edit: I added some comments <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Thousand Autumns
June 29, 2018
Status: Completed
this one is the "wait how they can be together?!"-type of novel. Towards the end, I see it all makes sense. I feared that MC was the Mary-Sue kind but fortunately it's not. He's genuinely kind and honest, but still know the limit how to be kind to others. A hidden gem. About ML, he's a real devil, but the great and noble. You know, that kind of villain which looks so noble, mischievous, but still great. I can't hate him at all as his principle is actually justified. The... more>> plot is unusual, I even compared to some shounen manga. I really hope a manhua or something like that, I really want to see MC skill at martial arts in drawing forms. The description looks very great q.q <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Sha Po Lang
October 26, 2018
Status: c82
welp, still struggling through the mass amount of distorted English. will add more comments after finished all. and I plan to do it fast :))
but I can really tell this is very great.

the shou is shameless, looks weak and unreliable but still able to kill, best at it even. (kinda remind you of certain patriach). the gong is......... A GOOD, VERY GOOD CHILD. kind, selfless but detached. his only wish is to protect his yifu (foster father, the shou). what a kind soul, sobs. he really needs hug.... more>> and pats on head, ofc. eh, there'll be time skip, so it's not shotacon, you all can be assured.

the plot is very intriguing. but rather heavy on politic, so I think some people can't really stand it.

Spoiler

the gong and shou have some chronic diseases respectively. Gu Yun (shou) is half deaf-half blind becoz he was poisoned when he was a child. that's the truth. with some medicine he can see and hear rather well, but not without nasty side effects, like... shortened lifespan and severe headache. and this medicine was losing effectiveness by time to time. he still looks nonchalant about this. damn. Chang Geng (gong) was poisoned by his supposedly-mother in early chapters. well she was not his real mother, she was his aunt actually, she tried to kill him several times till he always gets nightmares every night. by this bad bad aunt, Chang Geng was cursed to be a madman, killing everyone in fit of madness, have unstable mind. Chang Geng is a smart child, he tried to suppress it and find a way to cure this. so, he looks calm and stable, but when his yifu is involved, the calmness was crushed. as far I read, this poison is only affecting the mind. but eh, I may be wrong.

[collapse]

looks a bit incest tbh, so I guess some people don't like it. however, I really dig on older shou younger gong these days, so I am very very okay with this.

edit: okay... I wonder why this one hasn't got any adaptation other than audio drama. the setting and conflicts are actually great. the characters too. I wanna see those black armors in motion! also the archery on top of a flying ship!! is it becoz it looks incest? welp. fyi Gu Yun in audio drama has same VA as Yiling Laozu donghua version. boii.. he even sang the SPL's ED ost. can't help to loop the song for many times.

Spoiler

now now i've read about CG's curse and how he got it. GDI XIU NIANG. W-WHAT KIND OF GRIEVANCE YOU HAD TILL YOU DID THAT TO A CHILD WHO MAY BE YOUR OWN OR YOUR SISTER'S ?!! the detail is too grotesque. can't write it here orz

[collapse]

tbh, this novel really pierces to my heart. Gu Yun to Chang Geng is a deterrent, limiter to his own curse. and Chang Geng to Gu Yun is a change of hard-like-stone heart. reading how Gu Yun finally learns to treasure his life because of Chang Geng is really heart-wrenching..

really, I think it's one of most famous from priest. donghua pls... <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Peerless
February 2, 2019
Status: Completed
Not gonna deny, I'm sold when I knew this novel shares same universe with Thousand Autumns.

Plot is very intriguing. the murder case is just tip of icebergs, many things are hidden behind it. and full of conspiracies~
this one is a rare kind where many characters can switch sides easily, all according to their own interests and benefits. it's seen more often in seinen than yaoi tbh..

Now about CP... boy, they're so amusing. our dear CP here are actually from different bureaus, but have similar responsibilities. it's just one... more>> receives orders from Emperor directly, the other from Empress. so ofc, the fierce competitions ensued. the battles of wit between them are hilarious. I say that because basically none of them gets much advantages. it's always draw.

The shou is a sickly man. he has no martial arts, even wind can harm him easily. but his mental fortitude is the best. can endure any kind of test. also he has very wide knowledge, mostly politics and names of famous people. and is a very good strategist.

