Report Review
22 Reviews


max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Rebirth of the Wolfish Silkpants Bottom
August 2, 2018
Status: c84
First of all, I don't hate this story. If I'd stopped around chapter 50/60 when it started to bother me, I'd probably give it a 4 start, not five because both the main characters are pervs. The MC is a thirty year old perving on an eighteen year old, while the ML is an eighteen year old perving on a thirteen year old kid (while his body looks younger due to lack of nutrition growing up.) About half the book has the MC at 13, and their relationship starts changing... more>> there.

Now, I know people aren't inherently good. If you have bad things done to you, who wouldn't think of getting back? But even disliking a baby? Before it's born? Really?

Spoiler

The mc's little brother was raised by the mom to take over the family, after she took care of her husband's first son. this kid did everything for his mom, but he loved them both, it wasn't until his death that he learns everything. Then he's reborn, and he turns into this cruel, ruthless person.

I don't hate that sort of thing, some people do deserve it, but somehow, all the women in this that showed up for any length of time ended up being evil, but they have their problems, too, so I was more sympathetic of them than anything. They were products of circumstances, I would have rather had them repent and change their lives then ignore them, if they don't change, it's their problem. I also don't hate the whole heartless thing, but... a child?

Because of the way his younger brother was raised, he grew spoiled. so in his new life, he doesn't even like the baby, and keeps seeing him as evil before he's even born. At some point, when his mom is pregnant, he even thinks of ending this child's life, but thinks it'll be more fun to see him grow up and drop him down like everyone else.

Wouldn't it have been better to be involved in the child's raising, so he might actually turn into a good kid? And then going and causing trouble for people that hurt him before, if he knew their characters, he could let them destroy their own lives. They could ruin their own lives, helping them along just made him the bully here, and I dislike it, just because you were bullied you start bullying others, even if it's people who hurt you, for a lot of the characters, it hadn't happened in the new life. Woe is me, I've been wronged in my past life, so I'll wrong them twice as much in this life, also because he's a gay bottom, he has to be taken care of?

I also don't mind scheming, but the emotions the MC displays bother me a lot. it's not your obligation or anything, but instead of going around ruining other people's lives, why not try to make people's lives better, huh? Or instead of soiling yourself turning into a bully, ignore them? I'm not a saint or anything, but I really wouldn't like myself if I turned into someone like this. I have faults, and understand people have faults. Some people can't be saved, but at least children are worth saving, dammit. I'm a second born out of 5 kids, and I love my little siblings, if they could be saved from being douchebags, I would do it for them. It's not like I'm all righteous, either, but I really think this MC looks at himself that way.

This kid already got lucky, considering his background, but he wants a big house, several sports cars, a nice life. I don't mind this, I wouldn't chose differently. But a lot of his actions just make me feel like he lost his humanity somewhere, and that bothers me. People are a lot nicer when they're closer to the ground, and he keeps calling the people around him gods, so I think he'd have been a lot happier if he had stayed more true to himself instead of turning into another rich young master pulling strings and messing with people's lives like it's nothing. I'm a little guy, so knowing people really do that, bothers me.

The only way I see myself liking this, is if his little brother got away from that kind of life, grew up into a badass and a good person who could support himself, and had plenty of genuine friends that weren't there for benefits. At least one of them would have a cleaner life. There can't only be bad people with high statuses, right? Even the dad and grandfather can't be left clean, and I don't like cold characters with slowly/partially rotting centers, even if they're fluffy with people they like.

[collapse]

There's also how naive he's acting. He's old enough to know how to play stocks, buy up lands and make millions, but he doesn't realize that the affection going on between him and his big brother is a little abnormal? A few pecks here and there, sleeping together with clothes, is believable. But they shower together, up until he's fifteen, and his brother touches him in places only a lover should, kisses him and plays with him the way only a lover should, but... it's normal?

Sorry for the long review (sorry, I meant rant). I'm a reader, so I've read a lot. There's easily a lot of stories better than this that don't make me feel like I'm slowly losing more and more of my faith in humanity. I'm sorry if my opinion bothers anybody, I read a lot of stories like this, but not so much second chances as, getting put down then rising up from the ashes and turning into a badass. Either way is fine, though there is one I can't seem to remember the name of.

This woman wasn't so different from this kid, she dies realizing the one person that really cared for her, and when she woke up? She didn't go looking for revenge. She ignored the bad people, and went to take care of the person that always loved her no matter what. I think I'd rather find that story and read it, instead of finishing this book. I just got tired of the revenge plots because there's so much of it... <<less
36 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Guardian
July 17, 2018
Status: c29
I watched the drama before I found the novel was being translated, and the only thing I can say is I love it. The relationship between the two leads was turned into a bromance in the drama (of course, because it's content in China) but the dynamic between the characters in the novel is so much better. I'm taking both as different stories with points of intersections, and similarities, because they do have a lot of differences, but I definitely love both.

I'd give a more in-depth, detailed review, but I... more>> don't want to spoil anything for those who haven't started on either the drama or the novel, but I definitely recommend it. (It does have some horror elements, though so far it's minor, at least I can put up with it, and I scare easily.) <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
First of all, I would like to state that this story is pretty great. I loved most of it, but I can't rate higher than a three, because some parts of it seem a little iffy to me.

... more>>
Spoiler

For example, Yi Chenyan looks and has the same name as the old general in ancient times, so it's most likely he's a reincarnation. But for Yang Anyu, even though the modern and the one in ancient times share names and looks, they are two different souls, not a reincarnation. I know there aren't necessarily rules for this kind of thing, but it still got me thinking. And, the MC also gets the memories of the original, but his soul has definitely left. I know it's not an exact science or anything, but still.

[collapse]

Also, I feel really sorry for the Yang Anyu in the modern times. When others figure out he's gone, no one even worries about him, he could be dead and the ML and the MC's brother don't even care, because they prefer the current one. It... pretty much stops me from completely loving this story.

I also feel like these two got off way too easily. The MC's bro didn't like the original much, and was still a bit mean to the current one a few times, so their current relationship bothers me, because I didn't see any apologizing (even if he suspeted his bro had changed. It didn't change how he treated his half brother, who'd lost his mom and went under a personality change because of it. I feel the original MC is really pitiful)

Same with the ML. MC should give him a harder time, not fall for him so easily.

Spoiler

I read in a spoiler forum that MC asked ML for a divorce. Sadly, this was after he fell for the ML, and after the ML's feelings changed, but I wish it would have happened, and the MC would have let the ML chase him, even a little, he gives in too damn quickly.

[collapse]

About the original MC...

Spoiler

Luckily, there's an extra in the story where the original MC went to the ancient times and found his HE. I'll probably wait for the complete translation and read that first before I go back and read the whole story, MTL is easy to understand but leaves much to be desired.

[collapse]

Anyway, besides all that, the story is pretty great, and the MTL is easy enough to read, but I'll just wait for the translation to be done and hope by the time I get back to it, my problems with this story would have died by then. I feel, between this and Stop Bothering Me, Emperor,
Spoiler

the MC in that story was smarter and got by without the cheat of getting all the original's memories at once, and that was a true reincarnation for both MC and ML (or transmigration, not sure really, since the originals didn't have much personality until the MC and ML souls transferred.)

[collapse]

I may or may not read more of this story soon, and may or may not edit this review later, but for now it stays. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
I don't even know where to start with this book, honestly. I was looking around for something nice and fun, and I stumbled on this book because I was bored. I ignored it, read a bunch of other books, and somehow found my way back to it again, so I read it. Even after reading the not so flattering reviews.

Worst. Mistake. Ever.

The book isn't necessarily bad. It has all the elements I like and want, but then things go a different direction than what I can endure. I don't know... more>> what chapter I got before I started skimming, looking at the end and beginning of chapter/chapter titles to find something interesting. And even that failed. My impression of the book only got worse.

I'll call spoilers now for the sensitive types. I won't put this under the spoiler bracket or whatever, because it's really just me ranting. The details in my rant have been mentioned in other reviews.

The thing that really bothers me, is how her son seems to be superhuman. The son that she gets to keep. Building a supercomputer at six. Hmm, okay. Six years old and acting more like an adult to the point he would be level, or actually higher, than his father, this rich and powerful CEO. Okay. How his emotions work? How he regards his dad and his brother, especially the bro, just because he has a higher IQ? OWNING HIS OWN COMPANY, AND HIS OWN SLAVE/PA??!!

Damn it, Akashi Seijuuro couldn't handle that sh*t, and he's one of the smartest kids (characters) I know! His mind splintered because of too much pressure, and yet there's this six year old who owns his own company and builds supercomputers, and hides it all from his mommy that he's actually a devious little devil. Even for fun, it is all a bit much. He's just a six year old boy, and Akashi had worse moments, but d*mn, I don't necessarily hate, but heavily dislike him. And his mother. I find the male lead and the kid he's with more pitiful than the two of them. What did they do in their past lives to have relations to people so... strange.