The gong is what I call in modern term; a metros*xual man. he puts much attention to appearance like changing clothes before fighting, etc. but he's also very shameless and has no real concern about dignity as long as he can get whatever he wants. he's a total narcissist. he's very confident in looks and martial arts. and God forbids, there is indeed not many people who can beat him. basically only the shou whom he regards as rival, not in martial arts, but in tactics and tricks.

I chuckled when both of them smile to each other but curses flying inside. the gong call the shou as 'dead fox'; granted the shou call him 'oleander swaying around', a beautiful and and very toxic flower. lmao. and indeed, till end they wouldn't stop bickering even though they care each other more than their own life. wtf guys...

Spoiler

there's part when they must work together to escort country's ambassador. shou suggests they should disguise themselves, which got approval from gong. but then he said that gong has too much appeal so he could attract enemies, he must decrease his handsomeness like dirtying face and hair, wear shabby clothes. as a clean freak, gong is very reluctant. then shou suggests another, if gong don't want to be dirty, he should disguise a woman. and OMG, gong accepts that readily, but he has one condition. he would disguise as woman but must be shou's wife. then shou regrets a bit coz his 'wife' never stops talking and make his head ache. wtf, these guys never stop.
I'm dead every time I read shou thinks gong's face is very beautiful, and perfect as long as he keeps his mouth shut. his talking destroys whatever beauty he has. and how gong always wonders why shou is very interesting though his behavior is too cold, his heart is as hard as steel, his mouth is very poisonous, his face is pale and sickly, his smile is never sincere, either it's sneer or smirk. but they're similarly willing to put their lives at stake for each other. omg yameroo.

[collapse]

Edit: I heard there'll be anime adaption for this by bilibili. I also check from JJWXC, yes it's true! OMG OMG 1000x <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Lantern: Reflection of the Peach Blossoms
December 21, 2018
Status: Completed
I'm curious so I tried to MTL this. boy, this one is good. modern supernatural too, my kind of novel.
i like this author's style. the jokes are fresh, even in middle of serious times. i've laughed hard several times gdi. the characters are just dope. they make me speechless coz their interactions... can be considered hilarious. also as in most of her works, the pace is great. the battle is intense, and the tension is high. you can't help to read more and more. welp, I read this till... more>> late nights lmao. but there's still touching moments, and pretty deep to boot.
Spoiler

I really like the young omyouji. noo don't die pls.....!

[collapse]
i really enjoy this. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Breaking Through the Clouds
October 26, 2018
Status: Completed
THIS IS A GREAT NOVEL. A MUST READ.... sorry I lost there.

the cases are very well-thought, intriguing, and connected to one another! this kind of plot device should be more appreciated. also, the plot twists are so amazing, I almost got misled. but eh, as prolific mystery lover, some things just can't fool me :p

thing that I notice much is the pace. the pace is good, not too fast, but not too slow so readers just want to read more and more. and indulge in this novel, not able to... more>> stop. the jokes are also fresh, lightening some heavy and depressing scenes. yeah... this one also has many knives, aiming toward your heart. Captain Jiang, you are just.... *sobs*

i really feel grateful to the author for making a gong as bright as Yan Xie, to complement the ice queen (?) Captain Jiang Ting. they're really a pair matched by heaven. ofc, at first it's not like that, but after several life-death situations, they really become a pair that understand each other, able to guess other's mind just by glancing or deducing the actions. you may think, because the shou woke up after a long coma so he was weak af. nope, nope at all. he still could do crazy sh*ts, not to mention he's smart and tend to challenge death. or thinking maybe the gong was just all muscles with no brain. still nope. he was smart in his own way, added to his perfectly healthy and strong body. if not, how can he find out Jiang's intentions? in short, they're a perfect example of power couple, a great tag indeed.

not to forget, there's still smut. me like, me approve (◡‿◡✿) <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Yang Shu Mei Ying
December 3, 2018
Status: Completed
i was just bored, noticed this, ended up binge-MTL in one night. What I have to do with my life now? Eh it's not too long anyway.
the plot is not bad, but not too great either. All drama seems coming from the shou. Boy, he's such a difficult shou alright. But that's actually justified. High and ambitious man, not to mention he's from demonic sect, fallen to that degree, who would accept it? He became resentful is just understatement. Also, the shifting from evil and cruel man to (a... more>> bit) justice man is pretty great tbh. Bravo to the gong. He's a very persistent and righteous man, could change the shou into quite docile-loving mom. So that I pity him a bit. Hahahaaa.
i enjoy this much. Smut also great. *Cough*esptheguiltypleasure*cough* <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Till Death Do Us Part
July 17, 2018
Status: Completed
i read this to find solace after reading the prequel. the result? I still cried. fortunately I was crying in my room alone in the night. I fear for anyone finds out I cry loudly because of some fiction...
it's so beautiful that I lose my words to write about. just read it. appreciate it. a̶n̶d̶ ̶b̶a̶w̶l̶ ̶y̶o̶u̶r̶ ̶e̶y̶e̶s̶ ̶o̶u̶t̶
the cultural references are so rich that it's worth a lot even if the smut is excluded.
and the couple....... what can I write about them?! they are so well-matched... more>> that I feel so glad to read about them living together.
this novel ends beautifully and serenely. this is HE alright!! but why I still cry loudly :" ( <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
The Husky and His White Cat Shizun
March 12, 2019
Status: c180
u'see, I just knew this novel for less than a week. and instantly engrossed in the story. my God huhuhu Shizun...
but before I write review, lemme say this ... more>>
Spoiler

MO RAN YOU f**kEN IDIOT. THIS STUPID DOG!! HOW CAN YOU THAT BLIND!!?? ALSO SHIZUN, PLS DON'T HIDE FEELINGS LIKE THIS. YOU BOTH ARE IDIOTS I'M SUFFERING HERE AAAAAAAAA.

[collapse]
*cough* okay, i'll save the full review till I finish reading. say, this one looks hilarious but the amount of knives are definitely higher. also the misunderstandings are, wow, so plenty that it's not even funny. I'm pretty sure I'm very annoyed with Mo Ran (gong/MC). who's the stupid dog, certainly him. honestly, Shizun/Chu Wanning (shou) is too good for him. but strangely I'm waiting how he finally made things right. he's idiot dog, but still redeemable. it's quite rare for me. whenever I see stupid characters in a novel, i'll lose interest and just drop it, never look back.

the mystery/plot is actually engaging. but for some reason I feel that it's kinda overshadowed by roller coaster of feels. eh I'm not even in half. so the thought can be changed.

but this novel has 300+ chapters. welp, the struggle is still long. and I don't wanna ruin the a̶n̶g̶s̶t̶fun so I don't read spoilers O<~<
Spoiler

oh author-san, just kill me already. I'm dying with the feels.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
AWM: PUBG
February 4, 2019
Status: c33
eh? I don't understand why this one gets low votes, it's pretty decent though.

I'm not exactly well-versed in esports, I only play oldie JRPGs lol. so I can't tell much about the competitions. it's quite entertaining imo.

one thing I can say, the shou is such a cutie, earnest and serious boy. really need to be praised. and pat in head ofc. how he blushes easily makes my heart flutter awww. the misunderstanding between shou and gong will be resolved early tbh. gong also cherishes his shou greatly afterward.

... more>>
Spoiler

it turns out shou has anxiety disorder. he looks fine and all but when the attack comes, he becomes flustered, eyes become red, blushes, short breath etc... much like a person who is extremely scared. so yeah, that's what happened between shou and gong. it's not like shou tricked and played gong, he likes gong very much since the beginning! but his anxiety just ruins things okaay. frankly, shou can't take romantic advances readily. he's flustered far too easily. gong finally knows about this and then he tries to get back with shou, little by little.