If you want a good book with a rich, handsome CEO, lot's of villains and jealousy, lots of face slapping, and a cute little kid (thought he rarely talks, he is still very cute, especially when he fights with his dad over the female lead) then look for Hidden Marriage. It has points I'm not cool with (like how the female lead turns into something like Anita Blake somewhere in the middle) but it's entertaining enough that I went through nearly 1000 chapters without skimming, (besides the ridiculous parts that happen in America, or to do with her sh*t in America without the Male lead being mentioned that turns her into a version of Anita Blake and that kinda drama) and when I got done with the translated chapters, I found the original text and read via MTL. Lots lost in translation, but it's a great book past ch1000. Not so with this book as close as ch20-30. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Bark!?
October 2, 2018
Status: Completed
I just found this story, and it's so cute! MC wakes up in the ML's bed as one of his dogs, and everything is just hilarious from there. Since it's so short, I MTL-ed it, waiting for the full English translation so I can read it again.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Every Day the Protagonist Wants to Capture Me
March 2, 2018
Status: c21
The story is amazing! It might be because I've been missing BL recently with most Chinese novels being very long and very hetero, when 'gay' is mentioned it's not in a nice way. I love both protags and I can't wait to read it to the end. I tried the MTL but I'm only getting bits here and there of it. There's a lot about the cultivation thing and the levels that I don't understand, but they're well explained so it's not a problem. Still waiting to see the reaction... more>> once the dense MC realizes the protagonist is actually into him and not looking forward to a harem. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Blazing Sunlight
February 18, 2018
Status: v1c17
I honestly don't know how to rate this novel. When it started, I liked it. Xi Guang's personality is nice to read, and we see the whole thing through her perspective. her complicated relationship with Zhuang Xu pulled me in... but only to an extent. I'm going to say honestly, at the beginning, some of how he acted, I didn't like him for it. At this point, I can't say I like him still. But, even though Xi Guang is the one seeing and experiencing and the audience is just... more>> reading about it, I'm sure a lot of people caught some of the misunderstandings on both their parts. I was really happy when her misunderstandings affected him, because after how he acted towards her, he deserved it.

While I've only read to ch 17, I probably won't be going forward until I can see the ending. I like a surprise, but I've had too many disappointments, so when a story seems too good to be true, or I have doubts about it, I look for spoilers, i'd like to at least know who gets together with who in the end (if it's romance. if it's not, then I want to know if the protagonists at least win something). Once I'm comfortable in the ending, I have fun reading the journey. it's better than going more than half way through a book, then hitting a point you dislike, especially since I find it hard to just drop a book (or drama). I'll keep thinking about it, and that will bother me.

in the begining, I thought i'd be disappointed if XG and ZX ended up together. or at the very least, the guy would have a lot of making up to do first, but he had promise. And then, the other guy came.

When Lin Yu Sen showed up, I had a thought. I read up a bit more, and while he gave her a hard time, I could clearly see how he was treating her differently from everyone else. So, when I skipped to the last chapter and found out they were dating, I wasn't surprised. But, at the same time, I lost the will to go on with the story. Why did I not like this guy for her, when it seems he might be a better fit? Maybe because I was expecting ZG's redemption and it threw me off. I don't even know if he shows up again in book 1, I haven't checked, but i've seen in other reviews how others say they hate him, but I think he has redeeming qualities, and as long as they exist for me, I can't stand him not having a chance to show them to us, and the female lead. (creating a love triangle just complicates matters, and at the end of it, someone is going to not be happy

Maybe I've just read too much that my expectations when I read books these days are too high? I have yet to start and finish a book by this author, (though I've seen some of the TV adaptations and actually loved them, which is how I found the author in the first place.)

I may increase my rating in future, depending on how things go, but i'll wait for spoilers, or at least for book 2 to be out first (and assurance that it'll be the last book, or my wait will be longer) before I read more than a chapter every now and then of this book. (when I'm really, really bored and I don't have anything else to read.) <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Stop Bothering Me, Emperor
October 1, 2018
Status: Completed
The whole story is amazing. I first found it months ago, and when I got back and found there hadn't been any new releases in months, I cracked and read the MTL. A lot got lost in translation, but I love the relationship between the Emperor and his Empress. The author also references one of their other books in this one about a palace full of cats, and I loved it, too.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Thrive in Catastrophe
September 20, 2018
Status: c38
I don't hate forceful MLs. There are so many, it's hard to find a good bl, or even shounen ai, without this trope. There are never any apologies, and the MCs forget that they were ever wronged. I am not okay with that. Still, I would have rated it higher, if I wasn't confused in several occasions. One being how it very much looks like insta-love to me. I don't know if it's just too subtle.

... more>>
Spoiler

Heine starts with sending fantasies into Xiao Yan's mind, and this is done deliberately. After Xiao Yan accidentally falls and kisses him, and Heine tries to strangle him to death, and later breaks his shoulder (he used him as a stepping stone to shoot down their enemies, but he should have known it would happen, and there was never an apology.) The guy that comes off as a psycho on the first chapter (Mark) who acts like he wouldn't mind seeing them get eaten, is the one to save him from death in that moment. So somehow, he's addicted to this kid after an accidental kiss he tried to kill him for, that has the MC thinking this guy is out to kill him for several chapters in, before the injuries start to get disregarded or seen as 'tough love' maybe?

And it's only one instance he got injured by the ML.

At some point, while Xiao Yan is at a bar, a woman with the special virus that could make someone addicted to them is sitting next to him, when some other guys start badmouthing a subordinate of Heine. He beats them up. Then, sees MC with the woman, and dislocates his shoulder. Why? He mentioned the names of two people that flirted with the MC, and the one person, who is a normal person, that he's had a crush on for years, but this doesn't sit well with the ML. Supposedly, it's to warn him off so he doesn't get f*cked to death, and the MC just goes along with it. Okay, but I see it as you being jealous.

Then, somewhere along the line, Xiao Yan starts to believe he's fallen for this guy. And while I see the instances where he saves his life, why does that have to be the catalyst for it, when he's supposedly straight, even when the ML still continued to treat him poorly otherwise. In the fantasies, it was forced in the beginning. There was even a scene where he imagined getting done by the ML, and it hurt, and he wanted it to stop. It was only a delusion, but you find later that it was the ML infiltrating his brain, so it's not just his imagination.

Don't get me wrong, Heine and Xiao Yan have their adorable and hot moments, and I love that, but insta-love is either an obsession, or lust, or a crush. And while I don't dislike it, either, show it better, don't go from, 'this guy looks like he wants to kill me' to 'oh, I might like getting kissed by this guy even though I should be straight' even if it's still only a delusion and he thinks it's his imagination.

[collapse]

So anyway, the adorable moments are what saved this for me and kept me reading. Though the characters and background are very different, it made me think of Kill the Lights, which I loved (save a few instances.) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
This story is so bad. Originally, I wanted to give it a 2.5, but then I read, or rather skimmed ahead, and it just got worse for me.

a lot of the time, I can toss away logic pretty easily for a good book. Not so with this one. When you're supposedly smart and doing stupid things, you're technically an idiot with a brain some of the time. There were so many chances the MC had to do the smart thing, you know, with all his smarts, and he ended up... more>> doing the dumb thing instead. I felt like crying for him sometimes, he was so stupid. Someone who hates lies knows you're lying but you stick to your lie, fearing when you're caught in that lie you'll die.

in a way, this novel read like an old harlequin novel, a not very nice one, but with some of that Chinese charm that has me looking for good translated novels. This is not a good one, but people tend to have different opinions, and this MC might appeal to some. Just not me. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
The Scum Villain’s Self-Saving System
September 20, 2018
Status: c34
So, I saw all these glowing, 5 star reviews and had to be that guy to come and rain on everyone's parade. I really do love this book, and I knew from the spoilers there was going to be some angst. I just don't like how it was depicted, and going from that to a loving relationship bothers me, even if groveling does happens.

... more>>
Spoiler

So, Luo BingHe was kicked into hell by a man he cared for a lot. A man he loved, even. He's understandably angry. I don't know if any apologizing is going to happen once he finds out that SQQ didn't do it to abandon him, but if there isn't, then my rating will drop, and I might just stop reading and skim through a few points. It leaves me a little disappointed, because it's by the same author of Founder of Diabolism, and I absolutely love that one. But when people that have a past of beating each other up, or one beating the other one up, even if it's just verbally and it's over a misunderstanding, I don't think it's an easy thing to get over, so I'll be looking into how it's resolved in this one.

Also, the Luo BingHe in the novel universe. I love that we got to see him meet SQQ in the alternate verse. I've only read that part in spoilers on the forum, but I feel like I'd end up sympathizing more with him than I do with the main pairing, just from reading the summary, I think he goes away feeling bitter, and the current LBH is happy not to have ended up that way even with the power and the 3000+ ladies, but that just had me wondering if the other LBH would get over it, and I wanted to toss the main pairing and rub the other guy's head a little.