[collapse]

tbh, just a sweet story between senior and junior, and how senior trains junior to be first-rate player. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Liu Yao: The Revitalization of Fuyao Sect
July 2, 2018
Status: Completed
the first thing that attracts me is the characters. They are so unique and fresh, also not 2-dimensional. Even in the middle I can relate to MC. He looks so annoying at first but then he has some depth. Just say, he's actually humanely. The interaction between brothers-sister is great too even after they meet again. Not to forget the master
... more>>
Spoiler

he's so like a weasel becoz he's actually dead for long and integrated into a weasel. Man I won't forget that this so-unreliable master is very dear to his disciples :' (

[collapse]

i actually like the plot very much, but thanks to MTL, I can only understand bits. I know my comment will look cliche, but everything happens here has reason.
the only thing I dislike maybe the lack of smut. Well it's more to brotherhood than love anyway <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Muted
June 14, 2019
Status: Completed
̶p̶̶l̶̶s̶̶ ̶̶t̶̶r̶̶a̶̶n̶̶s̶̶l̶̶a̶̶t̶̶o̶̶r̶̶-̶̶s̶̶a̶̶m̶̶a̶̶, ̶̶ ̶̶s̶̶t̶̶o̶̶p̶̶ ̶̶t̶̶a̶̶k̶̶i̶̶n̶̶g̶̶ ̶̶a̶̶n̶̶g̶̶s̶̶t̶̶ ̶̶n̶̶o̶̶v̶̶e̶̶l̶̶s̶̶ ̶̶a̶̶n̶̶d̶̶ ̶̶m̶̶a̶̶k̶̶i̶̶n̶̶g̶̶ ̶̶m̶̶e̶̶ ̶̶c̶̶u̶̶r̶̶i̶̶o̶̶u̶̶s̶
cough, curiosity kills the cat. and I am the cat.

in short, this novel is about two very-unsuitable persons entangled too deep in love. MC is too stupid for his own good and falling too deep in his inferiority complex to acknowledge ML's love for him. and ML is too prideful to even admit that he loves MC and can't live without him. the result is tragedy, angst, misunderstandings and pain. in one word, geez.
the happy ending is quite... more>> a miracle tbh. is all the suffer really worth? idk and I'm pretty much sure I don't want to be in this kind of situation.
no, you can't change my mind.

truthfully I'm not fan of this genre that's why I can't bring myself to give 5 stars. I'm sorry to say that I'm too logical and heartless but still I can't change my way. even so, the flaws I said here are not exactly flaws. I know some people will indulge in this kind of things but I'm pretty sure I can't. really.

if you need some tear-jerkers, this one is really great. but if you feel you're not really in stable emotions or dislike dog-blood drama, I suggest you to avoid and find anything else.
i did not cry while reading, I admit. but that doesn't mean I was not shaken. I did convince myself several times that I won't make mistake like this CP and have this situation, constantly.

moral of story; please communicate properly and straightforwardly without any fear and cover, also just throw away some pride if you really love a person.
...... I said some, not all. ok? <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Jiang Chao Ge and the Spirit Weapon
April 18, 2019
Status: c50
I LIKE THIS. remind me of good olde isekai like Fushigi Yuugi/Kanata Kara but BL (͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

the plot is engaging, with quite good pace and tensions. and characters are also fun and well-thought, including the supporting ones. how the spirit weapons cherish only their contracted humans really hits my soft spot.

the pair tho..... boy, gong is really troublesome and difficult, proud and arrogant. welp, he is not human and uber strong. but how he only cares for his 'servant' is really making me dying. send halp. he's... more>> killing me with that gap moe.

i like MC/shou. obviously he is not kind and naive person, but he is good enough to repay kindness with kindness. also he's quick-thinking (more like cunning) and realistic, able to make decisions precisely according to situations. he's quite pitiful tbh, with all the suffering from childhood and after he became rich, he was thrown to another world. making all wealth he accumulated gone. but he is strong and never gives up. another good point.
t̶b̶h̶ ̶i̶'̶m̶ ̶l̶o̶o̶k̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶f̶o̶r̶w̶a̶r̶d̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶h̶i̶s̶ ̶w̶e̶a̶k̶ ̶m̶o̶m̶e̶n̶t̶.̶ ̶n̶o̶t̶h̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶g̶i̶v̶e̶s̶ ̶m̶e̶ ̶m̶o̶r̶e̶ ̶j̶o̶y̶ ̶t̶h̶a̶n̶ ̶s̶e̶e̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶g̶o̶o̶d̶-̶l̶o̶o̶k̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶m̶e̶n̶ ̶s̶u̶f̶f̶e̶r̶

good read~ just try it~ <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Sect Master and Psycho
May 31, 2019
Status: Completed
it's so short and quite enjoyable. The later part almost got me. Good thing, it's not BE.

Spoiler

the rape part is pitiful tbh. Gong is not slag, he just had disability regarding his cultivation. That's why he became mad. Shou is real softie tbh, he's no good as evil sect leader lmao.

[collapse]

also who's put mpreg tag here. There's no pregnancy. It was all fake. Even if they got a son, he was adopted ok.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Perfect Match
May 21, 2019
Status: Completed
well, boredom is my one and only key to demise (?)

.......... idk what to think about this. the dog blood drama is seriously high. too high! crappp!!

gong is absolute slag. shou is too nice.

... more>> i don't think I can bear this level of dog blood. but whenever I think how miserable the gong's life will be after he pushed away his shou and was left behind, I still keep trying MTL. teehee.

edit: geez I did MTL till end?!! my endurance is better than I thought!! I do dislike rape and slag gongs these days though. eh can't give full stars, this kind of drama is not really my cup of tea ¯_ (ツ) _/¯

say, the first chapters are really cringe and furry-inducing. half till later chapters are sweet. everything is resolved in last chapters, well almost. it's up to readers whether they can't stand all the madness and cruelty in the early part.

Spoiler

seriously, I did consider to kill the slag gong. but in half till last chapters, he did have remorse and did everything to pay back. that part where he regretted everything and suffered is delicious maaan. this schadenfreude delights me very much. but still, I wanna kick him somehow. eh I'm a bit heartless anyway.

[collapse]

PS: to translator-san, please reduce the cruelty in certain chapters. yes, you should know which parts ;;-;; <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Imperfections
January 5, 2019
Status: Completed
edit: I rewrote the review

to be fair, this one starts very slow. only around 10-20 chapter, the pairing is becoming clear. the plot is also starting to show. idk if people are okay about this. imo that's because the world-building in this novel is quite detailed.

the plot is.... WOW. just never expected this level from yaoi/BL. priest herself is quite acknowledged about Western literature. we can see from her previous, Silent Reading.
... more>>
Spoiler

in short it's a mix from Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu (military space opera) + No.6 (dystopia - utopia) + dot hack (AI rampage). the dystopian world later in novel is also a mix between Orwell's 1984 and Huxley's Brave New World. come to think, I should read those before lmao.

[collapse]

now about the pairing. the shou is very powerful. I mean not only in his power or talents, but also in character. I still find hard to believe this kind of man, a renowned war general, a very fierce and reckless man, with very strong mentality and very manly, very dense about feelings and romance, is a shou! albeit his face is good/beautiful, but it's the cold beauty-type okay! it's almost like I see Reinhardt (Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu) here. welp.
praise to gong who could melt this ice :)
i say, Lin Jingheng is the most coolest uke. coz only coolest is not enough!
also I like the idea in this novel, pairing is about someone who can be equal to you, not 'to protect/to be protected'.
note: Zhan Lu is a qt AI.

yep, the description is confusing. but the last one is true and beautiful if you read.

oh yeah, don't forget to check upcoming anime/donghua!! <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
meridianna
meridianna rated it
Living to Suffer
July 16, 2018
Status: Completed
i know it's tragedy but I still thought I would be immune to angst. I underestimated it. I thought I would be ok and all. the result? no it's not ok at all. I cried in the end. and be haunted by it (?) :' (
the plot is actually very nice. the supporting characters are great even the numbers are not many. tho the most redeeming thing is the couple. idk, the MC is just rly hitting in the heart. how he feels indifference toward the world, but in... more>> the same time cannot hate it coz ML is in it. and how ML gradually falls in love with him.... it... it.... it is so nice :' (
makes me jealous and envious *cough*
the smut is great. I swear it's really great. there's not many novels which smut scene is really comparable with the plot/story.
Spoiler

but that last smut really scarred me. pls...... I don't want another only-dream-smut scene like Kara no Shoujo 2. err I know I'm ridiculous to compare eroge with danmei. still, that kind of scene really gets me traumatized.

[collapse]

i know I will remember this in a veeery long time albeit only 20 chap.

and now, I should read the sequel to negate the angst :"" <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report