When something bothers me, I can't get rid of it. It really feels like pressure on my chest, and I usually separate myself from the problem, blast music in my ears loud enough to give myself a headache, or find something new, or an old story I really love, to take my mind off it, it'll take days, and there'll be days when I remember and I have to start the process again. This is why I prefer stories where the guys in the old world just don't show up, and the protagonist takes over someone evil that wouldn't be missed (I have a hard time reading the Legendary Master's Wife because of this reason). So, I'm going to stop now and wait until it's fully translated, or close enough, and skim through.

[collapse]

So, this is all totally my opinion, but there could be someone out there who hasn't read the spoilers and might feel the same way. It really is a good story up to ch34 when Luo BingHe loses his sh*t for a while, so you can take that warning if it means anything to you. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Awakening
May 7, 2018
Status: c67
I can't honestly say I hate it, which is why I gave it a 2. I at least didn't drop it with the first few chapters, no matter how odd it read. I thought I was reading summaries at first, not the full chapters.

in this book, it's as if every girl is to be protected by the MC, and every guy is his enemy. This is all well and good, but when he sees a transfer student getting bullied and decided to do nothing, my feelings changed. ... more>>
Spoiler

he only turned back because one of the bullies called the kid a Chinese pig, though he's blond, so the guy turned around and beat them up, then threatened the kid because he didn't try to fight back. much like the body he's currently using. This is not okay with me.

[collapse]

It's okay for a woman to cower behind him, and there are a LOT of them, ranging from old to even a little girl, but not another guy getting ganged up on? so if the poor kid tried to fight back and got beaten up worse for it, it would have been okay?

Just... no. There's more, but this was the biggest thing for me. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Heaven Awakening Path
May 4, 2018
Status: c70
This story is awesome. As expected from the writer of TKA, which is the only reason I even fell upon this novel in the first place. First of all, ignore the reviews about the MC being boring and lazy, because they probably didn't read the first 10 chapters, if that.

For the guys giving one/two star and complaining about MC, they probably haven't read much. If what you're reading is boring, skip ahead to get the spoilers, and I guarantee you will be going back to start over. The MC isn't... more>> being lazy at all, he just doesn't do anything at the institution he starts at, because no one there can measure up to a portion of his strength, or even help him. He has some restriction that he's been working his way out of on his own, and that he could accomplish as much as he did by teaching himself (what no one else there could teach him) it's proof enough that he's a strong MC. I wouldn't call the girl with him a love interest, but they are very protective of each other, and it's pretty much where you go, I go with these two.

As to why he's so laid back, it's actually pretty tear jerking. He doesn't give a sh*t what these people say, because for him, being alive and being able to move around freely, something everyone else got to have for free, but he had to work for it, was already a joy. Someone mentioned he shows no aggression, but in later chapters he definitely shows his strength to people going after him and his friends. He doesn't do anything against verbal abuse if it's against him, but try to hurt him, or anyone while he watches, and he'll blow you away, literally.

The story is slow paced, but it has 800+ chapters so far, and TKA completed with more than twice that, with additional prequels, so details are spaced over several chapters. If you still think it's a bit boring, start from chapter 31, it explains a lot about the MC, then go back and start from the beginning to catch up to the journey up to that point, because it doesn't even really begin until around chapter 50-60, and I hear it really picks up past chapter 100.

What I would really like to know right now, is there anyone picking this story up, or not? My Chinese is terrible, and I rely heavily on MTL, but I could probably get some form of tl out there (if I'm ever actually free.) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Isekai De Rippa Na Inu Ni Naru Houhou
October 7, 2018
Status: Completed
It's short, cute and fluffy

Spoiler

I do wish Ferdinand got his happy ending. Instead of teasing, it could always be a threesome ending. Technically, its open ended where its at though the MC ends up with Alex, who picked up his dog body. Also, we don't get his real name until the last chapter.

[collapse]
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Dark Blue and Moonlight
September 14, 2018
Status: Completed
There's cheating (which seems to be a bottom line in BL) but I still love it. The drama was nice, too, if a little awkward at times.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Rebirth of MC
September 5, 2018
Status: c33
It's just meh for me. 2.5, rounded down.

I skimmed until the two male leads met, and its insta-love on ML's part, so I don't even get to be excited seeing their relationship develop. This kid got absolutely everything, and there's lots of cultivation in those first chapters. I just feel like this book tried to put in too much at once and it all just fails. And from what I've read in other reviews, it just gets worse from there.

I'll probably skim to the end because I can't stop reading... more>> a book once I've started, either skimming or finding spoilers, I just have to know how it ends. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Rebirth and Redemption
September 1, 2018
Status: c5
I really wanted to read this after first read the description, but I was busy for a while so I didn't get to it until later. Now, I wish I'd taken a closer look at the tags.

... more>>
Spoiler

I wanted to give this 3 stars, because I do like redemption stories and have some of my own, but the rape really bothered me for someone that's seen/read a lot of bl with it. I gave an extra star, because it wasn't glossed over. He didn't go back in time to before it happened, but right after, and he took responsibility. While I feel like it was still swept aside really easily, at least he feels bad, and I hope he continues to feel bad.

[collapse]

For now, it's not so bad that I can't keep reading, but my opinion might change depending on how things go. At the moment I heavily dislike, but not necessarily hate, Chu Feng and look forward to him making up for his actions. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
March 17, 2018
Status: c27
It's a 2.5 for me for now, and I wish I'd rounded down. Not sure I'll continue to read after going through other reviews and reading spoilers.

... more>>
Spoiler

I got to the part about Ling Xiao, and I didn't realize at first there were two of them. The original, the one that dies, and the one that replaces him. This is obviously someone dangerous, who plans to kill the MC at first sight, so this kind of thing turning into a loving relationship is sketchier than if the MC and the real Ling Xiao got together. By the comments in other reviews about the skewed relationship, reading this far, I'm not so surprised. More than that, I feel sorry for the original even if he was only cannon fodder. Also, lot's of deaths later on, and I don't see them all as justified, so, just, nope.

[collapse]

Originally the comments in other reviews put me off, but this is one of the few novels with a lot of chapters at the ready that I haven't read yet, so I decided to give it a try. I feel like I wasted time (that I could have used to work) so I'm a little annoyed, but I might pick it up if my other reads are too slow to update. There's just never enough to read... <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Wife, I Am the Baby’s Father
March 15, 2018
Status: c6
I only skimmed the beginning and already I'm dropping this. Her parents die, and while it's suicide, the guy definitely went to kill, and would have killed everyone else and spared her because he liked her face if she hadn't said anything. She still goes off with him, marries him, acts all shy around him. Then I read the other reviews and some spoilers, and figured it only gets more ridiculous later on. It's seems like a tragedy in the making, and i'd rather not get dragged along for the... more>> ride, so it's a no for me. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
max2payne0
max2payne0 rated it
Carta Visa
October 3, 2018
Status: c25
Honestly, I want to give this a 2, just because I don't understand a lot of it, don't like Alexei one bit, and kind of look down on Petch. The two totally deserve each other. I'm only rating this high because there were funny moments and some cute moments, and I don't want to discourage anyone from reading, but I was irritated.

... more>>
Spoiler

So, Alex works at the embassy, and is also a mafia (?) for some reason when he leaves the country, he leaves Petch with a guy that pointed a gun at him when he tried to punch Alex out (because this guy said something to irritate him). Also, for some reason, this guy is being possessive of him, and Petch isn't trying all that hard to get away, as much as he keeps saying he would. I got to where Petch decides he has 'feelings' and I still didn't understand this story. Honestly, it read like one of those yaoi mangas you read for the smut and not the plot, but if I'm reading multichapter novels, I at least expect some plot that will make sense. I wouldn't call this non-con, but dub con because their first time, Petch is drunk, and this is 2 days after they meet. And every time, he's not given the chance to say yes or no, he just goes along with it. (If someone could give some spoilers in the forum, I would thank you greatly to have a summary so I wouldn't have to read this. I just want to know how it ends.)

Also, while I don't mind possessive MLs, this is just ridiculous. This guy takes it to such a degree that I wonder what Petch has seen in his life that he didn't run away. Guns were held to his head at least three times and he saw someone get murdered and helped cover for it.

They're all lovey dovey in volume 2, and I just don't get it. The cute moments are nice, but not to make up for Alexei being an asshole.

[collapse]

If you read this, read this for the smut. A lot of the actions by the characters doesn't have the same logic normal people would. I don't know if I should say it gets better, I just didn't want to continue reading more of volume 2, so I'm putting this on hold for now. I know I'll probably meet a lot worse and come back thinking Alexei is a kitten. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report